ثغرات التَّعليم المدرسي للاجئين السوريين في تركيا

على تركيا، كما على المجتمع الدولي بأكمله، أن تتصدى للثغرات القائمة في توفير الخدمات التعليمية لتمكين اللاجئين السوريين من الوصول إلى فرص التعلُّم الملائمة.

عندما بدأ المهجَّرون السوريون عبور الحدود الجنوبية الشرقية لتركيا في عام 2011، لم يكن لدى تركيا إطار متماسك للهجرة أو اللجوء. ومنذ ذلك الحين، وُضِعت عدة سياسات لسد الثغرات في الخدمات المقدمة للعدد المتزايد باستمرار من اللاجئين السوريين الذين يبلغ عددهم الآن 3.6 ملايين، لكنَّ هذه السياسات كانت عُرضَة لسوء التفسير وكثيراً ما كانت تتغير. وقد كانت تركيا مضيفاً كريماً، يظهر ذلك أولاً من خلال انتهاج سياسة الحدود المفتوحة، ثُمَّ اعتباراً من عام 2014 وما بعده، يظهر هذا الكرم في الضيافة من خلال إعطاء صفة ’الحماية المؤقتة‘ للسوريين. ومع ذلك، استند إطار سياسة تركيا إلى افتراض أنَّ غالبية السوريين سيعودون قريباً إلى ديارهم، ولم يُبنَ ذلك الإطار بما يستجيب للتحديات التي يفرضها التَّهجير المُطوَّل.

ونتيجةً لذلك، رغم التمويل السخي والاهتمام المُركَز الذي أولته الحكومة التركية، وأولاه المجتمع الدولي بدرجة أقل، يعيش كثيرٌ ممن يتمتعون بصفة الحماية المؤقتة في حالة من عدم الاستقرار، وقد أصبح الوصول إلى التعليم والعمل شغلهم الشاغل. ومع أنَّ تركيا لا تنظر إلى السوريين في الأساس على أنهم لاجئون، فهي تتحمل التزامات واضحة باعتبارها دولة عضو في الأمم المتحدة ودولة موقعة على تشريعات حقوق الإنسان لتوفير تعليم عال الجودة يمكن الوصول إليه لمن يعيشون تحت حمايتها. ومع ذلك، فتغيير تلك التشريعات باستمرار والتنفيذ غير المتناسق على المستوى المحلي يجعل توفير التعليم هذا شديد الصعوبة في الواقع العملي.

مراكز التعليم المؤقتة

في بداية الأمر، أُنشِئت مراكز التعليم المؤقتة في 25 مخيماً للاجئين على طول الحدود بين تركيا وسوريا، وأقيمت كذلك في مجتمعات بها أعدادٌ كبيرة من اللاجئين. وقد قدمت هذه المراكز تعليماً مدرسياً يعتمد على المقررات الدراسية الوطنية السورية التي تُدرَّس باللغة العربية ثم أضيف إليها بعد ذلك دروس اللغة التركية والتاريخ التركي. وفي مراكز التعليم المؤقتة هذه التي غالبًا ما تمولها منظمات غير حكومية يعمل معلمون سوريون متطوعون، قليل منهم لديه مؤهلات مهنية ويعملون مقابل رواتب ضعيفة.

وقد أدى ضعف تدريب المعلمين، وعدم ثبات التمويل، وعدم إصدار السلطة للشهادات المدرسية، والافتقار الواسع لإشراف أي سلطة تركية على مراكز التعليم المؤقتة إلى حدوث مخاوف بشأن جودة التعليم الذي تقدمه هذه المراكز وحول الخيارات المستقبلية للطلاب. ومع مرور الوقت، انتقلت الغالبية العظمى من السوريين إلى المجتمعات التركية بسبب الاكتظاظ وفرص العمل المحدودة في المخيمات، لكن لم تكن هناك أعداد كافية من مراكز التعليم المؤقتة في المناطق التي كانت في أمس الحاجة إلى هذه المراكز. وهذه المخاوف التي تفاقمت نتيجة استمرار النزاع في سوريا وتهجير مواطنيها دفعت الحكومة التركية إلى الإعلان في عام 2016 عن أن مراكز التعليم المؤقتة ستُغلَق تدريجياً أو ستتحول إلى مدارس حكومية متكاملة بهدف نقل جميع الأطفال السوريين إلى المدارس المتوسطة التركية بحلول عام 2020.

وقد واجهت كثيرٌ من المدارس التركية مشكلة الاكتظاظ والقيود المفروضة على الموارد حتى قبل النِّزاع في سوريا، وهي تعمل جاهدةً الآن لاستيعاب الأعداد الإضافية من الطلاب. ويلتحق بالمدارس في تركيا حالياً 60 بالمائة فقط من الأطفال السوريين، وهو ما يُعَد تحسناً ملموساً عن السنوات السابقة ولكنه تحسنٌ ضئيل مقارنةً بمعدلات التعليم شبه العالمية لهذا الجيل في سوريا ما قبل الحرب والمعدل بين الأطفال الأتراك المولودين في تركيا.[i] وأفادت كثيرٌ من العائلات المُهجَّرة أنَّ مديري المدارس يرفضون تسجيل أطفالهم بالمدرسة أو يطالبون بدفع رسوم للتسجيل. وفي حال تسجيل الأطفال بنجاح، يتعين على أولياء الأمور عادةً دفع تكاليف المواصلات ويتعين عليهم شراء الزي الرسمي واللوازم المدرسية بما في ذلك دفاتر الملاحظات والقرطاسية وحتى الكتب الدراسية، وهو ما يُعَد معاناةً كبيرة للعائلات التي تعيش على المساعدات النقدية المحدودة والعمل غير الرسمي.

ويواجه الطلاب المراهقون الذين ابتعد كثيرٌ منهم عن المدرسة لعدة سنوات تحدياتٍ خاصة، ولا يلتحق بالمدرسة سوى 20 بالمائة من طلاب المرحلة العليا من التعليم الثانوي. فآليات التأقلم القائمة على التمييز بين الجنسين، نتيجة التهجير على المدى البعيد، تقلل من مواظبة الأولاد والبنات. ويُجبَر كثيرٌ من الفتيان المراهقين على العمل للمساعدة في دعم أسرهم، وغالباً ما يكون هذا العمل في ظروف استغلالية ذات أجور منخفضة جداً. وتُجبَر الفتيات على البقاء في المنزل بسبب المخاوف من العنف القائم على الجندر أو لتخفيف العبء المالي للعائلة، ويُزوَجن في سنٍ أصغر بكثير من الحد الأدنى القانوني لسن 18 سنة، وغالباً ما يُتخَذن زوجاتٍ إضافيات خلال مراسم الزواج الديني غير القانوني الذي يجعلهن عرضة للإيذاء ولا يعطيهن أي حقوق زوجية قانونية.

استيعاب التنوع في النظام المدرسي

حتى عام 2014، كانت تركيا تفتقر إلى وجود سياسة شاملة للهجرة تحدد بوضوح شروط الأهلية والإجراءات الخاصة باللجوء؛ وقد فُوِّض تحديد صفة اللجوء وإدارتها إلى حكومات المقاطعات؛ ما أفسح المجال للتفسير والتنفيذ غير المتناسقين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أسهمت المقاربات القمعية تاريخياً إزاء جماعات الأقليات في إرساء نظامٍ مدرسيٍ يركز على الثقافة الوطنية واللغة ويتبنى عادةً مقاربة ,إما أن تغرق أو أن تسبح‘ لاستيعاب القادمين الجدد. والنظام أيضًا شديد المركزية، ولا يُسمَح للمدارس والمناطق بتغيير المقررات الدراسية. وبدعمٍ من تمويل من منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأمومة والطفولة (اليونيسف)وبمساعدة مراكز اللغة التركية ومعهد يونس إمرة، تعمل وزارة التربية الوطنية على تطوير المناهج الدراسية للطلاب الذين يتعلمون اللغة التركية باعتبارها لغةً ثانية، وكذلك تصميم تدريب ذي صلة بمعلمي هذه اللغة. ومع ذلك، ستستغرق هذه المبادرات بعض الوقت للوصول إلى جميع الصفوف الدراسية، وفي غضون ذلك لن يحصل الأطفال على الدعم الذي يحتاجون إليه. وحتى مع التعليم الملائم، يحتاج الأطفال المهاجرون إلى عدة سنوات لبناء اللغة الاجتماعية والأكاديمية المطلوبة لمواكبة نظرائهم الناطقين الأصليين بلغة البلد.

ومما يثير القلق أنَّ تقرير كفايات المعلمين في وزارة التربية والتعليم وإستراتيجيتها لم تأت حتى على ذكر وجود الذين يتعلمون اللغة التركية باعتبارها لغةً ثانية في النظام المدرسي أو ضرورة تعزيز إدماجهم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يشير الاستبيان غير الرسمي للمقررات التعليمية للمعلمين في كثير من الجامعات الكبيرة في تركيا إلى أنَّ المعلمين المتدربين يتلقون تعليماً محدوداً للغاية في مجال تدريس اللغة الثانية. ويتلقى الطلاب السوريون الذين يلتحقون بالمدارس القليل من الدعم في اكتساب اللغة التركية وفي تعويض الموارد المفقودة وفي مواجهة التحديات النفسية والاجتماعية المرتبطة بالنزاع والتهجير والتكيف الثقافي.[ii] ونتيجةً لذلك، أصبح الدمج الاجتماعي والتحصيل الأكاديمي محدودين بينما ارتفعت معدلات التسرب. فعلى سبيل المثال، أخبرني أحد مديري المدارس الابتدائية أنه من بين 700 طالب سوري في المدرسة، لا يتلقى منهم سوى 40 طالباً اللغة التركية باعتبارها لغة ثانية. وهناك سبعة ’مترجمين‘ سوريين يقدمون الدعم داخل الصفوف الدراسية للأطفال الباقين إلاَّ أنَّ أربعة منهم لا يتحدثون اللغة التركية. ووفقاً لمدير المدرسة، فهذا الوضع لا يختلف عن أوضاع معظم مدارس المنطقة.

يُعبِّر كثيرٌ من المعلمين في المدارس الحكومية بصراحةً عن إحباطهم إزاء تحديات تعليم الطلاب السوريين. فعلى سبيل المثال، ثمّة مجموعات كبيرة على الفيسبوك أُعِدَت لتبادل الأدوات التعليمية والوظائف الشاغرة ولتعزيز التفاعل الاجتماعي تَعُج بالشكاوى المتعلقة بقدرات الطلاب اللاجئين وسلوكهم. ومع أنَّ كثيراً من أعضاء هذه المجموعات يدافعون عن الطلاب السوريين، فمن الواضح أنَّ هناك ضعفاً في فهم المعلمين للتحديات التي يواجهها الطلاب؛ مما يشير إلى عدم كفاية الدعم الإداري والمعارف المتعلقة بالعمل مع الأطفال اللاجئين. وسيكون من المفيد إعداد دراسة واسعة النطاق تتناول ماهية التطوير المهني أو التوجيهات الرسمية أو تعديلات المقررات الدراسية أو غيرها من أوجه الدعم الذي تلقاه المعلمون وماهية التحديات التي يواجهونها، فهذا من شأنه أن يكون مفيداً في تقييم المقاربة الحالية ولفت الانتباه إلى التحسينات المطلوبة.

وتتطلب معالجة ثغرات توفير التعليم جهوداً وطنية مستمرة لرسم سياسات شاملة وتنفيذها، بما في ذلك السياسات المتعلقة بالتطوير المهني للمدرسين وتصميم المقررات الدراسية. وسيتطلب هذا العمل المكثف زيادة الدعم المالي وتبادل الخبرات في مجال التعليم المتعدد الثقافات والمتعدد اللغات من جانب المجتمع الدولي. ويمكن النظر في كثير من النماذج التعليمية الشائعة المستخدمة في مكان آخر. فعلى سبيل المثال، يلتحق الأطفال اللاجئون في أستراليا بمراكز مكثفة ومنفصلة لتعليم الإنجليزية لمدة تصل إلى أربعة فصول دراسية قبل الانتقال إلى المدارس الحكومية، بينما في مناطق كثيرة في الولايات المتحدة يحضر متعلمو اللغة الإنجليزية دروساً منفصلة معينة داخل المدارس الحكومية ويدعمهم معلمون مُدرَّبون على تلبية حاجاتهم. وتتضمن الخيارات الأخرى من النماذج التعليمية نموذج التعليم المُسرَّع أو برامج التجسير، مثل تلك البرامج التي أُنشِئت في السودان وأفغانستان لمساعدة الأطفال المهجرين في الاستعداد للتحديات اللغوية والمعرفية والنفسية الاجتماعية في المدرسة. ومن أجل منع ظهور ’جيل الضياع‘ من الشباب السوري واستمرار صعوبات التماسك الاجتماعي، يجب على تركيا أن تختار بعناية مقاربة مناسبة وأن تنفذها بانتظام.

ميليسا هاوبر-أوزير mhauberr@masonlive.gmu.edu

مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، جامعة جورج ماسون https://cehd.gmu.edu/centers/cie

 

[i] UN Women (2018) Needs Assessment of Syrian Women and Girls Under Temporary Protection Status in Turkey

(تقييم حاجات النِّساء والفتيات السوريات ضمن صفة الحماية المؤقتة في تركيا)

bit.ly/UNWomen-Syrian-women-girls-Turkey-2018

[ii] Aydin H and Kaya Y (2017) ‘The Educational Needs of and Barriers Faced by Syrian Refugee Students in Turkey: A Qualitative Case Study’, Intercultural Education 1–18

(الحاجات التعليمية للطلاب السوريين اللاجئين والعوائق التي يواجهونها في تركيا: دراسة حالة نوعية)

https://doi.org/10.1080/14675986.2017.1336373

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Schooling gaps for Syrian refugees in Turkey

Turkey and the wider international community must address gaps in educational provision so that Syrian refugees can access appropriate opportunities to learn.

When displaced Syrians began to cross Turkey’s south-eastern border in 2011, Turkey had no cohesive migration or asylum framework. Since then, a number of policies have been devised to fill gaps in services for the ever-increasing number of Syrian refugees, who now number 3.6 million, but these policies have been open to misinterpretation and have also changed frequently. Turkey has been a generous host, first through an open border policy and later, from 2014 onwards, through the assigning of ‘temporary protection’ status to Syrians. However, Turkey’s policy framework was based on the assumption that the majority of Syrians would soon return home and failed to account for the challenges of protracted displacement.

As a result, despite generous funding and concentrated attention from the Turkish government, and to a more limited extent from the international community, many of those with temporary protection status live precariously, and access to education and employment are of particular concern. Although Turkey does not technically consider Syrians as refugees, it has clear obligations as a UN Member State and as a signatory to human rights legislation to provide accessible, high-quality schooling for those living under its protection. However, constantly shifting legislation and inconsistent implementation at the local level make accessing that provision extremely challenging in practice.

Temporary education centres

Initially, temporary education centres (TECs) were established in the 25 refugee camps built along the Turkey–Syria border as well as in communities with large numbers of refugees. They provided schooling based on the Syrian national curriculum, taught in Arabic, which was supplemented by Turkish language and history lessons. Typically funded by non-governmental organisations, these TECs were staffed by volunteer Syrian teachers, only some of whom had professional qualifications, and who received small stipends.

A lack of teacher training, consistent funding, authority to issue diplomas and a broader lack of supervision of the TECs by any Turkish authority created concerns about the quality of education they offered and about pupils’ future options. Over time the vast majority of Syrians moved into Turkish communities due to overcrowding and limited employment opportunities in the camps but there were insufficient numbers of TECs in the areas where they were most needed. These concerns, compounded by the continuing conflict in Syria and displacement of its citizens, prompted the Turkish government to announce in 2016 that TECs would gradually be closed or turned into integrated public schools, with the goal of moving all Syrian children into Turkish-medium schools by 2020.

Many Turkish schools had faced overcrowding and resource limitations even before the Syrian conflict and are now struggling to absorb the additional numbers of students. Only 60% of Syrian children in Turkey are currently enrolled in school – a significant improvement on previous years but dismal compared to the near-universal schooling rates of this generation in pre-war Syria and the rate among native-born Turkish children.[1] Many refugee families report school administrators refusing to enrol their children or demanding payment of enrolment fees. If children are successfully enrolled, parents typically must pay for transportation and must purchase uniforms and supplies including notebooks, stationery and even textbooks – an enormous hardship for families surviving on limited cash assistance and informal labour.

Adolescent students, many of whom have missed several years of school, face particular challenges and just 20% of pupils at upper secondary level are in school. Distinctly gendered coping mechanisms – the result of long-term displacement – drive down both boys’ and girls’ attendance. Many adolescent boys are compelled to work to help support their families, often in exploitative conditions with very low wages. Girls are either kept at home due to fears of gender-based violence or, to ease the family’s financial burden, married off well below the legal minimum age of 18, often as additional wives through illegal religious marriage ceremonies that leave them vulnerable to abuse and devoid of legal spousal rights.

Accommodating diversity in the school system

Until 2014, Turkey lacked a comprehensive immigration policy that clearly defined asylum eligibility and procedures; determination and administration of asylum status were largely delegated to provincial governments, leaving room for inconsistent interpretation and implementation. In addition, historically repressive approaches towards minority groups have contributed to a schooling system that emphasises a national culture and language and generally takes a ‘sink or swim’ approach to absorbing newcomers. The system is also highly centralised, and schools and districts are not permitted to alter the curriculum. With the support of funding from UNICEF and assistance from Turkish language centres TÖMER and Yunus Emre Institute, the Ministry of National Education (MoNE) is developing curricula for students learning Turkish as a second language, and designing related teacher training. However, these initiatives will take time to reach all classrooms, and in the meantime children are not given the support they need. Even with appropriate instruction, immigrant children need several years to build up the social and academic language required to keep pace with their native-speaking peers.

Disconcertingly, MoNE’s teacher competency framework and strategy report fail to even mention the presence of those learning Turkish as a second language in the school system or the need to foster their inclusion. In addition, my informal survey of teacher education curricula at several large universities in Turkey suggests that trainee teachers receive very limited instruction in second language pedagogy. Those Syrian students who do attend school receive very little support in acquiring Turkish, in catching up on missed material, and in coping with psychosocial challenges associated with conflict, displacement and cultural adjustment.[2] As a result, social integration and academic achievement are limited and dropout rates high. For example, one primary school principal told me that of the school’s approximately 700 Syrian students, just 40 are receiving Turkish as a second language instruction. Seven Syrian ‘translators’ offer in-class support to the remaining children but four of them speak no Turkish. According to the principal, the situation is similar in most schools in the region.

Many public school teachers openly express frustration at the challenges of teaching Syrian students. For example, large Facebook groups – designed for sharing pedagogical tools and job vacancies and to foster social interaction – are rife with complaints about refugee students’ abilities and behaviour. Although many group members do defend Syrian students, there is clearly a concerning lack of understanding among teachers about the challenges faced by the students, indicating insufficient administrative support and knowledge about working with refugee children. A large-scale study examining what professional development, official guidance, curricular modifications or other support teachers have received and what challenges they encounter would be helpful in evaluating the current approach and drawing attention to needed improvements.

Addressing gaps in educational provision will require continued national efforts to design and implement comprehensive policies, including those relating to teachers’ professional development and to curriculum design. This massive undertaking will require increased financial support and the sharing of expertise in multicultural and multilingual education by the international community. Many common instructional models used elsewhere could be considered. For example, in Australia refugee children attend separate Intensive English Centres for up to four terms before transitioning to public schools, while in many parts of the US English language learners attend separate, designated lessons within public schools, supported by teachers trained to address their needs. Other options include an accelerated education model or a bridging programme, like those established in Sudan and Afghanistan, to help displaced children prepare for the linguistic, cognitive and psychosocial challenges of school. To prevent a ‘lost generation’ of Syrian youth and the persistence of social cohesion difficulties, Turkey must carefully choose and consistently implement an appropriate approach. 

 

Melissa Hauber-Özer mhauberr@masonlive.gmu.edu
Doctoral candidate, George Mason University https://cehd.gmu.edu/centers/cie/

 

[1] UN Women (2018) Needs Assessment of Syrian Women and Girls Under Temporary Protection Status in Turkey http://www2.unwomen.org/-/media/field%20office%20eca/attachments/publications/country/turkey/the%20needs%20assessmentengwebcompressed.pdf?la=en&vs=3139

[2] See Aydin H and Kaya Y (2017) ‘The Educational Needs of and Barriers Faced by Syrian Refugee Students in Turkey: A Qualitative Case Study’, Intercultural Education 1–18 https://doi.org/10.1080/14675986.2017.1336373

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview