أهمية الوصول إلى التَّعلُّيم واعتماده: تعلم الدروس من حدود تايلندة مع ميانمار

ليس تقديم التعليم للمجمتعات المُهجَّرة على حدود تايلندة وميانمار مشكلة، فقد تلقى أعداد كبير من الأطفال دعم التعليم الأساسي، إلاَّ أنَّ توفير التعليم المعتمد ما زال تحدياً قائماً.

المنطقة المحيطة بِمِيسُوو في غربيِّ تايلاند هي مَوْطِنُ جماعةٍ كبيرةٍ من اللاجئين وغيرهم من المهاجرين الفارِّين من النِّزاع والقمع السياسي والصعوبة الاقتصادية في ميانمار (ولا يقيمون في مخيَّمات اللاجئين). وكان في تسعينيَّات القرن العشرين أنْ شرع المعلِّمون من المهجَّرين ينشئون مدارسَ غير رسمية سمَّوها مراكز تعليم المهاجرين. وبقيت هذه المراكز عدداً من السنين مهددة بالإغلاق من الحكومة التايلاندية. ثمَّ جاء عام 2006 وجاءت معه سياسةُ توفير التعليم للجميع التي سنَّتها الحكومة فغيَّرتْ من العلاقة الديناميكيَّة بينها وبين المعلِّمين. وقد كان المراد من سياسة توفير التعليم للجميع فتح أبواب المؤسسات التعليمية التايلاندية أمام الأطفال جميعاً من غير نظرٍ إلى مركزهم القانوني أو نقص وثائقهم الرسمية أو عدمها. ومع ذلك، تبيَّن أنَّ تحقيق هذه السياسة أمرٌ صعبٌ والواقع أنَّ أكثر الأطفال المهاجرين غير مواظبين على المدارس التايلاندية.

مبادرات توفير التعليم المُعتَمَد

نشأ على ممرِّ السنين تعاونٌ مفيدٌ بين جماعة تعليم المهاجرين وبين ممثلي الحكومة التايلاندية؛ وعندهم وعند الجهات الفاعلة المختلفة إدراك نامٍ أنَّ توفير التعليم المعترف به رسمياً للأطفال ضرورة، ومن ذلك كشوف علامات قابلة للنَّقل إلى نظم تعليمية أخرى تُعبِّدُ الطرق إلى التعليم العالي. ولأنَّ مراكزَ تعليم المهاجرين غير معترف بها قانوناً على أنَّها مؤسسات تعليمية وليس لكثير من المعلِّمين أوراق اعتماد للتَّعليم الرسمي، فلا يتاح اليومَ التعليم المعترف به رسمياً إلا من طريق النُّظُم الحكومية (سواءٌ في تايلاند أو ميانمار) التي لا يصل إليها من هؤلاء الأطفال إلا القليل.

ويوجد اليومَ عدد من المبادرات الجارية لإصلاح هذه الحال، ومنها برامجُ تُيسِّر نقل الطلاب من مراكز تعليم المهاجرين إلى مدارس حكومة تايلاند الملكيَّة أو -بدلاً من ذلك- إلى مؤسسات التعليم الرسمي في ميانمار. فأمَّا أوَّل الخيارين فعلى مراكز تعليم المهاجرين كلها تعليم اللغة التايلاندية وإنْ كان في ذلك صعوبة؛ ذلك أنَّ المدارس تعتمد كلَّ الاعتماد على المانحين ولا يصل إليها مال من الحكومة. ويُحثُّ الأطفال على أنْ يتسجَّلوا في برنامجِ تعليمٍ غير نظامي اسمه كور سور نور (Kor Sor Nor)، وهو برنامج يدوم ثلاث سنوات يستدرك الطفل فيه ما فاته، وهذا البرنامج أُحْدِثَ في الأصل للطلاب التايلانديين الذين غاب التعليم عنهم لكنَّه اليومَ مفتوح للطلاب المهاجرين يُعرَّفون فيه شيئاً بعد شيءٍ اللغة التايلاندية والمناهج التي تدرَّس في تايلاند. ويدرس الأطفال، الذين هم في عمر أطفال المرحلة الابتدائية، في برنامج كور سور نور بمراكز تعليم المهاجرين ويداومون على زيارة مدارس كور سور نور التايلاندية وقد يؤول أمرهم إلى أنْ ينتقلوا إلى النظام المدرسي التايلندي الرسمي (بشرطِ أنْ يُتِمُّوا البرنامج). أمَّا الأطفال الذين هم أسنُّ من أولئك فيذهبون رأساً إلى مدارس كور سور نور إلا أنَّهم يحتاجون قبل ذلك إلى أنْ يُحسِّنوا إلمامهم باللغة التايلاندية.

وقد وضعت وزارة التربية والتعليم الميانماريَّة في السنوات الأخيرة برنامجاً يشبه ذاك -واسمه برنامج التعليم الأساسي غير النظامي- وكان هذا جزءاً من إصلاحها التعليمَ إصلاحاً موسَّعاً نطاقه. ويستطيع اليومَ الأطفال المهاجرون أنْ يحضروا دروس برنامج التعليم الأساسي غير النظامي الميانماري وأنْ يدخلوا في امتحاناته في مراكز تعليم المهاجرين بِمِيسُوو. ويُسمَح للطلاب أيضاً أن يدخلوا في الامتحانات العامَّة الميانمارية -في المراحل التعليمية المختلفة- بمراكز تعليم المهاجرين. وفي برنامجي تايلاند وميانمار كليهما فائدة جليلة ألا وهي شهادات دراسية معترف بها رسمياً.

وقد جاءت جالية المهاجرين بمبادراتٍ من عندها لتيسير الوصول إلى التعليم المعترف به. من ذلك على سبيل المثال، أنَّ مراكز تعليم المهاجرين والمنظمات الأهلية تعاونت على توحيد الامتحانات لصفوف مدرسية معيَّنة، فتتيح هي والامتحانات العامة الميانمارية للطلاب الحصول على شهادات تجيز لهم الانتقال إلى المدارس الميانمارية. أضف إلى ذلك أنَّ النَّاس في لجنة تعليم العمال البورميين المهاجرين التابعة للمنظمات الأهلية والفرع التايلندي من منظمة التعليم في العالم وغيرهم من أصحاب المصلحة في قطاع التعليم قد أحدثوا في عام 2016 ما سمَّوه إطار جودة التعليم والقصد منه أن يكون أداةً تقييم تساعد على تحقيق معايرة التعليم وتجويده في شبكة مراكز تعليم المهاجرين المتنوِّعة، وبذلك تُجعَل المدارس أكثر مجاراةً للمعايير التربوية التايلاندية. وإذ قد كانت وزارة التربية والتعليم التايلاندية تريد أنْ تُوحَّد مراكز تعليم المهاجرين تحت مظلة منظمة واحدة وأنْ تُستعمَل فيها أدوات تقييم التعليم التي تضعها الحكومية التايلاندية، فهي مع ذلك لم تزلْ تتقبَّل التنوُّع الموجود في مراكز تعليم المهاجرين مع استعمال إطار جودة التعليم في الوقت نفسه.

التحدِّيات

يُبيِّن منهج الحكومية التايلاندية جمعاً -مفهومٌ سببه- بين نقيضين في التعامل مع جماعة تعليم المهاجرين. فهي من جهة تمسك عن جعل مراكز تعليم المهاجرين مدارس رسمية وعن منح معلِّمي تلك المراكز الحقَّ القانوني في التدريس. ومن جهة أخرى أعطت وزارة التربية والتعليم المعلِّمين المهاجرين بطاقات هويَّة وكانت وسيطاً بينهم وبين مسؤولي الهجرة فحمَتهم من التَّرحيل. هذا، وتبذل الوزارة جهداً لإعلام أولياء الأمور خِيَارَ أنْ يرسلوا أطفالهم إلى المدارس التايلاندية. أخيراً، وحتَّى لو كانت مراكز تعليم المهاجرين تُدرِّس المناهج الميانمارية بتزايُدٍ، فقد أبدت وزارة التربية والتعليم استعداداً للاشتغال معهم والظاهر أنَّ لها نظرة إيجابية إلى تيسُّر برنامج التعليم الأساسي غير النظامي وإلى قدرة الطلاب المهاجرين على دخول المدارس الميانمارية. وقد توسَّط مسؤولو وزارة التربية والتعليم بين جماعة تعليم المهاجرين وبين سلطات الهجرة وقوات الأمن التايلاندية، فصار للأطفال المهاجرين المولودين في تايلاند أنْ يتسلَّموا بطاقة هوية مدَّتها 10 سنوات تحقق لهم حماية عظيمة تدوم مدَّة أطول.

صحيح أنَّ المبادرات المذكورة آنفاً فتحت سُبُلاً جديدة أمام المهاجرين الشباب تتيح لهم الدخول في النظام التعليمي هنا أو هناك، لكن لا هذه الحكومة ولا تلك توفر الدعم المالي. وإيجاد الموارد المالية والبشرية الضرورية من المتبرعين والمنظمات غير الحكومية هو واجبُ مراكز تعليم المهاجرين، وهو واجبٌ عظيم حقَّاً في بيئة أصبح توفير المال فيها لإبقاء أبواب المدرسة مفتوحة أمراً صعباً وتزداد صعوبته.

ويأتي أمام جماعة تعليم المهاجرين في مِيسُوو عقبات أخرى. فلا يندمج الأطفال المهاجرون في نظم التعليم الرسمي بالبلدان المستضيفة دوماً بسهولة، وذلك لأسباب ثقافية أو لأنَّ أسرهم كثيراً ما تنتقل من مكان إلى آخر من أجل العمل. وتسمح الحكومية التايلاندية لمراكز تعليم المهاجرين بشيءٍ من الحرية لتدير شؤونها ولكنْ لا تسمح لها بالوصول إلى مجرى الاعتراف الرسمي إلا قليلاً. والغالب في بلدٍ يكثر فيه تغيير القوانين أنْ يُعوَّق نجاح المبادرات الجديدة فيه بمعوِّقات بيروقراطية ولوجستية ومالية. وإن كان أولياء الأمور المهاجرون ممَّن ليس معهم وثائق رسمية، فالغالب أنْ يتخوَّفوا من تسجيل أطفالهم في المدارس التايلاندية. ثم إنَّ البطالة تُحمِّل وحدة الأسرة عبئاً اقتصادياً ثقيلاً، فترى كثيراً من الشباب يتركون المدرسة ليعملوا من دون إذن قانوني. وأخيراً، ليس لِلمعلمين ولِأولياء الأمور ولِلأطفال الميانماريِّين جميعاً الغايات نفسها، ولذلك إن تحدَّثنا عن فتح المسالك إلى التعليم المعترف به رسمياً فلا حلاً يليق بجميعهم.

هل ما يجري اليومَ تحوُّلٌ في الفكر والممارسة إلى الذي هو أحسن؟

على الرغم من العقبات فمَا خَبِرَتْهُ جماعة تعليم المهاجرين بِمِيسُوو يُظهِر أنَّ فرص تيسير سُبُل الوصول إلى التعليم المعترف به رسمياً موجودة. فحين تعمل الحكومات وجماعات تعليم المهاجرين يداً بيدٍ يمكن لخِيَاري التعليم والحماية أن يُحسَّنا. فقد أحدثت سياسة توفير التعليم للجميع تحولاً عظيماً في فكر المسؤولين الحكوميين التايلانديين وممارساتهم. ومع أنَّ مراكز تعليم المهاجرين بِمِيسُوو غير قادرة على توفير تعليم معترف به رسمياً، فقد سُمِحَ لها بتوفير التعليم الأساسي -ودعم الأطفال وحمايتهم- وأكثر من ذلك، فعلى سبيل المثال، أنَّها تُعِدُّ الشباب للدخول في الامتحانات العامة الميانمارية أو في امتحان شهادة التعليم العام المعترف بها دولياً التي قد تسمح -في الأقلِّ- لنائلها بالدخول في الجامعة. وكم من إنجازٍ أُنجِزَ من خلال تقبُّلِ الواقعِ واليُسرِ وتعاون المعلمين والمنظمات غير الحكومية والحكومة.

ولكنْ كان لنا أنْ ننجز أكثر ممَّا أنجزنا. إذ يمكن للحكومة التايلاندية أن تذهب أبعد ممَّا ذهبت إليه فتنصب الجسور بين جماعة تعليم المهاجرين وبين نظام التعليم الرسمي وذلك على أساس الإنجازات الحسنة لنظام مراكز تعليم المهاجرين غير الرسمي مثل إطار جودة التعليم. هذا، وللهجرة والتَّهجير القسري في جنوبي شرقيِّ آسيا تداعيات وعواقب إقليمية، فإن وضعت رابطة أمم جنوبي شرقيِّ آسيا (آسيان) إطارَ تعليمٍ يشمل كلَّ أممها غايته دعم المركز القانوني لمراكز تعليم المهجرين ونقل السجلات الدراسية وتصديق خبرة المعلمين، جلب ذلك المنفعة لمَن يبنون الاقتصاد الإقليمي ومَن هاجروا أو هُجِّروا قسراً. ويمكن للجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني -وهم المعلِّمون في حالتنا هذه- أنْ تؤدي دوراً عظيم الأثر في وضع المعايير والآليات لبلوغ تلك الغايات، ومن ذلك وضع برنامج آسيان لشهادة التعليم العام حتَّى يُستبدَل بالبرنامج المستعمل اليوم (وهو برنامج شهادة التعليم العام الذي وضعته الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وطوَّرته).

بقي أمرٌ لا يجوز إغفاله، وهو أنَّ على الحكومة التمويلَ إن أُرِيدَ لسياسات مثل سياسة توفير التعليم للجميع أو للمبادرات العابرة للحدود أنْ تُنفَّذ أحسن تنفيذ، وحتى لا تبقى الوظائف القِوامية معتمدةً على المنظمات الدولية في تمويلها. ولقد حدث من زمن قريب انخفاض حاد -وما زال- في تمويل مراكز تعليم المهاجرين عند الحدود؛ ذلك أنَّ المنظمات غير الحكومية والحكومات المانحة قد قلَّلت التمويل، وربما كان السبب إعطاء الأوْلَويَّة للحاجات الماسَّة المُدركَة في ميانمار وغيرها. وتشعر جماعة تعليم المهاجرين بِمِيسُوو بأنَّها مهجورة. فليس تعليم اللاجئين وغيرهم من المهاجرين يتطلَّب الاعتراف بضرورته فحسب، بل يتطلَّب اعترافاً بضرورته واستثماراً.

ماري بوركي marypurkey@gmail.com

 منسقة، مشروع التَّعليم في ماي سوت https://maesot.ubishops.ca

ميغان إيرفينغ meg.g.irving@gmail.com

مديرة الإدارة، مركز بارامي للتعلم، ماي سوت www.facebook.com/parami.learningcentre

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The importance of access and accreditation: learning from the Thailand–Myanmar border

The displaced community on the Thailand–Myanmar border has long provided for the basic educational needs of large numbers of children. Providing accredited education, however, remains a struggle.

The area around Mae Sot in western Thailand is home to a large population of refugees and other migrants who have fled conflict, political oppression or economic hardship in Myanmar (but do not live in the refugee camps). In the 1990s, teachers among the displaced population began creating informal schools called Migrant Learning Centres (MLCs). For years the MLCs were under constant threat of closure by the Thai government. Then, in 2006, a new Education for All policy instituted by the government changed the dynamic between educators and government. Education for All was intended to open the doors to Thai educational institutions for all children regardless of their legal status or lack of documentation. However, turning policy into practice has proved challenging, and the reality is that most migrant children do not attend Thai schools.

Initiatives to provide accreditation

Over the years, constructive collaboration between the migrant education community and Thai government representatives has been built; the different actors involved also share a growing realisation of the need to provide children with accredited education, including transcripts that are transferrable to other education systems and that provide avenues to higher education. Since MLCs lack legal recognition as educational institutions and many teachers lack formal teaching credentials, accredited education is currently possible only through government systems (whether in Thailand or Myanmar) that few can access.

A number of initiatives are underway to remedy this situation. These include programmes to facilitate transfer of MLC students into Royal Thai Government schools or, alternatively, to formal education in Myanmar. With regard to the first option, all MLCs are now expected to teach the Thai language although implementing this is difficult given that schools are completely dependent on donors and receive no government funding. Students are also encouraged to enrol in a non-formal education programme called Kor Sor Nor (KSN), a three-year catch-up programme that was originally created for Thai students who had missed out on education but which is now open to migrant students to introduce them gradually to the Thai language and curriculum. Primary school-aged children take KSN classes in the MLCs, visit Thai KSN schools regularly and may eventually (if they complete the programme) make the transition to the formal Thai school system. Older students attend the KSN schools directly but need to develop their Thai language skills first.

In recent years, the Myanmar Ministry of Education has established a similar programme – the Non-Formal Primary Education programme (NFPE) – as part of its wider education reform. Migrant students are now able to take the Myanmar NFPE classes and exams at MLCs in Mae Sot. Students are also permitted to take Myanmar government school exams – for different school levels – at the MLCs. Both the Thai and Myanmar programmes offer a critical benefit: recognised records of achievement.

The migrant community has also taken independent initiatives to facilitate access to accredited education. For instance, MLCs and community-based organisations have collaborated to develop standardised exams for certain grades; these exams and the Myanmar government exams allow students to obtain certificates which allow transfer to Myanmar schools. In addition, in 2016 the community-based Burmese Migrant Workers Education Committee, World Education Thailand and other education stakeholders created the Education Quality Framework (EQF) as an assessment tool to help ensure some standardisation and quality of instruction in the diverse MLC network, thereby also bringing schools more in line with Thai pedagogical standards. While the Thai MOE would like MLCs to be unified under one umbrella organisation and to use the education assessment tools issued by the Thai government, it has nonetheless been open to both the diversity that exists among MLCs and their use of the EQF.

Challenges

The Thai government approach demonstrates an understandable ambivalence toward the migrant education community. It withholds official school status from MLCs and does not allow MLC teachers the legal right to teach. However, the MOE has provided migrant teachers with identification cards and acted as an intermediary between them and immigration officials, protecting them from deportation. In addition, it works to inform parents about the option to send their children to Thai schools. Finally, even as MLCs increasingly use the Myanmar curriculum, the MOE has shown a willingness to engage with them and seems to have a positive view of the availability of Myanmar’s NFPE and the potential for migrant students to enter Myanmar schools. MOE officials in Tak province have also mediated between the migrant education community and Thai immigration and security forces, and migrant children born in Thailand can now receive a 10-year identity card that ensures greater security for a longer period of time.

However, while the initiatives outlined above have created some new pathways for migrant youth to gain entry into one education system or the other, neither government provides funding support. The onus is on the MLCs to find the financial and human resources needed from benefactors and NGOs, an immense task in an environment in which finding funds simply to keep school doors open has become increasingly difficult.

A number of other challenges face the education community in Mae Sot. For cultural reasons or because their families often have to move for work, migrant children do not always integrate easily into formal education systems in host countries. The Thai government allows MLCs a degree of freedom to operate but little access to formal accreditation processes. The success of new initiatives is often hampered by bureaucratic, logistical and financial hurdles in a country where rules change often. If migrant parents are undocumented, they are often apprehensive about enrolling their children in Thai schools. Unemployment puts economic strain on the family unit, and many youth drop out of school to work illegally. Lastly, educators, parents and children from Myanmar do not all share the same goals, and there is therefore no ‘one-size-fits-all’ solution when it comes to creating pathways to accredited education.

A shift in thinking and practice?

In spite of the obstacles, the experiences of the Mae Sot migrant education community show that opportunities exist for expanding access to accredited education. When governments work collaboratively with migrant education communities, both security and educational choices can be enhanced. Education for All created a huge shift in thinking and practice among Thai government officials. Although unable to provide accreditation, MLCs in Mae Sot have been allowed to provide basic education – as well as security and support for children – and a few go further, for example, by preparing youth for Myanmar government exams or the internationally recognised General Education Diploma (GED) exam which allows, potentially at least, entry into universities. Through acceptance of the realities of the situation and through flexibility and collaboration between educators, NGOs and government, much has been accomplished.

More could be done, however. The Thai government could go further to create bridges between the migrant education community and the formal education system building on the positive achievements of the informal MLC system such as the EQF. In Southeast Asia, migration and forced displacement have regional implications and consequences; if the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) were to create an ASEAN-wide education framework to support legal status for MLCs, the transfer of academic records and certification of teacher expertise, this would serve the interests of those building the regional economy as well as those who are migrating or forcibly displaced. Civil society actors, in this case educators, could play a critical role in developing the standards and mechanisms for accomplishing these goals, including development of an ASEAN GED programme to replace the one currently used (which is the GED programme developed by the United States).

Finally, and critically, governments must provide funding if policies such as Education for All or cross-border initiatives are to be effectively implemented – to avoid vital functions remaining financially dependent on international organisations. There has recently been a sharp downturn in funding for the Migrant Learning Centres on the border as NGOs and donor governments have cut funding, possibly due to the prioritisation of perceived greater needs inside Myanmar and elsewhere. The migrant education community in Mae Sot has felt deserted. Education for refugees and other migrants demands not only acknowledgment but also investment.

 

Mary Purkey marypurkey@gmail.com
Coordinator, Mae Sot Education Project https://maesot.ubishops.ca

Megan Irving meg.g.irving@gmail.com
Director of Administration, Parami Learning Centre, Mae Sot www.facebook.com/parami.learningcentre

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview