دور المدافِعات عن حقوق الإنسان في كولومبيا

تتعرض النساء إلى اعتداءات متزايدة في كولومبيا نظراً لجهودهن في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان وإنهاء النزاع والتهجير في بلادهن.

قليلاً ما يُدرَك العنف الممارس ضد المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان بصورته الحقيقية، فهذا العنف في الواقع ما هو إلا جزء من الإستراتيجية المتعمدة والمدروسة لإجبارهن على التخلي عن مساعيهن لتغيير المجتمع وإنقاذ الأرواح والحصول على العدالة. وتظهر التقارير الصادرة مؤخراً أن هناك تزايداً خطيراً في الاعتداءات الواقعة على حركة الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان في كولومبيا، خاصة ضد المدافِعات عن حقوق الإنسان[1]. وتستهدف هذه الاعتداءات إسكات المدافعات ومن هنا يكون لتلك الاعتداءات عميق الأثر في تواصل النزاع وإطالة التهجير، مع التسليم بأن الحركة النسائية قد أصبحت فاعلاً رئيسياً في إعادة ترسيخ حقوق السكان المهجّرين في كولومبيا، بما في ذلك الحق في استعادة أراضيهم.

وخلال عملهن، تعرضت المدافِعات للعنف الجنسي أو الاعتداءات أو التهديدات بالاعتداء عليهن وعلى أطفالهن وأسرهن ومجتمعاتهن لمحلية. كما تتشاطر تلك المدافِعات  التفكك عن أسرهن والنقد الصريح والوصم الاجتماعي لهن بالعار لأنهن استبدلن بأدوارهن كأمهات دور حماة حقوق الإنسان الأشمل.

لكن على الرغم من ذلك، فالنساء في كولومبيا هن من يقدن المطالبة بالحق والعدالة والتعويض لضحايا النزاع المسلح، بما في ذلك استرداد أراضيهم. وقد ساهم النزاع المسلح الداخلي في تهجير أكثر من 5.2 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء البلاد، منهم 80% من النساء والأطفال، مما أدى بهؤلاء السكان إلى الدخول في أزمة عميقة لحقوق الإنسان. لذلك، وبالنظر إلى إخفاقات الدولة فيما يتعلق بالاستجابة الفاعلة للأزمة، تتحد النساء اللاتي عانين من النزوح القسري في كولومبيا، وبدعم من المنظمات النسائية المكرّسة أنشطتها للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان، وتناضلن بقوة للمطالبة بإعادة تأسيس فاعل لحقوق النازحين واستعادة أراضيهم مع تقديم الضمانات الكافية.

وصاحب هذه القوة المتنامية ارتفاع خطر الاعتداءات على حياتهن وسلاماتهن الجسدية وأمنهن وحريتهن من قِبل الجماعات المسلحة والجماعات شبه المسلحة بصفة خاصة، تلك الجماعات التي لا ترغب في أن تطالب النساء الدولة بإعادة تأسيس الحقوق والسعي وراء الحق والعدل واستعادة أراضي الضحايا. ولدور هاتين النسوة أهميته المطلقة في هذه العملية، ولهذا السبب بالذات يُعتدى عليهن.

ومن اللازم مراعاة أن عمليات السلام التي تدعمها الحكومة قد تؤدي إلى زيادة في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في البلاد، ذلك لأن الجماعات المسلحة التي تخالف القانون وتنتهك حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالسكان المدنيين بشكل واسع ومنهجي سترغب في إضعاف عزيمة الضحايا في الحصول على التزامات التعويض في عملية السلام، خاصة في مجتمعات مثل كولومبيا حيث يكون للمجتمع المدني القدرة على التأثير على نتائج المفاوضات السياسية وحيث، كما في هذه الحالة، يتسبب النزاع والتهجير في نشوء بيئة خصبة لتمكين المرأو أو بيئة ترغمها على التمكين. ومن أجل منع التهجير بفاعلية، يجب أن تكون نتائج السلام مستدامة، مع الاستجابة ليس للمطالب العسكرية فحسب ولكن أيضاً لتطلعات من عانوا من العنف والتهجير. ومن أجل القيام بذلك، لا بد من حماية وتعزيز قدرات ونفوذ المجتمع المدني التفاوضية، بما فيها الجماعات النسائية ومؤسسات النازحين داخلياً.

في عام 2004، نظرت المحكمة الدستورية في كولومبيا مسألة الأثر الخاص للحرب والنزوح القسري على النساء، واستنتجت أن العنف المرتكب كجزء من النزاع المدني داخل كولومبيا كان له أثر متمايز وأكثر حدة على النساء بسبب الجندر وأنه نتيجة لقتل الرجال في النزاع، كان تغيير الأدوار الأسرية أمراً محتوماً. كما أن النساء اللاتي عانى كثير منهن من العنف، بما فيه  العنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على الجندر وجدن أنفسهن مضطرات لتولي أدوار جديدة أسرية واقتصادية واجتماعية. وكجزء من ذلك، ازداد عدد النساء ممن تولين أدوار القيادة في منظمات النازحين داخلياً وحركات حقوق الإنسان للمطالبة بالحق والعدل والتعويض لضحايا النزاع.

وتسمح عملية دعم المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان لهن بفهم أن الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان هو حق في حد ذاته تحميه الصكوك الدولية الملزمة لكولومبيا وأنه يتعين على الدولة توفير الضمانات اللازمة لممارسة الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان الذي يتضمن المفاوضات العاجلة والفاعلة والإجراءات المؤثرة في إزالة العوامل المسلحة للنزاع. لكن المخاطر التي يواجهها المدافعون في الوقت الحالي تستمر في الزيادة، ولا توجد أي تطورات في التحقيقات الشرطيّة والقانونية، وما زالت الأفعال شبه العسكرية مستمرة بحيث يستمر معها اضطهاد المدافِعات عن حقوق الإنسان.

ولن تقتصر مساهمة الحماية الفاعلة والمناسبة للمدافِعات عن حقوق الإنسان في دعم حركة المدافعات فحسب وإنما أيضاً في تعزيز الديموقراطية ودعم الدولة القائمة على حكم القانون. كما أنها ستؤدي إلى المضي قدماً في عمليات السلام والمصالحة بالصورة التي تصبح تلك الحماية مستدامة معها. ومن خلال إعادة تأسيس حقوق الإنسان والحق والعدل والتعويض، ستساهم الحماية في منع النزاع والتهجير المصاحب له.

خوانيتا كانداميل  juanita.candamil@gmail.com مستشارة لمنظمة Corporación Sisma Mujer، في حين تعمل كلوديا ماريا ميخيا دوكي direccion@sismamujer.org مديرة لمنظمة Corporaciión Sisma Mujer، www.sismamujer.org.



[1] منظمة Corporación Sisma Mujer، "المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان والنضال من أجل العدالة في كولومبيا" Las defensoras de DDHH y su lucha por la Justicia en Colombia’، مجلة Revista Resistencia ، سبتمبر/أيلول2011.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The role of women defenders of human rights in Colombia

Women in Colombia are increasingly being attacked because of their efforts to defend human rights and to bring an end to the conflict and displacement in their country.

Violence against women defenders of human rights is rarely recognised for what it really is: part of a deliberate, calculated strategy to force them to desist from their attempts to change society, save lives and receive justice. Recent reports show there has been a serious increase in the incidence of aggression against the movement for the defence of human rights in Colombia and, in particular, against women defenders of human rights.[1] These attacks are aimed at silencing women defenders and as such they have a profound impact on perpetuation of the conflict – and prolonged displacement, given that the women’s movement has become a key player in effective reestablishment of the rights of the displaced population in Colombia, including the right to restitution of their lands.

In their work, women defenders have experienced sexual violence, attacks or threats of attacks on themselves and also on their children, families and communities. These women also commonly experience the disintegration of their family unit, open reproaches and social stigmatisation for the substitution of their role as mother with that of protector of wider human rights.

However, and in spite of this, in Colombia it is often women who take the lead in demanding truth, justice and reparations for victims of the armed conflict, including the restitution of their lands. The internal armed conflict has forcibly displaced more than 5.2 million people throughout the country, 80% of them women and children, submitting this population to a profound human rights crisis. Therefore, given the failings of the state in terms of an effective response to the crisis, the women who have suffered forced displacement in Colombia have – with the support of women’s organisations dedicated to the defence of their human rights – united and fought strongly to demand the effective reestablishment of their rights and the restitution of their lands, fully backed by the necessary guarantees.

This growing strength has been matched by a correlating increase in the risk of attempts on their lives, integrity, security and freedom by armed groups and the paramilitary groups in particular – groups who do not wish the women to make demands of the state for the reestablishment of their rights, the pursuit of truth and justice, and the restitution of their lands. The role of these women leaders is absolutely essential to this process – which is why they are being attacked.

It is worth bearing in mind that peace processes promoted by the government could well generate an upsurge of human rights violations in the country. The armed groups who operate beyond the law and who have broadly and systematically violated the human rights of the civilian population will want to weaken the hand of the victims in obtaining commitments for reparations in the peace process, particularly in societies such as Colombia where civil society has the capacity to influence outcomes in political negotiations and where, as here, conflict and displacement have created an environment conducive to or forcing women’s empowerment. To effectively prevent displacement, peace outcomes must be sustainable, responding not only to military demands but to the aspirations of those who have suffered violence and displacement. And to do this the negotiating capacity and power of civil society, including women groups and IDP associations, need to be protected and strengthened.

In 2004, Colombia’s Constitutional Court examined the particular impact of war and forced displacement on women, and concluded that the violence committed as part of the civil conflict within Colombia had a differential and more acute impact on women due to their gender. With the number of men killed in conflict, family roles have had to change, and women – many of whom have also suffered violence, including sexual and gender-based violence – have had to assume new domestic, economic and social roles. As part of this, more women have assumed leadership in IDP organisations and in human rights movements, demanding truth, justice and reparation for the victims of conflict.

The process of strengthening women defenders of human rights allows them to understand that the defence of human rights is a right in itself, protected by international instruments that are binding for Colombia; and that the state must ensure the necessary guarantees for exercising the defence of human rights – which implies both prompt and effective investigations, and effective actions in dismantling the armed agents of conflict. Currently, however, the risk to defenders continues to increase, no advances are being made in police and legal investigations, and paramilitary action persists in such a way that women defenders of human rights continue to be persecuted.

Effective and appropriate protection for women defenders of human rights would contribute not only to strengthening the movement of women defenders but also to strengthening democracy, and to a state based on the rule of law. It would contribute to advancing the processes of peace and reconciliation in such a way that they become sustainable; and by re-establishing human rights and truth, justice and reparation, it would contribute to preventing conflict and the displacement that accompanies it.

 

Juanita Candamil is a consultant to Corporación Sisma Mujer. Claudia María Mejía Duque is director of Corporación Sisma Mujer.

 

[1]Corporación Sisma Mujer, ‘Las defensoras de DDHH y su lucha por la Justicia en Colombia’, Revista Resistencia, September 2011 

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview