طوعية للبقاء

"اختيار" البقاء بدلاً من الفرار غالباً ما لا يكون من الناحية الفعلية أمراً طوعياً.

في سياق منع المزيد من النزوح أو إعادة النزوح (خاصة منع اللاجئين العائدين من أن يكونوا لاجئين مرة أخرى)، تتضح أهمية عاملَين اثنين بشكل خاص: أنشطة الإعادة اللاحقة في دول وجهة العودة لضمان استدامة العودة الطوعية، والظروف الحياتية في دول العودة تلك. وعملياً، يصبح ذلك في الغالب سؤالاً حول ما إذا كان للعائدين حرية اختيار البقاء أو "الاضطرار" إلى فعل ذلك في غياب أي بدائل مناسبة.

وستبقى التطوعيّة محددة بعوامل ضغط مثل الأمن والوضع الاقتصادي والاجتماعي في الدولة الأصل التي يعودون إليها وعوامل الجذب مثل توافر الحلول المستدامة الأخرى واحترام حقوق اللاجئين في الدول الأخرى التي قد يسعون إلى اللجوء فيها.

وفي أفغانستان، تبيّن بيانات صدرت حديثاً[1] أنَّ حوالي 20% فقط من العائدين لديهم عمل منتظم و23% فقط منهم لديه المأوى المناسب وأقل من 20% منهم يحصل بشكل كامل على مياه الشرب النظيفة. كما يحصل نصف السكان العائدين فقط وبصورة جزئية على الخدمات الصحية الأساسية في حين يداوم نصف الأطفال العائدين على مدارسهم. وتساهم عوامل الضغط هذه، بالإضافة إلى تردي الأوضاع الأمنية العامة في أفغانستان في تقويض استدامة عودتهم. ويجب أن يؤدي الحصول الأفضل على هذه المرافق والخدمات إلى منع إعادة نزوحهم. وقد صارت أكثر الدول المحتملة للجوء هؤلاء، أي إيران وباكستان، أقل ترحاباً بهم عما كانتا عليه في السابق.

ويواجه العائدون إلى بوروندي انعداماً في الأمن الداخلي ونقصاً في الحصول على الفرص الاقتصادية الاجتماعية (مقارنة بالسكان غير النازحين)، إلا أن أكثر الدول للجوئهم، وهي تنزانيا، ليست احتمالاً مُرحّباً به. وقد أصرت الحكومة هناك على إعادة اللاجئين كالحل المستدام المفضّل في تسعينيات القرن الماضي. وبحلول عام 1997، نظرت تنزانيا للاجئين البورونديين على أنهم تهديد أمني واتخذت ضدهم توجهاً صارماً، مقيدة تحركاتهم ومحددة وصولهم إلى الأنشطة الاقتصادية، موضحة للبورونديين أنهم غير مرحب بهم.

وبالنسبة للأفغان والبورونديين، فلم يكن هناك أي عوامل جذب من الدول المضيفة المحتملة، لكن تظهر الكثير من عوامل الضغط في بلادهم الأصلية. وإذا كانت لديهم حرية الاختيار، فإنهم لن يبقوا في الدول الأصلية. وكما هو الحال، فإنهم "مضطرون" بشكل غير تطوعي للبقاء ضمن حدود أراضيهم.

أرزو غولير aguler@bilkent.edu.tr مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في جامعة بيلكنت بتركيا www.ir.bilkent.edu.tr.



[1] من المسوحات الشاملة لثلث السكان العائدين المتلقين للمساعدة.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Voluntariness to remaın

The ‘choice’ to remain rather than flee is often in effect not really voluntary.

In the context of prevention of further displacement or re-displacement (specifically, preventing returnee refugees becoming refugees again), two elements are particularly important: post-repatriation activities in the return destination countries to ensure the durability of the voluntary repatriation, and the living conditions in these return countries. In practice this often becomes a question of whether the returnees have the freedom of choice to remain or are ‘forced’ to do so in the absence of any viable alternative.

The voluntariness to remain will be determined by push factors such as security and socio-economic situation in the country of origin to which they have returned, and pull factors such as the availability of other durable solutions and respect of refugee rights in other countries in which they might consider seeking refuge.

In Afghanistan, recent data[1] shows that only around 20% of returnees have regular employment, only 23% of them have adequate shelter and less than 20% of them have full access to clean drinking water. Half of the returnee population have only partial access to basic health services and only half of the returnee children have full access to school. These push factors – added to the general poor security in Afghanistan – undermine the sustainability of their return. Better access to these facilities and services would be conducive to preventing their re-displacement. And both of the most likely potential countries of asylum, Iran and Pakistan, are far less welcoming than they were in the past.

Those returning to Burundi face a lack of internal security and reduced access (in comparison with the undisplaced population) to socio-economic opportunities but their most obvious country of asylum, Tanzania, is not a welcoming prospect. The government there had insisted on repatriation for the refugees as the preferred durable solution in the 1990s, and by 1997 Tanzania considered Burundian refugees as a security threat and has taken a tough approach towards refugees, restricting their movements and limiting their access to economic activity, making it clear to Burundians that they are not welcome.

For both Afghans and Burundians there were no pull factors from potential host countries, yet plenty of push factors within their country of origin. If they could have had freedom of choice, they would probably not have remained in their countries of origin. As it is, they are ‘forced’ involuntarily to remain within the borders of their own land.

 

Arzu Guler is a PhD candidate at Bilkent University, Turkey.

 

[1] From surveys covering one third of the assisted returnee population

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview