مساع لمنع النزوح في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة

لقد أصبح المنع استراتيجية يتزايد تبنيها من قِبل المجتمع الإنساني في التعامل مع النزوح القسري في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة إلى جانب الاستجابة لاحتياجات حالات الطوارئ الفورية للأسر النازحة أو المواجهة لخطر النزوح.

 

في حين تكتسب استراتيجيات منع النزوح القسري قيمةً في المجتمع الإنساني عند التعامل مع حلول النزوح، تستمر الأفعال والسياسات الإسرائيلية في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة في التسبُّب في نزوح الفلسطينيين قسرياً، سواء أكان ذلك بشكل مباشر أم غير مباشر. وتُطبق تلك السياسات من أجل الاستحواذ على الأراضي وإعادة رسم الحدود الديموغرافية وتجريد الفلسطينيين من الممتلكات. وقد أدان خبراء الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير الحكومية على حد سواء الممارسات الإسرائيلية المتكررة التي نجم عنها النزوح القسري، بشكل مباشر وغير مباشر، في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة.

وعلى الرغم من أنه لا توجد أرقام شاملة متاحة حول النزوح في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة، تشير الأرقام التي جمعتها المنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية والأمم المتحدة أنه منذ عام 1967، نزح أكثر من 270000 شخص من الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة، بمن فيهم النازحون مؤقتاً، مع حدوث أكثر من نصف عمليات النزوح في السنوات الخمس الماضية. وفي قطاع غزة، ما زال هناك 15700 نازح نتيجة العملية العسكرية الإسرائيلية "الرصاص المصبوب" التي امتدت من ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2008 إلى يناير/كانون الثاني 2009.

وفي عام 2009، أدرج ممثل الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالنازحين داخلياً قائمة بالأسباب الرئيسية للنزوح الداخلي في الأراضي الفلسطينية وحددها بما يلي: الاجتياحات وعمليات التطهير العسكري والإخلاءات ومصادرة الأراضي وهدم المنازل وبناء المستوطنات والبنية التحتية المتعلقة بها وإقامة ما يُسمى "بالجدار العازل" أو "الجدار" والعنف من جانب المستوطنين والتجريد من حقوق الإقامة في القدس الشرقية[1].

وإلى جانب هؤلاء النازحين، يُعتقد أن مجتمعات بالكامل في غور الأردن بالضفة الغربية إلى جانب حوالي 93000 في القدس الشرقية تواجه خطر النزوح. ويأتي من بين العديد من المجتمعات الفلسطينية الأكثر مواجهة للمخاطر: المجتمعات الريفية في غور الأردن والمجتمعات المتاخمة للجدار أو المتضررة منه والبنية التحتية الإسرائيلية والمستوطنات وسكان القدس الشرقية الذين يعيشون في المناطق الخاضعة لأوامر الإخلاء أو لأوامر هدم المنازل والفلسطينيون المواجهون لخطر التجريد من مساكنهم أو إعاقة حقوق لم شمل الأسرة وسكان غزة الذين يعيشون في المنطقة العازلة أو بالقرب منها بمحاذاة الحدود مع إسرائيل والمعرضون للاجتياحات الإسرائيلية أو التوسُّع في المنطقة العازلة.

 

اللدونة والاستضعاف

رغبة الناس في البقاء وعدم النزوح تنعكس في كل فعل من أفعال الحياة اليومية في المناطق الحضرية والريفية على حد سواء وفي جميع أنحاء الأراضي الفلسطينية. فقد سعت المجتمعات الفلسطينية والعائلات المنفردة إلى منع الآثار الناجمة عن السياسات الإسرائيلية التي تدفع الناس إلى النزوح أو حاولوا على الأقل تخفيف وطأتها عليهم. ولا عجب في رغبة هؤلاء بالبقاء (وفق مفهوم "الصمود") فهم يريدون المحافظة على بيوتهم وعلى أراضيهم لكنهم في الوقت نفسه يريدون أن يتجنبوا المصير الذي لحق باللاجئين الفلسطينيين من قبلهم الذين يعيشون حالياً وضعاً يذكِّر الباقين بتبعات النزوح وفقدان الممتلكات.

وبالنسبة لكثير منهم، لا يقتصر سبب انتحاء خيار البقاء على الرغبة بالاحتفاظ بالأرض، بل هناك سبب آخر يتعلق بفقدان الممتلكات أو العقارات أو سبل كسب الرزق الذي يحدّ من قدرة الأسر على الانتقال إلى مناطق أخرى. وفي سياق الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة، لا يجد كثير من الناس إلا بدائل قليلة إن وجودها أصلاً.

لقد ناضلت المجتمعات في مجال تطوير العقارات على الرغم من محاولات إبعادها من خلال تعبئة الموارد المحدودة في بعض الأحيان لبناء البنى التحتية التي تواجه في نهاية المطاف مخاطر الهدم. كما استثمر عدد من القرى والأحياء في القدس الشرقية الوقت والموارد لوضع خطط التطوير البديلة لمجتمعاتها، ثمَّ بعد أن تُقدم هذه الخطط إلى السلطات الإسرائيلية، قلة قليلة منها هي التي يتم الموافقة عليها. وفي الواقع، توقفت خطط التطوير في الأراضي الفلسطينية لأكثر من 40 عاماً.

وبذلك أصبحت استراتيجيات منع النزوح في الأراضي الفلسطينية حبيسة رهين الحياة اليومية، وفي هذا الواقع برز دور المجتمع المدني الفلسطيني الذي كان في طليعة من حاول منع النزوح وذلك من خلال التصرفات الفردية والتعبئة المجتمعية والنشاط العام.

وفي أنحاء الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية، تخرج المجتمعات الفلسطينية في مظاهرات احتجاجية، إلى جانب النشطاء الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين والدوليين ضد السياسات الإسرائيلية. وقد طعنت آلاف الأسر الفلسطينية أمام المحاكم الإسرائيلية بأوامر الهدم أو مصادرة الأراضي أو التجريد من الإقامة أو إنكار الحق في لم شمل الأسرة وذلك بتكلفة باهظة وعبر مدد مطوّلة من الزمن. ومن المعتاد أن تمتد هذه الدعاوى القانونية لسنوات، وفي بعض الحالات لعقد من الزمن وبتكلفة شخصية باهظة.

وتواجه المجتمعات الفلسطينية والناشطون التهديدات والاعتقالات والعنف. وبالنسبة للأغلبية التي لا تسعى إلا إلى البقاء في منازلها، تكون التكلفة عالية ولا يمكن احتسابها بسهولة. ويواجه المزارعون القريبون من المنطقة العازلة في غزة أو بالقرب من المستوطنات في غور الأردن مخاطر الوصول إلى أراضيهم. وقد تواجه الأسر الفلسطينية التي تطعن بمحاولات إخلائهم من منازلهم أو هدمها أعمال التهديد أو العنف من قِبل المستوطنين الإسرائيليين وقد يعيشون في المجهول (الذي قد يمتد لأعوام) إذ لا يعرفون ما سؤول إليه مصير دعاويهم في المحاكم الإسرائيلية.

ويعتبر الأثر الاجتماعي والمالي والنفسي على رفاه الأشخاص والأسر وأطفالهم تراكمياً، فهم يعانون من الاستضعاف والصدمة والقلق مع الموازنة بين المخاطر التي يلاقونها وبين الحاجة للاحتفاظ بعقاراتهم وممتلكاتهم. ويمكن أيضاً أن تزيد الضغوط الاجتماعية الفلسطينية من المصاعب التي تواجه الأسر غير القادرة أو غير الراغبة في البقاء في هذه الظروف المتزعزعة. ولا يقل أهمية عن ذلك الوصمة التي تلحق بمن ينصاع للسياسات أو الإجراءات الإسرائيلية.

التخفيف من المخاطر والترويج للمنع

لقد سعى المجتمع الإنساني كثيراً، بما في ذلك المنظمات غير الحكومية الفلسطينية والإسرائيلية، إلى مساعدة هذه المجتمعات المستخطرة للحد من مخاطر النزوح، وذلك من خلال توفير المساعدات التي تكون وقائية في طبيعتها. ويشتمل ذلك على تقديم المساعدات الطارئة للأسر التي قد تلقى منازلها مصير الهدم إلى جانب توفير مصادر الرزق إلى المجتمعات الريفية لتسهيل الوصول إلى الأراضي أو وسائل الإعاشة الأخرى واتخاذ الإجراءات القانونية من خلال ونيابة عن ضحايا الإخلاء أو أوامر الهدم والاستئناف ضد إلغاء الأقامة أو حقوق لم الشمل أو الوصول إلى تلك الحقوق.

وتبدي الوكالات الإسرائيلية والفلسطينية والدولية المختلفة حضوراً وقائياً في المناطق التي تزيد بها مخاطر العنف من قِبل المستوطنين الإسرائيليين، علاوة على رصد القدرة على الدخول من خلال الحواجز الأمنية الموجودة في الضفة الغربية وعلى البوابات في الجدار العازل. كما عملت الأمم المتحدة وكذلك عمل النشطاء الإسرائيليون والفلسطينيون وجمعياتهم على رفع وعي المجتمع الدولي حول النزوح القسري وأطلقوا حملات المناصرة المكثفة نيابة عن النازحين والمستخطرين.

لكن النزوح مستمر في الحدوث، في حين تتزايد الضغوط والتكاليف المترتبة على البقاء ومعارضة السياسات الإسرائيلية الانتهاكية. ويتعرض المدنيون الذين يحتجون على أعمال الهدم أو الإخلاء إلى الغرامات والمضايقات والاعتقال. بل شهدت الضفة الغربية في هذا السياق حوادث عدة بحق الفلسطينيين كما قُتل غيرهم أثناء محاولتهم منع هدم منازلهم.

لا يوجد شك في قيمة المساعدات التي تقدمها مختلف الوكالات أممية والوطنية والدولية، لكن المجتمعات المتأثرة بالنزوح أو المعرضة له شددت على إخفاق المجتمع الدولي في التعامل مع الوضع في المناطق الخاضعة للسلطة الإسرائيلية، وأن ذلك الإخفاق يجعل المجتمع الدولي شريكاً في عملية النزوح القسري. فرغم الإدانة الدولية المستمرة للسياسات والإجراءات الإسرائيلية التي نجم عنها المزيد من النزوح القسري، لم تُساءل إسرائيل عن الأفعال التي ارتكبتها وتستمر في ارتكابها.

وقد مثَّل المجتمع الإنساني وما زال يمثل دوراً مهماً في تخفيف مستوى النزوح. لكن أثره في وضع حد للنزوح القسري ما زال محدوداً. ويثير النزوح المتواصل تساؤلاً حول قدرة المجتمع الإنساني على منع النزوح في وجه أجهزة الدولة الهادفة إلى تهجير الأشخاص من أراضيهم.

ولا يجب أن تنتقص استجابة المجتمع الإنساني من ضرورة ضمان المجتمع الدولي للالتزام بالقانون الإنساني الدولي وحقوق الإنسان ومنع المزيد من النزوح.

وهذا يؤكد الدعوات المتكررة التي نادى بها المناصرون الفلسطينيون والإسرائيليون والدوليون والتي تبرز ضرورة دعم المجتمع الدولي للجهود الفلسطينية والإنسانية في المنع وضرورة إشراك الدولة الإسرائيلية بالصورة التي تعرضها للمساءلة أمام القانون الدولي.

كريم خليل karim.khalil@nrc.ch محلل في مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي www.internal-displacement.org.



[1] التقرير الخاص بمقرري حقوق الإنسان في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة، مارس/آذار 2009.

 

 

http://tinyurl.com/UNHRC-Ar-03-09

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Attempts to prevent displacement in the occupied Palestinian territories

Prevention has become a strategy increasingly adopted by the humanitarian community in addressing forced displacement in the occupied Palestinian territories, as well as responding to immediate emergency needs for families displaced or at risk of displacement.

While strategies for the prevention of forced displacement gain value in the humanitarian community in addressing displacement situations,  Israeli actions and policies in the occupied Palestinian territories (oPt) continue to directly and indirectly lead to the forced displacement of Palestinians. Such policies are applied with a view to acquire land, redefine demographic boundaries and divest Palestinians of ownership. UN experts and NGOs alike have condemned repeated and recurrent Israeli actions that both directly and indirectly, have caused forced displacement in the oPt.

Although there are no comprehensive figures available on displaced in the oPt, figures compiled from NGOs, INGOs, and UN indicate that since 1967, more than 270,000 people have been displaced across the oPt, including those temporary displaced, with more than half of all displacements occurring in the last 5 years. In Gaza Strip, 15,700 people remain displaced as a consequence of the Israeli military operation ‘Cast Lead’ that lasted from December 2008 to January 2009.

In 2009, the Representative of the UN Secretary General on the Human Rights of IDPs listed the main causes of internal displacement in the oPt as: incursions and military clearing operations; evictions; land appropriations; house demolitions; building of settlements and related infrastructure; the construction of the so-called ‘separation fence’ or ‘Wall’; violence by settlers; and revoking of residency rights in East Jerusalem[1].

Alongside those displaced entire communities in the Jordan valley in the West Bank, as well as an estimated 93,000 in East Jerusalem, are thought to be at risk of displacement. Several Palestinian communities are among the most at-risk: rural communities in the Jordan Valley; communities close to or affected by the Wall and Israeli infrastructure and settlements; residents of East Jerusalem living in places subject to evacuation or house demolition orders; Palestinians at risk of having their residency revoked or family reunification rights restricted; and residents in Gaza living within or in proximity to the buffer zone along the border with Israel and subject to Israeli incursions or extension of the buffer zone.

Resilience and vulnerability

People’s desire to remain is found in everyday actions in urban neighbourhoods and rural communities across the territories. Palestinian communities and individual households have sought to prevent or mitigate the effects of Israeli policies that lead to displacement. The tenacity of people who remain – reflected in the concept of ‘sumud’, or steadfastness – is explained by the desire to retain one’s home, one’s land, and equally not replicate the fate of Palestinian refugees whose current situation is a stark reminder of the consequences of displacement and dispossession.

For many the choice to remain is also defined not only by a desire to retain one’s land, but also by the lack of assets, property, or livelihoods, which limits the ability of families to move elsewhere. In the context of the oPt, for most there are few alternatives if any.

Communities have strived to develop despite attempts to dislodge them, sometimes mobilising limited resources to construct infrastructure that is ultimately at risk of demolition. Scores of villages and neighbourhoods in East Jerusalem have invested time and resources to develop alternative development plans for their communities. These are submitted to the Israeli authorities, but rarely have any of these plans been approved. Development plans throughout the oPt have, in effect, been frozen for over 40 years.

Strategies to prevent displacement in oPt are in that sense enmeshed in the fabric of daily life. Within this, Palestinian civil society – through individual acts, social mobilisation and activism – has been at the forefront of attempts to prevent displacement.

Throughout the West Bank and East Jerusalem protests are held by Palestinian communities, as well as by Palestinian, Israeli and international activists, against Israeli policies. Thousands of Palestinian households have contested demolition orders, appropriation of land, the revocation of residency or denial of family reunification through the Israeli courts, at great expense and over protracted periods of time. It is not uncommon for such litigation to last for years, and in some cases close to a decade, often at great personal expense.

Palestinian communities and activists face intimidation, arrest and violence. For the majority merely seeking to remain in their homes, the costs are high and cannot easily be calculated. Farmers in proximity to the buffer zone in Gaza, or near settlements in the Jordan valley, face risks simply to access their land. Palestinian households contesting attempts to evict or demolish their homes can face intimidation and violence by Israeli settlers, and uncertainty (sometimes for years) over their cases in Israeli courts.

The impact – social, financial and psychological – on the well-being of individuals, families, and their children is cumulative. They experience vulnerability, trauma and anxiety; balancing the risks they face against the need to retain their properties and their possessions. Palestinian societal pressures may also add to the difficulties faced by households who are unable or justifiably unwilling to remain in such precarious situations. The stigma associated with having relented to Israeli policies or actions can be significant.

Mitigating risks and promoting prevention

The humanitarian community, including both Palestinian and Israeli NGOs, has increasingly sought to assist these communities at risk to mitigate the risks of displacement by providing assistance which is preventive in nature. This includes the provision of emergency assistance to families whose homes could face demolition; livelihood assistance to rural communities to facilitate access to land or other means of livelihood; legal action by and on behalf of victims of eviction or demolition orders; and appeals against the revocation of residency, family unity or access rights.

Various Israeli, Palestinian and international agencies provide a protective presence in areas at risk of Israeli settler violence, as well as monitoring access through the checkpoints that are found across the West Bank and at the gates in the Wall. UN, Palestinian, Israeli, and international activists and associations have also raised awareness of the international community on the situation of forced displacement and extensively advocated on behalf of those displaced and at risk.

Displacement nevertheless continues to occur, while the pressures and costs of remaining and opposing Israeli policies of encroachment are high. Civilians who protest against demolitions or evictions as these take place are subject to fines, harassment and arrest. There have been incidents in the West Bank of Palestinians and others being killed while trying to prevent house demolitions.

Without denying the value of assistance provided by various UN and national and international agencies, communities affected by or at risk of displacement have underlined the failure of the international community of states to address the situation in areas under Israeli jurisdiction, and that such failure renders it complicit in a process of forced displacement. Though the international community has repeatedly condemned Israeli policies and actions that have resulted in further forced displacement, it has not held it accountable for actions it has committed and continues to commit.

The humanitarian community has and continues to play an important role in mitigating the level of displacement. Its impact, however, in putting an end to forced displacement is limited. The continuing displacement raises a question as to the humanitarian community’s capacity to prevent displacement in the face of a state apparatus intent on driving people from their land. The response of the humanitarian community should not detract from the need for the international community to ensure international humanitarian and human rights law is upheld and further displacements prevented.

This echoes the repeated appeals put forward by Palestinian, Israeli and international advocates that have highlighted the need for the international community to support Palestinian and humanitarian efforts at prevention, and the need to engage with the Israeli state in a manner which renders it accountable to international law.

 

Karim Khalil is an analyst at the Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre.

 

[1] Report of the Rapporteurs on human rights in the oPt, March 2009 http://tinyurl.com/UNHRC-03-09

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview