مقاربة قائمة على الكوارث للتعامل مع النُّزوح النَّازحون داخلياً في الفليبين

في غياب سياسة وطنية للنُّزوح الداخلي، استخدمت الفليبين إطاراً لإدارة الكوارث للتصدي للنُّزوح الناتج عن النزاع المرتبط بالإرهاب في مدينة ماراوي. إلاَّ أنَّ المشكلة التي تعاني منها مثل هذه الاستجابة أنّها لا تقوم على أسس حقوقية.

في مايو/أيار 2017، نشبت مواجهة مسلحة دامت خمسة شهور بين القوات المسلحة للدولة وجماعة ماوتي المتأثر بتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، وأدى إلى نزوح 360 ألف شخص من مدينةماراوي في ميندانانو جنوبي الفليبين. واتجه معظم النازحون داخلياً إلى مراكز الإجلاء في المناطق المجاورة وإلى أفراد الأسرة والأقارب خارج المدينة. وتشير تقارير الأمم المتحدة في أغسطس/آب 2018، عاد ما يزيد على 320 ألفاً من النَّازحين داخلياً إلى المناطق التي أعلنت القوات العسكرية بأنها أصبحت آمنة، إلاَّ أنَّ جهود إعادة البناء ما زالت مستمرة وما زال 69 ألفاً و412 نازحاً داخلياً في طي النسيان.[1]

وإزاء ذلك الواقع، لا تمتلك الفليبين أي قوانين تتعلق حصراً بالنَّازحين داخلياً. بل ترتكز الإرشادات التوجيهية القانونية لاستجابة الدولة في حالات النُّزوح إلى قانون خفض مخاطر الكوارث وإدارتها لعام 2010 [2]الذي يعيد تهيئة الأدوار التقليدية للأجهزة الوطنية والحكومية المحلية وتلقي على عاتقها مسؤوليات إضافية للاستجابة للكارثة. ولقي هذا القانون ترحيباً كبيراً عند إقراره على أنَّه تطور جيد، إلاَّ أنَّ محدوديات هذا الإطار العام أصبحت واضحة للعيان الآن. فهو أولاً معني بالهياكل والمباني بدلاً من التركيز على الحقوق والمعايير، ويتعلق بالجهات الفاعلة المستجيبة وليس بالنَّازحين، ولا يمكن ترجمة ذلك إلى استجابة منهجية فعالة، بل ما زالت جهود التعافي قائمة على أساس اعتباطي بعد حدوث الكارثة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يتضمن الإطار المصطلحات اللغوية الحقوقية باستثناء إعلاناته غير الملزمة. ونظراً لافتقار هذا الإطار القانوني والمؤسسي إلى الدعامات الأساسية الواضحة لحقوق الإنسان، تتأثر عمليات التخطيط اللاحقة للاستجابة وتنفيذها.

ومن جهة أخرى، لكي تستخدم الحكومة التمويلات المخصصة للكوارث، لا بد لها من اتِّباع عمليات توريد وصرف مُطوَّلة ما يؤخر الاستجابة. وكذلك قانون خفض مخاطر الكوارث وإدارتها، فقد نصَّ على التوجيهات المرشدة لعملية إنشاء صناديق الائتمان الخاصة بالاستجابة لحالة الطوارئ وفرض على الحكومة أن تحول إليه الرصيد المتبقي من الأموال غير المصروفة في السنوات الماضية، لكنَّ الحكومات المحلية لم تفعل ذلك، ما أضعف القدرات المحلية على الاستجابة.[3]

أمَّا اللوائح التنظيمية الصادرة بموجب قانون خفض مخاطر الكوارث وإدارتها فتحظر على النَّازحين داخلياً بيع سلع الإغاثة لقاء النقد حتى لو كانت السلع التي تُقدَّم لهم ذات نوعية رديئة وتفتقر إلى التنوُّع. وتُظهِر عملية الرصد التي أجرتها لجنة حقوق الإنسان الفلبينية أنَّ الاستجابة لم تُلبِّ حاجات النَّازحين من السلع المطلوبة خلافاً لإعانات الغوث. ويضاف إلى ذلك أنَّ بعض النَّازحين داخلياً قالوا إنَّ بعض مقدمي الخدمات هددوا بأن يدرجوا أسماءهم على ’القائمة السوداء‘ ومنعهم من تلقي الإغاثة إذا عمدوا إلى بيع ما يتسلمونه منها في ممارسة تتعارض تماماً مع معايير الحد الأدنى لسفير التي تنص على أن على السماح للنازحين داخلياً لبيع السلع مقابل حصولهم على ضرورات الحياة أو النقد.[4]

ولم تتمكن بعض المجتمعات النَّازحة من الوصول إلى سبل كسب الرزق وفرص توليد النقد ما أضعف قدرتهم على التعافي من الأزمة. وافتقرت مواقع الإجلاء الأخرى للمرافق ومراكز الرعاية الصحية الطارئة. أمَّا النساء والفتيات النازحات، فواجهن أيضاً حالة شديدة من الضعف والتعرض خاصة للتحرش الجنسي والإتجار بالبشر نظراً لافتقار مواقع الإجلاء للترتيبات اللازمة المراعية للجندر، إذ ليست تلك المواقع مجهزة بالفواصل بين دورات مياه الرجال والنساء بل كانت دورتا المياه متلاصقتان في بعض الأماكن. وكانت حرية النَّازحين داخلياً مقيدة وكانت السلطات تطلب إليهم مراراً إبراز وثائقهم التعريفية الشخصية حتى لو فُقِدَت تلك الوثائق أو أتلفت في النزاع.

ومع أنَّ قانون خفض مخاطر الكوارث وإدارتها نصَّ على الهيكليات المحددة التي يجب أن تعمل في حالة الكوارث، كانت آليات تنسيق المخيمات من المشكلات الكبيرة بسبب الارتباك وعدم اليقين في معرفة أي جهة حكومية عليها أن تقود جهود التنسيق. وحتى الحكومات المحلية المضيف لم تمتلك الموارد الكافية لتلبية حاجات النَّازحين داخلياً.[5]

ثم تدخل فريق العمل الوطني لبانغون ماراوي ككيان تشترك في أعماله مختلف الهيئات والأجهزة على مستويات متعددة لرصد تنفيذ الاستجابة، لكنَّ ذلك الفريق واجه تحديات بدوره. ففريق العمل ينبثق عن برنامج التأهيل والتعافي الشامل لبانغون ماراوي، وهذا البرنامج هو السياسة الرئيسية التي تقود الجهود نحو التصدي للنُّزوح الداخلي الناتج عن نزاع ماراوي (ولم يُنفَّذ بالكامل بعد). وكان رئيس الفليبين هو من أسس ذلك الفريق في يوليو/تموز 2017 كاستجابة آنية محددة لأزمة ماراوي وليس كتجسيد لقانون خفض مخاطر الكوارث وإدارتها.

أمَّا برنامج التأهيل والتعافي الشامل لبانغون ماراوي فقد أسس برامجه على ضوء تقييمات حاجات ما بعد النّزاع والاستشارات التي جسَّدت أصوات المجتمعات المحلية والنَّازحين داخلياً أنفسهم وممثليهم وغيرهم من أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين في المجتمعات بالإضافة إلى خطط الحكومات المحلية وخطط غيرها من أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين. فقد أخذ البرنامج بآراء النَّازحين داخلياً وأصحاب المصلحة في المجتمعات المحلية وذلك إن دل على شيء دل على أهمية وجهات النظر لتلك الفئات في الإعداد للتخطيط والعمل على إنجاح التنفيذ. ومع ذلك، ما زالت عملية صناعة القرارات تتجه من أعلى الهرم إلى الأسفل، ويعني ذلك أنَّ أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين لم يكونوا جزءاً من الهيكلية المؤسسية المستخدمة في التخطيط لفريق العمل أو تشغيله.

يضاف إلى تلك التعقيدات أنَّ الاستجابة لأزمة ماراوي اكتست بالطابع العسكري منذ البداية، أو على الأقل يمكن القول إنَّ الحضور العسكري قوي جداً فيها إذ تستحوذ على زمام الأمور فيها وزارة الدفاع الوطني التي تترأس كلاًّ من فريق العمل وتقود مهمة تنفيذ قانون خفض مخاطر الكوارث وإدارتها من خلال مجلس خفض مخاطر الكوارث الوطنية وإدارتها، وتولت أيضاً أمر إعادة تأهيل النَّازحين داخلياً وتنسيق جهود التعافي في ماراوي.

وما لم يحصل النَّازحون داخلياً على حقوق خاصة بهم، فلن يكونوا جاهزين للمطالبة بمستحقاتهم الخاصة من الحكومة ولن يستطيعوا المطالبة بإجراءات ملموسة أو المشاركة في الحوار الدائر حول المعايير وجودة استجابات النُّزوح. ولو أنَّ العمل على المستوى المؤسسي ضمن مزيداً من المشاركة وأبدى مزيداً من الالتزامات بحقوق الإنسان، لكان الأثر عظيماً في تحسين الاستجابات للنُّزوح في هذه الحالة. ومن هنا تتبين أهمية المبادئ التَّوجيهية بشأن النُّزوح الداخلي فلو أنَّها أدمجت في المقاربة المتَّبعة في استجابة الطوارئ لربما ساهم ذلك في تسهيلها وتسهيل إعادة التأهيل بطريقة فعالة تمتثل إلى التزامات حقوق الإنسان. ومع أنَّ مشروعات قوانين النُّزوح الداخلي قد صيغت في البرلمان الفليبيني لتقدم نصوصاً تتماشى مع المبادئ التوجيهية لضمان وصول النَّازحين داخلياً إلى السلع والخدمات إضافة إلى إدانة الأطراف المسؤولة عن التسبب في نزوح الناس القسري، ما زالت تلك المشروعات عالقة في البرلمان منذ عقد من الزمن تقريباً ولم تُقرُّ بعد. وبذلك تتضح أهمية استمرار إيلاء الاهتمام لدى هيئات حقوق الإنسان الوطنية وغيرها المحلية منها والدولية واستمرار مشاركتها من أجل دفع مشروعات القوانين تلك وإخراجها إلى حيِّز النفاذ.

رينا بيرموديز reinna.chr@gmail.com

مدير المكتب، مركز الأزمات والنزاعات والحماية الإنسانية في لجنة حقوق الإنسان للفليبين http://chr.gov.ph

فرانسيس توم تيمپروسا temprosa@umich.edu

طالب دكتوراه في علوم القانون، وزميل ميتشيغان غروتيوس، كلية القانون في جامعة ميتشيغان www.law.umich.edu/prospectivestudents/graduate/degreeprograms/sjd/Pages/francis-tom-temprosa.aspx

أوديسا غونزاليز بينسون odessagb@umich.edu

بروفيسورة مساعدة، مدرسة البحث الاجتماعي ومدرسة الدراسات الحضرية، جامعة ميتشيغان https://ssw.umich.edu/faculty/profiles/tenure-track/odessagb

[1] https://reliefweb.int/report/philippines/philippines-humanitarian-bulletin-issue-7-august-2018  

[2] www.officialgazette.gov.ph/2010/05/27/republic-act-no-10121/

[3] لجنة تقرير التدقيق على صندوق إدارة خفض مخاطر الكوارث الطبيعية (2016)

[4] مشروع سفير للمعايير الدنيا في إمداد المياه والإصحاح والنهوض بالنظافة، الملحوظة التوجيهية 4، ص 90

http://www.spherehandbook.org/content/pages/ar/6.minimum-standards-in-water-supply-sanitation-and-hygiene-promotion.pdf

[5] واعتادت لجنة حقوق الإنسان على تولي نشاطات الرَّصد في المناطق المتأثرة بأزمة ماراوي وتنفذها بالتشارك مع الجهات الأخرى من خلال المكاتب الإقليمية للجنة واللجنة الإقليمية لحقوق الإنسان في الحكومة الإقليمية التي تتبع لها ماراوي.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

A disaster approach to displacement: IDPs in the Philippines

In the absence of a national policy on internal displacement, the Philippines has used a disaster management framework to address displacement caused by terrorism-related conflict in Marawi City. Such a response, however, suffers from the absence of a rights-based foundation. 

A five-month armed encounter between State armed forces and the Islamic State-inspired Maute Group, which began in May 2017, displaced around 360,000 people from Marawi City in Mindanao in the southern Philippines. These internally displaced persons (IDPs) mainly sought refuge in evacuation centres in neighbouring areas and with family members outside Marawi. According to UN reports of August 2018, over 320,000 IDPs have returned to areas declared safe by the military but full rebuilding efforts are still underway and 69,412 IDPs remain in limbo.[1]

The Philippines has no laws relating specifically to IDPs. Instead, legal guidelines for the State’s response in cases of displacement are based on the Philippine Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Act of 2010 (PDRRMA).[2] This law reconfigures the traditional roles of national and local government agencies, giving them additional responsibility for disaster response. PDRRMA was hailed as a landmark when it was passed but the limitations of this framework are now evident. It is principally about structures rather than rights and standards, about response actors rather than displaced people, and this does not translate into systematic, efficient response; recovery efforts are still created on an ad hoc basis following disasters. Furthermore, it contains no rights language, except in its non-binding declarations. The lack of a clear human rights-based underpinning to this legal and institutional framework consequently affects the ensuing planning processes and implementation of response.

Government use of certain disaster funds undergo long procurement and disbursement processes, delaying response provision. The PDRRMA has also provided guidance on the creation of special trust funds for emergency response to which local governments must transfer their unspent balance from previous years, yet some local governments fail to do so, further weakening local capacity to respond.[3]

PDRRMA regulations forbid IDPs from selling relief goods in exchange for cash, although the goods provided can be of low quality and lack variety. Monitoring by the Philippines’ Commission on Human Rights (CHR) shows that needs for goods other than relief items were not being met. In addition, some IDPs said that some service providers threatened to ‘blacklist’ them from relief provision if they sold items they received. This contravenes Sphere minimum standards which state that IDPs should be allowed to sell goods received in exchange for basic necessities and cash.[4]

Some displaced communities did not have access to livelihood and cash-generating opportunities, hampering their capacity to recover from the crisis. Other evacuation sites did not have facilities for emergency health care. Women and girl IDPs also experienced heightened vulnerability – in particular, to sexual harassment and trafficking – given the lack of gender-sensitive arrangements in evacuation areas (where, for example, there are no partitions between men’s and women’s latrines which, in some areas, are adjacent to each other). IDPs’ movements were restricted and they were frequently asked to present identification documents to authorities, even though their documents had often been lost or destroyed in flight.

Despite the rigid structures outlined by the PDRRMA, camp coordination mechanisms were problematic as there was confusion surrounding which government authorities should lead in coordinating efforts. Local host governments also did not have adequate resources to meet the needs of IDPs.[5]

The national Task Force Bangon Marawi has stepped in to act as the inter-agency, multi-level body to oversee implementation of the response although it, too, has faced challenges. The task force emanates from the Bangon Marawi Comprehensive Rehabilitation and Recovery Program (BMCRRP), the main policy that guides efforts for addressing internal displacement stemming from the Marawi conflict (but which is yet to be fully executed). This task force was formed by President Duterte in July 2017 as an ad hoc response specific to the Marawi crisis, rather than in alignment with the PDRRMA.

The BMCRRP based its programming on post-conflict needs assessments and consultations from community voices – IDPs themselves as well as their representatives and other community stakeholders – in addition to local governments’ and other stakeholders’ plans. Taking account of the views of IDPs and of community stakeholders is a recognition of the importance of their perspectives for planning and successful implementation. However, the decision-making process remains top-down: these stakeholders did not form part of the institutional structure used to plan and operate the task force.

The Marawi crisis response has been militarised from the start, or at least has a strong military presence. The Department of National Defense, which heads both the Task Force and the implementation of the PDRRMA through the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council, is in charge of IDP rehabilitation and coordinating recovery efforts in Marawi.

Without specific rights, IDPs cannot readily claim particular entitlements from the government, demand concrete actions or engage in dialogue on the standards and quality of responses to displacement. More participative processes and more human rights commitments made at the institutional level could greatly improve the responses to internal displacement in this case. An approach that incorporates the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement has the potential to facilitate emergency response and rehabilitation that are efficient and compliant with human rights commitments. Laws on internal displacement have been drafted, including provisions – in line with the Guiding Principles – that would ensure IDPs’ access to goods and services, and culpability for those responsible for arbitrary displacement. Those drafts, however, have languished in the Congress of the Philippines for around a decade. Sustained attention and involvement of nationally based human rights agencies and other actors, both local and international, are necessary to help to put such laws into effect.

 

Reinna Bermudez reinna.chr@gmail.com
Officer-in-Charge, Center for Crisis, Conflict, and Humanitarian Protection, of the Commission on Human Rights (CHR) of the Philippines http://chr.gov.ph/

Francis Tom Temprosa temprosa@umich.edu
Doctor of the Science of Law student, Michigan Grotius Fellow, University of Michigan Law School www.law.umich.edu/prospectivestudents/graduate/degreeprograms/sjd/Pages/francis-tom-temprosa.aspx

Odessa Gonzalez Benson odessagb@umich.edu
Assistant Professor, School of Social Work and Detroit School of Urban Studies, University of Michigan https://ssw.umich.edu/faculty/profiles/tenure-track/odessagb

 

[1] https://reliefweb.int/report/philippines/philippines-humanitarian-bulletin-issue-7-august-2018  

[2] www.officialgazette.gov.ph/2010/05/27/republic-act-no-10121/

[3] Commission on Audit Report on DRRM Fund (2016)

[4] Sphere Project Minimum Standards in Water Supply, Sanitation and Hygiene Promotion , Guidance Note 4, p95 www.spherehandbook.org/content/pages/en/6.minimum-standards-in-water-supply-sanitation-and-hygiene-promotion.pdf

[5] The CHR has been undertaking monitoring activities in areas affected by the Marawi crisis, conducted jointly through regional offices of the Commission and the Regional Human Rights Commission of the regional government covering Marawi.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview