نفور الدول من استخدام بدائل الاحتجاز

ما زالت الدول مستمرة في إظهار مقتها الملحوظ لتطبيق بدائل احتجاز المهاجرين. وقد يُعزى سبب ذلك إلى تجاهل تلك البدائل الوظيفة الانضباطية للاحتجاز التي تتبعها الدول في إجبار الناس على التعاون معها.

انتشرت كثير من التقارير في السنوات القليلة الماضية مؤكدة على ضرورة عدم استخدام خيار احتجاز المهاجرين إلّا كملاذ أخير. وأكدت التقارير أيضاً على المزايا التي تتمتع بها بدائل الاحتجاز للدول من ناحية احترام حقوق الإنسان الرئيسية ومن ناحية التكلفة المترتبة على ترحيل المهاجرين من البلاد. ومن هنا، يطرح السؤال نفسه: لماذا لا تبدي الدول من الاهتمام إلّا القليل في اتباع بدائل الاحتجاز رغم كل المزايا غير القابلة للجدل التي تتمتع بها تلك البدائل؟ وربما تتمثل الإجابة على هذا السؤال في أنَّ البدائل المقترحة تتجاهل الوظيفة الانضباطية لاحتجاز المهاجرين.

ومع أن العادة جرت على النظر إلى احتجاز المهاجرين على أنه طريقة لتسهيل ترحيل الأجانب الذين يقيمون في البلاد إقامة غير نظامية [i]، أود القول إنَّه من الضروري التمييز بين طريقتين مختلفتين تسعى من خلالهما الدول إلى تنفيذ ذلك الهدف. يتمثل الأول (والأكثر شيوعاً) في ما يمكن أن أسميه "الوظيفة الإدارية" لاحتجاز المهاجرين وهي الطريقة البحتة المتبعة في ضمان وجود الأفراد تحت التصرف عند الشروع في ترحيلهم. لكنَّنا نلحظ أنَّ أعداداً متزايدة من الدول أصبحت تعوِّل على طريق آخر من طرق استخدام احتجاز الهجرة؛ حيث تنظر إليها على أنَّها أداة قسرٍ مصممة لإجبار الناس على التعاون في سبيل ترحيلهم، وهذا ما أسميه "الوظيفة الانضباطية" للاحتجاز.

والتطور من الوظيفة الإدارية إلى الوظيفة الانضباطية واضح للعيان خاصة في حالة سويسرا. فالقانون السويسري المتعلق بالغرباء لعام 1986 يسمح "بالاحتجاز ما قبل الترحيل" لمدة أقصاها ثلاثون يوماً من اتخاذ القرار بالترحيل وعندما يحين وقت تنفيذ القرار، على افتراض أنَّ الفرد المحتجز سوف يسعى إلى تجنب ترحيله. ولكن شهد عام 1995 تغييراً على قانون الغرباء فأصبح يتيح مسوغات للاحتجاز القائم على رفض التعاون (كأن يرفض الفرد تأكيد هويته الشخصية أو الانصياع إلى أوامر الجلب دون إبداء أسباب مقنعة، الخ). ومنذ ذلك الحين، اصبح إصدار أمر بالاحتجاز ممكناً ليس بعد صدور القرار القطعي بالترحيل فحسب، بل حتى بعد صدور قرار من الدرجة الأولى غير قطعي وحتى لو كانت إجراءات اللجوء لم تنته بعد. ثم رفع القانون سقف مدة الاحتجاز إلى سنة واحدة ما يشير بوضوح إلى أنّ الاحتجاز لم يعد الهدف الوحيد منه منع الأفراد من الهرب عند اقتراب موعد ترحيلهم، بل أصبح يهدف إلى إجبار المواطنين الأجانب الذين لم يصدر بعد قرار بترحيلهم على التعاون تحت وطأة خطر زيادة مدة احتجازهم.

أشير إلى وظيفة الاحتجاز الانضباطية هذه صراحة في قانون الغرباء الجديد لعام 2005 الذي تضمن مادة جديدة عنوانها "الاحتجاز القسري". وكان الهدف من تلك المادة على وجه الخصوص مواجهة عدم تعاون الأفراد، فعندها يُصدر قرار بالاحتجاز على أساس أنَّ الترحيل ما كان من الممكن تطبيقه نتيجة سلوك الفرد. ومجدداً، مُدِّد الحد الأقصى للاحتجاز إلى 24 شهراً[ii] وبنى البرلمان السويسري مسوغات التمديد على افتراض أنَّ ذلك الإجراء سيكون فعالاً في إجبار الأفراد، حتى العنيدين منهم، على الامتثال لقرارات السلطات.

ظاهرة سويسرية فقط أم منحى عام في أوروبا؟

هناك كثير من العوامل التي تشير إلى أنَّ الوظيفة الانضباطية للاحتجاز ليست حكراً على سويسرا وحدها بل إنها منهج راسخ في أوروبا كاملة. وأول تلك العوامل أنَّ سويسرا دولة موقعة على الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان وعضو في منطقة الشنغن، وعليه ما كان لها أن تعبر بتلك الصراحة عن أي هدف لا ينسجم مع الإطار القانوني الأوروبي. وعدا عن ذلك، صدر كثير من الأحكام القضائية عن المحكمة الفدرالية السويسرية بأن يتوافق "الاحتجاز القسري" مع الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان، وهذا إن دل على شيء، دل على وجود اعتقاد راسخ في القضاء السويسري بأنَّ الوظيفة الانضباطية للاحتجاز لا تخالف القانون الأوروبي العام.

أما العامل الثاني فيتمثل في التفسير الفضفاض للمادة 5.1(و) الذي قدمته المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان نفسها. فالبند (و) من الفقرة (1) تنص على أنَّه لا يحق حرمان أي أحد كان من حريته إلّا في حالة احتجاز الشخص "الذي يخضع إلى إجراءات الترحيل أو التسفير". وقد استنتج عدد من المعلقين القانونيين من ذلك أنَّ استخدام احتجاز المهاجرين كان ينبغي أن يُقيَّد "بوظيفته الإدارية"[iii] لكنّ محكمة حقوق الإنسان الأوروبية أصدرت عام 1996 قرارها بخصوص قضية تشاهال ضد المملكة المتحدة لتحكم بأنَّ: "هذا النص (المادة 5.1(و)) لا يطلب بالضرورة الأخذ في الاعتبار إلى حد معقول مسألة احتجاز الشخص الذي يخضع إلى إجراء للترحيل، لأسباب من قبيل منعه من ارتكاب الجرائم أو الهرب...." [iv] وبهذا النص الصريح حول أنَّه لا ينبغي تقييد احتجاز المهاجرين بمنع الأفراد من الهرب، لكن دون التخطيط لأي طريق آخر يمكن استخدامه بها، فقد فتحت المحكمة المذكورة الباب على احتمال استخدام الاحتجاز لغايات انضباطية."

ويتمثل العامل الثالث في توجيه الاتحاد الأوروبي لعام 2008 بشأن العودة[v] الذي نجد فيه التأكيد الأكثر صراحة الخاص باستخدام المنهج الانضباطي للاحتجاز. فالمادة 15.1(ب) منه بالإضافة إلى المادة 15.5 تحظر الأمر بالاحتجاز في حالة كان الفرد المعني اعترض على عملية الترحيل خلال ستة أشهر. وكذلك تنص المادة 15.6(أ) على أنَّه في حالة عدم تعاون الشخص المعني، يجوز تمديد الاحتجاز إلى 12 شهراً إضافياً؛ أي بمعنى آخر، تؤكد أسس الاحتجاز ومدته القصوى بحسب نص توجيه العودة على استخدام الاحتجاز لأهداف انضباطية كما الحال في التشريع السويسري.

بالحوار لا بالقسر

إذا ما أقررنا بالبعد الانضباطي لاحتجاز المهاجرين، فقد نتساءل حول مدى شرعية الممارسات الإدارية المبنية على منطق تحكمه منظمة العدالة الجنائية. لكنَّ الوظيفة الانضباطية للاحتجاز تساعدنا حقاً على فهم أحد الأسباب الرئيسية وراء عدم اهتمام الحكومات بتطبيق بدائل الاحتجاز. فلا تهدف جميع بدائل احتجاز ما قبل الترحيل إلا لتقديم الضمان بشتى الوسائل بأن الشخص المعني سيكون حاضراً عند صدور قرار بترحيله. وتتراوح هذه التدابير من إطلاق السراح بالكفالة إلى استخدام الأساور الإلكترونية أو الإقامة الجبرية أو التوقيع في أوقات محددة منتظمة لدى السلطات المعنية. وهي أيضاً أقل تقييداً وأقل كلفة لضمان وجود الفرد عند حلول موعد ترحيله. لكنَّ مؤيدي المنهج الانضباطي يعتقدون أنَّ الطبيعة الانضباطية للاحتجاز ذاتها هي الأكثر أهمية في تنفيذ الترحيل الناجح. فمن وجهة نظرهم، كلما قل تقييدها ستكون التدابير الأكثر تحرراً أقل فعالية في تحقيق النتيجة النهائية المتوخاة. ومن هنا، يساعد انتشار المنهج الانضباطي للاحتجاز في تفسير عدم رغبة الدول في البحث عن بدائل للاحتجاز.

ليس الهدف من هذه المقالة أن نرفض بدائل الاحتجاز بل على العكس، نريد أن نسلط الضوء على المنهج الانضباطي ونثير التساؤلات حوله لأنه المنهج الذي تقوم عليه سياسة الدول في العودة. ولا يجب أن تقتصر مثل تلك التساؤلات على وجهة نظر امتثال المنهج الانضباطي مع القانون الدولي فحسب بل يجب أن تسلط الضوء أيضاً على مدى الأثر المفترض لإنفاذ قرارات الترحيل. وقد أثارت بالفعل كثير من الدراسات فعالية استخدام القيود بوصفها وسيلة لتشجيع الناس على الامتثال لأوامر السلطات. وخلافاً للافتراضات الحالية للحكومات التي يزداد تركيزها على القمع والتقييد، تشير الأدلة إلى أنَّ تنفيذ سياسة شفافة تلبي حاجة الأفراد للكرامة يجعلها قادرة على ضمان امتثال الأشخاص للقرارات التي تصدر بشأنهم.

ومن هنا، فتح باب الحوار بشأن الاحتجاز الإداري من الأمور المساعدة على تمكين الحكومات من بناء سياساتها ليس على افتراضات غير مسوَّغ لها ومشكوك بها أخلاقياً بل على أساس نتائج البحوث التجريبية. وانطلاقاً من وجهة النظر هذه، ينبغي أن يكون دور منظمات حقوق الإنسان تشكيل مجموعات ضغط لتأييد سياسة العودة للأشخاص المجبرين على مغادرة أراضي الدولة بدلاً من أن تكون تلك السياسة مبنية على القمع. وهذا كله لن  ينصب في النهاية في مصالح الأفراد فحسب بل سيكون من مصلحة الدول أيضاً إذا كانت ترغب في البحث عن حلول للمصاعب المرتبطة بتنفيذ قرارات الترحيل.

كليمن دي سيناركلينز clement.desenarclens@unine.ch طالبة في مستوى الدكتوراه في مركز قانون الهجرة القسرية في جامعة نوشاتيل (سويسرا) www2.unine.ch/ius-migration

 



[i]  هنا، أؤكد على  وجهة نظري إزاء مسألة الاحتجاز ما قبل الترحيل وقد أهملت مسألة الاحتجاز ما قبل الوصول وهو إجراء يُتخذ لمنع الغرباء من الوصول إلى البلاد بطرق غير مشروعة.

[ii] ستُخفض إلى 18 شهراً بعد إدماج التوجيه الأوروبي في القوانين المحلية (التوجيه 2008/115/EC).

[iii] على سبيل المثال، راجع نول ج، "طالبو لجوء مرفوضون: مشكلات العودة"

(Rejected Asylum Seekers: The Problems of Return’)

 بحث منشور في مجلة International Migration، العدد 37(1):281 ، 1999

http://tinyurl.com/IM-Noll-1999

[iv]  قضية تشاهال ضد المملكة المتحدة، 15/11/1996، الطلب رقم 70/1995/576/662، الفقرة 112

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

State reluctance to use alternatives to detention

States continue to show a marked reluctance to implement alternatives to immigration detention. The reason for this may well be because such alternatives ignore the disciplinary function of detention by which states coerce people into cooperation.

There has been a proliferation of reports in recent years emphasising the need to only use immigration detention as a last resort and highlighting the advantages that alternatives to detention represent for states, in terms of respecting people’s fundamental rights but also in terms of the cost of dealing with removals. Why then do states show so little interest in using alternatives to detention, in spite of the unquestionable advantages they appear to offer? The answer to this question may lie in the fact that the alternatives proposed ignore the disciplinary function of immigration detention.

Immigration detention is usually thought of as a way to facilitate the removal of irregularly staying foreign nationals.[1] I would argue, however, that it is necessary to distinguish between two different ways in which states try to fullfil this objective. The first – and the most generally recognised – is what I term the ‘administrative function’ of immigration detention: a means purely to guarantee that individuals are present when it comes to removing them. But states are more and more relying on a second way to use immigration detention where it is thought of as an instrument of coercion designed to force people to cooperate for the purpose of their own removal: what I term the ‘disciplinary function’ of detention.

This evolution from the administrative to a disciplinary function is particularly obvious in the case of Switzerland. Switzerland’s 1986 law on aliens allowed for pre-removal detention for a maximum period of 30 days, once a decision on removal had been made and was about to be implemented and there was a clear presumption that the individual would seek to avoid removal. However, in 1995, the law on aliens was changed to provide grounds for detention based on a lack of cooperation (refusal to confirm one’s identity, obey a summons without valid reasons, etc). From then on, it became possible to order detention not only after an enforceable decision on removal had come into effect but after a decision at first instance and despite the fact that the asylum procedure was still underway. The maximum period of detention was increased to a year. This clearly suggests that detention is no longer solely intended to prevent individuals from absconding when their removal was imminent but also to force foreign nationals, whose removal is not directly enforceable, to cooperate by the threat of a long period of detention.

This disciplinary function of detention was explicitly expressed in the new Aliens Act (Loi sur les étrangers) of 2005 which included a new article entitled ‘coercive detention’, aimed specifically at any failure to cooperate. Detention could then be ordered on the grounds that removal could not be enforced because of the individual’s behaviour – and the maximum period of detention was again extended, to 24 months[2]. The increased maximum period of detention was explicitly justified in parliament by its supposed effectiveness in forcing even the most recalcitrant individuals to submit to the rulings of the authorities.

A Swiss phenomenon or a European trend?

Several factors suggest that the disciplinary function of immigration detention is not just a phenomenon restricted to the case of Switzerland but is well established at a European level. The first is that as a signatory of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) and a member of the Schengen Area, Switzerland could not express in such explicit terms an objective that was incompatible with the European legal framework. Several judgements by the Swiss Federal Court stating the compatibility of ‘coercive detention’ with the ECHR appear to demonstrate the Court’s belief that the disciplinary function of immigration detention does not contradict European law.

The second factor is the broad interpretation of ECHR Article 5.1(f) by the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) itself. Sub-paragraph f) of paragraph 1 stipulates that no-one may be deprived of their liberty, except in the case of detention of a person “against whom action is being taken with a view to deportation or extradition.” Several legal commentators concluded from this that the use of immigration detention had to be restricted to its ‘administrative function’.[3] In 1996, however, in the case of Chahal vs GB, the ECtHR ruled that: “This provision [Article 5.1(f)] does not demand that the detention of a person against whom action is being taken with a view to deportation be reasonably considered necessary, for example to prevent his committing an offence or fleeing....”[4] By explicitly stating that immigration detention need not be restricted to preventing individuals from absconding, and without delimiting how else it could be used, the Court opened up the possibility of its use for disciplinary purposes.

Thirdly, it is in the 2008 EU Return Directive[5] that we find the most explicit confirmation of the use of a disciplinary approach to detention. Article 15.1(b), combined with Article 15.5, states that detention may be ordered in the case where the individual concerned obstructs the removal process for a period of six months. Article 15.6(a), moreover, states that in the event of a lack of cooperation by the person concerned, detention may be extended by a further 12 months. In other words, both the grounds for detention and the maximum period of detention provided for in the Return Directive corroborate the use of detention for disciplinary purposes, as in the case of Swiss legislation.

Dialogue, not coercion

If we recognise the disciplinary dimension of immigration detention, we might question the legitimacy of an administrative practice which has taken on a rationale usually restricted to the criminal justice system. However, the disciplinary function of detention does help us to understand one of the fundamental reasons for governments’ lack of interest in implementing alternatives to detention. All the alternatives to pre-removal detention aim only to guarantee – by various means – that the person concerned is present when the decision to remove them is enforced. These measures range from release on bail to the use of electronic tags, house arrest or an obligation to report to the authorities at regular intervals. These are less restrictive and also less expensive ways of guaranteeing the individual’s presence when due for removal. But proponents of the disciplinary approach believe that it is the disciplinary nature of detention which is most significant in bringing about a successful removal. In their view, the less restrictive, more liberal measures are less effective in bringing about the desired final result. The prevalence of the disciplinary approach in the use of detention therefore helps to explain states’ reluctance to opt for alternatives.

The aim of this article is not, however, to reject alternatives to detention but, on the contrary, to highlight and question the disciplinary approach on which states’ return policy now seems to rest. This approach should be questioned not only from the point of view of its compliance with international law, but also for its supposed effect on the enforcement of removal decisions. Numerous studies have questioned the effectiveness of the use of constraint as means of encouraging people to comply with the orders of the authorities. Contrary to governments’ current assumptions, which focus increasingly on repression and constraint, the evidence suggests that implementing a transparent policy that meets individuals’ need for dignity would seem most likely to ensure that people comply with the decisions made about them.

Starting an open debate on administrative detention would help enable governments to base their policies not on unfounded and morally questionable assumptions but rather on the results of empirical research. From this point of view, the role of human rights organisations would be to lobby for a return policy based on dialogue and support for people forced to leave the territory, rather than on simple repression. This would be in the interests not only of the individuals concerned but also of those states that wish to find a solution to the difficulties associated with enforcing removal.

 

Clément de Senarclens clement.desenarclens@unine.ch is a doctoral student at the Centre de droit des migrations, Université de Neuchâtel. www2.unine.ch/ius-migration



[1] I am confining myself here to the question of pre-removal detention and have ignored the question of pre-arrival detention, which aims to prevent aliens from arriving illegally.

[2] This would be reduced two years later to 18 months following the transposition of the Return Directive (Directive 2008/115/EC) into national law.

[3] For example, see Noll, G ‘Rejected Asylum Seekers: The Problems of Return’ International Migration, 37(1): 281. 1999. http://tinyurl.com/IM-Noll-1999

[4] Case of Chahal vs United Kingdom of 15 November 1996, Application no. 70/1995/576/662, paragraph 112.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview