التَّعلم المتَّصل: تقييم للاجئين

يُقدِّم التَّعلُّم المتَّصل الفرصة لتوسيع إمكانية الوصول إلى التَّعليم العالي للاجئين بما يعود بالفائدة على كُلٍّ من الأفراد والمجتمعات.

منذ عام 2013، دأبت منظمة كبلر غير الحكومية وجامعة ساذرن نيو هامبشاير على توفير برنامج بكالوريوس تعتمده الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لكل من اللاجئين والرعايا الروانديين. واقتُتِحَ الموقع الأول في كيغالي في عام 2013، تبعه موقع ثان في عام 2015 في مخيم كيزيبا للاجئين في غربي رواندا. ويتدرج الطلاب في نموذج ’مختلط‘ يجمع ما بين التَّعلُّم عبر الإنترنت من منهاج جامعة ساذرن نيو هامبشر والتعليم المباشرة وجهاً لوجه بالدعم الأكاديمي الذي تقدمه كبلر.

وبالنسبة للطلاب المُهجَّرين مثلنا ممن تخرّجوا من جامعة ساذرن نيو هامبشر بالتعاون مع منظمة كبلر في كيزيبا، فإن الالتحاق بالجامعة ليس مجرد سبيل يؤدي بنا إلى الأمل والكرامة وحسب، بل يمكنه أيضاً أن يترك أثراً إيجابياً على مجتمعاتنا. فعندما يحصل أحدنا على وظيفة ما، فإنه يدعم بذلك عائلاته والآخرين ليعتمدوا على أنفسهم. ومع التقدم الحالي في مجال التكنولوجيا فثمة فرصة عظيمة للهيئات الإنسانية للعمل على توسيع فرص الوصول للاجئين. وبناءً على البرنامج المشترك بين منظمة كبلر وجامعة ساذرن نيو هامبشرفي رواندا نقدم التوصيات التالية:

جعل التعليم العالي أكثر شمولية: ينبغي للبرامج أن تظهر التزاماً قوياً لضمان وصول النِّساء والمستضعفين من مجتمعي المضيفين واللاجئين. فعلى سبيل المثال، في مخيم كيزيبا، يقدم برنامجٌ للقيادة النِّسائية دروساً تمهيدية تدعم المتقدمات الإناث في تحسين مهاراتهنّ وتشجعهنّ للاتحاق ببرنامج البكالوريوس. إنّ مثل هذه التدخلات إلى جانب النهج القائم على العدالة لقبول طلبات الالتحاق حققت التوازن التام بنسبة 50:50 بين الجنسين من الطلبة في كلا الحرمَين الجامعيَين. ويجدر القول أنّ برامج التعلّم المتصل تتمتّع بفرصة أكبر لتكون أكثر شمولية من معظم برامج المنح التقليدية: فمثلاً، في عام 2017 بلغت نسبة المستفيدات الإناث من منحة مبادرة آلبرت آينشتاين الأكاديمية الألمانية للاجئين والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في رواندا 31 بالمائة فلم تزد على تلك النسبة.[1]

منح درجات جامعية معتمدة: يحصل الطلبة الذين يستكملون برنامج كبلر وجامعة ساذرن نيو هامبشر على درجة البكالوريوس التي تعتمدها الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. ويضمن اعتماد الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الاعتراف بالشهادة الجامعية في كثير من البلدان كما يمكّن الطلبة من مواصلة تعليمهم. فإذا لم تمنح البرامج درجة معتمدة سيكون من الصعب على الطلبة أن يتنافسوا في أسواق العمل المحلية والعالمية.

مراعاة نتائج التوظيف: يركز البرنامج على مهارات الاستعداد للعمل وبشكل خاص على تطوير مهارات استخدام البرامج المتداولة والأدوات المهنية المتاحة على الإنترنت. ففي برنامج كيزيبا، يتعين على الطلبة استكمال برامج التدريب إما مع الشركات في رواندا أو لصالح شركات عالمية من خلال العمل عن بعد وذلك من أجل كسب الخبرة والمهارات المهنية. كما يكسبون بذلك كفاءات مهنية محددة تتعلق بالتواصل والقيادة والعمل الجماعي. إذ يعمل فريق إدارة الوظائف في كبلر على بناء العلاقات مع أصحاب العمل المحليين كما يساعد الطلبة على إيجاد الوظائف الشاغرة والتقدّم لها. ونتيجة لذلك، يحصل 90 بالمائة من الطلبة على وظائف بدوام كامل خلال ستة أشهر من تخرجهم. وبالطبع، يُعدّ توظيف اللاجئين في رواندا أكثر سهولة منه في الدول الأخرى، إذ يتمتع اللاجئون فيها بحرية الحركة وحق العمل في القطاع الرسمي. ومع ذلك، ينبغي للبرامج في البلدان المستضيفة التي لا يتمتّع اللاجئون فيها بمثل هذه الحقوق أن تمكّن الطلبة من تطوير مهارات العمل المستقل سواء عبر الإنترنت أو العمل عن بعد أو أن يمكنهم ذلك من إيجاد فرص عمل في بلدانهم الأصلية.

 

موييز دوشيماي dumoise07@gmail.com

يوجيني موكاندايزينجا eugeniesnhu1995@gmail.com

كالينغا مبونينشوتي mbonyinshutijeremie@gmail.com

متخرجون في جامعة ساذرن نيو هامبشر، من خلال برنامج كبلر في كيزيبا

www.kepler.org/kepler-kiziba

https://gem.snhu.edu

[1] يمثل برنامج دافي الخاص بالمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين واحداً من برنامجي منحات دراسية في رواندا مخصصان للاجئين.

UNHCR (2018) The Other One Per Cent – Refugee Students in Higher Education: DAFI Annual Report 2017

(الآخر لكل سنت- الطلاب اللاجئون في التعليم العالي: التقرير السنوي لمبادرة ألبرت أينشتاين الأكاديمية الألمانية للاجئين 2017)

https://reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/5bc4affc4.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Connected learning: a refugee assessment

Connected learning offers the opportunity to expand access to higher education for refugees, benefiting both individuals and communities.

Since 2013, non-governmental organisation Kepler and Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU) have been providing a US-accredited undergraduate degree programme for refugees and Rwandan nationals. The first campus was opened in Kigali in 2013, followed in 2015 by a second campus in Kiziba refugee camp in western Rwanda. Students follow a ‘blended’ model that combines online learning from SNHU curricula with face-to-face instruction and academic support provided by Kepler.

For refugee students like us (who are SNHU graduates of the Kepler Kiziba programme), going to university is not just a pathway to hope and dignity; it can also have a positive impact for our communities. When someone gets a job, they support their families and others to be self-reliant. With current advances in technology there is a great opportunity for humanitarian agencies to help expand access for refugees. Based on the Kepler/SNHU programme in Rwanda we offer the following recommendations:

Make higher education more inclusive: Programmes should demonstrate strong commitment to ensuring access for women and vulnerable people from both refugee and host communities. For example, at the Kiziba campus, a women’s leadership programme offering preparatory classes supports female applicants to improve their skills and encourages them to apply to the degree programme. Interventions like this and an equity-based approach to admissions have achieved a 50:50 student gender balance on both campuses. Connected learning programmes have the opportunity to be more inclusive than more traditional scholarship programmes: for example, only 31% of UNHCR DAFI scholarship recipients in Rwanda in 2017 were female.[1]

Offer accredited degrees: Students who complete the Kepler/SNHU programme earn a fully US-accredited undergraduate degree. The US accreditation ensures the degree will be recognised in many countries and enables students to continue with further education. If programmes do not result in a degree, it is difficult for them to compete in both local and global job markets.

Consider employment outcomes: The programme focuses on skills for job readiness, in particular on the development of skills in using popular software and online professional tools. In the Kiziba programme, students are required to complete internships – either with companies in Rwanda or for international companies via remote working – in order to gain professional skills and experience. They thereby also gain specific professional competencies relating to communication, leadership and teamwork. A careers department team at Kepler builds relationships with local employers and helps students to find and apply for vacancies. As a result, 90% of students find full-time employment within six months of graduation. Of course, refugee employment is more feasible in countries like Rwanda – where refugees have freedom of movement and the right to work in the formal sector – than in others. However, programmes in host countries where refugees do not have these rights should enable students to develop skills for self-employment (including online or remote-based employment) or that will enable them to find work in their countries of origin. 

 

Moise Dushime dumoise07@gmail.com

Eugenie Manirafasha eugeniesnhu1995@gmail.com

Kalenga Mbonyinshuti mbonyinshutijeremie@gmail.com

Graduates from Southern New Hampshire University through Kepler Kiziba programme www.kepler.org/kepler-kiziba 

https://gem.snhu.edu/

 

[1] UNHCR’s DAFI programme is one of two scholarship programmes in Rwanda specifically for refugees. See UNHCR (2018) The Other One Per Cent – Refugee Students in Higher Education: DAFI Annual Report 2017 https://reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/5bc4affc4.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview