الشعور بالسلام الكافي للتَّعلُّم في منطقة النِّزاع

يكتسب بناء الحس الداخلي لدى الفرد بالأمان مع تعليم مهارات المسايرة والبقاء على استعداد للمخاطر الكبيرة الخارجية أهمية كبرى لا بد من مراعاتها إذا أريد لبرامج الدعم النفسي-الاجتماعي في أفغانستان أن تقدم ’مساحة آمنة‘ تُمكِّن الأطفال من التَّعلُّم في بيئة ترتفع فيها وتيرة الانفلات الأمني.

كثيراً ما تَنْصَبُّ برامجُ الرعايةِ النفسيةِ الاجتماعيةِ التقليديةُ على الحوادث التي وقعت في الماضي، وتجري في أماكن لا خطرَ بها على حياة مَن فيها. ولكنْ في الأزمات التي تطول مدَّتها مثل أزمة أفغانستان لا يواجه الأطفال ضرراً نفسياً أضرَّ بهم من قبلُ فحسب بل هم في خوف وتوتُّر مستمرَّين. فنرى أنَّه على برامج الرعاية النفسية الاجتماعية في مثل هذه الأحوال أنْ تسلك مقاربة مختلفة إذ يجب أن يَنْصَبَّ جهد إنماء الشعور بالأمان على توسيع إدراك الأطفال الخطرَ المُحتمَل والتوتُّرَ، وتعليمِهم مهارات فردية لمواجهتهما وإشعارِهم بالأمان من خلال اللعب والتعبير الإبداعي وتمارين تعزيز الثقة. 

ويوجد في أفغانستان نحوٌ من 767 ألفاً و600 طفل نازحٍ داخلياً من جرَّاء النزاع فيها.[1]وإنَّ تحقيق استمرار التعليم في نزاعٍ ما لأمرٌ لا بدَّ منه لتوفير الروتين والتنظيم وتمكين الأطفال من الوصول إلى غاياتهم بعيدة الأمد وتخفيض معدَّلات التسرب الدائم من التعليم. ويوفِّر المجلس النرويجي للاجئين التعليمَ لآلاف الأطفال النازحين داخلياً في أفغانستان من شرقيِّها إلى غربيِّها، لكنَّ المجلس قد وجد أنَّه ازداد تعرُّض الأطفال للعنف المُرَوِّع في السنوات الأخيرة حتَّى إنَّه ازداد أمامهم تحدي اندماجهم في بيئة جديدة وإبقاء هِمَمِهم عالية من أجل التعليم.[2]

وكانت الاستجابة على ذلك منذ شهر ديسمبر/كانون الأول في عام 2017 أنَّ الفرع الأفغاني من المجلس النرويجي للاجئين ما انفكَّ يُجرِي برنامجاً تكميلياً يُدرَّس في صفوف المدارس الأفغانية في البلاد كلها لمعالجة الحاجات النفسية الاجتماعية للأطفال الذين أُضِرِّوا نفسياً من جرَّاء النزاع. وقد وضع هذا البرنامج -الذي اسمه برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن- المجلسُ النرويجي للاجئين وجامعةُ ترومسو النروجيَّة في عام 2007، وقد جُرِّبَ أوَّلَ أمره في أوغندا ثم فلسطين. ويساعد البرنامج الطلابَ على تعيين استجاباتهم لما يقعون فيه من توتُّر وتمييزها، وعلى تعلُّم أساليبٍ يُهدِّئون بها أنفسهم ويشعرون بالأمان، وعلى أنْ يكونوا فعَّالين في أثناء استعادتهم لصحَّتِهم، وأنْ يقدروا على التحدث مع المعلمين ومع أسرهم عمَّا في حياتهم من مشكلات. ويهدف البرنامج أيضاً إلى بناء القدرة على مقاومة الظروف الصعبة وإرجاع البهجة إلى النفس في المدارس، وذلك بتعزيز تعاون المعلمين وأولياء الأمور في دعم حُسْنِ حال الطلاب.

تَعْيِينُ التَّوتُّر والشُّعُورِ بالأمَانِ وتمْيِيزُهُمَا كثيراً ما يُلوَى عُنُق شعور المرء بالأمان حين يقع له حادث يهدِّد حياته، ويمكن أن يشعر النَّاجون من ذلك بالهَلَع من أهون صوت أو شيء يذكِّرهم بالحادث.  وتنصبُّ أساليب علاج الضرر النفسي على ضرورة إعادة بناء الشعور بالأمان من أجل أنْ يستعيد الفرد السيطرة على استجابة جسمه الفيزيولوجية لأحداث الصدمة النفسية. وكثيراً ما يُحَثُّ الناجون على فصل الماضي من الحاضر، وعلى إدراك أنَّ الحادث المُهدِّدَ للحياة هو في الماضي وأنَّهم في الوقت الحاضر آمنون. ويعلِّم برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن الطلابَ تعيين مصادر ردود فِعلهم على التوتُّر والأثر الذي يتركه في الجسم، ثم يتعلَّمون تمارين مهدِّئة للنفس ومنها تمارين التنفُّس الطويل وشدِّ العضلات وإرخائها والتوازن وشدِّ الجسم. ويمارس الأطفال هذه التمارين في كل حصَّة ويُحثُّون على ممارستها في البيت مع أولياء أمورهم. وتساعد التمارين الأطفالَ على السيطرة على ما يَعرِضُ لهم من أعراض وعلى توتُّرهم.

ولكنْ لا تزال المخاطر التي لها صله بالنزاع في أفغانستان تؤثر في الأطفال ولو نزحوا إلى محافظات أكثر أمناً. فمن المألوف استمرار سماع الأطفال أصوات الصواريخ أو إطلاق النار حيث ينزحون في بيئتهم الجديدة، وإخبارهم في ظروف كهذه أنَّهم في أمان يمكن أن يُضِرَّ بهم في الحقيقة فيُترَكون لاحتمال خطر تعرُّضهم لضررٍ نفسي في حادث آخر، أو إجبارهم على الانتقال مرة أخرى. ومن التمارين المتقدم ذكرها تمرين اسمه ’المكان الآمن‘ يساعد الأطفال على تصوُّر مكانٍ حقيقي أو مُتخيَّل يشعرون فيه بالأمان؛ وبذلك يختبرون الشعور بالأمان حتَّى يصير جزءاً منهم. وتهدف مثل هذه التمارين إلى مساعدة الطلاب على طرد المنامات المفزعة أو الذكريات المعكرة صفوَ حياتهم، وليس هذا فحسب، بل أيضاً الأصوات المؤلمة لنفوسهم أو شائعات سُمِعُوها أو حوادث شَهِدُوها. ولقد حُثَّ الأطفال على ممارسة التمارين حين يوقظهم ليلاً انفجار ما (بشرطِ ألا يكونوا في خطر مباشر) وبذلك شعروا أنَّ باستطاعتهم البقاء هادئين ولو كان في منطقة قريبة منهم قتالٌ.

"أحب تمرين المكان الآمن. ففيه أغمض عينيَّ وأفكر في مكان هادئ آمن. مكان جميل... يا لِروعته."

جَعْلُ حَيَاةِ الطِّفْلِ آمِنَة لُوحِظَ في المرحلة التجريبية من برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن أنَّ الأطفال شعروا بالأمان في أثناء الحصَّة إلا أنَّهم كانوا في حالات مخيفة خارج الصف الدراسي. إذ يواجه الأطفال وهم آتون إلى المدرسة احتمال أنْ يُخطَفُوا أو أنْ يجدوا أنفسهم وسط اشتباكات مسلَّحة أو انفجارات أو ألغام أو أنْ يضايقهم الناس أو أنْ يتعرَّضوا لحوادث المرور. ولوُحِظَ أيضاً ارتفاع في حالات الإساءة المنزلية وعمالة الأطفال. وإخبار الأطفال أنَّهم آمنون مع أنَّ مخاطر كثيرة تعترضهم على الدوام قد يضعفهم ويتركهم غير مستعدِّين لمواجهتها. ولذلك، أُضيفت في المرحلة الثانية من تطوير برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن حصَّةٌ جديدة تساعد الأطفال على أنْ يدركوا المخاطر في مناطقهم وأنْ يعيِّنوا تدابير تحفظ لهم أمنهم، ومثال ذلك المشي في مجموعات إلى المدرسة أو تعرُّف طرق بديلة إليها. ويُحثُّ الأطفال على رسم خرائط لمناطقهم ومناقشة المخاطر المحتملة فيها؛ وهذا بمعونة المعلِّم، فيتعرَّفون طرقاً تبقيهم في أمان.

فهذا الجمعُ، بين الحلول العملية لمشكلاتٍ حقيقة وبين إستراتيجيَّات مواجهة الأثر الانفعالي، ساعدَ على زيادة شعور الأطفال بالأمان. وانتفع في الوقت نفسه المعلِّمون بالحصَّة فهي تعينهم على فهم المخاطر التي يواجهها الطالب خصوصاً، ومعرفة الطرق المختلفة التي يمكن للمعلِّمين مساندة الطلاب بها. وزادت أيضاً ثقة الأطفال بالاستعانة بالبالغين على المخاطر المحتملة في مناطقهم. ومع ذلك تحتاج الحصص إلى مزيدِ تقييمٍ لتحديد قدرة إستراتيجيات تخفيف الأخطار المحتملة على الإتيان بالنتيجة المطلوبة.

جَلْبُ الأمَانِ باللَّعِبِ يصعب على كثير من الأطفال في أفغانستان إيجاد مكان لا خطر فيه على حياتهم ومكان مناسب لهم، أحدهما أو كليهما. ولذلك عَمَدَ برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن إلى مساعدة الأطفال على أن يشعروا بأمانٍ غير مركوز في المكان الذي هم فيه. واتَّبعت كلُّ حصَّة من حصص برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن نمطاً واحداً كلَّ أسبوع لكي تَنشَأ في الأطفال الألفة وقابلية التنبُّؤ، وكانت التمارين والألعاب الإبداعية جزءاً أساسياً من هذا الروتين الأسبوعي.

ذلك أنَّ اللعبَ أمرٌ جوهريٌّ في تنمية الطفل ثم إنَّه يُدخِل فيه الشعور بالأمان ويُقوِّي هذا الشعور. وهو إلى ذلك يساعد الأطفال على معالجة انفعالات النفس والتعبير عنها معالجةً وتعبيراً موزونين، ويمكن للعب أيضاً أنْ يزيد من احترامهم نفسهم. ومع ذلك ففرص لعب الأطفال في أفغانستان هي إمَّا معدومة وإمَّا قليلة، ولا يُستثنَى من هذا المدارس. وإنَّ أساليب التدريس في البرنامج لَتَمِيلُ إلى الأساليب التقليدية، فينقل المعلِّم المعرفة إلى الطلاب وهم يُدوِّنون ملاحظاتهم. وقد غلب على المعلِّمين في البرنامج أوَّل أمره كثرة الكلام، فكانوا يوضِّحون للأطفال ما في البرنامج من مفاهيم، وهذا يُضِّقُ على الأطفال الزمان والمكان اللذان يُفصِحُون فيهما عمَّا في نفوسهم. فتطوَّر البرنامج وبتطوُّره صارت الألعاب جزءاً من كل حصَّة فيه. وكان لهذا غرضان: الأول منهما إراحة الطلاب والمعلمين وتزييد الثقة والشعور بالأمان في المجموعة التي هم فيها. والآخر أن يخرج الأطفال من الحصَّة منشرحي الصَّدر. ولمَّا كانت خدمات الدعم وشبكاته قليلة حيث يوجد الأطفال -ومن ذلك أنَّ سُبُل الوصول إلى الإرشاد النفسي بكلِّ صوره ضيِّقة كلَّ الضيق- كان من المهم أنَّه إن أصاب الأطفال انفعالات شديدة أو تذكَّروا المؤلم من الذكريات في الحصَّة، يُعمَدُ إلى اللعب فهو يُذهِبُ المشاعر غير المريحة.

ويحدث منذ أن أُدخِلَتْ الألعاب في كل حصَّةٍ تحوُّلٌ ظاهرٌ في الطلاب والمعلمين، ونَخُصُّ هذا بمستوى الضحك وهدوء البال في الصَّف والروابط الوثيقة بين أفراد المجموعة. وقد قال المعلِّمون كم استمتعوا وهم يرون طلابهم يضحكون وكم زاد ذلك من ثقتهم بأنفسهم من حيث هم معلِّمون. وبيَّنت التقارير أنَّ شعور الأطفال بالأمان قد زاد، وأنَّ الأطفال قادرون على الإفصاح عمَّا في نفوسهم ومُعَانُون على ضبطه، فمَن كان منهم يبكي في الحصَّة وهو يَقِصُّ قصَّة، كان في نهاية الحصَّة يضحك ويبتسم بعد أنْ يشترك في لعبة من الألعاب الجماعية.

أَثَرُ البَرنَامَجِ وإجْرَاؤُهُ يكاد يكون إجراءُ برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن في أيِّ مكانٍ ممكناً، حتَّى لو كان نقل الصفوف من مكانها إلى مكان آخرَ ضرورياً بسبب المشكلات الأمنية، إذ إنماء الشعور بالأمان مركوز في الثقة داخل المجموعة لا في المكان الذي هي فيه.[3]ويدل تقييم البرنامج، حتى يوم كتابة هذه المقالة، على انخفاضٍ في نسبة المنامات المفزعة والانفعالات المؤلمة للنفس والعِلَلِ الجسميَّة، وعلى زيادةٍ في الرغبة في الذهاب إلى المدرسة وقضاء ما يُكلَّف من وظائف بيتية، ويدل أيضاً على زيادة الشعور بالأمان، ولعلَّ هذا الأخير أعظم شأناً من كلِّ ما سبق. وقال ثمانية وسبعون بالمئة من الأطفال الذين شاركوا في برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن إنَّ خوفهم قد قلَّ بسبب المجموعة التي هم فيها في البرنامج. ووجد الطلاب في البرنامج المكان الذي يريحهم ويرخي بالهم ويؤمِّنهم، فقالوا إنهم يشعرون بالشيء نفسه في بيوتهم في أيِّ وقت كان بممارسة تمارين البرنامج، سواءٌ مارسها كل واحد منهم على حِدَتِه أو مع أصدقائه وأسرته.

لقد تطلَّب إجراء برنامج التعلُّم المُحسَّن في أفغانستان أنْ نُحوِّره ونغيِّره ونعدِّله عدَّة مرات لجعله ملائماً، وما زلنا في طور تنمية خُطَطِ حِصَصِهِ، وتدريب المعلمين، والنَّظر في خيرِ سُبُلِ إشراك أولياء الأمور والمجتمع الذي هم فيه. ولَسوف تستمرُّ الحاجة إلى تحويره وتغييره وتعديله وتمتينه ليصمد أمام أمن أفغانستان المُتردِّي.

 

بيثان ماكيفوي bethan.mcevoy@nrc.no

مستشار تعليمي، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، أفغانستان www.nrc.no

 

[1] ابتداءً بسبتمبر/أيلول 2018

[2] NRC (2018) Education in Emergencies; Children in Distress. A Child Protection Risk Analysis for NRC Afghanistan’s Education Programme

(تحليل مخاطر الحماية للأطفال في برنامج المجلس النرويجي للاجئين للتعليم في أفغانستان)

www.nrc.no/resources/reports/education-in-emergencies-children-in-distressnew-page/

[3] لمزيد من المعلومات حول برنامج التَّعلُّم الأفضل في المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، يرجى الاتصال بـ sonia.gomez@nrc.no.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Feeling safe enough to learn in a conflict zone

Building an internal sense of safety, while also teaching coping skills and how to remain alert to the very real risks outside, is essential if psychosocial programming in Afghanistan is to provide a ‘safe space’ for children to learn in a context of high insecurity.

Frequently, traditional psychosocial programming focuses on incidents that have taken place in the past and is implemented in spaces that are now physically safe. However, in protracted crises such as in Afghanistan, children are coping not only with past trauma but also with ongoing stress and fear. In these contexts, psychosocial programming must take a different approach. Building a sense of safety must focus on strengthening children’s awareness of risk and stress, teaching them individual coping skills and creating a feeling of safety through play, creative expression and trust exercises.

In Afghanistan, there are approximately 767,600 children who have been internally displaced by conflict.[1] Ensuring continuity of education during a crisis is vital to providing routine and structure, enabling children to pursue longer-term goals and reducing lifelong dropouts from education. The Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC) provides education for thousands of displaced children across Afghanistan but has found that, with increased exposure to horrific violence over recent years, it is now even more challenging for children to integrate into their new environment and stay motivated in their education.[2]

In response, since December 2017, NRC Afghanistan has been implementing a supplementary classroom-based programme within schools across the country in order to address the acute psychosocial needs of children affected by conflict-induced trauma. This programme – the Better Learning Programme (BLP) – was developed by NRC and the University of Tromsø in 2007 and piloted first in Uganda and then in Palestine. The programme helps students to identify their reactions to stress, learn techniques to calm themselves and feel safe, be active in their own recovery, and be able to talk to teachers and family about their problems. It also aims to build resilience in the school community by strengthening collaboration between teachers and parents in supporting students’ well-being.

Identifying stress and feeling safe

Our sense of safety is often distorted following a life-threatening event, and survivors can feel terrified at the slightest noise or sensory reminder. Trauma models for recovery focus on the need to re-establish a sense of safety in order to regain control over the body’s physiological response to traumatic events. Survivors are frequently encouraged to separate the past from the present, recognising that the life-threatening event is in the past and that now, in the present, they are safe. BLP teaches students to identify the sources of, their reactions to and the physical impact of stress and then to learn practical calming exercises including deep breathing, tensing and releasing muscles, balances and various stretches. Children practise these exercises in each session and are encouraged to practise them at home and with their parents. The exercises help children to take control of their symptoms and to feel able to manage their own stress.

However, in Afghanistan, conflict-related risks continue to affect children even when they have been displaced to safer provinces. It is common for children to continue to hear rocket fire or shooting in their new communities, and encouraging children to believe they are now safe could actually be harmful and leave them vulnerable to further trauma if they experience another incident – or are forced to move once again. One exercise, called ‘safe space’, helps children to visualise a real or imagined place where they feel safe, thereby experiencing and internalising a sense of safety. Exercises such as this aim to help students not only to cope with nightmares or intrusive memories but also to deal with distressing sounds, rumours or experiences encountered in their daily lives. Children were encouraged to use the exercises when they were woken in the night by an explosion (provided of course that they were not in immediate danger) and by doing so they felt able to remain calm even when there was fighting in nearby districts.

I love the safe space. To just close my eyes and think of somewhere calm and safe, somewhere nice… it’s amazing.”

Keeping physically safe

In the pilot phase of BLP, it was noted that children felt safe during the session but then would encounter frightening situations outside the classroom. On the way to school children face the possibility of being kidnapped or encountering armed clashes or explosions, landmines, harassment from community members and traffic accidents. There are also high instances of domestic abuse and child labour. Telling children that they are safe when they face numerous risks on a regular basis can disempower them and leave them unprepared. In the second phase of developing BLP, therefore, a new session was added to help children to be aware of risks in their communities and to identify measures to keep themselves safe, such as walking in groups to school or identifying alternative routes. Children are encouraged to draw a map of their community and discuss potential risks; with the support of the teacher, they then explore ways to keep themselves safe.

The combination of practical solutions to real problems and coping strategies to deal with the emotional impact has helped to increase students’ sense of safety. Meanwhile, teachers also found the session useful to help them better understand the particular risks individual students face and the different ways that the teachers can support them. Students also had more confidence in seeking support from adults about risks in the community. However, the new session will need further evaluation to determine the effectiveness of the risk mitigation strategies.

Creating safety through play

For many children in Afghanistan, it is difficult to find a place that is physically completely safe and/or child-friendly. BLP therefore sought to help children to experience a feeling of safety that did not rely on their physical environment. Each BLP session followed the same pattern each week in order to build familiarity and predictability, and creative exercises and games formed an essential part of the weekly routine.

Play is essential for a child’s development and it also creates and strengthens a sense of safety. Play helps children to process and express emotions in a measured way and it can help raise self-esteem. Yet for many children in Afghanistan, they have little or no opportunity to play, including at school. Teaching methods tend to be quite traditional, with the teacher relaying knowledge while students take notes. At the start of implementing BLP, teachers tended to talk a lot, explaining the programme concepts, which reduced the time and space available for children to express themselves. As the programme developed, games were therefore introduced into every session. This had two objectives. The first was to help students and teachers to relax, and to increase the feeling of trust and safety within the group. The second objective was to ensure that children left the session feeling good. In light of the lack of support services and networks in the children’s communities – including extremely limited access to any form of psychological counselling – it was important to ensure that if difficult emotions or memories emerged during the session, a game could be used to help shake off any uncomfortable feelings.

Since introducing games to each session, there has been a noticeable shift for both students and teachers, in particular in the level of laughter and ease in the room and the close bond within the group. Teachers said how much they enjoyed seeing their students laugh and how it had increased their confidence as teachers. Observations showed that children’s feelings of safety increased and that they could express their feelings and be helped to manage them – children who were observed crying in the middle of the session while sharing a story finished the session laughing and smiling after participating in a group game.

Impact and implementation

BLP can be implemented almost anywhere and even when classes must be relocated due to security problems, a feeling of safety can be built because it is reliant on the trust of the group, rather than the physical space.[3] To date, evaluation of the programme has indicated a reduction in nightmares, distressing emotions and physical illness, an increase in interest in attending school and completing homework and, perhaps most importantly, an increased sense of safety. Seventy-eight per cent of children who had participated in BLP said that they felt less scared because of the BLP group. Students saw BLP as a space where they felt comfortable, relaxed and safe and said they could access these feelings at home at any time by practising BLP exercises, either alone or with friends and family.

Implementing BLP in Afghanistan has required several rounds of adaptation and we are still in the process of developing the session plans and teacher training and considering how best to involve parents and the wider community. It will continue to require further adaptation and strengthening in the face of Afghanistan’s deteriorating security.

 

Bethan McEvoy bethan.mcevoy@nrc.no
Education Advisor, Norwegian Refugee Council, Afghanistan www.nrc.no

 

[1] As of September 2018.

[2] NRC (2018) Education in Emergencies; Children in Distress. A Child Protection Risk Analysis for NRC Afghanistan’s Education Programme www.nrc.no/resources/reports/education-in-emergencies-children-in-distressnew-page/

[3] For more information on NRC’s BLP, please contact sonia.gomez@nrc.no.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview