المعلمون في التَّهجير: التَّعلم من دروس داداب

ما زال المعلمون اللاجئون يؤمنون رغم التحديات بإمكانات التعليم في تحويل حياة المتعلمين اللاجئين ومجتمعاتهم. ولا بد من السماع لأصوات هؤلاء المعلمين والنظر في حاجاتهم عند توفير التعليم للاجئين إذا ما أريد تحسين الوصول إلى التعليم والحصول على النتائج المرجوة.

تستضيف مخيمات داداب للاجئين في شمال شرق كينيا -وهي مخيمات كانت قد افتُتِحت في عام 1991 للاجئين الفارين من الحرب الأهلية في الصومال- حوالي 225.000 شخص. ومن بين اللاجئين في هذه المخيمات يوجد 58 بالمائة منهم دون سن الثامنة عشرة، يعمل على تقديم الخدمات التعليمية لهم 35 مركز رياض أطفال و35 مدرسة ابتدائية وست مدارس ثانوية كلها موجودة في المخيمات وتديرها المنظمات غير الحكومية أو القطاع الخاص، فضلاً عن المدارس القرآنية التي يديرها المجتمع المحلي.[1]وقد أدى تردي جودة المدارس التي تديرها المنظمات غير الحكومية في السنوات الأخيرة إلى زيادة عدد المدارس الخاصة التي تتقاضى ما يعادل 15 دولاراً أمريكياً في الشهر نظير الالتحاق بالمدارس الابتدائية و30 دولاراً نظير الالتحاق بالمدارس الثانوية. ومع ذلك فهذه الرسوم لا يطيق تحملها معظم العائلات المهجَّرة في مخيمات داداب التي تعتمد على المساعدات الإنسانية.

تدريب المعلمين ومصادرهم

من بين العوامل التي تؤثر في جودة المدارس التي تديرها المنظمات غير الحكومية بصفةٍ خاصة نقص التطوير اللازم للمعلمين اللاجئين (أي المعلمين الذين هم أنفسهم من اللاجئين)، وهم يشكلون غالبية معلمي المدارس الابتدائية والثانوية في مخيمات داداب. وغالباً ما يضطر هؤلاء المعلمون – الذين تبلغ نسبة الحاصلين منهم على مؤهل تعليم ثانوي 72 بالمائة- إلى الاعتماد على تجربتهم الخاصة في التعليم المدرسي في توجيه طرق تدريسهم وإدارتهم للفصول الدراسية. وتتوفر أمامهم القليل من الفرص للتدريب فضلاً عن أنه يقتصر على السياسات التنظيمية للمنظمة غير الحكومية التي تدير المدرسة. وتُرجِّع المنظمات غير الحكومية السبب في عدم تنظيم التدريب الرسمي أو توظيف عدد كافٍ من المعلمين اللاجئين إلى عدم كفاية التمويل.

وتتمثل إحدى النتائج البارزة المترتبة على عدم كفاية تدريب المعلمين في اعتماد المعلمين اعتماداً كبيراً في طرق تدريسهم على الحفظ والاختبار بدلاً من التعلم القائم على البحث؛ مما يضعف القدرة على الإبداع والتفكير النقدي لدى الطلاب. كما أنَّ الطلاب الذين يعانون من نقص المعرفة أو صعوبات في التعلم أو مشكلات سلوكية (قد تكون قائمة على الصدمة في الأساس) لا يُقدَم لهم الدعم الكافي؛ ويسهم ذلك في زيادة معدلات التغيب عن المدرسة والتسرب منها. ويفتقر المعلمون إلى المناهج الدراسية ذات الصلة بثقافتهم ويفتقرون كذلك إلى التدريب على كيفية تطبيق مصادر المناهج الدراسية وطرق التدريس وتعديلها. وغالباً ما تكون المصادر المتاحة غير كافية لدعم هذه الأعداد من المتعلمين والمعلمين؛ ما يؤثر في جودة التعليم وتحصيل الطلاب.

الاكتظاظ

القاعات الدراسية في مخيمات داداب مكتظة جداً بالطلاب، إذ تستوعب من 80 إلى 100 طالب. وهذا العدد الكبير يؤثر في الطرق التي يُقدِّم بها المعلمون عملية التعليم اليومية بالتواصل اللفظي وغير اللفظي، ويقلل كذلك من الفرص المتاحة أمام المعلمين لتقديم تعليم متميز واستيعاب الطلاب على اختلاف قدراتهم. واستناداً إلى تجربتنا في التدريس في مخيمات داداب، فقد كان للصفوف الدراسية المكتظة التي يتنافس فيها الطلاب على أماكن الجلوس القليلة دورٌ في زيادة حالات النزاع بين الطلاب وسوء السلوك. وغالباً ما يقضي المعلمون في مخيمات داداب وقتاً كبيراً نسبياً في تسوية النزاعات بين الطلاب؛ مما يقلل من الوقت المخصص للتدريس. ومن ثمّ ينظر المعلمون غير المدربين في بعض الأحيان إلى العقوبة البدنية على أنها وسيلةً للحفاظ على الانضباط. وأوضح أحد المعلمين اللاجئين المعنيين بالأمر أنه "هنا في داداب، غالباً ما يُشَار إلى العصا المستخدمة للعقاب باسم المعلم المساعد". 

ويمكن أن يكون لاستخدام العقوبة البدنية عواقب نفسية اجتماعية سلبية على المتعلمين، ويمكن أن يعيد مرةً أخرى هياكل السلطة الحالية وأوجه عدم المساواة، وهذا يعني ضمناً أن المشاكل يمكن حلها بالقوة والخضوع للسلطة. وقد رَبطتْ دراسات مختلفة من جميع أنحاء العالم العقوبة البدنية بتغيب الطلاب عن المدرسة وتسربهم منها؛ إذ إن الطلاب أصبحوا ينظرون إلى المدرسة على أنها بيئة غير ودية، ويمكن أن تكون هذه العقوبة البدنية ضارة بصفةٍ خاصة على الطلاب اللاجئين الذين تعرضوا لصدمة أو شاهدوا عائلاتهم وأصدقائهم في حالة صدمة.

ظروف العمل غير المستقرة

غالباً ما يكون المعلمون اللاجئون ممن كانوا متفوقين في صف تخرجهم في المدرسة الثانوية، ولديهم القدرة على التحدث بلغات متعددة والعمل بمنزلة جسر بين المنظمات غير الحكومية ومجتمعات اللاجئين. ومع ذلك، فإنهم يواجهون تحدياتٍ عديدة، من بينها عدم التنسيق بين السلطات التعليمية وسلطات تسجيل اللاجئين، والعقبات التي تحول دون الحصول على الاعتماد والعمل معلمين، والعداء ضدهم، والاستبعاد من نقابات المعلمين[2]بالإضافة إلى أنَّ الظروف العملية في غاية الصعوبة؛ إذ ينتقل المعلمون اللاجئون أحياناً لمسافات طويلة داخل مخيمهم أو خارجه للعمل في فصول دراسية ذات أعدادٍ كبيرة من الطلاب لا يُقدّم لها الدعم الكافي.

لا يتلقى معظم المعلمون المُهَجَّرون في كينيا التدريب ولا يحصلون على الترخيص لمزاولة المهنة. ونظًراً لأنَّ اللاجئين ليس لهم الحق في العمل في كينيا، فإن المعلمين اللاجئين الذين يُطلَق عليهم ’العاملون بحوافز‘ يُوظَّفون وتُدفَع لهم أجور منخفضة ثابتة، وعادة ما تكون نسبةً ضئيلة مما يحصل عليه المواطن الكيني عند العمل في الوظيفة ذاتها،[3] أما المكافأة فتظل كما هي بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا حاصلين على مؤهلات بعد المرحلة الثانوية أم لا. ولا يُسمَح للمعلمين المُهَجَّرين بأكثر من أجر الحوافز وتُطبَّق عليهم عقوبة إذا شاركوا في أعمال إضافية مدفوعة الأجر. وقد أدى هذا التفاوت بين المعلمين اللاجئين والمعلمين غير اللاجئين إلى ضعف رغبة المهنيين المتعلمين من اللاجئين في العمل بهذه الوظيفة ولا سيما النساء اللاتي يبحثن عن عمل أقل إرهاقاً نظراً لمسؤولياتهن في رعاية في المنزل. وتتفاوض المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين على أجور معلمي اللاجئين مع الحكومة الكينية، غير إنَّه من المتوقع أن يكتفي المعلمون اللاجئون بهذا الحافز المدفوع لأن صفتهم كلاجئين تمنحهم الحق في المساعدة بالمأوى والأمور العينية. ومِن ثَمّ فإنَّ المعلمين اللاجئين أكثر عرضة للفصل من المعلمين الكينيين وذلك في حالات نقص التمويل وخفض الرتبة والتغافل في عمليات التوظيف والتمييز على أساس الصفة القانونية والأصل العرقي. فعلى سبيل المثال، في أماكن أخرى في كينيا استُبدل بصورةٍ مفاجئة مؤخراً بالمعلمين ومديري المدارس من اللاجئين معلمون كينيون بناءً على طلب السلطات الكينية.[4]

ولا يُؤخَذ برأي المعلمين اللاجئين عادةً في المشاورات المتعلقة بالتعليم والتعلم في المدرسة أو شروط العمل وأحكامه أو تطبيق المنهاج الدراسي. وتؤدي هذه الممارسات إلى تقويض مهنية اللاجئين المعلمين بوجهٍ عام ومديري المدارس بصفةٍ خاصة. علاوةً على ذلك، لا يزال المعلمون اللاجئون يواجهون تحديات اجتماعية واقتصادية وسياسية كونهم لاجئون. ويتعرضون لخطر العنف والابتزاز من الشرطة وغيرهم من المسؤولين المسلحين. وقد يضطرون إلى التغيب عن العمل من أجل رعاية مريض أو بسبب حالة وفاة أحد أفراد الأسرة، وهو واقع متكرر في مخيمات اللاجئين نظراً لتكرر حوادث اندلاع الحرائق وتفشي العنف والأمراض المعدية. ومع كل هذا، قد يجدون أنّه من الصعب الحصول على الدعم المتاح عادةً للموظفين الوطنيين والدوليين.

نحو الإصلاح

يوجد تناقض متأصل في تنظيم التعليم، الأمر الذي يتطلب تخطيطاً كبيراً ومستداماً حول وضع نهج ينبع من التفكير في حالة الطوارئ، ألا وهو افتراض أنَّ التهجير سيكون قصير الأجل ومؤقتاً. ومن أجل تحسين نوعية تعليم اللاجئين وشموليته ينبغي على الممولين وأصحاب المصلحة المعنيين في المجال الإنساني الاستثمار في تدريب المعلمين اللاجئين وخفض أعداد الطلاب في الفصول، وزيادة فرص الوصول إلى مصادر المناهج الدراسية. وينبغي أن تُرسِي المنظمات غير الحكومية مبدأ التكافؤ في الأجور بين المعلمين من أبناء البلد والمعلمين اللاجئين من حملة المؤهلات الجامعية؛ وهذا من شأنه أن يساعد على استبقاء الخبرات ودعم التطوير المهني العام للمعلمين في المخيمات لا سيما عن طريق إرشاد المعلمين المبتدئين وغير المدربين.

وقد سعى المعلمون اللاجئون على الدوام إلى التغيير،[5] وأقر الفاعلون الإنسانيون في المجال الإنساني بضرورة إصلاح تعليم اللاجئين،[6] ويتماشى مقترحنا للإصلاح مع وجهات النظر تلك. وينبغي إجراء المراجعات المنهجية الإقليمية من خلال التشاور مع أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين الرئيسيين، ولا سيما المعلمين اللاجئين والطلاب وأولياء الأمور وقادة المجتمع المحلي والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمانحين والسلطات التعليمية الوطنية والأكاديميين للنظر في إجراء إصلاح جوهري وطويل الأجل في تعليم اللاجئين. ويجب أن يكون للاجئين، ولا سيما المعلمين منهم، مشاركةً فعّالة في تخطيط تعليم اللاجئين وتوفيره نظراً لأن اللاجئين أنفسهم -قبل الجميع- هم أكبر المستفيدين من هذا الإصلاح. وبدون هذا الإصلاح ستُقوَّض الجهود الرامية إلى النهوض بتعليم اللاجئين بصورةٍ كبيرة بسبب عدم المشاركة؛ مما يعزز فكرة أن اللاجئين هم أفرادٌ سلبيون يحكمهم مجتمع المساعدات الإنسانية، وليسوا أفرداً لهم رأي في كيفية تنظيم حياتهم.  

 

محمد دوالي Mohamed_Duale@edu.yorku.ca

طالب في مرحلة الدكتوراه

أوتشان ليوموي anepo@my.yorku.ca

عبد الله آدن capture@my.yorku.ca

أوكيلو أويات omo01@my.yorku.ca

آرتي داغاني arte2007@my.yorku.ca

عبد القادر أبيكار abikar14@my.yorku.ca

طلاب في مرحلة الماجستير في التربية من خلال مشروع التعليم العالي بلا حدود للاجئين، ومعلمون لاجئون يعملون حالياً في مخيمات داداب

كلية التربية، جامعة يورك، كندا https://edu.yorku.ca

 

[1]  UNHCR (2017) Operational Update: Dadaab, Kenya

(تحديث عملياتي: داداب، كينيا)

www.unhcr.org/ke/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2017/10/15-October-Dadaab-Bi-weekly-Operational-Update.pdf

[2] Sesnan B, Allemano E, Ndugga H and Said, S (2013) Educators in Exile: The Role and Status of Refugee Teachers London: Commonwealth Secretariat, p. 3.

(إكوداريون في المنفى: دور المعلمين اللاجئين وصفتهم)

[3] Kamau C and Fox J (2013) The Dadaab Dilemma: A Study on Livelihood Activities and Opportunities for Dadaab RefugeesDanish Refugee Council, p. 18

(معضلة داداب: دراسة حول نشاطات سبل كسب الرزق وفرصه للاجئين في مخيم داداب)

www.alnap.org/help-library/the-dadaab-dilemma-a-study-on-livelihood-activities-and-opportunities-for-dadaab  

[4] Ebru TV Kenya (17th January 2018) ‘Refugee Teachers Ask President Uhuru For Help’

(المعلمون اللاجئون يطلبون المساعدة من الرئيس أوهورو)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R55NzyiaZsw

[5] IRIN (2013) ‘Education disrupted by teachers’ strike in Kenya’s Dadaab refugee camp’

(تعطيل التعليم بسبب إضراء المعلمين في مخيم دادب للاجئين في كينيا)

www.irinnews.org/report/97333/education-disrupted-teachers%E2%80%99-strike-kenya%E2%80%99s-dadaab-refugee-camp

[6] UNHCR (2016) Missing Out: Refugee Education in Crisis

(الأمر المفقود: تعليم اللاجئين في حالة أزمة)

http://uis.unesco.org/sites/default/files/documents/missing-out-refugee-education-in-crisis_unhcr_2016-en.pdf  

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Teachers in displacement: learning from Dadaab

Despite the challenges they face, refugee teachers believe in the potential of education to transform the lives of refugee learners and communities. Their voices and needs must inform refugee education provision in order to improve access and outcomes.

The Dadaab refugee camps in north-east Kenya, which were opened in 1991 for refugees fleeing Somalia’s civil war, currently host around 225,000 people. Fifty-eight per cent are under the age of 18 and are served by 35 preschool centres, 35 primary schools and six secondary schools in the camps, which are run by non-governmental organisations (NGOs) or are privately run, in addition to community-operated Quranic schools.[1] The poor quality of schools run by NGOs has led in recent years to a growth in the number of private schools, which charge the equivalent of US $15 per month to attend primary school and $30 to attend secondary school. These fees are prohibitive for most refugee families in the Dadaab camps, who rely on humanitarian assistance.

Teacher training and resources

Among the factors affecting the quality of NGO-run schools in particular is the lack of development available to refugee teachers (that is, teachers who are themselves refugees), who comprise the majority of primary and secondary school teachers in the Dadaab camps. Refugee teachers, 72% of whom have only secondary school qualifications, often have to depend on their own experience of schooling to inform their pedagogy and classroom management. They have few opportunities for training other than being briefed on the organisational policies of the NGO that is running the school. The NGOs cite inadequate funding as the reason why they do not organise formal training or employ a sufficient number of refugee teachers.

The most obvious consequence of having insufficiently trained teachers is that teachers rely heavily on memorisation and testing rather than inquiry-based learning, which undercuts creativity and critical thinking. Learners who have gaps in knowledge, learning disabilities or behavioural issues (that may be based on underlying trauma) are not adequately supported and this contributes to absenteeism and dropouts. Teachers lack culturally relevant curricula and they also lack training on how to implement and modify curriculum resources and pedagogy. The resources that are available are often insufficient to support the numbers of learners and teachers, affecting both the quality of instruction and student achievement.

Overcrowding

Classrooms in the Dadaab camps are all significantly overcrowded, hosting 80 to 100 learners. Large class sizes affect the ways in which teachers provide daily instruction through verbal and non-verbal communication and also reduce opportunities for teachers to provide differentiated instruction and to accommodate students with differing abilities. From our experience of teaching in the Dadaab camps, we know that overcrowded classrooms in which students compete for scarce seating room contributed to increased incidences of student conflict and misbehaviour. Teachers in Dadaab often spend a disproportionate amount of time settling disputes between students, which reduces teaching time. As a result, untrained teachers sometimes come to see corporal punishment as a way of maintaining discipline. One concerned refugee teacher explained that “here in Dadaab, the stick used for punishment is often referred to as the assistant teacher”. 

The use of corporal punishment can have negative psychosocial consequences for learners, reproduce existing power structures and inequalities and imply that problems can be solved by force and obedience to authority. Studies from around the world have linked physical punishment to student absenteeism and dropout as pupils come to see school as an unfriendly environment, and it can be particularly harmful for refugee students who will have experienced trauma or seen their family and friends traumatised.

Precarious working conditions

Refugee teachers are often those who were near the top of their graduating class in secondary school, speak multiple languages, and work as a bridge between NGOs and refugee communities. However, they face numerous challenges, including a lack of coordination between education authorities and refugee registration authorities, obstacles to obtaining accreditation and employment as teachers, and hostility and exclusion from teachers’ unions.[2] Practical conditions are also very difficult, with refugee teachers sometimes commuting long distances within or outside of their camp, to work in large and insufficiently supported classrooms.

Most refugee teachers in Kenya are untrained and unlicensed. As refugees do not have the right to work in Kenya, refugee teachers are hired as so-called ‘incentive workers’ and paid a fixed low wage, typically a fraction of what a Kenyan national would be given for working in the same position[3] – and that remuneration remains the same irrespective of whether they obtain post-secondary qualifications. Refugee teachers are not permitted to earn more than the incentive wage and are penalised if they engage in additional paid work. The disparities between refugee and non-refugee teachers has made the vocation less attractive to educated refugee professionals, particularly women, who look for less stressful work given responsibilities of care at home. UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, negotiates the refugee teachers’ wage with the Kenyan government and refugee teachers are expected to make do with incentive pay as their refugee status entitles them to in-kind shelter and food assistance. Refugee teachers are thus much more vulnerable than Kenyan national teachers to being dismissed during funding shortfalls, demotion, being over-looked in recruitment processes and to discrimination based on legal status and ethnicity. Elsewhere in Kenya, for example, refugee teachers and headteachers in the Kakuma refugee camp were recently suddenly replaced by Kenyan teachers, at the Kenyan authorities’ request.[4]

Refugee teachers are not usually consulted on matters concerning teaching and learning in the school, employment terms and conditions or curriculum implementation. Such practices undermine the professionalism of refugee teachers in general and the authority of refugee headteachers in particular. Moreover, refugee teachers still face the social, economic and political challenges of being a refugee. They are at risk of violence and extortion from police and other armed officials. They may need time off work to attend to illness or death in the family, a frequent reality in refugee camps where outbreaks of fire, violence and communicable diseases are a regular occurrence. Nonetheless, they may find that the support that is more typically available to national and international staff is difficult to access.

Towards reform

There is an inherent contradiction in organising education, which requires significant and sustained planning around an approach that stems from emergency thinking – an assumption that displacement will be short-term and temporary. To improve the quality and inclusiveness of refugee education, funders and humanitarian stakeholders should invest in the training of refugee teachers, reduce class sizes, and provide greater access to curriculum resources. NGOs should establish pay parity between nationals and highly qualified refugee teachers; this would help to both retain expertise and support the overall professional development of teachers in the camps, in particular by mentoring novice and untrained teachers.

Refugee teachers have long sought change,[5] and humanitarian actors have recognised the need to reform refugee education,[6] and our proposal for reform is aligned with these perspectives. Regional systemic reviews should be carried out through consultation with key stakeholders – particularly refugee teachers, students, parents, community leaders, NGOs, donors, national educational authorities and academics – to consider long-term, fundamental reform of refugee education. Refugees, especially refugee educators, must have meaningful participation in the planning and provision of education for refugees since it is refugees, above all others, who have the most to gain from reform. Without reform, efforts to advance refugee education will ultimately be undermined by a lack of participation, reinforcing the notion of refugees as passive and governed by the humanitarian community, rather than as people with opinions about how their lives should be organised.  

 

Mohamed Duale Mohamed_Duale@edu.yorku.ca 
Doctoral student

Ochan Leomoi anepo@my.yorku.ca

Abdullahi Aden capture@my.yorku.ca

Okello Oyat omo01@my.yorku.ca

Arte Dagane arte2007@my.yorku.ca

Abdikadir Abikar abikar14@my.yorku.ca

Master of Education students through the Borderless Higher Education for Refugees (BHER) Project, and refugee teachers currently working in the Dadaab camps

Faculty of Education, York University, Canada https://edu.yorku.ca/

 

[1] UNHCR (2017) Operational Update: Dadaab, Kenya www.unhcr.org/ke/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2017/10/15-October-Dadaab-Bi-weekly-Operational-Update.pdf

[2] Sesnan B, Allemano E, Ndugga H and Said, S (2013) Educators in Exile: The Role and Status of Refugee Teachers London: Commonwealth Secretariat, p. 3.

[3] Kamau C and Fox J (2013) The Dadaab Dilemma: A Study on Livelihood Activities and Opportunities for Dadaab RefugeesDanish Refugee Council, p. 18 www.alnap.org/help-library/the-dadaab-dilemma-a-study-on-livelihood-activities-and-opportunities-for-dadaab  

[4] Ebru TV Kenya (17th January 2018) ‘Refugee Teachers Ask President Uhuru For Help’ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R55NzyiaZsw

[5] IRIN (2013) ‘Education disrupted by teachers’ strike in Kenya’s Dadaab refugee camp’ www.irinnews.org/report/97333/education-disrupted-teachers%E2%80%99-strike-kenya%E2%80%99s-dadaab-refugee-camp

[6] UNHCR (2016) Missing Out: Refugee Education in Crisis http://uis.unesco.org/sites/default/files/documents/missing-out-refugee-education-in-crisis_unhcr_2016-en.pdf  

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview