استرداد الممتلكات في كولومبيا

لقد تسببت هشاشة حقوق ملكية الأراضي والعقارات في التهجير في كولومبيا، بل وزادت منه. ورداً على ذلك، وضعت الحكومة إطار عمل قانوني للتعامل مع المشكلة ولمنع المزيد من التهجير، بصورة نهائية. وتعد إعادة بناء العلاقات المجتمعية والثقة المؤسسية عاملاً محورياً في نجاح هذا التوجُّه.

إن تاريخ كولومبيا المعروف بانتزاع ملكية الأراضي والتهجير متأصل في العديد من الأسباب، وقد نتج عنه أحد أكبر تجمعات السكان المهجّرين في العالم. فأولاً، ضَعُفت حقوق ملاك الأراضي من خلال بيع الأرض وبذلك يُرغم المزارعون والمجتمعات الريفية بالقوة أو بإساءة التصرُّف أو بتمرير المعلومات الخاطئة، لبيع ملكية ممتلكاتهم وإخلاء أراضيهم. ونادراً ما تتوافق مبيعات الأراضي التي تتم بهذا الشكل مع قيمتها في السوق الفعلية. ثانياً، فإن الشكل السائد لانتزاع الأراضي هو ترك الأرض من قِبل مالكي الأراضي نتيجة للنزاع الذي يقود إلى إشغال الأرض من قبل أطراف أخرى. والصورة الثالثة لانتزاع ملكية الأراضي نشأ من خلال نقل الملكية القسري وغير القانوني، باستغلال بعض الأفراد لمناصبهم في الحكومة وتصرُّفهم بالاشتراك مع القوات المسلحة المحلية من غير الدول تقويضاً للحماية التي توفرها السلطات الحكومية المحلية. وقد حدث بعض من تلك الصور الفاسدة لنقل الملكية من خلال الاحتيال القضائي أو الإجرائي[1].

لقد كانت آثار الاستحواذ على الأراضي واحتلالها والتهجير القسري جسيمة. وتقدّر إدارة التخطيط الوطني في كولومبيا أن التهجير القسري أثر على 700000 أسرة (أكثر من ثلاثة ملايين شخص) كما تم الاستيلاء على ما يزيد عن 3200000 هكتار، أي 5% من الأراضي الزراعية بكولومبيا، وذلك عن طريق الاستحواذ على الأراضي أو تركها من قِبل الأشخاص الذين أُجبروا على مغادرة المنطقة[2].

التدابير التي تتخذها الحكومة لمنع انتزاع الملكية والتهجير

وضعت الحكومة الكولومبية مجموعة من السياسات لتسهيل استرداد الأراضي ودعم حقوق مالكي الأراضي لكي تتمكن من منع مزيد من التهجير ولتمكين عودة من أُرغموا على ترك منازلهم. ومنذ عام 2003، نفّذت الحكومة مشروع حماية الأرض وإرث السكان المهجّرين الذي يهدف إلى المساعدة في تقليل مخاطر إفقار السكان المهجّرين[3]. وقد باشر المشروع عمله في 21 منطقة في كولومبيا لضمان التنفيذ الكامل لحقوق الملكية وإقامة معايير حماية الأصول. كما عزز أيضاً وضع الإطار الرسمي لحقوق الأراضي، بما في ذلك الاعتراف الرسمي بحقوق المجتمعات الأصلية والأفرو-كولومبية، إلى جانب تفعيل عمليات الإدارة الخاصة باستعادة الأراضي، في أوضاع انتزاع الملكية حيث يُرغم الأفراد بسبب العنف على ترك أراضيهم. وقد دعم المشروع عمليات تمليك الأراضي في تسع مناطق عبر الدولة، مما نتج عنه أكثر من ألف عقد ملكية، وهذا يعطي المزارعين الشاغلين لهذه الأراضي حقوقهم الرسمية، ومن هؤلاء من هُجّر بالفعل في حين كان آخرون من أكثر المتعرضين إلى مخاطر التهجير.

وقد قامت الحكومة الحالية، برئاسة الرئيس سانتوس، بتضمين سياسة استرداد الأراضي في خطتها التنموية الوطنية 2010-2014. وتعيد هذه السياسة التأكيد على حقوق السكان النازحين وتركز على تحقيق العدالة لمن فقدوا ممتلكاتهم نظراً للعنف المسلّح وتضع الأسس للتعامل مع قضايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الأخرى والعدالة الانتقالية.

ووفقاً لقانون الضحايا واسترداد الأراضي في كولومبيا رقم 1448 لعام 2011، أصبح استرداد الأراضي جزءاً لا يتجزأ من إستراتيجية منع التهجير القسري الجماعي. وقد سُنّ هذا القانون من خلال إجماع الآراء بين المنظمات الحكومية والبرلمانية والسياسة ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني والضحايا. وتأمل حكومة سانتوس في الفصل بـ 160000 مطالبة باستعادة الأراضي في الفترة من 2011 حتى 2014 من خلال: 1) تعزيز حقوق مالكي الأراضي وحل النزاعات المتعلقة بالأراضي، 2) منع الاستيلاء على الأراضي واحتلالها في المجتمع الريفي الكولومبي، و3) تزويد آلية لتعويض الأشخاص المهجّرين قسراً والمنتزعة أراضيهم. وتشتمل بعض الخطوات المتخذة لتحقيق ذلك على ما يلي:

  • عدم إلقاء عبء إثبات الملكية السابقة على كاهل الشخص المنتزعة أرضه، لكن يُلقى عبء الإثبات على كاهل "المالك" الجديد
  • إنشاء سجّل للتحقيق في والإعلان عن أي الأراضي تم انتزاعها وتركها نتيجة للقوة
  • تقديم إجراء جديد من شقين لإعادة الأراضي المنتزعة، والذي يتألف من وحدة إدارية خاصة لإعادة الأراضي وهيئة قضائية تضم المختصين في قضايا الأراضي
  • إقامة برنامج تعويضي شامل لتوفير الاسترداد العيني للأراضي، إن وُجد، والتعويض النقدي عندما لا تكون الأرض متاحة بشكل مباشر (مع الاعتماد على الصندوق المؤسس أيضاً بموجب هذا القانون)
  • التنفيذ التدريجي لبرامج القانون، مع ترتيب البلديات البالغ عددها 364 بلدية حسب الأولوية وفقاً لدرجة انتزاع الأراضي.

وقد اشتركت عدة جهات مانحة، بما في ذلك الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية والأمم المتحدة والوكالات مثل المنظمة الدولية للهجرة، في دعم تنفيذ سياسة استرداد الأراضي من خلال تقديم الدعم الفني والمالي، كما هيكلت المنظمة الدولية للهجرة المشروعات التجريبية وساعدت في تعزيز القدرة ضمن هذه المؤسسات المنفّذة للسياسة.

وينص قانون الضحايا واسترداد الأراضي على إطار عمل قضائي لإضفاء حالة الاستقرار على ملكية الأراضي ومنع المزيد من التهجير. وناهيك عن المزايا الواضحة لتحديد والمساعدة في المناطق التي حدث بها انتزاع للملكية وتوفير الأساس للاسترداد، بثت هذه البرامج حساً بالثقة المجتمعية وأرسلت عبر البلاد رسالة مفادها أن الحكومة لن تتساهل مع التهجير الناجم عن انتزاع الأراضي واحتلالها. وقد تجاوزت هذه البرامج، المنفذّة من خلال التوجه المجتمعي، المساعدة الإدارية والقضائية إلى رأب الصدوع الثقافية.

لقد جاء هذا القانون نتيجة للإجماع الوطني بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة مثل الحكومة والبرلمان والأحزاب السياسية ومنظمات حقوق الإنسان ومنظمات الضحايا. وهو يعزز النموذج الهادف إلى القضاء على  الحلقة المفرغة لسقوط الضحايا ويبدأ عملية التمكين بدلاً من ذلك. وتتضمن الحلول المُتصوّرة وفقاً لهذا القانون تعزيز المشاركة الفاعلة للضحايا في وضع وتنفيذ القانون ومرافقة ومساعدة الضحايا في إنشاء مبادرات سبل رزقهم ودعم شبكات الضحايا. ووفقاً للقانون، فإنه من اللازم تضمين كرامة الضحايا وتطلعاتهم وقصصهم في عملية المشاركة، والتي ستساهم بدورها في التمكين وبناء الثقة. وفي حين أن هذه العملية ما زالت في طور التنفيذ ولم تنكشف عن نتائج ملموسة بعد، تعد الرغبة في السماح للمشاركة الواسعة والمتساوية لأبناء المجتمع أساساً جيداً لإعادة بناء الثقة المجتمعية. وسيتطلب التوفيق بين أعضاء المجتمع والإيمان العام بالعملية المشاركة المستمرة من قِبل جميع أصحاب المصلحة.

ويأتي التحدي الرئيسي أمام تنفيذ هذا المشروع في الحجم الكلي للمطالب. فاعتباراً من نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2012، تلقت الحكومة أكثر من 25000 مطالبة بإجمالي يزيد على مليوني هكتار من الأراضي. وما من شك في أن هذه العملية ستستلزم حجماً معيّناً من الموارد المخصصة وستستغرق فترة طويلة من الزمن. إلا التقدم واضح ولو كان بطيئاً. ففي مجتمع مانبوجان المحلي، على سبيل المثال، بدأ الأفراد في الإحساس بحصولهم على التمكين للعمل وفقاً لمطالباتهم الخاصة بالملكية وهم في انتظار أكثر من 2000 قرار قضائي مسبق ضد المطالب بملكية أراضيهم. وقد أدى ذلك حتى الآن إلى استرداد 14 عقاراً. ورغم أن هذه النتائج بسيطة، فهي تعد انتصاراً كبيراً للأشخاص المنتزعة منهم أراضيهم.

إدواردو ميدينا emedina@iom.int منسق برامج للهجرة والقضايا الريفية، كولومبيا، المنظمة الدولية للهجرة www.iom.int.



[1] وزارة الزراعة والتنمية الريفية، البرنامج الاستشاري لتعويضات الأراضي (كونريت)، بوغوتا العاصمة، ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2008.

[2] إدارة التخطيط الوطني، وزارة الزراعة والتنمية الريفية، وزارة الداخلية والعدل، الوكالة الرئاسية للعمل الاجتماعي والتعاون الدولي، سياسة الأراضي والمناطق للسكان ضحايا التهجير القسري، التعرُّض المعرضون لمخاطر التهجير القسري وانتزاع الملكية. بوغوتا، 30 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2009.

[3] يقوم بتمويل هذا المشروع كلٌ من البنك الدولي وإدارة الرفاه الاجتماعي (العمل الاجتماعي) ووزارة الزراعة والتنمية الريفية في كولومبيا والمفوضية الأوروبية والمفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية، بمساعدة فنية وإدارية من المنظمة الدولية للهجرة.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Property restitution in Colombia

Fragility of land tenure and property rights has both caused and exacerbated displacement in Colombia. In response, the government has established a legal framework to address the problem and, ultimately, to prevent further displacement. The rebuilding of community relationships and institutional trust are central to the success of this approach.

Colombia’s history of land dispossession and displacement is rooted in various causes and has resulted in one of the largest displaced populations in the world. First, landowners’ rights have been weakened by the sale of land whereby peasants and rural communities are put under duress – by force, misconduct or misinformation – to sell property titles and vacate their land. Land sales conducted in this manner rarely correspond to real market value. A second, recurrent form of land dispossession has been the abandonment of land by landowners as a result of conflict and its subsequent occupation. A third form of land dispossession has arisen through illegal forced transfers of property titles, with individuals using their government positions, and acting in complicity with local non-state armed forces, to subvert the protection offered by local government bodies. Some of these corrupt transfers have occurred through judicial or procedural fraud.[1]

The effects of land grabbing, occupation and forced displacement have been significant. The Colombian National Planning Department estimates that forced displacement has affected 700,000 households (more than three million people). More than 3,200,000 hectares – 5% of Colombia’s agricultural land – have been taken by land grabbing or abandonment by persons forced out of the area.[2]

Government measures to prevent dispossession and displacement

The Colombian government has developed a set of policies to facilitate land restitution and strengthen landowners’ rights, and thereby to prevent further displacement and enable the return of those who have been forced to leave their homes. Since 2003, the government has implemented the Land Protection and Displaced Population Legacy Project, aimed at helping to diminish the risk of impoverishment of displaced populations.[3] The Project has worked in 21 regions of Colombia to guarantee the full exercise of property rights, establishing asset protection measures. It has also promoted the formalisation of land rights, including the formal recognition of rights for indigenous and Afro-Colombian communities, and has implemented management processes for land restitution, both in situations of dispossession of land and where people have been forced by violence to abandon their land. The Project has supported land-titling processes in nine regions of the country, producing over one thousand titles giving formal rights to occupant farmers, some of whom had already been displaced while others were at a high risk of displacement.

The current government, under President Santos, has included a land restitution policy in its 2010-14 National Development Plan. This policy reasserts the rights of displaced populations, focuses on access to justice for those who have lost their property due to armed violence, and lays the groundwork for addressing other issues of human rights violations and transitional justice.

Under Colombia’s Victims and Land Restitution Law 1448 of 2011, land restitution has been integral to the strategy to proactively prevent mass forced displacement. The Santos government hopes to settle 160,000 claims for restitution in the period of 2011-14 by: 1) promoting landowner rights and resolving land disputes; 2) discouraging land grabbing and occupation in Colombian rural society; and 3) providing a mechanism of redress for persons forcibly displaced and dispossessed of their land. Some of the steps taken to achieve this include:

  • no longer placing the burden of proving previous ownership on the dispossessed person but placing the burden of proof instead on the new ‘owner’
  • establishing a registry to investigate and declare which land was dispossessed and abandoned as a result of force
  • introducing a new two-part procedure to provide restitution of dispossessed land, consisting of a special administrative unit dedicated to land restitution and a judicial body comprising specialists in land issues
  • establishing a compensation programme, providing in-kind restitution of land when applicable and monetary compensation when land is not directly available (drawing on a fund also established by this law)
  • gradually and progressively implementing the law’s programmes, with each of 364 municipalities prioritised according to the extent of land dispossession.

 

Various donors including USAID, the UN and agencies such as IOM have been involved in supporting the implementation of the land restitution policy by providing technical and financial support; IOM has structured pilot projects and helped strengthen capacity within those institutions implementing the Policy.

Ultimately, the Victims and Land Restitution Law provides a judicial framework for stabilising land ownership and preventing further displacement. Beyond the obvious benefits of identifying and assisting where land dispossession has occurred and providing the basis for restitution, these programmes have reinvigorated a sense of community trust and sent out – across the country – the message that the government will not tolerate displacement caused by land dispossession and occupation. Implemented through a community-based approach, these programmes have gone beyond administrative and judicial assistance to cultural healing.

The Law was the result of a national consensus among various stakeholders such as the government, Congress, political parties, human rights organisations and victims’ organisations. It promotes a model that aims to break the cycle of victimisation and start a process of empowerment instead. The solutions envisioned under the law include promoting the active participation of victims in the design and implementation of the law, accompanying and assisting victims in establishing livelihoods, and supporting victim networks and initiatives. According to the law, respect for the dignity of the victims, their aspirations and stories should prevail in the process of participation – which in turn contributes to empowerment and confidence building. While the process is still unfolding, the willingness to allow wide and equal participation of community members is a good platform for re-building community trust. Reconciliation among community members and public faith in the process will require continued engagement of all stakeholders.

A significant challenge for the implementation of this project is the sheer volume of claims. As of November 2012, the government has witnessed more than 25,000 claims for a total of over two million hectares of land. There is little doubt that this process will require a significant amount of dedicated resources over a long period of time. Nevertheless, progress is slowly visible. In the community of Manpujan, for example, people are beginning to feel empowered to act on their claims of ownership and are contesting more than 2,000 prior judicial decisions against their land ownership claims; this has led so far to the restitution of fourteen properties. These outcomes are small but significant victories for people dispossessed of their land.

 

Eduardo Medina is Programme Coordinator of Migrations and Rural Issues, Colombia, International Organization for Migration.

 

[1] Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development. Consultation Program in Land Reparations (CONRET). Bogotá DC, December 2008.

[2] National Department of Planning, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Ministry of the Interior and Justice, Presidential Agency for Social Action and International Cooperation. Policy of Land and Territory for the Victim Population of Forced Displacement, at risk of Forced Displacement and Dispossession. Bogotá, 30 October 2009.

[3] The Project is sponsored by the World Bank, the Colombian Department for Social Prosperity (Social Action), the Colombian Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, the European Commission, UNHCR and USAID, with technical and administrative assistance from IOM.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview