المساواة في الجندر في التَّعليم في حالات الطوارئ

تُبيِّنُ الدلائل أنَّ المقاربة المراعية للفروق في الجندر تخفِّف الأخطار المحتملة التي تحيط بالفتيات والفتيان في الأزمات والتَّهجير.

أُنجِزَت كثير من الأعمال الجليلة في جميع العالم لكي تُحصِّل الفتيات والفتيان حقَّهم في التعليم. إلاَّ أنَّ الأزمة حين تحدث أوعندما تَحُلُّ كارثة أو يضطرُّ الناس إلى الفرار من بيوتهم تتعرض تلك الأعمال الجليلة للخطر. ويصعب الحصول على البيانات الإحصائية لِمَن يصل إلى التعليم من المهجَّرين، والمعلومات الإحصائية المصنَّفة على حسب الجندر نادرةٌ عزيزة المنال. ففي جنوب السودان، مثلاً، التي تضرَّرت سنوات كثيرات من الحرب والنِّزاع العنيف والتَّهجير، قُدِّرَ فيها أنَّ نسبة 75 بالمئة من الفتيات غير متسجلات في التعليم الأساسي.[1] وقد تُغيِّر حالات الطوارئ ديناميات الجندر الحالية حيث تكون، وتؤثر في الفتيان والفتيات تأثيراً مختلفاً، ولكنَّ النِّزاع يعزز غالباً المعوِّقات عن التعليم التي يغلب عليها تعزيز الفوارق في الجندر. وقد عيَّنَتْ شيئاً من هذه المعوِّقات دلائلٌ في برنامج التعليم في حالات الطوارئ الذي وضعته منظمة أوكسفام (Oxfam IBIS)، وهو برنامج قائم على إطار عملٍ تُحلَّلُ فيه معوِّقات المساواة في الجندر وتعالج،[2] ومن هذه المعوِّقات ما يلي:

التنميط الجندري وبخس تعليم الفتيات حقَّه: جرت العادة على أنْ يكون الرجال هم المُعِيلون، أمَّا النساء فأمَّهات وزوجات ولذلك عُدَّ تعليمهنَّ أقلَّ أهمية من تعليم الرجال. ومع أنَّ الحال يتحسَّن تدريجاً من حيث رفع درجة المساواة في الجندر في التعليم، فقد نفقد أحياناً في الأزمات والتَّهجير كلَّ ما تحقَّق من تحسُّنٍ في الأحوال المستقرة؛ ففي الأزمات والتَّهجير تَنصَبُّ جهود الاستجابة على مجالات أخرى، أي يصعب تحقيق تقديم التعليم على غيره من المجالات. وحين يؤتى بالتعليم في حالات الطوارئ يصعب غالباً إيجاد الموارد التي تُعِينُ على ديمومة الجهود والمبادرات التي غايتها رفع درجة المساواة في الجندر التي تجريها الدول والمنظمات غير الحكومية.

التنميط الجندري والعوامل الاقتصادية: يغلب على الأسر الفقيرة عادةً أنْ تقدِّم تعليم الفتيان على تعليم الفتيات، حتَّى إنَّها في النِّزاعات يقلُّ احتمال دعمها تعليمهنَّ. وحين تُهجَّر الأسر قد يُجبَر الفتيان والفتيات على ترك مدارسهم أو قد يتركونها حتَّى يعيلوا أنفسهم أو أسرهم فيخرجون إلى العمل أو يُجَرُّون إلى البِغاء، أو يختار الوالدون والوالدات لبناتهم زوجاً في سنٍّ مبكِّرة. وقد بيَّنت دراسة حديثة أجريت في مدينة نيال في جنوب السودان -وهي مدينة تقع بالقرب من مناطق يحدث فيها بعضُ أكثر المعارك قسوةً في سنوات النزاع الخمس- أنَّ في المدينة اليومَ معدَّلٌ من أعلى معدَّلات الزواج المُبكِّر في العالم، إذ 71 بالمئة من فتياتها قد تزوَّجن قبل أنْ يبلغن سنَّ الثامنة عشرة، وهذا المعدَّل أعلى بكثير من المعدَّل الذي كان في البلاد قبل النِّزاع وهو 45 بالمئة.[3]

العنف والأمان: تتعرض الفتيات والفتيان، وخاصةً الفتيات، إلى احتمال خطر التحرُّش الجنسي والعنف في المدارس وفي الطريق إليها، ولا سيَّما في الأزمات. ويزيد احتمال الخطر هذا في أحوال النِّزاع، سواءٌ في ذلك طُلَّابُ المدارس والأَعْدَادُ الكبيرة للمقطوع عليهم سُبُل الوصول إلى التعليم. من ذلك على سبيل المثال أنَّ عند أكثر ناس المجتمع في نيال الذين أُجرِيَت معهم مقابلات أنَّ النساء والفتيات يحيط بهنَّ خَطَرُ العنف الجنسي شديدٌ. وعندهم أيضاً أنَّ هذه المخاطر زادت من جرَّاء الأزمة إلى درجة صارت النساء والفتيات فيها لا تستطعن الخروج من بيوتهنَّ لوحدهنَّ أو الذهاب إلى المدرسة من غير مخاطر.

الترويج للمساواة في الجندر

صحيح أنَّ مقاربات تحقيق المساواة في الجندر في التعليم في حالات الطوارئ وفي الحالات المستقرة هيَ هيَ جوهريَّاً، لكنْ لا بدَّ من جهود مناصرة لكي تُدرِجَ كل الجهات الفاعلة ضمن حالات الطوارئ مراعاة الفروق في الجندر في برامجهم التعليمية، ولكي توفِّر السلطات والمانحون ما يُحتَاج إليه من تمويل. ويجب أنْ تُبنَى التدخُّلات على تحليلٍ على أساس الجندر أوَّليٍّ لما تتركه الأزمة من أثرٍ في الأطفال والشباب ذكورهم وإناثهم، وعلى تعيين المخاطر المحدَّدة التي يتعرضون لها وأيِّ معوِّقات تحول بينهم وبين التعليم والأمان.[4] والمهمِّ أنْ تنظر الجهات الفاعلة، ومن بينها السلطات المحلية والدولية والمنظمات الدولية وغير الحكومية، مليَّاً في التدخُّلات الآتية:

تغيير التنميط الجندري: ينبغي للتدخلات التَّعليمية في المجتمعات المتأثرة بالأزمات أو المُهجَّرة أنْ تتضمَّن تحسيس أولياء الأمور أهميةَ التعليم للفتيان والفتيات على السواء في الأزمات، وأنْ يُرُوا سُبُل حماية التعليم أطفالَهم وأنَّه يرفع درجة المساواة في الجندر، وأنَّه أيضاً استثمار في مستقبل أحسن تكثر فيه المساواة في الجندر. ولتحقيق المساواة في الوصول إلى التعليم ينبغي للمعلِّمين أن يُدرَّبوا على سُبُل رفع درجة المساواة في الجندر والأمان في الصفوف المدرسية، وينبغي إشراك المعلِّمات ليَكُنَّ قدوةً صالحة ومناصرات لتعليم الفتيات. مثال ذلك أنَّه في برنامج للتَّعلم المسرَّع لأطفال من جنوب السودان تقع أعمارهم بين 12 و18 سنة ولم يتمكَّنوا من قبلُ من أنْ يصلوا إلى التعليم بسبب الأزمة، كانت المعلِّمات فيه مناصرات بشدَّة لتسجيل الإناث ولإجراء أنشطة تساعد البنات على أنْ يستمرَّ تعليمهنَّ، ولتوفير مجموعة أدوات النظافة الشخصية أيَّام الحيض ودورات مياه مخصصة لهنَّ.[5]

معالجة المعوِّقات الاقتصادية: يوجد طرق مختلفة لمساعدة الأسر المتأثرة بالنزاع أو الأسر المهجَّرة على إرسال أطفالها إلى المدرسة حتَّى لو كانت في حال قلَّت فيها سُبُل عيشها أو دَخْلِهَا من جرَّاء حالات الطوارئ. وقد يكون من هذه الطرق توفير وجبات طعام مدرسية بالمجَّان (مع إدراك أنَّ انعدام الأمن الغذائي يؤثر في النساء والفتيات خاصةً)، وتوفير مواد التَّعلم بالمجَّان، وتيسير الوصول إلى برامج القروض الصغرى. وهذا الدعم ذو أهمية خاصةً للشباب والمراهقين الذين قد يضطرُّون إلى إعالة أنفسهم في الأزمات وقد يحتاجون إلى دعم اقتصادي مع تدريب يكسبهم المهارات وعونٍ على تهيئة سُبُل عيش كريم. وقد لاحظت فتيات مراهقات من اللواتي أجريت مقابلات معهنَّ في دراسة نيال أنَّ الفقر معوِّق لتعليم الفتيات خاصةً، وأشرنَ إلى أنَّ الحوافز المالية قد تُعِين الفتيات على بقائهنَّ في المدرسة. وتُبيِّن تقييمات برنامج تعليم فتيات جنوب السودان أنَّ التحويلات النقدية التي أُعطِيَتها الفتيات مباشرة لإعانتهنَّ على الوصول إلى التعليم وتخفيف الفقر في بيوتهنَّ وفي المجتمع الذي هنَّ فيه قد ساعدتهنَّ على البقاء في المدرسة مدةً أطول وحسَّنت من مواظبتهنَّ عليها.

إذهاب العنف وتحقيق الأمان: ينبغي اتِّخاذ تدابير مخصوصة لمكافحة العنف والتحرش الجندريَّان في داخل المدرسة وخارجها، ومن هذه التدابير تأمين الطرق التي يسلكها الطلاب للذهاب إلى المدرسة وفصل مراحيض الفتيات من مراحيض الفتيان وتوفير الدعم النفساني الاجتماعي للأطفال المتأثرين بالعنف الجندري أو بالتوتر الذي له صله بالنِّزاع. ويمكن للبرامج المراعية لحساسية النزاعات أيضاً أنْ تُقلِّل العنف الجندري. ولكنْ لن يحدث كل ذلك إلا بإشراك الإدارات المدرسية وجمعيات أولياء الأمور والمعلِّمين، وبتوعية أولياء الأمور والمجتمعات المحلية وإنشاء أنظمة حماية وآليات إبلاغ عن الانتهاكات ووضع مدوَّنات لقواعد سلوك المعلِّمين وموظفي المدارس. ففي برنامج التَّعلم المسرَّع في جنوب السودان، مثلاً، كانت صلة أولياء الأمور بالمعلَّمين حَرَسَاً في الصفوف المدرسية يَمنَعُ الشباب من أنْ يكونوا فاعلي الاعتداءات الانتقامية أو ضحايا تلك الاعتداءات.

يُضيَّق في الأزمات على المساواة في الجندر. إلا أنَّ توفير التعليم المراعي للفروق في الجندر في حالات الطوارئ طريقةٌ مجديةٌ لحماية الفتيان والفتيات على السواء من المخاطر الشديدة، ولإتاحة فُرَصٍ لهم يصوغون بها مستقبلهم من جديد.

 

إيفا إفرسِن evaiversen.consult@gmail.com

مستشارة

إلسا أُسترغارد eos@oxfamibis.dk

مستشارة تعليم رئيسية في منظمة أوكسفام إيبس https://oxfamibis.org/educationglobal

 

[1] UNESCO (2018) Global Initiative on Out of School Children: South Sudan Country Study

(المبادرة العالمية للأطفال الواقعين خارج الإطار المدرسي: دراسة قُطرِيَّة لجنوب السودان)

http://uis.unesco.org/sites/default/files/documents/global-initiative-out-of-school-children-south-sudan-country-study.pdf

[2] Oxfam IBIS (2017) Education and Gender Equality Concept Paper

(التعليم والمساواة في الجندر)

https://oxfamibis.dk/sites/default/files/media/pdf_global/ny_education_gender_equality_oxfam_ibis_concept_paper_eng.pdf

[3] Oxfam (2019) Born to Be Married. Addressing child, early and forced marriage in Nyal, South Sudan, Oxfam Research Report

(ولدن للزواج. التصدي للزواج القسري والمبكر وزواج الأطفال في نيال في جنوب السودان)

bit.ly/Oxfam-Born-to-be-Married-2019

[4] See INEE (2010) Gender Equality in and Through through Education: INEE Pocket Guide to Gender, (المساواة بني الجنسين في التعليم وخلال مراحله وتحقيق المساواة من خلال التعليم: دليل الجيب للجندر من آيني) وذلك المرجع يُفنِّد الحجة التي يذكرها البعض من أنَّ التعليم المستجيب للجندر في حالات الطوارئ من الرفاهيات ويمكن تأجيله لمرحلة لاحقة. https://toolkit.ineesite.org/resources/ineecms/uploads/1009/INEE_Pocket_Guide_to_Gender_AR.pdf

[5] Nicholson S (2018) Evaluation of Oxfam’s Accelerated Education Programme in Greater Ganyliel, South Sudan 2014–2018 Against Global Best Practice

(تقييم برنامج أوكسفام للتعليم المُسرَّع في غالينييل الكبرى، جنوب السودان 2014-2018 على ضوء الممارسة العالمية الفضلى)

https://oxfamibis.dk/sites/default/files/media/pdf_global/evaluation_report_oxfam_alp_ganyliel_south_sudan_2018.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Gender equality in education and emergencies

Evidence shows how a gender-responsive approach can alleviate the particular risks that girls and boys face during crisis and displacement.

Major achievements have been made worldwide to ensure education rights for both girls and boys. When crisis or disaster erupt or people have to flee, however, these achievements are jeopardised. Statistical data on displaced people’s access to education is difficult to obtain, and statistical information that is disaggregated by sex even more scarce. In a country like South Sudan, for example, which has suffered many years of war, violent conflict and displacements, it is estimated that 75% of girls are not enrolled in primary education.[1] Emergency situations may change existing gender dynamics and affect boys and girls differently but – most often – conflict reinforces existing barriers to education which in turn tend to reinforce gender disparities. Evidence from Oxfam IBIS’ education in emergencies programming, which is based on a framework for analysing and addressing barriers to gender equality in education,[2] identifies several such barriers:

Gender stereotypes and the devaluing of girls’ education: Men are traditionally supposed to be breadwinners, while women are expected to become mothers and wives and their education is therefore considered less important. Although progress has been made in terms of promoting gender equality in education, in a time of crisis or displacement the gains that have been made in a stable context can sometimes be lost: response efforts focus on other areas, meaning it is difficult to ensure education is prioritised. And when education is delivered in an emergency it is often hard to find the resources to continue specific efforts and initiatives to promote gender equality that have been implemented by States and non-governmental organisations.

Gender stereotypes and economic factors: Poor families generally tend to prioritise the education of boys, and in crisis situations they are even less likely to support girls’ education. When families are displaced, both boys and girls may be forced to drop out or stay out of school to support themselves or their family by taking on jobs or engaging in prostitution, or parents may arrange marriages for girls at an early age. A recent study carried out in Nyal, South Sudan – located close to some of the most brutal fighting during the five-year conflict – shows that it now has some of the highest early marriage rates in the world, with an estimated 71% of girls married before the age of 18, significantly higher than the national pre-conflict average of 45%.[3]

Violence and safety: Both girls and boys, but in particular girls, are exposed to the risk of sexual harassment and violence in schools and on the way to school, especially in crisis situations. This risk is greatly increased in a situation of conflict, both for those in school and for the considerable number of children who are left without access to education. For example, in Nyal most community members interviewed felt that women and girls faced serious risks of sexual violence. They also felt that these risks had increased as a result of the crisis, to the extent that women and girls could not go out alone or go to school without risk.

Promoting gender equality

Although approaches to ensuring gender equality in emergency education are essentially the same as in a stable context, advocacy efforts are needed to ensure that all actors involved in emergency settings incorporate gender responsiveness into their education programming, and that authorities and donors provide the necessary funding. Interventions must be based on an initial gender analysis of how conditions for male and female children and youth are affected by the crisis and on identification of the specific risks they are exposed to and any barriers to their education and safety.[4] It is important that all actors, including local and national authorities, international and non-governmental organisations, consider the following interventions:

Changing gender stereotypes: Education interventions in communities affected by crisis or displacement should include sensitising parents on the importance of education for both boys and girls in a time of crisis, showing them how education can protect their children and promote gender equality, and also be an investment in a better and more gender-equal future. To ensure equal access, teachers should be trained on how to promote gender equality and safety in the classroom, and female teachers should be engaged to act as role models and advocates for girls’ education. For example, in an accelerated learning programme (ALP) for 12–18-year-old South Sudanese who had previously been unable to access education because of crisis, the female teachers were strong advocates for female enrolment and for activities to help girls stay in education, providing menstrual hygiene kits and gender-segregated latrines.[5]

Addressing economic barriers: Even in a situation where families’ livelihoods or incomes are diminished because of an emergency, different types of support can help crisis-affected and displaced families send all their children to school. This may include offering free school meals (and being aware that food insecurity particularly affects women and girls), providing free school learning materials, and giving access to micro-credit programmes. This support is particularly important for youth and adolescents, who may be left to support themselves in a situation of crisis and may need economic support alongside skills training and assistance to establish a decent livelihood. Adolescent girls interviewed in the Nyal study noted that poverty was a particular barrier to girls’ education, and suggested that incentives could help girls stay in school. Evaluations of the Girls’ Education South Sudan programme show that the cash transfers that were given directly to girls to support their access to education and mitigate poverty at household and community levels helped them remain in school longer and improved their attendance.

Eliminating violence and ensuring safety: Special measures should be put in place to counter gender-based violence and harassment both within and outside the school, including ensuring that the route to school is safe, providing separate toilet facilities for girls and boys, and offering psychosocial support for children affected by gender-based violence or crisis-related stress. Conflict-sensitive programming can also help reduce gender-based violence. This is not possible without involving school management, parents’ associations and teachers, and without sensitising parents and communities, setting up protection systems and reporting mechanisms for violations, and establishing codes of conduct for teachers and school personnel. In the ALP in South Sudan, for example, the parent–teacher association acted as guards during classes to prevent youth from taking part in or being subject to revenge attacks.

In a situation of crisis, gender equality comes under pressure. However, providing gender-responsive education in emergencies is an effective way of protecting both boys and girls from severe risk, and of providing them with opportunities to rebuild their future.

 

Eva Iversen evaiversen.consult@gmail.com
Consultant

Else Oestergaard eos@oxfamibis.dk
Senior Education Advisor, Oxfam IBIS
https://oxfamibis.org/educationglobal/

 

[1] UNESCO (2018) Global Initiative on Out of School Children: South Sudan Country Study http://uis.unesco.org/sites/default/files/documents/global-initiative-out-of-school-children-south-sudan-country-study.pdf  

[2] Oxfam IBIS (2017) Education and Gender Equality Concept Paper https://oxfamibis.dk/sites/default/files/media/pdf_global/ny_education_gender_equality_oxfam_ibis_concept_paper_eng.pdf

[3] Oxfam (2019) Born to Be Married. Addressing child, early and forced marriage in Nyal, South Sudan, Oxfam Research Report http://bit.ly/Oxfam-Born-to-be-Married-2019

[4] See INEE (2010) Gender Equality in and Through through Education: INEE Pocket Guide to Gender, which debunks the argument that in an emergency gender-responsive education is a luxury to be considered at a later stage.  https://toolkit.ineesite.org/resources/ineecms/uploads/1009/INEE_Pocket_Guide_to_Gender_EN.pdf

[5] Nicholson S (2018) Evaluation of Oxfam’s Accelerated Education Programme in Greater Ganyliel, South Sudan 2014–2018 Against Global Best Practice  https://oxfamibis.dk/sites/default/files/media/pdf_global/evaluation_report_oxfam_alp_ganyliel_south_sudan_2018.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview