لا تغيير: مراكز احتجاز الأجانب في أسبانيا

مسودة قوانين إدارة مراكز احتجاز الأجانب في أسبانيا مخيبة إلى أبعد مدى لآمال المطالبين بضمانات أفضل لحقوق المحتجزين ومحبطة لمطالبهم.

تمتلك أسبانيا عدداً من مراكز الاحتجاز الإدارية المخصصة لغرض احتجاز المهاجرين والواقع معظمها على ساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط بينما يقع أحدها في مدريد العاصمة. وتتولى الشرطة إدارة مراكز احتجاز الأجانب تلك.

وفي يناير/كانون الثاني 2012، عندما بدأت الحكومة أخيراً في صياغة مسودة القوانين المنظمة لإدارة تلك المراكز، أمل النشطاء أن تشتمل تلك العملية على مراجعة كاملة وأن تكون فرصة للسير قدماً على طريق تفعيل نموذج البدائل الذي يراعي أكثر الاحتياجات الأساسية للمحتجزين ويضمن حقوقهم. إلا أن المسودة الحالية لتلك القوانين لم تستفد من أي من الاقتراحات التي قُدمت في السنوات السابقة من مصادر مختلفة باستثناء الاستجابة لمقترح تسمية المحتجزين بأسمائهم بدلاً من الأرقام. فقد كانت الأرقام في بعض الحالات أكثر تعقيداً من الممارسات الحالية. وإضافة إلى ما سبق، مثّلت مسودة تلك القوانين فرصة مثالية - ضاعت هدراً - للحوار الاجتماعي والسياسي بين الهيئات السياسية والاجتماعية والنقابية والتجارية بشأن مدى ضرورة تأسيس مراكز احتجاز الأجانب وملائمة مثل تلك المؤسسات.

يُلقي تقييم مسودة القوانين الذي أجرته مجموعة مكونة من نحو 20 منظمة وشبكة أسبانية[i] الضوء على مجموعة كبيرة من المخاوف.

إدارة الشرطة: في عام 2012، أعربت وزارة الداخلية عن رغبتها في تعديل آليات إدارة مراكز احتجاز الأجانب من خلال قصر دور الشرطة على حماية تلك المراكز بدلاً من توليها الإدارة الكاملة مثلما هو الحال الآن. ولكنَّ مسودة القوانين تنص على أن وزارة الداخلية ستحتفظ بسيطرتها الحصرية على مراكز احتجاز الأجانب و على ضرورة أن يكون آمر الاحتجاز بتلك المراكز ضابط شرطة.

غياب المعلومات: يجهل معظم المحتجزين سبب التحفظ عليهم في مراكز احتجاز الأجانب. وأمر طبيعي أن يُولد الشك ونقص المعلومات حالة من القلق والاستضعاف وغياب الثقة. فمسودة القوانين تتجاهل احتياجات المحتجزين:

  • للمعلومات بشأن وضعهم القانوني: على السلطات إجراء مقابلة مع كل محتجز يدخل مراكز احتجاز الأجانب بلغة يفهمها لإطلاعه على وضعه القانوني، وعليها أيضاً إعلامه بأحدث الأحكام الإدارية والقانونية المؤثرة عليه.
  • للتحذير المسبق بتاريخ الترحيل وزمنه وبوجهتهم وحتى بمعلومات رحلة الطيران: يعيش المحتجزون في حالة من القلق الشديد لإدراكهم احتمالية طردهم خارج البلاد في أي وقت ليلاً أو نهاراً دون تحذيرهم مسبقاً. ولكنَّ التنبيه المسبق يتيح لهم، على سبيل المثال، إعلام أفراد عائلاتهم في أوطانهم الأصلية ليستقبلوهم في المطار أو توديع أصدقائهم وعائلاتهم في أسبانيا أو إعلام الممثل القانوني الخاص بهم لضمان استنفاد جميع احتمالات الدفاع القانوني عنهم.[ii]
  • للحصول على سجلاتهم أو إمكانية طلب نسخ من منها: تحتفظ مراكز احتجاز الأجانب بسجل لكل فرد داخلها ولكنَّ تلك السجلات متاحة فقط للمحامين.

القيود على وسائل الاتصال: تُجيز مسودة القوانين للمحتجزين استخدام الهاتف العمومي فقط الذي يعمل بالعملة للتواصل. ويُثير الحظر المطلق على استخدام الهواتف المحمولة في مراكز احتجاز الأجانب احتجاجات مستمرة من قبل المحتجزين لأسباب عدة. فكثير من المحتجزين يحتفظون بأرقام الهواتف على ذاكرة هواتفهم المحمولة ولا يحفظونها غيباً، وتُقيد مراكز احتجاز الأجانب أيضاً المكالمات الهاتفية بمدة محددة لا تُتيح تجاوزها، ويصعب كثيراً على أفراد العائلة والأصدقاء والمحامين الاتصال بمحتجز ما في مراكز احتجاز الأجانب والتحدث إليه لأن تلك المراكز تقصر استخدام الهواتف على الحالات الطارئة فقط. ولذا، فاستخدام الهواتف المحمولة، حتى وإن كان مُقيداً بوقت مخصص وتحت ظروف معينة، قد يكون وسيلتهم الوحيدة للتواصل مع العالم الخارجي وعلى المسؤولين السماح باستخدامه. وما يزيد الطين بلة عجز المحتجزين عن استقبال الفاكسات والوثائق المصورة وإرسالها. وهم يمنعون أيضاً من استخدام البريد الإلكتروني أو شبكة الإنترنت. وذلك من شأنه إعاقتهم عن التواصل مع محاميهم ومع العالم الخارجي وعن السعي وراء المعلومات أو إدارة الأعمال التجارية الضرورية.

القيود على الزيارات: تمتلك حالياً مراكز احتجاز الأجانب جدولاً يومياً بالزيارات. إلا أن مسودة القوانين تفرض قيوداً على الزيارات وتحصرها في يومين فقط بالأسبوع (ما عدا للآباء والأطفال). ولا يوجد سبب واضح لتلك الخطوة الرجعية.

فرض قيود على فرص تسجيل الشكاوى: يُسمح للمحتجزين حالياً في مراكز احتجاز الأجانب بالتقدم بشكاوى لمحاكم الإشراف على مراكز احتجاز الأجانب. ولكنَّ مسودة القوانين تنص على ضرورة تقديم جميع العرائض والشكاوى إلى آمر الاحتجاز الذي سيتولى دراستهم قبل إحالتهم - إذا رأى ضرورة لذلك - إلى الإدارة المختصة. وبالنظر إلى كثرة الشكاوى التي يُقدمها المحتجزون بشأن ظروف الاعتداءات عليهم والإبلاغ عنها وتكرارها، على المسؤولين السماح للمحتجزين بإرسالها مباشرة إلى المحكمة دون الحاجة لإطلاع آمر مركز احتجاز الأجانب بنفسه عليها مسبقاً.

الانضباط والأمن: قد تتسبب مسودة القوانين في: احتمالية فرض قيود على الزيارات أو إلغاءها تماماً، وحظر دخول السلع للمحتجزين، وتفتيش مهاجع المحتجزين وممتلكاتهم الشخصية، وإجراء التفتيش الذاتي للزوار وللمحتجزين (حتى أن المحتجزين قد يجردون من ملابسهم لتفتيشهم). ولا مسوغات لفرض مثل تلك القيود ولا للإجراءات المتبعة ما يترك المجال لاحتمالية التطبيق على نحو تقديري ومسيء. وتنص القوانين أيضاً، على نحو مبهم، على جواز استخدام الحبس الانفرادي "لمدة من الزمن تحت الضرورة القصوى". وقد تجاهلت وزارة الداخلية الحكم الذي أصدرته محاكم الإشراف في مدريد الذي حدد مدة استخدام هذا الإجراء بما لا يتجاوز 24 ساعة على أقصى تقدير. وتوصي القوانين باستخدام كاميرات مراقبة في مراكز احتجاز الأجانب متى أمكن ذلك وليس من باب إلزام السلطات بذلك، ولكنَّ استخدام تلك الآلية قد يكون عنصراً رئيسياً في مراقبة الإساءات المحتمل تعرض اللاجئين لها وفي تقصي مدى صحة الشكاوى المُقدمة.

غياب الرعاية الخاصة للفئات المستضعفة: لا تُشير القوانين مطلقاً إلى ظروف الاحتجاز والرعاية المقدمة للفئات المستضعفة. ولم يرد بها أي آليات للتعرف على اللاجئين أو ضحايا الاتجار بالبشر أو عديمي الجنسية أو الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين ولحمايتهم، فضلاً عن أنها لا تقترح أي إجراءات لمنع الإعادة القسرية. وسيظل توفير الرعاية الطبية في مراكز احتجاز الأجانب معتمداً على وزارة الداخلية وعلى العقود مع الشركات الخاصة بدلاً من السماح لخدمة الصحة العامة في أسبانيا بالتفتيش على مدى توافر الرعاية الطبية وتحديد ذلك. ولم تأت تلك القوانين أيضاً على ذكر عواقب احتجاز الذين يعولون أطفالاً.

فرض القيود على التواصل مع المنظمات الخارجية: تغطي مسودة القوانين احتمالية تواصل المنظمات والهيئات المتعاقد معها على تقديم خدمات مع المحتجزين في مراكز احتجاز الأجانب ولكنَّ بعض مراكز احتجاز الأجانب تضع شروطاً أكثر تقييداً من تلك الشروط التي جاءت بها المسودة، مثل:

  • "يُسمح" للمنظمات غير الحكومية بزيارة مراكز الاحتجاز وفقاً لمسودة القوانين، إلا أن المسودة لم توضح المعايير الحاكمة لذلك ما يدل على أن هذا الأمر يعتمد على قرار آمر الاحتجاز.
  • يُسمح للمنظمات غير الحكومية "بإجراء مقابلات مع المحتجزين الذين طلبوا ذلك، والعكس صحيح، فلا يُسمح للمنظمات غير الحكومية بمقابلة أي محتجز لم يتقدم بطلب مسبق بذلك.
  • يُقدم طلب لآمر الاحتجاز بغرض الحصول على إذن مسبق لكل زيارة يتضمن تفاصيل الزيارة وغرضها. وعلى المنظمات غير الحكومية التي تزور مراكز احتجاز الأجانب بانتظام السعي للحصول على إذن عام بالزيارات لتوفير الوقت والجهد.

ونظراً لجميع الأسباب الواردة أعلاه، يجب إجراء مراجعة شاملة لمسودة قوانين مراكز احتجاز الأجانب في أسبانيا قبل التصديق عليها المتوقع بحلول نهاية عام 2013.

كريستينا مانزانيدو cmanzanedo@pueblosunidos.org محامية في بويبلوس يوندوس - منظمة خدمات اللاجئين اليسوعية، مدريد، أسبانيا www.pueblosunidos.org

 


[i] أجري هذا التقييم على نحو مشترك بين أعضاء حملة "ليست أعتاب مراكز احتجاز الأجانب نهاية القانون"

 (Que el derecho no se detenga a la puerta de los CIE)

 التي تضم نحو 20 منظمة وشبكة في أسبانيا.

 http://tinyurl.com/a-la-puerta-de-los-CIE

[ii] طالبت محاكم الإشراف على مراكز احتجاز الأجانب في مدريد ولاس بالماس منح المحتجزين تحذير خطي قبل ما لا يقل عن 12 ساعة من الترحيل في مدريد وما لا يقل عن 24 ساعة في لاس بالماس. وهذا أمر جيد ينبغي تعميمه على جميع مراكز احتجاز الأجانب بوصفه جزءاً من القوانين المنظمة.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

No change: foreigner internment centres in Spain

Draft regulations for the running of Spain’s Foreigner Internment Centres fall far short of the hopes and demands of those campaigning for better guarantees of the rights of detainees.

Spain has a number of specially designated administrative detention centres for immigration detention; most are along its Mediterranean coastline, with one in Madrid, the capital. These Foreigner Internment Centres (Centros de Internamiento de Extranjeros – CIE) are operated by the police.

In January 2012, when the government finally began drafting regulations to govern the operation of these centres, campaigners hoped that this would involve a full review and would be an opportunity to move towards an alternative model giving more consideration to the basic needs of detainees and guaranteeing their rights. However, the current draft regulations do not pick up on any of the proposals put forward in previous years from various sources – except for the designation of detainees by names instead of by numbers. In some cases, they are even more restrictive than current practice. Furthermore, the drafting of the regulations offered an ideal opportunity for social and political debate between entities in the political, social, union and business spheres on the need for CIEs and the fitness of these institutions – an opportunity which was not taken up.

An evaluation of the draft regulations undertaken by a group of nearly 20 Spanish organisations and networks[1] highlights a wide range of concerns.

Police management: In 2012, the Ministry of the Interior expressed its wish to modify the management of CIEs so that the police would only be responsible for security in the centres rather than the entire operation, as is currently the case. However, according to the draft regulation, the Ministry of the Interior will retain exclusive competence over the CIEs and each centre will continue to operate under a Director who is a police officer.

Lack of information: Most detainees do not understand why they are in a CIE. The resulting uncertainty and lack of information generate anxiety, vulnerability and distrust. The draft regulations ignore detainees’ need for:

  • information on their legal situation: When they enter a CIE, each detainee should be interviewed in a language that they understand, to have their situation explained to them; they must also be kept informed of the latest administrative and legal rulings affecting them.

 

  • prior warning of the date and time of expulsion and the location of their destination, including flight information: Detainees live in a state of great anxiety, knowing that they could be expelled at any time of the day or night without prior warning. Advance notification would allow them to, for example, inform family members in their country of origin in order to be met at the airport, say goodbye to friends and family in Spain or inform their legal representative in order to ensure that all possibilities of legal defence have been explored.[2]

 

  • access to records or possibility to request copies of their records: A record is kept on each individual in the CIE but these are only available to lawyers.

 

Restrictions on communications: The draft regulations only allow for telephone communication by payphones. The total ban on the use of mobile telephones in CIEs raises constant complaints from detainees for various reasons. Many detainees have contact telephone numbers in their mobile phones that they do not keep in their heads; CIEs place limits on the length of telephone calls; and for family members, friends and lawyers, it is very difficult to call a CIE detainee and speak with them as the telephones are in high demand. The use of a mobile phone, even if only within certain timeslots and under certain conditions, may be their only form of communication with the outside world, and should be allowed. Moreover, detainees are unable to receive and send faxes, or photocopy documents. They have no access to email or the internet. This hinders communication with their lawyers and with the outside world, and from seeking information or carrying out necessary business.

Restrictions on visits: The CIEs currently have a daily timetable for visits. However, the draft regulations restrict visits to two days per week (except for partners and children). There is no reason given for this retrograde step.

Reduced opportunities to register complaints: Individuals detained in a CIE can currently present complaints to the CIE Supervisory Court. However, the draft regulations state that all petitions and complaints must be submitted to the Director, who will examine them before referring them, if he/she considers it necessary, to the appropriate department. Given the many and repeated complaints by detainees on conditions and reports of attacks, it is essential that detainees be given the opportunity to write directly to the court without having to go through the Director of the CIE itself.

Control and security: The draft regulations provide for: the possibility of restricting or cancelling visits; prohibiting the entry of items for detainees; inspection of dormitories and personal property of detainees; and personal searches of visitors and detainees (including, for the latter, the possibility of being strip-searched). There is no clarification of the justification for such restrictions, nor of the procedures to be followed, leaving it open to discretionary and abusive implementation. The regulations also state – ambiguously – that isolation cells may be used “for the period of time which is strictly necessary”. The Ministry of the Interior has ignored the ruling by the Supervision Courts of Madrid that limits use of this measure to a maximum of 24 hours. The regulations suggest camera coverage within CIEs as a possibility, not as an obligation; however, this equipment can be a key element in controlling possible abuses and in complaints investigations.

Lack of specific care for vulnerable populations: The regulation makes no reference at all to the conditions of internment and care for specific vulnerable populations. They cite no mechanism for the identification and protection of refugees, victims of trafficking, stateless individuals or minors, nor do they provide a procedure to prevent refoulement. Provision of medical care within the CIEs will continue to depend on the Ministry of the Interior and contracts with private companies, instead of allowing Spain’s public health service to inspect and determine the medical care on offer. There is also no mention of the consequences of interning people responsible for children.

Restrictions on access by external organisations: The draft Regulations do cover the possibility of access to CIEs by organisations in addition to those contracted to provide services but, in some CIEs, on more restrictive terms than those currently in place:

  • NGOs “could be authorised” to make visits, say the draft regulations but without explanation of the criteria governing that authorisation, which leads to the assumption that it will be at the discretion of the Director.

 

  • Authorisation will be granted “for interviews with those detainees who request this”; in other words, NGOs will be unable to visit anyone who has not made a prior request.

 

  • The Director must be asked for prior authorisation for each visit and details of the purpose of the visit must be provided. For NGOs that make regular visits to a CIE, a procedure of general accreditation for visits would make more sense.

 

For the reasons discussed above, the draft regulations for CIEs in Spain must be subjected to thorough revision prior to the approval currently expected by the end of 2013.

 

Cristina Manzanedo cmanzanedo@pueblosunidos.org is a lawyer with Centro Pueblos Unidos (Servicio Jesuita a Migrantes), Madrid, Spain www.pueblosunidos.org



[1] This evaluation was undertaken jointly by members of the ‘Que el derecho no se detenga a la puerta de los CIE’ campaign, involving some 20 organisations and networks in Spain.

[2] The CIE Supervision Courts for Madrid and La Palmas have demanded a minimum of 12 hours’ written warning in Madrid and 24 hours in Las Palmas. This is a good practice that should be extended to all CIEs as part of the regulations.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview