المساحة الدينية والمساحة الإنسانية

تعيش الكنيسة البروتستانتية الرسمية في المغرب حالة من النضال إزاء التوترات التي تشهدها أثناء تعاملها مع الغير بصفتها منظمة كنسية وبصفتها الأخرى الشبيهة بالمنظمة غير الحكومية نتيجة عملها مع اللاجئين والمُهجَّرين.

لدى الكنيسة البروتستانتية الرسمية في المغرب (Église Évangélique au Maroc, EEAM) كنائس في عدة مدن في المغرب. وبعد التدهور الذي تلى الاستقلال، شهدت كنائس الطائفة الإنجيلية في المغرب  في العقد الأخير من القرن العشرين ارتفاعاً كبيراً في العضوية من الطلاب الواصلين إلى البلاد من جنوب الصحراء الأفريقية لكنَّ ذلك مثّل في الوقت نفسه تحدياً: فظهور المهاجرين غير النظاميين من جنوب الصحراء الإفريقية عادة ما يهدفون إلى عبور المغرب نحو أوروبا لكنَّ المطاف ينتهي بهم في حالة شبه استيطان في البلاد. وهكذا إثر هذا التحدي، بدأت الكنيسة الإنجيلية في المغرب عام  2003 بالعمل مع اللاجئين والمهاجرين في المغرب من خلال ذراعها الاجتماعي: اللجنة الدولية للمساعدات.

وتنصب إحدى النشاطات الأساسية للجنة في توفير المساعدة وبرنامج مساعدة الطوارئ الذي يضم الغذاء والمعونة الطبية والتبرع بالبطانيات والمرافقة الروحية للمسيحيين الذين يطلبونها. وعادة ما يُقدَّم هذا النوع من المساعدات في أثناء جلسات "الزيارات القصيرة" في كنائس الطائفة الإنجيلية في المغرب في عدة مدن في جميع أنحاء المغرب. ومع ذلك، لم يخل الطريق من التحديات أمام إعادة توجيه هذا الذراع من الكنيسة نحو المهاجرين غير النظاميين من منطقة جنوب الصحراء الإفريقية. فهناك توتر مستمر إذ تارة تكون اللجنة الدولية للمساعدات منظمة كنسية تركز على الرعاية الشخصية والرعوية وتارة تكون كأي منظمة غير حكومية تضع تركيزها على الكفاءة والمهنية.

وهناك حالة من الغموض تسود داخل اللجنة الدولية للمساعدات بين طبيعتها الإنجيلية والإنسانية ويؤثر هذا الغموض على رسالتها وأهدافها وقراراتها التنظيمية. وليست القضية هنا مسألة "إما هذا أو ذاك" بل إنها مسألة غموض والتباس لا يمكن إزالته نظراً لأنه مرتبط ارتباطاً جوهرياً بتنظيم اللجنة وتاريخها. وأتت هذه القضايا نتاج محاولة المنظمة تفسير معاني "المقدس" و"العلماني" على أرض الواقع وتوضيح دور الدين في العمل الإنساني المتَّسم بالتناقضات والتوتر ما يعكس بدوره تناقضاً في دورها في الفضاء العام.

لكَّن دراسة أحد الفاعلين الجنوبيين القائمين على العقيدة مثل اللجنة الدولية للمساعدات ستساهم في تعميق فهمنا لبعض الفاعلين الأصغر حجماً ممن يشاركون في الأنماط "الأخرى" للعمل الإنساني التي غالباً ما لا تكون منظورة ما يوسّع بدوره تعريفنا للعمل الإنساني. ومع أنَّ المساحة الدينية هي في الوقت نفسه مساحة عابرة للقوميات ومساحة إنسانية أيضاً، فتمثل اللجنة الدولية للمساعدات مثالاً عن كيفية تحول مثل هذه المجتمعات الدينية إلى فاعلين خاصة في مواجهة نقص في الخدمات التي تقدمها الدولة بل مواجهة العدوانية التي قد تنشط على السطح أحياناً تجاه المهاجرين.

وكما يقول رئيس اللجنة الدولية للمساعدات "نحن نخترع كلما مضينا في طريقنا". فالعمل الارتجالي والاختراع كانا من أهم الطرق التي سعت فيها اللجنة الدولية للمساعدات لإدارة الانتقال من العملية التي يديرها الراعي إلى تنظيم متنامٍ يمثل مساحة الموارد للمهاجرين استجابة لعمليات عامة أوسع تؤثر على مجتمعها.

مي نو mngo44@gmail.com مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في جامعة سوينبيرن للتكنولوجيا، أسترالياwww.swinburne.edu.au

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Religious space, humanitarian space

The Protestant church in Morocco is struggling with tensions as it navigates between being a church organisation and being – in its work with refugees and migrants – something more like a non-governmental organisation.

The official Protestant church in Morocco, the Église Évangélique au Maroc, EEAM, has churches in several cities in Morocco. After a post-independence decline, in the 1990s the EEAM churches experienced an enormous increase in membership from the arrival of students from Sub-Saharan Africa but also a new challenge: the appearance of irregular migrants from Sub-Saharan Africa, usually aiming to pass through Morocco on their way to Europe but who inevitably end up in a semi-permanent settled state in the country. Faced with this, in 2003 EEAM began working with refugees and migrants in Morocco through its social arm, the Comité d’Entraide Internationale (CEI).

One of the CEI’s main activities is an assistance and emergency aid programme, consisting of food and medical aid, clothing and blanket donations, and spiritual accompaniment for Christians who ask for it. This direct aid is usually given during regular ‘drop-in’ sessions in EEAM churches in several cities across Morocco. However, the reorientation of this arm of the church towards irregular sub-Saharan African migrants in Morocco has not happened without some challenges. There is a continual tension that the CEI navigates between being a church organisation, with its emphasis on personalised and pastoral care, and being more like a non-governmental organisation, with an emphasis on efficiency and professionalism.

There is a fundamental ambiguity within the CEI between its evangelism and its humanitarianism that affects its mission, objectives and organisational decisions. It is not a case of either/or but rather an unresolvable ambiguity intrinsic to the organisation and its history. These issues are the outcome of the organisation trying to interpret and negotiate the ‘sacred’ and the ‘secular’ in practice, and demonstrate how the role of religion in humanitarianism is marked by contradictions and tension, reflecting the wider ambivalence of its role in the public sphere.

A study of a Southern faith-based actor like the CEI contributes to a greater understanding of some of the smaller actors who engage in ‘other’ modes of humanitarian action that often go unrecognised, and hence enlarges our definition of humanitarianism. Through being at the same time a transnational space, a religious space and a humanitarian space, the CEI is an example of how such faith communities transform themselves into actors, particularly in the face of a lack of provision of services by the state and sometimes active aggression towards migrants.

To quote the President of the CEI, “we are inventing as we go along”. Improvisation and invention have been the main ways that the CEI has attempted to manage the transition from a pastor-run operation to a growing organisation acting as a resource space for migrants in response to wider global processes that affect its own community.

 

May Ngo mngo44@gmail.com is a PhD candidate at Swinburne University of Technology, Australia. www.swinburne.edu.au

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview