تعليم الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في مآوي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

يجب على الخدمات التعليمية المقدمة للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في المأوي التي تمولها الحكومة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أن تخضع لتدقيق وتمحيص لتلبية قدر أكبر من حاجات الأطفال المتنوعة والوفاء بالمعايير الاتحادية للتعليم العام.

منذ عام 2014، وصل أكثر من 250 ألف طفل من الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين إلى الحدود الجنوبية الغربية للولايات المتحدة بحثاً عن الحماية.[1]وعند وصول هؤلاء الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين، يوضعون في رعاية مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية الأمريكية ثُمَّ ينقلون إلى مرافق الإيواء التي تمولها الحكومة. وقد تعاقد مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية الأمريكية مع مرافق الإيواء لتزويد الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين بخدماتٍ منها الرعاية الصِّحية الطبية والعقليَّة وإدارة الحالات والترفيه وتقديم البرامج التعليمية. وبما أنه لا يُسمَح للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين الالتحاق المباشر بنظام المدارس الحكومية في أثناء إقامتهم في دور الإيواء، فيجب أن يُقدَّم للأطفال في دور الإيواء التعليم المدرسي الذي يزودهم بالمعارف والمهارات الضرورية للانتقال إلى المدرسة المحلية[2] وعندما يغادرون دار الإيواء للدخول في رعاية أحد مقدمي الرعاية الذين خضعوا للتدقيق.

الشروط التعليمية في دور الإيواء

يحق لجميع الأطفال في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بغض النظر عن صفتهم في الهجرة، الحصول على التعليم الابتدائي العام والثانوي المجاني. وهناك إرشادات توجيهية معينة تحدد الحد الأدنى من المعايير والخدمات التعليمية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين الذين يُحتجَزون في دور الإيواء. وقد كيَّف مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية هذه الإرشادات التوجيهية لتلائم سياسات وإجراءات برنامجه للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين (يُشَار إليه هنا باسم دليل مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين).[3] ووفقاً لدليل مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين، فيجب أن تقدم مرافق الإيواء الدائمة:

  • تقييماً أولياً للتعليم في غضون 72 ساعة من قبول الطفل لتحديد مستوى الطفل في التطور الأكاديمي والقراءة والكتابة والحساب والقدرة اللغوية.
  • الخدمات التعليمية مع ست ساعات من التعليم يومياً، من الاثنين إلى الجمعة، تُقدَّم في بيئة دراسية منظمة، على مدار العام التقويمي
  • التدريس في المجالات الدراسية الأكاديمية الأساسية بما في ذلك العلوم والدراسات الاجتماعية والرياضيات والقراءة والكتابة والتربية البدنية وتطوير اللغة الإنجليزية
  • التقارير الأكاديمية وملاحظات التقدم لكل طالب
  • المواد التعليمية والدراسية التي تعكس تنوع الأطفال والمراعية للاختلافات
  • المواد بجميع اللغات الأصلية الممثلة في المِرفَق التعليمي
  • المناهج الدراسية التي تشتمل على التعليم التعويضي، والتدريس بعد الدوام المدرسي، وفرص التقدم الأكاديمي، مثل المشاريع الخاصة والدراسات المستقلة والدورات التحضيرية لاختبار تطوير التعليم العام الذي يقدم شهادة تعادل شهادة التعليم الثانوي.

الممارسات والتحديات

يدير مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية حالياً أكثر من 100 دار إيواء دائم في 17 ولاية وتختلف سعة هذه الدور بدءاً من 30 طفلاً إلى أكثر من 400 طفل. وفي حين أنَّ دور الإيواء هذه يجب أن تمتثل للحد الأدنى من الشروط التعليمية التي وضعها دليل مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين، فإن عدداً من العوامل من بينها الحجم الفعلي للمرفق، وخبرات الموظفين، وغياب منهج موحد وقدر من الدعم من منطقة المدرسة المحلية تعني أنَّ البرامج التعليمية تختلف باختلاف دور الإيواء. ونظراً لمحدودية المساعدة التي يقدمها مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية، يعمل عددٌ كبير من دور الإيواء بجد لإيجاد الوقت والموارد اللازمة لتطوير المناهج الكافية وتنفيذ الخدمات التعليمية الإبداعية.

وغالباً ما تكون دور الإيواء محدودة في الحيز المادي المتاح لها ويجب أن تتكيف لتوفير التعليم لجميع الأطفال. وتتعامل بعض دور الإيواء مع هذه القضية عن طريق تنظيم التعليم إلى دوريات؛ ومع ذلك، فالعثور على معلمين للعمل لوقت أطول من اليوم يمكن أن يكون أمراً مضنياً. وقد تزيد دور الإيواء أيضاً من نسبة الطلاب إلى المعلمين لاستيعاب المزيد من الطلاب. ومن القرارات التي يتخذها المعلمون في دور الإيواء تصنيف الطلاب حسب السن أو التطور الأكاديمي والقدرة اللغوية، وكلا الخياران يشكلان تحديات للتدريس في الصفوف الدراسية.

وقد لا يتاح معلم مؤهل دائماً لإكمال التقييم التعليمي المبدئي؛ ما يعني أنه قد يدخل في عملية التقييم موظف أقل تدريباً. وعندما تكون هناك وظائف شاغرة في التدريس، فإن المرشحين الذين لا يستوفون جميع المعايير المثالية (أن يكون مجيداً للغتين ومعتمداً في تعليم متعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية، ولديه معرفة بالأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين) قد يُعرَض عليهم وظائف لسد الفجوة في الخدمات التعليمية المقدمة للأطفال.

ويشكل تطوير المقررات الدراسية لتلبية الاحتياجات التعليمية المتنوعة للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في دور الإيواء تحدياً دائماً. فوفقاً لدليل مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين، يجب أن يستند محتوى المقررات الدراسية إلى المعايير التعليمية المحلية، وأن يكون متسقاً مع متوسط مدة الإقامة في هذا المرفق وأن يُصمَم وفقاً لمستوى كل طفل وقدرته على حدة. ومع ذلك، تستضيف الصفوف الدراسية الطلاب من مختلف الأعمار والخلفيات التعليمية الذين يدخلون إلى الرعاية ويخرجون منها في أوقات مختلفة. وغالباً ما تُقيِّد هذه العوامل، مقترنة بالقضايا السلوكية والمستويات المتقلبة من الاهتمام بالتعليم والاستجابات للصدمات النفسية، قدرة المعلمين على إعداد الطلاب على نحو ملائم لدخول نظام دراسي محلي بعد خروجهم من الرعاية. ويمكن أن تمر احتياجات الطلاب الفردية بسهولة دون علاج. وقد يُكرر الطلاب الذين يبقون في فترة رعاية أطول من متوسط مدة الإقامة دراسة المقرر الدراسي نفسه إذا لم يتمكن موظفو دار الإيواء من ترتيب فرص تعليمية جديدة لهم؛ الأمر الذي يُعرِّض بعض الطلاب لخطر الانعزال أو إضاعة فرصة التقدم التعليمي.

وبما أنَّ دور الإيواء مرافق متعاقد عليها فيدرالياً وتحصل على منح مالية، فيجب أن تلتزم بالقوانين والمعايير الفيدرالية المصممة لحماية الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة، أو ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة أو مهارات اللغة الإنجليزية المحدودة، وأن تأخذ في الاعتبار عوامل أخرى مثل العِرْق والجندر والعمر. ومع أنَّ معظم الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين الذين يصلون إلى الحدود الجنوبية الغربية هم من الناطقين باللغة الإسبانية، فبعضهم يتحدث لغات السكان الأصليين في المايا، والبعض الآخر يأتي من دول مثل غينيا وغانا والهند وبنغلادش؛ ما يؤدي إلى تنوع الصفوف الدراسية لغوياً. قد يكون من الصعب تحديد موقع المترجمين الشفهيين والمواد ذات الصلة ثقافياً للغات الأقل استخداماً؛ ما يعيق وصول الطلاب. علاوةً على ذلك، على الرغم من أن القانون الفيدرالي يحمي حقوق الأفراد ذوي الإعاقة، لا يخضع الطلاب في دور الإيواء للتشخيص المناسب بسبب محدودية الوصول إلى المقيِّمِين المؤهلين والمعتمدين. وبدون تشخيص دقيق والوصول إلى خدمات الدعم الضرورية، قد يواجه الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة صعوبة في التعلم.

وأخيراً، نظراً لأن البرامج التعليمية في دور الإيواء لا تتلقى عادةً تمويلاً حكومياً أو محلياً وليست مُطالَبة قانوناً بالالتزام بالمعايير والتوجيهات التعليمية الحكومية، فالدولة لا تشارك في مراقبة هذه البرامج. وبدلاً من ذلك، يُجرِي مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين الحد الأدنى من عملية الرقابة. ولا يشارك الطلاب في التقييمات المعيارية على المستوى الوطني أو على مستوى الولاية ولم توضع معايير أو نقاط مرجعية موحدة لهذه البرامج.

ورغم هذه التحديات، فنحن نقدم عدة توصيات وفرص لتشجيع نجاح الطلاب، سواء في مدارس الإيواء أو عندما ينتقلون إلى المدارس المحلية.

مدخل إلى مدراس دور الإيواء

يأتي الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من مجموعة متنوعة من الخلفيات التعليمية، ومعظمهم غير معتاد على المعايير والممارسات التعليمية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وقد تختلف بيئة القاعة الدراسية عن أي شيء مر به الطالب من قبل، خاصةً إذا لم يلتحقوا بالمدرسة بانتظام في الماضي أو إذا كانت مدرستهم في بلدهم الأصلي محدودة الموارد للغاية. ويجب أن يساعد معلمو دور الإيواء الطلاب على فهم القواعد الخاصة بالمدارس الأمريكية ومعاييرها وممارساتها وتوقعاتها. فالطلاب الذين لا يعرفون كيفية التصرف الملائم قد يُصنّفوا تصنيفاً سلبياً ويُطرَدوا من قاعة الدراسة بمجرد انتقالهم إلى مدرسة محلية. لذلك، من المهم تعليم السلوك الإيجابي منذ البداية. وقد يكون تقديم توجيهات فردية أو جماعية للصفوف الدراسية بقيادة مساعد المعلم أو غيره من كوادر الدعم تتم خارج الصف الدراسي الرئيسي أمراً مفيداً في الترحيب بالطلاب الجدد ومساعدتهم على التكيف مع تجنب السيناريو الذي يحصل فيه الطلاب على التوجيه نفسه عدة مرات، مع وصول أطفال جدد عدة مرات في كل مرة في الأسبوع. كما نوصي أن يدمج المعلمون مهارات الحياة اليومية والمعايير الاجتماعية الأمريكية في تعليمهم، إذ إنه من الممكن أن يكون الطلاب لم يطلعوا في السابق على هذه المعلومات.

التقييم والتعلم

يجب أن تركز تقييمات الطلاب في المأوى على نقاط القوة والقدرات لدى الطالب بلغته الأم بدلاً من إلقاء الضوء على الثغرات المعرفية أو غياب مهارات اللغة الإنجليزية. ويجب تصميم هذه التقييمات بعناية لتتضمن جميع المعلومات الضرورية. ونوصي أن يُجرِي التقييمات معلم مؤهل لديه ما يلزم من الموارد والتدريب لكي تُحدَّد حاجات الطلاب بطريقة ملائمة. وقد يكون من الضروري وجود مترجم شفهي لتقييم بعض الطلاب تقييماً صحيحاً. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب أن تتجنب دور الإيواء تقديم إرشادات ذاتية ما لم يكمل الطالب المقررات الدراسية للمأوى أو يكون متقدماً أكاديمياً. وفي هذه الحالات، يُنصَح ببرامج التعلم عن بعد التي تسمح للطلاب بالحصول على قروض التعليم الثانوي بشرط أن يشرف على هذا المقرر الدراسي معلم في المأوى. أما الطلاب الذين لديهم مهارات محدودة في اللغة الإنجليزية أو معرفة القراءة والكتابة، فيمكن لمنصات تعلم اللغات عبر الإنترنت وأدوات التعلم الصوتية تعزيز ما يتعلمونه في القاعات الدراسية.

الشراكات

بحثت بعض دور الإيواء إقامة شراكات مع مناطق المدارس المحلية للمساعدة في توفير الخدمات التعليمية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين.[4] ويمكن لهذه الشراكات توسيع نطاق الوصول إلى المعلمين المؤهلين، وخدمات التعليم الخاصة والمقيِّمِين ذوي الخبرة في مجال الاحتياجات التعليمية والإعاقات. وقد توفر الشراكات مع مناطق المدارس للطلاب الذين يقيمون لفترة طويلة في المأوى إمكانية الوصول إلى المقررات الدراسية المُحسَّنة وفرصة الحصول على قرض مقابل الصفوف التي يجتازونها. وهذا يزيد من احتمالية إكمالهم لمتطلبات المقررات الدراسية الثانوية قبل أن يبلغوا الحد الأقصى للسن المحدد للحصول على شهادة المرحلة الثانوية (سن 21 في معظم الولايات الأمريكية). وقد تزيد الشراكات مع مناطق المدارس المحلية أيضاً عملية المراقبة العامة للبرمجة التعليمية في دور الإيواء والمساعدة في ضمان توافقها مع شروط الدولة. ونظراً لأن مناطق المدارس المحلية ليست ملزمة بتعليم الطلاب في دور الإيواء ولا تتلقى تمويلاً من الدولة للقيام بذلك، فنحن نوصي بأن يقدم مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية الدعم المالي لتعزيز هذا التعاون والحفاظ عليه.

المناطق التَّعليمية للمدارس المحلية

يجب على جميع المتخصصين المشاركين في تعليم الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين أن يدافعوا عن الالتحاق السريع والعادل للطلاب بالمدارس المحلية بمجرد تركهم لدور الإيواء. وبمجرد التحاق الطلاب بهذه المدارس نوصي بتوجيههم وتقييمهم من أجل توزيعهم على الصفوف الدراسية على نحوٍ صحيح وتحديد خدمات الدعم الضرورية لهم. ويمكن للمعلمين في دور الإيواء دﻋم تلك الجهود بإرسال سجلات تعليمية مفصلة وتوصيات بخدمات معينة أو خطة تعليم مخصصة لكل فرد مع الأطفال عندما يغادرون المأوى. ويجب توجيه مقدمي الرعاية لإحضار هذه الأوراق عند تسجيل الطفل وتوجيه المعلم بإحضارها في اليوم الأول للطفل في المدرسة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب أن تلتزم المدارس بالإرشادات الصادرة عن مكتب الحقوق المدنية التابع لوزارة التعليم الأمريكية،[5] وأن تضمن ترجمة المستندات، ويُوفَّر مترجمون شفويون للأوصياء مقدمي الرعاية الذين لا يتقنون اللغة الإنجليزية حتى يتمكنوا من المشاركة بفاعلية في تعليم الأطفال. وأخيراً، نوصي بأن يواصل المعلمون ومقدمو الخدمات الآخرون البحث عن استراتيجيات جديدة لتحقيق نتائج ناجحة وأن يدعوا إلى المعاملة العادلة لجميع الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في مجتمعاتهم.

 

كايلي ديبولد KDiebold@usccb.org

متخصصة في خدمات الأطفال، دائرة خدمات الهجرة واللاجئين، مؤتمر الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للمطارنة الكاثوليك.

www.usccb.org/about/migration-and-refugee-services

 

كيري إيڨان kerri.evans@bc.edu

مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، كلية بوسطن الجامعية للعمل الاجتماعي

www.bc.edu/socialwork

 

إيميلي هورننغ emilyehornung@gmail.com

مستشارة متخصصة في السلوك/معالجة متنقلة، دائرة بنسلفانيا للاستشارات ومتعاقدة مستقلة، منظمة خدمة الهجرة واللاجئين اللوثرية.

www.lirs.org

جميع الآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة تعبر عن آراء المؤلفين وحدهم ولا تعكس بالضرورة آراء أو مواقف دائرة خدمات الهجرة واللاجئين، أو مؤتمر الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للمطارنة الكاثوليك ولا منظمة خدمة الهجرة واللاجئين اللوثرية.

 

[1] يُعدُّ الطفل غير مصحوب ببالغين إذا كان دون الثامنة عشرة من عمره ووصل الحدود الأمريكية دون صفة هجرة مشروعة أو والد أو وصي قانوني لتقديم الرعاية والحماية المادية له.

[2] وفي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، تُصنَّف المدارس الحكومية ضمن مناطق تعليمية تديرها مجالس المدارس. وكل منطقة تعليمية مستقلة عن غيرها ولها غايتها المستقلة وتعمل بموجب الإرشادات التوجيهية للحكومة الاتحادية الأمريكية وإرشادات حكومة الولاية ومجلس المدارس المحلي التابعة له.

[3] Office of Refugee Resettlement (2015) ORR Guide: Children Entering the United States Unaccompanied

    (دليل مكتب إعادة توطين اللاجئين للأطفال الداخلين إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية دون مرافقين بالغين)

www.acf.hhs.gov/orr/resource/children-entering-the-united-states-unaccompanied

[4] Ho S (2018) ‘US school districts weigh duty to youth migrant shelters’

(المناطق التعليمية للمدارس الأمريكية تنظر في واجبها تجاه مآوي المهاجرين اليافعين)

www.boston.com/news/education/2018/08/18/us-school-districts-weigh-duty-to-youth-migrant-shelters    

[5] US Department of Education (2018) Schools' Civil Rights Obligations to English Learner Students and Limited English Proficient Parents

(التزامات المدارس من منظور حقوق الإنسان تجاه الطلاب المتعلِّمين وأولياء الأمور محدودي القدرة في اللغة الإنجليزية)

www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/ellresources

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Educating unaccompanied children in US shelters

Educational services provided to unaccompanied children in government-funded shelters in the US must be examined more critically in order to better meet the children’s varied needs – and federal standards for public education.

Since 2014, more than 250,000 unaccompanied children have arrived at the south-western border of the United States (US) in search of protection.[1] Upon arrival, most unaccompanied children are placed in the custody of the US Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of Refugee Resettlement (HHS/ORR), and transferred to government-funded shelter facilities. Shelter facilities are contracted by HHS/ORR to provide unaccompanied children with services including medical and mental health care, case management, recreation and educational programming. Since unaccompanied children are not permitted to enrol directly in the public school system while living in shelters, children must be offered on-site schooling that provides them with the knowledge and skills necessary to transition into a local school[2] when they leave the shelter to enter the care of a vetted caregiver.

Educational requirements in shelters

In the US, all children, regardless of their immigration status, are entitled to access free public primary and secondary education. There are specific guidelines setting out the minimum educational standards and services for unaccompanied children who are detained in shelters. These have been adapted by HHS/ORR into its Unaccompanied Children Program Policies and Procedures (herein referred to as ORR Guide).[3] According to the ORR Guide, permanent shelter facilities must provide:

  • an initial educational assessment within 72 hours of a child’s admission to determine the child’s level of academic development, literacy and linguistic ability
  • educational services with six hours of instruction per day, Monday to Friday, to take place in a structured classroom environment, throughout the calendar year
  • instruction in basic academic subject areas including science, social studies, mathematics, reading, writing, physical education, and English language development
  • academic reports and progress notes for every student
  • educational and classroom materials that are reflective of the children’s diversity and that are sensitive to differences
  • materials in all native languages represented at the facility
  • curricula that include remedial education, after-school tutoring, and opportunities for academic advancement, such as special projects, independent studies and preparation courses for the General Educational Development (GED) test which provides certification equivalent to the US high school diploma.

 

Practices and challenges

HHS/ORR currently operates more than 100 permanent shelters across 17 states, which vary in size from fewer than 30 children to over 400 children. While these shelters must comply with the minimum educational requirements established by the ORR Guide, various factors including the facility’s physical size, staff expertise, lack of a standardised curriculum and degree of support from the local school district mean that educational programming differs across shelters. With limited assistance from HHS/ORR, many shelters struggle to find the time and resources that are required to adequately develop curricula and implement creative educational services.

Shelters are often limited in the physical space they have available and must make adaptations to provide education to all children. Some shelters navigate this issue by organising schooling into shifts; however, finding teachers for the extended day can be a struggle. Shelters may also increase student–teacher ratios to accommodate more students. Whether students are grouped by age or according to academic development and linguistic ability is a decision taken by the shelter teachers, and both options pose challenges for classroom instruction.

A qualified teacher may not always be available to complete the initial educational assessment, meaning that a lesser-trained staff member may step in. When there are vacant teaching positions, candidates who do not meet all the ideal criteria (bilingual, certified to teach English language learners, and with knowledge about unaccompanied children) may be offered positions to prevent a gap in educational services to children.

Developing curricula to meet the diverse educational needs of unaccompanied children in shelters is a constant challenge. According to the ORR Guide, curriculum content should be based on local educational standards, be consistent with that facility’s average length of stay and be tailored to the specific level and ability of each child. However, classrooms host students of varying ages and educational backgrounds who enter and exit care at different times. These factors – combined with behavioural issues, fluctuating levels of interest in education, and trauma responses – often restrict the teachers’ ability to adequately prepare students for entering a local school system after release. Individual students’ needs can easily go unaddressed. Students who remain in care for longer than the average length of stay may repeat the curriculum if shelter staff cannot arrange new learning opportunities for them, which puts some students at risk of becoming disengaged and missing out on educational advancement.

As federally contracted facilities which receive financial grants, shelters should comply with federal laws and standards designed to protect students with disabilities, special needs or limited English skills, and take into account other factors such as race, gender identity and age. Although most unaccompanied children arriving at the south-western border are Spanish-speaking, some speak indigenous Mayan languages, and others are from countries such as Guinea, Ghana, India and Bangladesh, leading to linguistically diverse classrooms. Locating interpreters and culturally relevant materials for less widely spoken languages can be difficult, which hinders students’ access. Furthermore, although federal law protects the rights of individuals with disabilities, students in shelters may not be properly diagnosed due to limited access to qualified and certified assessors. Without an accurate diagnosis and access to necessary support services, students with disabilities may struggle to learn.

Lastly, because educational programmes in shelters typically do not receive state or local funding and are not legally required to adhere to state educational standards and guidelines, the state is not involved in monitoring these programmes. Instead, HHS/ORR conducts minimal monitoring. Students do not participate in national or state standardised assessments and no uniform learning criteria or benchmarks have been developed for these programmes.

Despite these challenges, we offer several recommendations and opportunities to encourage student success, both while in shelter schools and when they transition to local schools.

Introduction to shelter school

Unaccompanied children come from a wide variety of educational backgrounds and most are unfamiliar with educational norms and practices in the US. The classroom environment may be unlike anything the student has ever experienced before, especially if they did not attend school regularly in the past or if their school in their home country had severely limited resources. Teachers in shelters should help students to understand the rules, norms, practices and expectations of US schools. Students who do not learn how to act appropriately may be labelled negatively and be removed from the classroom once they transition to a local school. It is therefore important to teach positive behaviours from the outset. Providing individual or small group classroom orientations led by a teacher’s assistant or other support staff that take place outside the main classroom can be beneficial in welcoming new students and helping them adjust while avoiding the scenario in which, with arrivals of new children occurring many times per week, children receive the same orientation multiple times. We also recommend that teachers incorporate daily living skills and US social norms into their teaching, as the students may not have previously been exposed to this information.

Assessment and learning

Assessments for a student in a shelter should focus on the strengths and abilities of the student in his/her native language, rather than highlight knowledge gaps or lack of English language skills. These assessments should be thoughtfully designed to capture all the necessary information. We recommend that assessments are administered by a qualified educator who has the resources and training to appropriately identify a student’s needs. An interpreter may be necessary to properly assess some students. Furthermore, shelters should avoid offering self-guided instruction unless the student completes the shelter’s standard curriculum or is academically advanced. In these cases, distance learning programmes that allow students to gain secondary school credits are recommended, provided the coursework is overseen by a shelter teacher. For students with limited English or literacy skills, online language learning platforms and audio learning tools can reinforce what they learn in the classroom.

Partnerships

Some shelters have explored establishing partnerships with their local school districts to assist with the provision of educational services to unaccompanied children.[4] These partnerships can expand access to qualified teachers, special education services and experienced evaluators of educational needs and disabilities. Partnerships with school districts may also offer students who stay for an extended period in a shelter access to enhanced curricula and the opportunity to obtain credit for the classes they pass. This increases the likelihood that they will complete the secondary school course requirements before they reach the upper age limit to obtain a secondary school diploma (age 21 in most US states). Partnerships with local school districts may also increase general monitoring of educational programming in shelters and help to ensure that it aligns with state requirements. Given that local school districts are not obliged to educate students in shelters and do not receive state funding to do so, we recommend that HHS/ORR provides financial support to boost and sustain this collaboration.

Local school districts

The full range of professionals who are involved in education for unaccompanied children should advocate for the quick and fair enrolment of students in local schools once they have left shelters. Once enrolled, we recommend that an orientation is provided and that the student is assessed in order to properly determine class placement and necessary support services. Shelter teachers can support these efforts by sending detailed educational records and recommendations for specific services or an Individualized Education Plan with children when they leave the shelter. Caregivers should be instructed to bring this paperwork both when they enrol the child and for the teacher on the child’s first day at school. Additionally, schools must adhere to guidance issued by the US Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights[5] and ensure that documents are translated and interpreters are offered for sponsoring guardians with limited English proficiency so that they can actively engage in their child’s education. Lastly, we recommend that educators and other service providers continue to seek new strategies for successful outcomes and advocate for fair treatment for all unaccompanied children in their communities.

 

Kylie Diebold KDiebold@usccb.org
Children’s Services Specialist, Migration and Refugee Services, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB)
www.usccb.org/about/migration-and-refugee-services/

Kerri Evans kerri.evans@bc.edu
Doctoral candidate, Boston College School of Social Work
www.bc.edu/socialwork

Emily Hornung emilyehornung@gmail.com
Behavioral Specialist Consultant/Mobile Therapist, Pennsylvania Counseling Services and Independent Contractor, Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service
www.lirs.org

The opinions expressed herein are those of the authors alone and do not necessarily represent the opinions or positions of the USCCB, Pennsylvania Counseling Services or Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service.

 

[1] A child under the age of eighteen who arrives at the US border without lawful immigration status or a parent or legal guardian to provide care and physical custody is considered an unaccompanied child.

[2] In the US, public schools are grouped into school districts, which are governed by school boards. Each district is an independent special-purpose government, which operates under the guidelines of the US federal government, each US state government, and its local school board.

[3] Office of Refugee Resettlement (2015) ORR Guide: Children Entering the United States Unaccompanied www.acf.hhs.gov/orr/resource/children-entering-the-united-states-unaccompanied

[4] Ho S (2018) ‘US school districts weigh duty to youth migrant shelters’ www.boston.com/news/education/2018/08/18/us-school-districts-weigh-duty-to-youth-migrant-shelters

[5] US Department of Education (2018) Schools' Civil Rights Obligations to English Learner Students and Limited English Proficient Parents www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/ellresources

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview