قصتي: الاحتجاز غير محدد الأجل في المملكة المتحدة

حين فررت من الحرب الأهلية وتوجهت إلى المملكة المتحدة، ظننت أني سأعيش بحرية، ولكن بدلاً من مساعدتي، احتجزتني المملكة المتحدة لثلاث سنوات.

في 19 من شهر سبتمبر/أيلول لعام 2001، كنت جالساً على متن طائرة مسافرة من أبيدجان إلى المملكة المتحدة. وقتها نظرت من النافذة، وشعرت بأني لن أشهد في المستقبل أسوأ من قتال جيش تشارلز تايلور على أرض الوطن في ليبيريا. واعتقدت أن الصور الذهنية للأفعال اللاإنسانية الجسدية والأخلاقية البشعة التي عشناها على يد الجيش ستتلاشى. وظننت أني بمأمن الآن من الاعتقال جراء معارضة تجاوزات حكومة تايلور. وتصورت أن ذكرى رؤيتي لاغتصاب خطيبتي وقتلها ستُمحى.

ولكني لم أعرف حينها أنه سيُلاحقني ظل أسود للأحداث التي مررت بها في ليبيريا. وقد أدركت الآن أن ذلك اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة واضطراب ثنائي القطب. فلو كنت أعرف بأني مصاب باضطراب ما بعد الصدمة، لسرت الأمور على نحو مختلف.

طلبت اللجوء في المملكة المتحدة. وقد أطلعت بالفعل هيئة الحدود البريطانية على ما تعرضت له من تعذيب وتجارب ممرت بها في ليبيريا، ولكني لم أحصل في المقابل على أي شيء ولم يساعدني أحد. ورُفض طلب اللجوء الذي قدمته ولكني مُنحت إذناً مؤقتاً بالبقاء. وعشت في المجتمع دون أدنى مساعدة. ونظراً لتدهور صحتي العقلية، عدت إلى عالم الخمر والمخدرات. وفقدت وظيفتي وارتكبت جرائم لأتزود بالمال وأُشبع إدماني بالمخدرات.

وفي عام 2006، اُحتجزت بموجب قانون الصحة العقلية. وبقيت ثلاثة أشهر في مصحة عقلية في سولفورد. ولم يهتم أحد بمعرفة سبب إصابتي بنوبات ذُهانية. وبعد إطلاق سراحي، لم أحظ بخطة للرعاية.

ثم اُعتقلت مجدداً وأُرسلت إلى سجن دورهام. وعقب انتهاء مدة عقوبتي في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول لعام 2008، اُحتجزت من قبل سلطات الهجرة في السجن بدلاً من مركز الاحتجاز لثلاثة شهور أخرى. ثم أُخذت بعد ذلك إلى مركز ترحيل المهاجرين في دونجافيل في اسكتلندا. وفي ذلك التوقيت، توفيت والدتي. كنت مشوش الذهن، ووقعت تحت ضغط كبير، ووقعت حينها على وثيقة تنازل عن الحق لأعود إلى الديار وزيارة قبر أمي. ثم نقلوني إلى مركز احتجاز آخر في أواكينجتون الذي كان أسوأ من سابقه؛ فلم يكن به مرافق لرعاية صحتي العقلية، ولذا أرسلوني إلى هارموندسورث.

وحتى بعد تشخيص حالتي أخيراً بأني أعاني من أمراض عقلية في عام 2010 وإثبات تعرضي للتعذيب في تقرير طبي مستقل والتصديق على طلب اللجوء في تقرير لخبير تابع للدولة، بقيت محتجزاً. وحتى الآن، كنت رهن الاحتجاز لما يناهز ثلاث سنوات. وبلغ بي اليأس أن حاولت الانتحار. فقد شعرت أن ذلك هو السبيل الوحيد للتخلص من آلامي وتعاستي.

الاحتجاز يعني "ممنوع الدخول". فالباب المغلق أمر طبيعي علينا التعايش معه. وفي الاحتجاز، نحن كقطيع الأغنام التي تطاردهم مجموعة ذئاب. فقد قال لي ضابط في يوم من الأيام: "إما أن تذهب إلى وطنك أو تموت هنا".

وقد أصدرت المحكمة أمر إطلاق سراحي في عام 2011، لأنه لا مبررات لدى وزارة الداخلية لإبقائي في الاحتجاز مدة أطول. وقد مُنحت الآن إذن بالبقاء في المملكة المتحدة لثلاث سنوات. وانسحبت وزارة الداخلية من جلسة الاستماع بشأن قضية احتجازي غير القانوني ووافقت على تعويضي عن ذلك.

لكل دولة الحق في السيطرة على حدودها. ولكن قانون حقوق الإنسان ينص على ضرورة عدم احتجاز أي شخص دون سبب شرعي أو لأسباب إدارية فقط. وثمة التزام أخلاقي بضرورة منح المحتجزين الحق في المحاكمة الحرة بحضور ممثل قانوني للتأكد تماماً من ضرورة احتجازه/احتجازها.

 

وليام، شكاوى الأصوات الحرة، إجراء الاحتجاز www.detentionaction.org.uk. ولمزيد من المعلومات، يُرجى الاتصال بـ jerome@detentionaction.org.uk

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

My story: indefinite detention in the UK

When I fled civil war to come to the UK, I thought that I would be free but instead of helping me, the UK detained me for three years.

On 19 September 2001, I was sitting on a plane from Abidjan to the UK. As I looked out the window, I thought that nothing worse than fighting against Charles Taylor’s army at home in Liberia could happen to me. I thought that the mental images from witnessing horrendous physically and morally degrading acts inflicted on others by the army would go away. I thought that I would now be safe from arrest for exposing wrong-doing by Taylor’s government. I thought that the memory of my fiancée being raped and killed would be dulled.

But I did not know then that a dark shadow from the events in Liberia had followed me. I now know it to be post-traumatic stress disorder and bipolar disorder. If only I had known that I had PTSD, things I went through would have been different.

I claimed asylum in the UK. I did tell the UK Border Agency about my torture and experiences in Liberia but nothing was given to me, no assistance. I was refused asylum but given temporary leave to remain. I was left in the community with no-one to help me. And as my mental health declined, I turned to a world of drink and drugs. I lost my job and committed crimes to support my drug habit.

In 2006 I was sectioned under the Mental Health Act. I stayed three months in a mental institution in Salford. No-one had time to go into the reason why I was enduring psychotic episodes. After I was released, I had no care plan initiated.

I was then arrested again and sent to Durham prison. After the completion of my sentence in October 2008, I was detained by immigration in the prison, rather than a detention centre, for an additional three months. I was then taken to the Dungavel Immigration Removal Centre in Scotland. At this time my mother died. I was confused, I was under so much pressure, so I just signed a disclaimer to go back, to see my mother’s grave. They moved me to another detention centre – Oakington – which was even worse; they didn’t have facilities for my mental health there either, so they sent me to Harmondsworth.

Even after I was finally diagnosed with mental health difficulties in 2010, proven to have gone through torture by an independent medical report, and my asylum claim was validated by a country expert report, I was still detained. By now I had been detained for almost three years. I gave up to the extent that I tried to commit suicide.  I thought that was the easiest way out of my pain and misery. 

Detention means no entry. The locked door is a normal thing that we have to endure. In detention, we are like a herd of sheep, being chased by a pack of wolves. One of the officers said to me “you either go to your country or you die in here.”

I was released by the courts in 2011, because the Home Office had no grounds to keep me in detention any longer. I have now been given three years’ leave to remain in the UK. The Home Office withdrew from the hearing on my unlawful detention case, and agreed to give me compensation.

Every country has a right to control its borders. But human rights law says that a person should only be detained when there is a legitimate reason, not just administrative convenience. There is a moral obligation to give the detainee the right to a free trial, with legal representation, to fully consider whether he or she must be detained.

 

William c/o Freed Voices, Detention Action www.detentionaction.org.uk  For more information please contact jerome@detentionaction.org.uk

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview