تكاليف الأخذ والتسلُّم: معضلات في بانكوك

تمثِّل المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة دوراً محورياً في تلبية الحاجات الأساسية للأعداد المتزايدة من اللاجئين الحضريين في بانكوك. وهذا ما يثير التحديات لكل المشاركين.

هناك أهمية كبيرة لمسألة المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة واستجاباتها للتَّهجير في بانكوك حيث يُقدَّر عدد اللاجئين الحضريين فيها الآن ما يزيد على ثمانية آلاف (أي أكثر من خمسة أضعاف العدد في بانكوك أوائل عام 2013) ويستمر العدد بالازدياد. وليست تايلندا عضواً موقِّعاً على اتفاقية عام 1951 وليس لديها إطار وطني لحماية اللاجئين الحضريين. فاللاجئون يعيشون هناك تحت خطر مستمر للاعتقال والاستغلال والاحتجاز وما لذلك من أثر كبير على حياتهم وسبل كسب أرزاقهم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، نظراً لأنَّ أغلبية اللاجئين حديثو القدوم للبلاد، فالدعم المنظم لمجتمع اللاجئين محدود. ويعتمد آلاف اللاجئين في بانكوك على المنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة في البقاء على قيد الحياة.

والعوائق والمصاعب التي تواجه اللاجئين والجهات التي تخدمهم في بانكوك كبيرة جداً. ولا يوجد سوى مجموعة صغيرة من المنظمات غير الحكومية التي توفّر الخدمات والمساعدة للاجئين الحضريين، وحتى هذه المجموعات تعاني من مشكلات في الموازنة فإما أنَّها تدهورت أو توقفت. وكذلك الخدمات المقدمة للاجئين وعلى الأخص منها المساعدات المادية بدأت بعضها بالانسحاب وغيرها لم يعد كافياً لتلبية الحاجات المتزايدة. ويلقي اللاجئون اليوم عبأهم على المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وخاصة الكنائس لسد الثغرات في اللوازم المادية التي لم تعد مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين أو المنظمات غير الحكومية تغطيها. ويعتمد كثير من اللاجئين الحضريين الآن على المساعدات من الكنائس للبقاء على قيد الحياة، وهذا ما فرض عدداً من التحديات على الكنائس وعلى رسالتها وطوائفها ولا تقل التحديات وطأة على غيرها من المنظمات غير الحكومية العاملة في بانكوك ولا على اللاجئين أنفسهم.

أدوار مشوَّهة

عبّرت المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة عن مخاوفها من أنَّ تقديم المساعدات للاجئين قد يجعلها عن رسالتها الرئيسية والغرض الذي تأسست من أجله.[i] وأوضحت إحدى الكنائس أنَّها كانت تستجيب للحاجة دون أن تشعر بالضرورة أنَّ توفير الخدمة للاجئين هو جزء من مهامها. وهكذا، فإنَّ أي استجابة تستقطب مزيداً من اللاجئين لها وهذا ما ترك أثراً على نشاطات العبادة والأخوة التي ترغب الكنيسة في تعهدها وتوليها. وتحدث أحد القساوسة موضحاً أنَّ عادتهم في تناول الطعام معاً بعد الانتهاء من الصلاة أصبحت محل الجدل إذ كان اللاجئون يسعون إلى المشاركة في العبادة من أجل الحصول على الطعام. وهذا ما شوَّه هدف النشاط وتولّد عنه سوء النية لدى الناس المصلين إزاء اللاجئين، ما جعل مساعدة اللاجئين أمراً غير مستدام. وخلص قائلاً: "حاجات اللاجئين كبيرة جداً لدرجة أننا قد نصرف جميع مواردنا (المالية والبشرية والمرافق) لتوفير الرعاية فقط دون عمل أي شيء آخر. لكننا لا نشعر أنَّ هذا هو ما نودينا لفعله. بل نشعر أننا ننقاد إلى تقديم المساعدة لكن ذلك لا ينبغي أن يستحوذ على التركيز الكلي للكنيسة، وما أسهل أن نقع في ذلك."

وكذلك اللاجئون يشعرون بمشكلة تشوّه الأدوار. فكثير من المسيحيين الذين فرُّوا من بلادهم بسبب الاضطهاد الديني يجدون أنفسهم الآن في علاقة مختلفة عما كانت عليه من قبل بشأن الذهاب إلى الكنيسة. يقول أحد اللاجئين "نشعر أننا لا نذهب إلى الكنيسة للحصول على رضا الله علينا بل نذهب إلى هناك لأغراض أخرى كالحصول على الغذاء أو بعض المساعدة أو التبرعات... ومن الواضح أنَّ [هذا الأمر] ليس جيداً لصحتنا العقلي ولا لإيماننا." ويقول لاجئ آخر: "لا أريد أن أشعر أو أن أصبح كالمتسول..أريد الذهاب إلى الكنيسة دون التفكير في الذهاب إلى هناك للحصول على المساعدة."

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يكون لتقديم المساعدات المادية أثر على حرية الكنائس في توفير الرعاية الرسولية الصرفة. فقد علّق أحد القساوسة قائلاً: "من أكبر التحديات التي نواجهها أنَّ حاجات مجتمع اللاجئين كبيرة جداً إلى الدرجة التي تصبح فيها جهودنا للبحث عن المساعدة خارج المسار المحدد بهدفنا الأساسي الذي لأجله تأسست الكنيسة ." وقد تبدأ المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة تشعر أنَّها أصبحت شبيهة بمنظمات مساعدة اللاجئين وقد أبدى بعض عمال الكنائس الذين قدموا المساعدات علامات من الإعياء من إبداء الشفقة." بل شعر بعض اللاجئين الذين تحدثنا إليهم أنَّهم يُعاملون بشيء من الامتعاض. يقول أحد اللاجئين: "الشعور سيء عندما تقف في الطابور لتسلم قدراً قليلاً جداً من الطعام، وحتى الطريقة التي يتعامل معك فيها عمال الكنيسة والطريقة التي يسلكها مجتمع اللاجئين هناك. ليست خبرة جيدة أبداً." ولهذا السبب، يقول بعض اللاجئين إنَّهم يفضلون أكثر تلقي المساعدات من المنظمات غير الدينية. "نحن نفضل دون تردد الحصول على المساعدة من مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين أو أي منظمة غير حكومية أخرى على أن نتلقاها من الكنيسة. لو تحقق ذلك لذهبنا إلى الكنيسة بكرامة لأننا الآن نشعر بالحرج من أن ينظر إلينا الجميع على أننا نأتي إليهم للحصول على المساعدة، بل هناك من يتصرف معنا بوقاحة."

الحاجة للتنسيق

ليس الغذاء ولا الدعم المالي اللذان تقدمهما مختلف المنظمات في بانكوك كافية بحد ذاتها لتلبية حاجات اللاجئين الأساسية. ولذلك، يطرق كثير من اللاجئين أبواب أكثر من منظمة واحدة لطلب المساعدة. وعادة، يجد اللاجئون أنفسهم في كل مرة مضطرين لسرد الأسباب التي دعتهم لترك بلادهم الأصلية بالإضافة إلى ذكر تفاصيل وضعهم الحالي. وهذا ما يثير مشكلات كثيرة. فالوضع يثير خطر التعرض المتكرر للصدمة النفسية للاجئين ويشجعهم، بغض النظر عن الصدمة التي عانوا منها، إلى ذكر أنهم مستضعفون للحصول على أكبر مساعدة ممكنة. يقول أحد العاملين في الاستشارات مع اللاجئين موضحاً: "[الأمر الذي] يقلقني، خاصة هنا في بانكوك، هو وضوع اللاجئين ضحايا بمعنى أن يُجبَر الشخص على تجسيد قصته والاقتصار في حديثه على الصدمة النفسية التي تعرض لها أو السبب الذي دعاه إلى القرار والتأكيد على أنه يحتاج إلى المساعدة من الناس. وهذا الأمر لا يعزز القدرة على مقاومة الظروف ولا يعزز الاستقلالية." ولسوء الحظ، يعتقد بعض اللاجئين أنَّ التحدث عن قصة صدمتهم النفسية سوف تضمن لهم المساعدات. وتعلّق على ذلك إحدى الراهبات قائلة: "عندما نسمع القصة ذاتها كل مرة في الوقت ولا نكون قادرين على المساعدة، عندها لا نصدّق القصة." وتقول إنَّ أصعب شيء هو "الإصغاء لقصة أحد اللاجئين الذي يطلب إليهم المساعدة ثم الاضطرار إلى إخباره أنَّ الكنيسة لا تستطيع مساعدتهم." وهذا الأمر شائك ومُشكل لجميع المعنيين.

وكذلك الجهات العلمانية التي تقدم الخدمات للاجئين في بانكوك تجد أنفسها في وضع تقييم المساعدات المباشرة للمحتاجين ورفض تقديمها في بعض الأحيان وقد تعاني بالمثل في أداء ذلك التقييم من منطلق حقوق الإنسان. ومع ذلك، تعمل تلك الجهات بالتعاون مع مقدمي الخدمات الآخرين وتشاركهم الموارد ومعايير التنفيذ. وهناك ثمة اجتماعات دورية تُعقد إضافة إلى التواصلات الأسبوعية المرتب لها بالإضافة إلى التفاعلات اليومية غير الرسمية. وتعمل بعض المنظمات على مساءلة ودعم بعضها الآخر. وفي العادة، لا تتمتع المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة بالأسس والمشاركة ذاتها في قضايا اللاجئين رغم أهمية دورها الحقيقي.

ومن الحلول الإبداعية التي ظهرت لمواجهة بعض هذه التحديات إنشاء شبكة مساعدة طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين في بانكوك. وتضم هذه الشبكة المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة ومقدمي الخدمات للاجئين ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين وتسعى إلى تنسيق الخدمات المقدمة للاجئين الحضريين في بانكوك. وتُعقد الاجتماعات كل شهرين وتقدم مساحة حيادية لعقد النقاشات بين مقدمي خدمات اللاجئين والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة. وتختلف موضوعات النقاش من منظمة لأخرى وتسعى إلى الوقوف على فهم أفضل لعملية تحديد وضع اللجوء أو توضيح ماهية دور مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في الحماية ومناقشة كيفية تبديد الشائعات المنتشرة بين أبناء المجتمعات المحلية. ويَتَّسم هذا المنبر حيث يتبادل المتحاورون المعلومات بالأهمية القصوى لتسهيل نشر المعرفة بين مختلف الفاعلين الذين يحضرون خبراتهم إلى الشبكة في مختلف المجالات. وكانت النتجية استجابات موقوتة ومنسقة ناجحة للقضايا التي تواجهها مجتمعات اللاجئين. ومن أمثلة ذلك المنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وقادة المجتمعات المحلية إذ تحقق الترابط بينها من خلال شبكة مساعدة طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين في بانكوك للاستجابة إلى الابتزاز المالي ضمن مجتمعات اللاجئين، وعملت هذه المجموعات معاً لمساعدة الأفراد المتأثرين ولرفع الوعي ضمن المجتمعات المحلية بمخاطر الابتزاز المالي.

وتعمل شبكة مساعدة طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين في بانكوك أيضاً على فصل مجموعات العمل حسب الموضوعات الحساسة التي تتطلب مزيداً من الدراسة والتعاون بين العاملين مع اللاجئين في بانكوك. وتركز هذه المجموعات حالياً على التعليم والصحة وتُشرك اللاجئين من ذوي المهارات أو الاهتمام في تلك المجالات بالإضافة إلى الناشطين في تأسيس خدماتهم الخاصة القائمة على المجتمع المحلي.

وتوفر الشبكة منبراً تتلقى فيه المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة الدعم والتعزيز في عملها. فعلى سبيل المثال، هناك المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة القلقة إزاء أثر المساعدات على رسالتها في توفير الخدمات للاجئين والتي تسعى إلى الابتعاد عن توفير المساعدات المادية المباشرة. ففي هذا المنبر، تلقى تلك المنظمات التشجيع للاستمرار في المساعدة لكن مع فعل ذلك دون أن تكون منظورة كثيراً عن طريق توفير الموارد المادية والبشرية للمنظمات الأخرى التي تدير الخدمات والنشاطات للاجئين.

ومن الأمور المهمة في هذا السياق التواصل بين جميع الأفراد والمنظمات العاملة مع اللاجئين الحضريين لأنها ستمكن من السعي وراء أعلى معايير المساعدة الضرورية لتعزيز القدرات على تلبية حاجات السكان المخدومين دون أن يكون ذلك على حساب تلبية الحاجات الروحية. والتشارك في حل المشكلات أمر مهم جداً أيضاً وعلى مقدمي خدمات اللاجئين أن يضمنوا إشراك المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة النشطة في مجال توفير المساعدات للاجئين الحضريين ضمن المقاربات التعاونية.

     سابين لاريبو sabinelarribeau@gmail.com مستشارة مستقلة لقضايا اللاجئين والهجرة وحماية الأطفال. شارون برودهيد sharonne.b@asylumaccess.org  منسقة شؤون مخاطبة المجتمعات المحلية في منظمة الوصول إلى اللجوء في تايلندا. www.asylumaccess.org

كتبت المؤلفتان هذه المقالة بصفتيهما الشخصية فقط.


[i] تُدرج هذه المقالة آراء الأشخاص المعنيين من خلال المقابلات التي جرت مع شبكة مساعدة طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين في بانكوك ومع ممثلين عن إحدى المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة الذين استشارهم كاتبتا هذه المقالة.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The costs of giving and receiving: dilemmas in Bangkok

Local faith-based organisations play a central role in meeting the basic needs of the increasing urban refugee population in Bangkok. This raises challenges for all involved.

The issue of faith-based organisations (FBOs) and their responses to displacement is highly relevant in Bangkok where the number of urban refugees is now estimated to be over 8,000 (more than five times the number in Bangkok in early 2013) and continues to increase. Thailand is not a signatory to the 1951 Convention and has no national framework to protect urban refugees. Refugees here live under constant threat of arrest, exploitation and detention, which has a significant impact on their lives and livelihood options. Furthermore, as a majority of the refugee population is relatively new, there is limited organised refugee community support. Thousands of refugees in Bangkok depend on NGOs and FBOs to survive.

The hurdles facing refugees and those serving them in Bangkok are significant. There is only a small group of NGOs providing services and assistance to urban refugees, and for many of them their budgets have either stagnated or been cut. Services to refugees, in particular material assistance, are being withdrawn or are no longer sufficient to meet the growing needs. Refugees are now relying on FBOs, in particular churches, to fill the gaps in material provision that are not being covered by UNHCR or NGOs. Many urban refugees now depend on assistance from churches to survive, and this has presented a variety of challenges for the churches, their mission and their congregations, other NGOs working in Bangkok, and the refugees themselves.

Distorted roles

FBOs have expressed concern about how the provision of assistance for refugees can detract from their core mission and purpose.[1] One church explained that they are responding to a need without necessarily feeling that it is their role to be providing a formal service for refugees. Any response then draws more refugees to them, and has a further impact upon worship and fellowship activities they may want to undertake. A church pastor explained how their usual custom of eating together after a service became contentious as refugees sought to be involved in that activity in order to access food. This distorted the purpose of this activity, creating some ill-will towards refugees from other people in the congregation, and resulted in it becoming unsustainable. He concluded that: “The needs of the refugees are so great that we could probably expend our entire resources (financial as well as staffing and facilities) toward their care and do nothing else. We don’t feel that that is what we are being called to do. We feel we are being led to help but not to make it the focus of the church, which it can quite easily become.”

The distortion of roles is also felt keenly by refugees. For many Christians who have fled their country due to religious persecution, they find they now have a different relationship with church attendance. One refugee said, “It feels that we are not going into the church to please God but we go there for other purposes, like getting food or some help or donations… [this is] obviously not good for our mental health, nor for our faith.” Another refugee said, “I do not want to feel or become like a beggar… I want to attend church without thinking of going there to get help.”

Furthermore, the giving of material assistance can impact upon the freedom of churches to provide purely pastoral care. One pastor commented, “One of the significant challenges we face is that the needs of the refugee community are so great, that our efforts to seek to help can potentially take us off track of what we feel our primary purpose as a church is.” FBOs can begin to feel like refugee aid organisations, and some church workers who provide assistance have shown signs of compassion fatigue. A number of refugees we talked with felt they were treated with disdain. One refugee said, “It feels so bad when you stand in a line to receive very little food and the way church workers treat you and the way the refugee community behaves there. It’s not at all a good experience.” Because of this, some refugees say they would much rather receive aid from a non-religious organisation. “We would definitely prefer to receive support from UNHCR or an NGO rather than church. We could go to church with dignity, as we now feel embarrassed that everyone thinks we are coming to ask them to help us and some people really behave rudely.”

Need for coordination

The food and financial support provided by the variety of different organisations in Bangkok are usually not on their own sufficient to meet refugees’ basic needs. Many refugees therefore approach more than one organisation to request assistance. Typically, each time refugees have to recount the reasons why they left their country of origin, as well as details of their present situation. This raises a number of issues. It presents the risk of re-traumatisation for refugees and also encourages refugees, regardless of trauma suffered, to present themselves as vulnerable in order to obtain the most assistance possible. As one counsellor working with the refugee population explained, “[what is] concerning to me, especially here in Bangkok, is the victimisation of refugees in which a person is forced to embody their story and only talk about the trauma or reason to flee and highlight how they need help from others. This does not promote resiliency or independence.” Unfortunately some refugees believe that sharing a traumatic story will ensure assistance. One pastor commented that “what we hear expressed regularly when we are not able to help is that we don’t believe their story”. She says that the hardest thing is “listening to a refugee’s story, them requesting help, and having to tell them we can’t help them”. This is problematic for all involved.

Secular refugee service providers in Bangkok too are in a similar position of assessing and sometimes refusing direct assistance to those in need, and can similarly struggle to do this with a rights-based approach. However, they work collaboratively with other service providers, sharing resources and implementing standards. There are regular meetings and structured weekly communications, as well as informal daily interactions. The organisations hold each other accountable, and support each other. FBOs typically do not have the same grounding and involvement in refugee issues specifically, despite their actual pivotal role.

An innovative solution to address some of these challenges has been the creation of the Bangkok Asylum Seekers and Refugee Assistance Network (BASRAN). This network includes FBOs, refugee service providers and UNHCR, and aims to coordinate services for the urban refugee population in Bangkok. Meetings are held every two months and are a neutral space in which refugee service providers and FBOs can hold discussions. Topics vary from organisations trying to better understand the RSD process or what UNHCR’s role in protection is, to discussing how to dispel rumours that have bubbled up through the communities. This forum for exchanging information is extremely important to facilitate the spread of knowledge between the various actors who all bring expertise in different areas to the network. This has led to successful, timely and coordinated responses to issues faced by refugee communities. One example is NGOs, FBOs and refugee community leaders – connected through BASRAN – responding to financial extortion within refugee communities; these groups have worked together to assist individuals affected, and to raise awareness within the communities of the risks of exploitation.

BASRAN also has separate working groups on critical issues that require further examination and collaboration among those working with refugees in Bangkok. These are currently focusing on education and health, and involve refugees with skills or an interest in these areas, as well as those who have been active in establishing their own community-based services.

The network provides a forum where FBOs are supported and strengthened in their work. For example, FBOs that are concerned about the impact on their mission of providing refugee services and are seeking to move away from providing direct material assistance are encouraged to continue to assist but to do so less visibly, by providing financial and human resources to other organisations running services and activities for refugees.

Communication between all individuals and organisations working with urban refugees is key to striving for high standards of assistance to better meet the material needs of the population being served, without this being at the expense of meeting spiritual needs. Joint problem solving is vital, and refugee service providers should ensure that FBOs active in the provision of assistance for urban refugees are included in collaborative approaches.

 

Sabine Larribeau sabinelarribeau@gmail.com is an independent consultant on refugee, migration and child protection issues. Sharonne Broadhead sharonne.b@asylumaccess.org is Community Outreach Coordinator at Asylum Access Thailand. www.asylumaccess.org.

This article is written in a personal capacity.

 

[1]  This article draws on views regularly expressed during meetings of the Bangkok Asylum Seekers and Refugee Assistance Network (BASRAN) and by FBO representatives consulted in writing this article.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview