تدخلات توفير المأوى تمنع من النزوح وتخفف وطأته

في البلدان النامية المعرضة للأخطار، تمثل تدخلات توفير المأوى وسيلة مهمة في منع النزوح الناتج عن الكوارث الطبيعية والحد من وطأته. لكن لتحقيق فعالية هذه التدخلات لابد لها من أن تكون متعددة الجوانب ول بد من تنفيذها بمشاركة المجتمعات المحلية المتأثرة.

يشهد كل عام تشريد ملايين من الناس من بيوتهم بسبب الكوارث الطبيعية التي تلم بهم، وغالباً ما يبقون نازحين بعد أن تعرضت منازلهم للأضرار أو الدمار. وتزداد ضرورة تحسين المأوى إلحاحاً مع احتمال استمرار تسبب التغير المناخي في رفع قوة العواصف ,والفيضانات وغيرها من الكوارث الناتجة عن الطقس وزيادة تكرارها. ولابد للحكومات والجهات المانحة والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية أن تركز على الجمع بين التدخلات "الصلبة" والتدخلات "المرنة" للتكيف والحد من وطأة النزوح وذلك كله باستشارة المجتمعات المحلية.

يُقصد بالتدخلات الصلبة الهياكل الصلبة للمآوي المقامة وتتضمن تعزيز لدونتها من خلال إصلاح البنى الحالية أو تعديلها وتحديثها وبناء الهياكل القادرة على مواجهة الكوارث الطبيعية.

***

التعديل التحديثي: عملية تعديل هيكل قائم بحيث يصبح أكثر قدرة على مواجهة الكوارث الطبيعية. فعلى سبيل المثال يمكن تحسين المأوى عن طريق إضافة المواد المقوية والتسليحية لتحسين قدرتها على مقاومة الزلازل أو الرياح القوية أو عن طريق توفير أماكن تخزين ذات مقاومة كبيرة للماء لحماية المقتنيات من أضرار الفيضانات.

 ***

في بعض الأوضاع، لن يكفي الإصلاح والتعديل التحديثي للمأوى في منع النزوح بل بدلاً من ذلك فإنَّ المجتمعات المحلية قد تحتاج إلى بيوتاً جديدة مقاومة للكوارث، ومن الأمثلة الجيدة على ذلك تصميم المآوي المقاومة للفيضانات الذي نُفِّذ عام 2008 على يد المنظمة الكاثوليكية للإغاثة بالتشاور مع المجتمعات المحلية في ولايتي "غرب البنغال" و"أوريسا" الهنديتين المتعرضتين للكوارث. وتضمَّن المشروع بناء 157 بيتاً شُيدت في أماكن تعلو منسوبات مياه الفيضانات باستخدام المواد المتوافرة محلياً مثل الخرسانة وأسلاك سياج الحظائر التي لا تجرفها مياه الفيضانات. وجميع تلك المآوي صمدت أمام إعصار أيلا في مايو/ أيار2009 [1]. أما العوارض والجدران والسقوف والعمدان فقد بقيت على حالها باستثناء الجص (الذي انجرف بالماء بطبيعة الحال) فكان لا بد من استبداله.

أما إصلاح المآوي وتحديثها وبناء المآوى الجديدة بحيث تقاوم الكوارث فإن من شأن ذلك إيقاف دورة النزوح بعدة طرق. فأولاً، عادة ما تتعرض المناطق المتعرضة للكوارث إلى كثير من الكوارث المتكررة تكاد تكون سنوية. ولا يتسبب ذلك فحسب بالنزوح المتكرر بل إنه أيضاً يقود إلى ظهور حلقة من الفقر التي تمنع بدورها الناس من حماية أنفسهم إزاء التعرض للتشريد والنزوح من جديد مستقبلاً. فعلى سبيل المثال، تبين المنظمة الكاثوليكية للإغاثة أنَّ ضحايا الفيضانات النازحين في أوريسا لم يجدوا سبيلاً سوى السعي وراء الحصول على قروض كبيرة من مقرضي المال المحليين بمدة سداد لا تقل عن عام واحد. لكن لأنه لم تكن لديهم المقدرة المالية إلا لشراء ما رخص ثمنه وقلت جودته من مواد البناء لإعادة بناء بيوتهم، فغالباً ما فقدت تلك الأسر بيوتهم في الفيضان التالي[2]. وقد أشار أحد المشاركين في المشروع إلى أنه فقد منزله ما بين 10 إلى 15 مرة. والأمر الثاني أنَّ البرامج التجريبية الصغيرة كتلك تشجع أفراد المجتمع الآخرين لبناء المآوي المشابهة بل يمكن أن تعزز من مستوى الوعي لدى المجتمع المحلي بشأن التكيف مع الكوارث وممارسات الحد من وطأتها والاستراتيجيات اللازمة.

تتضمن التدخلات المرنة رسم الخرائط وتنطيق الاستخدام ومراقبة الحت والتعرية وتصريف المياه وتقييمات استخدام الأراضي والاستثمارات في إدارة مخيمات المجتمع المحلي وبرامج الصيانة والسياسة وكسب التأييد بخصوص حقوق الأراضي وامتلاكها.

فعلى سبيل المثال، من شأن المشروعات التي تساعد الحكومات المحلية على رسم خارطة بالمناطق المعرضة للكوارث وتنفيذ القدر الأفضل من التنطيق ورسم الخرائط لاستخدام الأراضي أن تكون ذات فائدة خاصة في منع النزوح وذلك عن طريق تثبيط المجتمعات المحلية عن بناء المنازل في المناطق المحددة على أنها معرضة للمخاطر. وينبغي لمثل هذه المشروعات في المقام الأول أن تضم تحديد المخاطر والتخطيط للكوارث الطبيعة أيضاً. أما تعزيز حقوق الأراضي وملكيتها فيمكن أن تساعد المجتمعات المحلية وتمكنها من الاستثمار في التدابير الحمائية ضد النزوح (كالتأمين التجاري مثلاً) وتشجيع تلك المجتمعات على تحسين صيانتها لمنازلها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك هناك الاستثمار في برامج التدريب المجتمعية على الإدارة والصيانة للمنازل القائمة ومثال ذلك التدريب على إصلاح الأسطح وصيانة حواجز التقوية والمفصلات[3] فهي استراتيجية اقتصادية في جعل المأوى أكثر مقاومة للكوارث الطبيعية.

التدخلات التكميلية

إذا لم تُستَشر المجتمعات المحلية أو لم تُشرك في تنفيذ تدخلات المآوي فستكون الفرصة ضعيفة لاستدامتها في المجتمع على المدى البعيد. كما أنَّ عدم استشارة المجتمعات المحلية وإشراكها قد يقود إلى شيوع توقعات غير واقعية من جانب المجتمعات المحلية حول نتائج تدخلات المآوي وذلك ما قد يقوّض من الثقة بين المجتمعات المحلية والمنظمات غير الحكومية وقد يعيق بدوره وصول المنظمات غير الحكومية المستقبلي اللازم لتنفيذ تدخلات المآوى في المناطق المعرضة للكوارث البيئية.

كما يجب أن يصاحب تدخلات المآوي تدابير الحد من مخاطر الكوارث الطبيعية كمنظومات الإنذار المبكر والأرصاد الجوية وتحسين إدارة المياه والسيطرة على الفيضانات من خلال منظومات الخطوط الدفاعية ضد الفيضانات وحماية المستنقعات واستصلاحها وزرع أشجار القرم وغيرها من المنظومات البيئية الطبيعية.

ولن تتمكن تدابير الحد من مخاطر الكوارث الطبيعية من حماية الناس من النزوح إلا إذا نفذها المجتمع المحلي المتمتع بالقدرات اللازمة. فعلى سبيل المثال، في أوائل عام 2012، توجهت منظمة اللاجئين الدولية إلى كولومبيا وقابلت الأشخاص الذين كانوا ما زالوا نازحين بعد 15 شهراً من سقوط الامطار الغزيرة وتسبب الفيضانات الناتجة عنها إلى تشريدهم قسراً من بيوتهم. وكان لدى كولومبيا  حينها خطة لإدارة مخاطر الكوارث قبل وقوع الفيضانات عام 2012 بل كانت تعتبر رائدة في مجال إدارة مخاطر الكوارث الطبيعية في منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية. لكن تلك الخطة أخفقت في تقديم الحماية الفعالة لثلاثة ملايين كولومبي فمنهم من فر بحياته فنزح ومنهم من فضل البقاء فتعرض للأضرار الكبيرة. وقد كشف نطاق النزوح الكبير ذلك ثغرات خطيرة في المنظومة تجسدت تحديداً في عدم إيكال عملية تنفيذ التدابير الحمائية للمجتمعات المحلية وعدم قدرتهم على ذلك أصلاً. [4]

 

الخلاصات

رغم كل الأبحاث والخبرات الواسعة في مجال التدخلات المآوى الفعالية يبقى التحدي الأكبر متمثلاً بإخفاق الحكومات والجهات المانحة والمنظمات غير الحكومية على اتخاذ التدابير الاستباقية من خلال تدخلات المآوى الوقائية. وفي معظم الحالات يُبنى المأوى المقاوم للكوارث بمساعدة التمويلات الإنسانية وذلك فقط بعدما تقع الكارثة. كما أنَّ هامشاً صغيراً من أموال المانحين يخصص للتدابير الاستباقية المستقلة. لكنَّ هذا الاستخدام ليس استخداماً فعالاً للموارد المحدودة كما أنه لا يمنع النزوح على المدى البعيد. فعلى سبيل المثال، غالباً ما يركز بناء المآوى بعد الكارثة على بناء العدد الأكبر من المآوى ضمن أقل مدة ممكنة وغالباً ما يكون ذلك على حساب المجتمع المحلي من حيث الاستشارة والتعليم ورسم الخرائط والتنطيق والسيطرة على الحت والتعرية وكلها عناصر محورية في منع النزوح على المدى البعيد.

على ضوء ما ذُكر، ينبغي للحكومات والجهات المانحة والمنظمات غير الحكومية اتباع ما يلي:

  • تحسين كل من تدخلات المآوي الصلبة والمرنة

 

  • التركيز على تدخلات المآوي التي تشرك المجتمع المحلي من خلال استشارته وتتيح بناء القدرات وحشد المجتمعات المحلية

 

  • تكميل تدخلات المآوى بالاستثمارات في تدابير الحد من الأخطار كالتنفيذ المحلي لمنظومات الإنذار المبكر

 

  • التركيز في المناطق المعرضة للمخاطر على تدخلات المآوى الاستباقية بدلاً من التركيز على الاستجابات الإنسانية الوقتية قصيرة المدى لحاجات المأوى.

 

دافينا وادلي davina.j.wadley@gmail.com باحثة زميلة غير مقيمة في مركز باكون لدراسة النزوح المناخي، منظمة اللاجئين الدولية www.refugeesinternational.org/who-we-are/our-issues/climate-displacement

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Shelter interventions prevent and mitigate displacement

In hazard-prone developing countries, shelter interventions are an important way to prevent or mitigate natural disaster-induced displacement. To be effective, however, they need to be multi-faceted and carried out with the involvement of the communities affected.

Each year millions of people are driven from their homes by natural disasters and often remain displaced because their homes have been damaged or destroyed. The likelihood that climate change will increase the force and frequency of storms, floods and other weather-related events makes the need to improve shelter all the more urgent. Governments, donors and local and international NGOs must focus on a combination of both ‘hard’ and ‘soft’ shelter adaptation and mitigation interventions, and do so in consultation with communities.

Hard interventions refer to physical shelter structures and include strengthening their resilience through repairing or retro-fitting existing structures, and building new disaster-resilient structures.

(Retro-fitting is the process of modifying an existing structure to make it more disaster-resistant. For example, the shelter can be improved by adding bracings and reinforcements to make it better able to withstand earthquakes or strong winds, or by including higher waterproof storage areas to protect belongings from flood damage.)

In some situations, repairing and retro-fitting a shelter will not prevent displacement and, instead, communities will need new, disaster-resistant homes. A good example of this is a flood-resistant shelter design implemented in 2008 by Catholic Relief Services (CRS) in consultation with communities in India’s disaster-prone states of West Bengal and Orissa. The project involved the construction of 157 houses that were elevated above flood-water levels and built using locally available materials like concrete mix and chicken wire which do not wash away in flood waters. All 157 shelters withstood Cyclone Aila in May 2009.[1] The plinth, walls, roof and pillars remained intact, and only the mud daub (which washed away) needed to be replaced.

Repairing, retro-fitting and building new disaster-resilient shelters stop the cycle of displacement in a number of ways. Firstly, disaster-prone areas tend to experience frequent, sometimes annual, disasters. Not only does this cause recurrent displacement but it also creates a cycle of poverty that further prevents people from safeguarding against future displacement. For example, CRS found that displaced flood victims in Orissa were forced to seek substantial loans from local money lenders, which could take a year or more to repay. However, because they were only able to afford cheap, inferior building materials to reconstruct their homes, these households often lost their homes in the next flood.[2] One participant in the project reported that he had lost his house 10-15 times. Secondly, small pilot programmes such as these encourage other community members to build similar shelters, and can promote greater community awareness of disaster adaptation and mitigation practices and strategies.

Soft interventions include mapping, usage zoning, erosion control, drainage, land-use assessments, investments in community shelter management and maintenance programmes, and policy and advocacy regarding land rights and tenure.

For example, projects that assist local governments to map out disaster-prone areas and to implement better zoning and land-use planning can be particularly helpful in preventing displacement by discouraging communities from building homes in identified hazard-prone areas. Such projects should in principle incorporate risk mapping and disaster planning as well. Strengthening land rights and tenure can assist and empower communities to invest in protections against displacement (such as insurance) and encourage communities to better maintain their homes. And investments in community training programmes on the management and maintenance of existing housing – such as repairing roofing and maintaining bracing and joints[3] – is a cost-effective strategy for making shelter more disaster-resilient.[4]

Complementary interventions

If communities are not consulted or involved in the implementation of shelter interventions, such interventions are unlikely to be sustained by the community in the long term. Also, a failure to consult and involve local communities can lead to unrealistic expectations by local communities about the outcome of the shelter intervention and can undermine trust between local communities and NGOs, and hinder future access by NGOs to implement shelter interventions in disaster-prone areas.

Shelter interventions should be accompanied by disaster risk reduction measures such as early warning systems, weather forecasting, and improving water management and flood control through flood defences and protection or restoration of wetlands, mangroves and other natural ecosystems.  

Disaster risk reduction measures will only protect against displacement if they are locally implemented, and if local communities have the capacity to effectively implement such measures. For example, in early 2012 Refugees International travelled to Colombia and interviewed people who were still displaced 15 months after heavy rains and flooding had forced them to flee. Colombia had a disaster risk management plan in place before the flooding started in 2010 and was considered a leader in disaster risk management in the Latin American region. But its plan failed to effectively protect the three million Colombians who were either displaced or otherwise affected by the disaster. The scale of displacement exposed serious flaws in the system – most notably the lack of local implementation and capacity.[5]

Conclusions

Despite extensive research and expertise in effective shelter interventions, the biggest challenge has been the failure of governments, donors and NGOs to proactively undertake preventive shelter interventions. Most often, disaster-resistant shelter is built with humanitarian funding after a disaster and only a small fraction of donor money goes to stand-alone, proactive measures. This is not an effective use of limited resources and it does not prevent displacement in the long term. For example, shelter construction after a disaster is often focused on building the largest number of shelters within the shortest time frame, often at the expense of community consultation, education, mapping, zoning and erosion control, all of which are essential to preventing displacement in the long term.

Given all the above, it is important that governments, donors and NGOs:

  • implement both hard and soft shelter interventions

 

  • focus on shelter interventions which involve community consultation and encourage capacity building and mobilisation of communities

 

  • complement shelter interventions with investments in disaster risk reduction measures, such as local implementation of early warning systems

 

  • focus in hazard-prone areas on proactive shelter interventions rather than on short-term humanitarian responses to shelter needs.

 

Davina Wadley is a Non-Resident Fellow at the Bacon Centre for the Study of Climate Displacement, Refugees International www.refugeesinternational.org/who-we-are/our-issues/climate-displacement

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview