احذر مما تتطلع إلى تحقيقه

أيمكن أن يكون لترويج المعايير الليبرالية أثر ضار غير مقصود على كيفية مواجهة الدول لتحديات الهجرة غير النظامية؟

في مكان قرب أوستن في ولاية تكساس، هناك مركز يُدعى "دار ت. جون هوتو للرعاية". لكنَّ ذلك المركز ليس لرعاية المسنين كما قد يُفهم من اسمه، بل إنَّه مؤسسة خاصة ربحية تُعنى باحتجاز المهاجرات الإناث غير الحاملات للوثائق الرسمية ممن أصدرت دائرة الهجرة والجمارك في وزارة الأمن الوطني الأمريكية بحقهن قرارات بترحيلهن. ولغاية عام 2009، ذاع صيت سيء للمركز على أنَّه واحد من مؤسستين أمريكيتين تحتجزان عائلات بأكملها. وهوتو، الذي اتخذ اسمه نسبةً لأحد روَّاد خصخصة السجون، سجن سابق تحول إلى مركز لاحتجاز العائلات عام 2006 بتوصية من الكونغرس.

فقبل عام 2006، كان الإجراء المعتمد بشأن العائلات المهاجرة المعتقلة إما بإطلاق سراحهم إلى أن يصدر قرار بشأن قضايا هجرتهم أو بوضع أفراد الأسرة الواحدة في عدة مؤسسات منفصلة، فكان الأطفال يوضعون في الحجز لدى مكتب إعادة توطين اللاَّجئين في حين يُحبس الآباء والأمهات في مؤسسات احتجاز منفصلة. ووفقاً لإحدى الروايات، "اكتشف الكونغرس ذلك، فاتخذ إجراءً مباشراً لتصويب الوضع لضمان محافظة ممارسات دائرة الهجرة والجمارك على التقاليد الأمريكية التي تروِّج للقيم الأسرية"[1] وباختصار، كان القصد من احتجاز العائلات في مركز هوتو حماية أحد الحقوق الإنسانية وهو الحق في الحياة الأسرية.

لكنَّ مركز هوتو، خلال فترة وجيزة جداً، سرعان ما أثار جدلاً محتدماً حول معاملة المهاجرين من الأطفال والعائلات غير الحاملين للوثائق. ففي عام 2007، نجح اتحاد الحريات المدنية الأمريكي في تسوية قضية رفعها على دائرة الهجرة والجمارك ادعى فيها أنَّ الظروف السائدة في مركز الاحتجاز المذكور كانت تمثِّل انتهاكاً لمعايير معاملة القاصرين المحتجزين في دوائر الهجرة الفدرالية. وبعد ذلك بسنتين، في 2009، أعلنت إدارة أوباما أنها أنهت رسمياً احتجاز الأطفال والعائلات في هوتو وأنَّها حوَّلت المركز إلى مؤسسة لاحتجاز الإناث فقط. وبحلول عام 2010، خضعت المؤسسة إلى عملية تغيير جذرية في ترتيباتها لتحتل مركزاً مهماً في الجهود الحكومية في إضفاء مسحة ألطف على الاحتجاز بتحويل المركز من سجن مزرٍ للأطفال إلى مكان مغلق لطيف للنساء المهاجرات.

وفي أوائل عام 2011، وصف مسؤول من مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين مأوى مقاطعة بيركس للعائلات (والاسم قد يكون مضللا لأنه في الواقع مؤسسة الاحتجاز الوحيدة في أمريكا اليوم التي تُحتجز فيها العائلات) بأنَّه تجسيد "للممارسات الفضلى لنموذج يُحتذى به في احتجاز المهاجرين المدنيين". وأوضح المسؤول أنّ "المفوضية تؤمن إيماناً راسخاً بأنَّ الأغلبية العظمى من طالبي اللجوء لا ينبغي احتجازهم"، ولكن في حالة احتجاز العائلات، فإنَّ بيركس هو النموذج الذي يُحتذى به. ومع أنه من الواضح أهمية الثناء على التحسينات المعمولة على معاملة المحتجزين، فهل ستكون فكرة جيدة للمفوضية، التي تعد المؤسسة الأولى في المجتمع الدولي التي تقدم الحماية لطالبي اللجوء، أنّ تمنح شيئاً من قبيل الترخيص والموافقة على الجهود التي تُبذل من أجل احتجازهم في المقام الأول؟

هناك صفتان أساسيتان تلازمان احتجاز المهاجرين في الوقت الحاضر وهما: 1) تكريس الدولة لممارساتها تدريجياً ضمن البلاد (ومثال ذلك الانتقال من السجون إلى مرافق الاحتجاز المخصصة) و2) نقل تلك الممارسات إلى الدول الأخرى. ويبدو أنَّ هذه التطورات تقودها عمليتان اثنتان أولاهما انتشار الأنظمة التقنينية التي تهدف إلى حماية غير المواطنين، وثانيهما تصدير الممارسات الداخلية التي تطبقها الدول الأساسية في النظام الدولي إلى الدول الأخرى أيضاً. ولهذا السبب بالذات، نشهد اليوم ظهور أنظمة مخصصة لاحتجاز المهاجرين حتى في البلدان التي لا يوجد فيها دليل كبير على أنها تبذل جهوداً ممنهجة في احتجاز الناس منذ عشر إلى خمس عشرة سنة.

أمَّا الفاعلون الحقوقيون فكثيراً ما تركز حملاتهم لمناصرة قضايا الاحتجاز على الترويج لحسن معاملة المحتجزين والثناء على الجهود التي تبذلها الدولة في التمييز بين حجز الأشخاص على خلفيات سوابقهم الجنائية والاحتجاز الإداري للمهاجرين غير النظاميين وطالبي اللجوء. ومع ذلك، هناك سبب يدعو للقلق من أنَّ إقامة أنظمة متخصصة في احتجاز المهاجرين قد يقود إلى تزايد استخدام الاحتجاز.

ففي أوروبا مثلاً، أوقفت معظم الدول الأوروبية، على النقيض مع الولايات المتحدة، منذ زمنٍ ليس ببعيد، استخدام السجون لاحتجاز المهاجرين وتعود بعض أسباب ذلك إلى الضغوط التي مارستها هيئات دعم حقوق الإنسان كالمجلس الأوروبي مثلاً. وأوضحت مبادئ الاتحاد الأوروبي التوجيهية بشأن إجراءات العودة أن على الدول الأعضاء استخدام مرافق مخطط لها خصيصاً لغايات احتجاز الأفراد أثناء انتظارهم للترحيل. إلّا أنّ عملية انتقال أنظمة الاحتجاز من صفة عدم الرسمية إلى الرسمية في العقدين السابقين تزامنت مع نمو احتجاز المهاجرين في هذه المنطقة.

تصدير سياسات الاحتجاز للخارج

وفي الوقت نفسه الذي بدأت عمليات الاحتجاز تنتهج منحى التخصص في بلدان المقصد، تسعى تلك الدول إلى أن تصدِّر إلى الدول الأخرى جهودها لمنع الهجرة غير الرسمية، ما يثير تساؤلاً حول تهرب تلك الدول من مسؤولياتها بالتمسك بالمعايير الدولية. ومن أمثلة ذلك موريتانيا، الواقعة في غرب أفريقيا، التي افتتحت عام 2006 أول مركز مخصص لاحتجاز المهاجرين غير النظاميين في مدينة ميناء نواذيبو بمساعدة من الهيئة الإسبانية للتعاون الإنمائي الدولي. وقد أثارت مسألة مساعدة إسبانيا لإنشاء مركز الاحتجاز تساؤلات حول طبيعة الهيئة التي ستفرض رقابتها على المنشأة وحول من سوف يضمن حقوق المحتجزين. وفي حين أنَّ المركز يخضع رسمياً لإدارة مديرية الخدمات الوطنية، فقد أوضح المسؤولون الموريتانيون "بوضوح وبصورة قطعية" في تشرين الأول 2008 أنَّ السلطات الموريتانية تؤدي وظائفها بناء على طلب صريح من الحكومة الإسبانية. [2]

وكما تُظهر قضية موريتانيا، فإنَّ مساعي الدول الأساسية للحد من ضغوط الهجرة تؤدي إلى تصدير الضوابط إلى الدول التي لا تُعد من المقاصد الرئيسية للمهاجرين وحيث تكون سيادة القانون ضعيفة. ويثير ذلك الأمر تساؤلات حول مدى صحة إلقاء اللائمة على الدول الديمقراطية الليبرالية الغربية في (أ) الاساءات التي يعاني منها المحتجزون عند قطع الطريق عليهم واحتجازهم قبل وصولهم إلى الدول المقصودة، و(ب) التحايل (بتصدير ممارسات الاحتجاز) على ضرورة الالتزام بالمعايير الدولية المتعلقة بحق الدولة في الاحتجاز والترحيل، ومنها، على سبيل المثال، الحق في الحرية والحق في منع الاعادة القسرية.

وغالباً ما تخفق الدول الليبرالية في كتمان عدم ارتياحها الواضح للعيان إذ تحبس الناس خارج الإطار الجنائي وعلى الأخص منهم الأشخاص الذين تحميهم المعايير الإضافية كتلك المنصوص عليها في اتفاقية اللاجئين. فتلك الدول تخفي ممارستها باستخدام مصطلحات مضللة فتسمي مؤسسات الاحتجاز بالمضافات (تركيا) أو الملاجئ المحروسة (المجر) أو مراكز الترحيب (إيطاليا). وفي كثير من الأحيان، لا تتيح تلك الدول سوى قدراً محدوداً من الوصول إلى البيانات الإحصائية للاحتجاز، وتكون انتقائية في اختيارها للمعايير الحقوقية التي تريد تطبيقها، وغالباً ما لا تعيد تقييمها "للحق السيادي" في الاحتجاز والترحيل. فبذلك، تُرحِّلُ الضغوط المفروضة على الاحتجاز إلى الخارج لتجنب مسؤولياتهم القائمة على المعايير الدولية المتعلقة بطالبي اللجوء، على سبيل المثال. ثم تحاول تلك الدول تشخيص كثير من الناس المعرضين لهذا النوع من الاحتجاز بطريقة تستفز المخاوف العامة لتسوِّغ بذلك حبس المهاجرين.

فعلى مناصري حقوق المهاجرين أن يدرسوا خيار التقليل من أهمية الخطاب الذي لا يركز إلا على تحسين أوضاع المحتجزين من غير المواطنين مع ضرورة التشديد على تحريم تجريد أي شخص كان من حريته دون توجيه تهمة له. وبدلاً من تشجيع الدول الأخرى على إقامة مؤسسات منفصلة أو إجراءات تشغيلية موحدة لإيداع المهاجرين في الاحتجاز، على المناصرين أن يعملوا لضمان بقاء الحدود المفروضة على الحرية الاستثناء لا القاعدة في التعامل مع المهاجرين.

 

مايكل فلين michael.flynn@graduateinstitute.ch، مؤسس ومدير المشروع العالمي للاحتجاز ومقره برنامج دراسة الهجرة العالمية في معهد الدراسات العليا www.globaldetentionproject.org



[1] اللجنة النسائية للاجئين ودائرة الهجرة واللاَّجئين اللوثرية Locking Up Family Values: The Detention of Immigrant Families (حبس القيم الأسرية: احتجاز العائلات المهاجرة) فبراير/شباط، 2007. ص.ص 1-2

http://tinyurl.com/WRC-LRIS-lockingup-2007

 

[2] منظمة الرقابة الاجتماعية الأوروبية، Spain: The Externalisation of Migration and Asylum Policies: The Nouadhibou Detention Center, (إسبانيا: تصدير سياسات الهجرة واللجوء: مركز احتجاز نواذيبو) 2009

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Be careful what you wish for

Can the promotion of liberal norms have an unintended – and damaging – impact on how states confront the challenges of irregular immigration?

The T Don Hutto Residential Centre is not a nursing home, as its name might imply. It is a privately run for-profit immigration detention facility near Austin, Texas, that confines undocumented female immigrants who are designated for deportation by the US Department of Homeland Security’s Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). Until 2009, Hutto was notorious for being one of only two US facilities that detained entire families. Named after a pioneer of prison privatisation, Hutto is located in a former prison that was converted to a family detention centre in 2006 at the behest of Congress.

Before 2006, apprehended migrant families tended either to be released to await the resolution of their immigration cases, or family members were placed in separate facilities; children were placed in the custody of the Office of Refugee Resettlement while parents were confined in detention facilities for men or women. According to one account, when “Congress discovered this, it took immediate action to rectify the situation to ensure that ICE’s practices were in keeping with America’s tradition of promoting family values.”[1] In short, detaining families at Hutto was meant to protect an important human right – the right to family life.

However, almost overnight Hutto sparked heated debate about the treatment of undocumented immigrant children and families. In 2007, the American Civil Liberties Union successfully settled a lawsuit it had brought against ICE, which contended that conditions inside the detention centre violated standards for the treatment of minors in federal immigration custody. Two years later, in 2009, the Obama administration announced that it was officially ending the detention of children and families at Hutto, and converted the centre into an adult female-only detention facility. By 2010, the facility had undergone an intense makeover, becoming a centrepiece in the government’s efforts to put a kinder, gentler face on detention – transformed from derided jailer of children to purportedly friendly lock-up of immigrant women.

In early 2011, a UNHCR official described the Berks County Family Shelter – a misleadingly named detention facility which today is the only site in the US where families are detained – as the embodiment “of the best practices for a truly civil immigration detention model”. The official explained that “UNHCR believes strongly that the vast majority of asylum seekers should not be detained” but that, in the event that families are detained, Berks is the model to follow. It is clearly important to applaud improvements in the treatment of detainees but is it a good idea for the international community’s premier agency protecting asylum seekers to give its imprimatur to efforts to detain them?

Two key features of contemporary immigration detention are its gradual institutional entrenchment in the nation-state (as observed in the shift from prisons to dedicated detention facilities) and its global expansion. These developments appear to be driven by two processes: firstly the diffusion of normative regimes aimed at protecting non-nationals and secondly, the externalisation of interdiction practices from core states of the international system to the periphery. As a result, we are witnessing the emergence of dedicated immigration detention regimes even in countries where there is little evidence of systematic efforts to detain people as recently as ten to fifteen years ago.

Rights actors frequently focus their advocacy on detention by promoting the proper treatment of detainees and applauding efforts by states to differentiate between criminal incarceration and the administrative detention of irregular migrants and asylum seekers. However, there is cause for concern that the emergence of specialised immigration detention regimes can lead to an increased use of detention.

A case in point is Europe. In contrast to the US, most European countries ceased some time ago to use prisons for the purposes of immigration detention, in part due to pressure from rights-promoting bodies like the Council of Europe. The recent EU Returns Directive provides that member states must use specially planned facilities for confining people as they await deportation. But the process of shifting from informal to formal detention regimes, which has occurred over the last two decades, has paralleled the growth in immigration detention in this region.

Externalisation

At the same time that detention operations are becoming increasingly specialised in destination countries, these states are endeavouring to export to other countries their efforts to prevent undocumented migration, raising questions about the evasion of their responsibility to adhere to international standards. A case in point is the West African nation of Mauritania, which in 2006 opened its first dedicated detention centre for irregular migrants in the port city of Nouadhibou with assistance provided by the Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation. Spain’s involvement in establishing the detention centre has raised questions over which authority controls the facility and who guarantees the rights of the detainees. While the centre is officially managed by the Mauritanian National Security Service, Mauritanian officials “clearly and emphatically” stated in October 2008 that Mauritanian authorities perform their jobs at the express request of the Spanish government.[2]

As the Mauritania case demonstrates, efforts by core countries to deflect migratory pressures are leading to the externalisation of controls to states that are not considered main destinations of migrants and where the rule of law is often weak. This raises questions about the culpability of western liberal democracies in a) the abuses detainees suffer when they are intercepted before reaching their destinations and b) circumventing – by externalising detention practices – the need to conform to international standards relating to a state’s right to detain and deport, such as the right to liberty and the prohibition of refoulement.

Liberal states often betray a distinct discomfort when locking people up outside criminal processes, especially people protected by additional norms such as those contained in the UN Refugee Convention. States disguise the practice by using misleading terminology – calling detention facilities ‘guesthouses’ (Turkey), ‘guarded shelters’ (Hungary ) or ‘welcome centres’ (Italy). They frequently limit access to detention statistics. They selectively apply only those human rights norms that do not call into question the 'sovereign right' to detain and deport. They export detention pressures to the exterior so as to avoid norm-based responsibilities such as admitting asylum seekers. And they endeavour to characterise many of the people subject to this form of detention in such a way as to provoke public fears, and thereby to justify locking up migrants.

Migrant rights advocates should consider de-emphasising discourses that focus only on improving the situation of non-citizens in state custody and re-emphasising the taboo against depriving anyone of his or her liberty without charge. Instead of spurring states to create special institutions – or standard operating procedures – for keeping migrants in their custody, advocates should work to ensure that limitations on freedom remain the exception to the rule.

 

Michael Flynn michael.flynn@graduateinstitute.ch is the founder and manager of the Global Detention Project based at the Graduate Institute’s Programme for the Study of Global Migration. www.globaldetentionproject.org



[1] Women’s Refugee Commission and Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service, Locking Up Family Values: The Detention of Immigrant Families, February 2007, pp1-2.  http://tinyurl.com/WRC-LRIS-lockingup-2007

[2] European Social Watch, ‘Spain: The Externalisation of Migration and Asylum Policies: The Nouadhibou Detention Center', 2009. http://tinyurl.com/ESW-Spain-2009

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview