كرامة الشخص الإنسان

يمثل التركيز الذي توليه عملية التعليم الاجتماعية الكاثوليكية على كرامة الشخص الإنسان عدسة تستخدمها المؤسسات الكاثوليكية في تقييم تعزيزنا نحن في المجتمع العالمي لكرامة الشخص الإنسان أو تهديدنا له وعلى وجه الخصوص الأشخاص الأكثر استضعافاً بمن فيهم الأشخاص المتنقلون

تستمد الكنيسة الكاثوليكية نظرتها لجميع الأفراد من إيمانها بفطرية الكرامة الإنسانية وعلى تلك النظرة تبني الكنيسة التزامها للعيش في تضامن مع السكان المهجَّرين وتركّز على أهمية المرافقة. والمرافقة بالتعريف طريقة "للمشي مع الآخر" سواء أكان لاجئاً أم مهاجراً بدلاً من النظر إلى ذلك الشخص على أنه مجرد متلقٍّ للخدمات فحسب. وهي تنسجم أيضاً مع مفهوم التمكين أو المقاربة المرتكزة إلى الزبائن وغالباً ما تأتي ضمن إطار عمل اجتماعي مهني وتُستَخدَم كاستجابة في سياقات الهجرة القسرية. ونحن نؤمن أنَّ هناك عدة مزايا جيدة تتحقق من وجود الكنيسة في النشاطات التي تتعلق بالهجرة القسرية المرتبطة مع مفهوم المصاحبة المذكور.

فوجود الكنيسة الكاثوليكية منذ مدة طويلة في كثير من السياقات يقدم فائدة مهمة عند الاستجابة إلى التَّهجير القسري. ففي كثير من الأماكن، تكون الكنيسة ملمّة بما يحدث في المكان الذي تقع فيه، وليس ذلك صحيحاً بالنسبة لمنظمة دولية تصل إلى المكان بعد وقوع التَّهجير. ويشجَّع هذا الوجود المحلي من رفع مستوى الثقة وإيجاد حسّ من الهوية المتبادلة مع المجتمع المحلي، وكذلك اللاجئون والنَّازحون داخلياً سيتوجهون للكنيسة لطلب المساعدة حتى لو كانوا ينتمون إلى الأديان أو الخلفيات الأخرى. وبفضل الوضع الذي تحظى به الكنيسة بحكم وجودها في المجتمع المحلي كجزء لا يتجزأ منه، تبحث كثير من المنظمات الدولية عن شركاء لها من الكنائس المحلية للتعاون معها في مساعدة السكان المتأثرين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن إيصال أصوات المتأثرين إلى نقاشات السياسات الأكبر نطاقاً من خلال شبكات الكنيسة الداخلية. فمن الممكن من خلال اتباع مقاربة  "الوعظ على الهامش" الربط بين كبار القادة والمهاجرين وبالتالي التأثير على صانعي السياسات.

وللكنيسة الكاثوليكية في أغلب الأحيان القدرة على الوصول إلى المجتمعات المحلية إلى درجة لا تتاح لغيرها من المؤسسات أو المنظمات، وربما يعود الفضل في ذلك إلى العلاقات القائمة مسبَّقاً للكنيسة أو ربما لأنَّ أصحاب السلطة لا ينظرون إلى القساوسة على أنَّهم مصدر للتهديد والخطر. فالقساوسة الكاثوليكيون، على سبيل المثال، وكذلك الراهبات، يزورون المهاجرين المحتجزين في جميع أنحاء العالم وغالباً ما يكون لهم القدرة على الوصول إلى هؤلاء الأشخاص نظراً لطبيعتهم الدينية. 

والكنيسة الكاثوليكية مع أنَّها ليست المؤسسة الوحيدة القائمة على العقيدة غالباً ما يُنظر لها على أنها سلطة أخلاقية قادرة على أن تكون قوَّة محفِّزة للعمل نيابة عن الآخرين وبالتعاون معهم. ومثال ذلك التحدي الذي أثاره البابا فرانسيس في مواجهة "عولمة عدم الاكتراث" خلال زيارته إلى لامبيدوزا عام ٢٠١٣ إذ أصبح ذلك وقتها حديث الساعة دولياً لدى كل من المؤسسات العلمانية وتلك القائمة على العقيدة على حد سواء. وفي أبريل/نيسان ٢٠١٤، أقام الكاردينال سين أوملي مع عدد من الأساقفة من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ودول أخرى قدَّاساً على السور الحدودي الفاصل بين الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمكسيك للتأكيد على ضرورة إحداث التغييرات في العواطف الوجدانية والسياسات المتبعة إزاء إخواننا وأخواتنا العابرين للحدود، وجذب ذلك تغطية إعلامية على الصعيدين الوطني والدولي.

ويضاف إلى ذلك أنَّ الكاثوليكيين وغيرهم يبدون التزاماً نحو تقاليد عقيدية لهم وبذلك يجلبون مقاربة شمولية تتضمن النظر للفرد على أنَّه كائن روحي. وهكذا، إذا ما عُززت المكانة المحورية للروحانيات والدين في حياة كثير من الأشخاص المهاجرين ضمن الاستجابات الإنسانية على جميع الصُعد (بدءاً بمستوى المساعدات الفردية إلى دعم القدرة على أداء الشعائر الدينية) فسيكون ذلك الأمر سبباً في تزايد عدد المنظمات التي تدرك أهمية تلك المكانة وتضعها في الاعتبار في استجاباتها الحمائية.  فالعقيدة عامل مهم في تعزيز القدرة على مقاومة الظروف لدى كثير ممن عانوا من الهجرة القسرية.

وعلى سبيل المثال، قد تتأثر وجهات نظر المهجَّرين حول مقدمي المساعدات سلبياً بسبب خبراتهم السابقة مع الهيئات الحكومية في وطنهم الأم أو مع هيئات إنفاذ القانون في البلد الذي يتوجهون إليه. ومثل هذه البيئة تمنح الكنيسة الكاثوليكية وغيرها من المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة ميزة نسبية في كسب ثقة المهجَّرين. وهذه الثقة هي التي سوف تتيح للمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أن تعمل كجسور بين المهجَّرين والهيئات الحكومية بهدف إيصال شواغلهم ومساعدته في حماية الأكثر استضعافاً وشق حياتهم في المجتمع الجديد وتعليمهم وتثقيفهم بحقوقهم التي تمنحها القوانين الحالية.

وتشارك الهيئات المرتبطة بالكنيسة الكاثوليكية هذه المزايا مع غيرها من المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة المساهمة في تقديم المساعدات في سياقات الهجرة القسرية، بل تتفق أيضاً مع المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة والمنظمات العلمانية على حدة سواء في التصدي لمسألة الهجرة القسرية وهذا بدوره قاد إلى إنشاء تحالفات وشراكات قوية بين مختلف الجهات المعنية بالتغلب على مشكلة "عدم الاكتراث" الإنساني وتحويله إلى تغيير إيجابي.

  نتالي لاميرت nlummert@usccb.org مديرة البرامج الخاصة في قسم الهجرة واللاجئين لدى منظمة المؤتمر الأمريكي للأساقفة الكاثوليك.www.usccb.org/about/migration-and-refugee-services

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The dignity of the human person

Catholic Social Teaching’s emphasis on the dignity of the human person is a lens that Catholic institutions use to evaluate how we as a global society enhance or threaten the dignity of the human person, especially the most vulnerable of people – including those on the move.

The Catholic Church’s view of all individuals as endowed with an intrinsic human dignity is the basis for its commitment to live in solidarity with displaced populations and for the importance it places on accompaniment. Accompaniment is a way of ‘walking alongside’ the refugee or migrant, rather than seeing the person solely as a recipient of services. It is also consistent with the concept of empowerment or a client-centred approach often espoused within a professional social work framework and used as a response in contexts of forced migration. We believe there are several comparative advantages in the Church’s presence in activities addressing forced migration, which are linked to this concept of accompaniment.

The Catholic Church’s long-standing presence in many settings provides an important advantage when responding to forced migration. In many places, the Church is indigenous to the location, in contrast to an international entity arriving after displacement occurs. This local presence encourages trust and a sense of mutual identity with the local community; refugees and other displaced persons turn to the Church for assistance even when they are from other faith backgrounds. The indigenous character of the local church is also why many international organisations turn to local church partners for collaboration in assisting affected populations. Furthermore, the voice of those affected can be brought to larger policy discussions through internal Church networks; a ‘ministry on the margin’ approach brings top leadership in contact with migrants, and in turn can influence political leaders.

The Catholic Church often has access to communities where others may not; this may be because of pre-existing Church relationships, or perhaps because religious pastors are not viewed as threatening by those in control. For example, Catholic priests and religious sisters visit immigrants in detention worldwide and often have special access as pastoral agents.  

The Catholic Church, while just one of many faith-based perspectives, is often recognised as a moral authority that can be a motivating force to take action on behalf of, and with, others. Pope Francis’s challenge to confront the “globalisation of indifference” during his visit to Lampedusa in 2013 has been cited internationally through both secular and faith-based channels. And in April 2014 Cardinal Seán O’Malley, together with a number of bishops from the United States and other countries, celebrated a Mass at the border fence between the US and Mexico to highlight the need for changes of heart and policy toward our brothers and sisters across borders; this attracted considerable news coverage nationally and internationally.

Catholics, and others committed to a faith tradition, also bring a holistic approach that includes a view of the individual as a spiritual being. Incorporating the centrality of spirituality and religion in the lives of many migrating persons within humanitarian responses at all levels – from individual assistance to supporting the ability to practise religion – is something that many more organisations could recognise and incorporate into their protection responses. Faith is an important factor in resilience for many who have suffered due to forced migration.

Past experiences with government agencies, whether in their home country or, for example, with immigration enforcement agencies in their country of destination, can negatively affect displaced populations’ views of those offering assistance. In such an environment, the Catholic Church and other faith organisations can have a comparative advantage in gaining the trust of displaced persons. This trust allows faith-based organisations (FBOs) to serve as bridges to government entities to voice concerns and assist with protecting the most vulnerable, helping them find their way in their new community, and educating them about their rights under current laws.

Catholic Church-affiliated entities share these advantages with other FBOs involved in assisting in forced migration contexts, and common agreement with both faith-based and secular organisations on addressing forced migration has led to strong coalitions and partnerships among a cross-section of those concerned about turning humanitarian indifference into positive change.

 

Nathalie Lummert nlummert@usccb.org is Director, Special Programs, Migration and Refugee Services with the US Conference of Catholic Bishops. www.usccb.org/about/migration-and-refugee-services

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview