عمالة الأطفال والمواظبة في المدرسة في تركيا

قد يكون لتشجيع الاكتفاء الذاتي للمُهَجَّرين تبعات غير مقصودة تؤثر في تقويض الجهود المبذولة في توفير التعليم لجميع الأطفال السوريين.

مفهوم ’الاكتفاء الذاتي‘ في تركيا إنما هو جزء جوهري مقبول عند العموم من مقاربة البلاد في إيواء اللاجئين السوريين، إذ يرى الأتراك والسوريون أنَّ كلَّ امرئٍ يقدر على بدء حياة جديدة بالكدِّ أو بإقامة مشروعات تجارية أو صناعية. ومع ذلك، فمقاربة الاكتفاء الذاتي تلك فيها مخاطرة لأنَّها تبخس التعليم حقَّه أمام العمل وتعزز في ذهن السوريين صغارهم وكبارهم التصديق بأنَّ التعليم لن يُحسِّن معيشتهم بسرعة فهو لذلك أضعف رتبة من تحصيل المران للعمل.

ثم إنَّ عدد الأطفال السوريين العاملين غير مقدَّر حق قدره. فلمَّا عجز الوالدون والوالدات عن كسب مال كافٍ للنفقة على أنفسهم وعيالهم، التمسوا خيارات لزيادة دخلهم ومن هذه الخيارات أن يطلبوا إلى أطفالهم العملَ. وهذه الحال تُعرِّض تعليم الأولاد المدرسي للضياع لأنَّ المجتمع السوري والتركي كلاهما ذو بنية ذكورية يعتقد الناس فيهما أنَّه ينبغي لمعيلي الأسرة أن يكونوا ذكورها. على أنَّ المواطنين الأتراك الموظفين وغيرهم يدعمون عمالة الأطفال والسبب في ذلك انتشار اعتقاد عند العموم وهو أنَّ الأطفال السوريين إن بدؤوا العمل صغاراً وأكسبهم ذلك المهارة فلن يقف في المستقبل بينهم وبين العمل حائل. لكن من الطريف أنَّ المواطنين الأتراك لا يطلبون إلى أولادهم العملَ خشية مخالفتهم لقانون عمالة الأطفال التركي الذي يحظر عمل الأطفال الذين لم يكملوا سنَّ الثالثة عشرة. فإذن كيف يُسمَح للأطفال السوريين بالعمل؟

وقائع ومضمونات

قد زرت 15 مدرسة حكومية و25 مركز تعليم مؤقتاً ومدرسة سورية وذلك في أثناء عمل ميداني في منطقة وسط الأناضول في العام الدراسي 20152016 والتقيت هناك مئات الأطفال السوريين ممِّن لم يكملوا سنَّ الثالثة عشرة. وقبل أن أبدأ عملي الميداني حصلت على إحصاءات لعدد اللاجئين السوريين المواظبين على المدرسة. وجاء حينئذٍ في تلك الإحصاءات الرسمية أنَّ في كل مدرسة بضعة تلاميذ سوريين لا غير. لكن كان في المدارس الحكومية في الحقيقة تلاميذ عددهم أكبر من العدد المُقيَّد في الإحصاءات. ومثال ذلك أنه ذُكِرَ في مدرسة من المدارس التي زرتها أنَّ عدد التلاميذ السوريين فيها 39 تلميذاً إلا أنَّهم كانوا 134 تلميذاً. على أنَّ عددهم انخفض إلى 95 تلميذاً قُبيْل نهاية العام الدراسي. ومن بين هؤلاء التاركين مدرستهم ثلاثة فقط هم من نُقِلُوْا رسمياً إلى مدرسة أخرى، أمَّا الآخرون فمنهم مَن شرع يعمل في المتاجر المحلية أو في أماكن عمل أخرى ليساعدوا أُسَرهُم ومنهم مَن صار يتعلم صنعة بدوام جزئي.

وفيما يلي يوجز رب عمل تركي يعمل له لاجئان صغيران ما يعتقد المجتمع التركي والسوري من أفكار:

اُعلِّم طفلين سوريين الصنعة. بلغ الأول من عمره 11 سنة والآخر 12 سنة. أعجبني رحمان فسألت كبار السن في أسرته: أعندكم صبي آخر يُجِدُّ في عمله كما يُجِدُّ رحمان؟ فكان أن أخذت هذا الصغير... أساعدهم ما استطعت بتهيئة فرص عمل لهم. فهم لا يذهبون إلى المدرسة. وأعلِّمهم بعضاً من المهارات ليكسبوا لقمة عيشهم في المستقبل. هَبْهُما مواظبَيْن على المدرسة فكم سنة سيقضيان فيها؟ لعلَّها عشر سنوات. وماذا سيفعلان بعد ذلك؟ لن يجدا عملاً. فلا بدَّ لهما من أن يتعلَّما الاعتماد على نفسيهما دون حاجة إلى الغير."

تتَّخذ الأسر السورية قراراتها بحُسن الحيلة فيختارون من أطفالهم أيّهم يدرسون وأيّهم يعملون. خذ مثلاً اللاجئ أحمد وهو تلميذ اختارته أسرته ليدرس في المدرسة فهُم يفتقرون إلى مَن هو ناطق باللغة التركية يساعدهم على شؤونهم كتحديد مواعيد المستشفى والتقدم لفرص العمل، أمَّا أخوه فيعمل مع أبيه. وتتَّخذ الأسرة السورية هذه القرارات بناءً على قُدْرات أطفالها الدراسية وجنسهم. ففي حالتنا هذه، يذهب أحمد إلى المدرسة لأنَّه يُظهِر قابلية ذهنية لتعلُّم اللغة التركية أكثر من أخوته. ومع ذلك فتَركُ أحمد مدرسته أمر محتمل وقوعه بعد أن تصل مهارته اللغوية إلى مستوى يكفيه مساعدة أسرته على ظروفهم الاجتماعية. ويؤثر تصويب فكر الأسر السورية والمجتمع المحلي إلى الاكتفاء الذاتي في إدراك التلاميذ أنفسهم قيمة المدرسة والتَّعليم. صحيح أنَّ بعض التلاميذ اللاجئين قالوا لي إنَّهم يرون في التَّعليم أنَّه يساعدهم على الاندماج في المجتمع ويبني لهم مستقبلاً أكثر إشراقاً، ولكنْ كثيراً منهم لا يرون في التَّعليم مُحسِّناً لمعيشتهم.

سياسات تعليم اللاجئين

يعترض المعلمون على عمالة الأطفال اعتراضاً شديداً إلا أنَّهم لا يعرفون إلى معالجة مشكلاته سبيلاً. وهم يدركون الأسباب التي هي أساس تلك المشكلات كالفقر وسوء فهمٍ في البلاد للاكتفاء الذاتي ولذلك تراهم متحِّيرين في توجيه الانتقاد لأولياء الأمور السوريين. وفيما يلي معلِّم يُعبِّر عن تلك الحيرة:

لا ينبغي للأطفال العمل وهم يدرسون. لكنَّهم يحتاجون إلى إعانة أسرهم. ...كثير منهم هَهُنا سعيدون بتعلُّم اللغة التركية. وأولياء أمورهم سعيدون أيضاً لأنَّهم يرون أنَّ أطفالهم بذلك سيجدون فرص عمل أفضل أو سيعينونهم حين يحتاجون إلى مترجمين. والحقُّ أنَّني أشعر بذنبٍ أحياناً فحين نُعلِّم هؤلاء الأطفال اللغة التركية يجدون لأنفسهم عملاً بسرعة.

يربط معلمو المدارس ومديروها عمل الأطفال السوريين غير القانوني بعيوب سياسة الالتحاق بالمدارس والمواظبة عليها في تركيا. إذ يرد فيها أنَّه يُسمَح للتلاميذ السوريين الذين ليس لهم بطاقة حماية مؤقتة الالتحاق بالمدرسة على شرط تقديم طلب استصدار بطاقة إثبات الهويَّة حين يبدؤون دوامهم. ولكن من دون تلك البطاقة لا تُقيَّد تفاصيل التلاميذ رسمياً، فإن انتقل تلميذ من مدرسة إلى أخرى أو ترك مدرسته فلن يكون عند السلطات علم بالانتقال ولا بالترك ولا بتوقيتهما. ويُقيِّد كثير من المعلمين أسماء الأطفال السوريين باليد في سجل الصف الدراسي. أضف إلى ذلك أنَّ قوانين الحضور الصارمة في تركيا لا تنطبق على التلاميذ السوريين. فلذلك تواجه المدارس صعوبات هائلة في تتبع حضور التلاميذ السوريين ومواظبتهم على المدرسة.

وفيما يلي قول مدير مدرسة حكومية في تلك المشكلات:

نعرف أن بعض الأطفال ولا سيما الأولاد يتركون المدرسة لكي يعملوا. وأولياء أمورهم يرسلونهم إلى بعض أماكن العمل ليتعلَّموا صنعة من الصنعات. فلا يخفى عليك أنهم يحتاجون إلى المال. حاولت إقناع أولياء الأمور بأن يرسلوا أطفالهم إلى المدرسة. والظاهر أنَّهم ما اقتنعوا حين تحدثت إليهم إلا لأنهم يخشون السلطات، ولكنَّهم يفعلون ما يشاؤون في نهاية المطاف. صادفت من زمن قريب في دكان الحلَّاق طفلاً من الأطفال التاركين مدرستهم. ويا له من مسكين، فهو يعمل هناك ولم يبلغ من العمر إلا تسع سنوات. سألت ربَّ عمله أن يرسله إلى إحدى نوبتي المدرسة على الأقل. فقال لي أول الأمر: لا ضرورة له إلى المدرسة، وهو يحتاج إلى اكتساب المهارات. وبعد حديث دار بيننا وافق على إرسال الطفل إلى المدرسة في الوردية المسائية. إن استطعنا تتبع هؤلاء التلاميذ [بنظام بطاقة إثبات الهوية] لن يكون لأولياء أمورهم خيار يرسلون أطفالهم إليه إلا خيار المدرسة."

تعمل السلطات التربوية التركية بجدٍّ لإنقاص معدلات ترك المدرسة وذلك بالتعليم المهني البديل ولكنَّ هذا المنهاج في الحقيقة يزيد من حجة ضرورة الحوار الجاري بشأن الأهمية الشديدة لمهارات اليد العاملة. وعلى الرغم من إنفاذ قانون عمالة الأطفال من حين إلى آخر، فالظاهر أنَّ المشكلات مستمرة ما دام ذوو التأثير والنفوذ من الناس في المجتمع المحلي يدعمون عمالة الأطفال في سبيل تعزيز الاكتفاء الذاتي.

أزليم إيردينozlemerden@ymail.com

باحث سابق، المركز الدولي للتَّعليم والتنمية والبحوث، جامعة إنديانا، ويعمل حالياً مساعداً للرئيس التنفيذي، بعثة فولبرات التركية، أنقرة https://fulbright.org.tr

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Child labour and school attendance in Turkey

Promoting self-sufficiency for displaced populations can have the unintended consequence of undermining efforts to provide education for all Syrian children.

In Turkey, the concept of ‘self-sufficiency’ is an essential and widely accepted part of the country’s approach to accommodating Syrian refugees. Both locals and Syrians believe that anyone can build a new life through hard work or by establishing businesses. However, this self-sufficiency approach is risky because it trivialises education in comparison with work and fosters a belief among Syrian adults and children that education will not immediately improve their quality of life and is therefore less important than gaining skills for work.

The number of Syrian child workers is vastly underestimated. As parents cannot make sufficient money to cover their daily expenses, they look for options to increase their household income and one such option is to send children in the family out to work. This situation jeopardises schooling for boys because both Syrian and local communities have patriarchal structures and believe that the breadwinners should be male members of the family. Local employees and people are supportive of child labour because of the widely held belief that Syrian children will not be unemployed in the future if they begin working at a young age and gain skills. Interestingly, however, local people do not send their own boys to work because they fear enforcement of the Turkish Child Labour Law which forbids children under the age of 13 from working. How then can Syrian children be allowed to work?

Realities and implications

I visited 15 public schools, 25 temporary education centres and a Syrian school during fieldwork in the Central Anatolian Region in the 2015–16 school year and met hundreds of Syrian children under the age of 13. Before starting my fieldwork, I obtained statistics on the number of Syrian refugees attending public schools. According to these official statistics, there were only a few Syrian students in each school. In reality, however, public schools had more students than those recorded. For example, one of the schools I visited was recorded as having 39 Syrian students but actually had 134. By the end of the school year, though, this number had dropped to 95. Among these dropouts, only three students were officially transferred to another school; of the others, some began working in local shops or other workplaces in order to help their families and others became part-time apprentices.

A local employer with two young refugee employees sums up the beliefs held by the local and Syrian communities:

“I have two Syrian apprentices. One is 11 years old, and the other is 12 years old. I liked Rahman, so I asked his family elders whether they have another boy as hardworking as Rahman. So, I got this little one... I do my best to help them by providing jobs. They do not go to school. I teach them some skills to earn a living in the future. Suppose they go to school: how many years do they need to go? Maybe, ten years. Then what? They will not have any job. These people need to know how to stand on their feet.”

Syrian families make strategic decisions about which of their children should go to school and which of them should work. For example, Ahmad is a refugee student whose family has chosen that he should go to school – as his family needs a Turkish-speaking member to help them with matters such as hospital appointments and job applications – while his brother works with his father. Syrian parents make these decisions based on their children’s academic abilities and their gender. In this case, Ahmad goes to school because he shows more aptitude for learning Turkish than his brother. However, it is probable that he will drop out of school once his language skills have reached the required level to help his family in social settings. And families’ and the local community’s focus on self-sufficiency shapes refugee students’ own perceptions of the value of school and education. Although some refugee students told me that they think education helps them integrate and offers a better future, many of them do not believe that education can improve their lives.

Refugee education policies

Teachers are strongly against child labour but do not know how to address these problems. They are aware of the underlying reasons such as poverty and local understandings of self-sufficiency and are therefore hesitant to criticise Syrian parents. One teacher discusses the dilemmas:

“Children should not work when they are studying. But they need to support their family. …Here, many of them are happy to learn Turkish. Parents are also happy because they think their children can find better jobs or help them get support when they need translators. Believe me, sometimes I feel guilty because when we teach Turkish, these children find jobs so quickly.”

School teachers and administrators associate the illegal labour of Syrian children with the shortcomings in Turkey’s school enrolment and attendance policy. According to the policy, Syrian students without a temporary protection card can register with a school on condition that they apply for the identity card when they begin school. However, without a card, a student’s details are not officially recorded and the authorities do not know if and when a student moves to another school or drops out completely. Many teachers record the Syrian children’s names on the class register by hand. Additionally, Turkey’s usual strict attendance rules do not apply to Syrian students. Schools are therefore having immense difficulty in tracking the attendance of Syrian children.

The principal of a public primary school discusses the problems:

“We know that some children, particularly boys, leave school for work. Their parents enter them as apprentices in some workplaces. They need money, you know. I tried to convince parents to send their kids to school. They seem convinced when I talk to them because they fear the authorities but, in the end, they do whatever they want. Recently, I saw one of the dropout Syrian students in a barbershop. Poor kid, he is only nine years old and is working. I asked his employer to send him at least to one of the shifts of the school. He said at first that “school is unnecessary for him, he needs to have skills.” After talking for a while, he agreed to send the kid to the afternoon shift. If we could track these students [through the identity card system], their parents would not have an option other than sending their kids to school.”

Turkish educational authorities are working hard to reduce dropout rates by offering alternative vocational education but this approach actually serves to further legitimise the ongoing conversation about the greater importance of labour skills. And despite the occasional enforcement of the Child Labour Law, it seems that the problems will continue as long as influential people in local society support child labour in the cause of self-sufficiency.

 

Ozlem Erden ozlemerden@ymail.com  

Formerly Researcher, Center for International Education, Development and Research, Indiana University; currently Senior Executive Assistant, Turkish Fulbright Commission, Ankara https://fulbright.org.tr

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview