الملاذ الأخير في قضايا الاحتجاز الخاطئ والترحيل في إفريقيا

في غياب منبر بديل فعال لمعالجة انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي ترتكبها الدول الأفريقية، سوف تنظر البعثة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب في تلك الانتهاكات. ويمكن لتوصياتها أن تمثّل أساساً للفاعلين الآخرين لكي يمارسوا الضغوط على الدولة المنتهكة لحقوق الإنسان لكي تنصاع لمعايير حقوق الإنسان.

 

إيسمايلا كونّاته من الأجانب البالغ عددهم نحو 126,247 فرداً الذين رُّحلوا على نحو جماعي من أنغولا في عام 2004. ولم تصدر بحقهم أي أوامر اعتقال ولم يكن من سبب محدد لاعتقالهم. وصُودرت وثائقهم الرسمية. وصُودرت ممتلكاتهم أيضاً أو خلّفوها وراءهم. وقد بقي معظمهم في معسكرات الاحتجاز، التي كانت تُستخدم لإيواء الحيوانات وكانت مليئة بغائط الحيوانات، لأسابيع وأحياناً لشهور. ولم تتوفر لهم الرعاية الصحية، وعانوا من قلة الغذاء وسوء مرافق الصرف الصحي. ولم يُسمح لهم بإيصال أصواتهم لنظام القضاء للطعن في أسباب الاعتقال أو الاحتجاز أو ظروف السجن.

وفي غياب منبر بديل فعال لمعالجة تلك الانتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان، تقدم معهد حقوق الإنسان والتنمية في إفريقيا بشكوى نيابة عنهم إلى المفوضية الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب التي كانت قد تأسست بموجب الميثاق الأفريقي لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب لمعالجة انتهاكات الحقوق المنصوص عليها في الميثاق.

وبالنظر في قضية إيسمايلا كونّاته، درست المفوضية ملياً الانتهاكات المزعومة للحقوق الواردة في الميثاق وتوصلت إلى إقرارها بشأن أسس تلك المزاعم، كل على حدة. ففيما يتعلق بالمادة 6 (التي تركز على الاحتجاز) في الميثاق، خلصت المفوضية إلى ما يلي: "ينطوي حظر الاحتجاز التعسفي على حظر الاحتجاز غير محدد الأجل والاعتقالات والاحتجاز "لأسباب عرقية فقط"". ولأنه لم يثبت "رؤية الضحايا لمذكرة اعتقالهم أو لأي وثيقة أخرى تنص على التهم التي أُجري بموجبها القبض عليهم"، فالاعتقالات والاحتجازات تصبح بذلك تعسفية، وعليه فقد انتهكت أنغولا المادة 6 من الميثاق. وفي الحالات الأخرى التي تتناول الاعتقال والاحتجاز التعسفي، أوضحت المفوضية أن مصطلح "التعسف" لا يكافئ بالمعنى عبارة 'مخالف للقانون' بل ينبغي أن يتسع تفسيره ليشتمل على عناصر أخرى، مثل: عدم الملاءمة والظلم وعدم القدرة على التنبؤ والإجراءات القانونية الواجبة". وباختصار، تدرك المفوضية أن القوانين نفسها في دولة ما قد تكون غير معقولة، ولذلك ستنظر المفوضية إلى ما وراء إطار القوانين المحلية لتحدد مدى ملاءمة تلك الاعتقالات.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، بخصوص الترحيلات الجماعية، وجدت المفوضية أنَّ الترحيلات الجماعية لأي فئة من الأشخاص سواء أكان ذلك على أساس الجنسية أو الدين أو العرق أو غير ذلك من الاعتبارات "تمثل خرقاً خاصاً لحقوق الإنسان" وأنها عملية قائمة على التمييز غير المسوَّغ له قانوناً. وأوضحت المفوضية المبدأ الذي بنت عليه قرارها قائلة: "تواجه الدول الأفريقية عامةً وأنغولا خاصة عدداً من التحديات خاصة على الصعيد الاقتصادي. وفي مواجهة تلك المصاعب، غالباً ما تلجأ الدول إلى تطبيق إجراءات صارمة بهدف حماية مواطنيها واقتصاداتها من غير المواطنين. لكن، مهما كانت الظروف، لا يجوز اتخاذ تلك الإجراءات على حساب التمتع بحقوق الإنسان."

كسب قضية أمام المفوضية انتصار أجوف لأن قرارات المفوضية مجرد "توصيات" وعادة ما يتجاهلها المعنيون ببساطة. ولا يتوقف الأمر عند تجاهل الحكومة الأنغولية للنتائج التي توصلت إليها المفوضية وحسب، بل تُكرر تلك الانتهاكات مجدداً. ومع ذلك، لا ينبغي تجاهل الخيارات التي تطرحها المفوضية. فالتوصيات التي تقدمها المفوضية تمنح المنظمات غير الحكومية والدول فرصاً للضغط على الدول المخالفة للامتثال بمعايير حقوق الإنسان. ولتلك التوصيات قيمة بوصفها مقدمات للقرارات المستقبلية التي تتخذها المفوضية وتُمثل أيضاً إضافة إلى هيكل القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان المتنامي.

 

ماثيو س. كين mkane@ryanwhaley.com محام ممارس يعمل لدى ريان والي كولديرون شاندي بي إل إل سي وأستاذ مساعد في كلية الحقوق بجامعة أوكلاهوما وفي كلية الحقوق بجامعة اوكلاهوما سيتى. وسوزان ف. كين skane@ryanwhaley.com محامية ممارسة أيضاً متخصصة في قضايا التبني وحملات المناصرة الخاصة بالتبني على الصعيد الدولي والمحلي. وكلاهما عمل في قضايا حقوق الإنسان في وسط إفريقيا وشرقها.

 

لمزيد من المعلومات بشأن القرارات التي نُوقشت في هذه المقالة وبشأن جميع القرارات الأخرى التي اتخذتها المفوضية، يرجى مراجعة المحلل القانوني للقانون العام الخاص بحقوق الإنسان في إفريقيا على الموقع الإلكتروني http://caselaw.ihrda.org/acmhpr/. انظر مقالين أطول أيضاً للكاتبين على

www.ryanwhaley.com/attorneys/matthew-kane/

 

 

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

A last resort in cases of wrongful detention and deportation in Africa

Where this is no viable forum to address human rights violations by African states, the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights will consider such violations. Its recommendations can then provide a basis on which other actors can put pressure on an offending state to comply with human rights norms.

Esmaila Connateh was one of an estimated 126,247 foreigners deported en masse from Angola in 2004. No arrest warrants were issued, nor reason given for the arrests. Their official documents were confiscated. Property was confiscated or left behind. Most were held for weeks, some for months, in detention camps that had been used to house animals and remained filled with animal excrement. There was no medical attention, little food and poor sanitation. No one was afforded access to the court system to challenge their arrests, detention or conditions of confinement.

Without any viable alternative forum to address these human rights violations, the Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa filed a complaint on their behalf with the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. The Commission was established by the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights to address violations of the rights set out in the Charter.

In considering Esmaila Connateh’s case, the Commission weighed the alleged violations of the Charter, reaching a decision on the merits as to each. With regard to Article 6 of the Charter (focusing on detention), the Commission found: “The prohibition of arbitrary detention includes prohibition of indefinite detention and arrests and detention ‘based on ethnic grounds alone’.” As there was no evidence that “victims were shown a warrant or any other document relating to the charges under which the arrest were being carried out”, the arrests and detentions were arbitrary, and Angola was in violation of Article 6. In other cases addressing arbitrary arrest and detention, the Commission has made it clear that “[a]rbitrariness is not to be equated with ‘against the law’ but must be interpreted more broadly to include elements of inappropriateness, injustice, lack of predictability and due process of law.” In short, the Commission recognises that the laws of a particular country may themselves be unreasonable and that they will look beyond local statutes to determine the propriety of an arrest.

The Commission also found that Angola’s conduct violated Article 12 concerning freedom of movement and residence: “Although African States may expel non-nationals from their territories, the measures that they take in such circumstances should not be taken at the detriment of the enjoyment of human rights… deportations [should] take place in a manner consistent with the due process of law.  … the situation as presented by the Complainant did not afford those expelled due process of law for protection of the rights that have been alleged to be violated by the Respondent State and that they were not allowed access to the remedies under domestic law to at least challenge, if not reverse, their expulsion.”

Moreover, with regard to mass deportations the Commission found that mass expulsions of any category of persons, whether on the basis of nationality, religion, ethnic, racial or other considerations, “constitute special violation of human rights”, being generally discriminatory and with no legal grounding. The Commission explained the rationale for its decision: “African States in general and the Republic of Angola in particular are faced with many challenges, mainly economic. In the face of such difficulties, States often resort to radical measures aimed at protecting their nationals and their economies from non-nationals. Whatever the circumstances may be, however, such measures should not be taken at the detriment of the enjoyment of human rights.”

Winning a case before the Commission often has the feel of a hollow victory as the Commission decisions are ‘recommendations’ only and are often simply ignored. The Angolan government not only ignored the Commission’s findings but subsequently repeated the offence. However, the Commission option should not be ignored. Its recommendations provide NGOs and other states with opportunities to put pressure on an offending state to comply with human rights norms. They also provide some value as precedents for future Commission decisions, while contributing to the ever-growing body of international human rights law.

 

Matthew C Kane mkane@ryanwhaley.com is a practising attorney with Ryan Whaley Coldiron Shandy PLLC and an adjunct professor with the University of Oklahoma College of Law and the Oklahoma City University School of Law. Susan F Kane skane@ryanwhaley.com also practises law, while advocating for and educating on international and domestic adoption. Both have also worked on human rights issues in central and east Africa.  

For more information on the decisions discussed here, and all other Commission decisions, please see the African Human Rights Case Law Analyser at http://caselaw.ihrda.org/acmhpr/. See also two longer articles by the authors at www.ryanwhaley.com/attorneys/matthew-kane/

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview