"مجموعة الأدوات" تحت تصرُّف الدول لمنع النزوح: وجهة نظر سويسرية

يصعب على دول الطرف الثالث إدانة أو مواجهة الأفعال الضارة التي يلوح نذرها ولم تحدث بعد. إلا أن هناك عدداً كبيراً من الإجراءات والمنهجيات الموجودة تحت تصرُّفها والتي تساعدها في المساهمة في منع النزوح القسري.

بما أنَّ النزوح الداخلي يحدث ضمن حدود الدولة، يكون منع النزوح وحماية الأشخاص النازحين داخلياً الواجب الأول والأساسي للدولة المعنيّة. لكن بعض الدول الأخرى التي لا تواجه النزوح على أراضيها، مثل سويسرا، تتحمل التزاماً أخلاقياً وقانونياً للمساهمة في ضمان احترام اتفاقيات حقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني التي صادقت عليها. وتلك قضية حساسة ومسيّسة بدرجة كبيرة، ذلك أن حماية النازحين داخلياً بالأساس مسؤولية وطنية ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بسيادة الدول المعنيّة التي قد ترى أن إجراءات الدول الأخرى بخصوص النزوح الداخلي تدخلاً لا داعي له.

ويزداد إلحاح هذا التحدي في حالة منع النزوح الداخلي. وعند اختيار الصكوك المناسبة، فمن النافع لدول الطرف الثالث التمييز بين نوعين من التدخلات: تلك الهادفة إلى منع النزوح القسري لأول مرة وتلك المتعاملة مع منع تكرار النزوح الداخلي. لكن في كلتا الحالتين، هناك ضرورة في معالجة المقومات الأساسية مثل قضايا العدالة والأمن والتنمية وفيما يلي مجموعة من "الأدوات" التي تستخدمها سويسرا للمساهمة في منع نَوعَي النزوح المذكورين.

الترويج للصكوك الحالية والتعامل مع الثغرات القانونية

تعد الصكوك الحالية مثل المبادئ التوجيهية حول النزوح الداخلي وبروتوكول البحيرات العظمى واتفاقية كامبالا صكوكاً أساسية لمنع النزوح الداخلي. إلا أنَّ الفائدة منها لن تتحقق إلا بقدر الاعتراف بها وتطبيقها، على سبيل المثال، من خلال ترجمتها إلى قانون وطني. ويمكن أن يكون لدعم الدول في هذا السياق قيمة كبيرة تتخذ في الغالب مظهرين: أولاً: قد تساهم الدول بشكل غير مباشر في الترويج لهذه الصكوك ونشرها من خلال دعم تفويض المقرر الخاص المعنيّ بحقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالنازحين داخلياً. وقد يكون هذا الدعم مادياً أو من خلال كسب التأييد حول تهديدات النزوح. وفي الحالة الثانية، تقدم المحادثات التفاعلية مع المقرر الخاص في إطار عمل الجمعية العمومية للأمم المتحدة في نيويورك أو مجلس حقوق الإنسان في جنيف منبراً مفيداً لتحديد تهديدات النزوح الوشيك.

ثانياً، بإمكان الدول الاستجابة مباشرة في بعض القضايا المحددة. ففي عام 2011، على سبيل المثال، بدأت سويسرا مشروعاً في نيجيريا بالتعاون مع مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي للمساهمة في المصادقة على معاهدة كامبالا وتنفيذها. وتمخض المشروع عن برنامج لتنسيق الفاعلين في المجتمع المدني العاملين على قضايا النزوح. وفي الوقت الحالي، وتحديداً مع قرب انتهاء عام 2012، تتحقق المرحلة الثالثة من المشروع المنفّذ "لتدريب المدربين" حول قضايا النزوح الداخلي، خاصة معاهدة كامبالا.

ويمكن للدول أيضاً التعامل مع الثغرات القانونية المتعلقة بمنع النزوح وتنفيذ الحماية. وحالياً، تعمل سويسرا مع النرويج وغيرها من الدول المهتمَّة على وضع التدابير الخاصة بمنع النزوح عبر الحدود في سياق الكوارث الطبيعية والاستجابة لها. ونتج عن ذلك إطلاق "مبادرة نانسن" في جنيف في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول من عام 2012 التي تتعامل بشكل خاص مع فئة الأشخاص غير المشمولين باتفاقية اللاجئين وبالمبادئ التوجيهية حول النزوح الداخلي، وبذلك يُتركون دونما حماية. وحتى مع انطباق قانون حقوق الإنسان على هذه الحالات الخاصة، مثل الدخول والإقامة المؤقتة أو الدائمة، لا يتم تغطية الحقوق الأساسية[1].

الترويج للامتثال للقانون الدولي في النزاعات المسلحة

ن أجل منع النزوح المتعلق بالنزاعات، تتمثل الأداة الأساسية المتاحة لتصرُّف دول الطرف الثالث في الترويج للامتثال للقانون الدولي. وحتى عند السماح بالنزوح القسري تحت ظروف محددة (مثل حماية الأشخاص من تهديدات العمليات العسكرية) بموجب القانون الدولي، فإنه يحدث في الغالب بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر نتيجة لانتهاكات القانون الدولي. ويعد ضمان معرفة جميع أطراف النزاع بمن فيهم المدنيون المهددون بالنزوح بحقوقهم وواجباتهم التي كفلها لهم القانون الدولي أداة فاعلة لمنع بل الحد من النزوح، على أقل تقدير. لذلك، تعمل الحكومة السويسرية دائماً على مناصرة تحسين تنفيذ القانون الدولي، كما هو محدد في إستراتيجيتها الخاصة بحماية المدنيين في النزاعات المسلحة[2].

وكوسيلة لمساءلة منتهكي القانون الدولي في مواقف النزاعات المسلحة والاضطرابات الداخلية، وبذلك لمنع الانتهاكات المستقبلية للقانون الدولي، اكتسبت آليات الرصد والإبلاغ وتقصي الحقائق أهمية كبرى خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية. لكنَّ الفاعلين المشاركين في آليات المراقبة والإبلاغ وتقصي الحقائق كانوا يعانون من قلة البحث والتوجيه حول هذا الموضوع. لذلك، تدعم سويسرا حالياً مشروع الأبحاث والسياسات على مدار العديد من السنوات ويديره برنامج أبحاث السياسات الإنسانية والنزاعات الذي يستهدف تنمية إجراءات بناء القدرات وفرص التدريب والتوجيهات العملية للممارسين المشاركين في آليات الرصد والإبلاغ وتقصي الحقائق.

إجراء المباحثات مع الجماعات المسلحة لتحسين حماية المدنيين

وتتألف مجموعة أخرى من التدابير من تضمين الجماعات المسلحة، التي تشكّل في الغالب جزءاً من المشكلة المتسببة في النزوح، ولذلك يلزم تضمينها من أجل إيجاد الحلول. وبالإضافة إلى الحوار المباشر مع بعض من هذه الجماعات، غالباً في سياق وساطة السلام، تدعم سويسرا عدداً من مشروعات السياسات الهادفة إلى زيادة إعداد المشاركين في المباحثات الإنسانية مع الجماعات المسلحة. ويتضمن ذلك مشروع "قواعد المشاركة" الذي تنفّذه أكاديمية جنيف للقانون الإنساني الدولي وحقوق الإنسان التي تستكشف المشاركة مع هذه الجماعات حول الامتثال للمعايير الدولية. وكذلك، فوّضت سويسرا مؤخراً إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية، وهي منظمة "نداء جنيف" "Geneva Call"، للتحقيق بالتفصيل في دور الجماعات المسلحة خلال المراحل المختلفة من النزوح، إلى جانب دورها المحتمل في منع النزوح. ويُتوقع أن تصدر النتائج في أوائل أو منتصف عام 2013.

دعم المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية والحكومات

تعد الحكومات الأخرى المحتاجة للمساعدة الفنية حول الجوانب الخاصة بالنزوح القسري، شركاء مهمين. ففي كولومبيا، على سبيل المثال، تساعد سويسرا وزارة الزراعة في تطبيق "أسلوب تفادي الضرر والإضرار" في تنفيذ قانون تعويض الضحايا واسترداد الأراضي الذي تم تفعيله في 2011[3]. ويهدف هذا القانون إلى المساعدة في إعادة النازحين داخلياً وإيجاد الظروف التي تساهم في تفادي المزيد من النزوح في المستقبل. ومن خلال استخدام هذا الأسلوب، فإنه يمكن تحديد الآثار غير المقصودة الناجمة عن تنفيذ القانون والتي قد تثير مزيداً من النزوح وتفاديها. ويمكن إكمال هذا التعاون بالدعم المخصص للمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية. لذلك، دعمت سويسرا أيضاً جمعية الصليب الأحمر الوطنية في كولومبيا لاتخاذ التدابير اللازمة لتعزيز الاستعدادية في حالة الكوارث الطبيعية، وبذلك تساهم في منع النزوح القسري في هذه الظروف.

أسلوب "التعامل مع الماضي" لمنع تكرار النزوح

هناك منهجية أخرى لمنع تكرار النزوح القسري بشكل خاص، هي "أسلوب التعامل مع الماضي". ففي حالة التكرار المحتمل للنزوح القسري، فإنه يجب على إستراتيجيات المنع المحلية أن تمتنع عن معاملة النازحين داخلياً على نحوٍ منفصل، بل أن تعمل على تضمين الجهود الخاصة لمنع المزيد من النزوح القسري في أسلوب أكثر عمومية والذي ينطبق أيضاً على كافة ضحايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الماضي. ولهذا الأسلوب، الذي يجمع بين حقوق الضحايا والمجتمعات وواجبات الدول في مجال الحق والعدالة والتعويض وضمان عدم حدوث الانتهاكات، أهميته بالنسبة للدول الراغبة في وضع إستراتيجية وطنية للتعامل مع انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الماضي. وقد شكلت سويسرا فريق عمل "التعامل مع الأعمال الوحشية الماضية ومنعها" ومن خلال هذا الفريق تقدم سويسرا الإرشادات للدول الأخرى حو كيفية دمج مظاهر التعامل مع الماضي في سياساتها وإستراتيجياتها. وقد ساهمت أيضاً في الدراسات الخاصة بالعلاقة بين النزوح الداخلي والعدالة الانتقالية. وسيسعى فريق العمل إلى دعم العلاقات والتعاون بين تفويض المقرر الخاص المعنيّ بحقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالنازحين داخلياً وتفويض المقرر الخاص المعنيّ بالحق والعدالة والتعويضات وضمانات عدم تكرار الانتهاكات.

الخاتمة

إن التعامل مع النزوح القسري ومنعه على وجه الخصوص قضية حساسة بالنسبة للدول، ذلك أن المسؤولية الرئيسية لمنع النزوح وحماية النازحين داخلياً تقع على عاتق الدولة المعنيّة. ومع ذلك، هناك مجموعة من الأدوات والمنهجيات المتاحة تحت تصرُّف دول الطرف الثالث، مما يسمح لها بالتعامل مع هذه القضية الجدلية دون المساس بسيادة الدول الأخرى. وتزودها هذه الأدوات بفرص العمل على دعم إجراءات الحماية الحالية التي تستهدف منع النزوح، علاوة على وضع تدابير الحماية الجديدة على المستويات الوطنية والإقليمية والدولية. ويمكن  بل يجب من أجل هذا الغرض بناء الشراكات مع مختلف الفاعلين، مثل الدول النظيرة أو المقرر الخاص المعنيّ بشؤون النازحين داخلياً أو المنظمات الدولية. وبذلك، تكون الدول هي الفاعل الأساسي لمنع النزوح على أراضيها وعلى الساحة الدولية على حد سواء.

إيزابيل غوميز ترودسون isabelle.gomeztruedsson@eda.admin.ch دبلوماسية تعمل في قسم الأمن الإنساني بوزارة الخارجية الفيدرالية بسويسرا.



[1] انظر "من مبادئ نانسن إلى مبادرة نانسن"، (From the Nansen Principles to the Nansen Initiative’) .

[2] في عام 2009، وضعت الحكومة السويسرية هذه الإستراتيجية لدعم التزامها بالاستجابة بشكل أكثر فعالية للتحديات المرتبطة بحماية المدنيين في النزاعات المسلحة ولتعزيز فعالية جهودها متعددة الجوانب وثنائية الجانب لتقوية موقفها الدولي في هذه القضية. وحالياً، تجري مراجعة الإستراتيجية.

[3] ينظّم هذا القانون استرداد ضحايا النزاعات الأراضي والاعتراف الصريح بوجود النزاع المسلح في كولومبيا ويسعى إلى التعامل مع المشكلات الناتجة عن انتزاع ملكية الأراضي التي يواجهها النازحون خلال العقود الأخيرة. وقد شهد العديد من المستفيدين المحتملين كثيراً من التهديدات، وبذلك مُنعوا من المطالبة بحقوقهم. وقد وُضع أسلوب تفادي الضرر والإضرار من قِبل الوكالة السويسرية للتنمية والتعاون منذ عام 2004.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The ‘tool box’ at states’ disposal to prevent displacement: a Swiss perspective

A harmful action that is looming and has not yet taken place is difficult for third-party states to denounce or counter. Nevertheless, a whole range of measures and methodologies is at their disposal enabling them to contribute to the prevention of forced displacement.

Since internal displacement takes place within the boundaries of a state, its prevention and the protection of internally displaced persons (IDPs) are first and foremost a duty of the concerned state. However, other states not confronted with displacement on their own territory, such as Switzerland, have a moral and legal obligation to contribute to ensuring respect for human rights and humanitarian law conventions they ratified. This is a sensitive and often highly politicised issue as the protection of IDPs is essentially a national responsibility; it is closely linked to the sovereignty of the concerned states, which may consider other states’ actions on forced displacement to be undue interference.

This challenge is even more pressing in the case of the prevention of forced displacement. In choosing the appropriate instruments, it is useful for third-party states to distinguish between two types of interventions: those aiming at preventing first-time forced displacement and those addressing the prevention of the repetition of forced displacement. In both cases, however, key elements such as justice, security and development issues need to be addressed. The following are a selection of ‘tools’ used by Switzerland to contribute to the prevention of both types of displacement.

Promoting existing instruments and addressing legal gaps

Existing instruments such as the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement, the Great Lakes Protocol and the Kampala Convention are key instruments for the prevention of forced displacement. However, they are only useful in so far as they are widely recognised and applied, for example through translation into national law. The support of states can in this context be of great value and usually takes two forms: firstly, states can indirectly contribute to the promotion and dissemination of these instruments by supporting the mandate of the Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of IDPs. This support can be either financial or through advocacy around threats of displacement. If the latter, the interactive dialogues with the Special Rapporteur in the framework of the General Assembly of the UN in New York or the Human Rights Council in Geneva are valuable settings to point out impending threats of displacement.

Secondly, states can respond directly in specific cases. In 2011, for example, Switzerland started a project in Nigeria in collaboration with the Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre to contribute to the ratification and implementation of the Kampala Convention. As a result of the project a coordination platform for civil society actors working on displacement issues was created. Currently, in late 2012, the third phase of the project implementing a ‘training of trainers’ on IDP issues and more specifically on the Kampala Convention is being carried out.

States might also address legal gaps regarding the prevention of displacement and the implementation of protection. Switzerland is currently working with Norway and other interested states on the compilation of measures regarding the prevention of and the response to cross-border displacement in the context of natural disasters. This resulted in the launch in October 2012 in Geneva of the ‘Nansen Initiative’, which specifically addresses the category of persons who are covered neither by the Refugee Convention nor the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement and thus left without protection. Even though human rights law applies to these specific cases, critical issues such as admission, temporary or permanent stay and basic rights are not covered.[1]

Promoting compliance with international law in armed conflicts

For the prevention of conflict-related displacement, the main tool at the disposal of third-party states is the promotion of compliance with international law. Even though forced displacement can under very specific conditions (such as to protect people from the threat of military operations) be allowable in international law, it usually results directly or indirectly from violations of international law. Ensuring that all parties to a conflict, as well as the civilians threatened with displacement, are aware of their rights and duties guaranteed by international law is therefore an effective tool to prevent or at least limit displacement. The Swiss government thus actively advocates for better implementation of international law, as specified in its Strategy on the Protection of Civilians in Armed Conflict.[2]

As a means to hold violators of international law in situations of armed conflict and internal disturbances to account and thereby prevent future violations of international law, monitoring, reporting and fact-finding mechanisms (MRF) have gained in importance in recent years. However, actors engaged in MRF suffer from a paucity of research and guidance on the topic. Switzerland is therefore currently supporting a multi-annual research and policy project led by the Program on Humanitarian Policy and Conflict Research which is geared towards developing capacity-building measures, training opportunities and practical guidance for practitioners engaged in MRF.

Dialogue with armed groups to better protect civilians

Another line of action consists of involving armed groups, which are often part of the problem causing internal displacement and have therefore to be included in seeking solutions. In addition to direct dialogue with some of these groups – mostly in the context of peace mediation – Switzerland supports a number of policy projects aiming at better equipping those engaged in humanitarian dialogue with armed groups. One of these is the project ‘Rules of Engagement’ carried out by the Geneva Academy for International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights which explores engagement with these groups on compliance with international norms. Switzerland also recently mandated the NGO Geneva Call to investigate in detail the role of armed groups during the different stages of displacement as well their role as potential preventers of displacement. The results are expected in early-to-mid 2013.

Support to local and international NGOs and to governments

Other governments requiring technical assistance with regard to specific aspects of forced displacement are also important partners. In Colombia, for instance, Switzerland is assisting the Ministry for Agriculture with applying a ‘Do-No-Harm Approach’ to the implementation of the Victims and Land Restitution Law which came into force in 2011.[3] This law aims at rendering the return of IDPs possible and creating conditions which contribute to avoiding further displacement in the future. By using this Approach, unintended effects resulting from the law’s implementation which might provoke even further displacement can be identified and avoided. Such cooperation can be complemented with support to specialised local and international NGOs. Thus Switzerland is also supporting the national Red Cross Society in Colombia to develop measures to enhance preparedness in case of natural disasters, thereby contributing to the prevention of forced displacement in these circumstances.

Dealing-With-the-Past Approach to preventing repetition of displacement

Another methodology to specifically prevent the repetition of forced displacement is the ‘Dealing-With-the-Past Approach’. In case of a potential recurrence of forced displacement, national prevention strategies should abstain from treating IDPs separately but rather include the specific effort to prevent further forced displacement in a more general approach applicable to all victims of past human rights abuses. The Dealing-With-the-Past Approach, which brings together the rights of victims and societies and the duties of states in the field of truth, justice, reparation and guarantee of non-recurrence, is useful for states wishing to develop a national strategy to deal with past human rights abuses. Through its Task Force Dealing with the Past and Prevention of Atrocities Switzerland advises states on how to integrate the aspects of dealing with the past into their policies and strategies. It has also contributed to specific studies on the link between internal displacement and transitional justice. The Task Force will furthermore seek to strengthen the linkages and collaborations between the mandates of the Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of IDPs and the Special Rapporteur on Truth, Justice, Reparations and Guarantees of Non-Recurrence.

Conclusion

Addressing forced displacement, in particular its prevention, is a delicate issue for states since the main responsibility to prevent and protect lies with the concerned state. However, a range of tools and methodologies is at the disposal of third-party states, allowing them to address this potentially highly controversial issue without infringing other states’ sovereignty. These tools provide them with the opportunity to act in support of existing protection measures targeting the prevention of displacement as well as to further the development of new protection measures at national, regional and international levels. Partnerships with a variety of actors such as fellow states, the Special Rapporteur on IDPs, international organisations or local NGOs can and should be further developed for this aim. States are thus key actors to help prevent displacement – on their own territory as well as in the international arena.

 

Isabelle Gómez Truedsson is a diplomat working for the Human Security Division of the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.

 

[2] In 2009 Switzerland developed this strategy to reinforce its commitment to respond more effectively to the challenges associated with the protection of civilians in armed conflict, to enhance the effectiveness of its multilateral and bilateral efforts and to consolidate its international stance on the issue. The strategy is currently being revised.

[3] This law regulates land restitution to victims of conflict and explicitly recognises the existence of an armed conflict in Colombia. It seeks to address the problems caused by the land dispossession which the displaced population has faced during recent decades. Numerous potential beneficiaries have been threatened and thus prevented from claiming their rights. The Do-No-Harm Approach has been developed by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation since 2004.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview