رصد الاحتجاز المؤسس حديثاً في اليابان

بدأت لجان الرصد المؤسسة حديثاً في اليابان بفتح قنوات جديدة للاتصالات وإتاحة الفرص لإدخال التحسينات في مراكز الاحتجاز.

تدير دائرة الهجرة التابعة لوزارة العدل في اليابان عدداً من مراكز الاحتجاز عبر البلاد. ويُحتجَز في تلك المراكز المواطنون الأجانب الواصلون إلى اليابان أو الماكثون فيها بصفة غير شرعية كما الحال في كثير من الدول الأخرى. لكنَّ ظروف معاملة المحتجزين في مراكز الاحتجاز اليابانية بقيت إلى حين وقت قريب مخفية وراء الأسوار ولم يكن هناك فرصة كبيرة أمام الجمهور العام للتمحيص فيما يجري داخل تلك المراكز.

لكنَّ الحكومة اليابانية، استجابة لتوصيات من عدة مصادر دولية[i] وجماعات الضغط داخل البلاد، عدَّلت قانون الرقابة على الهجرة والاعتراف باللاجئين، ونتيجة لذلك التعديل، تأسست لجنتان اثنتان لرصد مراكز احتجاز المهاجرين. وكان الهدف الأساسي لتلك اللجنتين، اللتين بدأتا العمل في يوليو/تموز 2010، التأكد من تطبيق المراكز للشفافية فيما يتعلق بمعاملة المحتجزين والمساهمة في حسن إدارة مراكز الاحتجاز. وعليه، تجري اللجنتان زيارات منتظمة لمراكز الاحتجاز وتتفحصان المعلومات السرية المتعلقة بتلك المراكز والإحصاءات التي تقدمها دوائر الهجرة التي تدير تلك المراكز، وتقابل المحتجزين بناء على طلبهم وتستلم شكاويهم الخطية وتدرسها وتوضح ما غمض منها وتقدم الحلول لها بسرية تامة، ثمَّ تقدم توصيات بالتحسينات إلى مديري مراكز الاحتجاز.

تتألف كل لجنة (واحدة غرب اليابان والأخرى شرق اليابان) من عشرة أعضاء خبراء مستقلين يعينهم وزير العدل. اثنان منهم من أساتذة القانون في الجامعات واثنان من المحامين المزاولين وطبيبان وممثلان عن المجتمعات المحلية المضيفة لمراكز الاحتجاز وموظف مدني دولي يعمل لدى منظمة دولية وموظف من إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية.

وفيما يلي بعض التوصيات المثيرة للاهتمام التي وضعتها اللجنتان بعد انقضاء أول سنتين على تأسيسهما إضافة إلى الإجراءات التي اتخذتها مراكز الاحتجاز بهذا الشأن: [ii]

1- التوصية: رفع مستوى الخصوصية للمحتجزين.

الإجراء: أُنشئت الجدران ورُكِّبت الستائر حول دورات المياه وأماكن الاستحمام.

2- التوصية: تمكين المحتجزين من أداء التمارين الرياضية والاستحمام والاتصال الهاتفي خلال العطلة الأسبوعية وخلال الأسبوع.

الإجراء: بدأت بعض مراكز الاحتجاز بالسماح للمحتجزين بمغادرة زنزاناتهم خلال العطلة الأسبوعية.

3- التوصية والإجراء: تجنباً للَّبس بشأن القواعد والإجراءات (بما فيها آليات تقديم الشكاوى) الناظمة للحياة داخل مراكز الاحتجاز، أُعدَّت أدلة إرشادية متعددة اللغات وأُتيحت لجميع المحتجزين.

  • 4- التوصية والإجراء: مساعدةً للمحتجزين في الحصول على النصح والمساعدة، وضعت بعض مراكز الاحتجاز قوائم بمعلومات التواصل بالسفارات ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين والمنظمة الدولية للهجرة والجمعيات القانونية وغيرها ثم وزَّعت تلك القوائم على المحتجزين.

تلك الإجراءات تمثل تحسينات يُثنى عليها، لكنَّها لم تلغٍ جميع التحديات.

فارتفاع تكاليف الاتصال الهاتفي وتقييد الساعات التي يتاح للمحتجزين استخدام الهاتف فيها يحدان من تواصلهم مع أسرهم وأصدقائهم ومحاميهم أو مع مصادر المساعدة الأخرى. وفي حين بدأت بعض مراكز الاحتجاز بالسماح للمحتجزين بإجراء المكالمات الهاتفية داخل زنازينهم، ما زال هناك ضرورة ماسة لتحسين طرق التواصل والاتصال.

ورتَّبت دوائر الهجرة ما يلزم لتتيح خيارات عدة أمام المحتجزين بشأن وجباتهم الغذائية لكنَّها لم توفر بعد الغذاء الموافق للشريعة الإسلامية، ما مثّل مشكلة أمام المحتجزين المسلمين، وما زالت الجهود مستمرة لحل تلك المشكلة.

ومن ناحية الكوادر الطبية، هناك نقص في أعداد الأطباء الراغبين بالعمل داخل مراكز الاحتجاز. وبما أنَّ هذه المسألة تمس مباشرة صحة المحتجزين، فلا بد من السعي وراء حل مباشر قد يكون، على سبيل المثال، التنسيق مع المشافي المحلية وتأسيس نظام الورديات بحيث يمكن توفير الأطباء لتقديم المشورة الطبية في وقتها.

هناك أيضاً مسألة الحاجز اللغوي، فمن الصعب توفير المترجمين الأكفاء للغات غير الشائعة لدى اليابانيين، مثل: الفارسية والتركية والأردية والباشتوية والهندية. ولما كان الاتصال أساس التفاهم المشترك ليس في المقابلات مع اللجان فحسب بل في الحياة اليومية في مراكز الاحتجاز أيضاً، فلا بد من بذل مزيد من الجهود لتحديد الأشخاص المقيمين في اليابان والقادرين على تولي دور المترجم الفوري ثم تدريبهم.

وكذلك مهمة اللجنتين وأدوارهما ووظائفهما لم تكن (على الأقل مبدئياً) قد وُضِّحت كفايةً للمحتجزين. ومع أنَّ الأدلة الإرشادية متعددة اللغات موجودة في جميع الزنزانات الآن وجميعها تضع توضيحات حول أدوار اللجنتين، ما زالت هناك ضرورة لزيادة نشر المعلومات المتعلقة بهذا النظام الجديد.

وأخيراً، أثار المراقبون والنقاد مسألة استقلال اللجنتين كثيراً. لكنني بصفتي عضو في اللجنة اليابانية الغربية لم أواجه أي ضغوط من دائرة الهجرة أو من وزارة العدل بل أثني على الصراحة التي ميّزت النقاشات التي جرت بين موظفي المراكز واللجنتين إضافة إلى أنَّ دائرة أوساكا للهجرة الإقليمية تعمل بوصفها أمانة للسر للجنة اليابانية الغربية وبذلك تعمل على ترتيب جميع الزيارات والمقابلات. وبما أنَّ جميع أعضاء اللجنتين لا يعلمون بدوام متفرغ كامل، ونظراً لمحدودية الموازنة الممنوحة لنظام الرصد عامة، لا يبدو من المعقول (على الأقل في الوقت الحالي) تأسيس أمانة سر مستقلة تماماً عن دائرة الهجرة. بل يمكن النظر إلى هذه المسألة بطرية أفضل من منظور إصلاح البنية الوزارية بما فيها تأسيس لجنة مستقلة في اليابان تُعنى بحقوق الإنسان.

وبما أنَّ اليابان لم تؤسس بعد تلك اللجنة المستقلة لحقوق الإنسان ولم توقع بعد البروتوكول الاختياري لاتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة لحقوق الإنسان، فهذا يجعل من لجنتي رصد مراكز الاحتجاز المرجعية الوحيدة حالياً التي تتمتع بسلطة تقديم التحسينات على مراكز الاحتجاز ومعاملة المحتجزين. وهذا يضع عليهما مسؤوليات ثقيلة ومهمة للغاية.

ناوكو هاشيموتو nhashimoto@iom.int تحمل درجة الماجستير من مركز دراسات اللاجئين وتعمل حالياً مديرة للبرامج لدى المنظمة الدولية للهجرة، مكتب طوكيو www.iom.int وعملت في لجنة رصد مراكز الاحتجاز في غرب اليابان  بدوام جزئي من يوليو/تموز 2010 إلى نهاية يونيو/حزيران 2013. جميع المعلومات والآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة لا تعبر بالضرورة عن وجهة النظر الرسمية لمنظمة الهجرة الدولية أو لوزارة العدل اليابانية.

 


[i] كوميكو نيتسو "منظورات حول لجنة زيارة مراكز احتجاز المهاجرين: اعتبارات من وجهة نظر تأمين الشفافية" (Perspectives on the Immigration Detention Centers Visiting Committee: Consideration from the Viewpoint of Securing Transparency’)، مجلة CDR Quarterly، العدد 4، ص.ص. 35-51، يناير/كانون الثاني 2012، مركز توثيق اللاجئين والمهاجرين. جامعة طوكيو.

[ii] لمعلومات أكثر، يرجى زيارة الموقع الرسمي لوزارة العدل (باليابانية فقط):

يوليو/تموز2010 – يونيو/حزيران 2011

http://tinyurl.com/JapanMOJ-10-11

يوليو/تموز2010 – يونيو/حزيران 2012

http://tinyurl.com/JapanMOJ-11-12

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Detention monitoring newly established in Japan

Recently established monitoring committees in Japan are opening new channels of communication and opportunities for improvements in detention facilities.

The Immigration Bureau of the Ministry of Justice of Japan manages a number of immigration detention facilities across the country where foreign nationals arriving or remaining in Japan with irregular status are detained, as they are in many other countries. Until recently, however, the condition and treatment of detainees inside the detention facilities were hidden behind walls, with little opportunity for public scrutiny.

Following recommendations from various international sources,[1] as well as from pressure groups inside Japan, the Government of Japan amended the Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act and as a result two Immigration Detention Facilities Monitoring Committees were established. The main purpose of these Committees, which started work in July 2010, is to ensure transparency about the treatment of detainees and to contribute to the proper management of detention facilities. The Committees regularly visit detention facilities; examine confidential information on the detention facilities and statistics provided by the Immigration Bureaus which run the facilities; interview detainees upon request from the detainees; receive, study, clarify and solicit resolutions to complaints confidentially submitted in writing by detainees; and make recommendations for improvements to the Directors of the detention facilities.

Each of the two Committees (one in western Japan, the other in eastern Japan) is composed of 10 independent experts appointed by the Minister of Justice: two academics (professors in law), two attorneys-at-law, two medical doctors, two representatives from the local communities hosting the detention centres, one international civil servant working for an international organisation and one NGO staff member.

Some of the noteworthy recommendations put forward by the Committees after their first two years – and measures taken by the detention facilities in response to them – include[2]:

 

  • To increase privacy for detainees, walls and curtains were installed around toilets and shower rooms.

 

  • To enable detainees to take exercise, have showers or make phone calls over the weekend as well as during the week, some of the detention facilities started to allow detainees to go out of their detention cells during the weekend.

 

  • To avoid confusion about the rules and procedures (including complaints mechanisms) relating to daily life inside the detention facilities, multilingual guidelines were prepared and made available to all detainees.

 

  • To help detainees seek advice and assistance, some of the detention facilities drew up and distributed lists providing contact information for embassies, UNHCR, IOM, legal associations, etc.

 

These measures clearly represent improvements, and are to be commended. Meanwhile, there still remain some challenges.

Very high telephone charges and very limited hours when detainees are allowed to make phone calls hinder communications with families, friends, lawyers or other sources of assistance. There is no access to internet or mobile phone inside the detention facilities. While some detention facilities have started allowing detainees to make phone calls while in their detention cells, better communication methods are urgently needed.

The Immigration Bureaus have arranged that detainees should have a wide variety of meal options but ‘halal’ food is yet to be made available, which has posed problems for Muslim detainees. Continued efforts need to be made to resolve this.

There is a lack of qualified medical doctors who are willing to work inside detention facilities. Since this issue directly concerns the health of detainees, an immediate solution needs to be sought, for instance by coordinating with local hospitals and by establishing a rotation system so that qualified medical doctors can be available for timely consultation.

It is difficult to secure qualified interpreters for languages which are uncommon in Japan, such as Persian, Turkish, Urdu, Pashtun and Hindi. As communication is the key to mutual understanding not only in Committee interviews but also for daily life within the detention facilities, more efforts need to be made to identify and train multilingual residents in Japan to be interpreters.

The mandate, roles and functions of the Committees were, at least initially, not adequately explained to detainees. While their role is introduced in the multilingual guidelines now available in all detention cells, information about this new system needs to be better disseminated.

Finally, the question of independence and autonomy of the Committees has been persistently raised by observers and critics. As a member of the West Japan Committee, the author herself has not experienced any pressure from the Immigration Bureau or the Ministry of Justice, and commends the transparency and frankness of discussions held between the detention facilities staff and the Committees. The Osaka Regional Immigration Bureau serves as the Secretariat to the West Japan Committee, arranging all visits and interviews. Since the Committee members serve on a part-time basis, and the budget allocated for the overall monitoring system is extremely limited, it seems unrealistic at least at the current time to establish a secretariat totally independent from the Immigration Bureau. This issue may better be looked into together with an overview of the reform of the government’s ministerial structure, including the possible establishment of an independent Human Rights Commission in Japan.

Since Japan has yet to establish an independent Human Rights Commission and to sign the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, the Detention Facilities Monitoring Committees are the only organ with the authority to solicit improvements of detention facilities and treatment of detainees. Thus they carry heavy responsibilities and significance.

 

Naoko Hashimoto nhashimoto@iom.int is an MSt graduate of the Refugee Studies Centre and currently Programme Manager for the International Organization for Migration, Tokyo Office. www.iom.int She served on the West Japan Detention Facilities Monitoring Committee on a part-time basis from July 2010 to the end of June 2013. The information and opinions expressed in this article do not necessarily reflect the official views of IOM or the Ministry of Justice of Japan.



[1] Kumiko Niitsu ‘Perspectives on the Immigration Detention Centers Visiting Committee: Consideration from the Viewpoint of Securing Transparency’, CDR Quarterly, vol.4, pp38-51, January 2012. Center for Documentation of Refuges and Migrants, University of Tokyo.

[2] More information is available on the Japanese Ministry of Justice official website (only in Japanese):

July 2010-June 2011: http://tinyurl.com/JapanMOJ-10-11

July 2011-June 2012:  http://tinyurl.com/JapanMOJ-11-12

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview