تحسين بيئات التَّعلُّم في حالات الطوارئ من خلال المشاركة المجتمعية

تنظر مجموعة أدوات تخص التعليم في حالات الطوارئ طوَّرتها منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) في إمكانية تحسين البيئات التَّعلُّميَّة من خلال المشاركة المجتمعية. وساهم إطلاق مجموعة الأدوات على أساس تجريبي في سوريا وأوغندا في تسليط الضوء على بعض نواحي التَّوتر والتناقضات التي تتضمنها عملية توفير التعليم في البيئات الإنسانية.

تستخدم مجموعة أدوات معاً لتحسين بيئات التَّعلم (ILET) التقييمات لتحسين بيئات التَّعلم[1] في السياقات الإنسانية من خلال مشاركة المجتمع المحلي. وتهدف إلى الاستجابة لضرورة زيادة وتحسين الأدلة المتعلقة بالممارسات الناجحة في التعليم في حالات الطوارئ. كما تضع إطار عمل التعلّم الجيد[2] الذي تعتمده منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) موضع التنفيذ من خلال تحويل الأسس الخمسة التي تحددها بوصفها أساساً لرفاه كل الأطفال وتعليمهم إلى أسئلة قابلة للقياس وكميّة وقابلة للتنفيذ. وتشتمل تلك الأسس على كل من الحماية العاطفية والنفسية-الاجتماعية والحماية المادية والتعليم والتعلّم وأولياء الأمور والمجتمع المحلي وقيادة المدرسة وإدارتها. وتُطرَحُ هذه الأسئلة على كلٍّ من الطلاب والمعلمين وأولياء الأمور لتحديد طرق تحسين بيئة التعلّم. وتتجلّى القيمة المضافة لمشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلم في تزويد المجتمعات المدرسيّة بالأدلة القائمة على البيانات ودعم جهودها في مناصرة تحسين المدارس ضمن إطار عمل قائم على الحقوق. وبذلك، يصبح دور منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) من الناحية المثالية دور المُيَسِّر أو المُحَفِّز للتغيير.

وتتعلق الخطوتان الأولى والثانية من العملية خماسية الخطوات لمشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم بتصميم البرامج وتطوير المقترحات والتنسيق والتدريب وغالباً ما تُنَفَّذ عن طريق كوادر البرنامج. أمّا الخطوة الثالثة فتمثل بداية المشاركة مع المجتمعات. وتعنى هذه الخطوة بجمع البيانات عن طريق كوادر البرنامج من خمسة مصادر تشتمل على المعلمين وأولياء الأمور والأطفال ومديري المدرسة أو قائمة المراجعة المدرسية بالإضافة إلى الملاحظة الصفيّة. وتقدّم منصة إدارة البيانات القائمة على الويب خدمات جمع البيانات في وقتها الحقيقي وتخزينها ومعالجتها كما تنتج كلاً من البيانات المرئيّة والتقارير الآلية التي تلخّص نقاط القوة والضعف للمدرسة أو لمساحة التعلّم المؤقتة بما يتعلق بإطار عمل التعلّم الجيد. وتعنى الخطوة الرابعة بمشاركة هذه النتائج البسيطة المُرمّزة بالألوان مع المجتمعات على شكل بطاقات نتائج المدرسة إذ تُسَجَل المدرسة عند كل واحد من الأُسس الخمسة التي طبقتها فيما يتعلق بإطار عمل التعليم الجيد. وتشتمل الخطوة الخامسة على انتخاب فريق لتحسين المدرسة يتألف من البالغين والأطفال من المجتمع المحلي للعمل على تصميم خطة تستند إلى نتائج التقييم لتحسين المدرسة ومتابعة تنفيذ الخطة بمساعدة منحة صغيرة.

وجُرِّبَت مجموعة الأدوات في الفترة ما بين عامي 2017 و2018 في عشرة من المدارس ومساحات التعلّم المؤقتة ويتوزّع خمس منها في كل من مقاطعة أدجوماني في أوغندا وشمال غرب سوريا كما حضرها بالتتالي اللاجئون الأطفال من أوغندا وجنوب السودان والأطفال السوريون المحليون والمُهَجّرون داخلياً. واستُخدِمَت الدروس المستفادة خلال عملية تنفيذ البرامج التجريبية لإفادة تطوير مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم ونقل المعارف بين البلدين.

كما ظهرت استنتاجات أخرى مثيرة للاهتمام من البرامج التجريبية بما في ذلك:

المساءلة: إذ أوضح تنفيذ العملية نفسها في كل من أوغندا وسوريا بعض القواسم المشتركة المدهشة. فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما عادت كوادر البرنامج إلى المجتمعات المدرسية لمشاركة النتائج، كان من الواضح أنَّ الناس في كل من أوغندا وسوريا لم يصدقوا أنَّ كوادر البرنامج سيعودون. وذلك مؤشر على وجود اتجاه أوسع في قطاع المعونة إذ نادراً ما تُقدَم التغذية الراجعة لنتائج التقييمات. ومما أسهم في إنجاح مشاركة النتائج في هذه الحالة حماس كوادر البرنامج حول كفاءة منصة إدارة البيانات وإنتاجها لبطاقات نتائج آلية سهلة الفهم. واكتسبت جلسات التغذية الراجعة أهمية خاصة إذ مكَّنت من التحقق من صحة النتائج. وإضافة لذلك، نظراً لتنوع مجموعة المستجيبين للدراسة، لا يمكن أن تُعزَى النتائج إلى مجموعة واحدة فقط من المستجيبين. وأخيراً، بالرغم من أن كوادر البرنامج هي من تدير تحليل البيانات، كان لجلسات التغذية الراجعة وهيكلة النتائج المتعلقة بإطار العمل الشامل للتعلّم الجيد دور في تعزيز المساءلة، إذ تمثل المجتمعات المدرسية دوراً فعالاً في مساءلة منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) إلى جانب مقدمي الخدمات التعليميّة تبعاً لأعلى المعايير لضمان تقديمهم لبيئة تعليم جيدة وشاملة.

حشد الحلول المحلية: على العموم، عبّر المعلمون وأولياء الأمور عن اعتقادهم بأنَّ الأولوية في تحسين المدرسة غالباً ما تتمثّل ببناء المزيد من البنية التحتية وتوفير الوقود وزيادة رواتب المعلمين. ومع الاعتراف بأهمية هذه الحاجات، يهدف مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم إلى توسيع النقاش حول بيئات التعلّم الجيد ليشمل على مكونات ’لينة‘ تتمثّل بأنشطة يمكن تنفيذها ضمن موازنة محدودة ويمكنها تحسين رفاهية الأطفال والمعلمين ومهاراتهم أو تعمل على زيادة مشاركة أولياء الأمور. ونتيجة لذلك، تابع المشاركون تحديد حلول محلية منخفضة التكلفة بعضها احتاج إلى الدعم البسيط من منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) وبعضها لم يكن بحاجة للدعم. ففي أوغندا، اشتملت تلك الأنشطة على تطوع أولياء الأمور في تنظيف مجمع المدرسة وتحسين مرافق اللعب لفتح الباب أمام الأنشطة الترفيهية للأطفال.

استثمار الوقت: شكّك البعض بملاءمة مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم في حالات الطوارئ نظراً لطول المدة اللازمة لتنفيذ المشروع بالكامل، إذ يمكن أن يحتاج إلى شهرين على الأقل حتى تبدأ التحسينات الملموسة بالظهور. ومع ذلك، يُمكِّن التحليل الآني الذي تقدمه منصة إدارة البيانات كوادر البرنامج من تقديم التغذية الراجعة مباشرة للمجتمعات مما يُعدّ تحولاً سريعاً بالمقارنة مع معدل الوقت الذي تحتاجه التقييمات الأخرى الذي قد يصل إلى بضعة أسابيع. إلاَّ أنَّ آخرين اعترفوا بأنَّ توفير التعلّم الجيد بمشاركة المجتمع المحلي يتطلب تخصيص الموارد والوقت. وقال معلم آخر في أوغندا: ”هذا ليس مضيعة للوقت. بل هو إشراك النّاس في التخطيط".

الاستدامة: شعر المعلمون في أوغندا أنَّ أثر مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم سيدوم إلى ما بعد انتهائه باعتباره مستنداً إلى التعبئة المجتمعية كما اعتُمِدَ إطار العمل من أجل التعلّم الجيد كإطار نظري مساعد ويُعدُّ الإلمام به تمكينياً. وحين سُئِلَ المعلمون عن ردة فعلهم فيما لو لم تعد منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) قادرة على تقديم الدعم، أكدت استجاباتهم المتكررة إحساسهم القوي بالمسؤولية والاستعداد لتعبئة أولياء الأمور ومعاونة غيرهم من الجهات الفاعلة. فقد كانت قدرتهم على تنظيم أنفسهم ومناصرة حقوق الأطفال واضحة من خلال الأمثلة التي قدموها كتقديم الطلبات لمكتب التعليم في المقاطعة والارتجال في أوقات الندرة.

معضلات أكبر نطاقاً

تسبب تنفيذ البرنامجين التجريبيَين بظهور عدد من المعضلات الأوسع نطاقاً المتأصلة في عمليتي المساعدة والإنماء والتي بالتأكيد لا ينفرد بها هذا المشروع:

من المحليّ إلى العالمي: ينصبُّ تركيز مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم على الملكية المحلية والحلول محلية المنشأ. وإلى جانب ذلك، يأتي الافتراض الضمني بأنَّ إطار عمل التعلّم الجيد الذي يعتمد عليه المشروع قابل للتطبيق في كل بيئات التعلّم. غير إنَّ التناقض الكامن في ذلك يصبح واضحاً حين تتعارض الحلول المحلية مع كل من إطار العمل العالمي والقيم التي تتمسك بها منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children). ويعكس هذا التوتر المعضلات المشتركة المُعتَرَف بها في الأدبيات المتعلقة بالتنمية التشاركية. وبدافع من الاعتبارات العملية والبراغماتية، غالباً ما تتعاون المنظمات الإنسانية مع الجهات الفاعلة التي تؤيد قيماً لا تتطابق بالكامل مع قيمها. وفي مواجهة الهُوِيَّات المحلية والعالمية المتنافسة،[3] تخاطر المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية بإدامة الممارسات التميزية تحت ذريعة ’الحساسية الثقافية‘. ويعدُّ الاعتراف بأنَّ افتراضات المنظمة ونظم القيم الخاص بها والأطُر المعيارية ليست بالمحايدة ولا بالعالمية الخطوة الأولى نحو معالجة التوترات المحلية–العالمية المُحتَمَلة.

إدارة التوقعات: يقوم مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم على مجموعة من الأركان الأساسية أولها الاقتناع بحاجة المجتمعات إلى الوصول إلى المعلومات المتاحة وسهلة الفهم بحيث تكون آنيّة وموثوقة من أجل تمكينها من المطالبة بحقوقهم وممارسة العمل الجماعي إزاء تحسين بيئات التعلّم ومساءلة مقدمي الخدمات. بيد أنَّ بعض المشاركين يشيرون إلى عدّة مناطق يمكن أن يكون فيها للمعارف آثار تعيق التمكين. فعلى سبيل المثال، أشار أحد المعلمين إلى أنَّه بالرغم من الأثر الإيجابي الذي تركته زيادة المعارف في ممارساته التعليمية، فقد تركته يشعر بالقلق: ’’أتساءل ما إذ كان ينبغي للأطفال عدم دخول القاعة الدراسية نظراً لحالتها السيئة. إذ سأفشل ما لم تُحَسَّن حالتها. لقد أدركتُ أنّه ثمة الكثير من الأشياء التي يتحتّم فعلها.“ لذلك، تعدّ إدارة التوقعات أمراً مهما للغاية إلى جانب التأكيد على أنّ بيئات التعلّم يمكن تحسينها تدريجياً بخطوات صغيرة.

مشاركة الطفل: تشير النتائج في أوغندا إلى أنَّ برامج مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم تتطلب استخدام المزيد من اللغة الصديقة للطفل وآليات المعلومات من أجل تعزيز مشاركة الطفل. فبالنسبة للأطفال ممن شاركوا فثمة خطر أن تُنتَقى مشاركتهم للتعبير عن حاجات البالغين أو غيرهم من الأطفال مما يعزز البُنى الموجودة والقائمة على عدم تكافؤ القِوى والامتيازات. فعلى سبيل المثال، حين سُئِلَ الأطفال مباشرة عمّا يريدون تغييره في مدارسهم، ذكر عدة طلاب في مدارس مختلفة ضرورة بناء غرفة أكبر وأفضل تجهيزاً للمعلمين.

يهدف مشروع معاً لتحسين بيئات التعلّم إلى إنعاش إمكانية أن تكون التنمية التشاركية تحولية وتوفير الدعم والأدلة للمجتمعات المحلية لتمكينها من تأكيد حقوقها ومحاسبة أصحاب السلطة بمن فيهم منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) كما تهدف إلى إحداث تغير اجتماعي أوسع بدءاً بالمدرسة.

زينة باليzeina.sh.bali@gmail.com  

مستشارة تربوية، ريد بارنا/منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children)، النرويج. www.reddbarna.no

[1] https://resourcecentre.savethechildren.net/library/improving-learning-environments-together-emergencies-ilet-package

[2] لمزيد من المعلومات، انظر وثيقة تأطير التعليم في حالات الطوارئ الخاصة بمنظمة إنقاذ الطفلSave the Children  

https://resourcecentre.savethechildren.net/sites/default/files/documents/eieerp_framing_document_1030.pdf  

[3] Kloster M O (2018) ‘Why it Hurts – Save the Children Norway and the Dilemmas of ‘Going Global’’, Forum for Development Studies Vol 46:1: 22-1

(لماذا يتسبب ذلك بالألم- منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) في النرويج ومعضلات التوجه نحو العالمية)

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/08039410.2018.1511632

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Improving learning environments in emergencies through community participation

An education in emergencies toolkit developed by Save the Children looks at how learning environments can be improved through community participation. Piloting the project in Syria and Uganda has also shed light on some of the tensions and contradictions that underlie education provision in humanitarian settings. 

The Improving Learning Environments Together (ILET) toolkit[1] uses assessments to improve learning environments in humanitarian contexts through community participation. Its aim is to respond to the need for greater and better evidence of what works in education in emergencies (EiE). It puts Save the Children’s Quality Learning Framework (QLF)[2] into practice by turning the five foundations it identifies as providing a basis for the well-being and learning of all children – emotional and psychosocial protection, physical protection, teaching and learning, parents and community, and school leadership and management – into measurable, quantifiable and actionable questions. These questions are put to students, teachers and parents to identify ways to improve the learning environment. ILET’s added value comes in providing school communities with evidence based on data and by supporting their advocacy efforts to improve the schools within a rights-based framework. In this way, Save the Children’s role becomes, ideally, that of a facilitator of or catalyst for change. 

Steps one and two of ILET’s five-step process relate to programme design, proposal development, coordination and training, and are mostly carried out by programme staff. Step three is the start of engagement with the communities. This third step is about programme staff collecting data from five sources: teachers, parents, children, a head teacher or school checklist, and through a classroom observation. A web-based data management platform offers real-time data collection, processing and storage and produces data visualisations and automated reports that summarise the strengths and weaknesses of the school or temporary learning space (TLS) in relation to the QLF. The fourth step is to share these simply presented, colour-coded results with communities in the form of school findings cards, where the school is scored on each of the QLF’s five foundations. The fifth and final step includes electing a school improvement team comprising adults and children from the community to design a school improvement plan based on the assessment results, and to follow up on the implementation of the plan with the assistance of a small grant.

The toolkit was piloted between 2017 and 2018 in ten schools and TLS, five each in Adjumani district in Uganda and in north-west Syria, attended by – respectively – Ugandan and South Sudanese refugee children, and local and internally displaced Syrian children. Lessons learned throughout the process of implementing the pilots were used to inform the development of the ILET project and to transfer knowledge between the two countries.

Other interesting conclusions also emerged from the pilots, including the following:

Accountability: Implementing the same process in Uganda and Syria illustrated some surprising commonalities. For example, when programme staff returned to school communities to share results, it was clear that people in both Uganda and Syria had not believed they would come back. This is indicative of a broader trend in the aid sector, where the results of assessments are seldom fed back. Part of what contributed to successful results sharing in this case was the programme staff’s enthusiasm about the data management platform’s efficient production of automated and easy-to-understand findings cards. The feedback sessions also served as an important venue to validate the findings. In addition, owing to the diverse set of informants, the findings could not be attributed to just one group of respondents. Finally, although data analysis is run by programme staff, the feedback session and framing of the results around the comprehensive QLF have fostered accountability as the school community takes an active role in holding Save the Children, alongside other education providers, to high standards, ensuring they provide a comprehensive quality learning environment.

Mobilising local solutions: Teachers and parents commonly voiced that what they often saw as the priority was to improve the school by building more infrastructure, providing fuel and increasing teachers’ salaries. While acknowledging the importance of these needs, ILET aims to expand the discussion on quality learning environments to include ‘soft’ components – that is, activities which, within a limited budget, can improve children’s and teacher’s well-being and skills, or increase parents’ engagement. As a result, participants went on to identify local, low-cost solutions that needed minimal or no support from Save the Children. In Uganda these included parents volunteering to clean the school compound and improving playground facilities to open up recreational activities to children.

Investment of time: Some questioned the suitability of ILET to emergency settings given the length of time it takes to implement the project in full – it can take at least two months until visible improvements start to emerge. That being said, the real-time analysis offered by the data management platform enables programme staff to immediately feed back the results to communities – a quick turnaround in comparison with the average time taken by other assessments, which can be up to a couple of weeks. However, others recognised that the delivery of quality education with community participation requires resources and time. One teacher in Uganda said: “This is not wasting time. This is engaging people in planning.”  

Sustainability: Teachers in Uganda felt that the impact of ILET would last beyond the end of the project as it was grounded in community mobilisation and had introduced the QLF as a helpful theoretical framework, and having knowledge of this framework was felt to be empowering. When asked how they would react if Save the Children were no longer able to provide support, teachers’ responses repeatedly emphasised their strong sense of ownership and willingness to mobilise parents and advocate with other actors. Their ability to organise themselves and advocate for children’s rights was already clear from the examples they gave of presenting demands to the district education office and improvising in times of scarcity.

Broader dilemmas

The implementation of the two pilots also gave rise to several broader dilemmas inherent in the processes of aid and development that are certainly not unique to this project:

Local to global: ILET’s overarching focus is on local ownership and locally grounded solutions. Alongside that comes the implicit assumption that the QLF (on which the project is based) is applicable to every learning environment. The contradiction inherent in this becomes apparent when local solutions are at odds with the global framework and values upheld by Save the Children. This tension reflects common dilemmas that are recognised in literature on participatory development. Driven by operational and pragmatic considerations, humanitarian organisations often cooperate with actors whose values do not entirely align with theirs. Grappling with competing local and global identities,[3] international non-governmental organisations risk perpetuating discriminatory practices under the pretext of ‘cultural sensitivity’. Acknowledging that the organisation’s assumptions, own value systems and normative frameworks are neither neutral nor universal is the first step to addressing these potential­ local–global tensions.

Managing expectations: One of the cornerstones of ILET is the conviction that communities need to have access to open and easily understood information – real-time, reliable data – in order to be able to demand their rights, work collectively towards improving the learning environment and hold service providers accountable. However, participants point out areas in which knowledge can have disempowering effects. For example, one teacher reported that although increased knowledge had had a positive effect on his teaching practices, it had also left him feeling anxious: “I wonder if children should not enter the classroom because it is in a poor state. I will have failed if it is not improved. I have been made aware that there are a lot of things to do.” It is crucial to manage expectations and to emphasise that the learning environment can be improved gradually in small steps.

Child participation: Findings from Uganda indicate that ILET programmes need to use more child-friendly language and information mechanisms to enhance child participation. For those children who did participate, there was a risk their participation might be co-opted to voice adults’ or other children’s needs, reinforcing already existing unequal power and privilege structures. For example, when asked directly what they wanted to change in their school, several students in different schools mentioned the need to build a bigger, better-equipped room for teachers.

ILET aims to revive the potential that participatory development has to be transformative, providing support and evidence to local communities to enable them to assert their rights, to hold those in power – including Save the Children – to account, and to trigger wider social change, starting at school.

 

Zeina Bali zeina.sh.bali@gmail.com
Education Advisor, Redd Barna/Save the Children Norway www.reddbarna.no

 

[1] https://resourcecentre.savethechildren.net/library/improving-learning-environments-together-emergencies-ilet-package

[2] For more information, see Save the Children’s EiE framing document  https://resourcecentre.savethechildren.net/sites/default/files/documents/eieerp_framing_document_1030.pdf  

[3] See Kloster M O (2018) ‘Why it Hurts – Save the Children Norway and the Dilemmas of ‘Going Global’’, Forum for Development Studies Vol 46:1: 1–22 https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/08039410.2018.1511632

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview