نماذج جديدة لبدائل الاحتجاز في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

رغم الاعتراف المتنامٍ بقيمة بدائل الاحتجاز المجتمعية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، تبقى مشكلة نقص التمويل وانعدام الإرادة السياسية عائقين لتنفيذ الخدمات المحسَّنة والممارسات الفضلى.

ينظر نظام إنفاذ الهجرة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للردع على أنَّه الوسيلة الأكثر ملاءمة للحفاظ على الرقابة على الفئات السكانية المهاجرة بغض النظر عن عوامل الدفع/الجذب. وضمن هذا الإطار، قد يواجه المهاجرون الملاحقة الجنائية الفدرالية والترحيل على أساس وجودهم في البلاد بصورة غير مشروعة. وفي حين أنَّ الغرض الوحيد لاحتجاز المهاجرين يتمثل في ضمان الامتثال لأحكام محاكم الهجرة والأحكام القضائية، يبيِّن إفراط استخدام الاحتجاز درجة النفاذ التي وصلت إليها فلسفة الردع في المنظومة القضائية بالتحول نحو ما يظهر أنه آليات الإنفاذ العقابية الأكثر تقييداً. وفي حين أنَّ الردع لا يحظى بقيمة كبيرة في سياق المُهجَّرين الذين يفرون من بلدانهم الأصلية بحثاً عن البقاء أو الذين يسعون بوسائل شتَّى إلى لم شمل أسرهم، لا تميّز الحكومة الأمريكية بين المُهجَّرين قسراً عن المهاجرين الآخرين عند اتخاذها للقرارات المتعلقة بالاحتجاز.

احتجاز الأطفال

منذ عام 2002، تولت دائرة إعادة توطين اللاَّجئين الأمريكية رعاية الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين والوصاية عليهم ممن احتجزتهم مؤسسات إنفاذ الهجرة. وفي السابق، كان مثل هؤلاء الأطفال يُحتَجزون في مراكز احتجاز خاصة بالبالغين ولم يكونوا يعاملون انطلاقاً من معايير رفاه الأطفال. أما الآن فهم يوضعون في مركز احتجاز مخصصة للأطفال المهاجرين حيث يخضعون للفحص للنظر في احتمال هربهم وتشكيلهم خطراً على المجتمع في حالة إطلاق سراحهم ولحمايتهم أيضاً. وتُرشد تلك الفحوصات الدائرة المذكورة في اتخاذ قرارها بشأن مدى وجوب إبقاء الطفل في الحجز أو إحالته (ذكراً كان أم أنثى) إلى بديل مبني على المجتمع، كعادتها مع معظم حالات الأطفال أو إلى دور الرعاية أو إطلاق سراحهم وإيداعهم لدى من يكفلهم، وغالباً ما يكون ذلك الكفيل من أفراد العائلة. ويُقدر أنَّ 70% ممن يُطلق سراحهم يُرسلون إلى كفالة أحد أفراد الأسرة أو إلى كفيل آخر في حين يبقى 20% في منظومة للراعية تديرها شبكة من المنظمات غير الحكومية.

وفي حين حققت معاملة الأطفال في دائرة إعادة التوطين خطوات رائدة باعترافها بقيمة بدائل الاحتجاز المجتمعية، تتجاهل النماذج الناشئة ضرورة بناء القدرات للخدمات المجتمعية. فبرنامج خدمات ما بعد إطلاق السراح الذي تموله دائرة إعادة التوطين وتنفذه المنظمات غير الحكومية يهدف إلى تيسير حصول القاصر ومقدم الرعاية على الخدمات القانونية والطبية والصحية العقلية والتعليمية والاجتماعية الأخرى. لكنَّ نسبة من يحظى بباحث اجتماعي لا تزيد على 20% من الأطفال المطلق سراحهم للعيش مع كفيل من أفراد الأسرة أو أي كفيل آخر، علماً أنَّ أهمية الباحث الاجتماعي تكمن في تيسيره للخدمات "المكثفة للأطفال". ولسوء الحظ أيضاً، تنعدم الاستشارات والخدمات القانونية المجانية أو منخفضة التكلفة، ويعاني كثير من الأطفال إلى حين تأقلمهم مع نمط الحياة الأمريكي الجديد والظروف الأسرية الجديدة. بل يُحتمل أن تكون التكلفة بعيدة المدى للنتائج (مثل: الإساءة أو التشرد أو الجريمة) أكبر مما يمكن للمجتمعات أن تدفعه سلفاً لخدمات الأطفال المكثفة ولبدائل الاحتجاز التي قد تروِّج للحماية والوحدة الأسرية وتحسين الامتثال ونتائج الإدماج.

ومع نقص التمويلات، تسمح السياسات المطبقة منذ أبريل/نيسان 2013 بالإسراع في إطلاق سراح الأطفال إلى الوالد أو إلى الوصي القانوني دون اشتراط التحقق من بصمات الأصابع للكفيل ودون التحقق من تمتع الكفيل بدخل مستقر ولا من عنوان بيته أو من قدرته ورغبته على تقديم الرعاية للطفل. وهذا الاندفاع نحو تسريع إطلاق سراح الأطفال ما يضع كوادر الاحتجاز ومديري الحالات تحت ضغوط إضافية بتضييق الوقت المتاح والضروري لإصدار توصيات حرجة حول رعاية كل طفل وطفلة.

احتجاز البالغين

تضطلع مؤسسة إنفاذ الهجرة والجمارك بمسؤولية إدارة احتجاز البالغين، وقد أشارت تلك المؤسسة إلى أنَّ عدد الأفراد المحتجزين لغايات الهجرة عام 2011 وصل في أي لحظة إلى 429 ألفاً وبتكلفة تقارب 166 دولاراً للشخص الواحد في اليوم الواحد. وتحتفظ الحكومة بـ 34 آلف سرير للبالغين في أماكن الاحتجاز على أساس يومي. وقد أدى هذا الاعتماد الزائد على الاحتجاز إلى إغضاب قطاع السجون الخاصة الهادفة للربح التي أصبحت اليوم تحشد مجموعات الضغط في الكونغرس الأمريكي للمحافظة على صلابة قوانين الإنفاذ في تعبئة مزيد من أسرَّة الاحتجاز لديهم.

وتحمل التقييمات الفردية أهمية حساسة لتحديد الأشخاص الذين توجب الضرورة احتجازهم والذين من الأفضل وضعهم في بديل للاحتجاز بالإضافة إلى تحديد نوع المساعدة التي يحتاج الفرد لها أثناء الاحتجاز أو لامتثال إلى شروط إطلاق السراح. وقد أخفقت الولايات المتحدة عبر تاريخها في إجراء تلك التقييمات لكنَّ الحكومة الأمريكية أطلقت في بداية عام 2013 أداة جديدة لتصنيف تقييم المخاطر على المستوى الوطني بحيث تشترط (للمرة الأولى) على دائرة إنفاذ الهجرة والجمارك إجراء تقييمات فردية مبنية على عددٍ من العوامل، منها: تاريخ الصدمة. لكنَّ تقييم التصنيف مصمم للتوصية إما بالاحتجاز أو بإطلاق السراح دون أن يحدد نمط الخدمات أو درجتها وفقاً لما يحتاج البالغ من أجل النفاذ إلى المحاكم والامتثال بشروط إطلاق سراحه (خاصة بالنسبة لشروط المثول أمام ضابط الإقامة الجبرية) والاندماج في المجتمع. وسوف يستمر غياب هذه المعلومات في تقويض النتائج للمُهجَّرين قسراً ممن يفتقرون الاتصال الكافي للخدمات المكثفة المناسبة بعد إطلاق سراحهم. ومثلما هو الحال بالنسبة للخدمات المكثفة للأطفال، تخفق بدائل الاحتجاز في بناء القدرات للخدمات المجتمعية.

البدائل المجتمعية

تعمل المنظمات غير الحكومية الأمريكية منذ تسعينيات القرن العشرين على كسب التأييد للبدائل المجتمعية وتنفذ البرامج التجريبية لها. وأحدث نموذج من هذا القبيل ذلك الذي نسقته الهيئة اللوثرية لخدمات الهجرة والمهاجرين، ونفّذ النموذج أكثر من عشرين منظمة غير حكومية في سبعة مجتمعات على المستوى الوطني.

ويهدف النموذج إلى بناء بنى تحتية لما يتوافر من تدخلات عالية الجودة ومجتمعية يمكن النفاذ إليها وقبولها بهدف دعم الامتثال إلى شروط إطلاق السراح (منها، على سبيل المثال، جلسات الاستماع بشأن إبعاد المهاجر) وبطريقة أقل كلفة من تكلفة الاحتجاز وأكثر احتراماً لحقوق الإنسان وتحسيناً للإدماج وتمكيناً لصحة المهاجرين ورفاههم.

ولم يخل ذلك النموذج من التحديات، فقد واجه ثلاثاً منها تتمثل في النواحي التالية: جمع التبرعات وإقامة حملات التوعية المجتمعية لجمع التبرعات واستقطاب المتطوعين للمساعدة في تقديم الخدمات . والناحية الثانية: جميع البيانات لقياس أثر المنهج المجتمعي وإثراء التوصيات، ثم الناحية الثالثة: ربط العملاء المستفيدين من النموذج بالخدمات الشحيحة للرعاية الصحية والطبية والعقلية والزيارة والإسكان والتعليم والتوظيف. لكنَّه من الممكن التغلب على تلك التحديات بزيادة التمويلات اللازمة خاصة من الحكومة الأمريكية التي لا تقدم حالياً أي تمويل للبدائل التي تقودها منظمات المجتمع المدني. ومع ذلك، هناك ما يقوض الإرادة السياسية الآن بشأن نقل الموارد من الاحتجاز وذلك بسبب وجود مساعٍ لردع الهجرات المستقبلية، ما يمثّل سداً منيعاً أمام توسيع بدائل الفعالة والإنسانية القائمة على المجتمعات.

 

ميغان بريمير MBremer@lirs.org مدير انتقالي لبرنامج النفاذ إلى العدالة، وكيمبرلي هاينز KHaynes@lirs.org مدير برنامج خدمات الأطفال، ونيكولاس كانغ Nick_Kang@hks15.harvard.edu، زميل برامج سابق (هو الآن في جامعة هارفرد كينيدي)، وميكايل د. لينتش MLynch@lirs.org مختص في شؤون الطفل، وكيري سوتشا KSocha@lirs.org منسّق تصنيفي لخدمات الأطفال، وجميعهم يعملون لدى الهيئة اللوثرية للهجرة واللاجئين في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

 

انظر: إزالة الأقفال عن الحرية: طريق إلى الأمام لسياسة احتجاز المهاجرين في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية (Unlocking Liberty: A Way Forward for U.S. Immigration Detention Policy)، أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2011

http://tinyurl.com/LIRS-unlocking-liberty-2011

 

RS-unlocking-liberty-2011

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

New models for alternatives to detention in the US

While there is growing recognition of the value of community-based alternatives to detention in the US, shortfalls in funding and political will are hindering implementation of improved services and best practice.

The United States’ immigration enforcement system sees deterrence as the most sustainable means of maintaining control of migrant populations, regardless of push/pull factors. Within this framework, forced migrants may face federal criminal prosecution, prison sentences, and deportation for being in the US without authorisation. While the sole purpose of immigration detention is to ensure compliance with immigration court proceedings and judicial orders, its overuse demonstrates how the philosophy of deterrence has permeated the system by shifting towards the most restrictive and seemingly punitive enforcement mechanisms. While deterrence holds little value in the context of forced migrants who flee their countries of origin to survive or who are desperate to reunite with family, the US government does not distinguish forced migrants from other migrants when making decisions regarding detention.

Detention of children

Since 2002, the US Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) has had responsibility for the care and custody of unaccompanied children apprehended by immigration enforcement agencies. Previously, such children were detained in adult detention facilities and were not treated according to child welfare standards. Now they are placed in child-specific immigration detention facilities where they are screened for risk of absconding and danger to the community if released from custody, as well as their need for protection. These screenings guide ORR’s decisions to keep the child in detention or refer him/her to a community-based alternative – as they do with the majority of children – vis-à-vis foster care or release to a sponsor, commonly a family member. An estimated 70% are released to a family member or other sponsor, such as a family friend, and about 20% are placed in a foster-care system managed by a network of NGOs.

While the treatment of children in ORR custody has made great strides by recognising the value of community-based alternatives to detention, the emerging models overlook the need to build capacity for community-based services. The ‘Post-Release Services’ programme, funded by ORR and implemented by NGOs, is intended to facilitate access  to legal, medical, mental health, educational and other social services for the minor and the caregiver. Unfortunately, only 20% of the children released to a family member or other sponsor are matched with a case worker to facilitate these ‘wraparound’ services, and there is also a lack of low-cost or free counselling and legal services. Many children struggle to adjust to their new US lifestyle and family circumstances; the long-term cost of the outcomes that can result – such as abuse, homelessness or crime – are likely to exceed what communities would pay up-front for the wraparound services and alternatives to detention that would promote protection and family unity, and improve compliance and integration outcomes.

With funds in short supply, new policies implemented from April 2013 permit the expedited release of children to a parent or legal guardian without requiring a fingerprint check on the sponsor or verifying that the sponsor has a stable income, home address or ability and willingness to care for the child. This same push to expedite the release of children also puts detention staff and case managers under additional pressure, squeezing the time available in which to make critical recommendations for each child’s care.

Detention of adults

Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), the agency charged with managing custody of adults, reported an all-time high of 429,000 individuals detained for immigration purposes in 2011 at a cost of nearly $166 per person per day. The government maintains 34,000 adult detention beds on a daily basis. This overreliance on detention has fuelled the for-profit private prison industry, which now lobbies legislators to maintain strict immigration enforcement laws to fill more detention beds.

Individual assessments are critical for determining who needs to be detained, who would be better off placed in an alternative to detention, and what assistance an individual needs while detained or to comply with conditions of release. Historically, the US has failed to conduct assessments but in early 2013 the government launched a new risk assessment classification tool nationwide that will – for the first time – require ICE to conduct individual assessments based on a number of factors, including a history of trauma. However, the classification assessment is designed to recommend either detention or release but not to determine the type and level of services an adult needs to navigate the courts, comply with conditions of release (especially reporting requirements) and integrate into the community. This lack of information will continue to undermine outcomes for forced migrants who are not sufficiently connected to the appropriate wraparound services post-release. Like those for children, the alternatives to detention for adults fail to build capacity for community-based services.

Community-based alternatives

US NGOs have been advocating for and piloting community-based alternatives to detention since the 1990s. The most recent model is coordinated by Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service (LIRS) and implemented by more than 20 local NGOs in seven communities nationwide.

It aims to build infrastructures of available, accessible, acceptable and high-quality community-based interventions to support compliance with conditions of release (e.g. appearances at removal hearings) in a manner that is more cost-effective than detention, respects human rights, improves integration and improves client health and welfare.

It has faced challenges in three main areas: conducting both fundraising and community outreach to garner funds and volunteers to assist with service delivery; collecting data to measure the impact of the community-based approach and to inform recommendations; and connecting clients with scarce services for legal, medical and mental health care, visitation, housing, education and employment. These challenges could be overcome with increased funding, especially from the US government which currently offers no funding for civil-society-led alternatives. However, the political will to shift resources away from detention is being undercut by the drive to deter future migration – a formidable barrier to expanding effective and humane community-based alternatives to detention.

 

Megan Bremer MBremer@lirs.org is Interim Director for Access to Justice, Kimberly Haynes KHaynes@lirs.org is Director for Children’s Services, Nicholas Kang Nick_Kang@hks15.harvard.edu was Program Fellow (now at Harvard Kennedy School), Michael D Lynch MLynch@lirs.org is Child Specialist and Kerri Socha KSocha@lirs.org is Child Services Placement Coordinator, all with the Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service in the US. www.lirs.org

See LIRS Unlocking Liberty: A Way Forward for U.S. Immigration Detention Policy, October 2011  http://tinyurl.com/LIRS-unlocking-liberty-2011

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview