أماكن الصُّمود: إعادة النظر في الحماية

تبْرُزُ المقاربات التعاونية في بناء قدرات النَّازحين داخلياً الحضريِّين والمجتمعات المضيفة الحضرية، من حيث هي وسائل أنْجَعُ من غيرها في التصدِّي للتَّهجير الذي يطول أمده وللتَّهجير الذي يقع مرةً ثانيةً، في المستوطنات غير الرسميَّة في كولومبيا.

يغلب على النُّزوح الداخلي في كولومبيا النَّاجم عن النِّزاع المسلَّح أو عن العنف المُعمَّم، أنْ يتبعه مزيْدُ نزوحٍ إلى المدن حيث تلتمس الأُسَرُ العونَ، والحمايةَ، والفرص الاقتصادية. ونحوٌ من 87% من هؤلاء النَّازحين داخلياً آتونَ من الأرياف، ويبحثون عن المأوى في الأماكن التي لا يستطيعون الوصول إلاّ إليها، وهي المستوطنات غير الرسمية.[1]

"لقد هجَّرتني القوات شبه العسكرية من منطقة السهول الشرقية (Llanos Orientales) إلى تشوكو في عام 2005. وبعد ثلاثة أعوام فررنا إلى المناطق الحضرية في بوينافِنتورا، ثم في عام 2012، لمَّا عمَّ العنف فررنا مرةً أخرى إلى بوغوتا. وفي عام 2012، بدأنا نبني بيتنا على هذا التلِّ، بسبب علوِّ تكلِفَةِ العيش في المدينة." (هذا ما قالته يوميرا، وهي تعيش مع زوجها وأطفالها الثلاثة، في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا، بكولومبيا).

وألتوس ديلا فلوريدا هو حيٌّ من أحياء سواتشا، وهي بلديَّةٌ يبلغ سكَّانها نحواً من مليون نسمة، وهي أكبر من كلِّ المُدُن التي تجاوِرُ بوغوتا. وعند السلطات المحليَّة، أنَّ ثمانياً وأربعين بالمئة من البلديَّة غير قانونيَّةٍ‘. وحتَّى عام 2018، كانت سواتشا تستضيف نحواً من 50 ألفَ نازحٍ داخلياً ولقد زاد أيضاً على عدد المهجَّرين مذ ذاك 12 ألفاً و300 فنزويليٍّ على الأقلِّ، فرُّوا من الأزْمَة التي أصابت بلدهم. ثم إنَّ المساكن والخدمات والبنية التحتية في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا رديئةٌ، فنحوٌ من 73% من أُسَرِهَا -أي 1011 أسرةً، فيهم 3657 فردٍ على التقريب- تعيش في ظروف الفقر الهيكليِّ.

مخالفة الأصول الرسميَّة: سببٌ أصليٌّ للتَّهجير في المناطق الحضرية
عرَّفت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي المجتمع المحليَّ في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا أنَّه مستضعفٌ، وذلك لطبيعة الحيِّ غير الرسميَّة‘. إذ تفتقر الأسر هناك إلى ضمان الحيازة، فلا شيءَ بين أيديهم يُثبِتُ ملكية مساكنهم (ولا شكَّ أنْ وقع في الحيِّ محاولات إخلاء). وافتقار ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا إلى الخدمات الأساسية والبنية التحتية يزيد استضعاف الناس فيه. فلا يحصل على الماء إلا القليل من الناس، ويفتقر نحوٌ من 300 طفلٍ إلى الدخول في روضة الأطفال، وليس في الحيِّ مراكز رعاية صحية. وتحدُّ الطبيعة غير الرسمية لهذا الموقع الحضري ممّا يمكن أن يُفْعَلَ لتقليل مواضع الضعف فيه، وفوق ذلك، يرفض مخططو المدينة السماح بهذه المستوطنة قانوناً، من طريق تصديق المنازل التي قد بُنِيَت، ومن طريق إدراج الحيِّ في تخطيطهم الحضري.

ويُضَافُ إلى مخالفة الأصول الرسميَّة، موقع المستوطنة الذي ليس فيه سلطات محليَّة، وهذا يجعل من المستوطنة هدفاً للجهات الفاعلة المسلحة التي لا تتبع دُوَلاً. ومعدَّل جرائم القتل مرتفعٌ، والعنف في المستوطنة تحدٍّ عظيمٌ. ثمَّ إنَّ عُدْم الإرادة السياسية، ومواضع الضعف البنيوية في المجتمعات المحلية التي في هذه المناطق الحضرية غير الرسمية، وانعدام الأمن فيها، كلُّ هذا، إنَّما يقود إلى مزيدٍ من التَّهجيرٍ الحضريٍّ، في داخل المناطق الحضرية وبينها. إذ يُقْسَرُ النَّازحون داخلياً من المناطق الحضرية على الفرار من المستوطنات غير الرسمية، بسبب العنف الحضري، فلا يجدون أنفسهم إلا في مستوطنةٍ أخرى غير رسميةٍ، وفيها من التهديد الأمني ما يشبه الذي كان في التي قبلها. أي أنَّ المستوطنات غير الرسمية هي أماكن يفرُّ منها الناسٌ من جهةٍ، ويلجأ إليها المهجَّرون من جهةٍ أخرى. وفي حيِّ ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا المُنْفَصلِ اجتماعياً ومكانياً، تقع نسبة النَّازحين داخلياً بين 30% و40% من عدد سكَّانه.

المعونة الدولية: تقويض الصمود
في السنوات الأخيرة، زادت الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني والتنموي وإحلال السلام اهتمامها بالاستجابة في الحالات الحضريَّة. ولكنَّ قِلَّةَ خبرتها في الاستجابة للتحدِّيات الناشئة في المناطق الحضرية، ما تزال تقوِّض التدخُّلات الإنسانية والتنموية، وحول هذا أدرنا بحثنا في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا.[2]

وفي هذه المستوطنة، أدَّت الاستجابة الطارئة المطوَّلة منذ عام 2001 إلى التعويل المُفْرطِ على العون الخارجيِّ. نعم، المساعدة الطارئة ضرورةٌ، ولا سيَّما عند الأسر التي تصل حديثاً، ولكنَّ إتاحةَ المعونة المطوَّلة تأخذ محلَّ المشاركة المجتمعية، وتزيد اتّساع الفجوة بين العمل الإنسانيِّ والتنموي. فقد قُوِّضَ التماسك الاجتماعي، وتُنْقِصُ قِلَّةُ المشاورة وانعدام التنسيق هناك قدرةَ كلِّ تدخُّلٍ على الإتيان بما هو مطلوب. وقد وجدت التقييمات التي سبقت المشروع أنَّ "التعاون الدولي غير كافٍ ولا بدَّ من تدخُّلَ الدولة لتُكمِّلهُ".[3] ولا بدَّ من زيادة التعاون كثيراً بين قطاع العمل الإنساني والسلطات المحليَّة، إن أُرِيدَت معالجة أسباب قلة الاندماج وما تلا ذلك من تهجيرٍ ثانٍ، وهذا يقتضي إرادةً سياسيةً متينةً، محليَّةً ووطنيَّةً.

أماكِنُ الصُّمود: مقاربةٌ حمائيَّةٌ
يجب على الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني والتنموي وإحلال السلام، في المستوطنات الحضرية غير الرسميَّة، أن تعمل بين حدَّي بيئةٍ اجتماعية مُضْعَفَةٍ وقليلة التماسك، وزاد في سوء حالِهَا هذه العنفُ. وفي ذلك تحسينٌ للاستجابات القصيرة الأمد والمقاربات المعزول بعضها عن بعض. إذ إنَّ في الاستجابات التي يكون تكاملها رديءٌ، قدرةً ضعيفةً على معالجة الأزْمَات الحضريَّة المُعقَّدة. فلا بدَّ أن تكون التدخُّلات تعاونيَّةً ومتكاملةً، وينبغي أن تهدف إلى إنقاص مواطن الضعف الطويلة الأمد عند النَّازحين داخلياً والمجتمعات المضيفة على السواء.

وينبغي أن يُلتَزَمَ في المعونة الإنسانية بأن تدعم الناس حتَّى يعيشوا عيشةً كريمةً، بعد أن تدعمهم على البقاء في قيد الحياة. ولقد جيءَ بأماكن الصُّمودفي ضِمْنِ مقاربةٍ تكميليَّةٍ حمائيَّةٍ، إذ جُمِعَ فيها العَوُن والانتعاش، لا بمعالجة الحاجات الماسَّةِ فحسب، بل بذلك وبتقوِيَةِ القدرات المحليَّة. ويجمع الإطار بين مقاربةٍ حمائيَّةٍ تنازليَّة، أي من الأعمِّ إلى الأخصِّ، وبين مقاربةٍ لبناءِ القدرات تصاعديَّةٍ، عن طريق ثلاثة مجالات من التدخُّل: إتاحة فرص في التعليم والاقتصاد والعمل، وتقوية التماسك الاجتماعي، ودّعْم القدرات القيادية. ولقد استعملت مقاربات كهذه في مشاريع مختلفة في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا، فأدَّى ذلك إلى إنشاء مكانَي صمودٍشعبيِّيَن في هذه المستوطنة غير الرسمية: كوميتي دي إمبولسو، وهو اجتماع نِصْف شَهري بين قادة المجتمع المحلي، والسكان، وجمعيات النَّازحين داخلياً، والعاملين في الجال الإنساني، وهناك فلوريدا خوفونيل، وهي منظمة مجتمعيَّة للشباب، أنشأتها جماعات الرَّقْص والمسرح وكرة القدم في الحيِّ.

ويعمل كوميتي دي إمبولسو على بناء التَّآزر بين المنظمات، والمجتمع المحلي، والسلطات، والقطاع العام، لجعل الاستجابة الإنسانية أكثر استدامةً. ثم إنَّ اجتماع القادة المحليِّين في اللجنة، وتمكين المجتمع المحليِّ من معالجة مسائل الحيِّ، هما جزءٌ قائمٌ بنفسه في بناء الصُّمود. وأمَّا منظمة فلوريدا خوفونيل -التي تقول مقاربتها إنَّ الحماية تأتي بالتمكين- فقد نشأت من مبادرةٍ من منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسف)، ولا يزال الدعم يرد عليها من المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، ومن مؤسسة كايرُس، ومن الجمعية اليسوعية لخدمة اللاجئين. وقادة منظمة فلوريدا خوفونيل شبابٌ من الحيِّ، بدؤوا طلاباً مع مجموعة رقصٍ (اسمها فريق 180 "180 Crew" والرقم هو عدد الشباب الذين في المنظمة).[4]

ذلك، وقد بَرَزَ الصُّمود من حيث هو أقوى الاستجابات للصَّدْعِ الذي بين المجال الإنساني والمجال التنموي، ودعوةٌ إلى طريقةٍ عملٍ جديدةٍفي لَأْمِ هذه الصَّدع. ثم إنَّ العمل في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا المشترك بين الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني والمجال التنموي، بالتعاون مع نظرائها المحليِّين والوطنيِّين، إنَّما يَقْصِدُ إلى تقليل احتمال الخطر ومواطن الضعف في الأمد القصير والمتوسط (أي من ثلاث سنوات إلى خمس سنوات). والهمُّ هنا مركوزٌ في ثلاثة معايير، يزداد الاعتراف بها وعدُّها ضرورةً في الاستجابة الحضرية للتَّهجير، وهي: التكامل والقدرة على الاتصال والاستدامة.

وتعمل الجهات الفاعلة الدولي في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا على تقوية النُّظُم المحليَّة والوطنيَّة، لا على إبدالها بغيرها. فلقد سعت إلى التعاون مع مُتِيحي المعونة المحليِّينَ والوطنيِّينَ، وإلى إشراك السلطات المحلية والبلديات في التخطيط والبرمجة، وتعمل هذه الجهات الفاعلة الدولية أيضاً على تمكين قادةٍ للمنظَّمات غير الحكومية المحلية والوطنية وللمنظمات الأهلية، وذلك عن طريق تنمية قدرتهم على القيادة والإدارة والتنسيق، وعن طريق إعانتهم على استعمال أدوات التواصل الاجتماعيِّ بالإنترنت، لكي يناصروا مع السلطات المحليَّة. إذ كلٌّ من الاستدامة والصُّمود معتمدٌ على هذه القدرة على التعاون، ومعتمدٌ أيضاً على تقوية القدرات المحلية والوطنية. وتقوم المقاربة التي في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا على أساسٍ من الصُّمود، مُتَّخذةً إيَّاه وسيلةً للحماية. وهذه الحماية، من بعدُ، إنَّما هي عاملٌ رئيسٌ في معالجة الأسباب الأصليَّة للتَّهجير الحضري.

بابلو كورتِس فِرناندِز pablo.ferrandez@idmc.ch

باحثٌ، في مشروع الاستعداد والصُّمود لمعالجة مواطن الضعف في المناطق الحضريَّة، الذي يتبع برنامج أُفُق 2020؛ وباحثٌ مشاركٌ، في مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي www.internal-displacement.org

 

[1] CNMH (2010) Una nación desplazada. Informe nacional del desplazamiento forzado en Colombia’,  p38 bit.ly/29uyNzv

 (أمة مُهجَّرة. تقريرٌ وطنيٌّ عن التَّهجير في كولومبيا) 

[2] استندت هذه المقالة إلى مشروعِ بحثٍ أجْرِيَ بين عام 2015 و2018 في ألتوس ديلا فلوريدا، واشتمل على 211 دراسةً استقصائيةً للأسر المعيشية، و98 لقاءً مُتعمَّقاً، وثلاث مناقشات توضيحيَّةٍ، وثلاث مناقشات جماعية مُركَّزة. ولقد ورد على المشروع تمويلٌ من برنامج البحث والابتكار الذي يتبع برنامج الاتحاد الأوروبي: أُفُق 2020، عن طريق اتفاقيَّةِ منحةٍ من برنامج ماريا سكلادوسكا-كوري، رقمها 691060.

[3] Econometría Consultores (2016) ‘Evaluación externa del programa “Construyendo Soluciones Sostenibles-TSI”’, Econometria SA, p19

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Resilience spaces: rethinking protection

Collaborative approaches to building capacities of urban IDPs and host communities are emerging as a more effective way of confronting the root causes of protracted and secondary displacement in informal settlements in Colombia.

In Colombia, internal displacement caused by armed conflict or generalised violence is often followed by further displacement towards cities where families seek assistance, protection and economic opportunities. An estimated 87% of these internally displaced people (IDPs) come from rural areas, and they seek shelter in the only places that they can access – informal settlements.[1] 

“I was displaced by paramilitaries from Llanos Orientales to Chocó in 2005. Three years later we fled to the urban areas of Buenaventura and then again in 2012, due to the generalised violence, to Bogotá. In 2014 we started to build our house on this hill because of the cost of living in the city.” (Yomaira, who lives with her husband and three children in Altos de la Florida, Colombia)

Altos de la Florida is a neighbourhood in Soacha, a municipality of approximately one million people, the largest of the cities in the vicinity of Bogotá. Forty-eight per cent of the municipality is considered ‘illegal’ by the local authorities. By July 2018, Soacha was hosting around 50,000 IDPs. The number of displaced people has also been swelled by at least 12,300 Venezuelans who have fled the crisis in their home country. Altos de la Florida has a low quality of housing, services and infrastructure, with some 73% of households – 1,011 families, around 3,657 people – living in conditions of structural poverty.

Informality: a root cause of urban displacement

The UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) and UNDP have identified Altos de la Florida as a vulnerable community due to the ‘informal’ nature of the neighbourhood. Households lack security of tenure, with no official proof of home ownership (and indeed the neighbourhood has faced eviction attempts). The lack of basic services and infrastructure in Altos de la Florida increases people’s vulnerability. Few have access to mains drinking water, around 300 children lack access to a kindergarten, and there are no primary health centres. The informal nature of these urban settings limits what can be done to reduce vulnerabilities, yet the city’s planners refuse to legalise the settlement by approving those homes that have already been built and by incorporating the neighbourhood into their urban planning.

Informality combined with the settlement’s physical location and the absence of local authority presence make it a target for non-state armed actors. Homicide rates are high, and violence is a significant challenge. The lack of political will, the structural vulnerabilities of communities in these informal urban areas and high levels of insecurity lead to new urban displacements, both intra-urban and inter-urban. Urban IDPs are forced to flee the informal settlement due to urban violence only to arrive in another informal settlement with similar protection risks. Informal settlements are thus at the same time places from which people flee and places in which displaced people seek refuge. In socially and spatially segregated Altos de la Florida, IDPs represent 30–40% of the population.

International aid: undermining resilience

In recent years, humanitarian, development and peace actors have increased their interest in responding in urban contexts. However, their lack of experience in responding to challenges arising in urban settings continues to undermine humanitarian and development interventions, and this is what our research in Altos de la Florida investigated.[2]

In the settlement, a protracted emergency response since 2001 has caused over-dependency on external aid. Emergency assistance is essential, particularly for newly arrived families, but protracted provision of aid replaces community participation and increases the gap between humanitarian action and development. Social cohesion is undermined, and the limited consultation and lack of coordination involved reduce the effectiveness of any intervention. Previous project evaluations found that “international cooperation is insufficient and requires the integral intervention of the State”.[3] Far greater collaboration between the humanitarian sector and local authorities is necessary if the causes of lack of integration and ensuing secondary displacement are to be addressed; this requires a strong political will, both locally and nationally.

Resilience spaces: a protection approach

In informal urban settlements, humanitarian, development and peace actors have to work within the limitations of a weakened and less cohesive social environment, exacerbated by violence. This promotes short-term responses and siloed approaches. Poorly integrated responses have limited capacity to address complex urban crises. Interventions must be collaborative and integrated, and should aim to reduce the longer-term vulnerabilities of both IDPs and host communities.

Beyond survival, humanitarian aid should be committed to supporting people to live in dignity. ‘Resilience spaces’ were developed as a complementary approach to protection, combining assistance and recovery not only by addressing urgent needs but also by strengthening local capacities. The framework combines a top-down protection approach with a bottom-up capacity-building approach through three areas of intervention: creating education, economic and labour opportunities; strengthening social cohesion; and supporting leadership capacities. Such an approach has been introduced through various projects in Altos de la Florida, resulting in the creation of two grassroots ‘resilience spaces’ in the informal settlement: Comité de Impulso, a fortnightly meeting between community leaders, residents, IDP associations and humanitarian workers; and Florida Juvenil, a youth community organisation created by the neighbourhood’s breakdance, theatre and football groups.

The Comité de Impulso works to build synergies among organisations, the community, the authorities and the public sector in order to make humanitarian response more sustainable. With local leaders convening the committee and through the community being empowered to deal with neighbourhood issues, it is itself a resilience-building process. Florida Juvenil –whose approach is that protection comes through empowerment – emerged from a UNICEF initiative and continues to be supported by UNHCR (the UN Refugee Agency), Kairós and the Jesuit Refugee Service. Florida Juvenil’s leaders are young people from the neighbourhood who started as students with the breakdance group (called 180 Crew because of the number of young people involved).[4]

Resilience has emerged as one of the strongest responses to the humanitarian and development divide and the call for a ‘New Way of Working’ to bridge this divide. In Altos de la Florida, the joint work of humanitarian and development actors, in collaboration with national and local counterparts, aims to reduce risk and vulnerability in the short to medium term (three to five years). The focus here is on three criteria which are increasingly recognised as essential in urban responses to displacement: complementarity, connectivity and sustainability.

In Altos de la Florida, international actors have been working to strengthen rather than replace local and national systems. They have sought to collaborate with local and national aid providers, and include local authorities and municipalities in planning and programming; they work to empower leaders of both local and national NGOs and community-based organisations by developing their leadership, management and coordination capacity, and by facilitating them to use social networking tools to advocate with local authorities. Sustainability and resilience depend on this ability to collaborate and on the strengthening of local and national capacities. The approach taken in Altos de la Florida is based on the construction of resilience as an instrument of protection. This protection, in turn, represents a key factor in addressing the root causes of urban displacement.

 

Pablo Cortés Ferrández pablo.ferrandez@idmc.ch
Researcher, H2020 PRUV project; Research Associate, Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre www.internal-displacement.org

 

[1] CNMH (2010) Una nación desplazada. Informe nacional del desplazamiento forzado en Colombia’,  p38 bit.ly/29uyNzv  

[2] This article is based on a research project implemented 2015–18 in Altos de la Florida, comprising 211 households surveys, 98 in-depth interviews, three social cartographies, and three focus group discussions. The project received funding from the EU Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 691060.

[3] Econometría Consultores (2016) ‘Evaluación externa del programa “Construyendo Soluciones Sostenibles-TSI”’, Econometría SA, p19

[4] www.youtube.com/watch?v=X116JtL7v_U; www.youtube.com/watch?v=lF5fTRROURE

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview