مساعدة اللاجئين اليافعين على تجنب وقوعهم ضحية لترتيبات المعيشة الاستغلالية

في البيئة الحضرية، تمثل العلاقة بين اللاجئ اليافع غير المصحوب ببالغين مع عائلته المضيفة عنصراً حاسماً والذي غالباً ما يُحدث فرقاً بين حياة تمنحه الحماية وحياة تجعله ضحية للاستغلال.

بعد أن يصل اللاجئ اليافع غير المصحوب ببالغين إلى بلد اللجوء الأول يتعين عليه، كما الحال مع باقي اللاجئين، البحث عن مكان آمن للبقاء فيه. وبالنسبة للاجئين اليافعين، تتخذ عملية البحث عن مأوى في البيئة الحضرية أهمية قصوى وذلك يعني في الغالب تحديد أحد يرغب في استضافة ذلك اللاجئ. وكثير من اللاجئين اليافعين يعثرون على المضيفين عبر القنوات غير الرسمية وأحياناً يكون ذلك بمجرد التجوال في الشوارع وإيقاف الناس وطلب المساعدة منهم.

وفي نيروبي، تتمثل الطريقة الأكثر شيوعاً في الترتيبات الخاصة باللاجئين اليافعين غير المصحوبين ببالغين في عملهم لدى العائلة المضيفة لقاء المأوى، وهذا النوع من الاستعالة غالباً ما يقود إلى العمل لساعات طوال وفقدان قدرة اللاجئ اليافع على التفاوض حول المعاشات وأوقات الراحة. وفي كينيا، ينظم قانون العمل لعام 2007 العمل بما فيه عمالة الأطفال، ومع ذلك، وحيث إنَّ معظم العمل الذي يؤديه اللاجئون يقع في القطاع غير الرسمي، فإنَّ ذلك العمل يكاد لا يخضع لأي تنظيم بالقانون، ما يترك اليافعين غير قادرين على الوصول الفعال إلى أي حماية قانونية. ومن هنا فإنَّ طبيعة عمل اللاجئين اليافعين المستورة خلف الأبواب المغلقة وخارج نطاق تنظيم القانون وعدم قدرتهم على الحصول على الحماية القانونية في بلاد اللجوء وعدم وجود أي من أقربائهم البالغين هناك لحمايتهم أو لمساعدتهم في الحصول على تعويض إزاء انتهاكات الغير بحقوقهم تجعل هؤلاء اليافعين غير المصاحبين ببالغين العاملين في الخدمة المنزلية ضعفاء ومعرضين  للوقوع ضحايا لاستغلال العمل بل إلى العنف الجسدي والجنسي أيضاً. وخلال حلقات نقاش مجموعات التركيز التي عقدتها منظمة ريفيوج بوينت، تبين أنَّ 30% من اليافعين قد أبلغوا عن أنهم لم يُسجلوا لدى مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين وأن ذلك في كثير من الحالات كان نتيجة عدم سماح "أصحاب عملهم" لهم بمغادرة العمل لفعل ذلك.

أما العمل الذي يؤديه هؤلاء اليافعون فغالباً ما يكون في العمل المنزلي في البيوت وغالباً ما تشكل الفتيات واليافعات السواد الأعظم من تلك الفئة، أما اللاجئين من الفتيان، فيشتكون من أنه من الصعب عليهم أن يجدوا المأوى في تلك البيوت نظراً لندرة فرص "العمل" المتاحة أمامهم مقارنة باللاجئات الفتيات اللواتي يقول الفتيان عنهن "إنهن دائماً ما يجدن العمل في الخدمة المنزلية".

يشير البحث الذي أعددناه إلى أن 80% من الفتيات والأولاد العاملين في الخدمة المنزلية لا يتلقون أي مال من "أصحاب عملهم" فهم يعملون لقاء المأوى فقط، وغالباً ما يفترشون أرض المطبخ للنوم ويأكلون بمعزل عن بقية أفراد الأسرة بل غالباً ما لا يحصلون إلا على فضلات الطعام. وبعضهم كفتى يدعى "قدير"[1] وهو غلام إثيوبي  يبلغ السادسة عشر من عمره فيعمل كل يوم من أيام الأسبوع لقاء الطعام فقط. ويقول "أغسل الملابس وأحضر الماء وأطبخ وأنظف الحمام. أعمل من الصباح الباكر حتى المساء. ولا يدفعون لي شيئاً إلا الطعام. وإن لم اعمل فلن آكل." وفي الليل، يضيف قائلاً "أبحث عن مكان لأنام فيه" وغالباً ما ينام في الشارع.

هناك لاجئون يافعون آخرون لا يعملون مقابل المأوى، فبعض الذكور اليافعين وعدد أقل منهم من اليافعات يعملون في المتاجر والمطاعم ومحلات الخياطة وصالونات الحلاقة وتتعدد مهام عملهم وتتضمن التنظيف وجلب الماء وقضاء الحاجات وغسل الصحون، وعادة ما يكون عملهم هذا مقابل حصولهم على إذن في النوم في مكان العمل نفسه.

وقد تعرض كثير من العمال اللاجئين اليافعين إلى بعض أنواع العنف الجسدي على يد "أصحاب عملهم". تقول فتاة صومالية عمرها 16 عاماً إنها تعرضت لحرق جانب وجهها بملعقة سُخِّنت على النار لتلك الغاية، كما أن غيرها من الفتيات تعرضن للتحرش الجنسي والاعتداء والاغتصاب والشروع بالاغتصاب على يد الرجال والأولاد في العائلات المضيفة التي تعملن وتعشن لديهم. تقول اللاجئة الصومالية زينت (15 عاماً) إنَّ "الأولاد في العائلة اعتادوا على ترويعي عند غياب أمهم خارج البيت بل حاولوا اغتصابي عدة مرات."

أما بالنسبة للفتيات اللواتي تعرضن للاغتصاب من قبل "أصحاب عملهن" فغالباً ما يُطردن خارج البيت عند اكتشاف حملهن. وهذا ما حدث مع فتاة اغتصبت وأصبحت حاملاً فاتهمها المضيف بأنها كانت عاهرة وطردها من بيته وحتى الكنيسة التي كانت تدعمها تخلت عنها على أساس أنها فاسدة من الناحية الأخلاقية نظراً لأنها أنجبت طفلاً خارج إطار العلاقة الزوجية.

فرص التفاعل والدعم

مع أنَّ الوكالات العاملة في نيروبي تتفق على أنَّ كثيراً من أوضاع الاستضافة أبعد من أن تكون مناسبة فإنَّ قدرات تلك الوكالات مقيدة بشح الموارد اللازمة لمساعدة اللاجئين في المناطق الحضرية إلى درجة تجعلها مجبرة على قبول تلك الأوضاع كما يقبل بها كثير من اللاجئين اليافعين على اعتبار أنَّ وضع الاستضافة السلبي حتى لو كان يتضمن العمالة الاستغلالية يبقى أفضل من عدم توافر الاستضافة على الإطلاق.

ومثال ذلك عمر (16 عاماً) وهو صومالي غير مصحوب ببالغين حدد مستضيفه قبل أن يتسجل لدى مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في أوائل عام 2010. وقد أُخذت إحدى العائلات عمر إلى متجر للخياطة بعد أن رأته يتسول خارج المسجد. ويعمل عمر هناك في النهار في متجر العائلة في جميع أيام الأسبوع ولقاء عمله يحصل على فضلات الطعام. أما في الليل فيبقى في المتجر بعد أن يعود أفراد العائلة إلى بيتهم. ومع ذلك، لم تتمكن أي وكالة من تقديم المأوى البديل له ما جعله يستنتج أن وجوده مع تلك العائلة أفضل من عدم ذلك.

أصبح اللاجئون اليافعون من أمثال عمر أكثر استضعافاً مباشرة بعد وصولهم إلى منطقة حضرية خاصة إذا كانوا بمفردهم. فالعثور على المأوى أمر في غاية الأهمية إلى الدرجة التي تجعل كثيراً منهم يشعر بأنه مجبر على أن يقبل دون أي تردد أي بيت كان يؤويه. ومن هنا لابد من تنسيق الجهود بين فرق برامج المفوضية المختلفة والوكالات العاملة في مجتمعات اللجوء في نيروبي لغاية تحديد اللاجئين اليافعين المستضعفين بأسرع وقت ممكن وتعقبهم من أجل تقديم الحلول المناسبة لهم. وبما أنَّ كثيراً من اللاجئين اليافعين الأكثر استضعافاً غير أحرار أو غير قادرين على الذهاب إلى مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين ليتسجلوا بها فإنَّ الضرورة القصوى تستدعي من الوكالات العاملة في المجتمعات التي يعيش فيها اللاجئون إلى السعي الاستباقي لتحديد الأكثر تعرضاً للخطر من هؤلاء اللاجئين وإحالتهم إلى المفوضية.

كما ينبغي لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين والوكالات الشريكة استغلال الفرص المتعددة المتاحة لديها لرصد وضع اللاجئين اليافعين بدءاً بمرحلة التسجيل لديها ومروراً بمقابلات تحديد صفة اللجوء والتدخلات الحمائية اللاحقة. ومن المهم على وجه الخصوص تحديد القاصرين غير المصحوبين ببالغين في أقرب وقت ممكن في تلك العملية بحيث يمكن إجراء عملية تحديد المصالح الأفضل[2] لتحديد التدخلات الأكثر ملاءمة لهم ولمساعدتهم على الوصول إلى الخدمات التي يحتاجونها للبقاء. مثل هذه التفاعلات مع اللاجئين الواصلين حديثاً ينبغي أن يُنظر إليها على أنها فرص لتحديد الأفراد من الفئات المحددة المستضعفة قبل أن يصبح استضعافهم أمراً مزمناً يقوض نهائياً فرص اللاجئين من حقهم في حياة مستقرة.

كلير بيستون باحثة سابقة في ريفيوج بوينت، ومارتن أندرسون anderson@refugepoint.org مسؤول العمليات في ريفيوج بوينت www.refugepoint.org

 

كما شارك كل من ماي ليان تجاي وغابريال جيل أوسترن ومنال ستولغايتس بكتابة تقرير أشمل يغطي هذه التحديات وتحديات أخرى يواجهها اللاجئون اليافعون في نيروبي. للحصول على نسخة من ذلك التقرير، يرجى التواصل مع مارتن أندرسون.

 



[1] تم تغيير جميع الأسماء في هذه المقالة.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Helping young refugees avoid exploitative living arrangements

In an urban environment, the relationship between an unaccompanied young refugee and his or her host family is critical, often making the difference between a life of protection and one of exploitation.

Upon arrival in a country of first asylum, unaccompanied refugee youth, like most refugees, must immediately find a safe place to stay. For young refugees, the urgency to find shelter in an urban environment often means locating someone willing to host them. Many youth find hosts informally, sometimes just by walking the streets and stopping people to ask for assistance.

In Nairobi the most common arrangement for unaccompanied young refugees involves them working for a host family in exchange for shelter. The dependency of these young people on their hosts means they are likely to work long hours and to be unable to negotiate salaries and rest time. In Kenya, labour – including child labour – is regulated by the Employment Act of 2007. However, since the majority of work done by refugees is informal, it is largely unregulated and thus beyond the effective reach of any legal protection. The nature of young refugees’ work behind closed doors and outside any regulatory regime, their lack of legal protection in the country, and the lack of adult relatives to protect them or seek retribution for abuse makes unaccompanied young domestic workers highly vulnerable to labour exploitation, and even physical or sexual violence. During focus group discussions conducted by RefugePoint, 30% of youth reported that they had not registered with UNHCR, many because their ‘employers’ would not let them off work to do so.

The work most frequently takes the form of domestic labour in private homes and is done predominantly by young women and girls. In fact, refugee boys complain that it is difficult for them to find shelter because there are so few ‘employment’ opportunities for them, whereas refugee girls “can always find work as house girls”.

According to our research, 80% of house girls and boys receive no money from their ‘employers’. They work in return for shelter, typically sleeping on the floor of the kitchen and eating separately from the rest of the family, often eating only the family’s leftovers. Some, like Kadir,[1] a 16-year-old boy from Ethiopia, work all day every day of the week in return for food only. “I wash the clothes, fetch water, cook and clean the bathroom. I work from morning till evening. They pay me only with food. If I don’t work, I don’t eat.” At night he has to “look for somewhere to sleep” and he usually sleeps on the street.

Some young refugees do other work in return for shelter. Some male youth, and a smaller number of female youth, work in shops, restaurants, tailors, salons and barbershops; they clean, fetch water, run errands and do the dishes. Typically, the work is in exchange for permission to sleep in the place of business itself.

Many young refugee workers have experienced some form of physical violence from their ‘employer’. One 16-year-old Somali girl was burned on the side of her face with a spoon that had been heated for that purpose. Young refugees working as house girls are frequently subjected to sexual harassment, assault, rape and attempted rape by the men and boys of the family they work for and live with. Zainab, a 15-year-old Somali, explains that “the boys of the family used to scare me when the mother was out of the house; they tried to rape me many times.”

Often, house girls who have been raped by their ‘employers’ are then thrown out when found to be pregnant. One girl who became pregnant as a result of rape was then accused by her host of being a prostitute and evicted from her home. The church that had been supporting the girl also withdrew its support, on the basis that the girl was immoral for having had a child out of wedlock.

Opportunities for interaction – and support

Though agencies working in Nairobi agree that many host situations are far from suitable, their ability to take action is constrained by a severe lack of resources to assist refugees in urban areas; they are sometimes forced to accept, just as many young refugees do, that a negative host situation, even one involving exploitative labour, is better than no host at all.

For example, Omar, a 16-year-old unaccompanied Somali boy, had identified a host before he went to register with UNHCR in early 2010. Omar was taken in by a family with a tailoring shop who had found him begging outside the mosque. He works all day in the family’s shop, every day of the week. In exchange he is allowed to sleep in the shop and is given the family’s leftover food to eat. At night he stays in the shop while the family returns to their home. According to Omar, a number of agencies in Nairobi are aware of his living situation. However, none of the agencies has been able to offer him alternative shelter, leaving him to conclude that they believe he is better off with the family than without.

Young refugees like Omar are at their most vulnerable immediately after their arrival in an urban area, especially if they are alone. Finding shelter is so critical that many feel compelled to quickly accept whatever home they can find. Effective coordination is needed between UNHCR’s various programme teams and agencies working in Nairobi’s refugee communities in order to identify vulnerable young refugees as quickly as possible and fast-track them for appropriate solutions. Because many of the most vulnerable young refugees are not free or able to travel to UNHCR to register themselves, it is critical that agencies working in the communities where refugees are living proactively seek to identify those at risk and refer them to UNHCR.

UNHCR and partner agencies should take advantage of the several opportunities they have to monitor a young refugee’s situation, starting at the point of registration and typically proceeding through Refugee Status Determination interviews and several subsequent protection interventions. It is especially important that unaccompanied minors are identified as early as possible in the process so that Best Interests Determinations[2] can be conducted to identify the most appropriate interventions for them and help them access the services they need to survive. These early interactions with newly arrived refugees should be seen as opportunities to identify individuals with particular vulnerabilities before those vulnerabilities are allowed to become chronic, permanently undermining refugees’ chances for stabilising their lives.

 

Claire Beston was previously a researcher at RefugePoint and Martin Anderson anderson@refugepoint.org is Operations Officer at RefugePoint www.refugepoint.org

Mei Lian Tjia, Gabriel Gill-Austern, and Manal Stulgaitis also contributed to a longer report covering these and other challenges faced by young refugees in Nairobi. For a copy of the report, please contact Martin Anderson.



[1] All names have been changed.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview