الاحتجاز في كينيا: المخاطر التي يتعرض لها اللاجئون وطالبو اللجوء

يتعرض اللاجئون وطالبو اللجوء المحتجزين في كينيا لخطورة الإدانة المتكررة بالأعمال الإجرامية والاحتجاز لمدد طويلة جراء ضعف آليات التنسيق بين مسؤولو الهجرة والشرطة وضباط السجن إلى جانب نقص العدد الكافي من المترجمين وانخفاض مستويات المعرفة بين موظفي الحكومة والمسؤولين عن إنفاذ القانون بشأن آليات حماية اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.

تستضيف كينيا أعداداً كبيرة من اللاجئين، سواء أكانوا نازحين داخلياً أم فاقدي الجنسية أو مهاجرين لأسباب اقتصادية أو ضحايا الاتجار بالبشر وأعمال التهريب. وقد وضع اتحاد اللاجئين في كينيا نظاماً لرصد مراكز الاحتجاز يضم عشرة مراقبين على الاحتجاز يقيمون في منشآت السجون الواقعة على طرق الهجرة الرئيسية وفي المراكز الحضرية المُستضيفة لطالبي اللجوء وغيرهم من المهاجرين. ويرصد مراقبو الاحتجاز انتهاكات حقوق اللاجئين والحالات المتعلقة باللجوء في السجون، ومراكز الشرطة، والمحاكم، وبذلك فهم يُمثلون دوراً أساسياً في حماية اللاجئين؛ إذ إنهم ليسوا رابطاً مهماً مع نظم العدالة الجنائية وحسب، ولكنهم يتدخلون سريعاً لحل مشكلات المهاجرين في الاحتجاز ويقدمون المساعدة لهم أيضاً. ففي عام 2012 وحده، وفر اتحاد اللاجئين في كينيا ممثلين قانونيين لـ 727 فرد من طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين القابعين رهن الاحتجاز في مراكز الاحتجاز المختلفة في جميع أرجاء الدولة.

ومن تحديات الهجرة المختلطة وحماية اللاجئين في كينيا إخفاق المسؤولين عن إنفاذ القانون والجهات الفاعلة الأخرى في التمييز بين المجرمين والمهاجرين غير الشرعيين وطالبي اللجوء. فجميع فئات المسجونين يُحتجزون في السجون نفسها ويخضعون لمعايير الاحتجاز عينها؛ حيث يُعامل طالبو اللجوء كمجرمين، وهو ما يعارض تماماً مفهوم اللجوء ذي الطابع المدني. وتُعرض ظروف السجن طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين إلى الإيذاء والاعتداء الجنسي والتعذيب واعتلال الصحة وغياب المشورة القانونية والمساعدة القانونية المحدودة وسوء التغذية. ويزداد الموقف سوءاً بغياب خدمات الترجمة في السجون مما يعني تقويض قدرة طالبي اللجوء على الحديث عن التحديات التي تواجههم أو الإبلاغ عن أي انتهاكات يتعرضون لها للسلطات.

بموجب قانون اللاجئين في كينيا لعام 2006، تُعطى مهلة لجميع طالبي اللجوء مدتها 30 يوماً منذ دخولهم إلى كينيا للذهاب إلى أقرب السلطات التي تستقبل اللاجئين والتسجيل عندها بوصفهم لاجئين، بصرف النظر عن الكيفية التي سيدخلون بها تلك الدولة أو إلى أين سيقصدون. وينص القانون أيضاً على السماح للاجئين بإجراء جلسة استماع عادلة وإعطائهم الفرصة للدفاع عن أنفسهم قبل المثول أمام المحكمة. ومع ذلك، يتجاهل المسؤولون عن إنفاذ القانون تلك الحقوق على نحو روتيني وعادة ما يُقدم اللاجئون في نهاية المطاف إلى المحاكمة ظلماً وبهتاناً لأن المسؤولين عن إنفاذ القانون يفتقرون إلى المعرفة السليمة لكيفية التعامل مع طالبي اللجوء وبسبب الحواجز اللغوية ونقص المترجمين الفوريين.

وقد أصبح طالبو اللجوء مستضعفين أكثر منذ إصدار حكومة كينيا توجيهاً في 18 من شهر ديسمبر/كانون الأول لعام 2012 من خلال إدارة شؤون اللاجئين يُطالب جميع اللاجئين في المراكز الحضرية بالانتقال للعيش في المخيمات.[i] وأصدر ذلك التوجيه أيضاً إنذاراً بضرورة وقف تسجيل جميع اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء في المناطق الحضرية وترتب على ذلك توجيه جميع الوكالات، ومنها مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين، بوجوب التوقف عن تقديم الخدمات المباشرة للاجئين. وقد نتج عن ذلك فجوات خطيرة وواضحة في نسيج الحماية، وتقليص الخدمات المقدمة للاجئين، وتعريضهم للاعتقال والاحتجاز والترحيل. وجدير بالذكر أنه منذ إصدار ذلك التوجيه، ازدادت معدلات مضايقات اللاجئين على أيدي المسؤولين عن إنفاذ القانون في نيروبي والمناطق الحضرية الأخرى على نحو ملحوظ. وقد أُبلغ عن حالات اعتقال تعسفي واحتجاز غير قانوني للاجئين أيضاً، فضلاً عن عدم استدعاء المحتجزين للمثول أمام المحكمة خلال مدة الـ 24 ساعة بعد الاعتقال والمقررة دستورياً مما يترتب عليه حرمانهم من حقوقهم.

الهجرة المختلطة والاحتجاز

خلال واحدة من مهام رصد تطبيق آليات الحماية في المنطقة الساحلية، زار اتحاد اللاجئين في كينيا سجن فوا في مقاطعة تايتا تافيتا لمتابعة حالات الاحتجاز.[ii] فتلك المنطقة محطة على طريق مرور المتاجرين بالبشر من القرن الإفريقي المتوجهين عبر تنزانيا إلى جنوب إفريقيا. وفي السجن، التقينا بثمانية من الإثيوبيين الذين احتجزوا أربعة شهور جراء دخولهم البلاد على نحو غير قانوني وأجرينا معهم مقابلات وظلوا رهن الاحتجاز انتظاراً لموعد ترحيلهم. وتمكنا أيضاً من مقابلة الضباط والاستماع لمخاوفهم واستطعنا استنتاج بعض من التحديات التي يواجهونها، وخاصة اختلاط طالبي اللجوء عادة بمن يتم الاتجار بهم وعدم قدرة السلطات دائماً على التمييز بين الفئتين وتقديم المساعدات المطلوبة لطالبي اللجوء. ويرجع ذلك إلى نقص المعرفة أو غيابها بطبيعة اللجوء، ولذلك يُعامل كل من لا يحمل وثيقة رسمية كمهاجر غير شرعي وينبغي احتجازه. ويزيد الطين بلة ضعف معلومات الضباط عن إدارة شؤون اللاجئين القادرة على التدخل لحل مشكلات اللاجئين أو التفتيش عليهم وعدم التواصل معها.

ومن الأمور المثيرة للقلق أيضاً عدم تنسيق عمليات ترحيل المهاجرين في جميع أرجاء المنطقة. فعادة ما يعيد الضباط المهاجرين إلى أقرب نقطة دخول للبلاد دون تسليمهم غالباً للسلطات المعنية بهم على النقاط الحدودية. ويعرض ذلك المهاجرين للإدانة المتكررة بالأعمال الإجرامية والاحتجاز لمدد طويلة من قبل السلطات في كل دولة يعودون إليها وهو ما يُمثل دون شك انتهاكاً من انتهاكات حقوقهم الإنسانية.

التوصيات

لمعالجة التحديات الواردة أعلاه، نوصي بالتالي:

  • إقامة المراكز المضيفة على طرق الهجرة الرئيسية أو على النقاط الحدودية التي يدخل منها المهاجرون. وسيساعد ذلك على التسجيل في الوقت المناسب وتفتيش جميع المهاجرين، وخاصة طالبي اللجوء.
  • على المؤسسات الحكومية المعنية بالاحتجاز والترحيل التعاون فيما بينها على نحو أفضل لتقليل حالات الاحتجاز والاحتجاز لمدد طويلة في انتظار الترحيل.
  • يجب أن يكون الاحتجاز الإجراء الأخير بعد استنفاد جميع الطرق الأخرى المتاحة.[iii]
  • على شبكات المجتمع المدني الإقليمية والدولية بذل جهد أكبر لتتشارك المعلومات فيما بينها بشأن أفضل الممارسات للتعامل مع اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الذين يتعرضون للاحتجاز و/أو الترحيل، وينبغي أيضاً دعم جهود التحالف الدولي للمحتجزين وتسخيرها لإنفاذ قوانين الاحتجاز والترحيل بفاعلية.
  • على الحكومات الإقليمية والهيئات القضائية التعاون فيما بينها لتبادل المعلومات بشأن أفضل الممارسات والدفاع عنها، بما في ذلك تكوين لجان رصد وتعيين مقررين خاصين.

لوسي كياما refcon@rckkenya.org المدير التنفيذي لاتحاد اللاجئين في كينيا ودينيس ليكولى dennis@rckkenya.org مسؤول برامج مساعد (قانوني) في اتحاد اللاجئين في كينيا وهي منظمة غير حكومية تهدف لتعزيز حقوق اللاجئين والمُهجَّرين قسرًا الآخرين وحمايتها.  www.rckkenya.org

 


[i] جاء الأمر في أعقاب هجمات بالقنابل اليدوية المستمرة على عقارات إيستلي في نيروبي التي يسكن أغلبها اللاجئون الصوماليون ولاجئو الأورومو.

[ii] "بعثة رصد الحدود لحماية اللاجئين: قضايا على الساحل: تقرير قدمه اتحاد اللاجئين في كينيا بشأن مهمة الرصد في مومباسا، فوا، تافيتا، وكوالي ولونغا لونغا"، نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2012   

http://tinyurl.com/RCK-2012-Coast-monitoring

[iii] انظر المقال الذي كتبته أليس إدواردز عن "الاحتجاز تحت المجهر" (Detention under scrutiny) الذي يركز على المبادئ التوجيهية التي وضعتها مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين www.fmreview.org/detention/edwards

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Detention in Kenya: risks for refugees and asylum seekers

Refugees and asylum seekers detained in Kenya risk multiple convictions and protracted detention due to poor coordination between immigration officials, police and prison officers, coupled with lack of interpreters and low levels of knowledge among government officers and law enforcement officers.

Kenya plays host to large numbers of refugees, internally displaced persons (IDPs), stateless persons, economic migrants and victims of human trafficking and smuggling. The Refugee Consortium of Kenya (RCK) runs a detention monitoring scheme comprising ten detention monitors stationed in prisons along key migration routes and in urban centres hosting asylum seekers and other migrants. These detention monitors monitor refugee rights violations and asylum-related cases in prisons, police stations and courts of law and in this way play a core protection role in that they not only form a critical link with the criminal justice system but can also provide immediate intervention and assistance to migrants in detention. In 2012 alone, RCK provided legal representation to 727 asylum seekers and refugees held in various detention centres across the country.

One of the challenges in mixed migration and refugee protection in Kenya has been the failure by law enforcement officers and other actors to draw a distinction between criminals, illegal immigrants and asylum seekers. All categories of persons are detained in the same prisons and subjected to the same standards of confinement; asylum seekers end up being treated as criminals, an issue that clearly goes against the concept of asylum being of a civil character. Prison conditions expose asylum seekers and refugees to assault, sexual abuse, torture, ill-health, lack of counselling support, limited legal assistance and a poor diet. The situation is often made worse by lack of translation services in the prisons which means that asylum seekers are not able to talk about the challenges they are facing or report any violations to authorities.

Under Kenya’s Refugee Act 2006, all asylum seekers have 30 days upon entering Kenya to travel to the nearest refugee authorities to register as refugees, regardless of how or where they entered the country. The law also stipulates that such a refugee be accorded a fair hearing and given the chance to defend himself/herself before a court of law. However, law enforcement officers routinely ignore these rights and more often than not refugees end up being prosecuted – wrongly – because law enforcement officers tend to lack proper knowledge of how to handle asylum seekers and because of language barriers and a shortage of interpreters.

Asylum seekers have been made more vulnerable since the issuance of a directive on 18 December 2012 by the Government of Kenya, through the Department of Refugee Affairs, requiring all refugees in urban centres to move to camps.[1] The directive also issued a notice to stop registration of all refugees and asylum seekers in urban areas and accordingly directed that all agencies including UNHCR should stop providing direct services to refugees. This clearly opened serious protection gaps, limiting access to services for refugees and exposing them to arrest, detention and deportation. It is worth noting that since the issuance of the directive, harassment of refugees by law-enforcement officers in Nairobi and other urban areas has dramatically increased. Instances of arbitrary arrests and illegal detention of refugees have been reported; furthermore, detainees are not arraigned in court within the constitutionally sanctioned time of 24 hours after arrest, thus denying them their rights.

Mixed migration and detention

During one of its protection monitoring missions in the coastal region, RCK visited Voi prison in Taita Taveta County to follow up on detention cases.[2] The region is a transit route used for human trafficking of persons from the Horn of Africa through Tanzania to South Africa. At the prison, we met and interviewed eight Ethiopians who had served four-month sentences for unlawful presence and were being held as they awaited deportation. We also managed to interview the officers and listen to their concerns and were able deduce certain of their challenges, namely that  asylum seekers are often mixed in with those being trafficked and that the authorities are not always able to distinguish between the two groups and provide the necessary assistance to the asylum seekers. This is due to lack or limited knowledge with regard to asylum so that any person without a document is treated as an unlawful immigrant and detained. This is worsened by the officers’ limited knowledge of and access to the Department of Refugee Affairs which could intervene or vet asylum seekers.

Of concern also is the uncoordinated way in which deportation of migrants is conducted across the region. Officers normally return migrants to the nearest point of entry, usually without handing them to the proper authorities at border points. This exposes migrants to multiple convictions and protracted periods of detention by authorities in each country where they are returned, which is clearly an abuse of their rights.

Recommendations

To address the challenges outlined above, we recommend the following:

  • Reception centres should be set up on key migration routes or at border entry points. This would help in timely registration and vetting of all migrants, particularly asylum seekers.
  • Government agencies dealing with detention and deportation need to work together better to reduce cases of detention and protracted detention pending deportation.
  • Detention should only be used as a measure of last resort after exploring all other available avenues.[3]
  • Regional and international civil society networks need to do more to share information on best practices in working with refugees and asylum seekers who face detention and/or deportation; efforts such as those of the International Detention Coalition (IDC) should be supported and harnessed to help effective implementation of laws with regard to detention and deportation.
  • Regional governments and judicial bodies should work together to share information on and to advocate for best practice, including establishing monitoring committees and Special Rapporteurs.

 

 

Lucy Kiama refcon@rckkenya.org is the Executive Director of the Refugee Consortium of Kenya (RCK) and Dennis Likule dennis@rckkenya.org is an assistant Programme Officer (Legal) at RCK. www.rckkenya.org



[1] The order came in the wake of persistent grenade attacks in Nairobi’s Eastleigh Estate which is mostly inhabited by Somali and Oromo refugees.

[2] ‘Border monitoring mission of refugee protection: issues at the coast: A report by the Refugee Consortium of Kenya on a monitoring mission to Mombasa, Voi, Taveta, Kwale and Lunga Lunga’, November 2012  

http://tinyurl.com/RCK-2012-Coast-monitoring

[3] See Alice Edwards ‘Detention under scrutiny’ www.fmreview.org/detention/edwards

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview