مشاركة الفتيات النازحات في الحياة الشبابية المحلية

في المواقع التسعة للنازحين في بلدة دونغو في مقاطعة أويلي العليا وحولها في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، تتسم الحياة اليومية بالتعايش السلمي والرغبة المتبادلة لمشاركة الموارد التي قد تكون أحياناً نادرة. ومع أنَّ النازحين والمجتمعات المضيفة يشتركون في بعض الأعراف الثقافية، إضافة إلى اللغة، فيبدو أن المجتمع المضيف لا يرغب بالسماح للنازحين بالاندماج.

تقول الفتيات النازحات أنَّهن يحتككن احتكاكاً طبيعياً بأفراد المجتمع المضيف في المدرسة وفي السوق وفي مناسبات الرقص وفي مباريات كرة القدم وأثناء جلب الماء ومن خلال الأعمال التي يؤدونها لعائلات المجتمع المضيف، ومع ذلك تقول الأغلبية إنهن يجدن رفضاً لهن من المجتمع المضيف نظراً إلى صفة النزوح التي تلزمهن وتتفاقم مشكلة الرفض تلك بالتحيزات التي يمارسها المجتمع الحضري المضيف إزاء الفئة النازحة التي غالباً ما تكون من الريف. ومع أنَّ الفتيات يعشن في بلدة دونغو منذ عامين أو ثلاثة، فلم تحصل أي منهن على صديقات في المجتمع المضيف.

تقول إحدى الفتيات (16 عاماً) "أكره أن أكون نازحة لأن الفتيات الأخريات يميزن ضدي حتى لو كن مثلي ومن فئتي العمرية."

وتعد الفتيات النازحات القاعة الصفية مكاناً حيادياً حيث يُطبق المعيار نفسه على النازحين وعلى أفراد المجتمع المضيف على حد سواء. لكن الفتيات يجدن أنفسهم مضطرات للعمل اليدوي وذلك لسداد الرسوم المدرسية وهذا ما يؤدي إلى وسمهن بصفة سيئة حتى في البيئة المدرسية كما أن معظم أولئك الفتيات يضطررن إلى تعليق الدراسة لمدد طويلة بسبب واقع النزوح وما ينتج عنه من تفقير للأسر النازحة.

وهناك بعض الفتيات النازحات ممن يرغبن في تشكيل الصداقات في المجتمع المضيف، وهناك أخريات ممن أحبطتهن مثل تلك التجربة وفضلن البقاء مع صديقاتهن في مجتمع النازحين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، غالباً ما يمنع الآباء والأمهات بناتهن من مشاهدة الأولاد والبنات في المجتمع المضيف خشية أن ينقل شباب "المدينة" إلى فتياتهم الأخلاق السيئة التي قد تصل إلى البغاء.

هناك حاجة إلى إقامة حوار أكبر، بادئ ذي بدئ، بين وجهاء كل من النازحين والمجتمع المضيف لمناهضة الوسم والتحيز، ومثل هذا الحوار قد يدعمه النشاطات المشتركة كالفرق الرياضية المشتركة بين النازحين والمجتمع المضيف والفعاليات المسرحية والفرق الموسيقية المشتركة.

 

نيكلاس ستورب أغيراب niklas.agerup@drc.dk مدير المشروعات لدى المجلس النرويجي للاجئين في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية www.drc.dk

جميع الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال تعبر عن رأي الكاتب الشخصي وليس بالضرورة آراء المجلس النرويجي للاجئين.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Displaced girls’ participation in local youth life

Daily life in the nine spontaneous IDP sites in and around the town of Dungu in Haut Uélé District in DRC is characterised by peaceful co-existence and a mutual willingness to share the sometimes scarce resources. But although the IDPs and the host communities have related cultural practices and a shared language, the host community seems unwilling to allow the IDPs to integrate.

IDP girls explain that they naturally have contact with host-community contemporaries at school, in the market, at dances or football matches, when drawing water, and through manual labour performed for families in the host community. Nonetheless, a majority describe being dismissed because of their IDP status, which is aggravated by prejudices of the more urban host community against the mainly rural displaced population. Despite having lived in Dungu town for two to three years, none of the girls has friends in the host community.  

“I resent being a displaced girl because I am discriminated against by other girls, even though they are like me and of the same age as me.”16-year-old girl

IDP girls consider the classroom as a neutral space where they are judged against the same standard as the host community students. But the need for IDP girls to engage in manual labour to pay school fees stigmatises them even in the school environment and most of them have at some time had to suspend their schooling for long periods because of displacement and subsequent impoverishment.

Some of the IDP girls wish to make friends in the host community; others are discouraged by their experiences and prefer to stay amongst their friends in the IDP community. In addition, the IDP girls’ parents often prohibit them from seeing host community boys and girls, fearing that the girls will learn bad manners, and even prostitution, from the ‘city’ youth.

Greater dialogue is needed from the outset between displaced and host community leaders to avoid stigmatisation and prejudice; this could be backed up by joint activities such as mixed IDP-host community sports teams, theatrical productions and concerts.

 

Niklas Stoerup Agerup niklas.agerup@drc.dk is a Project Manager with the Danish Refugee Council in DR Congo www.drc.dk

 

This article is written in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views of the Danish Refugee Council.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview