مراكز الاحتجاز المغلقة في جمهورية التشيك: على أي أساس؟

على الرغم من الظروف الجيدة نسبياً في مراكز الاحتجاز المغلقة بجمهورية التشيك، ينبغي طرح تساؤلات جادة بشأن مبررات ذلك الاحتجاز.

يُنقل القادمون جواً إلى جمهورية التشيك الذين يطلبون اللجوء إلى "مركز للاستقبال" في مطار فاتسلاف هافيل في براغ. وعلى الرغم من حرمان المحتجزين من حريتهم ومن استنشاق الهواء النقي ومن استخدام شبكة الإنترنت وعدم السماح لهم سوى باستخدام هاتف عمومي يعمل بالعملة، لا يُعامل طالبو اللجوء في ذلك المركز كمجرمين بل أعرب المحتجزون عن أن الظروف في مركز الاستقبال جيدة إلى حد ما. ومع ذلك، ثمة بعض المشاكل الجلية في الممارسات الحالية التي تتبعها جمهورية التشيك لاحتجاز المتقدمين بطلبات الحماية الدولية.

أولاً، هناك عدم اهتمام ملحوظ بظروف القضايا الفردية. فينبغي منح الإذن بدخول أراضي الدولة إذا كان الشخص مقدم الطلب مستضعف. ويُعرّف قانون اللجوء التشيكي طالب اللجوء على أنه مستضعف إذا كان طفلاً غير مصحوب ببالغين، أو أحد الوالدين أو عائلة مصحوبة بأطفال أو بذوي إعاقات بالغين، أو شخصاً ذا إعاقة خطيرة، أو المرأة الحامل، أو شخصاً سبق تعرضه للتعذيب أو الاغتصاب أو خضع لأي شكل آخر من أشكال العنف العقلي أو الجسدي أو الجنسي. ومع ذلك، يُتخذ قرار السماح بدخول البلاد من عدمه في معظم القضايا تقريباً قبل أن تستمع وزارة الداخلية للأسباب التي دفعت المتقدمين بطلبات اللجوء لترك أوطانهم الأصلية، ولذلك يصعب الحكم على ما إذا كانوا، على سبيل المثال، قد تعرضوا للعنف الجسدي أو العقلي أم لا حيث تقتصر الإجراءات المعنية بتمييز المستضعفين على تحديد عمر مقدم الطلب، أي ما إذا كان طالب اللجوء قاصر أم بالغ. وبناءً عليه، يُحتجز جميع المتقدمين بطلبات اللجوء تقريباً في مركز استقبال مغلق بدلاً من منحهم الإذن بدخول البلاد.

ثانياً، في إطار تبرير رفض طلبات الدخول للبلاد (وكذلك إجازة الاحتجاز في مراكز مغلقة)، ثمة تطبيق موسع لأسس قانون اللجوء التشيكي التي تُسوّغ افتراض أن مقدم الطلب يُهدد "النظام العام". وفي هذا الصدد، لا توضح لغة القانون جلياً تفاصيل تلك الأسس وتترك مجالاً واسعاً لتفسيرات عدة. ومن المثير للاهتمام ملاحظة أن قرارات وزارة الداخلية القائمة على تلك الأسس تظهر ميلاً واضحاً للاعتقاد بأن المتقدمين بطلبات اللجوء يسيئون استخدام إجراءات تحديد وضع اللاجئين في محاولة منهم لدخول البلاد دون امتلاك وثائق أو تأشيرة دخول سليمة مما يُمثل تهديداً محتملاً على النظام العام. وعادة ما تستند المحاكم إلى ذلك التفسير مراراً وتكراراً.

ثالثاً، حتى عقب السماح للمتقدمين بطلبات اللجوء بدخول البلاد لمواصلة النظر في مطالبهم، يبقوا محتجزون في المراكز المغلقة. وينص قانون اللجوء التشيكي على أنه بمجرد منح المتقدم بطلب اللجوء الإذن بدخول البلاد، ينبغي نقله فوراً إلى مركز استقبال في الدولة، ولكن ينبغي أن يكون ذلك المركز مغلقاً أيضاً. والأساس القانوني لاستمرار حرمانهم من حريتهم غير واضح على الإطلاق. حيث تنص الفقرة 1 (و) من المادة 5 في الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان[1] على "شرعية إلقاء القبض على أي شخص أو احتجازه لمنعه من دخول أراضي الدولة على نحو غير مشروع". والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه بقوة الآن هو ما إذا كان استمرار فرض القيود على حق تمتع المرء بحريته عقب السماح له بدخول الدولة أمراً مشروعاً أم مسوغاً؟

التوصيات

  • يجب إجراء مقابلات مُفصّلة مع المتقدمين بطلبات اللجوء قبل اتخاذ قراراً بشأن قبول طلباتهم لدخول البلاد أو رفضها.
  • إذا مُنح مقدم طلب الحصول على الحماية الدولية الإذن بدخول أراضي الدولة، يجب نقله إلى معسكر مفتوح يُسمح له فيه بالمغادرة مدة تصل 24 ساعة.
  • في قضايا طلبات اللجوء المقدمة بموجب لائحة دبلن التي تحتاج المحكمة فيها إلى تحديد أي دولة من الدول الأعضاء مسؤولة عن الطلب، ينبغي نقل مقدم الطلب إلى معسكر مفتوح.
  • لا ينبغي الافتراض سلفاً بأن طالبي اللجوء يعزفون عن التعاون مع السلطات في عملية تحديد صفة اللجوء. ولا يجب أن يكون مركز الاستقبال في الدولة مركزاً مغلقاً.

 

بياتا ساكاتشوفا beata.szakacsova@opu.cz محامية تعمل في منظمةلمساعدة اللاجئين في جمهورية التشيك. www.opu.cz/en/

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Closed detention in the Czech Republic: on what grounds?

Despite relatively good conditions in the Czech Republic’s closed detention facilities, serious questions should be asked about the justification for detention.

People who arrive by air in the Czech Republic claiming asylum are transferred to a ‘reception centre’ at Prague’s Vaclav Havel Airport. Although they are deprived of their liberty, have limited access to fresh air and to the internet, and are only allowed to use a payphone, asylum seekers at the centre are not treated as criminals and detainees report that conditions in the reception centre are moderately good. However, there are some significant problems in the Czech Republic’s current practice of detaining applicants for international protection.

Firstly, there is a marked lack of attention paid to individual circumstances. Leave to enter the territory must be granted if the applicant is a vulnerable person. The Czech Asylum Act defines applicants as vulnerable if a person is an unaccompanied minor, a parent or a family with minors or with disabled adult members, a seriously disabled person, pregnant woman or a person who has been tortured, raped or subjected to any other forms of mental, physical or sexual violence. However, since the decision to allow entry or not is in almost all cases issued prior to the Ministry of Interior hearing applicants’ reasons for leaving their country of origin, it is hard to see how it could be judged whether or not, for example, they have suffered physical or mental violence; the measures to recognise vulnerable persons are limited to considering the age of the applicant – i.e. whether the asylum seeker is a minor or not. Nearly all applicants are therefore detained in the closed reception centre rather than admitted into the territory.

Secondly, in justifying refusal to enter (and therefore permitting detention in closed facilities) there is extensive application of the Czech Asylum Act’s grounds of a well-founded assumption that the applicant would threaten ‘public order’. The language of the law in this respect provides little clarity on the details, allowing for wide interpretation. It is interesting to note that the Ministry of Interior’s decisions based on these grounds reveal an apparent predisposition to believe that applicants are misusing the refugee status determination procedure in order to try to enter the territory without proper documents or visa and that this constitutes a potential threat to public order. This interpretation has been repeatedly backed up by the courts.

Thirdly, even after applicants have been admitted into the territory for further consideration of their claims, they are still detained in closed facilities. The Czech Asylum Act states that once granted leave to enter the territory, the applicant should be transferred to the reception centre on the territory – but this centre is also a closed facility. The legal basis for continued deprivation of their right to liberty is not at all clear. Article 5 para 1(f) of the European Convention on Human Rights[1] allows for “the lawful arrest or detention of a person to prevent his effecting an unauthorised entry into the country”. It is highly questionable, therefore, whether further limitation of the right to freedom after a person has been granted entry is allowable or justifiable.

Recommendations

  • In-depth personal interviews should be conducted with applicants before a decision about allowing or refusing access to the territory is made.
  • If the applicant for international protection is granted leave to enter the territory, the applicant should be transferred to an open camp where applicants are allowed to leave for up to 24 hours.
  • In cases of applications under the Dublin Regulation where the court needs to determine which member state is responsible for the application, the applicant should be transferred to an open camp.
  • It should not be assumed that asylum seekers are unwilling to cooperate with the authorities on the refugee status determination process. The reception centre on the territory should not be a closed facility.

 

Beata Szakacsova beata.szakacsova@opu.cz is a lawyer working at the Organization for Aid to Refugees in the Czech Republic. www.opu.cz/en/

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview