دراسة مختلف خيارات المناهج الدراسية للاجئين الفلسطينيين

تكتسب خيارات المناهج الدراسية أهمية في البلدان التي تستضيف أعداداً كبيرة من اللاجئين لمددة مُطوَّلة من الزمن.

في كثيرٍ من الأحيان تغيب مسألة نوعية التعليم الذي يتلقاه اللاجئون عن المناقشات الدائرة حول أهمية التعليم، وذلك خطأ كبير، إذ إنَّ خيارات المناهج الدراسية والكتب الدراسية التي تنقل هذه الخيارات تعكس رؤية المجتمع: أي الشخصيات التي تُدرَج في تلك المناهج وأيها لا تُدرَج وكيفية تمثيل هذه الشخصيات.

وثمّة نزاعات تحدث منذ فترة طويلة حول المناهج الدراسية التي تُدرَّس للاجئين الفلسطينيين[1] الذين يتعلمون في المدارس التي تديرها الأمم المتحدة. فبعد التهجير الفلسطيني في عام 1948، استوعبت المدارس العامة والخاصة والمدراس التي يديرها متطوعون الفلسطينيين في أماكن منفاهم. وفي بعض الحالات، وسَّعت بعض المدارس القائمة قدرتها لتستوعب الطلاب اللاجئين، بينما بُنِيَت مدارس أخرى لهم. ومن ثمّ فالظهور التدريجي للمدارس والتمويل غير الكافي للتعليم يعني أن مقدمي الخدمات يعتمدون اعتماداً كبيراً على موارد التعليم القائمة، بما في ذلك المناهج الدراسية والكتب المدرسية للدولة المضيفة. وعندما استلمت وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا) المدارس في مايو/أيار 1950، كان من الملائم والأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة والممكن سياسياً الاستمرار في استخدام هذه الموارد بدلاً من إنشاء موارد جديدة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإنَّ استخدام المناهج الدراسية للدولة المضيفة في المرحلة الابتدائية يعني أنَّ الطلاب يمكنهم بسهولة مواصلة دراستهم في المدارس الثانوية التابعة للدولة المضيفة. وأخيراً، سهلت المواءمة مع المناهج الدراسية للدول منح شهادات لنتائج التعلم في هذه الدول واعتمادها.

وقد دفعت أهمية حق اللاجئين في العودة ممثلي الأمم المتحدة والدول العربية إلى "التوصية بشدة" بتدريس جغرافيا فلسطين وتاريخها ليس فقط في مدارس الأونروا ولكن أيضاً في المدارس الحكومية والخاصة التي تقبل الأطفال الفلسطينيين.[2] لكن في السنوات التي تلت ذلك، واجهت الأونروا الكثير من التحديات في تنفيذ هذه السياسات.

وظهر أحد أبرز التحديات التي واجهت الأونروا في عام 1967 عقب احتلال إسرائيل للضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة مباشرةً. ففي غضون أسابيع من الاحتلال، حاولت السلطات الإسرائيلية تغيير المناهج المستخدمة في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة بدعوى ​​أنَّ المناهج الدراسية تشجع الكراهية وتحرض على العنف. ودُعِيت اليونسكو إلى إجراء مراجعة للكتب المدرسية المستخدمة في مدارس الأونروا من أجل تقييم مدى ملاءمتها. وقد كانت عملية اتخاذ القرار مضنية. فمن ناحية، أقرت لجنة المراجعة بأهمية مناقشة التاريخ بحرية، وكذلك حق المهجرين في التعبير عن الفزع أو اليأس. ومن ناحية أخرى، كانت اللجنة قلقة من تعرض الطلاب اللاجئين لأكثر من مجرد الشعور بالإحباط واليأس والرغبة في الانتقام.

وفي ختام المراجعة، أوصت اللجنة بضرورة وقف بضعة كتب، وتعديل البعض الآخر، أما بقية الكتب فتظل مستخدمةً كما كانت. ولكنَّ الحكومات العربية وإسرائيل أبديا موقفاً متعنتاً تجاه ذلك. فعلى سبيل المثال، رفضتْ الحكومة السورية التعاون مع اللجنة، معتبرة أن مراجعة كتبها الدراسية يُعَد انتهاكاً للسيادةٍ السورية. وفي بداية الأمر تعاونت الأردن ومصر غير إنهما في وقت لاحق رفضا انتقاد الكتب الدراسية للأسباب نفسها تقريباً. واعترضت إسرائيل كذلك على النتائج زاعمةً أن المراجعة كانت متساهلة أكثر من اللازم وحظرت الكتب المدرسية التي تعتبرها غير مناسبة لطرفٍ واحد.

وقد كان تأثير هذه الاعتراضات في الطلاب كبيراً. ففي غزة، بدأ طلاب الأونروا العام الدراسي 1967-1968 مع عدم وجود كتب مدرسية تقريباً، بينما حُرِم الطلاب في الضفة الغربية من ثلث الكتب المدرسية المطلوبة نتيجة للحظر الإسرائيلي. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أثر النقص والتأخير في تلقي المواد التعليمية على المدارس في الأردن وسوريا. ولمعالجة ذلك، طبعت الأونروا على نفقتها الخاصة ملايين الصفحات من مذكرات التدريس المستندة إلى الكتب الدراسية، ولكنها استبعدت الفقرات النصية التي اعتبرتها اللجنة مثيرة للمشكلات. ومع ذلك، اعتبرت الحكومات العربية ذلك شكلاً من أشكال الرقابة وحظرت على الأونروا توزيع مذكرات التدريس.

ولا تزال الخلافات تعوق سياسات المناهج الدراسية للأونروا. وقد أدى إدخال المناهج الدراسية الفلسطينية في أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الواحد والعشرين وتطبيقها في مدارس الأونروا إلى إعادة إشعال الاتهامات من جانب إسرائيل والمانحين الغربيين البارزين بأن اللاجئين يتعلمون الكراهية والعنف في مدارسهم، على الرغم من أن النتائج كانت عكس ذلك.[3]وفي عام 2017، اتهمت السلطة الفلسطينية الأونروا بالرقابة وهددت بتعليق العلاقات مع الوكالة. ومؤخراً، في عام 2018، سحبت الحكومة الأمريكية - أكبر ممول للأونروا - تمويلها، مكررة الادعاءات الإسرائيلية بأن مدارس الأونروا تروج لمعاداة السامية، وهي مزاعم تنفيها الوكالة. وعلى الرغم من تدخل جهات أخرى لتعويض بعض النقص (على الأقل مؤقتاً)، فإن هذه الأزمة الأخيرة لا تزال تُعرِّض تعليم ما يزيد عن نصف مليون لاجئ فلسطيني للخطر.

وفي أثناء ذلك كله حظيت وجهات نظر اللاجئين حول التعليم الذي يتلقونه بالتهميش. وينبغي أن نضع في أذهاننا أنَّ الأطفال اللاجئين يتعلمون ما يعايشونه. فبالنسبة للفلسطينيين، كما هو الحال بالنسبة لكثيرٍ من اللاجئين الآخرين، فإن ذلك يعني أنهم يدرسون الانتهاكات القائمة والمستمرة لحقوقهم. ويجب على من يشاركون في تحمل المسؤولية عن تعليم اللاجئين - سواء كانوا دولاً مضيفة أم منظمات متعددة الأطراف أو دولاً مانحة - أن يضعوا في الاعتبار أنه عندما يتجاهل محتوى التعليم هذه الحقائق، تصبح المدارس أقل صلة وقد تصبح نتائج التعليم منقوصة، مما يضر بالجميع.

جو كيلسي jo.kelcey@nyu.edu

مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، جامعة نيويورك www.nyu.edu 

 

[1] أُنشِئَت وكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا) بعد النِّزاع العربي-الإسرائيلي عام 1948. وفرَّ إثر ذلك النزاع أكثر من 900 ألف فلسطيني بعد طردهم وتلمسوا اللجوء في الأردن ولبنان وسوريا في حين نزح بعضهم الآخر إلى الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة. ومع أنَّ موجات أخرى للنزوح حدثت في أوقات لاحقة، لم يكتسب صفة اللجوء سوى المُهجَّرين في عام 1948 وذريتهم وهؤلاء من تحدد تفويض وكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا) التي تأسست من أجلهم. وعلى العموم، يُقصَد بمصطلح ’اللاجئين الفلسطينيين‘ في هذه المقالة ما يرتبط بوكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا). انظر العدد 26 من نشرة الهجرة القسرية (2006) ’التَّشرد الفلسطيني: قضية منفصلة؟‘ www.fmreview.org/ar/falastin

[2] UNESCO (1952) ‘Report of the working party convened by UNESCO to make recommendations on the possible development of the UNRWA–UNESCO Education Programme for Palestine Refugees in the Near East’

(تقرير مجموعة العمل التي عقدتها منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتعليم والعلوم والثقافة (يونيسكو) لإصدار التوصيات بشأن التطوير الممكن لبرنامج التعليم المشترك بين الأونروا واليونيسكو للاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى)

 http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0017/001785/178569eb.pdf

[3] Brown N (2001) ‘Democracy, history and the contest over the Palestinian curriculum’, prepared for the Adam Institute

(الديمقراطية والتاريخ والتنافس على المنهاج الدراسي الفلسطيني)

http://lllp.iugaza.edu.ps/Files_Uploads/635063694488064181.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Navigating curricula choices for Palestine refugees

Curriculum choices matter greatly in countries that host large numbers of refugees for increasingly long periods of time.

The question of what refugees learn is often absent from discussions of the importance of education. This oversight is significant. Curricula choices and the textbooks that convey these choices reflect a vision of society: who is included, who is not and how they are represented.

There are longstanding disputes over the curricula taught to Palestine refugees[1] who learn in schools run by the UN. Following Palestinian displacement in 1948, public, private and volunteer-run schools accommodated Palestinians in their places of exile. In some cases, existing schools expanded their capacity to include refugee students; in others, new schools for the refugees were created. The piecemeal emergence of schools and inadequate funding for education meant that providers relied heavily on existing education resources, including host-state curricula and textbooks. When the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA) took over the schools in May 1950 it was more expedient, cost-efficient and politically viable to continue using these resources than to create new ones. Furthermore, the use of host-state curricula at primary level meant that students could more easily continue their studies in host-state secondary schools. Finally, alignment with host states’ curricula facilitated the certification and accreditation of learning outcomes by these states.

The importance of the refugees’ right of return led the UN and Arab States’ representatives to “strongly recommend” that the geography and history of Palestine be taught not only in UNRWA schools but also in government and private schools that accepted Palestinian children.[2] In the ensuing years, however, UNRWA has faced numerous challenges implementing these policies.

One of the most notable challenges occurred in 1967 immediately following Israel’s occupation of the West Bank and Gaza. Within weeks, Israeli authorities attempted to change the curricula used in the Occupied Palestinian Territories, claiming that the curricula promoted hatred and incited violence. UNESCO was called on to conduct a review of the textbooks used in UNRWA schools in order to assess their appropriateness. The decision-making process was tortuous. On the one hand, the review commission recognised the importance of freely discussing history, as well as the right of displaced persons to express dismay or despair. On the other hand, the commission was concerned that refugee students should be exposed to more than just frustration, despair and revenge.

At the conclusion of the review, the commission recommended that a minority of books should be discontinued, others edited, and the remainder continue to be used as they were. The Arab governments and Israel were recalcitrant, however. The Syrian government, for example, refused to cooperate with the commission, arguing that a review of their textbooks was a violation of Syrian sovereignty. Initially cooperative, Jordan and Egypt later rejected criticism of their textbooks for much the same reasons. Israel also disagreed with the findings, claiming the review was too lenient and unilaterally banned textbooks they deemed inappropriate.

The impact of these disagreements on students was significant. In Gaza, UNRWA students started the 1967–68 academic year with almost no textbooks while those in the West Bank were deprived of a third of their required textbooks as a result of the Israeli ban. Shortages and delays in receiving teaching materials also affected schools in Jordan and Syria. To address this, UNRWA, at its own expense, produced millions of pages of teaching notes based on the textbooks but excluding the passages of text that the commission had deemed problematic. Arab governments considered this a form of censorship, however, and banned UNRWA from distributing the teaching notes.

Disagreements continue to shroud UNRWA’s curricula policies. The introduction of a Palestinian curriculum in the early 2000s and its implementation in UNRWA schools reignited accusations from Israel and prominent Western donors that the refugees learn hatred and violence in their schools, in spite of findings to the contrary.[3] In 2017 the Palestinian Authority accused UNRWA of censorship and threatened to suspend ties with the Agency. Most recently, in 2018 the US government – UNRWA’s biggest funder – withdrew its funding, reiterating Israeli claims that UNRWA schools promote anti-Semitism, claims that are denied by the Agency. Although others have stepped in to offset some of the shortfall (at least temporarily), this latest crisis continues to jeopardise the education of over half a million Palestinian refugees.

Throughout all this, refugees’ perspectives on the education they receive have been marginalised. And it should be remembered that refugee children learn what they live. For Palestinians, like many other refugee populations, this means ongoing and persistent violations of their rights. Those sharing responsibility for refugee education – whether host states, multilateral organisations or donor nations – should remember that when education content ignores these realities, schools become less relevant and education outcomes may be compromised, to the detriment of all.

 

Jo Kelcey jo.kelcey@nyu.edu
Doctoral candidate, New York University
www.nyu.edu

 

[1] UNRWA was created in the aftermath of the 1948 Arab-Israeli conflict. After fleeing or being expelled, over 900,000 Palestinians sought refuge in Jordan, Lebanon and Syria, while others were displaced to the West Bank or the Gaza Strip. While there have been other waves of displacement, only those displaced in 1948 and their descendants are considered ‘Palestine refugees’ and thus fall under UNRWA’s mandate. The term ‘Palestine refugees’ is used here as this article is predominantly about UNRWA. See FMR issue 26 (2006) ‘Palestinian displacement: a case apart?’ www.fmreview.org/palestine 

[2] UNESCO (1952) ‘Report of the working party convened by UNESCO to make recommendations on the possible development of the UNRWA–UNESCO Education Programme for Palestine Refugees in the Near East’ http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0017/001785/178569eb.pdf

[3] Brown N (2001) ‘Democracy, history and the contest over the Palestinian curriculum’, prepared for the Adam Institute http://lllp.iugaza.edu.ps/Files_Uploads/635063694488064181.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview