الوصول إلى التَّعليم والتقدم فيه في المملكة المتحدة

تُظهِر الأبحاث أنَّ هناك عوائق كبيرة تواجه الأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء منهم ممن يصلون المملكة المتحدة وتتمثل تلك العوائق في قبولهم في المدرسة وتقدمهم في الدراسة. وبمقدور الحكومة المركزية والسلطات المحلية والمدارس والكليات والمهنيين التربويين أن يتخذوا خطوات للمساعدة في ضمان حصول هؤلاء الأطفال على التعليم المناسب في الوقت المناسب.

على الرغم من الإرشادات القانونية التي تنص على وجوب إلحاق الأطفال المشمولين بالرعاية في انجلترا في التعليم خلال 20 يوماً دراسياً من شملهم في الرعاية،[1] تشير الأبحاث الصادرة عن شبكة دعم اللاجئين ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للأمومة والطفولة (اليونيسف) في المملكة المتحدة[2] إلى أنَّ أيَّاً من مناطق إنجلترا التسعة بالإضافة إلى إسكتلندا وويلز وإيرلندا الشمالية لم تحقق هذا الهدف لكل الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من طالبي اللجوء والمشمولين في رعاية السلطة المحلية.[3]وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، غالباً ما يعاني الأطفال من طالبي اللجوء ممّن وصلوا ضمن عائلاتهم من إيجاد المقاعد الدراسية بسرعة. وتحصل معظم التأخيرات الملموسة في كل من التعليم الثانوي والتعليم الإضافي، ففي إحدى المرات اضطّر ربع الأطفال في منطقة واحدة للانتظار لما يزيد عن ثلاثة أشهر للحصول على المقاعد الدراسية في المدرسة أو الجامعة.

عوائق تحول دون الوصول

على المستوى النُظُمي، يتأخّر الوصول إلى التعليم لعدّة أسباب منها: طول قوائم الانتظار، خاصة في إسكتلندا لمن هم في سن السادسة عشر أو أكثر ويحتاجون إلى مسارات تعلّم اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة أجنبية، بالإضافة إلى تعقيد طلبات الالتحاق عبر الإنترنت التي لا يستطيع أفراد العائلة من ذوي المهارات المتدنية في القراءة والكتابة وتكنولوجيا المعلومات تصفحها، عدا عن التحديات التي يواجهها الواصلون في منتصف العام الدراسي لضمان مقاعد الدراسة بسرعة.

على مستوى المدرسة، يتأخر الالتحاق بالتعليم بسبب ثلاثة عوامل رئيسيّة. أولاً، ثمّة عزوف من جانب المدارس عن إلحاق الطلاب في المراحل الثانوية العُليا خوفاً من أن يؤثروا سلباً في الأداء العام للمدرسة في الامتحانات الوطنية[4]إذ إنّ أغلبية المدارس والمتخصصين في مجال التعليم ممّن استشيروا في البحث لم يكونوا على دراية بأنّ المدارس قد تُقدّم طلباً لاستثناء نتائج الطلاب الناطقين باللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية ممن وصلوا خلال فترة الامتحانات الدراسية من النتائج العامة للمدرسة. ثانياً، ثمّة نقص في الأماكن المتاحة بسرعة للأطفال من ذوي الحاجات التعليميّة الخاصة مما يؤثر خصوصاً على الأطفال من ذوي الحاجات الشديدة الذين أُعيدَ توطينهم من خلال خطة إعادة توطين الأشخاص السوريين المستضعفين. أمّا العامل الثالث المُسبّب بالتأخير فيختص بإنجلترا، حيث يجب على السلطات المحلية أن تقدّم طلباً إلى وزير التعليم لتوجيه إحدى الأكاديميات بقبول الأطفال المشمولين بالرعاية. ونظراً لأنّه اعتباراً من يناير/كانون الثاني لعام 2018 كانت 72 بالمائة من المدارس الثانوية و27 بالمائة من المدارس الأساسية في إنجلترا أكاديميات،[5] يمثّل هذا الشرط تحدياً كبيراً للكثير من السلطات المحليّة التي تحاول إلحاق مثل أولئك الأطفال.

على مستوى السياق، يحدد البحث ثلاثة عوائق رئيسية تحول دون الوصول إلى التعليم. أولاً، تفيد أعداد كبيرة من الأطفال والعائلات بأنَّهم ما زالوا في مساكن مؤقتة حيثُ ينزلون حال وصولهم في المملكة المتحدة لمدة ستة أشهر (من المفترض أن تكون لمدة أقصاها ثلاثة أسابيع). وخلال هذا الوقت، لا يلتحق الأطفال بالعادة بالمدرسة لتجنب الانقطاع عن التعليم حال انتقالهم وبالتالي يفقدون جزءاً أساسيّاً من تعليمهم. وثانياً، استُحدِثَت مؤخراً الخطة الوطنية للنقل من أجل الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين وتنص على توزيعهم في مناطق المملكة المتحدة مع عدد أقل من القاصرين غير المصحوبين ببالغين. وبالرغم من عدم توافر بيانات قوية بشأن أثر الخطة على الوصول إلى فرص التعليم، أبلغ الأطفال والباحثون الاجتماعيون عن التأخيرات إما بسبب عدم انتساب الأطفال إلى المدرسة في أثناء انتظارهم للتوزيع أو لأنّ عملية توزيع الأطفال تجري بدون تنسيب إلى التعليم في المناطق المستقبِلَة المُؤَمّنة. ثالثاً، من بين كل الأطفال الذين خضعوا للمقابلات، أبلغ أولئك الذين خضعوا لتقييمات العمر المستمرة عن إبقائهم خارج المدرسة حتى تُثبَت صفتهم كقاصرين. بيد أنّ الممارسات حول تقييمات العمر تختلف، فبعض السلطات المحلية تعامل الأطفال على أنهم الفئة العمرية التي يمكنها الحضور حتى يثبت عكس ذلك، بينما يعامل الآخرون أولئك الذين قد يكونون بالغين بهذه الطريقة حتى يثبت أنهم أطفال، إذ اضطر نحو ما يقل عن الربع بقليل من الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من طالبي اللجوء ممّن خضعوا للمقابلات إلى الانتظار من أجل المقاعد الدراسية في المدرسة أو الجامعة كما أُخبِرَ بعضهم أنّهم غير مؤهلين نتيجة لعملية تقييم العمر. وفي جميع الأحوال، أُبطِلَ ذلك في نهاية المطاف وقُبِلَ الشباب في المدارس أو الجامعات ولكن بعدما فاتتهم عدة أشهر من التعليم. وتعدّ قضية تقييمات العمر معقدة، فقد أشار المعلمون والباحثون الاجتماعيون والمزاولون إلى التحديات التي يواجهونها للموازنة بين حقوق الأطفال والحاجة إلى الحماية الكافية في المدارس.[6]

العوائق التي تحول دون الازدهار بالتعليم

على المستوى النُظُمي، تتأثر قدرة الأطفال من اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء على الازدهار في التعليم تأثّراً سلبياً ويعود ذلك أساساَ إلى إلحاقهم في سياق أكاديمي لا يُيَسّر التقدم الملائم في التعليم. فبالنسبة للكثير من الأطفال، يعني ذلك الوصول إلى المملكة المتحدة في المرحلة الثانوية العليا والانتساب إلى برامج الامتحان الوطني في مدرسة عامة حيث لا يمكنهم تحقيق نتائج ذات معنى بسبب تدني مهاراتهم اللغوية وانقطاعاتهم عن التَّعليم. وبالنسبة لآخرين، يعني ذلك الوصول في نفس العمر (14–16) مع الاضطرار للالتحاق بمسارات تعلّم اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة أجنبية وبالتالي الحصول على فرصة ضئيلة لتحقيق قدراتهم الأكاديمية الكاملة. غير إنّه يوجد كثير من الأمثلة البارزة على الممارسات الجيدة بما في ذلك: توفير فرص الدراسة في المدرسة مقابل عدد محدود من المؤهلات الوطنية أكثر من المعتاد اتخاذها، مع توفير الدعم المتكامل في اللغة الإنجليزية أو توفير برنامج اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة أجنبية بها بدوام كامل على مستوى الجامعة بالإضافة إلى الرياضيات المتكاملة وتكنولوجيا المعلومات وغيرها من المواد الدراسية مما يقدّم مسار تقدّم واضح. ومع ذلك، غالباً ما توجد هذه الأمثلة في المدن الكبيرة التي لديها أعداد كبيرة من الواصلين الجُدُد من الأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.

على مستوى المدرسة، فإنّ قدرة هؤلاء الأطفال على مواصلة التعليم والازدهار به تأثّرت سلباً بعدم كفاية دعم اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة إضافية في بعض المدارس بالإضافة إلى التحديات في تشخيص وتلبية حاجات الأطفال من ذوي الاحتياجات التعليمية الخاصّة حين دمجهم في برامج اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة إضافية، عدا عن التنمُّر والقضايا الاجتماعية وغياب الوعي بين بعض المعلمين وغيرهم من الكوادر بشأن القضايا الأوسع التي تؤثر في الأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء. وتتضمّن العوامل السياقيّة الأكبر نطاقاً اضطرابات الصحة العقلية وخاصة تلك المرتبطة بتجارب سابقة المتعلقة بعملية طلب اللجوء إذ يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى زيادة معدلات الغياب والإقصاء والفقر المرتبط خاصة بعدم القدرة على توفير المصادر التعليمية والمشاركة في الرحلات المدرسية والتنقل من وإلى المدرسة بالإضافة إلى العيش في مساكن غير مستقرّة.

التوفير المؤقّت وتحسين الوصول

طوّرت كثير من السلطات المحلية برنامجاً إبداعياً لتوفير التعليم بصورة مؤقتة لكل من الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من طالبي اللجوء والمُعاد توطينهم ممّن ينتظرون مقاعد الدراسة. فعلى سبيل المثال، أسّسَت المدرسة الافتراضية[7] التابعة لسلطة كرويدن المحليّة برنامجاً لتوفير التعليم المؤقت للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من طالبي اللجوء. ويقدّم البرنامج القائم في مدرسة محلية ثانوية ثلاثة أيام من التعلّم المباشر كل أسبوع في مختلف المواد الدراسية بالإضافة إلى تعليم اللغة الإنجليزية.

على المستوى النُظمي، يمكن لاستخدام المدفوعات المالية الإضافية التي تتلقّاها المدارس لدعم الأطفال المشمولين بالرعاية بصورة إبداعية أن يساعد في توفير حلول مؤقتة. ففي كرويدن على سبيل المثال، استُخدِمَ صندوق أقساط التلاميذ (بدل لكل فرد) تاريخياً للدفع مقابل الدروس الخصوصيّة لتعلّم اللغة ولكنه الآن يُجمّع لبناء برنامج توفير أكثر متانةً وقائم على المجموعات. كما وجد بحثنا أنّ معدلات المشاركة والتفاني للسلطات المحلية الفردية أو كوادر المدرسة أو الجامعة تُحدِثُ فرقاً كبيراً بالنسبة للأطفال الأفراد.

فعلى مستوى المدرسة، فإنّ تحسين أخلاقيات الترحيب باللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء من الأطفال على مستوى المدرسة يُنظَر له باعتباره عاملاً يزيد من قبول طلبات الالتحاق، كما يُعدّ التنسيق المتين مع كل من مناصري القطاع التطوعي وموظفي الدعم عاملاً مهما للمساعدة على مواجهة العوائق التي تحول دون الوصول إلى التعليم. فمثلاً، أوضح كثير من الشباب أنّ محاولاتهم للالتحاق في المدرسة الثانوية أو التعليم الإضافي باءت بالفشل، لكنَّ الاجتماعات التي صَحُبَت ذلك مع كوادر المدرسة أو الجامعة أو أحد المناصرين أو مقدمي الدعم أسهمت في ضمانهم الحصول على مقاعد دراسية في النهاية.

الازدهار في التعليم

أظهر البحث إمكانية تيسير قدرة الأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء على الازدهار في التعليم عن طريق ستة عوامل رئيسية:

  • وجود شخص بالغ ملتزم يقدّم الرعاية والدعم للأطفال على مدى الفترة الزمنية الطويلة (ويظهر أنّ ذلك أمر مهم وخاصة للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين)
  • إتاحة الفرصة للمشاركة في برامج التعليم التي تكيّف كل من المحتوى والمقررات الدراسية بما يلائم حاجاتهم ويعين على تلبيتها
  • توافر برامج أساسية للرعاية الرعوية ودعم الصحة العقلية داخل بيئة المدرسة (إذ يعدّ ذلك مهماً للغاية نظراً لطول قوائم الانتظار وعدم إمكانية وصول كثير من الأشخاص إلى خدمات الاستشارة ودعم الصحة العقلية خارج إطار المدرسة)
  • الشراكات بين المدارس أو الجامعات ومنظمات القطاع التطوعي المتخصصة التي يمكنها تيسير توفير المشورة الميدانية والإرشاد والدعم
  • المقاربات المبتكرة لدعم الأقران داخل المدرسة أو الجامعة بما في ذلك خطط الأصدقاء ورفع الوعي بشأن الهجرة القسرية على مستوى المدرسة
  • توفير التدريب على تلبية الحاجات التعليمية للأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء لكل المعلمين وكوادر المدارس أو الجامعات كجزء من الإنماء المهني المستمر.

ويقدّم بحثنا التوصيات التالية لصانعي السياسات لدى الحكومة المركزية في المملكة المتحدة:

  • الإقرار بأنّه ينبغي لكل الأطفال بمن فيهم طالبي اللجوء في المساكن المؤقتة تلقّي التعليم
  • تشجيع مكتب معايير التعليم وخدمات الأطفال ومهاراتهم وعلى وجه الخصوص مفتّش المدراس التي تديرها الحكومة على النظر والإشارة في زيارات التفتيش التي يجرونها إلى العمل الذي قدمته المدارس من أجل تلبية حاجات الأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.
  • مراجعة وتبسيط العملية التي يمكن لوزير التربية والتعليم من خلالها توجيه الأكاديميات بقبول التلاميذ
  • تقديم معلومات أفضل وأوضح للمدارس بشأن الواصلين الجُدُد من الناطقين باللغة الإنجليزية كلغة إضافية في المستويات الثانوية العُليا، ويشمل ذلك ضمان أنّ المدارس على دراية بالأحكام التي تمكنهم من استثناء هؤلاء الأطفال من ملفات النتائج الخاصة بهم.
  • زيادة عدد ساعات البرامج المُمَوّلة والمتاحة للغة الإنجليزية للناطقين بغيرها لمن يندرجون تحت الفئة العمرية 16–18.
  • ضمان أنّ التدريب المُقَدّم إلى القادة المُحتَمَلُ تعيينهم لقسم الصحة العقلية في المدارس (مناصب تشجعت كل المدارس على استحداثها مؤخراً) ستشمل على محتوى يتعلق بدعم الأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.

كما ينبغي لكل من صانعي السياسات في الحكومة المركزية والسلطات المحلية السعي لبناء وزيادة الوعي بشأن الممارسات الجيدة الموجودة في جميع أنحاء إنجلترا وإسكتلندا وويلز عن طريق تحسين شبكة العمل وفرص تبادل المعلومات للمتخصصين في مجال توفير التعليم للأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب على السلطات المحلية أن:

  • تطوّر الإرشادات الأولية بشأن المقررات الدراسية الملائمة والممارسات الجيدة من أجل برامج توفير التعليم المؤقت للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من طالبي اللجوء.
  • تقديم التدريب المتخصص بشأن الحاجات التعليمية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من طالبي اللجوء للعاملين الرئيسيين بمن فيهم (الباحثين الاجتماعيين والمستشارين الشخصيين بشأن ترك مؤسسات الرعاية) عندما يتوقف عمل فرق الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين من طالبي اللجوء.

 

ويجب على المدارس والجامعات أن:

  • تضمن تدريب جميع المعلمين في جميع المستويات على دعم وتلبية الحاجات التعليمية للأطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء كجزة من تطورهم المهني المستمر.
  • النظر في تنفيذ التدخلات مثل خطط دعم الأقران والشراكات بين الخبراء والجمعيات الخيرية الخارجية المعنية باللاجئين الشباب.

 

كاثرين غلادويل cgladwell@refugeesupportnetwork.org

مديرة شبكة دعم اللاجئين www.refugeesupportnetwork.org

 

[1] Department for Education (2014, updated 2018) Promoting the education of looked-after children  

 (تشجيع التعليم للأطفال متلقي الرعاية)

bit.ly/Looked-after-children-education-UK-2018

[2] UNICEF UK and Refugee Support Network (2018) Education for Refugee and Asylum Seeking Children: Access and Equality in England, Scotland and Wales  

(تعليم أطفال اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء: الوصول إلى التَّعليم والمساواة في ذلك الحق في إنجلترا وأسكوتلندا وويلز)

www.unicef.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Access-to-Education-report-PDF.pdf

[3] في المملكة المتحدة، يوضع الأطفال طالبي اللجوء غير المصحوبين ببالغين في رعاية السلطة المحلية. وكل طفل يقضي في رعاية سلطته المحلية أكثر من 24 ساعة يُعرَف باسم الطفل متلقي الرعاية. وغالباً ما يشار إلى الأطفال متلقي الراعية بالأطفال في الرعاية.

[4] في المملكة المتحدة، تُعتَمد الاختبارات الوطنية المحددة لتحصيل التلاميذ كواحدة من عدة عوامل تدخل في الاعتبار لتصنيف فئات المدارس في الجداول الدورية المنشورة.

[5] National Audit Office (2018) Converting maintained schools to academies www.nao.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Converting-maintained-schools-to-academies-Summary.pdf  

(تحويل المدارس في البر البريطاني إلى مؤسسات أكاديمية)

[6] انظر بسلر، د. (2016) ’تقييمات السن النفسية في المملكة المتحدة‘، نشرة الهجرة القسرية، العدد 52

www.fmreview.org/ar/busler

[7] ’المدرسة الافتراضية‘ مصطلح تستخدمه السلطات المحلية لتوفير دعم التعليم لجميع الأطفال الذين ترعاهم.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Accessing and thriving in education in the UK

Research shows that significant barriers confront refugee and asylum-seeker children arriving in the UK in terms of them getting into school and thriving in education. Central government, local authorities, schools and colleges and education professionals can take steps to help ensure these children receive timely and appropriate education.

Despite statutory guidance that all looked-after children in England should be placed in education within 20 school days of their entry into care,[1] research from Refugee Support Network and UNICEF UK[2] shows that none of England’s nine regions – nor those of Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland – has met this target for all unaccompanied asylum-seeking children (UASC) in local authority care.[3] Furthermore, asylum-seeking children who arrive as part of families also often struggle to secure school places rapidly. The most significant delays occur in secondary and further education, where in one instance a quarter of children in one region have had to wait more than three months for a school or college place.

Barriers to access

At a systemic level, access to education is delayed by: long waiting lists (particularly for those in Scotland aged 16 or over who require English for Speakers of Other Languages – ESOL – classes); complex online application processes that family members with low levels of literacy and information technology (IT) skills are unable to navigate; and the challenges of rapidly securing places for children who arrive in the middle of the academic year.

At the school level, entry into education is delayed primarily by three factors. First, there is a reluctance on the part of schools to enrol students at the upper-secondary level due to fear of negatively influencing the school’s overall performance in national examinations.[4] The majority of schools and education professionals consulted during the research were unaware that schools may apply to exclude from their results those pupils who speak English as a second language who have arrived in the course of the school years being examined. Second, there is a lack of readily available places for children with special educational needs (SEN), a lack which is particularly affecting those children with severe needs who have been resettled through the Syrian Vulnerable Persons Resettlement Scheme. The third factor creating this delay is specific to England, where local authorities must apply to the Secretary of State for Education to instruct an academy to accept a looked-after child. Given that as of January 2018 72% of secondary and 27% of primary schools in England were academies,[5] this requirement presents a significant challenge for many local authorities attempting to place such children.

At the contextual level, the research identifies three key barriers to access. First, significant numbers of children and families report remaining in temporary accommodation, where they are placed on arrival in the UK, for up to six months (meant to be a maximum of three weeks). During this time children typically are not enrolled in school in order to avoid disruption when they move, and they therefore miss a substantial part of their education. Second, a National Transfer Scheme has recently been introduced for unaccompanied children, dispersing them to areas of the UK with fewer unaccompanied minors. Although robust data on the impact of this scheme on access to education are not available, children and social workers report delays, both because children are not placed in school while awaiting dispersal, and because dispersals take place without an education placement in the receiving locality being secured. Third, of the children interviewed for this study, those who had been subject to ongoing age assessments reported being kept out of school until their status as a minor was confirmed. Practices around age assessment vary – some local authorities treat children as being the age at which they present until it is proved otherwise; others treat those who may be adults as such until they are proved to be children. Just under a quarter of the UASC interviewed had to wait for a school or college place or were told they were not eligible as a result of an age assessment process. In all cases, this was ultimately overturned and the young person was admitted to school or college – but had typically missed several months of education. The issue of age assessments is complex and teachers, social workers and practitioners repeatedly reported the challenge of balancing children’s rights with the need for adequate safeguarding in schools.[6]

Barriers to thriving in education

At a systemic level, refugee and asylum-seeker children’s ability to thrive in education is negatively affected primarily by their placement in an academic context that does not facilitate appropriate progression. For many children, this means arriving in the UK at upper-secondary level and being placed on a national examination programme in a mainstream school where they are unable to achieve meaningful results because of their minimal language skills and interrupted educational history. For others it means arriving at the same age (14–16) but being placed on a part-time ESOL course and having little opportunity to achieve their full academic potential. Outstanding examples of good practice do exist: school-based provision of study towards a more limited number of national qualifications than would usually be taken, with fully integrated English language support, or college-based provision of full-time ESOL with integrated mathematics, IT and other subjects, offering clear progression routes. However, these are typically found only in large cities that have significant numbers of newly arriving refugee and asylum-seeker children.

At the school level, the ability of these children to remain and thrive in education is negatively affected by insufficient English as an Additional Language (EAL) support in some schools; challenges diagnosing and addressing SEN when combined with EAL needs; bullying and social issues; and a lack of awareness among some teachers and other staff of broader issues affecting refugee and asylum-seeker children. Broader contextual factors include mental health difficulties, particularly those associated with past experiences and those relating to the asylum process, which can lead to increased absences and exclusions; poverty, particularly linked to the ability to afford educational resources, participate in school trips, and travel to and from school; and living in precarious accommodation.

Interim provision and improving access

Several local authorities have developed innovative interim education provision for UASC and resettled children who are awaiting a school place. The Virtual School[7] in Croydon local authority, for example, has established a programme of interim education for UASC. Based within a local secondary school, it offers three days of face-to-face learning per week, in a variety of subjects in addition to English language provision.

At the systemic level, using the additional payments schools receive to support children in care innovatively can help in providing interim solutions. In Croydon, for example, Pupil Premium funds (a per-head allowance) were historically used to pay for individual language tutoring but have now been pooled to create more substantial, group-based provision. Our research also found that the level of engagement and dedication of individual local authority and school- or college-based staff makes a significant difference to individual children.

At the school level, the development of a school-wide ethos of welcome for refugee and asylum-seeker children was shown to increase the acceptance of their applications, and substantial liaison with voluntary sector advocates and support workers was a significant factor in helping overcome a variety of barriers to access. Several young people, for example, explained that their attempts to enrol in secondary school or further education had failed, but that being accompanied to meetings with school or college staff members by an advocate or support worker had ultimately helped secure them a place.

Thriving in education

The research found that the ability of refugee and asylum-seeker children to thrive in education is facilitated by six key factors:

  • the presence of a committed, caring adult, who will support them over an extended period of time (which appears to be particularly important for unaccompanied children)
  • the opportunity to participate in education programmes where content and curriculum have been appropriately adapted to meet their needs
  • the availability of substantial pastoral care and mental health support within the school setting (particularly important given the long waiting lists and inaccessibility of many out-of-school counselling, therapy and mental health support services)
  • partnerships between schools or colleges and specialist voluntary sector organisations that can facilitate the provision of on-site advice, guidance and support
  • creative approaches to peer support within the school or college, including buddy schemes and school-wide awareness raising about forced migration
  • the provision of training on meeting the educational needs of refugee and asylum-seeker children for all teachers and other school or college staff as part of continuing professional development.

 

Our research gives rise to the following recommendations to UK central government policymakers:

  • recognise that all children, including asylum-seeker children in temporary accommodation, should receive an education
  • encourage the Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills (OFSTED) – the government-run schools’ inspector – to consider and make reference in their inspections to work undertaken by schools to accommodate the needs of refugee and asylum-seeker children
  • review, and consider simplifying, the process by which the Secretary of State can require an academy to accept a pupil
  • provide better and clearer information to schools on new EAL arrivals at the upper-secondary level, including ensuring that schools are aware of provisions enabling them to exclude these children from their results profiles
  • increase the number of available funded ESOL hours for 16–18 year olds
  • ensure that training provided to the prospective senior designated mental health leads in schools (posts that all schools are now encouraged to have) will include specific content on supporting refugee and asylum-seeker children.

 

Central government policymakers and local authorities should seek to build on and raise awareness of existing good practice across England, Scotland and Wales by improving networking and information-sharing opportunities for professionals working in education for refugee and asylum-seeker children.

Additionally, local authorities should:

  • develop initial guidance on appropriate curriculum and good practice for interim provision for UASC
  • provide specialist training on the educational needs of UASC for key personnel (social workers, key workers and Leaving Care Personal Advisors) where expert UASC teams no longer exist.

 

Schools and colleges should:

  • ensure teachers at all levels are trained, as a standard part of their continuing professional development, in the educational support needs of refugee and asylum-seeker children
  • consider implementing interventions such as peer-support schemes and expert partnerships with external refugee youth charities

 

Catherine Gladwell cgladwell@refugeesupportnetwork.org
Director, Refugee Support Network www.refugeesupportnetwork.org

 

[1] Department for Education (2014, updated 2018) Promoting the education of looked-after children
bit.ly/Looked-after-children-education-UK-2018

[2] UNICEF UK and Refugee Support Network (2018) Education for Refugee and Asylum Seeking Children: Access and Equality in England, Scotland and Wales
www.unicef.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Access-to-Education-report-PDF.pdf

[3] In the UK, unaccompanied asylum-seeking children are placed in the care of their local authority. A child who has been in the care of their local authority for more than 24 hours is known as a looked-after child. Looked-after children are also often referred to as children in care.

[4]  In the UK, pupils’ attainment in national examinations is one of the factors used to rank schools in regularly published league tables. 

[5] National Audit Office (2018) Converting maintained schools to academies www.nao.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Converting-maintained-schools-to-academies-Summary.pdf  

[6] See Busler D (2016) ‘Psychosocial age assessments in the UK’, Forced Migration Review issue 52 

[7] 'Virtual School' is the term used by local authorities for their provision of education support to all looked-after children in their care.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview