الأزمة السورية: التحديات الإنسانية والطبية أمام مساعدة اللاجئين الجدد في لبنان والعراق

أظهرت التدفقات الكبيرة والمستمرة للاجئين السوريين والفلسطينيين الوافدين على الدول المجاورة لسوريا محدودية الممارسة الإنسانية وأنَّها تمثل أيضاً تحديات جديدة للتدخلات الطبية والإنسانية.

 

مع استمرار الأزمة في سوريا، تشهد الحاجات الإنسانية داخل البلاد وخارجها تصاعداً سريعاً. فمنذ بداية الأزمة في شهر مارس/آذار 2011، تأثرت قدرة المنظمات الدولية على توفير المساعدات داخل سوريا وخضعت إلى قيود كبيرة. ولذلك، ركَّزت معظم الهيئات الدولية اهتمامها على وضع اللاجئين الذين عبروا الحدود إلى كل من تركيا ولبنان والأردن والعراق. وتقدِّر مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين إجمالي عدد اللاجئين بمن فيهم الموجودين في مصر وغير ذلك من دول أخرى بمليوني لاجئ ابتداءً بأواخر شهر أغسطس/آب 2014. [i]

لقد كان هناك أثر كبير للتدفق الجماعي للاجئين خلال العامين الماضيين على دول الجوار، لكنَّ المجتمع الدولي لم يعالج ذلك الأثر على نحو ملائم. فما زالت معظم الأولويات الحالية والممارسات الخاصة بتوفير الرعاية الصحية في بيئات النزاع، لسوء الحظ، قائمة لعقود منصرمة كان يُنظر للنزاع فيها على أنه مصاحب لمخيمات اللاجئين المكتظة التي تؤوي فئات من الشباب من البلدان النامية. لكنَّ الأمر غير ذلك، فالحروب المعاصرة تندلع في بيئات ذات مستويات أعلى من الدخل يصاحبها مؤشرات صحية أساسية أفضل وعادة ما تكون مدتها مطولة. وتغير هذه الحقائق التركيبة السكانية تغييراً كبيراً وكذلك تغير السمات الرئيسية للأمراض التي تصيب السكان المتأثرين بالنزاع.

شمالي العراق

خلال عام 2012، فرَّ كثير من الأكراد السوريين إلى العراق المجاور، وخاصة إلى إقليم حكومة كوردستان. وفي محافظة دهوك العراقية، افتُتح مخيم دوميز في أبريل/نيسان 2012 وكذلك افتتحت الحكومة المركزية في بغداد مخيمين آخرين في المنطقة الجنوبية الغربية للعراق. وبعد ثمانية عشر شهراً، اتضح أنّ المساعدات المقدمة في مخيم دوميز أقل من المستوى المقبول، فلم يكن الاستثمار المطلوب في المياه والإصحاح كافياً ولم يكن هناك أي تخطيط صحيح وسليم لمختلف مراحل المخيم. أما فيما يخص حضور المنظمات الدولية، فهو لا يكاد يُذكر. وهناك شح كبير في رؤية متوسطة إلى بعيدة الأمد في توقع وصول اللاجئين الجدد إلى المخيم. وفي حين أبدت السلطات الكردية في البداية سياسة ترحيبيه بالاجئين، ما زال غياب دعم المجتمع الدولي سبباٌ في دفعهم إلى تقييد المساعدة بطرق مختلفة تضمنت، على سبيل المثال، إغلاق الحدود في مايو/أيار 2013. ومع أنَّ حكومة إقليم كوردستان سمحت للاجئين بالوصول إلى الخدمات العامة، دون مقابل، فقد بدأت هذه الخدمات تشح عما كانت عليه في السابق.

ومع اندلاع المناوشات مؤخراً شرقي سوريا، أعادت سلطة حكومة كوردستان العراقية فتح الحدود في 15/8/2013. وإثر ذلك، تدفق ما يزيد على 30000 شخص إلى الإقليم خلال بضعة أيام. فامتلأ بذلك مخيم كاوارغوست في أربيل الذي افتُتح مؤخراً ووصل إلى طاقته الاستيعابية القصوى. ومن المقرر افتتاح مخيمين آخرين في المنطقة لكنَّ أياَ منهما لن تكون له القدرة على استيعاب التدفقات الجديدة. ولن يقدما أي شيء للأغلبية الساحقة للاجئين المتناثرين في المناطق الحضرية.

لبنان

دخلت أفواج اللاجئين لبنان تباعاً على عدة مراحل. ففي حين كان عدد اللاجئين السوريين 20000 لاجئ في شهر مايو/أيار 2012 في المناطق الشمالية من لبنان، وصل العدد بداية شهر أغسطس/آب 2013 ما يقدر بـ 570000 وفق أرقام مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين أو 1.3 مليون وفقاً لأرقام لحكومة اللبنانية. وإضافة إلى اللاجئين الفلسطينيين المسجلين في لبنان قبل الحرب البالغ عدهم 425000 لاجئ، تقدر الأونروا أنَّ 50000 لاجئ فلسطيني إضافي وصلوا إلى لبنان من المخيمات السورية منذ بداية الحرب. ومن بين 4.2 مليون شخص يقيم في لبنان، يمثل اللاجئون في لبنان الآن حوالي 25% من عدد السكان الإجمالي. أما الحكومة اللبنانية التي اتبعت سياسة رسمية بعدم التدخل بالأزمة السورية، فقد تركت حدودها مفتوحة ورفضت إقامة المخيمات لإيواء اللاجئين. ولذلك، تشتت الناس في جميع أنحاء البلاد خاصة في المناطق الفقيرة التي تعاني بالأصل من استنزاف شديد جداً للخدمات ما أدى إلى تأثر الاستجابة إلى حاجات اللاجئين تأثراً كبيراً جداً.

المنظومات الصحية

رغم تدمُّر المستشفيات في سوريا وتضرر الصناعة الدوائية فيها، فقد حظيت سوريا بأفضل منظومة صحية في المنطقة قبل الأزمة ولذلك تختلف السمات الرئيسية للأمراض الوبائية التي يعاني منها السكان وكذلك الحاجات المرتبطة بها اختلاقا كبيراً عما يعاني منه اللَّاجئون في بيئات اللجوء الأخرى المألوفة لدى الفاعلين الإنسانيين.

وفي العراق، استُنزفت المنظومة الصحية العراقية عبر سنوات من الحصار تبعها احتلال قادته أمريكا ثم حرب أهلية. أما في لبنان، فتعتمد المنظومة الصحية على القطاع الخاص ما يجعل الحصول على الرعاية الصحية أمراً صعباً لمعظم المستضعفين. فعلى سبيل المثال، أجرت منظمة أطباء بلا حدود دراسة مسحية وجدت من خلالها أن قرابة 15% من اللاَّجئين المقابَلين لم يتكمنوا من الحصول على الخدمات في المستشفيات لعدم قدرتهم على دفع الرسوم (مع أنَّ نسبة مشاركتهم في التكاليف تساوي 25% في حين تغطي المفوضية باقي الرسوم). وأفاد 9 من أصل 10 مقابَلين أنَّ أسعار الأدوية الموصوفة كانت العائق الأساسي لحصولهم على العناية الطبية. [ii] أما استمرار تدفق اللاَّجئين فقد مارس ضغوطاً على كلا المنظمتين الصحيتين. وتؤدي الضغوطات الكبيرة تلك إلى منع البنى الصحية من استقبال أعداد أكبر من المرضى. وتثير هذه الصعوبات، من جهتها، حالات التوتر بين المجتمعات المضيفة والسكان اللاَّجئين، وهو أمر يستدعي المعالجة بأقصى سرعة وفعالية.

عبء الأمراض على متوسطي الدخل

تختلف صفات اللاَّجئين من دول متوسطي الدخل من ناحيتي التركيبة السكانية وعبء الأمراض عن صفات اللاَّجئين التقليديين الذين اعتاد الفاعلون الإنسانيون في جميع أرجاء العالم على العمل معهم. وفي الماضي، شهدت أوضاع التدفقات الجماعية للاجئين ارتفاعاً كبيراً في معدلات الوفيات عندما تحتد حالات الطوارئ. وكانت تلك الوفيات نتيجة رئيسية للأوبئة أو لتردي الأوضاع المرضية المعدية وسوء التغذية الحاد. لكنَّ الوضع اليوم يختلف عما كان عليه في السابق، حيث تعود كثير من معدلات انتشار الأمراض والوفيات إلى تردي وضع الأمراض المزمنة الحالية (مثل: أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية، وارتفاع ضغط الدم، والسكري، والسل، والإيدز). ففي تلك الحالات، كان استمرار العلاج أمراً ضرورياً. ومن هنا، تفرض تعقيدات الأمراض المزمنة وطول أمدها ضرورة انتهاج استراتيجية جديدة لمواجهتها.

يمكن القول إنَّ معظم استشارات الرعاية الطبية الأساسية، التي تقدمها منظمة أطباء بلا حدود في لبنان والعراق منذ أوائل عام 2012، تتعلق بالأمراض المزمنة. ومن هنا، لا يقل استمرار العلاج أهمية عن الحصول عليه. لكنَّ المقابلات التي أجريت مع اللاَّجئين السوريين في سهل البقاع وصيدا في لبنان تشير إلى أنّ أكثر من نصف المستجيبين (52%) قالوا إنَّهم لم يكونوا مقتدرين مادياً على بذل تكاليف علاج الأمراض المزمنة، بينما أشار الثلث (30%) إلى أنهم اضطروا إلى تعليق العلاج نظراً لارتفاع التكاليف. وفي العراق، يفترض أن يكون العلاج مجانياً. أما على أرض الواقع فالأمر يختلف حيث يُضطر اللاجئون نظراً لانقطاع التزويد إلى شراء أدويتهم من الصيدليات الخاصة.

وتمثل الأمراض المعرضة للتفشي في أي وقت خطراً على السكان المتأثرين بالنزاع في الدول متوسطة الدخل. فقد عانى العراق، على سبيل المثال، من انتشار وباء الحصبة وتطلب السيطرة عليه التطعيم الجماعي في مخيم اللاجئين. وكذلك يعاني لبنان من تفشي الأمراض التي، وإن كانت أقل حدة مما عليه الحال في العراق، يصعب السيطرة عليها نتيجة تشتت توزُّع السكان اللاجئين. ووقوع حالات انتشار الأمراض المعدية، حتى لو كان أقل مما عليه في البيئات الأخرى، يبقى أمراً لا يمكن تجاهله. وبالنظر لهذه الوقائع، لا بد من تطوير الاستجابات الوقائية والعلاجية ولا بد من عدم حصرها بالرعاية الصحية الأساسية بل يجب أن تمتد لتغطي العلاج الثانوي والثالثي أيضاً دون مقابل.

التحديات الصحية في البيئات المفتوحة والمخيمات

من المسائل الأساسية المثيرة للاهتمام العلاقة التي تربط تسجيل الأشخاص والوصول إلى الخدمات بما فيها الخدمات الصحية [iii]. فقد أشار 41% من المقابَلين إلى أنهم لم يكونوا مسجلين ويعود السبب في ذلك بصورة رئيسية إلى افتقارهم للمعلومات حول أين وكيف يمكنهم أن يسجلوا أنفسهم أو لبعد نقاط التسجيل عنهم أو بسبب التأخيرات التي عانوا منها في مراكز التسجيل أو لأنهم كانوا خائفين من عدم حصولهم على الوثائق الرسمية المناسبة ما يجعلهم يخافون أيضاً من إعادتهم قسراً إلى سوريا.

وفي لبنان، في سهل البقاع خاصةً، يعيش اللَّاجئون في أماكن مبعثرة ويجعل ذلك وصولهم إلى المستشفيات أمراً في غاية الصعوبة. وإضافة إلى ذلك، حتى لو أن المفوضية تغطي بعض تكاليف المستشفيات للاجئين، فهي لا تغطي جميع اللاَّجئين. وفي نهاية المطاف، يجد معظم اللاَّجئين أنفسهم مضطرين لدفع النقود من أجل الحصول على الخدمات الصحية الثانوية والثالثية.

يعيش معظم اللاَّجئين السوريين حالياً في البيئات الحضرية وليس في المخيمات. وهذا ما يمثل تحديات كبيرة جداً على التدخلات الصحية. فوفقاً لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة للاجئين يعيش 65% من اللاجئين بالمنطقة خارج المخيمات. وفي حين يعيش اللَّاجئون السوريون في لبنان في مناطق مبعثرة ضمن أكثر من 1000 بلدية معظمها في الأماكن الحضرية الفقيرة، يعيشون في العراق في المخيمات والمدن. ويمثل هذا التنوع في مكان الإقامة تحدياً أمام التدخلات الطبية والصحية.

وفي المخيم، يمكن تصميم منظومة شاملة ومركزية لضمان الحصول على الخدمات الصحية وقد يكفي لذلك تقديم منظومة بسيطة للرقابة للتأكد من التصدي للأمراض الرئيسية التي يمكن أن تتفشى بين الناس. لكنَّ ظهور تلك الامراض، لسوء الحظ، يحدث بين اللاَّجئين المشتتين في لبنان وهكذا لا يتمكن نظام الرقابة من التنبؤ بتلك الأمراض خلال مدة مبكرة كافية. ويواجه اللَّاجئون في البيئات الحضرية على أي حال تقطعاً في القدرة على الوصول إلى الخدمات الصحية نتيجة الضغوط الكبيرة على المنظومات العامة في البلاد المضيفة لهم التي لا تتمكن من استيعاب ضغوط مواطنيهم أصلاً. وغالباً ما يعيش اللاجئون الحضريون بصورة غير رسمية مع المواطنين الأصليين. وبما أنَّ كلا الفئتين من الناس لديهما الحاجات والاستضعافات نفسها ويشتركان بالمنظومة الصحية ضعيفة الموارد فذلك سيؤدي حتماً إلى توليد الإقصاء وعدم المساواة في تقديم الخدمات.

وفي العراق، يعيش معظم اللاجئين في بيئات حضرية. ومع أنَّ العلاج الصحي الأساسي والثانوي مجاني في الظاهر، يلاحَظ أنَّ المنظومة الصحية تستقبل أعداداً تفوق طاقتها الاستيعابية. وكذلك الحال في لبنان حيث لا يمكن التنبؤ بتوزيع المساعدات على اللاجئين السوريين ما يقود إلى ارتفاع التنافس على الموارد النادرة. وينتج عن هذا التوزيع غير المتكافئ تبايناً اقتصادياً ما يلبث أن يولِّد مقتا وكراهية تجاه اللاجئين السوريين. وتبقى الظروف المعيشية للاجئين في البيئات المفتوحة غير متناسبة، فدفع إيجارات المنازل تمثل عبئاً إضافياً على الموارد المالية للاجئين ناهيك عن أنَّ معظمهم يعيشون في دور إيواء غير مناسبة كالمدارس والمساجد والأبنية المهدَّمة، أما المساعدات المقدمة إلى اللاجئين السوريين فما زالت عموماً قاصرة عن تلبية حاجاتهم.

الخلاصات

لم تتكمن السياسات ولا التدخلات الصحية من مسايرة التغيرات العالمية العميقة في بيئات النِّزاع. وليست الأزمة السورية استثناءً لتلك القاعدة. وعلى الفاعلين الإنسانيين أن يكيفوا استراتيجياتهم حسب الواقع الذي يعيشه اللَّاجئون اليوم وحسب أعباء الأمراض الخاصة. وحيث إنَّ عبء الأمراض انتقل إلى الأمراض المزمنة، فهذا يفرض ضرورة تقديم التدخلات الأكثر تعقيداً التي تضع في الاعتبار مسألة استمرار الرعاية الصحية. ومع ذلك، ما زالت الأمراض التي يحتمل تفشيها بين الناس أمراً قائماً ما يتطلب إقامة منظومات رقابية جيدة يمكنها التنبؤ بما سيحدث واتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة.

ثم هناك عوائق أمام الحصول على الرعاية الصحية الثانوية والثالثية، مثل:تكلفة الخدمات وضيق أوقات الدوام وبعد المسافات، ويجب وضعها في الاعتبار عند مساعدة اللاجئين السوريين. وهناك أيضاً حاجة لدمج منظم لعلاج يمكن تحمل نفقاته للأمراض غير السارية. وعلاوة على ذلك، ينبغي توفير الرعاية الكاملة والسريعة في المستشفيات لجميع اللاجئين المستضعفين الذين يعانون من الظروف الصحية الحادة.

وفيما يخص الاجئين الحضريين المشتتين في جميع أنحاء كوردستان العراق ولبنان، فيواجهون كثيراً من المصاعب في الحصول على المساعدات، وهذا ما يثير أيضاً قضية الكيفية الأفضل للتعامل مع حاجات الأشخاص المهجرين في البيئات المفتوحة.

وفي أغسطس/آب 2013، تحدث المفوض السامي للأمم المتحدة للاجئين، أنطونيو غوتيراس، عن وجود ضرورة ملحة لتبني منهج أكثر كرماً واتساقاً في التعامل مع السوريين الباحثين عن الملاذ واللجوء في أوروبا علماً أنَّ ألمانيا والسويد استقبلتا ثلثي السوريين الباحثين عن الحماية في الاتحاد الأوروبي. وبالمثل، لا بد من حشد مزيد من الدول لمساعدة جيران سوريا في تولي العبء عن طريق تقديم خيار اللجوء أو إعادة التوطين في بلد ثالثة. فقد انكشفت الأزمة السورية على فجوة كبيرة بين الحاجة للمساعدات والاستجابة الحقيقية لتلك الحاجة. وهذا النوع من الأزمات بعيدة الأمد يتطلب أيضاً التخطيط والالتزام بعيدي الأمد من المانحين والدول والهيئات الدولية. وفي حين رحب جيران سوريا في معظم الأوقات باللاَّجئين واستضافوهم وأعانوهم، فإنَّ نقص الدعم اللازم للسلطات المحلية والبنى سوف يجعل التدفقات الجماعية سبباً في إثارة الرفض لدى المجتمع المضيف عند بدء تجاوز الطاقات الاستيعابية المحلية واستنزافها.

 

كارولين أبو سعدة caroline.abu-sada@geneva.msf.org رئيسة وحدة البحوث في منظمة أطباء بلا حدود، سويسرا، وميكائيلا سيرافيني micaela.serafini@geneva.msf.org مسؤول للعمليات الصحية، منظمة أطباء بلا حدود، سويسرا www.msf.ch

 



[ii] دراسة مسحية أجرتها منظمة أطباء بلا حدود في ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2012.

 www.doctorswithoutborders.org/publications/article.cfm?id=6627

[iii] دراسات مسحية عشوائية على الأسر في صيدا ومخيم عين الحلوة وسهل البقاع وطرابلس أجرتها منظمة أطباء بلا حدود في مايو/أيار 2012 وديسمبر/كانون الأول 2012، ويونيو/حزيران 2013.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

SYRIA CRISIS - Humanitarian and medical challenges of assisting new refugees in Lebanon and Iraq

The massive and continuing flows of Syrian and Palestinian refugees to Syria’s neighbours have shown the limitations of humanitarian practice and present new challenges for medical and humanitarian interventions.

As the crisis in Syria continues, humanitarian needs inside and outside the country are escalating rapidly. Since the crisis began in March 2011, the ability of international organisations to provide aid inside Syria has been severely restricted. Most international agencies have therefore focused attention on the situation of those refugees who have crossed the border into Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan and Iraq.  UNHCR estimates the total number of refugees – including further afield in Egypt and elsewhere – at two million people as of late August 2013.[1]

The substantial impact that these two years of mass influx has had on neighbouring countries has not been addressed appropriately by the international community. Most of the present priorities and practices for health-care provision in conflict settings are still, unfortunately, based on those decades where conflict was usually synonymous with overcrowded refugee camps sheltering young populations from developing countries. Most contemporary wars, however, are taking place in higher income settings with better baseline health indicators and they are of protracted duration. These facts are profoundly changing the demography and disease profile of conflict-affected populations.

Northern Iraq

During 2012, many Syrian Kurds fled to neighbouring Iraq, to the region in the north governed by the Kurdish Regional Government (KRG). Doomiz Camp, near the Iraqi city of Dohuk, was opened in April 2012 while the central government in Baghdad opened two other camps in the south-western part of Iraq. Eighteen months later the assistance provided in Doomiz camp is far from acceptable. The investment in water and sanitation has never been enough, the different phases of the camp were not properly planned, very few international actors are present and there is a dramatic lack of mid- to long-term vision in anticipation of new arrivals in the camp. While the Kurdish authorities initially had a welcoming policy towards refugees, the lack of support from the international community eventually pushed them to restrict assistance in various ways, including, for example, closing the border in May 2013. The KRG has permitted refugees to access public services free of charge but these services are beginning to come under strain.

More recent clashes in eastern Syria caused the KRG authorities to reopen the border on 15th August 2013. More than 30,000 people poured into Iraqi Kurdistan over a few days, filling the newly-opened camp at Kawargost in Erbil to capacity. Two other camps are due to be opened in the area but they will only have the capacity to absorb the new influx, offering nothing to the overwhelming majority of refugees scattered in urban areas.

Lebanon

The influx of refugees to Lebanon has been in several phases. While in May 2012 there were 20,000 Syrian refugees mainly in the northern part of Lebanon, by early August 2013 there were 570,000 according to UNHCR – and around 1.3 million according to the government. In addition to the 425,000 Palestine refugees registered in Lebanon before the war, UNRWA estimates that 50,000 more have arrived from Palestinian refugee camps in Syria since the beginning of the war. With a total Lebanese population of an estimated 4.2 million, refugees in Lebanon now represent almost 25% of the total population. The Lebanese government, following an official policy of ‘dissociation’ from the Syrian conflict, has left its borders open and has refused to open camps to host refugees. Therefore, people are scattered all over the country, mainly in impoverished areas where services are already under severe strain. The response to their needs has been massively underfunded.

Health systems

Although its hospitals have been destroyed and its pharmaceutical industry damaged, Syria used to have one of the best health systems in the region before the crisis. The epidemiological profile of the population and its needs therefore differ substantially from the refugee settings which may be more familiar to humanitarian actors.

Iraq’s health system was severely depleted by years of embargo followed by the US-led occupation and civil war. The Lebanese health system is based on private practice and is therefore difficult to access for the most vulnerable people. For example, a survey conducted by MSF found that almost 15% of the refugees interviewed could not access hospitals because they were unable to pay the fees (up to 25% of the costs, the rest being covered by UNHCR). Nine out of ten interviewees said that the price of prescribed drugs was the main barrier to their accessing medical care.[2] The continuing influx of refugees has put both health systems under severe strain. Health structures are overstretched and cannot cope with more patients. These difficulties also raise tensions between the host communities and the refugee populations and therefore need to be tackled urgently and effectively.

Middle-income ‘disease burden’

Refugees from middle-income countries present a different demographic profile and disease burden than the classical refugee profile that humanitarians across the world are used to working with. In the past in mass influx situations there was a high mortality rate during the acute phase of emergencies, mainly fuelled by epidemics, the exacerbation of endemic infectious diseases and acute malnutrition. In this situation today, however, much of the excess morbidity and mortality result from the exacerbation of existing chronic diseases (such as cardio-vascular, hypertension, diabetes, tuberculosis and HIV). In these cases, treatment continuation becomes essential. The complexity and long-term duration of chronic diseases call for different thinking and new strategies.

Most of the primary health-care consultations done by MSF in Lebanon and Iraq since early 2012 can be attributed to chronic diseases. Continuation of treatment – not just access to it – becomes essential. But when interviewing Syrian refugees in the Bekaa Valley and Saida in Lebanon, more than half of the respondents (52%) said that they could not afford treatment for chronic diseases, and nearly one-third (30%) had to suspend treatment because it was too expensive to continue. In Iraq, access to treatment is supposedly free but in reality, due to frequent breakdowns in supply, refugees have to buy their medicines in private pharmacies.

Outbreak-prone diseases too are still a threat to conflict-affected populations in middle-income countries. Iraq has experienced a measles outbreak that had to be controlled by mass vaccination in the refugee camp. Lebanon too suffers from outbreaks that, even though of lesser magnitude, are much more difficult to control due to the widespread distribution of the refugee population. The incidence of infectious diseases – even though lower than in other settings – is still considerable. In view of these realities, preventive and curative responses involving not only primary but also secondary and tertiary level health care with free service provision need to evolve substantially.

Health challenges in open settings and camps

One of the main issues is the link between the registration of people and access to services, including health services.[3] 41% of interviewees said they were not registered, mainly because they lacked information on how and where to register, because registration points were too far away, because of delays at registration facilities or because they were worried about not having the proper legal papers and therefore being sent back to Syria.

In Lebanon, and specifically in the Bekaa Valley, refugees are so scattered that access to hospitals is extremely difficult. Moreover, even though UNHCR is covering some of the hospital costs for refugees, they are not covering them all. Most of the refugees will ultimately have to pay to access secondary or tertiary health care.

The fact that the largest proportion of Syrian refugees is currently residing in urban environments rather than in camps poses major challenges for health interventions. According to UNHCR, 65% of refugees in the region are living outside camps. While Syrian refugees in Lebanon are scattered over 1,000 municipalities, mostly in impoverished urban areas, in Iraq they live both in camps and cities. This diversity of settings is a challenge for medical and health interventions.

In a camp a comprehensive and centralised system can be designed to ensure access to health, and a simple surveillance system for major outbreak-prone diseases might be enough. Unfortunately outbreaks are occurring among the refugees scattered in Lebanon and the surveillance system in place is incapable of predicting them early enough. Refugees in urban settings anyway face intermittent access to health services due to overstretched public systems in the hosting countries, which are unable to cope even with the demands of their own population. Urban refugees often live informally alongside residents. The fact that both have similar needs and vulnerabilities and that they share the same under-resourced health system will inevitably have an impact on local residents’ attitude towards refugees, which will in turn ultimately generate exclusion and inequities in the provision of services.

In Iraq, the majority of refugees are residing in urban settings. Access to primary and secondary health care seems to be free but the system appears to be facing an influx of consultations that is overwhelming their capacity. In Lebanon, as in Iraq, the unpredictable distribution of aid to Syrian refugees is leading to increased competition for scarce resources. The economic disparity created by this unequal distribution is generating resentment and ambivalence towards Syrian refugees. The living conditions of refugees in open settings remain inappropriate; the payment of rent represents an additional burden on their budget, and most of them live in inappropriate shelters such as schools, mosques and dilapidated buildings. Overall, assistance to Syrian refugees still falls short of their needs.

Conclusions

Health policies and interventions have not kept up with the profound global changes in conflict settings, and the Syrian conflict has been no exception. Humanitarian actors need to adapt their strategies to the reality of refugees today and their specific disease burdens. As the disease burden has shifted to chronic diseases, there is also a need for more complex interventions that take into consideration the continuation of care. Nevertheless, outbreak-prone diseases are still present, and this demands good surveillance systems that can anticipate and take action.

Barriers to access to secondary and tertiary health care – such as the cost of services, short opening hours and long distances – have to be taken into account when assisting Syrian refugees. There is a need for a systematic integration of affordable non-communicable diseases treatment in the health-care system. Moreover, all vulnerable refugees suffering from acute medical conditions should gain full and fast access to hospital care.

Urban refugees scattered all over Iraqi Kurdistan and Lebanon face huge difficulties in accessing aid. This again raises the issue of how to best address the needs of people displaced in open settings.

In August 2013 UN High Commissioner for Refugees António Guterres talked of the urgent need to adopt a more generous and consistent approach to Syrians seeking shelter and asylum in Europe. Germany and Sweden have accepted nearly two-thirds of Syrians seeking protection in the EU; more countries need to help Syria’s neighbours shoulder the burden by offering asylum or resettlement. The Syrian crisis has shown a huge gap between the need for assistance and actual response. This type of long-term crisis also needs long-term planning and commitment from donors, states and agencies. Syria’s neighbours have most of the time welcomed, hosted and assisted refugees; without proper support for local authorities and structures, however, mass influxes will eventually only provoke rejection when local capacities falter and fail.
 

Caroline Abu Sa’Da caroline.abu-sada@geneva.msf.org is Head of the Research Unit in Médecins Sans Frontières Switzerland. Micaela Serafini micaela.serafini@geneva.msf.org is Health Operational Officer, Médecins Sans Frontières Switzerland www.msf.ch

 

[2] MSF survey conducted in Lebanon in December 2012 www.doctorswithoutborders.org/publications/article.cfm?id=6627

[3] Randomised surveys on households in Saida, Ein Al Helweh camp, the Bekaa Valley and Tripoli, conducted by MSF in May 2012, December 2012 and June 2013.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview