الأزمة السورية : أبعاد العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي الممارس ضد اللاَّجئين السوريين في لبنان

تشير تقييمات أثر الأزمة السورية على ارتفاع مستويات العنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي، ويلاحظ تزايد انتشار الاغتصاب والاعتداء والعنف من جانب الشريك الحميم والجنس من أجل البقاء. وأمام الهيئات الإنسانية حاجة ماسة للعمل معاً للتعامل مع ذلك التوجه.

في أوقات النِّزاع، يتأثر الجميع بالعنف. لكنَّ النساء والبنات على وجه الخصوص يتعرضن لمخاطر أكبر لأنواع مختلفة من العنف، منها: العنف الجنسي والقائم على النوع الاجتماعي نتيجة غياب الحماية الاجتماعية وعدم القدرة على الحصول على الخدمات بأمان. وفي حين هناك إقرار كبير بأنَّ العنف الجنسي يمثِّل سلاحاً يُستخدم في الحروب، هناك نماذج أخرى للعنف الذي يُرتكب ضد النساء خلال النزاعات بما فيها العنف الأسري والاستغلال الجنسي والزواج المبكر.

في أوائل سبتمبر/أيلول 2013، قدَّرت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين عدد اللاَّجئين السوريين في لبنان بقرابة 720003 لاجئ ولاجئة وما زالت أعداد المهجَّرين في ازديدا. وقد أجرت كثير من المنظمات المحلية والدولية تقييمات سريعة للوقوف على فهم أوضح حول جسامة الأزمة وأثرها على المُهجَّرين السوريين في لبنان. ومن المشكلات التي حددتها تلك التقييمات: الاكتظاظ وعدم كفاية الحصول على الخدمات الرئيسية وارتفاع أجور السكن والغذاء والمنافسة على فرص محدودة للعمل. وساعدت التقييمات أيضاً في تحديد النساء والأطفال على أنهم من الفئات الأكثر استضعافاً على أساس الانتماء إلى جنس معين أو فئة عمرية ما أو بسبب الوضع الاجتماعي. وقد سلط ذلك الضوء بدوره على ارتفاع مستويات العنف الجنسي والممارس على أساس النوع الاجتماعي بين اللاَّجئين ما يدعو المنظمات الإنسانية إلى العمل حالاً على تصميم استجابة مخصصة للحد من ذلك النوع من العنف.

ولا يوجد أي بيانات كمية تتعلق بالعنف الممارس ضد النساء، ومع ذلك، يشير عدد من النساء والبنات السوريات المهجَّرات إلى أنَّهن تعرضن لأشكال العنف، خاصة الاغتصاب. وفي تقييم سريع أجرته عام 2012 لجنة الإنقاذ الدولية بالتعاون مع مركز الموارد للمساواة بين الجنسين، قدّم المركز تقييماً لمسائل تعرض النساء والبنات المتزايد إلى العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي قبل عبور الحدود وبعد ذلك في المجتمعات المضيفة. وخلص التقرير إلى ما يلي:

  • حددت مجموعات التركيز والمستجيبين الرئيسيين على حد سواء الاغتصاب والعنف الجنسي على أنهما الشكل الأكثر انتشاراً للعنف الممارس ضد النساء والبنات داخل سوريا.
  • حددت النساء البالغات والفتيات المراهقات العنف الممارس من الشريك الحميم والزواج المبكر والجنس من أجل البقاء على أنهم من أنواع العنف الأخرى التي تعرضن لهما منذ وصولهن إلى لبنان. وأشارت المشاركات البالغات في عدة مجموعات للتركيز إلى ارتفاع العنف الممارس من الشريك الحميم منذ وصولهن إلى لبنان. أما المراهقات فأشرن إلى ارتفاع حالات الزواج المبكر التي تأطر معظمها ضمن الجهود التي تبذلها العائلات "لحماية" بناتهن من الاغتصاب ولضمان "وجودهن تحت حماية الرجل". وحددت مجموعات التركيز نوعاً آخر من العنف الذي واجه النساء والفتيات السوريات وهو ممارسة الجنس في سبيل البقاء الذي ارتبط بحاجة النساء والبنات الماسة للحصول على المال لتغطية تكاليف المعيشة منذ وصولهن إلى لبنان.
  • يعيش كثير من النساء والفتيات الواصلات مؤخراً في مستوطنات اللاَّجئين المكتظة وغير المنظَّمة التي لا تتوافر على أدنى درجات الخصوصية والسلامة خاصة بين الفئات السكانية التي تعيش في الأبنية العامة المهجورة.
  • لا تميل الناجيات إلى الإبلاغ عما يتعرض منه من عنف جنسي قائم على النوع الاجتماعي ويخشين طلب الدعم خوفاً من أن يجلبن "العار" على أسرهن. فالمرأة هناك تتعرض لمخاطر إضافية من عنف بدني وجنسي إن أبلغت عن تعرضها للعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي بل قد تتعرض للموت على يد أفراد أسرتها. ويتكرر هذا النمط في كثير من السياقات.
  • أعاق ضعف التنسيق وعدم الامتثال إلى المعايير الدولية للمساعدات الإنسانية قدرة النساء والنبات على الحصول على الخدمات. ويعد التمييز وإساءة المعاملة عائقان رئيسيان أمام الحصول على الخدمات.
  • قدرة النساء والبنات للحصول على المعلومات حول توافر الخدمات والدعم محدودة خاصة حين يتعلق الموضوع بالناجيات من العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي. وقد اتفق المستجيبون للدراسة بقوة على أنَّ هناك عدد قليل من الخدمات المتاحة حالياً والمصممة لتلبية حاجات الناجيات من العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي فضلاً عن عدم إتاحتها للاجئين السوريين. [1]

يحدث الاستغلال الجنسي أو العمل في الجنس غير الرضائي "من أجل البقاء" عندما تقدم النساء والبنات الجنس لقاء الطعام أو غيره من السلع أو لقاء المال ليتمكنَّ من تسديد أجور السكن خاصة في لبنان. "وإذا ما أردت أي مساعدة أخرى من المنظمات غير الحكومية الأخرى..فعليك أن ترسل ابنتك أو أختك وأحياناً عليك أن ترسل زوجتك...واضعة مستحضرات التجميل كاملة لكي تتمكن من الحصول على أي شيء...أعتقد أنك تفهم ما أقول." (أحد المشاركين في نقاش مجموعة التركيز).

ومع أنَّ زواج البنات المبكر كان من العادات الشائعة في سوريا قبل بدء النِّزاع، فقد أشارت التقارير إلى ارتفاع ذلك كاستراتيجية من استراتيجيات مواكبة الظروف إما لحماية الشابات أو لتخفيف الضغوط على الموارد المالية الأسرية.

أما الرجال فيجعلهم اللجوء يشعرون بانخفاض احترام ذاتهم وهذا ما يقودهم في بعض الأحيان إلى طرق سلبية في التعبير عن الصفة الذكورية (المرجلة)، وهكذا ارتفعت وتيرة العنف الواقع على النساء والأطفال نتيجة شعور بعض الرجال بالإحباط وإساءة استخدام سلطتهم داخل البيت. "لم أعد أشعر أنني رجل حقيقي بعد ما حدث لي، وبكل صراحة، لم أعد قادراً على التصرف."...."عندما تطلب زوجتي أن أحضر بعض الخضروات أو اللحم لتحضِّر الطعام أضربها. إنها لا تعرف لماذا أضربها ولا حتى أنا أعرف لماذا."

وخارج البيت، هناك أمثلة أيضاً عن النساء والفتيات اللواتي تعرضن للمضايقة البدنية واللفظية بما فيها التحرش الجنسي وفي عدة أماكن تخشى المرأة على نفسها من الاختطاف والسرقة والاعتداءات. وعلى وجه الخصوص، تُستَهدف الأرامل والنساء اللواتي يعشن وحيدات. ويعمد بعضهن إلى إخفاء حقيقة مقتل أزواجهن أو اختطافهم بل يتظاهرون أمام الناس أنهن يتلقين اتصالات هاتفية من أزواجهن السابقين، وكل ذلك سعياً وراء الحماية من تحرش الذكور بهن.

في حين تغيب المعلومات اللازمة حول مدى انتشار العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي بين الرجال والأولاد الذكور وأثر ذلك العنف، يؤكد بحث أعده مركز الموارد للمساواة بين الجنسين مؤخراً بدعم من منظمة الأمومة والطفولة (اليونيسف) [2] أنَّ الرجال والأولاد الذكور عانوا أيضاً أو/و يحتمل أن يعانون من العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي والعنف الجنسي القائم على النوع الاجتماعي في سوريا أو في المجتمعات المضيفة الجديدة. وأشارت المقابلات التي أجريت مع الشباب الذكور والأولاد إلى عدم معرفته بمصطلح "العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي" مع أنَّ جميعهم تقريباً حددوا أنواع مختلفة من ذلك العنف بما فيه العنف المنزلي والتمييز القائم على النوع الاجتماعي كما يرونه في مجتمعاتهم المضيفة بعد هربهم من سوريا، وقالوا إنهم شهدوا ذلك العنف أو كانوا ناجين منه في حين قال 10.8% منهم إنهم تعرضوا للأذى/التحرش الجنسي في الأشهر الثلاثة الماضية لكنهم لم يربطوا أشكال العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي التي تعرضوا لها مع صفتهم كلاجئين سوريين و/أو فلسطينيين-سوريين. وهذا يعني أنّ التمييز والتفرقة العنصرية غيَّبت قدرتهم على تحديد العنف على أنه من أشكال العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي.

وعندما سؤل المقابَلون بالتحديد عن أثر الأذى/التحرش الجنسي عليهم، أجاب الغالبية منهم بأنَّ الرد كان بالتجاهل وبمحاولة نسيان الأمر في حين قال بعضهم إنَّ الخطأ خطأهم في حدوث ذلك. وإضافة إلى ذلك، ذكر قلة منهم ممن أخبروا أحداً آخر عن الموضوع إنَّه لم يحدث أي شيء جراء ذلك العنف. فقد كان من الواضح أنَّ سلوك الغالبية من الخاضعين للدراسة المسحية قد تغيروا تغيراً جذرياً بسبب تهجيرهم وبسبب ما شهدوه ما نتج عنه نزاع مستمر داخلي ضمن الأسر. وعبروا عن مشاعر انعدام الأمن والحزن والشك والغضب والوحدة بل كانوا في بعض الأحيان عنيفين. ولم يكن لديهم قدرة كبيرة على الوصول إلى الموارد والدعم الاجتماعي اللازمين لمساعدتهم.

واليافعون والأولاد على وجه الخصوص معرضون أيضاَ إلى درجة كبيرة للعمالة القسرية والمبكرة بسبب النظرة العامة لهم منذ طفولتهم على أنهم مصدر لتوفير الدخل للأسرة، وهذا الأمر بحد ذاته نوع من العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي.

الاستجابة

تعمل عدة منظمات محلية ودولية على الحد من العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي الواقع على اللاجئات السوريات بالتركيز على برامج الوقاية والحماية وباستخدام المنهج الشمولي متعدد القطاعات. ويغطي ذلك المنهج نطاقاً من الخدمات، مثل: الخدمات القانونية وتوفير المعلومات ورفع الوعي والخدمات الصحية والنفسية وغيرها. لكنَّ تلك الخدمات غير مركزية ومبعثرة في شتى المناطق وتختلف الجهات التي تقدمها من مكان لآخر، ولذلك، يمثل الاضطرار إلى الذهاب إلى أمكان مختلفة للحصول على الخدمات عائقاً (إما لأسباب مادية أو ثقافية) أمام قدرة الناس على الحصول على الخدمات التي يرغبون بها.

وهناك مبادرات جديدة لمعالجة مشكلة تبعثر نقاط تقديم الخدمات من خلال إقامة منظومة واضحة للإحالات بين مقدمي الخدمات لتسهيل وصول المستفيدين إليها. ومن أمثلة ذلك افتتاح مركز الموارد للمساواة بين الجنسين بالتعاون مع مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين واليونيسف والمجلس الدانماركي للاجئين لثلاثة دور للرعاية في ثلاث مناطق مختلفة في لبنان تشهد تركيزات عالية للسكان السوريين فيها. وتقدم دور الرعاية تلك مصدراً ومكاناً يضمن سرية المعلومات للاجئات السوريات وأطفالهن ممن نجين من العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي أو المحتمل تعرضهن لخطر ذلك العنف تعرضاً كبيراً. وإضافة إلى توفير الإسكان مدة 60 يوماً، توفر المراكز أيضاً في مكان واحد نظام إدارة الحالات الفردية واستشارة الأزمات والدعم النفسي والقانوني والرعاية الطبية والشرعية والإحالات لتوفير الخدمات الاجتماعية (الفرص الاقتصادية والإقامة في دار الرعاية لمدة طويلة والخدمات الطبية الخ).

التوصيات

فيما يلي التوصيات التي توصلت إليها دراستنا الحديثة والتي نشرناها مع منظمة أوكسفام. تقيم الدراسة أثر الأزمة السورية من وجهة نظر النوع الاجتماعي وتنظر في مدى شيوع العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي وأثره[3]:

  • زيادة عدد الأماكن الآمنة للنساء والرجال والأولاد والفتيات
  • تنظيم التوزيع الجماعي لرسائل الحماية التوعوية على النساء والرجال.
  • بناء قدرات مقدمي الرعاية في مجال الرعاية العيادية للناجين من الاعتداء الجنسي إضافة إلى مجالي إدارة حالات العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي ورعاية الأطفال الناجين.
  • إجراء مراجعات السلامة المجتمعية لإجراء مزيد من التقييمات للوضع الأمني في المناطق المعنية، ووضع آليات الحماية المجتمعية على أساس مراجعات منتظمة للسلامة في المجتمعات المحلية بما في ذلك دعم المجموعات النسوية وبرماج بناء قدرات النساء في مجال الحماية.
  • تحسيس أصحاب المصلحة المجتمعيين والفاعلين المعنيين بخطورة المشكلة وإشراكهم في قطاع الأمن لغايات تأسيس تدابير أمنية مناسبة حساسة للنوع الاجتماعي بما فيها آليات الرقابة على انتشار الأسلحة الصغيرة.
  • العمل على ضمان حصول جميع الفاعلين المشاركين في توفير المساعدات على التدريب اللازم للمساواة بين الجنسين وإزالة العنف ضد المرأة والمعايير الدنيا الأخلاقية في توفير المساعدات ولا بد أيضاً من السعي وراء تلبية المعايير التشغيلية المعيارية. وعلى الفاعلين جميعاً أن يتعقبوا بانتظام العنف الجنسي في أثناء النزاع وأن يبنوا قدراتهم في مجال توثيق العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي.
  • ضمان تمسك جميع منظمات المساعدات بمبدأ عدم التسامح مع العنف والاستغلال الجنسيين، وتأسيس آليات الإبلاغ عن تلك الحوادث والتصرف عند ملاحظة تلك الحوادث والإبلاغ عنها.
  • تأسيس آليات موثوقة تحافظ على السرية في المعلومات لتعقب حوادث الاستغلال والتعنيف الجنسيين والإبلاغ عنهما أثناء تقديم المساعدات وإعلام النساء والفتيات السوريات عن وجود تلك الآليات.
  • توفير الجلسات التوعوية بشأن العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي الذي يؤثر على اليافعين الذكور لموظفي منظمات المساعدات والبدء بجلسات مجموعات الدعم لليافعين والأولاد.

 

 

غيداء عناني ghida.anani@abaadmena.org  مؤسسة ومديرة مركز الموارد للمساواة بين الجنسين، بيروت، لبنان، www.abaadmena.org

 

بُني هذا المقال أيضاً على تقريرين مذكورين في الحاشيتين السفليتين 1و3. الاقتباس الواردة للمشاركين في مجموعة التركيز مأخوذ من تقرير تغيير المواقف Shifting Stands.

 



[1] انظر الملخص التنفيذي، النساء والفتيات السوريات: الفرار من الموت ومواجهة مستمرة للمخاطر والإذلال (Syrian Women & Girls: Fleeing death, facing ongoing threats and humiliation)، لجنة الإنقاذ الدولية، أغسطس/آب 2012.

http://tinyurl.com/IRC-Lebanon-August2012

[2] تقييم أثر العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي على اليافعين والأولاد بين اللاَّجئين السوريين/الفلسطينيين في لبنان (Assessment of the Impact of GBV on Male Youth and Boys among Syrian and Syrian/Palestinian Refugees in Lebanon)، مركز موارد-اليونيسف، تقرير قادم يتوقع نشره في سبتمبر/أيلول 2013

[3] رولى المصري، كلير هارفي وروزا غاروود، رمال متحركة: تغيير أدوار النوع الاجتماعي بين اللاَّجئين في لبنان (Shifting Sands: Changing gender roles among refugees in Lebanon)، مركز الموارد للمساواة بين الجنسين ومنظمة أوكسفام، سبتمبر/أيلول 2013 http://tinyurl.com/Oxfam-ABAAD-ShiftingSands-ar

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

SYRIA CRISIS - Dimensions of gender-based violence against Syrian refugees in Lebanon

Ghida Anani

Assessments of the impact of the Syrian crisis indicate high levels of sexual and gender-based violence, with rape, assault, intimate partner violence and survival sex appearing increasingly common. Humanitarian agencies urgently need to work together to address this trend.

In times of conflict everyone is affected by violence; however, women and girls in particular are more at risk of facing different forms of violence including sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV) due to the lack of social protection and lack of safe access to services. There is wide recognition of sexual violence as a weapon of war but other forms of violence against women during conflict also exist, including domestic violence, sexual exploitation and early marriage.

In early September 2013 UNHCR estimated the number of Syrian refugees in Lebanon at 720,003 and the number of the displaced is still rising. Several local and international organisations have conducted rapid assessments to better understand the magnitude and impact of the crisis on displaced Syrians in Lebanon. Some of the main issues identified by these assessments include overcrowding, inadequate access to basic services, rising rent and food prices, and competition for the limited work opportunities. The assessments also helped to identify women and children as among the most vulnerable groups, solely by virtue of belonging to a particular gender, a certain age group or social status. This in turn shed light on the increase in SGBV among the refugees and the need for humanitarian agencies urgently to develop a tailored response to reduce this form of violence.

There is no quantitative data in respect to violence against women but many displaced Syrian women and girls report having experienced violence, in particular rape. A rapid assessment conducted in 2012 by the International Rescue Committee in collaboration with ABAAD-Resource Center for Gender Equality assessed the vulnerabilities of Syrian women and girls to increased exposure to GBV both prior to crossing the borders and in their new host communities, and concluded the following:

  • Rape and sexual violence were identified by focus groups and key informants alike as the most extensive form of violence faced by women and girls while in Syria.

 

  • Intimate partner violence (IPV), early marriage and survival sex were identified by adult women and adolescent girls as other forms of violence experienced since arriving in Lebanon. Adult female participants in several focus groups reported that IPV has increased since their arrival in Lebanon, while adolescent girls stated that early marriages have increased, most frequently framed as efforts by families to ‘protect’ girls from being raped or to ensure that they are ‘under the protection of a man’. Survival sex, typically linked to women’s and girls’ desperate need to earn money to cover the cost of living since arriving in Lebanon, was also identified as a type of violence frequently experienced by Syrian women and girls.

 

  • Many newly arrived women and girls are living in unplanned and overcrowded refugee settlements, with minimal privacy and compromised safety, particularly among those refugee populations inhabiting abandoned public buildings.

 

  • Survivors are reluctant to report SGBV or seek support due to the shame, fear and ‘dishonour’ to their families. Women risk further physical and sexual violence, including death, often from their own families, when reporting GBV, a pattern that exists in many contexts

 

  • Minimal coordination and lack of adherence to international standards of humanitarian assistance have hindered women’s and girls’ ability to access services. Discrimination and mistreatment are key barriers to accessing services.

 

  • Women and girls have restricted access to information about the availability of services and support, particularly those that are relevant to survivors of GBV. Key informants strongly agreed that there are few services currently in place specifically designed to meet the needs of survivors of GBV or that are accessible to Syrian refugees.[1]

 

Sexual exploitation or non-consensual ‘survival’ sex occurs when women and girls exchange sexual favours for food or other goods, or money to help pay the rent, especially in Lebanon. “And if you want other help from other NGOs you should send your daughter or your sister or sometimes your wife… with full make-up so you can get anything… I think you understand me.” (participant in focus group discussion)

Although early marriage of daughters was common practice in Syria before the conflict began, this is reportedly being resorted to more commonly as a new coping strategy, either as a way of protecting young women or of easing pressures on family finances.

Lower self-esteem among men because of what being a refugee means, in some cases, leads to a negative expression of masculinity. Violence towards women and children has increased as some men vent their frustration and abuse their power within the household. “I dont feel that I am a real man after what has happened to me now, and to be honest, I can’t handle it anymore. … “When my wife asks me for vegetables or meat to prepare food, I hit her. She does not know why she was hit, neither do I.

Outside the household, there are also examples of women and girls who are vulnerable to physical and verbal harassment, including sexual harassment, and in many areas they fear kidnap, robbery and attacks. Widowed or other women on their own are particularly vulnerable, with some hiding the fact that their husbands have been killed or kidnapped and even pretending in public to receive phone calls from their former husbands to protect themselves from male harassment.

Information on the prevalence of GBV among men and boys – and its impact – has been markedly lacking but recent research conducted by ABAAD with the support of UNICEF[2] confirms that men and boys also have faced and/or are likely to face GBV and SGBV in Syria or in their new host communities. Interviews with displaced male youth and boys revealed they did not know the term ‘Gender-Based Violence’ but almost all the interviewees identified different forms of GBV – including domestic violence and harassment based on gender – as present within their communities after fleeing Syria, and had either witnessed such violence or were survivors of it. 10.8% of them had been exposed to sexual harm/harassment in the previous three months but tended to associate the forms of GBV they were exposed to with being Syrian and/or Palestinian/Syrian; thus racism and discrimination masked their ability to identify violence as GBV.

When interviewees were asked specifically about the impact of sexual harm/harassment on them,  the majority reported ignoring it and trying to forget it; some thought it was their fault that it happened. Moreover, the very few who had told someone about it stated that nothing was done as a result. It was clear that the behaviour of the majority of those surveyed had changed drastically due to their displacement and what they had witnessed, resulting in constant conflict within households; they expressed feelings of insecurity, sadness, doubt, anger and loneliness, and were sometimes violent themselves. They have had little access to the resources and social support necessary to help them.

Young males and boys in particular are also highly susceptible to forced and early labour because they are seen from childhood as the economic provider for the family, which in itself is a form of GBV.

Response

Many national and international organisations have been working on reducing GBV against Syrian refugee women, focusing on prevention and protection programmes using a holistic multi-sectoral approach incorporating a range of services such as legal services, information provision and awareness raising, medical and psychological health services, etc. However, these services are decentralised and scattered throughout the different regions and are provided by different providers. Having to go to different access points to obtain services hinders – either because of financial or cultural restrictions – people’s ability to access all the services they need.

Some new initiatives are addressing this problem of scattered service-provision points by creating a clear referral system among providers to facilitate access by beneficiaries. One example is the opening (by ABAAD in collaboration with UNHCR, UNICEF and the Danish Refugee Council) of three Safe Shelters in three different areas within Lebanon where there are large concentrations of Syrian refugees. These houses provide a secure and confidential place for Syrian refugee women who are survivors of or are at high risk of being exposed to GBV, and their children. In addition to providing housing for up to 60 days, the centres also provide – in one venue – case management and crisis counselling, psychosocial and legal support, forensic and medical care and referrals for provision of social services (economic opportunities, longer-term shelter, medical services, etc). 

Recommendations

The following recommendations are drawn from our recent study published with Oxfam which assesses the impact of the Syrian crisis from a gendered perspective, including an examination of the prevalence and impact of GBV[3]:

  • Increase the number of safe spaces for women, men, boys and girls.
  • Organise mass distribution of educational protection messages for women and men.
  • Build the capacity of care providers in clinical care for survivors of sexual assault, gender-based violence case management, and caring for child survivors.
  • Conduct community safety audits to further assess the security situation in relevant areas. Establish community protection mechanisms on the basis of regular community safety audits, including support for women’s groups and capacity-building protection programmes for women.
  • Sensitise and engage relevant community stakeholders and actors in the security sector to install appropriate gender-sensitive security measures, including mechanisms to control the proliferation of small-arms.
  • Work to ensure all actors engaged in the delivery of aid receive training on gender equity, the elimination of violence against women and minimum ethical standards in aid delivery, and aim to meet standard operating principles. All actors should systematically track sexual violence in conflict, and build their GBV documentation capacities.  
  • Ensure all aid agencies adhere to the principle of zero tolerance of sexual violence and exploitation, establish mechanisms for reporting such incidents, and act accordingly when incidents are observed or reported.
  • Establish confidential and trusted mechanisms for tracking and reporting incidents of sexual exploitation and abuse during aid delivery, and inform Syrian women and girls about the existence of such mechanisms.
  • Provide awareness sessions on GBV affecting male youth to staff of aid organisations and start support group sessions for male youth and boys.

 

Ghida Anani ghida.anani@abaadmena.org is Founder and Director of ABAAD-Resource Center for Gender Equality, Beirut, Lebanon. www.abaadmena.org

This article also draws on the two reports listed in endnotes 1 and 3. Quotations by focus group participants are from the Shifting Sands report.



[1] See Executive Summary, Syrian Women & Girls: Fleeing death, facing ongoing threats and humiliation, International Rescue Committee, August 2012 http://tinyurl.com/IRC-Lebanon-August2012

[2] Assessment of the Impact of GBV on Male Youth and Boys among Syrian and Syrian/Palestinian Refugees in Lebanon, ABAAD-UNICEF, forthcoming September 2013

[3] Roula El Masri, Clare Harvey and Rosa Garwood, Shifting Sands: Changing gender roles among refugees in Lebanon, ABAAD- Resource Center for Gender Equality and OXFAM, September 2013 http://tinyurl.com/Oxfam-ABAAD-ShiftingSands-2013

 

FMR 44
September 2013

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.