تعزيز النُّظُم التعليمية لاستجابات قطاع التعليم بعيدة الأمد

يُبيِّن تنفيذ البرامج في كلٍّ من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ونيجيريا إمكانية وضع لبنات البناء الأساسية التي ترتكز إليها التحسينات بعيدة الأمد في المراحل المبكرة من الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ حتى في أكثر السياقات تحدياً.

بين عامي 2016 و2017، دعمت منظمة طفل الشارع (Street Child) وشريكتها إبِنزِر مينيستري إنترناشيونال قطاع التعليم الثانوي في مخيم لوسيندا للاجئين في مقاطعة كيفو الجنوبية شرقيَّ جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية حيث يعيش 32 ألف لاجئٍ بوروندي.[1] فقد تضرَّر النظام المدرسي الذي أُدمِجَ فيه الأطفال اللاجئون من سنوات نتيجة الإهمال وعدم كفاية الاستثمار[2] وكانت المدارس مُعدَّةً إعداداً سيئاً لاستقبال سبعة آلاف طالب لاجئ (ومنهم أكثر من ألف و200 طالبٍ في المرحلة الثانوية) بدؤوا يصلون في شهر يونيو/حزيران من عام 2015. فسُورِعَ إلى إقامة عدة مدارسَ ثانوية جديدة في مبانٍ مُستأجرَة أو مُشتركَة لاستيعاب الطلاب، وكان أفراد الهيئات التعليمية الذين وُظِّفوا في أكثرهم غير مؤهلين.

وإضافة إلى التدريب والموارد التي وفَّرتها منظمة طفل الشارع وإبِنزِر مينيستري إنترناشيونال الشَّريكتان لتلبية حاجات التعليم الطارئة والمُستعجلَة، ومنها توزيع الأزياء المدرسية المُوحَّدة ومواد التعليم والقرطاسية والموارد الترفيهية، وتحسين البنية التحتية، وتدريب المعلِّمين على موضوعات لها صلة وثيقة بالحال مثل البيداغوجيا المراعية للفروق في الجندر وعلم نفس الطفل والتخطيط للطوارئ. وإضافة إلى ذلك، ضَمَّ الدعم الذي تقدِّماه عَناصِرَ مُستعارَةً من نموذج من نماذج تعزيز نُظُم التعليم بعيد الأمد يقوده المجتمع المحلي. ويهدف ذلك النموذج بعيد الأمد الذي وضعته الشريكتان واستغرق تطويره أكثر من عقد من الزمن في بيئة ليس فيها لاجئون في مقاطعة كيفو الجنوبية يهدف إلى تحسين الاكتفاء الذاتي ببناء المنشآت والقدرات والمهارات لتمكين المعلِّمين والمديرين وأولياء الأمور من أنْ يتحسَّنوا ويُحسِّنوا في كل مدرسة على حدة من غير المساعدة الحكومية.  

عناصر بناء القدرات بعيد الأمد

أوَّل عنصر اتُّخِذَ في المقاربة بعيد الأمد هذه هو صبُّ الانتباه على بناء الكفاءات التربوية الجوهرية، ومنها إدارة الصفوف المدرسية وتقييم الطلاب والتعلُّم الدائر حول الطفل والانضباط الحسن، لتعويض نقص المؤهلات والخبرات في الهيئات التعليمية الحالية والجديدة جميعاً ورفع معيار التدريس كلِّه رفعاً مستداماً. ويشتمل هذا العنصر على أنشِطَةَ تَدرِيبٍ جماعيٍّ ويليها سَنَةُ إرشادٍ في المدرسة يشرف عليها مدرِّبو معلِّمين متخصصون من إبِنزِر مينيستري إنترناشيونال. وأظهر هذا الدعم المستمر في الصفوف المدرسية، في حالات التنمية بعيدة الأمد في كيفو الجنوبية وغيرها، نتائج ممتازة في تحسين معارف المعلِّمين ومهاراتهم وفي إزالة الممارسات السيئة المتواصل فعلها مثل غياب تخطيط الدروس، وأساليب تدريس غير تشاركية، واستخدام مُمَنهَج للعقوبة البدنية.

أمَّا العنصر الثاني فهو انصباب انتباهٍ مستديمٌ على قدرات إدارة المدارس من حيث التمويل والإدارة وأصول التعليم، بالعمل مع المديرين ولجان أولياء الأمور لإنشاء نُظُم إدارةٍ للمدارس متينة وقوية. وتجمع هذه المقاربة أيضاً جلسات التدريب الجماعي مع رصد الأداء في المدرسة لتعزيز التعلُّم والممارسات الجيدة. ولهذه المقاربة قوةٌ خاصَّةٌ في مخيم لوسيندا وهي فرصة إنشاء لجان أولياء الأمور (التي ما كانت من قبل في أيٍّ من المدارس) التي تضمُّ ممثلات الإناث وأفراداً من اللاجئين هناك.

أمَّا العنصر الثالث فهو تقديم المشروعات المدرَّة للدخل القائمة في المدارس ويُدِيرُها المعلِّمون والطلاب وأولياء الأمور معاً. وتحتفظ المدارس بالدخل، وتوصي منظمة طفل الشارع هذه المدارس بأنْ تُنفِق من الربح 20 بالمئة على الموارد، ومنها مواد التعليم أو مِنَح الطلاب الدراسية، على حسب مقتضى أوْلَوِيَّاتها، وأنْ تُعِيدَ ما يبقى من الربح إلى الاستثمار في تطوير المشروع وتنميته، ولا سيمَّا أوَّل أمره. وقد أثبتت هذه المقاربة، في الأماكن التي تجري فيها التنمية بعيدة الأمد، أنَّ فيها طريقة مجدية في جلب موارد إضافية للمدرسة، وفي إشراك عدد أكبر من أولياء الأمور في أنشطتها، وفي زيادة مهارات الطلاب في مجال تنظيم المشروعات وتوسيع معرفتهم للأعمال التجارية وخبرتهم فيها.

وبدأت هذه العناصر الثلاثة بعد عامٍ من انتهاء التدخُّل تظهر نتائجَ أوَّليَّة واعدة إذ تَدُلُّ مشاهدات المعلِّمين وتقييماتهم الذاتية على تحسُّنٍ بارزٍ في الكفاءات الأساسية والممارسات في الصفوف المدرسية وعلى نموِّ الثقة بالنفس. وأظهرت إدارة المدارس تحسُّناً مستداماً، وأنَّ السِّجلات والحسابات وجداول التعليم الزمنية وسجلات الطلاب تُستخدَم اليوم في المدارس كلها. وقد أُلِّفَتْ لجان أولياء الأمور في كل المدارس، ويداوم أكثر أعضائها على الاجتماع معاً ويسهمون إسهاماً مجدياً في صنع قرارات إدارة المدرسة. وحقق ثلثا مشروعات المدارس ربحاً استُثمِر شيءٌ منه في تحسين البنية التحتية وفي المواد التعليمية. وذكرت كلُّ المدارس تغيُّراً حسناً من حيث إدماج اللاجئين وتعاونهم، وهذان على مستوى الطلاب ولجان أولياء الأمور.

تعزيز النظام التعليمي بالتعلُّم المُسرَّع

منذ يناير/كانون الثاني 2018، تنفذ منظمة طفل الشارع برنامجَ تعلُّمٍ مُسرَّعٍ تموِّله منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأمومة والطفولة (اليونيسف) من أجل خمسة آلاف و700 طفلٍ في شرقيِّ شماليِّ نيجيريا أكثرهم نازحون. وقد جرَّ النِّزاع في الولايات الشمالية الشرقية التَّهجير وانعدام الأمان، وكان الأثر الذي تركاه في التعليم الأساسي مُدمِّراً[3] وكما هو الحال في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، كان النظام المدرسي متضرراً قبل اندلاع العنف بسبب عقودٍ من الإهمال وضعف الاستثمار، وانعكس ذلك على جاهزيته التي أضحت ضعيفة غير قادرة على التعامل مع التحدي الذي يفرضه التَّهجير واسع النطاق. ونحوٌ من ثلاثة ملايين من الأطفال النَّازحين ومن أطفال المجتمع المضيف هم خارج النظام المدرسي، و57 بالمئة من مدارس ولاية بورنو مغلقة و42 بالمئة من الصفوف المدرسية يُجلَس فيها 80 طفلاً على الأقل.

وإذ قد كان برنامج التعلُّم المسرَّع هذا يمنح الأولوية لتلبية حاجات التعليم الطارئة على غيرها بتوفير مساعدات التعليم في حالات الطوارئ (ومنها توزيع مواد التعليم والتعلُّم، وإصلاح الصفوف المدرسية، وتدريب المعلِّمين)، فهو أيضاً قد وُضِعَ ليعزز النُظُم التعليمية في الأمد الطويل.

والعنصر الأول الذي يسهم في تحقيق هذا الهدف هو التصميم المبتكر لستِّين مركزَ تعلُّمٍ مؤقتاً أُنشِئَت في ولاية بورنو ويوبي وآدماوة. ففي هذه المراكز أرضيةٌ خرسانية قوية، وجدرانٌ منخفضة يمكن تعليتها حين تتوفر الموارد، وسطحٌ دعاماته متينة، والغاية من ذلك أنْ تُحوَّل هذه المراكز بيُسرٍ في المستقبل إلى مبانٍ دائمة بكلفة قليلة. وقد بُنِيَتْ كثير من مراكز التعلُّم المؤقتة هذه على أرض مدارس موجودة وذلك سيجعل منها صفوفاً مدرسية دائمة. أمَّا في الأماكن القاصية، فقد أُنشِئَت مراكز التعلُّم المؤقت فيها مجتمعات محلية ليس فيها بنية تحتية مدرسية، وهذا يعني ضرورةَ تحوُّل مراكز التعلُّم المؤقتة إلى مراكز تعلُّم دائمة في الأمد المتوسط لغياب برنامج شامل لبناء المدارس على المستوى الوطني. وما بَرِحَتْ لجان تعليم المجتمعات المحلية تُؤَلَّفُ لإدارة مراكز التعلُّم المؤقتة، وتحضُّ منظمة طفل الشارع وسلطات التعليم النيجيرية حظاً مشتركاً على جعل مراكز التعلُّم المؤقتة كلها على نموذج واحد. وسيشتمل ذلك على إنشاء آلية لتحوُّل تلك المراكز إلى منشآت دائمة، وللاعتراف الرسمي بلجان تعليم المجتمعات المحلية، وجعل مراكز التعلُّم المؤقتة أهلاً لتلقِّي الدعم الحكومي كما تتلقَّاه نظيراتها في القطاع الرسمي.

أمَّا العنصر الثاني فهو توجيه الانتباه إلى إيجاد قدرات تدريسية جديدة في المجتمعات المحلية التي لا تحظى بخدمات كافية. وأصعب الصعاب التي يواجهها النظام التعليمي في شماليِّ نيجيريا هي توظيف المعلِّمين المؤهلين للمدارس الريفية. وقد وظَّفت منظمة طفل الشارع بالتعاون مع لجان تعليم المجتمعات المحلية 120 معلماً من معلِّمي المجتمعات المحلية المتطوِّعين، إذ تُمكِّن هذه المقاربة المعلِّمين الذين فيهم الحد الأدنى من المؤهلات، المندمجين عموماً في المجتمعات المحلية، من اكتساب المهارات والخبرات من خلال الحصول على فرصة التدريس باللغة المناسبة في مجتمعاتهم المحلية القاصية. وتزور الهيئات التعليمية الحكومية بانتظامٍ معلِّمي المجتمعات المحلية المتطوِّعين زيارات إرشادية لتحفيزهم ومساعدتهم، وتعمل منظمة طفل الشارع من قرب مع سلطات التعليم النيجيرية لوضع آلية بها يمكن لمعلِّمي المجتمعات المحلية المتطوِّعين أنْ يقدموا طلبات إلى مجلس تسجيل المعلِّمين النيجيري ليحصلوا على تصديق رسمي يجيز لهم التعليم في المرحلة الابتدائية. ويتيح لهم ذلك التصديق الرسمي أن يكونوا موظفين دائمين في القطاع الرسمي، فيمهد الطريق بذلك إلى زيادة عدد المعلمين المؤهلين في الأماكن التي يصعب الوصول إليها.

ثم إنَّ الحضَّ المستدام والتعاون الوثيق مع الدولة وسلطات الحكومة الفدرالية هو جزء لا يتجزأ من مقاربة منظمة طفل الشارع في شماليِّ شرقيِّ نيجيريا إذ تدعم منظمة طفل الشارع، بعضوِّيتها في اتحاد المنظمات غير الحكومية، الحُكومةَ لوضع مناهج رسمية وطنية للتعليم في حالات الطوارئ، مُدرَجٌ فيها مهارات الحياة الأساسية مع مهارات الحساب والقراءة والكتابة، ومُحدِّدَةٌ مساراتٍ واضحة لإعادة دمج الأطفال الذين تلقوا التعليم في وضع الطوارئ إلى المسار العام للتعليم.

دروس مستفادة من برامج التعليم في وضع الطوارئ

لا شك في أنَّ جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ومنطقة الشمال الشرقي من نيجيريا تواجهان تحديات وقيود خاصة بهما، إلاَّ أنَّ هناك دروساً يمكن تعلمها من خبرة وضع برامج تعليم الطوارئ في هذين الموقعين.

فأول، يبرهن مثال جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية على أنَّ تدخل التعليم في حالات الطوارئ يمكن استخدامه لتعميق الكفاءات والمهارات التعليمية الجوهرية وتوسيعها إلى درجة تتجاوز المطلوب منها للوفاء بالحاجات التعليمية الطارئة، ويبرهن أيضاً على أنَّ مقاربة كهذه يمكن دمجها بِيُسرٍ وبتكلفة مقبولة وإن كان ذلك في التدخلات قريبة الأمد. أما في الأماكن التي يُعزَى فيها انخفاض قدرات المعلمين ومهاراتهم إلى وجود ضعف عام في المنظومة التَّعليمية، فتشير دراسات الحالة تلك أنَّه حتى التدخلات في المراحل المبكرة إنما هي فرصة يُعتَمد عليها بالتصدي لكامل نطاق مهارات المعلمين الأساسية المتعلقة ببيداغوجيا التعليم ومهارات إدارة القاعة الصفية.

وثانياً، يبرهن مِثَالُ جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية ومِثَالُ نيجيريا على أنْ لا مكان لعبارة هذا سابِقٌ أوانه في حالات الطوارئ عند إعادة تأهيل إدارة المدارس الضعيفة ومشاركةِ المجتمع المحلي غير المجدية، بإقامة نماذج تمكينٍ يقودها المجتمع المحلي وتَنصَبُّ على الاكتفاء الذاتي. وقد يجلب مثل ذلك التحوُّل للمدرسة فوائد مستدامة. ولا يقل أهمية عن هذه الجهود بناء الهياكل مثل جمعيات أوليات الأمور ولجان إدارة المدرسة لكنَّها تتطلب إلى التقوية والتعزيز ليس من خلال التدريب والتوجيه المستمرين فحسب، بل من خلال الوصول إلى التمويل أيضاًن خاصة من خلال مشروعات توليد الدخل المستدامة. ويأتي تعاون أولياء الأمور والمعلِّمين المجدي بمزيَّةٍ إضافيةٍ وهي تغذية التعاون وإزالة الحواجز التي بين المهجَّرين والمجتمعات المضيفة، ورَتْقُ خَرْقٍ حَرِجٍ وهو غياب الدعم الحكومي القوي وغياب إجراء معايير جودة التعليم الحكومي وفرضها.

وثالثاً، تُقدِّم حالة نيجيريا مثالاً بيِّناً في السُّبُل التي يُعالِجُ بها التدخل في حالات الطوارئ تحدياً مزمناً هو قلَّة المعلِّمين في المناطق النائية التي يصعب الوصول إليها. وإنْ وَضَعَتْ الحكومة النيجيرية، وهذا ما يذهب إليه الظَّنُّ، آليةً لتسريع تحوُّل معلِّمي المجتمعات المحلية المتطوِّعين إلى المدارس الرسمية، ففي ذلك فائدةٌ للنظام التعليمي، ولا سيَّما لمدارس شماليِّ شرقيِّ نيجيريا، وفوزٌ عظيمٌ شأنه لأصحاب المصلحة المعنيين اللذين حضُّوا على هذه الآلية.

وأخيراً، للنموذج الذي تُحَالُ فيه البنية التحتية من مؤقتة إلى دائمة الذي جُرِّبَ أوَّل ما جُرِّبَ في نيجيريا مقاربةٌ قد تدعو إلى الإعجاب مستقبلاً في معالجة ثغرات البنية التحتية بعيد الأمد، في حال نيجيريا وغيرها، ولو أنَّه ما زال هناك مزيد عملٍ ينبغي فعله لكي تؤيِّد الحكومة النَّمُوذَجَ وتَضَعَ آليات تقودها المجتمعات المحلية أو تموِّلها الحكومة لدعم التحوُّل. ويُحتمَل للتعاون مع سلطات الدولة أن يبقى موجوداً في أحوال أكثر من احتمال بقائه في أحوال أخرى، ولكنْ ينبغي في الأحوال جميعاً لاستجابات التعليم في حالات الطوارئ أنْ تُقدِّمَ الدور الرئيسيَّ للمجتمعات المحلية على غيره، وكذلك ضرورة العمل بتعاون مُحكَمٍ مع الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى في مجال العمل الإنساني.

لكنْ يبقى قِصَرُ أَمَدِ أكثر ما يرد إلى التعليم في حالات الطوارئ من تمويلٍ تحدِّياً رئيسيَّاً، وينبغي ألَّا ينقطع حضُّ المانحين على الانتقال إلى تمويل متعدد السنوات يسير التحوِّل ليناسب الحال. ومن الأهداف الجوهرية لتدخلات كهذه معالجة عقبة انعدام الاستدامة، ولو معالجة جزئية، التي جرَّها التمويل ذو الأمد القصير. وتعالج التدخلات هذا بجملة أمور من بينها تعزيز الاستفادة من المتطوِّعين، وبناء المهارات والقدرات في قلب المدارس وإيجاد حلول مُدرَّة للدخل. وقد وجَّهنا انتباهنا، في نيجيريا حيث تدخُّل الحكومة لإنجاح التدخلات هو احتمال واقعي، إلى أنشطة مثل توظيف المعلِّمين وإنشاء الصفوف المدرسية بأسلوب يُتِيحُ للسلطات المحلية أنْ تُنمِّيها في المستقبل. أمَّا في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية حيث يَرجِحُ أن تبقى الحكومة ضعيفة في الأمدين القريب والمتوسط، فيَنصَبُّ انتباهنا أصلاً على تقوية المجتمعات المحلية في المدارس وحولها لزيادة مواردها وتحسين معايير الإدارة والتدريس تحسيناً لا يزول أثره.

 

ثيا لاسي thea@street-child.co.uk

رئيسة البرامج في منطقة البحيرات الكبرى، منظمة طفل الشارع (Street Child)

 www.street-child.co.uk/democratic-republic-of-congo

 

مارشيلو فيولا marcello@street-child.co.uk

مدير البرامج، منظمة طفل الشارع في نيجيريا (Street Child) www.street-child.co.uk/nigeria

 

[1] أقامت منظمة الأطفال في الأزمات (Children in Crisis) في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية شراكة مع إبِنزِر مينيستري إنترناشيونال في عام 2007 وعملتا بين عامي 2016 و2017 ما نُبيِّنه في هذه المقالة. وقد اندمجت منظمة الأطفال في الأزمات في بداية عام 2018 بمنظمة طفل الشارع.  

[2] Children in Crisis (2015) Baseline evaluation study (دراسة تقييم لخط الأساس)

[3] ACAPS (2017) Joint Education Needs Assessment: Northeast Nigeria (تقييم مشترك للحاجات: شمال شرقي نيجيريا)  www.humanitarianresponse.info/sites/www.humanitarianresponse.info/files/documents/files/04122017_nga_jena_repot_final_draft.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Strengthening education systems for long-term education responses

Implementation of programmes in DRC and Nigeria demonstrates how the building blocks for long-term improvements can be laid in the earliest stages of an education in emergencies response, even in the most challenging contexts.

Between 2016 and 2017, Street Child and Congolese partner Ebenezer Ministry International (EMI) supported the secondary education sector in Lusenda refugee camp, South Kivu, in the eastern Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), where around 32,000 Burundian refugees live.[i] The schooling system – into which refugee children have been integrated – has suffered from years of neglect and underinvestment[ii] and schools were ill-prepared to receive the 7,000 refugee students (including over 1,200 at secondary level) who began arriving in June 2015. Several new secondary schools were rapidly established in rented or shared buildings to meet demand, and mainly unqualified teaching staff were employed.

Street Child and Ebenezer Ministry International provided training and resources to meet immediate and urgent education needs, including distribution of uniforms, teaching materials, stationery and recreational resources, infrastructure improvements, and teacher training on context-relevant topics such as gender-sensitive pedagogy, child psychology and contingency planning. In addition, the support they provided integrated elements borrowed from a model for long-term, community-led strengthening of education systems. Developed by the partners over a decade in a non-refugee setting in South Kivu, this long-term model aims to enhance self-sufficiency by building structures, capacity and skills in order to empower teachers, head teachers and parents to own and lead quality improvements at an individual school level without government support.   

Elements in long-term capacity building

The first element adopted from this long-term approach is a focus on building core pedagogical competencies including classroom management, student evaluation, child-centred learning and positive discipline, in order to offset the lack of qualifications and experience of both new and existing teaching staff and raise the overall standard of teaching in a sustainable way. It comprises group training activities followed by a year of in-school mentoring by dedicated EMI teacher trainers. In long-term development contexts, both in South Kivu and elsewhere, such ongoing classroom-based support has shown excellent results in improving teacher knowledge and skills and in eliminating persistent bad practice such as lack of lesson planning, non-participatory teaching methods and regular use of corporal punishment.

The second element is a sustained focus on school management capacity in relation to finance, administration and pedagogy through working with head teachers and parent committees to establish strong, durable school management systems. This approach also combines group training sessions with in-school mentoring to reinforce learning and good practice. A particular strength of this approach in Lusenda has been the opportunity to establish parent committees (which did not previously exist in any of the schools) which include both female representatives and members of the refugee community.

A third element is the introduction of school-based income-generating projects, managed jointly by teachers, students and parents. The income is kept by schools and Street Child’s recommendation is they spend 20% of profits on resources – such as teaching materials or student scholarships – in accordance with their priorities, reinvesting the remainder in developing and growing the project, particularly early on in its establishment. In long-term development settings this approach has proven an effective way to create additional resources for the school, to engage more parents in school activities and to expand students’ entrepreneurial skills, business knowledge and experience.

A year after the intervention ended, these three elements are showing promising initial results. Observation of teachers and their self-evaluations indicate a marked improvement in core competencies and classroom practice as well as a growth in self-confidence. School management shows sustained improvement, and registers, accounts, teaching timetables and student records are now being used in all schools. Parent committees have been established in all schools, most of which meet regularly and contribute effectively to school management decision making. Two thirds of the school enterprises have generated a profit, some of which has been invested in infrastructure improvements and teaching materials. And all schools report a positive change in terms of refugee integration and cooperation both among students and at the parent committee level.

Strengthening the education system through accelerated learning

Since January 2018, Street Child has been implementing a UNICEF-funded informal accelerated learning programme for 5,700 children in north-eastern Nigeria, most of whom have been internally displaced. Displacement and insecurity brought about by conflict in the north-eastern states have had a devastating effect on primary education[iii] and, as in DRC, prior to the onset of violence, the school system had suffered decades of neglect and under-investment and was therefore extremely poorly prepared to deal with the challenge of large-scale displacement. Nearly three million internally displaced and host community children are out of school, 57% of schools in Borno State are closed and 42% of classrooms are hosting 80+ children.

While prioritising the meeting of immediate educational needs through provision of education in emergencies (EiE) assistance (including distributing teaching and learning materials, repairing classrooms and providing teacher training), this accelerated learning programme has also been designed to strengthen education systems in the longer term.

The first element that contributes to this aim is the innovative design of the 60 temporary learning centres (TLCs) that have been created across the states of Borno, Yobe and Adamawa. These have a robust concrete floor, low walls that can be heightened as resources become available and solid roof supports, with the aim that they can be easily converted in the future into permanent structures at low cost. Many of these TLCs have been constructed in the grounds of existing primary schools, which will enable them to become permanent classrooms. In more remote locations, TLCs have been established in communities where no other school infrastructure exists, so their conversion into permanent learning centres may be necessary in the medium term in the absence of a comprehensive national-level school-building programme. Community Education Committees (CECs) have been set up to manage the TLCs, and Street Child is carrying out concerted advocacy with the Nigerian education authorities in favour of standardising them. This would include the creation of a mechanism for transforming them into permanent structures, formal recognition of the CECs, and making the TLCs eligible to receive State support like that received by their formal sector equivalent.

The second element is the focus on generating new teaching capacity within the most under-served communities. A major challenge facing the education system in the north of Nigeria is the difficulty of recruiting qualified teachers for rural schools. Street Child has recruited 120 local Community Volunteer Teachers (CVTs) in collaboration with the CECs. This approach enables teachers, who already hold a minimum qualification and are generally integrated in the community, to gain teaching skills and experience through access to language-appropriate teaching in their remote communities. The CVTs receive regular mentoring visits from government education staff to motivate and support them, and Street Child is working closely with the Nigerian education authorities to develop a mechanism through which CVTs can apply to the Teachers’ Registration Council of Nigeria to gain accreditation as primary teachers. This accreditation would permit them to take on permanent roles in the formal sector, and thereby pave the way to boosting the number of qualified teachers in the hardest-to-reach locations.

Close collaboration and sustained advocacy with the State and federal government authorities are integral to Street Child’s approach in north-eastern Nigeria. As part of a consortium of non-governmental organisations, Street Child is supporting the government to develop an accredited EiE national curriculum, which incorporates essential life skills alongside numeracy and literacy and which sets forth clear pathways for reintegrating children who have received EiE teaching into mainstream education provision.

Learning from EiE programming

Although eastern DRC and north-eastern Nigeria face distinct challenges and constraints, learning can be drawn from the experience of EiE programming in these two locations.

Firstly, the DRC example demonstrates that an EiE intervention can be used to both deepen and expand core teacher competencies and skills beyond those required to meet immediate teaching needs, and that such an approach can be integrated easily and cost-effectively even within a short-term intervention. For locations where low teacher capacity and skills are a core weakness of the education system, these case-studies suggest that even early-stage interventions are an opportunity to build back better by addressing the full range of teachers’ core pedagogy and classroom skills.

Secondly, both the DRC and Nigeria examples demonstrated that it is never too early in an emergency to rehabilitate weak school management and ineffective community engagement by instituting empowering, community-led models that focus on self-sufficiency. Such transformation can bring lasting and sustainable benefits to a school. Structures such as parent associations and school management committees are integral to this and require strengthening not only through ongoing training and mentoring but also through access to funds, particularly by means of sustainable income-generation projects. Effective parent­–teacher collaboration brings the additional advantage of fostering cooperation and breaking down barriers between displaced and host communities, while also filling a critical gap in the absence of strong State support and the implementation and enforcement of government education quality standards.

Thirdly, the Nigeria case provides a strong example of how an emergency intervention can address the chronic challenge of a shortage of teachers in remote and hard-to-reach areas. If, as anticipated, the Nigerian government institutes a mechanism for fast-tracking the conversion of CVTs into formal schools, this will be a permanent benefit to the education system, particularly to the schools of north-eastern Nigeria – and a significant victory for the stakeholders who have advocated for it.

Finally, the temporary-to-permanent infrastructure model piloted in Nigeria offers a potentially compelling approach to addressing long-term infrastructure gaps – in this and other settings – although there is still more to do to secure government endorsement of the model and to institute community-led or government funding mechanisms for supporting the transition. Collaboration with State authorities is more viable in some situations than others but in all situations EiE responses should prioritise the central role of communities and the need to work in close coordination with other humanitarian actors.

The short-term nature of much EiE funding remains a key challenge, and advocacy to donors for a shift to multi-year and flexible funding should be sustained. A core goal of interventions like these is to address, at least in part, the sustainability challenge caused by short-term funding. They do this by, among other things, fostering volunteerism, building skills and capacity at the heart of schools and creating income-generating solutions. In Nigeria, where government intervention to take forward the interventions is a realistic prospect, we have focused on activities such as teacher recruitment and classroom creation in such a way that they can be developed by local government authorities in the future. In DRC, where government is likely to remain weak in the short and medium term, our focus lies primarily on strengthening communities within and around schools to increase their resources and improve management and teaching standards in a lasting way.

 

Thea Lacey thea@street-child.co.uk
Programme Lead for Great Lakes, Street Child www.street-child.co.uk/democratic-republic-of-congo

Marcello Viola marcello@street-child.co.uk
Programme Director, Street Child of Nigeria www.street-child.co.uk/nigeria

 

[i] The organisation Children in Crisis established a partnership in DRC with EMI in 2007 and carried out the 2016–17 work on which this article reflects. In early 2018 Children in Crisis merged with Street Child.   

[ii] Children in Crisis (2015) Baseline evaluation study

[iii] ACAPS (2017) Joint Education Needs Assessment: Northeast Nigeria  www.humanitarianresponse.info/sites/www.humanitarianresponse.info/files/documents/files/04122017_nga_jena_repot_final_draft.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview