مفهوم هجرة الأزمات

علينا فهم هجرة الأزمات من منظور "نقاط التحول" التي لا تشحذها الأحداث وحسب بل العمليات الهيكلية أيضاً. ومن المهم لصانعي السياسات أن يكون ثمة نظرية ملائمة وراء مفهوم "هجرة الأزمات" لضمان أن تأتي الاستجابات على النحو المطلوب وفي الوقت المناسب وأن تكون مدروسة جيداً.

لا تقل أهمية قضايا الحماية والمساعدة في أعقاب الكوارث الطبيعية عنها في أوقات النزاع؛ فقد يُعاني المُهجرون من عدم حصولهم على حقوقهم ومواردهم الأساسية مما يُصيبهم بالآلام النفسية. ومع ذلك، مازال تركيز المجتمع الدولي منصباً حتى وقت قريب على حماية المُهجرين جراء النزاع على الرغم من تزايد عدد (المُهجرين الذي يُعد الأكثر أيضاً) بفعل الكوارث الطبيعية. وقد أعرب مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لشؤون اللاجئين قائلاً: "مع أن طبيعة التهجير القسري سريعة التطور، فالاستجابات التي يُتيحها المجتمع الدولي لا تواكب تلك السرعة" [1] ووفقاً لمنسق الأمم المتحدة للإغاثة في حالات الطوارئ قد تصبح الكوارث المتكررة والشديدة الواقع "المُعتاد الجديد".[2]

ومع ذلك، في حين تدفعنا غرائزنا للاعتقاد بأن "هجرة الأزمات" تنطوي على الانتقال استجابة لخطر محسوس بموضوعية، مثل: الفيضانات أو الزلازل، إلا أن البعد الاجتماعية الضمني هو الذي يحول الوضع من مجرد مجابهة للمخاطر إلى حالة من الضغوط التي تختبر مدى لدونة كل من الأفراد والمجتمعات المحلية في أوقات الأزمات والتي قد تؤدي بدورها إلى رحلات الانتقال. وهكذا، ستعتمد مكونات "الأزمة" والمحفزات على الهجرة على مصادر المرتحلين وإمكانياتهم إضافة إلى قدرة الدولة التي خلفوها وراءهم أو التي انتقلوا إليها استجابة لمحنتهم. وبذلك، تصبح الهجرة استجابة طبيعية ومنطقية لمواجهة الكوارث الطبيعية ولآثار التغير البيئي الأكثر تدرجاً. وهذا لا يعني بالضرورة افتراض أن تلك الهجرة دائماً ما تكون طوعية ولكن كل ما في الأمر أنه لا ينبغي التعامل معها تلقائياً على أنها غير طبيعية.

ولأن الكوارث الطبيعية والمخاطر الأخرى أمر اعتيادي في بعض البيئات، فلن تظهر في صورة "أزمة" ما لم تتواجد بعض المتغيرات. ومع ذلك، فقد يتفاعل حدث سريع ما مع الضغوط القائمة بالفعل، مثل: الفقر، واكتظاظ السكان، والهشاشة البيئية، وممارسات التنمية، وضعف المؤسسات السياسية. ولهذا، ما قد يحتمله مجتمع محلي ما أو فرد ما قد يُشكل أزمة عند آخرين.

وعليه، فأفضل تفسير لمفهوم "هجرة الأزمات" أنه الاستجابة لمجموعة العوامل الاجتماعية والسياسية والاقتصادية والبيئية المُعقدة التي قد يشحذها حدث قوي ولكنه لا يتسبب في قوعها. فبعض الأحداث أو الآليات يجب التعامل معها على أنها مجرد جانب واحد فقط من الأزمة المتجذرة في ظروف من الظلم أو الاستضعاف الممنهج التي تجعل فئات بعينها أكثر عرضة للتهجير من غيرها. وبالنظر إلى مصطلح " هجرة الأزمات" من هذا المنظور، سنجد أنه ينطوي على الضغوط الشديدة الواقعة على الفرد أو الجماعة المرتحلة بدلاً من الإشارة بالضرورة إلى وجود حدث جلل أو مفاجئ.

ولعل نقاط التحول طريقة فعّالة لفهم ذلك. ولنأخذ التساؤلات التالية مثالاً على ذلك: متى قد تدفع الآثار المتراكمة للضغوط - سواء أكانت اجتماعية اقتصادية أم بيئية أو سياسية أو نفسية - الشخص للسقوط من على حافة الهاوية؟ ومتى يصبح الانتقال أفضل من البقاء؟ وهكذا، فبغض الطرف عن سواء ما إذا ثمة ظروف شديدة أم مزمنة تشحذ الأزمة، فسيكون دائماً ثمة نقاط تحول لا يمكن إغفالها وستختلف هذه النقاط من فرد إلى آخر.

المضمونات السياساتية

لمثل ذلك الفهم انعكاسات سياسية بعيدة المدى لأنه عندما نتعامل مع "الأزمة" بوصفها أكثر من مجرد حدث فردي مفاجئ، يمكننا حينها البدء في توقع التدخلات الأخرى التي تقع على مدار أطر زمنية أطول، والتركيبات المختلفة للجهات الفاعلة المؤسسية، والشركات الجديدة، ونماذج التمويل الأكثر استدامة. وقد تثير التعريفات اهتمامنا أكثر إذا كانت قادرة على تحديد مدى أحقية الحصول على الاستحقاقات القانونية أو المساعدة الإنسانية.

ولا يقتصر تناول فكرتي الأزمة والهجرة معاً على الحلقات الأكاديمية وحسب. فقد قررت الدول اختيار عنوان "إدارة هجرة الأزمات" ليكون موضوع الحوار الدولي بشأن الهجرة لعام 2012 الذي نظمته المنظمة الدولية للهجرة. وبالنظر إلى الانعكاسات السياساتية والقانونية المحتملة للمداولات في مثل تلك السياقات، فمن المهم جداً ضمان وضوحها على المستوى المفاهيمي.

وقد أشارت نقاشات المنظمة الدولية للهجرة إلى فهم صانعي السياسات الأكيد لمفهوم "الأزمة" على أنها اللحظة الحاسمة أو نقطة التحول بوصفها حالة طارئة. ولكن مشكلة فهم "هجرة الأزمات" على أنها استجابة الفرد أو المجتمع المحلي لحدث خارجي تكمن في أن تلك الرؤية تتجاهل عوامل الهشاشة القائمة فعلياً من قبل وتسلط الضوء على الواقع المادي بدلاً من إجراء تقييم شامل للظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. ومن المخاوف الأخرى ذات الصلة احتمالية التغاضي عن ممارسات التنمية المُحسنة (مثل: برامج التصدي للفقر)، التي تمتاز بالفعل بالأطر المؤسسية القوية، لصالح الاستجابات في حالات الطوارئ التي تعد مجرد ردود أفعال مخصصة لأنها تعالج أعراض المشكلة وليس أسبابها.[3]

علاوة على ما سبق، من الضروري أن يُقدر صانعي السياسات الطريقة التي تظهر (أو لا تظهر) بها رحلات الانتقال تاريخياً في بعض المجتمعات المحلية الخاصة. وإلا فقد تُرى التدخلات في غير محلها. ففي جزر المحيط الهادئ، على سبيل المثال، الانتقال جزء لا يتجزأ من التجربة التاريخية والحالية، ولهذا علينا النظر إلى الارتحال بوصفه استراتيجية تكيف تُعد بدورها جزء من الامتداد التاريخي.

وإذا أريد تحقيق التغيير الجاد، فمن الضروري تجاوز القوالب السياساتية التقليدية وتعزيز التنسيق ضمن الحكومات والهيئات الدولية والمحلية والمنظمات غير الحكومية وفيما بينها. وثمة حاجة لاتخاذ نهج أكثر شمولية بين القطاعات المختلفة مع تحسين الروابط بين المجتمعات الإنسانية والإنمائية.

وستؤدي طبيعة التدخلات السياسية وتوقيتها دوراً مهماً في تشكيل نتائج "هجرة الأزمات". وسيساعدان أيضاً في تحديد ما إذا كانت هذه الهجرة ضرباً من التكيف أو إشارة إلى إخفاق التكيف.[4]وبهذا، تفترض رؤية الهجرة بوصفها تكيفاً أن الانتقال قوة منتجة يمكن تسخيرها وتنميتها بدلاً من التعامل معه على أنه كارثة إنسانية جارفة ينبغي حلها.

 

جين ماك آدم j.mcadam@unsw.edu.auأستاذ علوم القانون والمدير المؤسس لمركز أندرو وريناتا كالدور المعني بقانون اللاجئين الدولي في جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز. www.kaldorcentre.unsw.edu.au

 

 


[1]تصريح على لسان أنطونيو جوتيريس في "الاجتماع الحكومي الدولي على المستوى الوزاري للاحتفال بالذكرى 60 لاتفاقية عام 1951 المتعلقة بوضع اللاجئين و الذكرى 50 لاتفاقية عام 1961 بشأن خفض حالات انعدام الجنسية"، ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2011 www.unhcr.org/4ecd0cde9.html.

4 كلمات افتتاحية قدمها جون هولمز في مؤتمر ديهاد 2008، أبريل/نيسان2008

www.reliefweb.int/rw/rwb.nsf/db900sid/YSAR-7DHL88?OpenDocument

[3] أنطوني أوليفر سميث، "تنظير الكوارث: الطبيعة والقوة والثقافة" (Theorizing Disasters: Nature, Power, and Culture) في سوزانا م. هوفمان وأنطوني أوليفر سميث (محرران)، الكوارث والثقافة: أنثروبولوجيا الكوارث، الكلية الأمريكية لبحوث الصحافة، سانتافي، 2002، 32. 

Anthony Oliver-Smith, ‘Theorizing Disasters: Nature, Power, and Culture’ in Susanna M Hoffmann and Anthony Oliver-Smith (eds), Catastrophe and Culture: The Anthropology of Disaster, School of American Research Press, Santa Fe, 2002, 32.

[4] كوكو وارنر، "تقييم الاحتياجات المؤسسية والحكومية المتعلقة بالتغير البيئي والهجرة  البشرية، فريق معني بدراسة الهجرة الناتجة عن التغيرات المناخية، صندوق "مشروع مارشال" الألماني الذي أنشأته الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، يونيو/حزيران 2010

(Assessing Institutional and Governance Needs Related to Environmental Change and Human Migration)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The concept of crisis migration

Jane McAdam

Crisis migration needs to be understood in terms of ‘tipping points’, which are triggered not just by events but also by underlying structural processes. It is important for policymakers for there to be an adequate theory behind the concept of ‘crisis migration’ so that responses are appropriate, timely and thoughtful.

Protection and assistance issues may be as acute in the aftermath of a natural disaster as in conflict; those displaced may suffer from the same lack of access to basic rights and resources, and experience psychological distress. Until recently, however, the international community’s focus has been on protecting those displaced by conflict, despite the growing (and larger) number of people being displaced by natural hazards. The UN High Commissioner for Refugees has stated that “while the nature of forced displacement is rapidly evolving, the responses available to the international community have not kept pace”[1] and, according to the UN’s Emergency Relief Coordinator, more frequent and severe disasters may be “the new normal”.[2]

Yet, while we might instinctively think that ‘crisis migration’ entails movement in response to an objectively perceptible hazard, such as a flood or earthquake, it is the underlying social dimension which will transform it from a merely hazardous encounter into a situation of stress that tests the resilience of both individuals and communities, and may lead to movement. What constitutes a ‘crisis’ and spurs migration will depend upon the resources and capacity of those who move, as well as upon the ability of the state into or within which they move to respond to their plight. Migration is a normal, rational response to natural disasters and the more gradual impacts of environmental change. This is not to say that it should always be assumed to be voluntary but rather that it should not automatically be treated as abnormal.

Because natural disasters and other hazards are commonplace in some environments, they will not manifest as ‘crises’ unless certain variables are present. A sudden event may, however, interact with pre-existing stressors such as poverty, overcrowding, environmental fragility, development practices and weak political institutions. Thus, what may be weathered by one community or individual may constitute a crisis for another.

‘Crisis migration’ is therefore best understood as a response to a complex combination of social, political, economic and environmental factors, which may be triggered by an extreme event but not caused by it. Particular events or processes should be recognised as just one aspect of the process of a crisis, which is rooted in systemic inequities or vulnerabilities that render particular groups more vulnerable to displacement. When conceptualised in this way, ‘crisis migration’ implies acute pressure on the person or group that moves, rather than necessarily indicating the presence of an extreme or sudden event.

A helpful way to understand this is in terms of tipping points. When does the cumulative impact of stressors – whether socio-economic, environmental, political or psychological – tip someone over the edge? When is moving away preferable to staying put? Irrespective of whether a crisis is triggered by acute or chronic conditions, there will be tipping points involved, and these will vary from individual to individual.

Policy implications

Such an understanding has far-reaching policy ramifications because when a ‘crisis’ is understood as something more than a single, sudden event, we can start to contemplate interventions over longer timeframes, different combinations of institutional actors, new partnerships, and more sustainable funding models. Definitions matter even more if they determine access to legal entitlements or humanitarian assistance.

It is not just within academic circles that the ideas of 'crisis' and 'migration' are being considered together. States chose ‘managing migration in crisis situations’ as the theme of the 2012 International Dialogue on Migration organised by the International Organization for Migration (IOM). Given the potential policy and legal ramifications of deliberations in such contexts, it is critically important that they are conceptually clear.

The IOM discussions suggested that policymakers intuitively understand the concept of ‘crisis’ as a pivotal moment or turning point – an emergency situation. But the problem with conceptualising ‘crisis migration’ as an individual’s or community’s response to an external event is that it can obscure pre-existing fragilities, placing the focus on a physical occurrence rather than a holistic appraisal of socio-economic circumstances. A related concern is that improved development practices (poverty reduction schemes and so on), which already have strong institutional frameworks, may be overlooked in favour of emergency responses which are typically reactive and ad hoc, addressing symptoms but not causes.[3]

Furthermore, it is essential that policymakers appreciate the way in which mobility has (or has not) featured historically within particular communities. Otherwise, interventions may be misplaced. For example, in the Pacific islands, mobility is a core part of historical and present experience, and movement therefore needs to be understood as an adaptive strategy that is part of a historical continuum.

If meaningful change is to be effected, it will be necessary to transcend conventional policy silos and instead promote coordination within and between governments, international and local agencies, and NGOs. A more holistic approach across different sectors is needed, with improved links between the humanitarian and development communities.

The nature and timing of policy interventions will play a major role in shaping outcomes to ‘crisis migration’. They will also help to determine whether such migration can function as a form of adaptation, or will instead signal a failure to adapt.[4] Migration as adaptation posits movement as a productive force to be harnessed and developed, rather than as an overwhelming humanitarian calamity to be solved.

 

Jane McAdam j.mcadam@unsw.edu.au is Scientia Professor of Law and the Founding Director of the Andrew & Renata Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law at the University of New South Wales. www.kaldorcentre.unsw.edu.au



[1] Statement by António Guterres at the Intergovernmental Meeting at Ministerial Level to Mark the 60th Anniversary of the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and the 50th Anniversary of the 1961 Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness,  December 2011 www.unhcr.org/4ecd0cde9.html.

2. Opening Remarks by John Holmes at DIHAD 2008 Conference, April 2008 www.reliefweb.int/rw/rwb.nsf/db900sid/YSAR-7DHL88?OpenDocument.

[3] Anthony Oliver-Smith, ‘Theorizing Disasters: Nature, Power, and Culture’ in Susanna M Hoffmann and Anthony Oliver-Smith (eds), Catastrophe and Culture: The Anthropology of Disaster, School of American Research Press, Santa Fe, 2002, 32.

[4] Koko Warner, ‘Assessing Institutional and Governance Needs Related to Environmental Change and Human Migration’, Study Team on Climate-Induced Migration, German Marshall Fund of the United States, June 2010.

 

FMR 45
February 2014

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.