العُنْف على المرأة والصحَّة العقليَّة عند اللاجئات ونساء المجتمعات المُضِيفة

تتفاقم وجوه الخلل في القوة والمساواة بين الجنسين فتُعرِّض النساء والفتيات المُهجَّرات لخطر العنف عليهنَّ بسبب وجوه الضعف المتعلقة بالحالة القانونيَّة والأمن الاقتصادي والوصول إلى الخدمات وأحوال المعيشة. ومن المهم فَهْم عوامل الخطر والحماية وتحديدها لتحسين السُّبُل التي تقضها بها حاجات كلِّ من اللاجئين والمجتمعات المُضِيفة.

أجرت منظّمة أبعاد، وهي منظمة لبنانية تعمل على جميع جوانب الوقاية من العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة والاستجابة له[1]، ومعها معهد المرأة العالمي ومقره الولايات المتحدة[2]، أجريا استطلاعاً للاجئات السوريات والنساء اللبنانيات والفلسطينيات لفَهْم تجاربهنَّ في العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة وفي دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة. وقد أُجرِي الاستطلاع في أيار/مايو سنة 2019 بمعاونة أكاديميَّات ومقدِّمات خدمات لبنانيِّات في ميدان العنف الجنساني على المرأة ودَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة. ثمَّ استُكمِلَ بمعطياتٍ نوعية جُمِعَت في مناقشات دارت بين فِرَق التركيز وقادة المجتمع المحليّ ومزاولين في ميدان العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة ودَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة وأفراد المجتمع المحليّ، وذلك لفهم تصوراتهم لحُسْن الحال المرء ولكلِّ مُعوِّق وكلِّ العوامل في تدعم الخدمات المُنسَّقة في هذين القطاعين.[3]

ومن بين 969 امرأة قد قُوبِلَت، ذكر 90% منهنَّ أنهن يعانين من مشكلات خطيرة بسبب واحد أو أكثر من وجوه ضعفهنَّ في محيطهنَّ: انعدام الأمن الغذائي (71%)، والصحة البدنية (62%)، والانفصال من الأسرة (56%)، والسلامة والأمن حيث يَعِشْنَ (50%). وحدَّدت المشاركات في مناقشات فِرقَة التركيز قِلَّةَ الوصول إلى الموارد المالية وقلن إنَّه السبب الرَّئيس في وجوه الضعف هذه بين المجتمعات المُضِيفة ومجتمعات اللاجئين بالسَّواء. والعنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة شائعٌ بين هذه الفئة من السكان. فقد أشار أكثر من ثُلُثِ النساء إلى أنَّهن تزوجن قبل أن يبلغ السنة 18 من عمرهنَّ، وأكثر من ثلاثة أرباع النساء اللاتي لهن شريك أو سبق أن كان لهنّ شريك قُلْنَ إنَّهن تعرَّضن لعنف العشير، ونصفهنَّ تعرَّضن لذلك في خلال السنة الماضية. ثمَّ إن ثمانية نساء من كلِّ عَشَرَة نساء عانين عُنْفَ العشير انطبقت حالاتهن على معايير الضائقة الشديدة.[4] وأيضاً فالسيطرة القسرية عاملٌ خَطِر مُهِم للضائقة النفسانيَّة. وكان الزواج القسري أو زواج الأطفال أحد أكبر عوامل الضائقة النفسانيَّة مع ضغط هائل على الفتيات العرائس، فكان لذلك أثر في علاقتهن بالزوج وبأطفالهن في المستقبل.

هذا، وعدد النساء السوريات اللواتي انطبقت حالاتهنَّ على معايير الضائقة النفسانيَّة الشديدة أكثر عدد النساء اللبنانيات في ذلك. وقد فُسِّر هذا الاختلاف في فِرَق التركيز فقيل إنَّه ناجم عن الضغط أو القلق جلبه مُجهِدٌ ماليّ وأسري، والحَيْرة في الحاضر والمستقبل، والانفصال من الأسرة، والوَصْم المرتبطة بصفة اللاجئ. وارتبط وجود مشكلةٍ خطيرة في بُعدٍ واحد فقط من وجوه الاستضعاف في البيئة المحيطة بمعدّل أعلى بكثير من الضائقة النفسانيّة الشديدة بالقياس إلى اللاتي ليس فيهنَّ مشكلات خطيرة. وكان عدد وجوه الضعف التي تسبب مشكلات خطيرة مرتبطاً ارتباطاً قويّاً بزيادة معدلات الضائقة النفسانيَّة الشديدة.

وذكرت كلّ من النساء اللبنانيات والسوريات طبيعة التَّعزِيز المتبادل بين الصَّحة البدنية والصحة العقليَّة، وكيف يمكن أن تمنعهنَّ الإصابة بأمراض مزمنة أو علل جسدية من الاعتناء بأنفسهنَّ، وكيف يمكن أيضاً أن تظهر آثار الصحَّة العقليَّة في هيئة أعراض جسدية.

وجوه استجابة النِّساء

كان عدد النساء السوريات اللاتي التمسنَ خدمات الاستجابة للعنف، وبخاصة خدمات دعم الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة أو الصحَّة العقليَّة، أكثَر من عدد النساء اللبنانيات اللواتي التمسنَ ذلك، على أنَّ عدد النساء اللبنانيات اللاتي التمسنَ مزيدَ التعليم والتدريب المهني أكثر من النساء السوريات. وكان العائق الأساسيّ الذي اعترض البحث عن الخدمات هو أنَّ النساء إنما لم يكن يعرفن أن الخدمات حاضرة، يلي ذلك اعتقادهنَّ بأنَّهن لا يحتجن إلى خدمات لمعالجة العنف. ومِثْل ذلك أنَّ العامل الأساسي الداعم لطلب الإعانة هو أن تكون الخدمات مُوجَّهة بوضوح إلى الناس من مشاربهم وحالاتهم، ولا سيَّما للنَّساء السوريات. وهذا متَّصل بكيفية الإعلان عن الخدمات، ومكان وجودها (مثال ذلك أن تكون حاضرةً في مراكز المدن أو بالقرب من المستوطنات التي يعيش فيها اللاجئون)، وكيفية هيكلتها (مثال ذلك أن تُقدَّم في مراكز قائمة برأسها أو داخلَ مراكز «جامعة لكلِّ الخدمات» تديرها الحكومة مع عددٍ من مُوصِلي الخدمة الآخرين).

وقد بحثت معظم النساء عن المؤاساة في دينهن ليتصدَّيْن للعنف. فكانت الصلاة الآليَّةَ المشتركة الوحيدة للتصدِّي لصعوبة المعيشة بين المشاركات في الاستطلاع وفِرَق التركيز. ووصفت إحدى النساء تجربتها في الأخذ بالوجوه الروحانية للتصدِّي لصعوبة التجارب اليومية، قالت: «أصعد إلى حافة الوادي وأخاطب الله تعالى. أقعُدُ وأشرب كوب شاي من الأعشاب، وأدخِّن سيجارة، وأصرخ ما وسعني الصُّراخ، ثم أعود».

وقد ذكرنَ أنَّ آليَّات التصدِّي لصعوبة المعيشة كانت مفيدةً في العثور على عمل، وإشراك قادة المجتمع المسؤولين عن الأمن في مستوطنات من خيام غير الرسمية، واستعمال مُخفِّفات الآلام أو أدوية أخرى. وقال نحوٌ من ثلاثة أرباعهنَّ أنهنَّ طلبن المشورة في ما ينبغي فِعْلُه ووجدنَ دعم الحال الانفعاليَّة من المقرَّبين منهنَّ مفيداً. وقد وصفنَ البكاء أو تَرْك الحبل للمشاعر بأنّهما «لا طائل دونهما» ذلك أنَّ «الكَمَدَ باقٍ في النفس».

وتشير الأدلة المَرويَّة من موظَّفي منظَّمة أبعاد إلى أن وجوه الضعف قد زادت زيادةً بيّنة بين جميع سكان لبنان منذ أن جَمِعَت المعطيات في أيار/مايو 2019، إذ فقد كثير منهم دخلهم، وأبلغت النساء عن ارتفاع معدلات العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة والضائقة النفسانيَّة. وقد تفاقمت هذه الحال منذ الانفجار الذي وقع في بيروت في 4 آب/أغسطس 2020 ومنذ تفشَّت جائحة داء الحُمَة التاجية (كوڤيد 19)، فسَرُعَ الانهيار الاقتصادي في لبنان، وعزل الناجيات من العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة مع مرتكبيه، وإنشاء حواجز ماديّة بين المتضرِّرات وأنظمة دعمهنَّ. ويضاف إلى ذلك، أنه عُلِّقت كثير من الخدمات أو كُيِّفت في أثناء الجائحة، فضاقت سُبُل الناجيات.

على أنه خرج عن فِرَق المناقشات المركّزة أن عُلِمَت معاني كلمات مثل الضغط والغضب، فعُرِفَ أنها مرتبطة بسوء الصحَّة العقليَّة. وقد لا يشير هذان المصطلحان في اللغة الإنجليزية إلى نزاع الصحَّة العقليَّة، ولكن في هذا السياق تميل النساء إلى التهوين من أعراضهنَّ بسبب الوَصْم والضغط الاجتماعي على أن «تُقوِّين جأشَهنَّ» أو أن «تستجمعنَ عَزمهنَّ» أو كما يقال لهنَّ بالعاميَّة (شدِّي حالك).

التَّوصيات

ينبغي أن تسعى مقدِّمات الخدمات إلى تقديم خدمات شاملة، منخفضة الكلفة أو بلا تكلفة، في العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة وفي دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة، مع دعم الإحالات، في أمكنة آمنة، موزَّعةً بحسب مقتضى الحال (لتقليل كلفة النَّقل). وينبغي تأمين وسائل النَّقل ورعاية الأطفال ما أمكن. ويمكن أن تُزادَ مسارات الإحالة بين مقدِّمات الخدمات في العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة ودَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة، وذلك بضمان تحقيق خدمات مناسبة للسِّن. فكثيراً ما كانت الخدمات مثل دعم الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة متاحة للبالغين الشباب ومتوسطي السِّن، ولكنها لم تكن متاحة دوماً للأطفال والمراهقين وكبار السِّن.

وقد أشارتِ المشاركات في فرقة التركيز إلى الوَصْم الهائل المتعلقة بالتِماس خدمات الصحَّة العقليَّة، ونقص مقدِّمات الخدمة المؤهَّلات، وانتفاء الأمكنة الآمنة التي تحفظ فيها السريَّة في المخيمات، وقلنَ إن كل ذلك عوائق أمام الرعاية. ويجوز أن تعالج هذه المُقلقَاتِ طُرُقُ المقاربة المُبتدَعَة، مثل استعمال خدمات الهاتف المحمول ذات الحيّز المادي الآمن والحافظ للسريَّة لتقديم الخدمة.

وهناك حاجة إلى جلسات توسيع المدارك لمعالجة مسألة إلقاء اللوم على الناجيات (أي إلقاء اللوم على الناجيات من العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة في تجربتهن المُرَّة، وهو ما له سوء أثر في صحَّتهن العقليَّة ويؤدي أيضاً إلى استمرار الوَصْم) ولا يقتصر قصدها على أفراد المجتمع المحليّ ولكن تشمل أيضاً مقدِّمات الخدمات أنفسهم. وينبغي للفاعلين في ميدان العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة الاستمرار في عقد جلسات توسيع المدارك على صعيد المجتمع المحليّ في الجنسانيَّة والعنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة، إضافةً إلى الإقرار بالضائقة النفسانيَّة والاستجابة لها، وتقديم آليات داعمة في الصُّمود لصعوبة المعيشة والأحوال. وينبغي أن تشمل التَّدريباتُ الوِقايةَ من الاستغلال والانتهاك الجنسيَّيْن والاستجابة لهما، ولا سيَّما في الأزمة الاقتصادية الراهنة. وينبغي للفاعلين في ميدان العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة أن يستمرُّوا في عقد جلسات توسيع المدارك في آثار السُّوء الجسمانيَّة والنفسانيَّة والاجتماعيَّة التي يخلِّفها الزواج القسريّ والزواج المبكر. وينبغي أن تتولى الحملات المجتمعية إزالةَ الوَصْم من المحادثات الدائرة حول الصحَّة العقليَّة باستعمال مصطلحات محليَّة متَّصلة بالأمر. ذلك أنَّ المصطلحات المتداولة لوَصْف الصحَّة العقليَّة (أو اعتلال الصحَّة) بين هؤلاء السكَّان منحرفة عن المصطلحات السائدة (مثل الاكتئاب). وقد هوَّن كثير من المشاركات في فِرَق التركيز من تجاربهنَّ في الصحَّة العقليَّة باستعمالهنَّ مصطلحات ألطفَ أو مُكنَّيات (مثل ضغط بالمعنى العاميّ) لوصف أعراض أكثر حِدَّة، كالقلق الشَّديد.

ويمكن إذا ضُمِنَت إتاحة الخدمات للجميع بوضوح أن تُعِين على معالجة المعوِّقات التي تحول دون وصول أفراد المجتمع المُضِيف واللاجئات والعاملات في المنازل المهاجرات إلى الخدمات، فكثير منهنَّ سيكون لهنَّ معرفة قليلة بهذه الخدمات أو اعتقاد بأنَّ فئتهنَّ السكَّانيَّة غير مقصودة بالخدمات.

وأعمال التمكين الاقتصادي مهمةٌ لاعتراض تأثير وجوه الضعف في البيئة المحيطة. وينبغي أن تُقلِّل مثل هذه البرامج ما أمكن التقليل من خطر العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة الناتج عن المُتحدِّي الذي قد يُنشِئه دَخْل المرأة في الشؤون الجنسانيّة السائدة، وذلك بإجراء تقدير شامل للجنسانيَّة وللعنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة لإِعلامِ إعداد البرنامج ورصدها وتقويمها، مع توجيهٍ تقنيّ من الفاعلين في ميدان العنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة.

وأخيراً، من المهم الإقرار بأنَّ عند اللاجئات وجوه ضعف مُحدَّدة، وقد يَكُنَّ أكثر ارتياحاً لطلب الدعم من مقدِّمات الخدمات اللاتي يأتين من المشرب نفسه الذي أتين منه ما استُطِيعَ ذلك. ثمَّ إنَّ إشراك الأعضاء السوريات من المنظَّمات الإنسانية في توسيع المدارك أو الخدمات الأخرى، أو العمل مع مقدِّمات الخدمات السوريات غير الرسميات أو قائدات المجتمع المحليّ، لبناء الثقة مع أفراد مجتمع اللاجئين، يمكن أن يُعِين على معالجة هذه المسألة.

 

ألينا بُتْس apotts@gwu.edu  @alina_potts 

عالمَةُ بحوث، في معهد المرأة العالمي

 

راسِيل بَرَدَا rbarada@gm.slc.edu

مستشارةٌ في الحماية من الاستغلال والانتهاك الجنسيَّيْن والعنف الجنسانيّ على المرأة، في منظَّمة أبعاد بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشماليّ إفريقيا

 

أنجِلا بوراسا abourassa@gwu.edu  @ABourassaMPH

باحثةٌ مشاركةٌ، في معهد المرأة العالمي

 

[1] انظر أيضاً www.fmreview.org/detention/anani .

[2] معهد بحوث مقرّه جامعة جُرْج واشنطن https://globalwomensinstitute.gwu.edu/.

[3] سيصدر عمّا قريب مؤلَّف بالنتائج كلِّها راجعه الأقران.

[4] استُعمِلَت أَداةُ تقديرٍ من مِقياس كِسْلَر للضائقة النفسانيَّة (+K6) لقياس الضائقة النفسانيَّة.

انظر:

 Segal S P, Khoury V C, Salah R and Ghannam J (2018) ‘Contributors to Screening Positive for Mental Illness in Lebanon's Shatila Palestinian Refugee Camp’. The Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease 206(1)

(المساهمون في تحرِّي الإصابة بالمرض العقليّ في مخيَّم شاتيلاً للاجئين الفلسطينيِّين في لبنان)

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28976407

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

GBV and mental health among refugee and host community women in Lebanon

Underlying gender and power imbalances that put displaced women and girls at risk of gender-based violence (GBV) are exacerbated by vulnerabilities related to legal status, economic security, access to services, and living conditions.

ABAAD, a Lebanese organisation working on all aspects of GBV prevention and response,[1] and the US-based Global Women’s Institute (GWI)[2] conducted a survey of Lebanese, Palestinian and Syrian refugee women in Lebanon in order to understand their experiences of GBV and mental health and psychosocial support (MHPSS) provision. The survey was undertaken in May 2019 in collaboration with Lebanese GBV and MHPSS service providers and academics. It was complemented by qualitative data collected through focus group discussions with community leaders, GBV and MHPSS practitioners, and community members to further understand both their perceptions of well-being and any barriers to and factors supporting coordinated services across these two sectors.[3]

Of the 969 women interviewed, 90% reported having serious problems due to one or more environmental vulnerabilities: food insecurity (71%), physical health (62%), being separated from family (56%), and safety and security where they live (50%). Participants in focus group discussions identified lack of access to financial resources as the main cause of these vulnerabilities among both host and refugee communities. GBV is common among this population; over one-third of women indicated having been married before the age of 18 and over three-quarters of women who had or had had a partner reported having experienced intimate partner violence (IPV), about half within the previous year. Eight in 10 women who experienced IPV met the criteria for severe distress.[4] Coercive control is also an important risk factor for psychological distress. Forced or child marriage was one of the largest factors for psychological distress with immense pressure on girl brides, affecting their relationship to the spouse and their future children.

More Syrian women than Lebanese women met the criteria for severe psychological distress. This difference was explained in focus groups as stemming from pressure or worry (expressed in Arabic as daghet) resulting from financial and family stress, uncertainty about the present and future, family separation, and stigma associated with refugee status. Having a serious problem in even just one dimension of environmental vulnerability was associated with a significantly higher rate of severe psychological distress compared with those who had no serious problems. The number of vulnerabilities causing serious problems was significantly associated with increased rates of severe psychological distress.

Both Lebanese and Syrian women mentioned the mutually reinforcing nature of physical health and mental health, and how having chronic illnesses or physical ailments can prevent them from taking care of themselves, as well as how mental health can manifest as physical symptoms.

Women’s responses

More Syrian women sought services in response to violence, primarily psychosocial support or mental health services, whereas Lebanese women sought more education and vocational training. The primary barrier to seeking services was that women simply did not know services were available, followed by the belief that they did not need services to address violence. Similarly, the primary supporting factor for seeking help was to have services clearly targeted to people of their background or status, particularly for the Syrian women. This relates to how services are advertised, where they are located (for example, whether they are located in town centres or close to the settlements where refugees live), and how they are structured (for example, whether offered as standalone centres or within government-run ‘one-stop’ centres alongside a number of other service providers).

Most of the women looked for comfort in their religion to cope with violence. Prayer was the only common coping mechanism among survey and focus group participants. One woman described her experience in using spirituality to cope with daily experiences: “I go up to the edge of the valley, and I talk to God. I sit down, drink a cup of herbal tea, smoke a cigarette, scream my lungs out, and then go back.”

Coping mechanisms reported as helpful were finding employment, engaging community leaders responsible for security in the informal tented settlements, and using pain relief or other medication. About three-quarters reported seeking advice about what to do and found emotional support from people close to them helpful. Crying or letting it out were described as “of no use” because the “sorrow remains inside.”

Anecdotal evidence from ABAAD’s staff suggests that vulnerabilities have significantly increased among all residents of Lebanon since data collection in May 2019, with many losing their income, and women reporting higher rates of GBV and psychological distress. This has been further exacerbated since the explosion in Beirut on 4th August 2020 and the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, which accelerated Lebanon’s economic collapse, isolated GBV survivors with their perpetrators, and created physical barriers between affected persons and their support systems. In addition, many services have been suspended or adapted during the pandemic, leaving survivors with limited access.

The focus group discussions yielded words such as daghet, which can be loosely translated as pressure or worry, and ghadab, anger or fury, as feelings associated with poor mental health. While in English these terms may not indicate mental health struggles, in this context people tend to understate their symptoms because of stigma and social pressure to “stay strong” or “pull oneself together” (shedde halik).

Recommendations

Service providers should seek to provide holistic, low- or no-cost GBV and MHPSS services, with support for referrals, in safe locations, and co-locating them as appropriate (to reduce transport costs). Safe transportation and childcare should be provided whenever possible. Referral pathways between GBV and MHPSS providers can be further augmented by ensuring age-appropriate services. Services such as psychosocial support were often available for younger and middle-aged adults, but were not always accessible to children, adolescents and older people.

Focus group participants referred to the immense stigma related to seeking mental health services, the lack of qualified service providers, and absence of confidential safe spaces in the camps as barriers to care. Novel approaches, such as mobile services with safe, confidential physical space for service provision, may address these concerns.

Awareness sessions are needed to address victim-blaming (blaming survivors of GBV for their experience – which further negatively impacts their mental health and also perpetuates stigma) and to target not only community members but also service providers themselves. GBV actors should continue to conduct community-level awareness sessions on gender and GBV, as well as recognising and responding to psychological distress, and offer supportive coping mechanisms. Trainings should include prevention and response to sexual exploitation and abuse, especially given the current economic crisis. GBV actors should continue to conduct awareness sessions on the negative physical, psychological and social effects of forced and early marriage. Community-based campaigns should undertake to de-stigmatise conversations about mental health using locally relevant terms. The terms used to describe mental health (or ill-health) among this population deviate from the mainstream terminology (such as depression, ikti’eb). Many participants in the focus groups understated their experiences with mental health by using softer terms or euphemisms (such as daghet) to describe more severe symptoms, for example of severe anxiety.

Ensuring services are clearly accessible to all can help address barriers to host community members, refugees and migrant domestic workers’ access to services; many will have limited knowledge of such services and/or believe that they do not target their demographic.

Economic empowerment activities are important to counteract the effect of environmental vulnerabilities. Such programmes should actively minimise the risk of GBV resulting from the challenge that a woman’s income may pose to dominant gender roles by undertaking a thorough gender and GBV assessment to inform programme design, monitoring and evaluation, with technical guidance from GBV actors.

Finally, it is important to recognise that refugees have specific vulnerabilities, and may be more comfortable seeking support from service providers of a similar background when possible. Engaging Syrian members of humanitarian organisations in outreach or other services, or working with informal Syrian service providers or community leaders to build trust with refugee community members, could help address this.

 

Alina Potts apotts@gwu.edu @alina_potts 

Research Scientist, Global Women’s Institute

 

Rassil Barada rbarada@gm.slc.edu

Protection from Sexual Exploitation and Abuse and Gender-Based Violence Consultant, ABAAD-MENA

 

Angela Bourassa abourassa@gwu.edu @ABourassaMPH

Research Associate, Global Women’s Institute

 

[1] See also www.fmreview.org/detention/anani

[2] Research institute based at the George Washington University https://globalwomensinstitute.gwu.edu/

[3] Peer-reviewed publication of full results forthcoming.

[4] The K6+ assessment tool was used to measure psychological distress. See Segal S P, Khoury V C, Salah R and Ghannam J (2018) ‘Contributors to Screening Positive for Mental Illness in Lebanon's Shatila Palestinian Refugee Camp’, The Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease 206(1) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28976407

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700