تعليم اللاجئين في اليونان: إدماج أم فصل؟

تبع إغلاق ’ممر البلقان‘ في ربيع عام 2016 أن علق قرابة 21 ألف طفل في اليونان. ومع أنَّ سياسات التعليم أوجِدت لدمج أولئك الأطفال في المنظومة التَّعليمية اليونانية، فقد أدت تلك السياسات إلى فصل بعض الطلاب.

في مارس/آذار من عام 2016، كُلِّفت وزارة التعليم في اليونان بوضع خطة لإدماج الأطفال اللاجئين في النظام التعليمي. وقد اقترحت الخيارات الثلاثة التالية:

  • إدماج جميع الطلاب اللاجئين في المدارس العامة، وتقديم الدعم لهم تبعاً للإطار المؤسسي القائم من أجل الطلاب الذين هم من أسر مهاجرة.
  • إنشاء هياكل تعليمية خاصة داخل مراكز استقبال اللاجئين
  • تطوير ’نظام التجسير‘ بين الخيارين الأولين

وقد كان من المتوقع أن تكون السلطات اليونانية قد استفادت من الخبرة التي اكتسبتها على مدار أكثر من 25 عاماً في إدماج الطلاب المهاجرين، بما في ذلك وضع آليات للدعم مثل صفوف الاستقبال، والاستفادة أيضاً من الخبرة والمهارات التي اكتسبها المعلمون من التدريس في بيئات متعددة اللغات. وقد أمكن الاستفادة من هذه الخبرة في دعم التكامل والإدماج والتفاعل بين الثقافات وتعزيزها. وبالفعل، أقرَّت نسبة كبيرة من المعلمين وجماعات التضامن ومجتمعات النشطاء بهذه التجربة وأيَّدَت الالتحاق الفوري لجميع الطلاب اللاجئين بالمدارس العامة بلا استثناء.

ومع ذلك، فقد اختارت وزارة التعليم التي لها السلطة النهائية في اتخاذ القرار اتباع نظام الصفوف المسائية داخل المدارس العامة، ومن ثمّ إنشاء مدرسة منفصلة لفئة معينة من الطلاب. وقد سُمّي العام الدراسي 2016/2017 بمرحلة ما قبل الإدماج أو’ المرحلة الانتقالية‘ واتسم بما يلي:

  • تطوير برامج التعليم قبل المدرسي داخل مراكز الاستقبال
  • إنشاء مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين من أجل الأطفال الذين يعيشون في مراكز الاستقبال،[i] ويتركز عمل هذه المرافق في المدارس الابتدائية والثانوية القريبة، وتكون مواعيد التدريس بها ما بين الساعة 14:00إلى الساعة 18:00، أي بعد انتهاء اليوم الدراسي العادي
  • إدماج الأطفال اللاجئين الذين يعيشون في المواقع الحضرية في الصفوف الصباحية العادية بالمدارس المحلية، مع تقديم صفوف الاستقبال للدعم اللازم لهم

كان الهدف المنشود من ذلك هو أن ينتقل الطلاب نهائياً من مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين إلى صفوف الاستقبال بالمدارس العامة، سواء عند انتقال عائلاتهم من مراكز الاستقبال إلى المساكن الحضرية التي تديرها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أم بعد إتمام الطلاب عاماً دراسياً في تلك المرافق.

التحديات في الممارسة العملية

لقد بدا واضحاً للعيان أنَّ هناك عدداً لا بأس به من المشاكل الملحة التي واجهت تنفيذ هذه المرافق في السنة الأولى. فقد أنشأت الخطة نظاماً غير مرن للسكان المتنقلين. فعلى سبيل المثال، كُلِّف المعلمون (وكان يعمل معظمهم معلمين بُدَلاء بنظام الدوام الجزئي) بالتدريس في بعض مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين، إلا أنَّهم لم يتمكنوا من مواصلة تعليم الطلاب الذين انتقلوا بعد ذلك من بعض مراكز الاستقبال إلى مراكز أخرى ذات ظروف معيشية أفضل.

وظهرت كثير من ردود الفعل السلبية تجاه تخطيط مرافق استقبال تعليم اللاجئين وإدارتها رغم تناقض أسباب ردود الفعل تلك. فمن ناحية، أيّد جزء من المجتمع التعليمي الإدماج الكامل للطلاب اللاجئين في المدارس العامة الرسمية دون استثناء، مع إلقاء الضوء على المخاطر التي شعروا أنها قد تنشأ عن وضع نظام مواز. ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، أعرب بعض أولياء الأمور عن مواقف تنم عن كراهية الأجانب وهددوا بالاستحواذ على المدارس (وبعضهم فعل ذلك بالفعل).

ومع أنَّ الهدف من إنشاء تلك المرافق كان يتمثل في خفض التوترات التي قد تنشأ حال إدماج الطلاب اللاجئين في برنامج الصفوف الصباحية، فقد وقعت حوادث عديدة اتسم بعضها بالعنف. وبالمقابل، فقد اُدمِج الطلاب اللاجئون الذين يعيشون في البيئات الحضرية بسهولة في صفوف الاستقبال وفي برنامج الصفوف الصباحية، دون أي حادثة ذات أهمية تذكر، كما كان الحال مع الطلاب المهاجرين قبلهم. ثم إنَّ اختيار المدارس المنفصلة بدلاً من أن يفيد في الحد من ردود فعل رهاب الأجانب قاد إلى استهداف المدارس التي استضافت مرافق استقبال تعليم اللاجئين وساهم في وسم مجتمع اللاجئين.

وعليه، عانى المعلمون في تلك المرافق كثيراً في سبيل إنشاء إطار عام ابتدائي للوضع الطبيعي للمدرسة. وقد انعكست ممارسات الحياة المنعزلة التي نشأت في مراكز الاستقبال في صورة تجربة مدرسية لا تعبر عن الوضع الطبيعي. واستطاع الأطفال المندمجون في برنامج الصفوف الصباحية المنتظمة المشاركة في الممارسات المدرسية المعتادة، أي القدرة على التعاون والتفاعل. وعلى الرغم من تقديم مرافق الاستقبال لشهادات حضور، فقد قدمت المدارس الرسمية للطلاب شهادات تخرج؛ لتيسير انتقال الطلاب من صف دراسي إلى آخر، فضلاً عن انتقالهم من المرحلة الابتدائية إلى الثانوية.

أما عن الإنجازات التعليمية للطلاب في مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين فقد كانت محدودةً للغاية، فبدون التفاعل مع المجتمع الناطق باللغة اليونانية لم يتمكنوا من تطوير مهاراتهم اللغوية؛ مما أدى إلى انخفاض الدافع لدى الطلاب وزيادة تكلم عامة الناس عنهم بسوء على اعتبار أنَّهم مجرد أناس ’في مرحلة العبور إلى بلد آخر‘. وقد أبدى المعلمون في المدارس التي استضافت الصفوف المسائية لمرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين وبرنامج الفترة الصباحية للطلاب دعمهم لفكرة أن الأطفال الذين حضروا الصفوف النظامية بما فيهم الذين لم يَحصُلوا على دعم خاص قد درسوا وتعلموا قدراً أكبر من الطلاب الذين يحضرون في مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين خلال الفترة نفسها.

بيئة صديقة أم معادية للاجئين؟

استند اختيار المدارس التي أُنشِئت بها مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين إلى نظام الطلب والموافقة غير الرسميين الذي يصنف بعض المدارس باعتبارها ’صديقة للاجئين‘ وأخرى ’معادية للاجئين‘. وقد طُلِب إلى مديري المدارس والمديرين الإقليميين للتعليم (رؤساء الهيئات الإدارية الإقليمية) الموافقة رسمياً على إنشاء أحد مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين، وأن يقدم الأمين العام لوزارة التعليم مقترحاً للقبول النهائي. وقد أُسنِد إلى مديري المدارس سلطة تقدير عدم قدرة المدرسة على قبول الأعداد الكبيرة من الطلاب، وهو ما يُعَد عيباً رئيسياً في نظام الموافقة غير الرسمية هذا؛ ما أدى في العامين الدراسيين 2016/2017 و2017/2018 إلى وضع قوائم انتظار (امتدت في بعض الأحيان إلى شهور طويلة) قبل تحديد المدرسة التي سيلتحق بها الطلاب اللاجئون.

وعلى الرغم من التشريعات التي تؤكد على قانونية تسجيل الطلاب الذين ليس بحوزتهم وثائق كاملة (بغض النظر عن الوضع القانوني لأسرهم في اليونان)، فإن التحاق الأطفال الذين يعيشون في المناطق التي يُسمَح لهم فيها بحضور برنامج الصفوف الصباحية كان معقداً أو غير مضمون في كثير من الحالات. فعلي سبيل المثال، يتلقى الطلاب الذين يحضرون الصفوف الصباحية الدعم في صفوف الاستقبال لمدة 15 ساعة أسبوعياً، وباقي الوقت يحضرون في الصفوف النظامية بالمدرسة، وذلك بهدف الانتقال تدريجياً نحو الاندماج الكامل في الصفوف النظامية في غضون عام أو عامين. ومع ذلك، فإن عدداً كبيراً من الطلاب اللاجئين في الواقع العملي لا يلتحقون إلا بصفوف الاستقبال، وقررت بعض المدارس عدم تشجيع الأطفال على عدم حضور الصفوف النظامية، على الرغم من أنهم مسجلون رسمياً فيها. وفي كثير من الحالات، أدى ذلك إلى تحويل صفوف الاستقبال هذه إلى نظام منفصل يشبه مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين.

مفاهيم مغلوطة وما يحدث في الواقع

استند تطوير مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين إلى عدد من المفهومات المغلوطة، لعل أولها هو أن ما كان يُضطلع به كان أمراً غير مسبوق إل حدٍ ما، وهو صعوبة التعامل مع هذا العدد الكبير من الطلاب، وأن إدماجهم في برنامج الصفوف الصباحية من شأنه أن يُولِّد ردود فعل سلبية خطيرة، وأن هذه المجموعة من الأطفال تمتلك سماتٍ تختلف كلياً عن المهاجرين الذين سَبق إدماجهم في النظام التعليمي اليوناني. ويكمن ثاني المفهومات المغلوطة في أنه نظراً لأن هؤلاء الطلاب كانوا خارج المدرسة لعدة سنوات وبعضهم لم يلتحق بها أساساً، فإنهم بحاجة إلى سنة ’تمهيدية‘ واحدة على الأقل قبل أن يتسنى إدماجهم في برنامج الصفوف الصباحية العادية. أما ثالث المفهومات المغلوطة فهو الاقتناع بأن أُسَر هؤلاء الأطفال ترفض فكرة الاندماج في اليونان، وأن كونهم في مرحلة انتقالية ويعيشون في ظروف غير مستقرة يمثل عائقاً أمام إدماج أطفالهم في المدارس.

وباستثناء عدم الاستقرار المتعلق بالظروف المعيشية، والمشكلة الحقيقية المتمثلة في الاكتظاظ المفرط للطلاب في بعض المدارس في وسط أثينا، فلا يُعَد أيُّ من هذه المفهومات المغلوطة مُسوَّغاً. ويمثل عدد الطلاب اللاجئين نسبة مئوية ضئيلة من الطلاب المهاجرين الذين يبلغ عددهم 150 ألف طالب مهاجر (بمن فيهم اللاجئون) أُدمِجوا في المدارس العامة منذ عام 1995، ولم يكن من الضروري وضع إطار تعليمي خاصاً بهم. فقد أُدمِج آلاف الطلاب من سوريا ومصر وأفغانستان والعراق وباكستان في المدارس اليونانية منذ عام 2000، دون وجود إطار خاص لتعليمهم.  وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن معظم مراكز الاستقبال، (باستثناء المراكز الكبيرة مثل إليوناس أو سكاراماغاس) قدمت للصفوف المسائية التابعة لمرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين بحوالي 40 إلى 100 طالب خلال العام الدراسي 2016/2017، وهو رقم كان يمكن استيعابه بسهولة في صفوف الاستقبال الصباحية التي تديرها المدارس القريبة.

التوصيات

من أجل إبطال هذا التمييز والتعامل مع ’جيل الضياع‘ من الطلاب في البلدان المضيفة للاجئين، يجب تلبية الحد الأدنى من الشروط التالية:

  • لا ينبغي إنشاء مرافق الاستقبال الخاصة بتعليم اللاجئين إلا في الحالات التي لا يوجد فيها بديل (كما الحال بالنسبة لمراكز الاستقبال الكبيرة التي لا يمكن استيعاب طلابها بالمدارس المحلية) ويكون ذلك الحل لفترة زمنية قصيرة لحين نقل هؤلاء الطلاب إلى المدارس الصباحية. 
  • إنشاء عدد أكبر من صفوف الاستقبال الصباحية التي تعمل في مواعيد المدارس العامة، مع ضرورة تزويدها بالمعلمين والباحثين الاجتماعيين لمساعدة الطلاب على الاندماج (وعلى الرغم من زيادة هذه الصفوف في السنة الدراسية 2018/2019، فما زال هناك حاجة ماسة إلى زيادة أخرى).
  • توفير الدعم المؤسسي للمدارس والمعلمين، من خلال التدريب وتوفير المترجمين الشفهيين الذين يتحدثون اللغات الأم للأطفال.
  • إزالة العوائق أمام الالتحاق بالمدارس الثانوية العليا والتعليم العالي بالنسبة للطلاب الذين ليس بحوزتهم وثائق تثبت هويتهم، واعتماد ذلك على أنها سياسة موحدة
  • إدماج الأطفال في سن ما قبل المدرسة في التعليم العام قبل المدرسي
  • ضمان الانتقال التدريجي للطلاب من صفوف الاستقبال إلى الصفوف النظامية

 

جرجس سيموبولوس [ii] giorgosimopoulos@gmail.com باحث في مرحلة ما بعد الدكتوراه في التعليم العابر للثقافات، جامعة ثيسيلايhttp://www.ece.uth.gr/main

أنطونيوس أليكساندريديس antoniosalexandridis86@gmail.com مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في علم الإنسان، جامعة فريجي، أمستردام

https://fsw.vu.nl/en/departments/social-and-cultural-anthropology

 

[i] جميع مراكز الاستقبال في اليونان (باستثناء موقع واحد في أثينا) تقع خارج المناطق الحضرية.

[ii] بني جزء من هذه المقالة على بحث لم يُنشَر أجري ضمن دراسة الباحث في مرحلة ما بعد الدكتوراه بموجب منحة دراسة من مؤسسة المنح للدولة اليونانية من خلال مشروع ’تمكين باحثي ما بعد الدكتوراه‘ كجزء من برنامج ’تطوير الموارد البشرية والتعليم والتعلم مدى الحياة‘ الذي يموله بالتشارك الصندوق الاجتماعي الأوروبي والدولة اليونانية.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Refugee education in Greece: integration or segregation?

The closure of the ‘Balkan route’ in the spring of 2016 has trapped around 21,000 children in Greece. Although education policies have been devised to integrate these children into the Greek education system, these policies have actually led to some students being segregated.

In March 2016, Greece’s Ministry of Education was tasked with formulating a plan for integrating refugee children into the educational system. Three options were proposed:

  • to integrate all refugee students into public schools, providing support based on the existing institutional framework for students with migrant backgrounds
  • to create Special Educational Structures within the reception centres where refugees live
  • to develop a ‘bridge system’ between the first two options.

 

One might have expected the Greek authorities to have drawn upon their more than 25 years of experience acquired from integrating migrant students, including the development of supportive mechanisms such as reception classes, and the experience and skills gained by teachers from teaching in multilingual environments. Such experience could have been utilised to support and strengthen integration, inclusion and intercultural interaction. A considerable proportion of educators, solidarity groups and communities of activists recognised this experience and supported the immediate enrolment of all refugee students in public schools, without exception.

However, the Ministry of Education, which has ultimate decision-making power, opted to create a system of afternoon classes within public schools, creating a segregated school for a particular group of students. The school year 2016–17 was designated ‘pre-integrational’ or ‘transitional’, and involved the following features:

  • the development of preschool education programmes inside reception centres
  • the creation of Reception Facilities for Refugee Education (RFRE) for children living in reception centres;[1] these would operate in nearby primary and secondary schools, with teaching taking place between 14:00 and 18:00, after the end of the regular school day
  • the integration of refugee children living in urban locations into the regular morning classes of local schools, with the support of reception classes.

 

The aim was for students ultimately to progress from RFREs into the reception classes of public schools, either when their families were transferred from reception centres to urban accommodation managed by the UN Refugee Agency, UNHCR, or after the students had completed a year of study in an RFRE.

Challenges in practice
A number of persistent problems, however, became evident in the first year of RFRE implementation. For a population that is by definition on the move, the plan created inflexible structures. For example, teachers (a majority of whom were part-time substitute teachers) were assigned to teach in specific RFREs and so were unable to continue teaching those pupils who were subsequently moved from some reception centres to others with better living conditions.

There were many negative reactions to the planning and operation of RFREs, although for opposing reasons. On one hand, part of the educational community supported the full integration of refugee students into formal public schools, without exception, highlighting the dangers that they felt would be created by the development of a parallel system. On the other hand, some groups of parents voiced xenophobic attitudes and threatened to occupy schools (some actually did so).

Although RFREs were created to minimise the tensions that would arise if refugee students were integrated into the morning hours programme, nevertheless there were many incidents, some of which were violent. By contrast, refugee students living in urban environments were integrated smoothly into reception classes and into the morning hours programme, largely without major incidents, just as migrant students had been before them. The choice of a segregated school, then, instead of serving to soften xenophobic reactions, led to the schools that hosted RFREs being targeted, and stigmatised the refugee population.

The teachers of the RFREs struggled to create an elementary framework of school normality. The practices of ghettoised life that had been created in the reception centres were mirrored in a school experience that was equally disconnected from normality. Those children integrated into the regular morning programme, however, were able to get involved with school practices – able to cooperate and interact. And although RFREs provided certificates of attendance, formal schools offered students a graduation certificate, which facilitates pupils’ progression from one class to the next, as well from primary to secondary education.

RFRE students’ educational achievements were very limited: without interaction with the Greek-speaking community their language skills did not develop, thereby reducing the students’ motivation and reinforcing the public’s vilification of them as merely people ‘in transit’. Teachers in schools that hosted both afternoon RFREs and students in the morning programme seem to support the view that children who attended normal classes, even those who did not receive special support, covered and learned more over the same period than those attending the RFREs.

Refugee-friendly or refugee-hostile?

The selection of those schools in which RFREs were to be established was based on a system of informal request and consent which saw some schools identified as likely to be ‘refugee-friendly’ and others ‘refugee-hostile’. The school principals and the Regional Directors for Education (the heads of the regional administrative bodies) were then required to formally agree to the establishment of an RFRE, and submit a proposal for final acceptance by the Secretary General of the Ministry of Education. Principals were given the power to indicate when they considered the incoming number of students to be too large for their school to accept – a key flaw of this system of informal consent, which led in the 2016–17 and 2017–18 academic years to waiting lists (sometimes many months long) for refugee students to be appointed a school.

Despite legislation confirming the legality of enrolling students with incomplete documents (regardless of the legal status of their families in Greece), the enrolment of children who lived in areas where they were permitted to attend the morning programme was, in many cases, complicated or not guaranteed. For example, students attending morning classes are supported in reception classes for 15 hours per week; the rest of the time they attend the school’s mainstream classes, with the aim of gradually moving towards full integration into mainstream school within one to two years. In practice, however, a considerable number of refugee students only attend reception classes and some schools have decided, despite the fact that they are formally enrolled, to discourage children from attending mainstream classes. This has in many cases effectively transformed these reception classes into a segregated system that resembles the RFREs.

Misconceptions and realities

The development of RFREs was based on a number of misconceptions. The first was that what was being undertaken was somehow unprecedented – that the large number of students was hard to manage, that their integration into the morning programme would create serious negative reactions, and that these children were a group with entirely different characteristics from those migrants who had previously been integrated into the Greek educational system. The second misconception was the idea that as these students had been out of school for several years (some never having attended at all), they would need at least one ‘preparatory’ year before they could be integrated into the regular morning programme. And the third was the conviction that these children’s families rejected the prospect of integration in Greece, and that being in transit and living in unstable conditions were barriers to their children’s integration into school.

Except for the lack of stability in terms of living conditions, and the very real problem of overconcentration of students in some schools in central Athens, none of these misconceptions is well substantiated. The number of refugee students is only a small percentage of the 150,000 immigrant (including refugee) students that have been integrated into public schools since 1995, for whom it was not felt necessary to develop a special educational framework. Thousands of students from Syria, Egypt, Afghanistan, Iraq and Pakistan have been integrated into Greek schools since 2000, without having a special framework created for their education. Moreover, most of the reception centres (with the exception of the large centres such as Elaionas or Skaramagkas) provided the afternoon RFRE classes with 40­–­100 students during the 2016–2017 school year, a number which could have easily been absorbed in the morning reception classes run by nearby schools.

Recommendations

In order for this segregation to be reversed, and to address the ‘lost generation’ of students in refugee host countries, the following minimum requirements must be met:

  • RFREs not to be established unless there is no alternative (such as for large reception centres whose student populations cannot be absorbed by local schools) and then only as a short-term solution until these students are transferred to morning schools 
  • the establishment of greater numbers of morning reception classes, which take place within public school hours and should be supported by teachers and social workers to help pupils integrate (despite an increase in such classes in the 2018–19 school year, significant need remains)
  • the provision of institutional support for schools and teachers, through training and access to interpreters who speak children’s mother tongues
  • the lifting of barriers to the enrolment in upper secondary schools and tertiary education of students who lack documentation, and the adoption of this as a standard policy
  • the integration of preschool-aged children into public preschool education
  • the assurance of progressive transition for students from reception classes to the regular classrooms.

 

George Simopoulos[2] giorgosimopoulos@gmail.com
Postdoctoral researcher in intercultural education, University of Thessaly http://www.ece.uth.gr/main/

Antonios Alexandridis antoniosalexandridis86@gmail.com
Doctoral candidate in Anthropology, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam https://fsw.vu.nl/en/departments/social-and-cultural-anthropology

 

[1] All reception centres in Greece (with the exception of one site in Athens) are located outside urban areas.

[2] Part of this article is based on unpublished postdoctoral research provided by a scholarship from the Greek State Scholarship Foundation through the ‘Enabling post-doctoral researchers’ project as part of the ‘Human Resources Development, Education and Life-long Learning’ programme, co-funded by the European Social Fund and the Greek State.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview