ترحيل جنوب السودانيين من إسرائيل

تتعارض حملة الاعتقالات العدائية التي تشنها إسرائيل على طالبي اللجوء من جنوب السودان مع مبدأ منع الإعادة القسرية والمعايير الدولية للعودة الكريمة.

في 17/6/2012، غادرت من تل أبيب طائرة على متنها 120 مواطناً من جنوب السودان باتجاه جوبا، عاصمة جنوب السودان، الدولة الوليدة آنذاك. وكانت تلك الرحلة الأولى التي أطلقت عليها الحكومة الإسرائيلية اسم "عملية العودة إلى الوطن". وبعد أشهر من ذلك، تقررت ست رحلات جوية تحمل ما مجموعه 1038 سودانياً جنوبياً إلى جوبا. [i]

تنظر إسرائيل إلى السودان على أنها دولة عدو، وفور وصول السودانيين، بمن فيهم السودانيون الجنوبيون، كانت إسرائيل تطلق عليهم اسم "مواطنون معادون" إلى أن استقلت جنوب السودان وأصبحت دولة. إلا أنَّه لغاية يونيو/حزيران 2012، كانت سياسة "عدم الترحيل" هي المطبقة على السودانيين بغض النظر عن المنطقة التي قدموا منها وبذلك سُمح لهم بالإقامة المؤقتة في إسرائيل. ومع أنَّ إقامتهم كانت قانونية، لم تُدرس طلبات لجوئهم الفردية استناداً إلى اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951 التي وقعت عليها إسرائيل. ومن هنا، رغم أنَّ كثيراً من السودانيين الجنوبيين القادمين إلى إسرائيل مسجلون لدى مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين ويحملون بطاقاتها الصادرة لهم من مصر، لم تعترف إسرائيل بهم كلاجئين، ولم تُقرُّ رسمياً أبداً بحاجتهم للحماية بموجب اتفاقية اللاجئين.

وفي 31/1/2012، نشرت سلطة السكان والهجرة والحدود "نداءً إلى شعب جنوب السودان" ذكرت فيها "ما دام أنَّ جنوب السودان أصبحت الآن دولة مستقلة، فقد حان الوقت لكم أن تعودوا إلى أوطانكم....ودولة إسرائيل ملتزمة بمساعدة من يرغب في العودة طوعاً في المستقبل القريب." وتقرر تسليم كل عائد طوعي مبلغ 1000 يورو، أما بالنسبة لمن لا يغادر إسرائيل طوعاً مع حلول 31/3/2012 فسوف يكون مصيره الاعتقال والترحيل. [ii] وأُعلن أيضاً أنَّ أصحاب العمل الإسرائيليين الموظِّفين للسودانيين الجنوبيين سوف يتعرضون للعقوبة. ونتيجة لذلك، سُرِّح كثير من السودانيين الجنوبيين من أعمالهم مباشرة ما ترك جميع أفراد الجاليات السودانية الجنوبية تقريباً في إيلات وعِراد من غير وظيفة وزاد من عجزهم عن دفع أجور السكن وفواتير استخدام المنافع.

وتُرك السودانيون الجنوبيون بثلاثة خيارات. الأول أن يتقدموا بطلب للجوء دون أن يكون هناك فرصة بمعالجة طلباتهم، والخيار الثاني أن يسجلوا أسماءهم "للعودة الطوعية". أما الخيار الثالث فهو الاحتجاز. وبالنسبة للأشخاص المحتجزين حالياً فأمامهم خياران: التسجيل للعودة الطوعية أو البقاء في الحجز. وهذا يعني أنَّ أياً من "الخيارين" يخالف مفهوم العودة الطوعية. إضافة إلى ذلك، فقدَ جميع السودانيون الجنوبيون صفتهم في إسرائيل، كما فقدوا وظائفهم وأصبحوا عاجزين عن إيجاد عمل بديل. وهكذا، دفع غموض الاحتجاز والخوف منه كثيراً منهم للتسجيل "للعودة الطوعية".

الاعتقال والاحتجاز

بعد مرور يومين بالضبط من 7/6/2012 عندما صدر الإعلان للسودانيين الجنوبيين بمنحهم مهلة أسبوع واحد للتسجيل للعودة الطوعية، اعتقلت شرطة الهجرة في إيلات أحد عشر سودانياً جنوبياً ومواطناً من السودان الشمالي أثناء توجههم للعمل. وفي اليوم التالي، اعتُقِل 105 سودانيين جنوبيين معظمهم في إيلات. وفي اليوم الثالث، اعتقلت الشرطة 73 أفريقياً من طالبي اللجوء من غير السودانيين الجنوبيين في تل أبيب وإيلات ومدن أخرى. وفي الأيام الثلاثة التالية، اعتُقِل كثير من السودانيين الجنوبيين واحتُجِزوا.

ونتيجة ذلك، تفككت العائلات باحتجاز النساء والأطفال في سهارونيم وكتزيوت، والرجال في غيفون وهو معتقل في غاية الخطورة يتضمن قسماً خاصاً لطالبي اللجوء. ولم يتضح ما إذا كان أفراد الأسرة الواحدة سيُرحَّلون على الرحلة ذاتها أم لا. بل إنَّ والدتين اشتكيتا من انتزاع السلطات لابنيهما القاصرين وعزلا عن بقية أفراد أسرتيهما. وحتى الذين سجلوا أسماءهم للعودة الطوعية قبل احتجازهم فلم ينجوا من الاعتقال: ففي حين كانت عناصر سلطة السكان والهجرة والحدود تصطحب بعضهم إلى بيوتهم لحزم متعلقاتهم وحوائجهم، لم تكن تمنح ذلك الوقت لغيرهم. وفور وقوع الشخص رهن الاحتجاز، لن يتمكن من سحب المال من حساباته المصرفية أو إغلاقها بل سيعجز عن تحصيل رواتبه النهائية وتعويضاته من المكان الذي عمل فيه لسنوات عدة.

لقد كان الترحيل "الطوعي" للسودانيين الجنوبيين جزءاً من سياسة أوسع نطاقاً تهدف إلى الردع والطرد في آن واحد. ففي أغسطس/آب 2012، بعد شهر من مغادرة الطائرة السابعة إسرائيل وعلى متنها السودانيون الجنوبيون، صرَّح وزير الداخلية إيلي ييشاي أنَّ إسرائيل ابتداءً بـ 15/10/2012 سوف تطبق نظام الاحتجاز الجماعي للسودانيين الجنوبيين.

في الأشهر التي تلت الترحيلات، أفادت تقارير نقلاً عن العائدين إلى جنوب السودان عن مزاعم بأنَّ عدداً من الأشخاص توفوا بعد عودتهم إلى جنوب السودان، في حين زعم آخرون أنَّهم احتُجزوا بعد عودتهم وصودرت منهم متعلقاتهم. ومع أنَّ تأكيد تلك التقارير أمر صعب، فإنَّ إصرارهم وتكرار مزاعمهم يشيران إلى ضرورة إجراء مزيد من التحقيق حول وضع العائدين. أما في إسرائيل، فقد لقيت السياسات الإسرائيلية "للعودة الطوعية" في النص فالأول من عام 2013 انتقاداً متزايداً. وفي فبراير/شباط 2013، طالبت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين بتفسيرات من دولة إسرائيل حول سياسة الترحيل التي انتهجتها خلافاً لمبدأ منع الإعادة القسرية. وجاء رد الحكومة على صورة "إجراء للعودة التطوعية للإريتيريين" الذي بموجبه أعيد 14 أريتيرياً إلى إريتيريا بعد أن سجلوا أسماءهم –تحت الضغط- "للعودة الطوعية" من الاحتجاز. إذن، لا يمكن اعتبار العودة الطوعية على أنَّها طوعية فعلاً إذا ما جرت في مكان الاحتجاز وإذا كان طالب اللجوء يفتقر إلى حق الوصول إلى سياسة عادلة للجوء، ولا ينبغي تطبيق تلك السياسة على وجه الخصوص في حالة بلدان، مثل: أريتيريا والسودان حيث يواجه العائدون خطراً حقيقياً بالتعرض للاضطهاد أو دون الاستقصاء عما إذا كان الوضع في جنوب السودان المستقلة حديثاً يوفّر لهؤلاء الناس ملاذاً آمناً. فالوضع السياسي الحالي يشير إلى أنَّ المصلحة المحلية هي التي تقود أجندة صنع السياسات المتعلقة بطالبي اللجوء بدلاً من أن يقودها الامتثال إلى المعايير الدولية.

 

لوري لايندرس laurielijnders@gmail.com متخصصة في علم الإنسان وناشط حقوقية. [iii]

 



[i] تقدر المنظمات غير الحكومية والجهات الحكومية عدد السودانيين الجنوبيين ما بين 700 و3000 شخص. أما ممثلو جالية السودانيين الجنوبيين فيقدرون الرقم بحوالي 1100.

[ii] أودعت كثير من الاستئنافات لكنَّ المحكمة في نهاية المطاف أصدرت أحكامها في 7/6/2012 لمصلحة السياسة وعلى ضوء ذلك مُنح السودانيون الجنوبيون أسبوعاً واحداً للتسجيل للعودة الطوعية.

 [iii]ُ بني هذا البحث على عمل أجراه مركز إنماء اللاجئين الأفارقة www.ardc-israel.org ومنظمة الخط الساخن للعمال المهاجرين www.hotline.org.il في تل أبيب بالإضافة إلى مقابلات مع مواطنين من جنوب السودان والمحامين ونشطاء حقوقيين في إسرائيل وعائدين إلى جنوب السودان. التقرير بالكامل موجود على الرابط التالي: www.ardc-israel.org/sites/default/files/do_not_send_us.pdf بتمويل من الاتحاد الأوروبي والسفارة الهولندية في إسرائيل. أجري البحث بمساهمات من يائيل أبيردام وسيغال روزين وأساف فايتسن وهادا سيارون-ميسغينا وبمساعدة من ماري كيناست وأنا ماسليانسكايا وبين ولسون ودافيد جاكوبس.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Deportation of South Sudanese from Israel

Israel’s aggressive campaign of arrest and deportation of South Sudanese asylum seekers contravenes the principle of non-refoulement and international standards for voluntary, dignified return.

On 17 June 2012, a plane carrying over 120 South Sudan nationals left Tel Aviv for Juba, the capital city of the new state of South Sudan. This was the first flight in what the Israeli government called ‘Operation Returning Home’. In the months that followed, a further six flights would airlift a total of 1,038 South Sudanese to Juba.[1]

Israel regards Sudan as a hostile state. Upon arrival in Israel, all Sudanese nationals, including those from Southern Sudan, were termed hostile nationals until the time when South Sudan became an independent state. However, until June 2012, individuals from any part of Sudan were covered by the policy of ‘non-removal’, allowing them to reside temporarily in Israel. Their residence was legal but their individual claims for asylum were not examined in accordance with the 1951 Convention to which Israel is a signatory. Hence, although many Southern Sudanese coming to Israel held a UNHCR refugee registration card issued in Egypt, Israel did not recognise them as refugees, and their need for protection under the Convention was never officially acknowledged.

On 31 January 2012, the Population, Immigration and Border Authority published ‘A Call for the People of South Sudan’ stating that “[N]ow that South Sudan has become an independent state, it is time for you to return to your homeland. … the State of Israel is committed to helping those who wish to return voluntarily in the near future.” Voluntary returnees would each receive a lump sum of 1,000 Euros while those who did not leave Israel voluntarily by 31 March 2012 would be arrested and deported.[2] It was also announced that Israeli employers of South Sudanese could be penalised; this resulted in immediate dismissal for many, leaving South Sudanese communities in Eilat and Arad almost entirely without employment and increasingly unable to pay rent and utility bills.

South Sudanese nationals were left with three choices. They could apply for asylum but with no real prospect of having their applications processed; they could register for ‘voluntary return’; or they could face detention. Those already in detention could either sign up for ‘voluntary return’ or remain in detention. Each ‘choice’ defied the notion of voluntary return. South Sudanese nationals lost their status in Israel; they also lost their jobs and were unable to find alternative employment. Uncertainty and the fear of detention pushed many to sign up for ‘voluntary return’.

Arrest and detention

Only two days after the announcement on 7 June 2012 that South Sudanese nationals had one week to register for voluntary return, immigration police in the Eilat area arrested eleven South Sudanese and a national of North Sudan on their way to work. The next day, 105 South Sudanese, the majority living in Eilat, were arrested. On the third day PIBA arrested 73 African asylum seekers – not all South Sudanese – in Tel Aviv, Eilat and other cities. In the three weeks that followed, numerous South Sudanese were arrested and detained.

Families were split up, with women and children detained at Saharonim and Ketsiot and men at Givon, a high-risk prison centre with a detention section for asylum seekers. It was not clear if family members would be put on the same flight out of the country. Two mothers complained that their sons, both minors, had been taken away and were being held separately from their families. Even those who had registered for voluntary return before being detained were not spared arrest: some were escorted home by PIBA officials long enough to pack their belongings but most were given no time to collect personal property. Once in detention, they were unable to withdraw money from their bank accounts or close them, and were unable to collect final salaries and benefits from places of employment where some had worked for years.

The ‘voluntary’ deportation of South Sudanese nationals was part of a wider policy of deterrence and expulsion. In August 2012, one month after the seventh plane had airlifted South Sudanese nationals from Israel, Interior Minister Eli Yishai stated that from 15 October 2012 mass detention of North Sudanese nationals in Israel would also take place.

In the months after the deportations, there were reports from returnees to South Sudan alleging that a number of people died shortly after their return to South Sudan; Sudanese returnees were alleged to have been detained upon return and their belongings confiscated. It is difficult to confirm such reports but their persistence and frequency suggest a need for further investigation of the situation for returnees. In the first half of 2013, Israel’s policies of ‘voluntary return’ and detention have met with growing criticism. In February 2013, UNHCR demanded an explanation from the State of Israel for the policy of deportation in breaching of the principle of non-refoulement. The government’s response came in the form of a new ‘Voluntary Returns Procedure’ for Eritreans under which, in July 2013, fourteen Eritreans were returned to Eritrea after they had signed up – under pressure – for ‘voluntary return’ from detention. Voluntary return cannot be considered voluntary if it takes place from detention and when lacking access to a fair asylum policy, and especially should not be applied in the case of countries like Eritrea and Sudan where returnees face a serious risk of persecution, or without inquiring as to whether the situation in the newly independent country of South Sudan allows for a safe return. The current political atmosphere suggests that domestic interest is driving the policy-making agenda with regard to asylum seekers, rather than compliance with international norms.

 

Laurie Lijnders laurielijnders@gmail.com is an anthropologist and refugee rights activist.

This research[3] is based on work by the African Refugee Development Center www.ardc-israel.org and the Hotline for Migrant Workers www.hotline.org.il in Tel Aviv, plus interviews with nationals of South Sudan, lawyers and human rights activists in Israel, and returnees to South Sudan. The full report is online at www.ardc-israel.org/sites/default/files/do_not_send_us.pdf

 

[1] NGOs and governmental bodies estimated the number of South Sudanese to be between 700 and 3,000.  Representatives of the South Sudanese community put the number at around 1,100.

[2] Various appeals were lodged but eventually on 7 June 2012 the Court ruled in favour of the policy and South Sudanese were given one week to register for voluntary return.

[3] Funded by the EU and the Netherlands Embassy in Israel. Research carried out with contributions by Yael Aberdam, Sigal Rozen, Asaf Weitzen and Hadas Yaron-Mesgena and with the assistance of Marie Kienast, Anna Maslyanskaya, Ben Wilson and David Jacobus.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview