الضغوط غير الملموسة في جامو وكشمير

 

للتاريخ والتراث والشك أثر على تجربة أن يكون الإنسان ذكراً يافعاً أو شاباً ونازحاً في جامو وكشمير.

 

ترزح ولاية جامو وكشمير التي يديرها الجانب الهندي منذ عام 1989 في صراع بين الدولة الهندية والحركة الوطنية التي تسعى إلى استقلال كشمير. ومن بين ضحايا هذا الصراع، يُقدر عدد البانديت الكشميريين، وهم الأقلية الهندوسية في كشمير، ممن هُجّروا من منازلهم في بداية الصراع، بما بين 140000 و160000 نازحاً. ومنذ عام 1990، أُرغم هؤلاء الأشخاص على الانتقال إلى جامو في الجزء الجنوبي من الولاية ومن ثمَّ إلى أجزاء مختلفة من الهند. ويعيش قدر لا بأس به من الأقلية في المخيمات التي أصبحت جزءاً من المشهد الحضري لمدينة جامو وضواحيها خلال العقدين الماضيين.

وتوفر الدولة الهندية المساعدة للبانديت بوصفهم مواطنين هنود، على الرغم من أن المصطلح الرسمي المستخدم للدلالة على الأشخاص النازحين في المنطقة هو "مهاجر". وقد كان هناك القليل نسبياً من الاعتبار للقضايا المتعلقة بالشباب في المجتمع. وبالنسبة للرفقاء الأكبر سناً من الشباب الذكور، فقد تؤثر الصعوبات الخاصة بتأمين وسائل إعالة أسرهم على إحساسهم بقيمتهم الذاتية، في حين يعاني الصبية المراهقون من ضغط المطالب التي تمليها عليهم الأسر والأقران والمؤسسات السياسية ومواقعهم.

عبء الطموحات

تاريخياً، ارتبط البانديت الكشميريون بالسلطة في المنطقة، فقد كانوا من أبرز مالكي الأراضي في الماضي، إلى جانب عملهم في الوظائف البيروقراطية في الولاية خلال الفترات ما قبل الاستعمارية والاستعمارية وما بعد الاستعمارية في التاريخ جنوب الآسيوي. كما يشترك البانديت الكشميريون مع غيرهم بتاريخ طويل للهجرة من كشمير إلى مناطق متفرقة من الهند، ما يساهم في رسم صورة للبانديت كمجتمع من الصفوة ذات النفوذ والمرتبطة بمهن الطبقة المتوسطة في كشمير وخارجها. وتعكس الصورة النمطية للكشميري البانديتي صفات عدة منها أن يكون المرء  مثقفاً وعلى درجة كبيرة من التهذيب ومشاركاً في المهن مثل المناصب البيروقراطية والتعليم والوظائف الأخرى التي يشغلها أبناء الطبقة الوسطى في المجتمع. أما العمل الذي يتطلب جهداً بدنياً فهو غير مرغوب من قِبل البانديت.

وينتشر بين اليافعين الكشميريين البانديت صورة تمتعهم بمستوى معين من المعيشة قبل النزوح. فهناك إحساس قوي بين اليافعين الذكور بشكل خاص بأنَّ الأكبر سناً منهم قد تمتعوا بدرجة معينة من الحياة الكاملة، وأنهم كانوا يمتلكون العقارات وأنهم حظوا بمزايا التعليم المتواصل والحصول على الوظائف المضمونة.

لكن النزوح قد أخلّ بتلك الخطة الحياتية. وينطبق ذلك بصورة خاصة على اليافعين الذكور في المراحل المتأخرة من المراهقة والمبكرة من البلوغ، ممن ينتمون إلى الأسر التي أضر بها النزوح بشدة. ويوجد كثير منهم في المخيمات عاجزين عن إنهاء تعليمهم المدرسي أو ممن حصلوا على تعليم كامل لكنهم غير قادرين على الالتحاق بالجامعة والدورات المهنية. ونتيجة لذلك، يتضح الحجم الكبير للهوة الفاصلة بين ظروفهم المباشرة والحقائق التي يعيشونها على أرض الواقع من جهة وطموحاتهم من جهة أخرى.

فهذا سونيل الذي تربى في المخيم في جامو كان قد تلقى تدريباً في مطبعة بعد إكماله تعليمه. وكان سونيل فخوراً بعمله، لكنه مدرك بالصورة التي قد ينظر بها الآخرون له:

"لم ألتحق بالجامعة ولم أتلق تعليماً، لكنني تدربت على "العمل الفني"، وكان عليّ أن أتعلم كيفية القيام بهذا العمل. أما أقراني فكانوا يشعرون بالخزي لأدائهم هذا العمل. إنهم يشعرون بالخزي لقيامهم بالأعمال البدنية."

وفي حين ينظر البعض إلى سونيل على أنه شخص تولى زمام أموره الحياتية، فإنه غاضب، إذ ليس بإمكانه إنجاز هذه المثل من طموحه الدائم بأن يكون بانديتي كشميري.

الصراع الأخلاقي

تتخذ مشكلة الطموحات منحى جنسانياً. وقد يوجه الوالدان انتقاداً لأبنائهم، خاصة الأولاد، لعدم إعالتهم الأسرة إما بالعمل أو إكمال دراستهم. وتباعاً، يوجّه الرجال، خاصة من هم في العشرينات من عمرهم ممن كانوا أطفالاً صغاراً وقت نزوحهم، النقد إلى آبائهم لاتخاذهم القرار بإعادة التوطين في بعض المدن مثل جامو التي تنقصها الفرص. وهناك في جامو إحساس مسيطر على المخيم كمكان سلبي وبعيد عن المنازل التي خلّفوها وراءهم. وعلاوة على ذلك، تخيم هذه الصورة للمخيم كمكان سلبي على ساكنيه. ويتحدث كثير من الأشخاص المحليين، بمن فيهم الموظفون الحكوميون عن البانديت المقيمين في المخيمات ويصفونهم بأنهم اشخاص كثيرو المطالب وغير جديرين بالثقة وقد يسيئون السلوك في بعض الأحيان. وغالباً ما يتلقى الصبية المراهقون والشباب العاطلون عن العمل لأكبر الانتقادات. وغالباً ما يُنظر إلى مجموعات الصبية المتمهلة في مشيها عبر المخيم أو اليافعين الجالسين في نواصي الطرقات على أنهم أمثلة للسلوك السيء، كما أنهم متهمون بإضاعة وقتهم ومضايقة النساء. إلأ أنه يمكن رؤية هذا السلوك في أي مجتمع متوطّن في أي جزء من العالم، وكثيراً ما يكون هناك مبالغات في التقارير. على أي حال، يؤكد بعض الصبية المراهقين على أنه لا يوجد شيء كثير ليعملوه.

هناك خطر في أن تجد هذه المخاوف طريقها إلى وجدان اليافعين والشباب النازحين الذين قد يبدأوا في تكوين صورة سلبية عن ذاتهم. وغالباً ما يتحدث العديد من الشباب حول الآثار السلبية للنزوح من خلال الإشارة إلى الأطفال سيئي السلوك. وأكد كثير من الرجال الأكبر سناً على أنهم في الصغر تلقوا تربية معتدلة ومراعية للآداب وتعلموا تفادي أي شكل من أشكال النزاع. لكن بالنسبة لكثير من اليافعين البانديت الذي تربوا ونضجوا في المنفى، تبدأ قيمة مختلفة في الظهور. وقد أصر أحد اليافعين على أنهم أكثر تعبيراً في الغطب وذلك على العكس من والديهم. وربما يُرى ذلك من الناحية السياسية، حيث ينتقد الناشطون البانديت الدولة الهندية على خيانتها لهم، رغم تأكيدهم على أنهم مواطنون أوفياء ومساندون للهند، على العكس من الكشميريين الموجودين في الوادي الذين يطالبون بالاستقلال عن الهند.

وما بين عامي 2008 و2011، أُغلقت مخيمات البانديت الكشميريين في جامو تدريجياً، مع إيواء سكانها في مستعمرة سكنية جديدة ومنفردة على حدود المدينة. وعلى العكس من المساكن ذات الغرفة الواحدة في المخيمات القديمة، تتألف المستعمرة الجديدة من مبانٍ شققية من ثلاثة طوابق. وتعد المستعمرة الجديدة تحسيناً في الظروف، وسيكون من المثير للاهتمام رؤية التغييرات التي ستطرأ على عوامل التغيير الشبابية. غير أن الضغوط الحالية باقية. فهذا روهان، وهو يافع انتقل مؤقتاً إلى مدينة جنوبية كبيرة، وأراد لفترة طويلة أن يغادر حدود جامو وأن يحقق طموحاته وآماله في حياة أفضل. وعندما أعلنت حكومة جامو وكشمير عن حزمة وظائف للبانديت الكشميريين النازحين في القطاع الحكومي، أصرت أسرته على أن يعود إلى جامو وأن يتقدم بطلب للحصول على منصب يوفر له الأمن الوظيفي في وقت الصعوبات الاقتصادية. وتؤثر هذه الضغوط على قدرة اليافعين البانديت على إعادة نسج حياتهم.

ويتضح شعور الحنين للماضي في الحياة اليومية بكل الصور. فبالنسبة للعديد من شباب البانديت، خاصة من يمثلون القطاع الأفقر من المجتمع، غالباً ما تصعّب مشكلات البطالة على الشباب التفكير في الزواج وأن يصبحوا أرباباً لأسر يعيلونها ويساعدونها على تحقيق مستوى معيشي معين. ويستطيع بعض الشباب من البانديت الهروب من ذلك الواقع عن طريق الالتحاق بالجامعة، ثم يمكنهم بعد ذلك البحث عن عمل في القطاعات جيدة الأجور نسبياً في قطاعات الاقتصاد. لكن قد يكون لذلك أثر على علاقات الأقران وتكوين الصداقات، مما ينجم عنه حدوث صدع بين شباب البانديت ممن يستطيعون ضمان مستقبل أفضل نسبياً ومن يتخلفون. وهذا يعكس خطاباً أكبر فيما بين البانديت النازحين، ففي حين يصرون على وجود حس مجتمعي، يُترك أغلب الأشخاص وحدهم لحماية أنفسهم مع قلة مقدار المساعدة الذي يمكن لهم توقع منحه أو تلقيه من الآخرين.

أما الشباب الذين عاشوا في المخيمات وتزوجوا فيشتكون من أنهم متأثرون بمحدودية المكان، حيث انحصر السكن الخاص بالبانديت الكشميريين النازحين في المخيمات على المساكن ذات الغرف الواحدة، ويقدر مساحة السكن الواحد 9 أقدام في 14 قدماً، والتي تُخصص لأسرة واحدة، دون النظر إلى حجم الأسرة. وتفرض هذه القيود المكانية ضغوطاً جسيمة على قيم الحياة المنزلية والخصوصية وعلى العلاقات الزوجية. ولم يتحدث الشباب عن أثر هذه الضغوط على إحساسهم بالرفاه البدني والعاطفي، أما الأـكبر سناً من الرجال فيشكون من أن انعدام الخصوصية يساهم في "إفساد" شباب الأسرة، مما يؤدي إلى نشوب مزيد من الصراعات بين اليافعين والأكبر منهم سناً.

أنكور داتا ankur@csds.in هو عالم إنسانيات وزميل مشارك زائر بمركز دراسة المجتمعات النامية، نيو دلهي، الهند. وتم تسهيل العمل الميداني الذي يستند إليه هذا المقال من خلال منحة الصندوق المركزي للبحوث، جامعة لندن.

استُخدمت الأسماء المستعارة لحماية هوية الأشخاص المذكورين في المقالة.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Intangible pressures in Jammu and Kashmir

History, inheritance and uncertainty affect the experience of being male, young and displaced in Jammu and Kashmir.

Since 1989, the Indian-administered state of Jammu and Kashmir has been embroiled in a conflict between the Indian state and a nationalist movement that seeks the independence of Kashmir. Among the casualties of this conflict, it is estimated that 140,000 to 160,000 Kashmiri Pandits, the Hindu minority of Kashmir, were displaced from their homes at the beginning of the conflict. Since 1990 these people have been forced to relocate to Jammu in the southern part of the state and eventually to different parts of India. A significant minority live in camps which have become part of the urban landscape of Jammu city and environs in the past two decades.

The Pandits are provided assistance by the Indian state as Indian citizens, though the official term for displaced persons in the regions is ‘migrant’. There has been relatively little consideration of issues pertaining to youth in the community. For an older cohort of male youth, difficulties in securing the means of providing for their families may impinge on their sense of self-worth, while teenage boys suffer from the pressure of demands placed upon them by families, peers, political institutions and their location.

The burden of aspirations

The Kashmiri Pandits have historically been associated with power in the region, having been prominent landowners in the past and employed in state bureaucracies in the pre-colonial, colonial and post-colonial periods of South Asian history. The Kashmiri Pandits also share a long history of migration from Kashmir to different parts of India, contributing to an image of the Pandits as a community of influential élites associated with middle-class professions in and outside Kashmir. To be a Kashmiri Pandit is to be educated, well mannered and engaged in professions such as the bureaucracy, teaching and other middle-class occupations. Work involving physical labour is seen as undesirable by Pandits.

The image of having enjoyed a certain quality of life before displacement circulates among Kashmiri Pandit youth. There is a strong sense among male youth in particular that their elders had enjoyed some measure of a full life, owning property, enjoying the benefits of uninterrupted education and access to secure professions.

Displacement, however, has upset this life-plan. This applies especially to male youth in late adolescence and early adulthood who belong to families hit severely by displacement. Many are to be found in camps, unable to finish their schooling or, having completed school, unable to attend university and professional courses. As a result the gulf between their immediate circumstances and realities and their aspirations is considerable.

Sunil, who grew up in a camp in Jammu, had been apprenticed at a printing press following the completion of his schooling. He was proud of his work and yet aware of the way it might be seen by others:

“I didn’t go to college. I am uneducated. But I got into ‘technical work’. I had to learn how to do this work. But the guys of my age feel ashamed to do this work…They all feel ashamed to do physical work.”

While some would see Sunil as someone who has taken charge of his life, he is angry that he can never achieve those ideals that he had aspired to as a Kashmiri Pandit.  

Moral conflict

The problem of aspirations takes a gendered turn. Parents may criticise their children – particularly their sons – for not providing for the family either by working or completing their studies. In turn, men, especially in their twenties who were very young children when displaced, are critical of their fathers for deciding to re-locate to a city such as Jammu which lacks opportunities. In Jammu, there is an overwhelming sense of the camp as a negative space and a far cry from the homes they have left behind. Moreover, this image of the camp as a negative place also taints its inhabitants. Many local people, including state officials, speak of Pandits living in the camps as demanding, untrustworthy and prone to occasional misbehaviour. Teenage boys and young unemployed men are often subject to the greatest criticism. Groups of boys ambling through the camp or young men sitting by a corner are perceived as examples of bad behaviour, accused of idling away their time and harassing women. However, such behaviour can be seen in any settled community in any part of the world and reports are often exaggerations. In any case, some of the teenage boys would emphasise that there is very little for them to do.

These concerns risk being internalised by displaced youth who may begin to see themselves in negative terms. Many young men often speak of the ill effects of displacement by pointing to misbehaving children. Many older men emphasised that they were raised to be mild, observant of etiquette and to avoid any kind of conflict. However, for many younger Pandit men who have grown up and have come of age in exile, a different value begins to emerge. One youth insisted that, unlike their fathers, they will be more expressive in their anger. This perhaps can be seen on the political front where Pandit activists - who emphasise that they are loyal citizens and supporters of India, unlike Kashmiris in the valley who demand independence from India – criticise the Indian state for having betrayed them.

A sense of the past plays out in everyday life in other ways. For many Pandit youth, particularly those who constitute the poorer section of the community, problems of unemployment often make it difficult for young men to contemplate marriage and become householders who can support families to achieve a certain quality of life. Some young Pandits are able to escape by going to university and may then seek employment in relatively well-paid sectors in the economy. But this may affect peer relations and friendships, resulting in a divide between Pandit youth who are able to secure a relatively better future and those who remain left behind. This is reflective of a larger discourse among displaced Pandits; while they insist that a sense of community exists, most people are left to fend for themselves and there is little help they can expect to give to or receive from others.

Young men who have lived in the camps and have married complain that they are affected by restricted space. The accommodation in the camps for displaced Kashmiri Pandits was the basic ‘One Room Tenement’, a space 9 feet by 14 feet which is allotted to one family irrespective of the size of the family. These limitations of space impose significant pressures on values of domesticity and privacy and on conjugal relations. Not only have young men spoken of the impact of such pressures on their sense of physical and emotional well- being but also older men complain that the lack of privacy serves to ‘corrupt’ younger members of the household, which leads to further conflict between youth and their elders.

Between 2008 and 2011 the camps for Kashmiri Pandits in Jammu were gradually closed down and their populations have been accommodated in a single new residential colony on the outskirts of the city. Unlike the old camps with their standard one-room tenements, the new colony consists of three-storey apartment buildings. The new colony is regarded as an improvement and it will be interesting to see the changes it has on youth dynamics. Nevertheless, existing pressures remain. Rohan, a young man, had moved temporarily to a large southern city; for a long time he had wanted to leave the confines of Jammu and realise his ambitions and hopes for a better life. When the state government of Jammu and Kashmir announced an employment package for displaced Kashmiri Pandits in the state sector, his family insisted that he return to Jammu and apply for a position which promises job security in a time of economic difficulty. Such pressures affect the ability of Pandit youth to remake their lives. 

 

Ankur Datta ankur@csds.in is an Anthropologist and Visiting Associate Fellow at the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies, New Delhi, India. The fieldwork on which this article is based was made possible through a grant from the Central Research Fund, University of London.

Pseudonyms have been used to protect the identity of interviewees.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview