نمو الطفولة المبكرة والدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي في سوريا

لا غنى عن إقامة برامج نمو الطفولة المبكرة وتقديم الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي لتلك المرحلة لتلبية الحاجات المتغيرة والاستجابة للتحديات الناشئة..

منذ بداية الأزمة السورية، وجد النَّازحون داخلياً من كل أنحاء سوريا في منطقة السلمية في محافظة حماة الشرقية ملاذاً آمناً لتزداد بذلك نسبة السكان فيها إلى 40 بالمائة ليصبح المجموع الكلي للسكان 300 ألف نسمة. ويعاني كثير من النازحين بمن فيهم الأطفال من صدمات حادّة، لدرجة أنَّ الفاعلين الإنسانيين في مدينة السلمية بمن فيهم جمعية الهلال الأحمر العربي السوري وشبكة آغا خان للتنمية أدركوا بعد إرسالهم لفِرقَ الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي أنّهم غير مستعدين للتعامل مع ضخامة حاجات الصِّحة العقليَّة.

ولذلك، طوّرت شبكة آغا خان للتنمية خطة استراتيجية لتقديم الدعم النفسي-الاجتماعي الشامل في منطقة السلمية باستخدام مقاربات مستدامة قائمة على المجتمع المحلي تتعلق بالصحة العقلية والدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي. وبالإضافة إلى المناصرة والتوعية حول الصحة العقلية والدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي في بيئات النِّزاع وتعزيز القدرات فيما يتعلق بالمهارات وعدد العاملين في مجال الصِّحة العقليَّة، تضمنت الخطة أيضاً عناصر للحماية صُمِّمَت خصيصاً للأطفال. وتضمّن ذلك توفير المساحات الصديقة غير الرسميّة ودعم الأطفال على تطوير آليات مسايرة الظروف بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ الأنشطة التي تساعد البالغين على فهم نماء أطفالهم من النواحي النفسيّة والاجتماعيّة والمعرفيّة والحركيّة واللغويّة.

أنا وطفلي في الأزمات

يعدّ برنامج أنا وطفلي في الأزمات أحد العناصر الأساسية للخطة الاستراتيجيّة، إذ يدمج الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي مع البرامج الراسخة المختصة في النماء في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة والتابعة لشبكة آغا خان للتنمية. وأُنشئَ برنامج أنا وطفلي في الأزمات في بداية الأمر لتقديم جلسات تربوية يمكن فيها لكل من النازحين داخلياً وأولياء الأمور من المجتمع المضيف أن يجتمعوا معاً في مساحات صديقة وآمنة ليتناقشوا خبراتهم في مختلف الصدمات (بما فيها الموت والفقد والحزن والصدمة والتحديات التي يواجهونها في أثناء تربيتهم لأطفالهم في البيئات المشحونة بالتوتّرات). وأصبح من الواضح من خلال تلك الجلسات أنّ أولياء الأمور كانوا غير قادرين على إدارة الضغوطات الناجمة عن التصدّي للصدمات التي تعرض لها أطفالهم، عدا عن التوتّرات التي يواجهونها هم أنفسهم ونتيجة لذلك أصبح أولئك الأطفال أكثر عرضة للإهمال والاستضعاف.

وباستهداف كل من أولياء الأمور وأطفالهم حتى عمر الثامنة، يسعى برنامج أنا وطفلي في الأزمات إلى إدخال مفهومات النماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة وتعليم طرق تقديم الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي للأطفال. كما قدّم المشروع فرصةً لتيسير علاقات أفضل بين النَّازحين داخلياً والمجتمعات المضيفة وتمكينهم من الجلوس معاً لمناقشة التحديات التي يواجهونها في التكيف مع أوضاعهم الجديدة، وذلك في مساحات آمنة إلى جانب الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم التعامل معهم.

وتعلّم أولياء الأمور عدّة جوانب مثل أهمية نموّ الطفل ونمائه المبكر ونماء العقل وطرُق ’التعلم الفعال‘ وخصائص الطفولة المبكرة وفوائد مشاركة أولياء الأمور والدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي لكل من الآباء والأمهات والأطفال ومهارات التواصل الفعال لدى الأطفال ومفهوم التأديب الإيجابي. وفي الوقت نفسه، سُجّل الأطفال في النَّشاطات ذات الصلة. فعلى سبيل المثال، طُلِبَ إلى الأطفال تأليف القصص ومشاركتها مع والديهم كوسيلة تساعد الأطفال على التعبير عن أنفسهم وتمكّن أولياء الأمور من فهم ما يدور في عقول أطفالهم. ومن الأنشطة الأخرى كانت ’شجرة السلامة‘ إذ كتب الأطفال أسماء من يثقون بهم من أفراد العائلة كأغصان للشجرة وبذلك يساعدون أولياء الأمور على التعرّف على الأشخاص الذين يُشعِرون أطفالهم بأمان أكثر.

التكيّف من أجل الاستدامة بعيدة الأمد

بازدياد عدد المشاركين، يتعيّن النظر باستدامة المشروع على الأمد البعيد، واستشار مديرو المشروع المعايير الدنيا للشبكة العالمية لوكالات التعليم في حالات الطوارئ،[1] إذ كان اثنان منهم ذوا صلة خاصة ببرنامج أنا وطفلي في الأزمات: دمج المساعدات الطارئة مع التعافي المبكر وتشجيع مبادرات التعليم بقيادة المجتمع المحلي. ونتيجة لذلك، اتّجه المشروع نحو رابطات الآباء والمعلمين المدرسية كوسيلة للتنفيذ. وعن طريق ذلك، وصل المشروع للمزيد من أولياء الأمور والأطفال من كل من النَّازحين داخلياً والمجتمعات المضيفة ممّا عمل على زيادة الوعي حول النماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة وإسهامات الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي في حياة الأطفال. غير إنّه كان هنالك عدد من التحديات المرتبطة بذلك.

أولاً، لم يمتلك بعض أولياء الأمور المهارات اللازمة لنقل المعلومات المشمولة في المواد التدريبية وخاصة المفهومات الخاصة بالتعليم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لم يلتزم جميع المُيسِّرين بالتدريب التطوعي بدون حافز مالي. وثانياً، عقد المُيَسّرون جلسات برنامج أنا وطفلي في الأزمات في المدارس إلاَّ أنَّه لم تكن جميع المدارس لتمتلك المستلزمات الضرورية مثل جهاز العرض والكهرباء والتدفئة. وثالثاً، قدّمت المواد التدريبية خصائص الطفولة المبكرة لكل الأعمار وصولاً إلى سن الثامنة، غير إنّ أولياء الأمور للأطفال في الفئة العمرية (6–12) وجدوا النقاشات حول نماء دماغ الرضيع أمراً غير ذي صلة باهتماماتهم.

وتبعاً لذلك، بُسِّطَ محتوى المشروع ودُرِّبَ المُيَسِّرون على إيصال المواضيع المتعلقة بالفئة العمرية 6–12 بينما استُهدِفَت حاجات الأطفال الأصغر سناً من خلال مبادرات مختلفة لشبكة آغا خان للتنمية. وانصبّ المزيد من التركيز على استخدام النَّشاطات التفاعلية من أجل تقديم الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي لكل من الأطفال وأولياء الأمور. وساعد المشروع أولياء الأمور على تعزيز معرفتهم بالنماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة وأهمية الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي وكيفية وضع المفاهيم المتعلقة بهما في موضع التنفيذ مثل السماح للطفل بالبكاء إذا ما كان حزيناً وبناء قنوات تواصل مع أطفالهم مثل استخدام طُرُق التأديب الإيجابي.

ومنذ تأسيسه، واجه المشروع تحديات رئيسية أخرى بما فيها غياب مشاركة الآباء. ويعود ذلك لعدّة عوامل منها الاقتناع بأنّ العناية بالطفل هي من مسؤوليات الأم وحدها والغياب المادي للآباء إذ يقاتل كثير منهم في الحرب التي قتل فيها كثير من الآباء وأيضاً بسبب الضغط المتزايد على الرجال للعمل نظراً لتدهور الوضع المالي. وقُدّمت جلسات برنامج أنا وطفلي في الأزمات عن طريق أزواج من المُيسِّرين المتزوجين وذلك لتشجيع أولياء الأمور على المشاركة كأزواج، بيد أن غياب مشاركة الآباء ما زال مستمراً. ففي الفترة ما بين عامي 2014 و 2018، شارك ألفان و2216 من أولياء الأمور، لم يزد عدد الآباء الذكور منهم على 131 شخصاً.

التحرّك نحو التعافي

مع انخفاض حدّة النزاع المسلّح خلال عام 2018، أصبح يُنظَرُ إلى اسم المشروع ’أنا وطفلي في الأزمات‘ على أنّه مرتبط بمرحلة سابقة وصعبة للغاية من الأزمة. وبالتالي، أُعيدَ النظر بمحتوى برنامج أنا وطفلي في الأزمات بغية تكييفه مع مرحلة التعافي (رغم أنّه يجب أن لا ننسى أنّه ما زال ثمّة حاجة جديّة لتقديم الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي لكل من النَّازحين داخلياً والعائدين والمجتمعات المضيفة) وحُوِّلَ المشروع إلى برنامج القراءة مع الأطفال.

ويهدف مشروع القراءة مع الأطفال إلى زيادة وعي أولياء الأمور حول دور القراءة في تطوير المهارات اللغوية للطفل وأهمية توطيد عادات القراءة كجزء من الروتين اليومي للأطفال، كما يغطي مواضيع متعلقة بالدعم النفسي-الاجتماعي لكل من أولياء الأمور والأطفال بما في ذلك التأديب الإيجابي. ويوفّر المشروع 15 كتاباً قصصياً لأولياء الأمور يمكنهم استعارتها وقراءتها لأطفالهم أو مع أطفالهم في البيت.

كما يساعد المشروع أولياء الأمور على تحضير أطفالهم للمدرسة نفسياً من خلال روزنامة أنا مستعد للمدرسة والتي يصدرها المشروع بالإضافة إلى زجّ كل من أولياء الأمور والمعلمين والأطفال في النَّشاطات التفاعلية خلال الأسبوع الأول من المدرسة لكي يشعر الأطفال بالأمان ولِيألفوا كل من البيئات الجديدة والمعلمين. وفي الفترة ما بين مارس/آذار و أغسطس/آب من عام 2018, شارك 375 طفلاً و323 من أولياء الأمور في برنامج القراءة مع الأطفال على الرغم من بقاء مشاركة الآباء منخفضة.

التحديات و الخيارات

كان ضمان الحضور المستمر تحدياً ملحّاً. إذ إنّ معدلات حضور كل من أولياء الأمور والمُيَسّرين في برنامجَي أنا وطفلي في الأزمات والقراءة مع الأطفال لم تكن ثابتة. ولكي تتحسّن المشاركة في البرنامجَين في السياقات التي تضاءلت فيها موارد الناس المالية، يوصى بشدّة بتقديم الحوافز. ويمكن لنوع الحافز المُقَدَم أن يُستخدَم جنباً إلى جنب مع البرامج الإنسانية الأخرى كما يمكن أن تكون قائمة على الحاجات وملائمة للسياق سواء أكانت نقداً أو قسائم أو مواد غذائية أو غير غذائية (مثيل أدوات الغسيل ومواجهة الشتاء) أو سلال صديقة للطفل (تشمل على كتب قصصيّة وملابس داخلية وزي مدرسي ومكمّلات غذائية). إذ إنَّ تقديم الحوافز منذ بداية المشروع (بدلاً من منتصف الطريق) سوف يساعد على ضمان تقديم الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي والنماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة من الولادة وحتى الطفولة وما بعدها. ومع أنَّ شبكة آغا خان للتنمية في سوريا لم تطبق النهج القائم على الحوافز غير أنّه يبدو جلياً من خلال النظر إلى تجارب الفاعلين حول العالم ممّن استخدموا الحوافز الغذائية أو النقدية أنّ هذا النهج جدير بالاعتبار.

ومن الخيارات الأخرى التي يمكن استكشافها هي استخدام التكنولوجيا النقّالة والتطبيقات لتيسير وصول أولياء الأمور إلى منتجات النماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة. فكما ذُكرَ سابقاً، لا يقدر الكثير من أولياء الأمور وخاصة الآباء حضور الجلسات بسبب التزامات العمل. لذا يمكن لتوفير المنصات المتحركة أو استخدام تلك الأكثر شيوعاً مثل واتس آب وفيسبوك أن يسهم في تحسين التغطية والوصول. فعلى سبيل المثال: يمكن للتطبيقات المجانية أن توفر فيديوهات التعلّم ورسائل التوعية ومجموعات فعالة للنقاشات، كما تتيح صفحات الفيسبوك لكوادر البرنامج فرصة نشر المواضيع وتسمح للقرّاء مناقشة القضايا وإثارة التساؤلات، وعلى الواتس آب، يمكن إرسال رسائل التوعية إلى مجموعات المشاركين الذين يمكنهم تمريرها إلى غيرهم كما يمكن الاتفاق مع مزودي الخدمات المتنقلة المحليين على إرسال رسائل نصيّة حول النماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة لتصل إلى كل من يعيش في منطقة محددة. (تستخدم مؤسسة آغا خان بالأصل الرسائل النصيّة كجزء من حملتها حول التوعية الصحيّة.) ويمكن لمثل هذه المبادرات أن تجد تطبيقاً جيداً في السياق السوريّ، نظراً لامتلاك عدد كبير من الأسر للأجهزة النقّالة.

كما تعمل شبكة آغا خان للتنمية حالياً مع الحكومة والفاعلين غير الحكوميين لتأسيس إطار عمل وطني لتنمية الطفولة المبكرة. ويعود نجاح برامج الدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي للأطفال في منطقة السلمية خلال الأزمة إلى حقيقة أنّ برامج النماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة كانت راسخة في هذه المنطقة قبل الأزمة. فبالنسبة للمجتمعات المعرضة للنِّزاع وما يتبعه من التحديات التي تتعلق بالصحة العقلية، يمكن لبرامج النماء في مراحل الطفولة المبكرة على الأقل أن توفر البنية التحتية التي يمكن لبرامج الصحة العقلية والدعم النّفسي-الاجتماعي أن تبني عليها لاحقاً، وذلك من أجل التخفيف من اضطرابات الصحة العقليّة ومواجهتها بما يشمل بداية الصدمات الحادة.

 

فاطمة خضُّور fatima.khaddour89@gmail.com

مسؤولة المشروعات، مؤسسة آغا خان، سوريا www.akdn.org

 

[1]تذكر المعايير الدنيا للشكة العالمية لوكالات التعليم في حالات الطوارئ المستوى الأدنى لجودة التعليم والوصول إليه في حالات الطوارئ من خلال التعافي وعرض أفضل الممارسات في تلبية الحقوق التعليمية وحاجات المتأثرين بالكوارث والأزمات.

www.ineesite.org/ar/minimum-standards-ar

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Early childhood development and psychosocial support in Syria

Programming for early childhood development and psychosocial support needs to be able to evolve in order to cater for changing needs and to respond to emerging challenges.

From the onset of the Syrian crisis, internally displaced persons (IDPs) from all over Syria sought safe haven in Salamieh District in eastern Hama Governorate, increasing the population by 40% to its current total of 300,000. Many of those who were displaced – including children – were suffering from severe trauma. Humanitarian actors in Salamieh City, including the Syrian Arab Red Crescent (SARC) and the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN), deployed psychosocial support (PSS) teams but responders soon realised that they were unprepared for dealing with the sheer extent of mental health needs.

The AKDN therefore developed a strategic plan for providing comprehensive psychosocial support in Salamieh District, using sustainable, community-based approaches to mental health and psychosocial support (MHPSS). In addition to advocacy and awareness raising around MHPSS in conflict settings, and strengthening capacity in terms of skills and number of mental health workers, the plan also incorporated protection elements specifically designed for children. These included the provision of non-formal friendly spaces and support in helping children develop coping mechanisms, plus activities to help adults understand their child’s psychological, social, cognitive, motor and linguistic development.

Me and My Child in Crisis

One of the key elements of the strategic plan was the Me and My Child in Crisis programme (MMIC), which integrated PSS into AKDN’s well-established early childhood development (ECD) programming. The MMIC programme was initially set up to provide parenting sessions, whereby both IDP and host community parents could come together in a friendly safe space where they could discuss their experience of trauma (including death, loss, grief, shock and the challenges they face in bringing up their children in stressful environments). It became clear during the sessions that parents were unable to manage the pressures of coping with their children’s trauma in addition to the stresses they themselves faced; as a consequence, this group of children was becoming more neglected and therefore increasingly vulnerable.

Targeting both parents and their children up to eight years of age, MMIC sought both to introduce ECD concepts and to teach methods of providing psychosocial support to children. The project also presented an opportunity for facilitating better relations between IDPs and host communities – enabling them to sit together to discuss challenges in adapting to their new situations, in a safe space alongside people they could relate to.

Parents learned about aspects such as the importance of growth and early development of the child, the development of the brain, methods of ‘active learning’, characteristics of early childhood, advantages of engaged parenting, psychosocial support for parents and for children, effective communication skills for children, and the notion of positive discipline. In parallel, children were enrolled in related activities. For example, children were asked to create stories which were then shared with their parents, as a way for children to express themselves and for parents to understand what takes place in their children’s minds. Another exercise was the ‘safety tree’, where a child wrote the names of trusted family members as branches of a tree, helping their parents to understand who exactly makes their child feel most safe.

Adapting for long-term sustainability

As the number of participants increased, the project’s long-term sustainability had to be considered. The project managers consulted the INEE Minimum Standards,[1] two of which were particularly pertinent to the MMIC programme: blending emergency assistance with early recovery, and encouraging community-led education initiatives. As a result, the project shifted towards school-based parent-teacher associations (PTAs) as a means of implementation. By doing so, the project reached even more parents and children (of both IDP and host communities), which increased ECD awareness and the contribution of PSS in children’s lives. However, there were several challenges associated with this.

Firstly, some parents did not have the right skills to deliver the information included in the training materials, especially education-specific concepts. In addition, not all facilitators were committed to voluntary training without financial incentive. Secondly, facilitators conducted MMIC sessions in schools but not all schools had the necessary resources, such as projectors, electricity or heating. And, thirdly, the training materials introduced characteristics of early childhood for all ages up to eight but parents of school-aged children (6–12) found discussions about infant brain development irrelevant.

Consequently, the project content was simplified, and MMIC facilitators were trained in delivering topics related to ages 6–12, while younger children’s needs were targeted through different AKDN initiatives. More focus was placed on using interactive activities to provide PSS for children and parents. The project helped parents to enhance their knowledge of ECD and the importance of PSS, put ECD concepts and PSS into practice (for example, allowing a child to cry when they are sad) and build better communication channels with their child (for example, using positive discipline methods).

Since its establishment, the project has faced another major challenge: the lack of fathers’ participation. This relates to a number of factors, including the belief that childcare is the mother’s responsibility, the physical absence of fathers (many of whom are fighting in the war, in which many others have been killed), and the increased pressure on men to work (given the declining financial situation). MMIC sessions were delivered by facilitators who were themselves married couples in order to encourage parents to participate as couples but the lack of male participation persisted. Between 2014 and 2018, 2,216 parents took part, of whom only 131 were fathers.

Moving towards recovery

As the intensity of armed conflict decreased over 2018, the project’s name – Me and My Child in Crisis – came to be perceived as being associated with a former and particularly difficult phase of the crisis. MMIC’s content was therefore reviewed to adjust to the recovery phase (though it should not be forgotten that there continue to be very serious PSS needs for IDPs, returnees and host communities) and was transformed into the Reading with Children (RWC) programme.

RWC aims to raise parents’ awareness about the role of reading in developing their child’s language skills and the importance of establishing reading habits as part of a child’s daily routine. It also covers topics of psychosocial support for parents and children (including positive discipline). The project provides 15 storybooks for parents to borrow and read to/with their children at home.

The project also helps parents prepare their children psychologically for school through the project’s I Am Ready for School calendar, and immerses parents, teachers and children in interactive activities during the first week of school so that children feel safe as they become familiar with new environments and teachers. Between March and August 2018, 375 children and 323 parents participated in RWC (though the participation of fathers remains low).

Challenges and options

A notable challenge has been securing consistent attendance. Attendance rates for both parents and facilitators in both MMIC and RWC have been unstable. In order to improve programme participation in contexts where people’s financial resources have been diminished, incentives are highly recommended. The type of incentive offered can be used in conjunction with other humanitarian programmes and be based on need and appropriate to the context, whether cash, vouchers or food, non-food items (WASH or winterisation kits) or child-friendly baskets (including items such as storybooks, underwear, school uniform and nutrient supplements). Providing incentives from the beginning of a project (as opposed to midway) will help ensure that delivery of PSS and ECD is maintained from birth into childhood and thereafter. Although AKDN in Syria has not actually applied an incentive-based approach, it appears – from looking at the experiences of actors around the world who use cash or food incentives – to be an approach worth considering.

Another option that could be explored is the use of mobile technology and applications to facilitate parental access to ECD products. As mentioned earlier, many parents, especially fathers, were not able to attend sessions because of work commitments. Providing mobile platforms or utilising those that are commonly used (such as WhatsApp or Facebook) could improve coverage and access. For example: a free app could offer learning videos, awareness messaging and interactive group discussions; Facebook pages allow programme staff to post topics and readers to discuss issues and raise questions; on WhatsApp, awareness messaging can be sent to groups of participants who can forward them in turn; and local mobile service providers can be contracted to send SMS messages about ECD to reach everyone living in a certain area. (The Aga Khan Foundation already uses SMS messaging as part of its health awareness campaign.) Such initiatives might work well in the Syrian context, given the large number of households owning mobile devices.

AKDN is currently working with government and non-government actors to establish a national ECD framework. The success of PSS programming for children in Salamieh District during the crisis was due in part to the fact that ECD programming was well established in this area before the crisis. For communities vulnerable to conflict and subsequent mental health challenges, ECD programming may at least provide the infrastructure upon which MHPSS programming can later build, to help mitigate against and cope with mental health conditions, including the onset of severe trauma.

 

Fatima Khaddour fatima.khaddour89@gmail.com
Project Officer, Aga Khan Foundation Syria www.akdn.org

 

[1] The INEE Minimum Standards articulate the minimum level of educational quality and access in emergencies through to recovery, presenting best practice in meeting the educational rights and needs of people affected by disasters and crises. www.ineesite.org/en/minimum-standards/translations

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview