القياس المجدي للتعلم في أوضاع الطوارئ: الدروس من أوغندا

أداة تقييم جديدة تهدف إلى توفير فهم سريع شمولي لحاجات المتعلِّمين المُهجَّرين.

تركز عمليات تقييم التعليم في حالات الطوارئ حالياً على إمكانية الوصول إلى التعليم وتهدف إلى فهم خبرة المعلمين ومؤهلاتهم بدلاً من دراسة تجارب الأطفال وتعلمهم عن كثب.[i] وعلاوةً على ذلك، يُنعَى على عمليات التقييم الدولية والوطنية طول مدتها وبأنَّها تتطلب موظفين لجمع البيانات مدربين تدريباً عالياً وغالباً لا يكون موظفو جمع البيانات متاحين في أعقاب التهجير مباشرة. ومن ثمّ يعني الافتقار إلى إجراء عمليات تقييم صارمة وعملية في برمجة التعليم في حالات الطوارئ محدودية المعلومات حول الثغرات القائمة في تعلم الأطفال وتأثير برامج التعليم في حالات الطوارئ.

وصُمِّم التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير (HALDO) لسد هذه الثغرات المعرفية.[ii]فهو يمكّن المزاولين من فهم حاجات المتعلمين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 4 سنوات إلى 12 سنة في أربعة مجالات هي: معرفة القراءة والكتابة، والحساب، والتعلم الاجتماعي والانفعالي، والأداء التنفيذي.[iii] ويتضمن التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير أيضاً أسئلةً تتعلق بالخصائص الديموغرافية والأسرية، والحالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، وبيئة التعلم المنزلي، والإعاقة.[iv]

وفي عام 2018، وُضِع التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير موضع التجريب في 32 مركزاً ومدرسة تعليمية تديرها منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) ومنظمة ويندل إنترناشونال أوغندا (Windle International Uganda) في مستوطنتي رواموانجا وكيانجوالي للاجئين في غرب أوغندا. ونظراً لتدفق اللاجئين من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية في الآونة الأخيرة لكلا التجمعين السكانيين والخلفيات اللغوية المتنوعة لأولئك اللاجئين (إذ وُجِد أن هناك 24 لغة أم)، وجدت المدارس أن استيعاب المتعلمين يمثل تحدياً كبيراً.

التحديات التي تواجه التنفيذ

لقد وجدنا أنَّ التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير قدَّم قياساً صحيحاً وموثوقاً للمجالات المختلفة لتعلم الأطفال وتطورهم في هذه التجمعات السكانية. وفي هذه المقالة، نركز على ثلاثة تحديات حدثت أثناء التجربة وتتعلق بتطبيقها العملي.

اللغة: في النقاش الذي أجريناه مع منظمي المجتمع، وجدنا أنَّ اللغة الإنجليزية، واللغة السواحيلية، ولغة كينيابوشا / كينيارواندا هي أكثر اللغات ملاءمة للتقييم. وذلك تطلب أن يتحدث غالبية المُقيِّمين اللغات الثلاث بطلاقة لأنَّ المدارس غير مقسمّة حسب اللغة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وَجَد المُقيِّمون أنَّ الترجمة السواحيلية لم تستخدم لغة ملائمة للأطفال، لذا فبدلاً من السماح للمُقيِّمِين بإعادة صياغة الأسئلة أثناء التقييمات، اضطررنا إلى مراجعة صياغة جميع عناصر التقييمات في أثناء التدريب لضمان الاتساق واستخدام المصطلحات الملائمة. وانطلاقاً من الإقرار بالتنوع اللغوي، يجب على الذين يجرون التقييمات في المستقبل إجراء تخطيط لغوي أكثر شمولاً قبل ترجمة الأداة، وإنشاء إطار لأخذ العينات يعتمد على اللغات المنطوقة، وإشراك المُقيِّمِين الذين يتحدثون اللغات بطلاقة، والتوصية بأن يعمل المترجمون مع أفراد المجتمع لإدماج لغة ملائمة للأطفال.

تدريب المُقيِّمين: أجرينا تجربة على نموذج ’التدريب السريع للمُقيِّم‘ يمكن استخدامه في برامج التعليم في حالات الطوارئ المحدودة الوقت والموارد. وقد أبرزت هذه التجربة في أوغندا التحديات التي تواجه هذا النموذج. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنَّ النتائج المترتبة على نشر هذا النموذج التدريبي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى الإضرار بمصداقية تقييم المُقيِّمين؛ إذ قد لا يكون هناك وقت كافٍ لوضع فهم متسق للتقييم واستخدامه. وقد ساعدتنا هذه التجربة في تحديد الأسئلة التي يواجه فيها المُقيِّمون صعوبة - مثل المهام المحددة بوقتٍ زمني والبت في الاستجابات المناسبة وغير المناسبة لأسئلة التعلم الاجتماعي والعاطفي- مما يتيح لنا تعديل تدريب المُقيِّم السريع من أجل دعم فهم أفضل للمُقيِّمِين فيما يتعلق بهذه المناطق وكيفية تقييم الاستجابات.

التغذية الراجعة للميسِّرين: يتمثل أحد أهداف التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير في تزويد المعلمين والميسرين بمعلومات مُجمَّعة عن ثغرات تعلم الأطفال الذين يعملون معهم، وقد أكدت التجربة أهمية ذلك. ومن طرق دعم تقديم التغذية الراجعة هذه ربط نتائج التقييم بمحتوى تعليمي مُعَد خصيصاً لضمان مصاحبة تقييم حاجات التعلم والتطوير المحددة بتعليمات واضحة حول المواد التعليمية المناسبة المطلوبة من أجل معالجتها

ويتضمن التحسين المستمر للتقييم الشامل للتعليم والتطوير وضع إرشادات توجيهية حول كيفية تكييف التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير وترجمته على نحوٍ أفضل وتحسين تدريب المُقيِّمين بحيث يمكن نشر الأداة بسرعة في البداية المبكرة للتهجير. ومن خلال إجراء المزيد من الاختبارات والتحليل، سوف نستخدم نتائج التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير في إرشاد توصياتنا المقدمة للمعلمين والميسرين الذين يعملون مع الأطفال في حالات التهجير القسري لضمان تلبية التعليم المقدَّم لاحتياجات الأطفال تلبيةً فعّالة.

نيكهي ديسا ndsa@savechildren.org

المدير، البحث والتقييم والتَّعلُّم

أليسون كروبار akrupar@savechildren.org

متخصصة رئيسية، بحوث التَّعلُّم

كلاي ويستروب cwestrope@savechildren.org

متخصصة رئيسية، بحوث التَّعلُّم

Save the Children منظمة إنقاذ الطفل www.savethechildren.org

[i] لمزيد من المعلومات حول ’التَّعلم الجيد‘ في التَّهجير، انظر كروبار وأنسيليم في هذا العدد.

[ii] لمزيد من المعلومات حول التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير (HALDO)، يمكن التواصل من خلال البريد الإلكتروني learningassessment@savechildren.org.

[iii] محو الأمية تقيس المفردات وتحديد الأحرف ودقة القراءة ومهارة الاستيعاب. بينما تقيس مهارة الحساب العد وتحديد الأرقام ومهارتي الجمع والطرح ومسائل الكلمات. أمَّا التعلم الاجتماعي والانفعالي (SEL) فيقيس المفهوم الذاتي والتقمص العاطفي. وتقيس القدرة الوظيفية التنفيذية الذاكرة قصيرة المدى والذاكرة العاملة من خلال طرح الأسئلة حول سلسلات الأرقام.

[iv] يتضمن التقييم الشامل لنتائج التعلم والتطوير (HALDO) ثلاثة أسئلة حول الإعاقة على ضوء المجموعة الميسرة لمجموعة واشنطن حل القدرات الوظيفية

http://www.washingtongroup-disability.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/WG-Document-2-The-Washington-Group-Short-Set-on-Functioning.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Feasible measurement of learning in emergencies: lessons from Uganda

A new assessment tool aims to provide a rapid, holistic understanding of displaced learners’ needs.

Education assessments in emergencies currently focus on access or aim to understand teachers’ experience and qualifications rather than closely examine children’s experiences and learning.[1] Moreover, many international and national assessments are lengthy and require highly trained data collectors, who are often unavailable in the immediate aftermath of displacement. The lack of assessments that are rigorous yet feasible to undertake in education in emergencies (EiE) programming means there is often limited information about gaps in children’s learning and the impact of EiE programmes.

The Holistic Assessment of Learning and Development Outcomes (HALDO) is designed to fill such knowledge gaps.[2] It enables practitioners to understand the needs of learners aged 4–12 across four domains: literacy, numeracy, social and emotional learning (SEL), and executive functioning.[3] HALDO also includes questions about demographic and household characteristics, socio-economic status, home learning environment, and disability.[4]

In 2018, HALDO was piloted in 32 education centres and schools managed by Save the Children and Windle International Uganda in the Rwamwanja and Kyangwali refugee settlements in western Uganda. Given the recent influx of refugees from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) to both settlements and their diverse language backgrounds (24 mother tongue languages were identified), schools have found accommodating learners particularly challenging.

Challenges to implementation

We found that HALDO offered a reliable, valid measurement of the different domains of children’s learning and development in these settlements. In this article we focus on three challenges experienced during the pilot which relate to its practical application.

Language: In discussion with community organisers, we identified English, Kiswahili and Kinyabusha/Kinyarwanda as the most appropriate languages for the assessment. This required a majority of assessors to speak all three languages fluently since schools were not separated by language. Additionally, assessors found that the Kiswahili translation did not use child-friendly language; rather than allowing the assessors to reword questions during the assessments, we needed instead to revise the wording for all items during the training, to ensure consistency and use of appropriate terminology. In recognition of language diversity, those undertaking future assessments should conduct a more comprehensive language mapping before translating the tool, create a sampling frame based on the languages spoken, engage assessors that speak the languages fluently, and recommend that translators work with community members to incorporate child-friendly language.

Assessor training: We piloted a ‘rapid assessor training’ model that can be used in EiE programmes that have limited time and resources. The pilot in Uganda highlighted the challenges with this model. Notably, the outcome of deploying such a training model can be to damage the reliability of assessors’ scoring, since there may have been insufficient time for them to develop a harmonised understanding of the assessment and its use. The pilot helped us to identify specific questions with which assessors struggled – like timed tasks and deciding on appropriate and inappropriate responses for SEL questions – allowing us to modify the rapid assessor training to better support assessors’ understanding in relation to these areas and how responses should be scored. 

Facilitator feedback: One aim of HALDO is to provide teachers and facilitators with aggregated information about the learning gaps of children with whom they are working, and the pilot underlined the importance of this. One way to support this provision of feedback is to connect the assessment results with tailored learning content to ensure that the learning and development needs that have been identified are accompanied by explicit instruction on the appropriate teaching materials required to address them.

Continuing refinement of HALDO includes creating guidance on how to better adapt and translate HALDO and improving assessor training so that the tool can be rapidly deployed in the early onset of displacement. Through further testing and analysis, we will use HALDO findings to inform our recommendations for teachers and facilitators working with children in situations of forced displacement to ensure that the education being provided meets the children’s needs more effectively.

 

Nikhit D’Sa ndsa@savechildren.org
Director, Research, Evaluation, and Learning

Allyson Krupar akrupar@savechildren.org
Senior Specialist, Learning Research

Clay Westrope cwestrope@savechildren.org
Senior Specialist, Learning Research

Save the Children www.savethechildren.org   

 

[1] For more on ‘good learning’ in displacement, see Krupar and Anselme in this issue.

[2] For more information about HALDO, email learningassessment@savechildren.org.

[3] Literacy measures vocabulary, letter identification, reading accuracy and reading comprehension. Numeracy measures counting, number identification, addition and subtraction, and word problems. SEL measures self-concept and empathy. Executive functioning measures short-term memory and working memory through questions about number sequences.

[4] HALDO includes three questions about disability which draw on the Washington Group Short Set on Functioning bit.ly/WG-SS-2017

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview