مدارس الشارع والحافلة المدرسية: توفير التَّعليم غير الرسمي في فرنسا

في وجه تزايد محدودية وصول طالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين في فرنسا للتمدرس، ظهرت مبادرات للمتطوعين لتوفير التعليم غير الرسمي الذي يمثل ضرورة كبيرة لهذه الفئة من الأشخاص.

عقب الدمار الذي شهدته غابات كاليه في عام 2016، عمّمت الحكومة الفرنسية تنفيذ سياسة عدم التسامح تجاه المخيمات التي تبعها إزالة الشرطة وفرق ’التنظيف‘ الممنهجة للتجمعات غير الرسمية. ومسوِّغ ذلك أن لدى فرنسا مؤسسات تكفل استضافة المهاجرين طالما أنّهم يقبلون الالتحاق بمنظومة اللجوء الرسمي. أمّا الذين لا يلتحقون بالمنظومة لسببٍ أو لآخر فذلك يعني بالنسبة لهم مزيداً من الإقصاء. ومع انتهاج هذه السياسة لا تقوّض السلطات الفرنسية الوصول إلى سبل المعيشة الأساسية فحسب، بل إنّها تقوض الوصول إلى التعليم وغيره من الخدمات الأساسية التي كان المتطوعون يقدمونها في التجمعات غير الرسمية.

ولا تُقدِّم فرنسا لطالبي اللجوء برامج تعلم اللغة الفرنسية رسمياً ما لم يُمنَحوا صفة اللاجئ، مع أنَّ البدء بتوفير الدروس في مرحلة مبكرة من عملية اللجوء له دور لا يقتصر على تسهيل دمج الذين قُبِلَت طلباتهم فحسب، بل من شأنه أيضاً أن يزودهم بمهارات قيّمة كما يقدم لهم السلوان يخفف عنهم قلقهم خلال أشهر الانتظار. وينظر طالبو اللجوء للتعليم على أنّه محرك دافع نحو التغيير الذي يمكّنهم من تحسين نوعية حياتهم والتنافس في سوق العمل وغير ذلك من فرص. أي بمعنى آخر، باعتباره ضرورياً لحياة جديدة في مجتمع جديد. ويدعو كثير من الناس إلى توفير مساحات مُيسَّرة من الضيافة في فرنسا خالية من الشروط أو الالتزامات لِتمنَح طالبي اللجوء الوقت اللازم للراحة والتفكير ملياً بخططهم المستقبلية. ويعدّ تقديم التعليم طريقة مثالية لتيسير ذلك.

ورغم الظروف الصعبة، هناك عدد من المبادرات المجتمعية التي تقدم التعليم غير الرسمي. ففي كل مساء في تمام الساعة السادسة والنصف، يجتمع كل من المهاجرون وطالبو اللجوء في ميدان ستالينجراد في شمالي شرق باريس. وهناك، يقسمون أنفسهم إلى ثلاث مجموعات تبعاً لمهارتهم في اللغة الفرنسية ويجلسون على الدرج المؤدي إلى الساحة العامة. وينضم لهم ثلاثة معلمين من مكتب التعليم والتدريب المهني للمهاجرين، وهو من المنظمات التطوعية المحلية،[1] و يعمل كل منهم على تعليم أحد المستويات الثلاثة. ويُحضِرون الأقلام و الألواح البيضاء ويبدؤون بالأحرف الأبجدية والمفردات و الجمل الأساسية أو القواعد للمتعلمين من المستويات الأكثر تقدّماً.

وفي أثناء ذلك، يسعى مشروع حافلة المدرسة[2] في كاليه إلى تقديم التعليم الأساسي للشباب الذين يعيشون خارج الإطار الرسمي. فَفي كل يوم، تقود الحافلة الصفراء المكونة من طابقين إلى موقع في كاليه أو جراند سينت يبعد مسافة قصيرة عن المناطق الحرجية التي يقطنها الناس متَستّرين قدر ما أمكنهم ذلك. وحُوِّلَ الجزء العلوي من الحافلة إلى قاعة دراسية مع غرفة أصغر يمكن فيها عقد جلسات لمجموعات مصغّرة. أمّا الجزء الأسفل فهو منطقة ترفيهية مخصصة للعب والعزف على الآلات الموسيقيّة. ويرى كثير من الأشخاص في هذه المدرسة المتنقلة إحدى المساحات الآمنة القليلة التي يمكن التعلّم فيها. وفي معظم الأيام، تكون الحافلة مزدحمة بالمتعلمين المتلهفين خصوصاً في الشتاء إذ تعد إحدى المساحات القليلة التي تقدم المأوى. ويذهب مشروع حافلة المدرسة إلى أبعد من مجرد تقديم ما يلزم من التعليم غير الرسمي، إذ يُظهِرُ المشروع رغبة القادمين الجُدُد في التعلّم والمتطوعين في التعليم كما يتصدى لمشكلة تجريم المُهجَّرين مُظهِراً بذلك نموذج استقبال إنساني.

 

ماريا هاغان mhh35@cam.ac.uk

طالبة في مرحلة الدكتوراه، قسم الجغرافيا، جامعة كامبردج. www.geog.cam.ac.uk

 

[1] https://baamasso.org/en

[2] www.schoolbusproject.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Street schools and school buses: informal education provision in France

In the face of increasingly limited access to schooling for asylum seekers and migrants in France, volunteer initiatives have sprung up to provide much-needed informal education.

It was following the destruction of the Calais Jungle in 2016 that the French government rolled out its policy of zero tolerance towards camps, whereby any informal settlement is now systematically destroyed by police and ‘clean-up’ teams. The rationale is that France has institutions in place to host migrants – as long as they agree to enter the formal asylum system. For those who, for whatever reason, do not enter the system, however, it means greater exclusion; by pursuing this policy the French authorities undermine access not only to basic living standards but also to education and other crucial services that were being provided by volunteers in the informal settlements.

There is no official language provision for asylum seekers in France until refugee status has been granted. However, starting classes earlier in the asylum process would not only facilitate integration for those whose claims are accepted; it would also provide valuable skills and offer a distraction during months of anxious waiting. Asylum seekers view education as a driver for change through which they can improve the quality of their lives, compete in the job market and so on: in other words, as essential to a new life in a new society. Many people are advocating for simple spaces of hospitality in France, spaces without conditions or obligations which allow asylum seekers the time to rest and think through their plan for the future. Providing education could be an ideal way of facilitating this.

Despite the difficult conditions, there are many community initiatives which provide education informally. Every evening at 18:30, migrants and asylum seekers gather at the Place de Stalingrad in north-eastern Paris. They divide themselves into three groups according to their proficiency in French, sitting on the stairs leading down to the public square. Three volunteer teachers – one for each level – from local volunteer organisation BAAM (Bureau d’accueil et d’accompagnement des migrants[1]) bring whiteboards and pens, going through the alphabet, basic sentences and vocabulary or grammar for the more advanced learners.

In Calais, meanwhile, the School Bus Project[2] seeks to provide basic education to those youth living informally. Every day this bright-yellow, double-decker bus drives to a site in Calais or Grande-Synthe, within walking distance of where people live in wooded areas, hidden as best as they can. The top deck of the bus has been turned into a classroom, with a smaller room in which small group sessions can take place. The lower deck is a recreational area for playing games and musical instruments. For many this mobile school is one of the few safe spaces in which learning is possible. On most days the bus is crowded with eager learners, especially in the winter months when it is also one of the few spaces providing shelter. Beyond providing much-needed informal education, the School Bus publicly displays the willingness of newcomers to learn (and volunteers to teach), countering the criminalisation of displaced people and demonstrating a humane reception model.

 

Maria Hagan mhh35@cam.ac.uk 
Doctoral student, Department of Geography, University of Cambridge www.geog.cam.ac.uk

 

[1] https://baamasso.org/en/  

[2] www.schoolbusproject.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview