المراهقة وأزمة الغذاء والهجرة

يواجه المراهقون الذين يهاجرون بسبب أزمة الغذاء مخاطر مختلفة.وعلى المعنيين الحول دون حدوث هذه الظاهرة والاستجابة لها.

في الأزمات المرتبطة بالجفاف وما ينتج عنه من نقص في الغذاء، يكون محور اهتمام الجهات الفاعلة المعنية بالطفولة والأطفال الأصغر سناً، ولاسيما مشاكل انتشار أمراض سوء التغذية وارتفاع معدل وفيات الأطفال والأعداد الكبيرة للمتسربين من التعليم في المدارس الابتدائية. ولكن هذه الجهات لا تولي سوى قدراً ضئيلاً من الاهتمام للأطفال الأكبر سناً، وخاصة لدوافع العمل والهجرة والعنف التي تتأثر بها هذه الطائفة العمرية. فالأطفال في سن المراهقة، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 10 - 18 عاماً، أكثر عرضة لخطر الانفصال عن عائلاتهم والتعرض للعنف والاستغلال والإساءة التي عادة ما تتصل بالهجرة من المناطق المتضررة سعياً للبحث عن عمل. ومع ذلك، فبالرغم من هذه الحقائق، يغفل المعنيون هذه الآثار ولا يتخذون الإجراءات الخاصة اللازمة للوصول إلى الأطفال في سن المراهقة.

ولمعرفة مزيد من المعلومات عن تجارب الأطفال في سن المراهقة والمتضررين بفعل أزمة الغذاء، أجرت منظمة بلان انترناشيونال في غرب أفريقيا مؤخراً بحثاً بشأن آثار أزمة الغذاء على حماية الفتيات والفتيان في سن المراهقة في بوركينا فاسو والنيجر.[i]

ومن أبرز النتائج التي خلص إليها هذا البحث الضغوط المفروضة على المراهقين، وخاصة الفتيان، للهجرة أو السفر سعياً لإيجاد عمل. فالعائلات المتضررة بسبب أزمة الغذاء والمعتمدة غالباً على الزراعة للحصول على الغذاء والدخل تجد نفسها مجبرة على إيجاد موارد بديلة للدخل عندما يخفقون في تحقيق ما يرمون إليه في موسم الحصاد. وهكذا، جرت العادة على استدعاء المراهقين لدعم عائلاتهم في أوقات الأزمات. ففي بوركينا فاسو، عُرف أن نحو 81% من الفتيان و58% من الفتيات مجبرون على العمل جراء أزمة الغذاء في حين أن النسبة كانت نحو 75% من الفتيان و42% من الفتيات فقط قبل حدوث أزمة الغذاء. أما في النيجر، فكانت نسبة المراهقين العاملين أثناء وقت الأزمة مضاعفة في مقابل المستويات قبل الأزمة؛ حيث ارتفعت من 31% إلى 60%. وعلاوة على ذلك، فقبل حدوث أزمة الغذاء كان كثير من الأطفال يعملون في الزراعة بالقرب من منازلهم، أما مع بداية الأزمة، اضطرت العائلات إلى إرسال المراهقين خارج مجتمعاتهم المحلية لإيجاد عمل مدفوع الأجر.

وفي بوركينا فاسو، أبلغ أن نحو 17% من الفتيان في سن المراهقة و10% من الفتيات في سن المراهقة أجبروا على الانتقال جراء أزمة الغذاء. وفي كلتا الدولتين، انتقل الفتيان في سن المراهقة إلى المدن الكبيرة وأحياناً خارج البلاد سعياً للعمل بوصفهم عمالاً في الأشغال اليدوية أو باعة متجولين. وبحث الفتيان أيضاً عن عمل في مواقع التعدين. ولا يتطلب بالضرورة العمل في موقع التعدين من الأطفال الهجرة ولكنه يستلزم السفر ذهاباً وإياباً على نحو دوري وأحياناً يقضي بعض الفتيان على نحو خاص الليالي في مواقع التعدين. وتزداد احتمالية بقاء الفتيات داخل مجتمعاتهن المحلية ليتحملن عبء جزء كبير من الأعمال المحلية دون أجر، مثل: جمع الطعام أو رعاية الأطفال الصغار.

وتأتي الهجرة والانتقال بحثاً عن العمل جنباً إلى جنب مع التعرض أيضاً للعنف لأن المراهقين ينتقلون دون مصاحبة البالغين لحمايتهم. ففي بوركينا فاسو، أبلغ نحو 26% من الفتيان في سن المراهقة الذين عقدت معهم مقابلات، مقارنة بنحو 2% من الفتيات، على أنهم كانوا ضحيا للعنف مرة واحدة على الأقل جراء أزمة الغذاء. وفي المناقشات، وجد أن هذا الأمر يرتبط في المقام الأول بالتعرض للعنف في مواقع التعدين حيث يُحتمل أن يُهاجم المراهقين من قبل عمال المناجم الكبار الذين يسعون لسرقة ما يحصلون عليه. وإضافة إلى التعرض للعنف، يكون العمل في حد ذاته غالباً خطيراً وصعباً. ومع أنه لم يكن حاضراً أثناء إجراء الدراسة إلا عدد قليل من الأطفال العاملين في المدن أو خارج البلاد، فروايات أبائهم وأقرانهم كانت أرضاً خصبة للدراسات التي خلصت إلى زيادة احتمالية تعرض هؤلاء الأطفال أيضاً للعنف والاستغلال.[ii]

وعادة ما يغمر هؤلاء الأطفال الشعور بالتهميش. فقد عُرف أن الأطفال الذين انتقلوا إلى البلدان والمدن أو خارج البلاد يواجهون صعوبات كبيرة، فهم عادة ما يعملون على نحو غير قانوني في الدول والمدن ذات الثقافات والقيم المغايرة للمكان الذي جاءوا منه مما يعرضهم للعنف والتحرش والاستغلال. ولم يبد المراهقون ومجتمعاتهم المحلية أيضاً في هذه الدراسة المسحية أنهم على وعي بأي مبادرات قدمت في مجتمعاتهم أو في المناطق التي توجهوا إليها تهدف إلى منع العنف الناتج عن أزمة الغذاء والاستجابة له.

وبالطبع، أسفرت زيادة عدد الأطفال العاملين إلى نقص عدد الأطفال المنتظمين في المدارس. ومع ذلك، فمساهمات المراهقين في أوقات الأزمة شديدة الأهمية وضرورية لإبقاء العائلات على قيد الحياة. ولم يُسهب المراهقون أنفسهم كثيراً بشأن مستقبلهم أو أوضاعهم أو المشاكل التي يواجهونها ولكن بدا عليهم تقبل تحمل مسؤوليات إضافية كجزء من النظام الطبيعي في الحياة. وعموماً، لم يظهر أن دور المراهقين بوصفهم معيلين جاء قسراً على يد البالغين. وللاستشهاد على ذلك، قالت فتاة في سن المراهقة ببساطة: "ندرك أنه لن يوجد شيء لنأكله إن لم نعمل".

وعلى نحو مثير للاهتمام، منحت حقيقة أن أزمة الغذاء دفعت كثيراً من المراهقين لتولي أدواراً جديدة في عائلاتهم بوصفهم معيلين في بعض الحالات هؤلاء المراهقين شأناً كبيراً في عائلاتهم ومجتمعاتهم عند صناعة القرارات؛ فقد كانت بداية أزمة الغذاء عند كثير من الفتيات والفتيان بمثابة نهاية مفاجئة لطفولتهم. وتعد الضغوط على المراهقين كبيرة ولها عواقب سلبية على نموهم البدني والنفسي، فقد أعرب كثير من الفتيان والفتيات الذين أجريت معهم مقابلات أثناء إجراء الدراسة عن شعورهم باليأس والمشقة جراء واقع ما يجابهونه ببساطة من فقر مدقع وجوع شديد. وظهر الجانب المظلم للمسؤوليات الجديدة الملقاة على عاتق المراهقين أيضاً في ازدياد السلوكيات المحفوفة بالمخاطر لديهم، وخاصة عند تعرضهم للبغاء والمخدرات.

شح الاستجابات

بالرغم من الآثار الكبيرة والخاصة الناتجة عن أزمة الغذاء على المراهقين، لا يوجد سوى برامج قليلة، إن وجدت، مخصصة للاستجابة لاحتياجاتهم. ولم تُسفر مشاركة المراهقين في برامج المساعدة الإنسانية الموضوعة للبالغين أيضاً عن أي استجابة واقعية لاحتياجاتهم الخاصة. فضلاً عن أن برامج الغذاء مقابل العمل والنقد لقاء العمل في المناطق التي أجريت عليها هذه الدراسة كانت ذات تأثير محدود أيضاً في منع الهجرة في سن المراهقة. وعلى وجه الخصوص، بما أنه لا يُسمح للمراهقين دون سن 16 عاماً بالمشاركة في هذه المشاريع، كانت الهجرة للعمل واحدة من الاستراتيجيات الوحيدة المتاحة لهم لزيادة دخول عائلاتهم.

وعادة ما تدور النقاشات بشأن أزمة الغذاء في العالم الإنساني في هذه الأيام حول مفهوم اللدونة. ومع ذلك، لا تُخصص إلا مساحة ضئيلة لقضايا الهجرة والحماية والتعليم. وعلاوة على ذلك، لم توظف الاستجابات الإنسانية لأزمة الغذاء التي تحل ببطء على البلاد في الحول دون حدوث القضايا التي تضر بالمراهقين والاستجابة لها، مثل: الضغوط على المراهقين للهجرة خارج مجتمعاتهم المحلية للبحث عن عمل. وإضافة إلى الآثار السلبية على الأطفال من الناحية الفردية بتعرضهم للعنف وعواقب ذلك على صحتهم ونموهم العقلي والجسدي، ثمة آثار طويلة الأجل على المجتمعات المحلية ذاتها في المناطق المحتمل تعرضها لأزمة الغذاء. فالضغوط المفروضة على المراهقين لتولي الأعمال التي لا تحتاج لمهارات عالية بوصفها إستراتيجية تأقلم قصيرة المدة توقع المجتمعات المحلية في شرك شائك من الفقر لأن الأطفال يعجزون عن استكمال تعليمهم الأساسي أو الحصول على فرص للتوظيف في الأعمال التي تتطلب مهارة لأدائها.

وعلى الجهود المستقبلية المبذولة لتأسيس اللدونة في المناطق المعرضة لأزمة الغذاء مراعاة المبادرات التي لا تهدف إلى تقليل ظروف الاستضعاف المحيطة بسُبل العيش عيش السكان وحسب، ولكن الداعمة بفاعلية أيضاً للمراهقين بوصفهم الفاعلين الأساسيين في عائلاتهم ومجتمعاتهم المحلية في أوقات الأزمات. فعلى سبيل المثال، دعم الأطفال في سن المراهقة لتنمية مهاراتهم من خلال مزاولة أنشطة مدرة لدخول متنوعة، مثل: تربية الدواجن أو زراعة الخضروات، وأداؤها جنباً إلى جنب مع الذهاب للمدرسة، لن يُشجع الآباء على إرسال أطفالهم إلى المدارس وحسب ولكنه يُقلل أيضاً من الضغوط الواقعة على الأطفال للهجرة بحثاً عن عمل.

جانيس ريدسديل Janis.Ridsdel@plan-international.org متخصصة في مجال حماية الأطفال في حالات الطوارئ في منظمة بلان انترناشيونال. www.plan-international.org



[i] تألف البحث من متن البحث وتجميع البيانات في 54 مجتمع محلي متضرر من أزمة الغذاء في بوركينا فاسو والنيجر.  تقرير غير منشور (يناير/كانون الثاني 2013) بشأن: العيش في خطر مزدوج: الفتيات في سن المراهقة والكوارث

 (In Double Jeopardy: Adolescent Girls and Disasters)، منظمة بلان انترناشيونال (2013)

http://tinyurl.com/Plan-InDoubleJeopardy2013

دانييلا ريالي (2008)، بعيدا عن المنزل: حماية الأطفال ودعمهم في رحلاتهم

(Away from Home: Protecting and Supporting Children on the Move)

منظمة Save the Children

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Adolescence, food crisis and migration

Adolescents who migrate because of food crises face distinct risks. Specific strategies are needed to prevent and respond to this phenomenon.

At times of crisis related to drought and ensuing food shortages, most child-focused actors have looked primarily at the youngest children, and specifically at the problems of widespread malnutrition, high infant mortality rates and the large number of drop-outs from primary school. Little attention has been paid to older children, and in particular to the dynamics of labour, migration and violence that affect this group. Adolescent children – those between the ages of 10 and 18 – are more at risk of becoming separated from their families and being exposed to violence, exploitation and abuse, often in connection with migration from affected areas in order to look for work. However, in spite of this there has been little consideration of the impact and the specific measures needed to reach adolescent children.

In order to find out more about the experiences of adolescent children affected by food crisis, Plan International in West Africa recently conducted research on the impact of food crises on the protection of adolescent girls and boys in Burkina Faso and Niger.[1]

A major finding concerned the pressure on adolescents – and especially boys – to migrate or travel in order to find work. Families affected by food crisis who rely predominantly on agriculture for food and for income are forced to find alternative sources of revenue when harvests fail. Adolescents are often called upon to support their families in these times of crisis. In Burkina Faso, 81% of boys and 58% of girls reported that they had to undertake work due to the food crisis compared to 75% of boys and 42% of girls before the food crisis. In Niger, the percentage of adolescents reporting undertaking work during the crisis almost doubled compared to levels before the crisis – from 31% to 60%. Furthermore, whereas before the food crisis many children would have been involved in agricultural work close to home, the onset of crisis pushes families to send adolescents outside their communities to find paid work.

In Burkina Faso, 17% of adolescent boys and 10% of adolescent girls reported that they had been obliged to move due to the food crisis. In both countries, adolescent boys moved to larger towns and even abroad to seek jobs as manual labourers or street vendors. Boys also sought work on mining sites. Working on a mining site did not necessarily require children to migrate but rather to travel back and forth periodically, with boys especially likely to spend nights at mining sites. Girls were more likely to stay within the community, undertaking a greater share of unpaid domestic labour, including gathering food or caring for younger children.

Migration and movement for work also appeared to go hand in hand with exposure to violence as adolescents moved without adults to protect them. In Burkina Faso, 26% of adolescent boys interviewed, compared to just 2% of girls, declared they had been a victim of violence at least once due to the impact of the food crisis. In discussions, it was found that this related primarily to exposure to violence on mining sites, where adolescents could be attacked by older miners looking to steal their findings. In addition to exposure to violence, the work itself could often be dangerous and hard. While fewer children who worked in cities or abroad were present during the study, the accounts of their parents and peers echo other studies that suggest that these children too are more likely to be exposed to violence and exploitation.[2]

The feeling of marginalisation amongst these children was emphasised. Children who had moved to towns and cities or abroad were reported to face significant difficulties, often working illegally in countries and cities with different cultures and values to their own, thus exposing them to violence, harassment and exploitation. Adolescents and their communities in this survey were also not aware of any initiatives in their communities or at their destinations aimed at preventing and responding to violence resulting from the food crisis.

The increase in children engaging in work was, not surprisingly, accompanied by a decrease in children going to school. However, the contributions made by adolescents at times of crisis are considered very important and essential for the survival of families. Adolescents themselves did not dwell on their future or their own situations or problems but seemed to accept the need to take on additional responsibilities as part of the natural order of things. On the whole, the role of adolescents as breadwinners did not appear to be enforced by adults. As one adolescent girl remarked, simply, “We’re aware that there’s nothing to eat if we don’t work.”

Interestingly, the fact that food crises impelled many adolescents to take up new roles in the family as breadwinners in some cases afforded them a greater say in family and community decision-making – for many girls and boys, the onset of a food crisis means an abrupt end to their childhood. The pressure on adolescents is significant and has consequences for their physical and psychological development; many boys and girls interviewed over the course of the study spoke of their desperation and hardships due simply to the fact that they were facing extreme poverty and hunger. The darker side of the new responsibilities of adolescents was also reported in increases in risky behaviour – in particular, exposure to prostitution and drugs.

Dearth of responses

In spite of the significant and specific impact of food crises on adolescents, there appear to be few if any programmes designed to respond to their needs. The participation of adolescents in humanitarian assistance programmes designed for adults also did not appear to respond to their specific needs. Food for work and cash for work programmes in the areas assessed in this study were also reported to have had little effect in preventing adolescent migration. In particular, since adolescents under 16 are not allowed to participate in these projects, migration for work was one of the only viable strategies for them to increase family income.

Discussions of food crises in the humanitarian world seem to revolve these days around the concept of resilience. Yet within this debate little place is given to issues of migration, protection and education. Furthermore, humanitarian responses to slow-onset food crises have typically not invested in preventing and responding to the specific issues affecting adolescents, including the pressures on adolescents to migrate out of their communities to find work. In addition to the negative impacts this has on individual children in terms of their exposure to violence and the consequences on their mental and physical health and development, there are also long-term consequences for community development in areas vulnerable to food crises. The pressure on adolescents to take up low-skilled work as a short-term coping strategy traps communities in a vicious cycle of poverty as children are unable to complete basic education or access opportunities for skilled employment.

Future efforts to build resilience in areas vulnerable to food crisis need to consider initiatives that not only aim to reduce the vulnerability of household livelihoods but also proactively support adolescents as key actors in their households and communities in times of crisis. For example, supporting adolescent children to develop skills in diverse income-generating activities such as poultry farming or vegetable gardening that can be maintained alongside school attendance could not only encourage parents to send children to school but also reduce the pressures on children to migrate to find work.

 

Janis Ridsdel Janis.Ridsdel@plan-international.org is Child Protection in Emergencies Specialist at Plan International. www.plan-international.org



[1] The research consisted of a literature review and data collection in 54 food crisis-affected communities in Burkina Faso and Niger.  Unpublished report (January 2013) forIn Double Jeopardy: Adolescent Girls and Disasters, Plan International (2013) http://tinyurl.com/Plan-InDoubleJeopardy2013

[2] Daniella Reale, (2008) Away from Home: Protecting and Supporting Children on the Move, Save the Children

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview