انعدام الأمن في الأراضي فيما بعد النزاعات يهدد بإعادة التهجير في شمال أوغندا

يبقى الحصول على الأراضي والممتلكات بالنسبة للعديدين في شمال أوغندا قضية لا بد من حلها  لأنها تهدد السلام والعودة المستدامة.

ساهمت مفاوضات السلام بين حكومة أوغندا وجيش الرب للمقاومة في إحلال السلام النسبي في شمال أوغندا، اعتباراً من عام 2008. وعلى الرغم من حقيقة أن قائد جيش الرب للمقاومة، جوزيف كوني، لم يوقّع على اتفاقية السلام النهائية، كان المقصد من تعزيز الوضع الأمني تمكين العديد من النازحين داخلياً من الوصول إلى أراضيهم الزراعية وأن يبدؤوا في إعادة بناء منازلهم. لكن الوضع بقي هشاً بالنسبة لبعض العائدين، وكذلك بالنسبة للسكان المستضعفين مثل كبار السن والقاصرين غير المصاحبين ببالغين والأرامل والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة ممن تم تجاهل احتياجاتهم وحقوقهم.

وفي حين تُستبدل ببرامج المساعدة الإنسانية برامج التعافي والتنمية، يرى بعض السكان ممن هُجّروا من قبل في إقليمي أشولي ولانغو أن فوائد العودة لا تزال بعيدة المنال. ومع كثرة الاستيلاء على الأراضي من قِبل السياسيين والموظفين الحكوميين ومجتمع الأعمال والمستثمرين المحليين والوطنيين المتنافسين على "غنائم الحرب"، يهدد أثر انعدام الأمن في الأراضي بإعادة تهجير العائدين.

وقبل تمرُّد جيش الرب للمقاومة، لم تكن النزاعات على الأراضي شائعة في شمال أوغندا. وحتى عندما قامت هذه النزاعات، كانت مجرد مناوشات بسيطة بين الأفراد المتقاتلين على قطعة أرض أو نزاعاً على حدود الأراضي. ومع تطوُّر تمرُّد جيش الرب للمقاومة إلى مرحلة أكثر اضطراباً من عام 1996 إلى أوائل عام 2000، أجبرت الحكومة الأوغندية آلاف الأشخاص على الانتقال إلى مخيمات النازحين داخلياً، المعروفة أيضاً باسم "القرى المحميّة"، بهدف حماية الأرواح والممتلكات من اعتداءات جيش الرب للمقاومة. ونتج عن أثر سياسة التخييم القسري التي انتهجتها الحكومة بقاء قطع كبيرة من الأراضي الصالحة للزراعة دونما إشغال، وبذلك أصبحت عرضة للاحتلال والاستيلاء عليها.

كما أصبح تكرار النزاعات وإعادة التهجير سمة مشتركة في منطقة البحيرات العظمى. ويستدعي النزاع على الأرض في شمال أوغندا إعادة النظر في إدارة عملية العودة برمتها، خاصة مراعاة الكيفية التي يمكن بها للاهتمام المتزايد للجوانب الأساسية المتعلقة بالأمن، مثل ملكية الأراضي، تقليل إمكانية التهجير الجديد أو المتكرر. وعلى الحكومة وكافة المنظمات المعنيّة بالعودة بحث بعض المسائل مثل: ما أثر النزاعات المتعلقة بالأراضي على إمكانية تجدد النزاع؟ ما الآثار التي قد تنتج عن النزاعات المتعلقة بالأراضي على تهجير العائدين مرة أخرى؟ من المسؤول عن ضمان أمن العائدين، إلى جانب إعادة ممتلكاتهم وأراضيهم إليهم؟

وتقتضي الفقرة الأولى من المادة (11) من معاهدة الاتحاد الأفريقي لحماية ومساعدة الأشخاص النازحين داخلياً في أفريقيا (معاهدة كامبالا)، بموجب التزامات الدول الأعضاء المتعلقة بالعودة المستدامة أو الاندماج المحلي أو التوطين، أن "تسعى الدول الأعضاء للبحث عن الحلول الدائمة لمشكلة التهجير من خلال تعزيز وإيجاد الظروف المناسبة للعودة الطوعية أو الاندماج المحلي أو التوطين على أساس مستدام، وكذلك توفير ظروف السلامة والكرامة الإنسانية"[1]. لكن مع بدء التحوّل نحو السلام، واجهت أجزاء من شمال أوغندا خسارة كبيرة في الأرواح من خلال العنف، علاوةً على تدمير المنازل والممتلكات. كذلك، فقد فُقدت الممتلكات من خلال الإخلاءات التي قامت بها الوكالات الحكومية والأفراد والمستثمرون. وهذا أدى إلى إضعاف الثقة بين العائدين، وهي المكوّن اللازم بشدة في عملية التعافي فيما بعد النزاعات. وبشكل أساسي، فقد هدد تجاهُّل قضايا الأرض والممتلكات المبدأ الأساسي لعمليات التعافي وإعادة البناء فيما بعد النزاع والتي لها أهميتها في تعزيز البيئة المؤدية إلى إعادة الاندماج والإنماء بأمان.

ومن اللازم أن تركز الإصلاحات في الأراضي فيما بعد النزاعات على الحد من التوترات والنزاعات، مع دعم استخدامات الأراضي المنتجة اجتماعياً واقتصادياً، ويتضمن ذلك التركيز على قضايا الحصول على قضايا الوصول إلى الأراضي وملكيتها واستخدامها من أجل المساعدة في الحد من إعادة التهجير في المستقبل. والأهم من ذلك  إشراك السكان النازحين أنفسهم في جميع جوانب عمليات العودة.

ليفيس أونيغي levisonegi@gmail.com باحث مشارك في مرحلة الدراسات العليا في المركز الأفريقي للهجرة والمجتمع بجامعة ويتووترزراند بجنوب أفريقيا. ويستند هذا المقال بشكل متوسع إلى البحث الذي أجراه مشروع قانون اللاجئين بجامعة ماكيريري في أوغندا، حيث تولى الكاتب قيادة فريق البحث. إلا أن هذا المقال كُتب بصفة شخصية.

انظر أيضاً:

مشروع قانون اللاجئين "لماذا يجب أن تكون القدرة على العودة للوطن جزءاً من العدالة الانتقالية"، ‘Why being able to return home should be part of transitional justice’ كلية الحقوق، جامعة ماكيريري، ورقة العمل رقم (2)، مارس/آذار 2010

www.beyondjuba.org/BJP1/working_papers/BJP.WP2.pdf

برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي "العودة إلى الشك: التعامل مع صور الاستضعاف في شمال أوغندا"

’Returning to uncertainty: Addressing vulnerabilities in northern Uganda’ www.fafo.no/nyhet/return2uncertanity.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Post-conflict land insecurity threatens re-displacement in northern Uganda

For many in northern Uganda, access to land and property remains an unresolved issue that threatens peace and sustainable returns.

Peace negotiations between the Government of Uganda and the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) ushered in relative peace in northern Uganda from 2008. Despite the fact that the LRA leader Joseph Kony has not signed the Final Peace Agreement, improved security has meant that many internally displaced persons (IDPs) can now access their farm land and begin rebuilding their homes. The situation has, however, remained fragile for some returnees, as well as for vulnerable populations such as the elderly, unaccompanied minors, widows and disabled persons whose needs and rights have been neglected. 

While humanitarian aid programmes are being replaced by recovery and development programmes, for some formerly displaced populations in Acholi and Langu sub-regions the benefits of return are still elusive. With rampant land-grabbing by politicians, civil servants, the business community and local and national investors vying for the ‘spoils of war’, the impact of land insecurity threatens re-displacement of the returnees.

Before the LRA insurgency, land conflicts were infrequent in northern Uganda; where they occurred, they tended to be minor tussles between individuals fighting over a plot of land or disputing a boundary. As the LRA insurgency progressed to a more turbulent stage from 1996 to early 2000, the Government of Uganda forced thousands of peoples to move into IDP camps – also known as ‘protected villages’ – on the grounds of protecting lives and property from LRA attacks. The impact of the government’s forced encampment policy resulted in huge chunks of arable land remaining largely vacant and unoccupied – and therefore vulnerable to occupation and land-grabbing.

Recurrences of conflict and re-displacement are becoming a common feature of the Great Lakes region. The land conflict in northern Uganda calls for a re-examination of the management of the entire return process, particularly considering how increased attention to fundamental aspects relating to security, such as land ownership, could reduce the potential for new or repeated displacement. The government and all organisations involved in return need to consider questions such as: What is the impact of land-related conflicts on the potential for a return to conflict? What implication may land-related conflict have for a re-displacement of returnees? Who is responsible for ensuring the safety of returnees as well as the return of their property and land?

Article 11, Clause 1 of The African Union Convention for Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa (Kampala Convention, 2009), under Obligations of States Parties relating to Sustainable Return, Local Integration or Relocation, requires States Parties to “seek lasting solutions to the problem of displacement by promoting and creating satisfactory conditions for voluntary return, local integration or relocation on a sustainable basis and circumstances of safety and dignity.”[1] However, since the start of the transition to peace, parts of northern Uganda have experienced considerable loss of life through violence, and much destruction of homes and property; property has also been lost through evictions by government agencies, private individuals and investors. This has inevitably undermined confidence and trust – much-needed ingredients in the post-conflict recovery process – among the returnees. In essence, the neglect of land and property issues has threatened the central tenet of post-conflict recovery and reconstruction processes that it is necessary to nurture an environment conducive to reintegration and development in safety.

It is vital that post-conflict land reforms focus attention on reducing tensions and conflicts and promote socially and economically productive land uses; this includes focusing on issues of land access, land ownership and land use so as to help prevent future re-displacement. Most importantly, the displaced populations themselves should be involved in all aspects of the return processes.

 

Levis Onegi is Graduate Research Associate at the African Centre for Migration and Society, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa. This article is based largely on research conducted by the Refugee Law Project at Makerere University, Uganda, where the author was the research team leader. However, the article is written in a personal capacity.

See also:

Refugee Law Project ‘Why being able to return home should be part of transitional justice’, School of Law, Makerere University, Working Paper No 2, March 2010 www.beyondjuba.org/BJP1/working_papers/BJP.WP2.pdf
UNDP ’Returning to uncertainty: Addressing vulnerabilities in northern Uganda’, www.fafo.no/nyhet/return2uncertanity.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview