كسر حاجز الصمت: الإرغام على الجنس والإساءة الجنسية في التعليم ما بعد النّزاع

تُوضِّح التحارب في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى أنَّ الجهود العالمية التي ترمي إلى رفع أعداد الأطفال الملتحقين في المدرسة خاصة في المناطق المتأثرة بالنِّزاع وفيما يخص الأطفال النَّازحين يجب أنَّ تبذل مزيداً من الاهتمام لناحيتي السلامة والمساءلة.

حال التعليم في كثير من البلدان التي تصيبها الحروب رديئةٌ من قبل أنْ يندلع النِّزاع في تلك البلدان، فترى فيها نقصاً في المواد والموارد وملئاً للصفوف الدراسية فوق السَّعة ورداءةً في جودة التدريس. ولَسوف يزيد النِّزاعُ الحالَ سوءاً فيُصدِّع التعليم المحدود أصلاً أو قُلْ يُفسِدُه. فربَّما نُهِبَت المدارس أو تضرَّرت أو شغلها نازح، وربَّما فرَّ المعلِّمون أو أصيبوا بضرر أو قتلوا، وكلُّ هذا في ظلِّ عنف مزداد ونظام دُوَلٍ مختل وظيفيَّاً. وبين هذا وذاك نرى أنَّ مصاعب إعادة التعليم إلى مقامه في بلدان كهذه عظيمةٌ.

أضف إلى ذلك أنَّ تأمين الأطفال حيث يوجد التعليم ما زال أمراً صعباً، إذ يُقابِل الأطفال مخاطر متعددة، مثل الطرق الخطرة التي يسلكونها ليذهبوا إلى المدرسة، وازدياد احتمال تعرُّضهم للعنف البدني والجنسي والجندري من جماعات مسلحة أو من أناس في المجتمع الذي يعيش الأطفال فيه، ولعنف الأقران في داخل المدرسة. فلا بدَّ من أنْ يُنظَر في هذه المسائل مليَّاً في السياق الذي تحدث فيه كله، ذلك السياق الذي يقبل المجتمع فيه العقوبة البدنية وكثيراً ما يُرَى فيه تعرُّض النساء والبنات للعنف الجنسي أمراً طبيعياً.

مَسْألَةٌ مَكْتُومَةٌ

من صور العنف والإساءة التي تصيب الأطفال في المدارس أيضاً ويبقى فعلها مكتوماً الانتهاك والإكراه الجنسيان اللذان يرتكبهما فرد أو أكثر من الهيئة التعليمية. فهناك عبارة ’الجِّنس ثمن العلامات‘ أو ’العلامات المنقولة جنسيَّاً‘ كما يقولها الأطفال في كثير من الأماكن، وهي تشير إلى المعلِّمين الذين يطلبون إلى الأطفال أن يفعلوا أفعالاً جنسيَّة ثمناً لمهامٍ واجبة أصلاً على المعلمين، ومن ذلك تصحيح الوظائف البيتية أو منح الأطفال العلامات التي يحتاجون إليها لكي يتفوَّقوا. ويُطلَبُ في بعض الأحيان من الأطفال المال ثمناً لهذه المهام التدريسية الأساسية، فإن لم يقدروا على دفع المال يُطْلَبُ منهم أشياء أخرى تَحُلَّ محلَّ إسهاماتهم الماليَّة ألا وهي الخدمات الجنسيَّة.

وما انفكَّت منظمة طفل الحرب الخيريَّة في المملكة المتحدة (War Child UK) منذ عام 2016 تدعم الأطفال في بانغي بجمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى، في حملة على ضروب الإساءة هذه التي تحدث في المدارس. وأجرت جماعة من الأطفال بحثاً هم أصحابه وذلك من خلال مشروعٍ مناصر للشاب اسمه فويسمُور (VoiceMore)[1]، وكانت عيِّنة هذا البحث تلاميذ من عشرة مدارس حكومية مختلفة، فوجد أصحاب البحث أنَّ كثيراً من الأطفال الذين أبلغوا عن حوادث من هذا النوع، شاع أنْ هُدِّدوا وأُصِيبُوا بسوءٍ وتركوا المدرسة نتيجةً للإبلاغ.[2] وتُظهِر نتيجة البحث تقارير أخرى عن حالات الإساءة الجنسية وفساد الأنظمة المدرسيَّة في أفريقيا. [3]وسُئِلَ أطفال في ليبيريا عامَ 2015 في برنامج يو ريبورت (U-Report) (أنت تُبلِغ) الذي تجريه منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسف) هناك سؤالاً لم يُتَّفق على جواب شافٍ له بعد ألا وهو: ما هي أكبر مخاوفكم؟ فأجاب 86 بالمائة منهم: الجِّنس ثمن العلامات أكبر مخاوفنا.[4] ونشرت جامعة ماستريخت الهولنديَّة في عام 2017 تقريراً عن التعليم في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى وَصَفَ استعمال الهيئات التعليمية العنف والإكراه والفساد في المدارس بأنَّه واسع الانتشار هناك مُتَوَاصِلُ.[5]

ومع أنَّه يوجد حالات أُبلِغَ عنها هنا وهناك فقد بقي هذا النوع من الإساءة مُغفَلاً في النقاشات التي دارت حول أنواع العنف الأخرى التي تُرتَكَبُ في المدارس وحولها. ويمكن لمُقتَرِفِي هذه الجرائم أنْ يفلتوا من العقاب في أغلب الحالات في الأماكن التي تفتقر إلى أنظمة الحماية التي تضعها الدولة والمجتمع، ومن هذه الأماكن جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. وقد ساعدت مبادرات كمبادرة إعلان المدارس الآمنة[6] على وضع معايير ومبادئ توجيهية لحماية التعليم في المناطق المتأثرة بالنِّزاع، مثل الهجمات على المدارس، ولكنَّ هذه المعايير والمبادئ التوجيهية لا تشمل ما تقدَّم ذكره من المسائل المحدَّدة التي لها صلة بالحماية والتي يمكن أن يتَّسع انتشارها داخل المدارس بسبب النِّزاع. والعوامل التي تؤدي إلى هذه الحال وتزيدها سوءاً كثيرةٌ، ومنها ما يلي:

  • قلة المال والموارد التي ينبغي أنْ تُستثمَر في المدارس وفي تدريب المعلِّمين لتحسين جودة التعليم وتأمين أمكنة وجوده
  • غياب أنظمة إنفاذ مدوَّنة قواعد السلوك والإبلاغ عن كسرها
  • غياب النُّظُم القضائية الفعَّالة لمحاسبة الجناة
  • محدودية قُدرَةُ مؤسساتِ الدولةِ كقدرة وزارات التربية والتعليم على مراقبة المدارس وضبطها
  • ضَعْفُ نُظُمِ حوكمة المدارس وغياب إشراك أولياء الأمور فيها لمعالجة المسألة ومكافحة الفساد ومحاسبة من يُجرِمُ من المعلِّمين
  • تأخُّر دفع أجور المعلِّمين أو عدم دفعها
  • انتشار ظاهرة يحلُّ فيها أولياء الأمور غير المؤهلين محلَّ المعلِّمين
  • قبول ثقافة العنف والفساد وعدُّها أمراً طبيعياً
  • غياب قوة الأطفال ومركزهم القانونيَّان أمام البالغين، ونخص ذلك بِمَن هم في مراكز السُّلطَة كالهيئات التعليمية.

 

الأثر والعواقب

إنَّ الأثر الذي تتركه هذه المشكلات في الأطفال وتعليمهم وأسرهم ومجتمعاتهم وبلدانهم لَعَظِيمٌ. فَمَن طُلِبَ إليه منهم دفع مال أو خدمات جنسية الغالب أنْ يستجيب بألَّا يواظب على المدرسة أو أنْ يتركها إذ يرى في هذا وقاية له، مع أنَّ رغبته في التعلُّم شديدة. أمَّا الذين أكرهوا جنسيَّاً أو أجبروا، ونخصُّ بذلك البنات هاهنا، فآثار هذه الإساءة الجنسية والنفسية في عافيتهنَّ النفسانيَّة عظيمةٌ، ومن هذه الآثار أيضاً الحَبَل والأمراض المنقولة جنسيَّاً والوصم الاجتماعي الخطير، وهذا الأخير حين تعرف نظيراتهنَّ الأمرَ أو حين يعرفه المجتمع الذي يعشن فيه.

ويؤدِّي الفساد في المدارس أيضاً إلى ضيق عيش الأسر بزيادة العبء المالي عليهم وعلى مقدمي الرِّعاية والأطفال أنفسهم الذين يُطلَبُ إليهم العمل في أعمال احتمال خطرها كبير في قطاع الاقتصاد غير الرسمي ليكسبوا ما تطلبه المدرسة من مال. ويؤدِّي استمرار الإساءة والفساد في الأنظمة المدرسيَّة على المدى الطويل إلى انخفاضٍ في معدَّلات متابعة الطلاب دراستهم، ويُضرُّ النجاح الدراسي لأجيال من الأطفال، ويقلل من فرص التنمية الاقتصادية في البلاد.

"لا بُدَّ لنا من أنْ نُمِيطَ عن هذه المسائل حجاب الكتمان وأنْ نفعل ما يجلب الأمل في تغيير حَسَنٍ في الغد....فإن عملنا بعضنا مع بعض اليومَ كان مستقبل بلدنا أفضلَ." ستيفاني (16 عاماً) مشتركة في برنامج فويسمُور.

إِمَاطَةُ حِجَابِ الكِتْمَانِ: التَّوصِيَاتُ

الأمن أولاً: تعهَّدت بلدان كثيرة بزيادة مواظبة الطلاب على المدارس فيها زيادةً كبيرةً في الأعوام الأخيرة، وجاء ذلك في معظمه بسبب أهداف التنمية المستدامة وغيرها من المبادرات الدولية كالحملة العالمية من أجل التعليم[7] ومبادرة التعليم لا يمكن أن ينتظر.[8] لكنْ يجب ألا يُغفَل أمر الأمن والمساءلة في حملة زيادة أعداد الطلاب هذه، ويجب أن يُوجَّه النَّظر أكثر إلى تحقيق أمن المدارس لينهل الأطفال العلم منها.

تعظيم المساءلة: ينبغي أنْ يحاسب أي فرد من أفراد الهيئات التعليميَّة يرتكب إساءة على ما ارتكبه. ويعني غياب نُظُمٍ تكفي المدارس حاجتها من مراقبة المعلِّمين وضبطهم أنْ يُفلِتَ المعلِّمون الجناة من العقاب في كثير من الأماكن. ولا بدَّ للحكومات من أنْ تُعظِّم اهتمامها بهذه المسألة وأنْ توصل رسالة إلى المدارس وهيئاتها التعليمية فحواها أنْ لا تسامح البَتَّة في أمر مَن بُلِّغَ عنهم عند الجِّهات المختصَّة أنَّهم ارتكبوا إساءات جنسية ولَسوف يعاقبون بأشدَّ العقوبات.

طرق الإبلاغ عن الإساءة والفساد: الرَّاجحُ أنْ تُرتكَبَ أفعال الفساد والإساءة في المدارس في الخفاء. ويصعب على الأطفال كثيراً أنْ يُفصِحُوا عنها، ولا يعرفون إلى ذلك سبيلاً، وهذا سبب ترك الأطفال مدارسهم في الغالب حين يُطلَب منهم المال أو الخدمات الجنسيَّة. إذن ينبغي لكل مدرسة أنْ يكون فيها نظام مناسب للأطفال قائمٌ يتيح لهم الإبلاغ عمَّن يطلب منهم دفع المال أو الخدمات الجنسيَّة.

رفع الوعي: لا يدرك كثير من الأطفال حقوقهم أو أنَّ هذه الأفعال أفعالٌ غير قانونية. وقد تجد في بعض المدارس مدوَّنات قواعد السلوك، لكَّن الهيئات التعليمية في المدارس لا تبيّن للطلاب ولا للمجتمع ما ينبغي لها أن تُبيِّنه. ويجب على كل مدرسة أن يكون لها بروتوكولات مُعرَّفة تُبيِّن للهيئة التعليمية والطلاب كيف ينبغي لسلوكهم أن يكون. وينبغي أيضاً للمدارس أن تساعد على إعلام الأطفال والبالغين اتفاقية حقوق الطفل وما فيها من حماية وضمانات في ما له صلة بالتعليم وبالحماية من الإساءة.

"إنَّ الإساءة إلى الأطفال في المدرسة غير مقبولة البتَّة ولو كانت إلى طفل واحد. ويجب علينا أنْ نُنْشِأَ ثقافة الصدق والأمانة وننشرها." جين (17 عاماً) مشتركة في برنامج فويسمُور.

 

صوفي براي-واتكينز sophieb@warchild.org.uk

مستشارة في شؤون مناصرة الشباب ومشاركتهم، منظمة طفل الحرب- المملكة المتحدة، www.warchild.org.uk

 

 

[1] قدمنا الدعم للشباب في مرحلة تخطيطهم لبحوثهم وأعدادهم لها، وتضمن دعمنا توضيح طريقة التعامل مع الأطفال الآخرين وما ينبغي فعله إذا لم يشعر الأطفال بالارتياح وكيفية ضمان توفير السرية في التعامل معهم. ووضع الأطفال منظومة مدوَّنة لتسجيل المعلومات دون ذكر الأسماء واتَّفقنا على الخطوات التي يجب اتِّخاذها في حالة ذكر المستجيب أنَّه وقع عليه أثر شخصي أو في حالة أفصح عن أمر ما.

[2] War Child (2016) Combatting Corruption and Abuse in Schools

 (التصدي للفساد والإساءة في المدارس)

https://www.warchild.org.uk/sites/default/files/link-files/voicemore_car_report_corruption_and_child_abuse_in_schools.pdf

[3] UNICEF/Plan/ActionAid/SCF Sweden (2010) Too often in silence: a report on school-based violence in West and Central Africa www.unicef.org/wcaro/VAC_Report_english.pdf;

(غالباً ما يسود الصمت: تقرير حول العنف في المدرس في غرب أفريقيا ووسطها)

Plan (2013) A girl’s right to learn without fear:  Working to end gender-based violence at school

(حق الفتاة في التعلم دون خوف: العمل على إنهاء العنف القائم على الجندر في المدرسة)

https://plan-uk.org/file/plan-report-learn-without-fearpdf/download?token=HMORNNVk

[4] UNICEF U-Report Liberia (2015) ‘Success Story: U-Report Liberia exposes Sex 4 Grades in school’

(قصة نجاح/ يو ريبورت في ليبيريا يفضح ممارسة الجنس مقابل العلامات في المدرسة)

https://ureport.in/story/194/

[5] Maastricht University (2017) The Child’s Right to Education in the Central African Republic

(حق الطفل في التعليم في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى)

http://kinderrechtenonderzoek.nl/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/Childrens-raport-ENG-OK.pdf

[6] جاء إعلان المدارس الآمنة نتاجاً لسلسلة من التشاورات التي قادتها النرويج والأرجنتين في عام 2015 لتقدم الفرصة للدول للتعبير عن دعمها السياسي العريض لحماية التَّعليم وضمان استمراره في النِّزاع المسلَّح.

www.protectingeducation.org/guidelines/support

[7] www.campaignforeducation.org

[8] www.educationcannotwait.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Breaking the silence: sexual coercion and abuse in post-conflict education

Experience from the Central African Republic makes clear that global efforts to increase numbers of children in school, particularly in conflict-affected areas and for displaced children, need to pay greater attention to safety and accountability.

For many countries affected by war, education prior to conflict will have already been in a poor state, with a lack of materials and resources, overfull classrooms and low quality of teaching. Conflict will have further exacerbated these conditions, disrupting or even destroying what limited provision was in place. School buildings may have been looted, damaged or occupied, and trained teachers may have fled or been injured or killed, and all this against a backdrop of increased violence and non-functional State-run systems. The challenges of reinstating education in such places are considerable.

Furthermore, ensuring children’s safety in educational contexts continues to be difficult. Children face multiple risks, such as dangerous journeys to and from school, an increased risk of physical and sexual and gender-based violence from armed groups or members of the community, and peer violence inside the school gates. These issues also need to be considered within a wider context in which corporal punishment is commonly accepted and the role of women and girls as subjects of sexual violence is often normalised.

A silent issue

Another form of violence and abuse also affects children in schools but is perpetuated in near silence: sexual abuse and coercion from teaching staff. ‘Sex for grades’ – or, as children call it in many places, ‘sexually transmitted grades’ – refers to teaching professionals asking children to carry out sexual acts in exchange for regular teaching tasks, such as marking an assignment, or for awarding the grades they need to progress. Sometimes children are asked for money in exchange for these basic teaching tasks; when they are unable to pay, other forms of payment such as sexual favours have to replace financial contributions.

Since 2016, War Child UK has been supporting children in Bangui, in the Central African Republic (CAR), to campaign against these types of abuses in schools. Through a youth advocates project called VoiceMore, children conducted their own research[1] with pupils from ten different state schools, finding that high numbers of children reported incidences of this type as common, with students intimidated, harmed and dropping out of school as a result.[2] Their findings reflect other reports of sexual abuse and corruption in school systems in Africa.[3] In 2015 UNICEF’s U-Report programme asked children in Liberia an open question about what their biggest concerns were, and 86% of children responded saying sex for grades was their biggest worry.[4] And in 2017 Maastricht University published a report on education in CAR which described the use of violence, coercion and corruption in schools by teaching staff as prevalent and persistent.[5]

Although pockets of reporting exist, this hidden form of abuse has been overlooked in discussions surrounding other forms of violence in and around schools. Perpetrators in places which lack adequate community and State protection systems – such as in post-conflict CAR – can act with near impunity. Initiatives like the Safe Schools Declaration[6] have helped set standards and guidelines for protecting education in conflict-affected areas, such as banning attacks on schools, but do not extend to these specific types of protection issues that can become prevalent inside schools as a consequence of conflict. Contributing and exacerbating factors are numerous and include:

  • lack of money and resources to invest in schools and in training for teachers, to improve quality and safety of education
  • lack of systems for reporting and enforcing codes of conduct
  • lack of functioning justice systems to deal with perpetrators
  • limited capacity of State-run departments such as ministries of education to oversee and manage schools
  • poor school governance systems and lack of parental engagement with schools to address the issue, tackle corruption and hold teachers to account
  • late or non-payment of teachers
  • prevalence of unqualified ‘parent–teachers’ in place of professional teachers
  • acceptance and normalising of a culture of violence and corruption
  • lack of power and status of children in relation to adults, particularly those in positions of authority, such as teaching staff.

 

Impact and consequences

The impact of these problems on children, their education, families, communities and countries is significant. Children who are asked for payment or sexual favours commonly respond by attending school less frequently or dropping out as a protective measure, despite their strong motivation to get an education. For those who are coerced or forced, particularly girls, the effects of this sexual and emotional abuse on their psychological well-being are considerable, and can also result in pregnancy, STIs and – when their peers and the community know about it – significant social stigmatisation.

Corruption in schools also contributes to household stress by increasing the financial burden on families and caregivers as well as on children themselves, who often engage in additional risky work in the informal economy to find money for school. In the longer term, the presence of abuse and corruption in the school system lowers pupil retention rates, damages the academic success of generations of children and reduces the country’s chances of economic development.

“We must break the silence around these issues and do something today to hope for a positive change tomorrow. …if we act together today, tomorrow our country will be better.” Stephanie, aged 16, VoiceMore participant

Breaking the silence: recommendations

Safety first: In recent years, and in large part because of the Sustainable Development Goals and other international initiatives such as the Global Campaign for Education[7] and Education Cannot Wait[8], many countries have committed to drastically increasing school attendance. In the drive to raise numbers, safety and accountability must not be forgotten, and there needs to be more emphasis on ensuring schools are safe places for children to learn.

Greater accountability: Teaching staff committing abuse should be held to account. A lack of adequate systems in schools for monitoring and disciplining teachers means that teachers in many places can act with impunity. Governments need to take a greater interest in this issue and ensure a zero-tolerance message is communicated to schools and head teachers, with those committing sexual abuse being reported to relevant authorities.

Ways to report: Corruption and abuse in schools tend to be hidden. It is very difficult for children to speak up, and they lack ways to do so, which is why demands for money and sexual favours often result in children dropping out of school. Every school should have child-friendly systems in place that allow children to report demands for sexual favours or payment.

Raising awareness: Most children are not aware of their rights or that these practices are illegal. While codes of conduct might exist in some schools, schools do not communicate to pupils or communities what is expected. All schools should have clearly defined protocols for how staff and students are expected to behave. They should also help ensure that children and adults are informed about the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the protections and assurances it contains relating to education and protection from abuse.

“One child being abused in school is too much. We must promote a culture of honesty.” Jean, aged 17, VoiceMore participant

 

Sophie Bray-Watkins sophieb@warchild.org.uk
Youth Advocacy and Engagement Adviser, War Child UK www.warchild.org.uk

 

[1] We supported the young people as they planned and prepared their research, including how to approach other children, what to do if they felt uncomfortable and how to ensure confidentiality. The children created a code system to record information, no names were taken, and we agreed steps to be taken if a respondent said they had been personally affected or made a disclosure.

[2] War Child (2016) Combatting Corruption and Abuse in Schools https://www.warchild.org.uk/sites/default/files/link-files/voicemore_car_report_corruption_and_child_abuse_in_schools.pdf

[3] UNICEF/Plan/ActionAid/SCF Sweden (2010) Too often in silence: a report on school-based violence in West and Central Africa www.unicef.org/wcaro/VAC_Report_english.pdf;
Plan (2013) A girl’s right to learn without fear: Working to end gender-based violence at school

https://plan-uk.org/file/plan-report-learn-without-fearpdf/download?token=HMORNNVk

[4] UNICEF U-Report Liberia (2015) ‘Success Story: U-Report Liberia exposes Sex 4 Grades in school’ https://ureport.in/story/194/

[5] Maastricht University (2017) The Child’s Right to Education in the Central African Republic
http://kinderrechtenonderzoek.nl/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/Childrens-raport-ENG-OK.pdf

[6] The Safe Schools Declaration, developed through a series of consultations led by Norway and Argentina in 2015, provides the opportunity for States to express broad political support for the protection and continuation of education in armed conflict. www.protectingeducation.org/guidelines/support

[7] www.campaignforeducation.org

[8] www.educationcannotwait.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview