التَّعلُّم المتَّصل: مستقبل التَّعلُّيم العالي؟

ينبغي لمؤسسات التَّعلُّيم العالي في لبنان أن تراعي قدرة التَّعلُّم المُتَّصل في تحسين الوصول إلى التَّعليم العالي لشباب اللاجئين وأفراد المجتمع المضيف.

يستضيف لبنان نحو 1.1 مليوناً من اللاجئين السوريين كثير منهم من الشباب ممّن هم في سن الجامعة ويكافحون من أجل إكمال تعليمهم في وضع التَّهجير.[1] ومع ذلك، يتمكّن بعض السوريين الشباب من الوصول إلى التعليم العالي: إذ بلغ عدد الشباب الملتحقين بمؤسسات التعليم العالي سبعة آلاف و315 طالباً في العام الدراسي 2017-2018 في لبنان بزيادة قدرها 20 بالمائة منذ العام الدراسي 2014-2015. وترجع تلك الزيادة لعدة أسباب منها زيادة توافر المنح الدراسية بالإضافة إلى توافّر وسائط بديلة للتعليم من بينها التعليم المُتَّصل. ويشير ’التعليم المتَّصل‘ إلى تعليم الطلاب باستخدام تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات التي تسمح للتعليم أن يكون أكثر مرونة إذ لا يصبح محصوراً بزمان ولا مكان محددة على عكس التَّعليم العالي التقليدي.[2] كما تمكّن هذه الطريقة التعليم ليكون أكثر تفاعليّة وتساعد على توفير الوصول إلى التعليم لعدد أكبر من الطلاب في أجزاء مختلفة من العالم بتكلفة منخفضة.[3]

وتستفيد الجامعات اللبنانية أصلاً من التعليم المُيَسَّر على الإنترنت في مقرراتها التعليمية، لكنَّها بدأت بالتوجه نحو التعليم ’المُدمَج‘ الذي يُعنَى بالدمج بين التعليم التقليدي والتعليم على الإنترنت وذلك للوصول إلى اللاجئين السوريين والطلاب الذين يعيشون في الأجزاء النائية من لبنان وفي الخارج بالإضافة إلى تقديم بعض المقررات على الإنترنت بالكامل. وتُظهِر المعلومات التي جُمِعَت مؤخراً عن التعليم المُتَّصل في لبنان أن مؤسسات التعليم العالي عادة ما تستخدم ثلاثة أنواع من التعليم المُتَّصل بما فيها التعليم المُدمَج والتعليم عبر الإنترنت بالكامل والتجسير الذي يركز على تعليم اللغة.[4]ويمكن أن تتضمن طرق التعليم الافتراضية المستخدمة للتفاعل الآني بين المُوَجّه والطلاب مثل مؤتمرات الفيديو أو المحادثات المباشرة عبر الإنترنت أو التفاعل غير الآني مثل النشر في منتديات المناقشة أو التعلّم من خلال المحاضرات المُسجَّلة بالفيديو. كما يسهم استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعية وغيرها من المنصات على الإنترنت بتسهيل التفاعل غير الرسمي بين الطلاب وأقرانهم والطلاب وموجهيهم مما يعمل على تكملة تعلّمهم الرسميّ.

العوائق التي تحول دون التعليم المُتّصل

تُعدّ برامج التعليم المُتَّصل جديدة بالنسبة للبنان، لذا ظهرت مجموعة من العوائق الهيكيلية والتربوية والفنية التي تحول دون تطبيقها.

وتتمثّل أُولى العوائق الهيكلية بعدم وجود سياسات تعترف بالتعليم عبر الإنترنت في لبنان حتى الآن. إلا أنّ وزارة التربية والتعليم العالي أصدرت مشروع قانون في مايو/أيار من عام 2016 يهدف إلى تحديد شروط وإجراءات تقديم برامج التعليم العالي الرسمي من خلال طرق غير تقليديّة بما فيها التعليم المُتَّصل. ويعكس مشروع القانون هذا إصرار الوزارة على ضرورة المحافظة على الجودة في التعليم عبر الإنترنت كما يحدد شروط معينة بما فيها فريق ضمان الجودة لأي منظمة أو مؤسسة تنوي تقديم برامج التعليم غير التقليدية.

ومن العوائق الهيكلية الأخرى محدودية الوعي والنظرة السلبية الشعبية تجاه التعلّم عبر الإنترنت. وغالباً ما يعني قصور الوعي أنّ الناس يشكّون بفائدة وأثر برامج التعليم المُتَّصل إذ يؤمن العديد من الناس أنه يمكن للتكنولوجيا أن تكون مفيدة باعتبارها أداة داعمة لتعزيز التعلّم والتعليم وليس كوسيلة أساسية وحصريّة لتقديم التعليم. وتمتدّ المقاومة الثقافية إلى مجتمعات اللاجئين السوريين أيضاً، فعلى سبيل المثال، ترفض اللاجئات السوريّات الظهور على الكاميرا في مؤتمرات الفيديو نظراً لأنَّ هذه الممارسة غير مقبولة ثقافيّاً.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ظهرت عوائق تعليمية أيضاً تشتمل على التحديات التي تسبّبت بها البيروقراطيّة المؤسسيّة والتي تؤدي إلى تأخير الحصول على الموارد فضلاً عن محدودية الاستقلالية في تصميم برامج التعليم المُتّصِل وتقديمها. كما تمتلك الهيئة التدريسية مهارات محدودة في تدريس مقررات التعليم المُتَّصِل فضلاً عن أنهم يكافحون من أجل دعم طلابهم عبر الإنترنت. ونتيجة لذلك، لا يزال العديد من أعضاء هيئة التدريس يفضلون التعليم وجهاً لوجه على تدريس المقررات عبر الإنترنت. ومع أنَّ كثيراً من الطلاب ما لم يكن جميعهم يمتلكون هواتف ذكية إلا أنّ بعضهم يفتقرون إلى مهارات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات اللازمة من أجل متابعة مثل هذه المقررات. ويعدّ التقييم عائقاً آخراً، إذ تفتقر الكثير من المؤسسات إلى وسائل معتمدة لتقييم التعليم المُتَّصِل.

وأخيراً، تمثل العوائق التكنولوجية مثل الاتصال البطيء بالإنترنت وإمدادات الكهرباء غير الموثوق فيها ونقص المعدات إحباطاً كبيراً لكل من القادة وأعضاء الهيئة التدريسية والطلاب المشاركين في برامج التعليم المُتَّصِل.

الفرص

تُقَدَّم كثير من البرامج وخاصة تلك التي توفرها المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والوطنية والدولية مجاناً أو بتكلفة منخفضة جداً. وفي أثناء ذلك، تبدو المهارات التي توفرها المؤسسات التعليمية في لبنان والتي تقدم برامجاً أكثر تقليديّة منفصلة عن متطلبات سوق العمل اليوم. كما يتجاهل بند حجم واحد يناسب الجميع الاستخدام المتزايد للتكنولوجيا ونمو الاقتصاد الرقميّ. وتبعاً لذلك، ثمة حاجة لتعزيز التوعية إلى جانب المزيد من التعاون الدولي من أجل العمل على وضع سياسات تعليمية محلية أكثر مرونة يمكنها استيعاب التطورات الاقتصادية من خلال التحسينات والتعديلات في التعليم العالي. ونقترح أن تكون الجهود التعاونية بقيادة وزارة التربية والتعليم العالي بالتعاون مع مؤسسات التعليم العالي المحلية والدولية وغيرها من المنظمات الدولية ذات الخبرة المناسبة إذ تُعَدّ فُرَص التعليم المُتَّصِل أدوات تقدّم فرصة التعلّم خصوصاً لأولئك الذين يعانون من أجل الوصول إلى التعليم التقليدي سواء من اللاجئين أو الشباب من البلدان المُستضيفة.

هناء آدم الغالي ha58@aub.edu.lb

مديرة البرامج، برنامج البحوث في سياسات التعليم والشباب (EYPR)، معهد عصام فارس، الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت https://website.aub.edu.lb/ifi/Pages/index.aspx

إيما غصن emma.ghosn@mail.utoronto.ca مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، جامعة تورنتو www.utoronto.ca

[1] El-Ghali H A, Berjaoui R and McKnight J (2017) Higher Education and Syrian Refugee Students: The Case of Lebanon (Policies, Practices, and Perspectives)

(التعليم العالي والطلاب السوريون اللاجئون: حالة لبنان (السياسات والممارسات والمنظورات)

www.unesco.org/new/fileadmin/MULTIMEDIA/FIELD/Beirut/Lebanon.pdf

[2] UNHCR (2014) Roundtable Report on Connected Higher Learning Programmes for Refugees

(تقرير الطاولة المستديرة حول برامج التعلم العالي المتصل للاجئين)

www.scribd.com/document/247750770/UNHCR-Connected-Learning-Report

[3] Gladwell C, Hollow D, Robinson A, Norman B, Bowerman E, Mitchell J, Floremont F and Hutchinson P (2016) Higher education for refugees in low-resource environments: landscape review, Jigsaw Consult, United Kingdom

(التعليم العالي للاجئين في البيئات التي تعاني من شح من الموارد: مراجعة المشهد العام)

https://hubble-live-assets.s3.amazonaws.com/rsn/attachment/file/1/Landscape_review_0.pdf

[4] El-Ghali H and Ghosn E (2019) ‘Connected Learning in Lebanon’, Issam Fares Institute at the American University of Beirut and UNHCR Lebanon

(التَّعلُّم المتصل في لبنان)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Connected learning: the future for higher education?

Higher education institutions in Lebanon should consider how connected learning can improve access to higher education for young refugees and members of the host community.

Lebanon hosts around 1.1 million Syrian refugees, many of whom are young people of university age who are struggling to continue their education in displacement.[1] Some young Syrians, however, are able to access higher education: 7,315 young people were enrolled in higher education institutions in the 2017–18 academic year in Lebanon, an increase of about 20% since 2014–15. This increase is due in part to a greater availability of scholarships but also to the availability of alternative modes of learning, among which is connected learning. ‘Connected learning’ refers to the teaching of students using information communication technology (ICT), which permits learning to be more flexible as it is not limited by time or geography, unlike traditional higher education.[2] This method enables learning to be more interactive and can provide access to education for a large number of students in different parts of the world at low cost.[3]

Lebanese universities already usually make use of web-facilitated learning in their courses but are beginning to move towards ‘blended’ learning (using a combination of traditional and online teaching) to reach out to Syrian refugees and to students living in remote parts of Lebanon and overseas, with some even offering courses that are conducted entirely online. A recent mapping of connected learning in Lebanon showed that institutions of higher education usually use three types of connected learning: blended, fully online, and bridging (which focuses on language teaching).[4] The virtual teaching methods employed can involve real-time interaction between instructor and students, such as video-conferencing or live chats, or non-real time interactions, such as posting on discussion boards or learning from video-taped lectures. The use of social media and other internet platforms facilitates a more informal interaction between students and their peers and between students and their instructors, which complements their formal learning.

Barriers to connected learning

Connected learning programmes are new to Lebanon and a number of structural, pedagogical and technical barriers to their use have emerged.

Among the primary structural barriers is that there are as yet no policies recognising online learning in Lebanon. However, the Ministry of Education and Higher Education drafted a law in May 2016 which aims to determine the conditions and procedures of providing formal higher education programmes through non-traditional methods, including connected learning. This draft law reflects the Ministry’s insistence on the need to maintain quality in online learning and lays down certain requirements – including a quality assurance team – for any organisation or institution wishing to provide non-traditional programmes.  

A further structural barrier is the limited awareness and negative popular view of online learning. Lack of awareness often means people doubt the benefit and impact of connected learning programmes; many believe that technology can only be useful as a support tool for enhancing teaching and learning – not as a primary or exclusive means of delivery. Cultural resistance also extends to Syrian refugee communities; for example, Syrian female students refuse to appear on camera for video-conferencing as this practice is not culturally acceptable. 

Pedagogical barriers have also emerged, including the challenges caused by institutional bureaucracy, which leads to delays in procuring resources as well as to limited autonomy to design and deliver connected learning programmes. Teaching staff have only limited skills in teaching connected learning courses and struggle to support students online. As a result, many faculty members still prefer face-to-face teaching rather than online courses. Although many (if not all) students have a smartphone, some lack the ICT skills needed to follow such courses. And assessment is a further barrier, with many institutions lacking validated means of assessing connected learning.

Finally, technical barriers such as slow internet connectivity, unreliable electricity supply and equipment shortages present significant frustrations for leaders, faculty members and students engaged in connected learning programmes.

Opportunities

Many programmes, particularly those offered through local, national and international non-governmental organisations, are free or offered at very low cost. Meanwhile, the skills supplied by educational institutions in Lebanon which offer more traditional programmes seem disconnected from the demands of today’s labour market. One-size-fits-all provision ignores increasing use of technology and the growth of the digital economy. Consequently, there needs to be enhanced advocacy combined with greater international collaboration in order to work towards the creation of more flexible domestic education policies that can accommodate developments in the economy through advancements and adaptations in higher education. We suggest that the collaboration efforts should be led by the Ministry of Education and Higher Education, with local and international higher education institutions and other international organisations with relevant experience. Connected learning opportunities are a means of offering students an opportunity to learn – particularly for those who struggle to access traditional education, whether refugees or youth from the local host community.

 

Hana Addam El-Ghali ha58@aub.edu.lb
Program Director, EYPR Program, Issam Fares Institute, American University of Beirut https://website.aub.edu.lb/ifi/Pages/index.aspx

Emma Ghosn emma.ghosn@mail.utoronto.ca
Doctoral candidate, University of Toronto www.utoronto.ca

 

[1] El-Ghali H A, Berjaoui R and McKnight J (2017) Higher Education and Syrian Refugee Students: The Case of Lebanon (Policies, Practices, and Perspectives) www.unesco.org/new/fileadmin/MULTIMEDIA/FIELD/Beirut/Lebanon.pdf

[2] UNHCR (2014) Roundtable Report on Connected Higher Learning Programmes for Refugees www.scribd.com/document/247750770/UNHCR-Connected-Learning-Report

[3] Gladwell C, Hollow D, Robinson A, Norman B, Bowerman E, Mitchell J, Floremont F and Hutchinson P (2016) Higher education for refugees in low-resource environments: landscape review, Jigsaw Consult, United Kingdom https://hubble-live-assets.s3.amazonaws.com/rsn/attachment/file/1/Landscape_review_0.pdf

[4] El-Ghali H and Ghosn E (2019) ‘Connected Learning in Lebanon’, Issam Fares Institute at the American University of Beirut and UNHCR Lebanon

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview