الزواج بالدَيّن: عبء المهر على الشباب اللاجئ

يمكن للشباب السوداني اللاجئ الاستفادة من الحرية والفرص الأكبر في المخيمات، لكن الحاجة إلى دفع المهر عند عودتهم إلى مواطنهم قد تفرض قيوداً مشددة على اختياراتهم وإمكانات اندماجهم.

بعد قضاء 15 عاماً في مخيم كاكوما للاجئين في شمال كينيا، قرر بيتر، الذي كان في أواخر عقده الثاني في ذلك الوقت، العودة إلى نيال، وهي قرية في جنوب السودان[1] حيث وُلد. وأثناء مكوثه في كاكوما، التقى بيتر بأنجلينا التي تنحدر من جنوب السودان أيضاً. وعندما قررا الزواج، بدأ بيتر في مفاوضات المهر مع أفراد أسرتها في كاكوما وفي جنوب السودان. لكن عند عودته إلى نيال، اكتشف بيتر أنه خلال سنوات النزاع، فقدت أسرته الكثير من ماشيتها، واستُخدم القليل الباقي في زواج أخيه الأكبر:

"ماذا سأفعل الآن؟ إنني في مشكلة كبرى مع عائلة أنجلينا. لقد وافقوا في كوكوما على زواجي من أنجلينا بالدَيّن لأنني أقنعتهم أنني سأعطيهم البقرات عند عودتي إلى السودان. وأعطيتهم كذلك القليل من المال كدفعة أولى من المهر، لكن المتوقع مني الآن أن أعطيهم البقرات. ولأن أنجلينا متعلمة [حيث أنهت أربع سنوات من التعليم في كاكوما]، فمهرها غالٍ. لقد طلبوا مني 60 بقرة [في السودان] لكن أسرتي لا تملك شيئاً."

تعكس قصة بيتر بعضاً من التحديات التي تفرضها الحرب والتهجير بالنسبة للشباب والشابات فيما يتعلق بإمكانيات الزواج ومفاوضاته وإتمامه.

الحياة في كاكوما

مثلت النوير والدنكا، وهما أكبر جماعتين عرقيتين في جنوب السودان، السواد الأعظم من سكان كاكوما وقت عملي الميداني في 2006 – 2007. وفي الغالب، كان المزارعون الرعاة قبل التهجير يعتمدون على رعي الماشية وزراعة الأراضي وصيد الأسماك والتجارة، إلى حد ما. وارتبطت حياة الرجال والنساء في النوير والدنكا بشكل وثيق على رعاية الماشية وحمايتها ومبادلتها مع الماشية المستخدمة في المهور.

وتمثل عملية الزواج بين رجال ونساء النوير شعيرة من شعائر الوصول إلى مرحلة البلوغ والحصول على الحقوق وتحقيق المكانة في الأسرة والمجتمع. والزواج أيضاً عملية مطوّلة من المفاوضات وتبادل المهر وزيادة الأمن مع كل دفعة من المدفوعات وكل احتفال[2]. وهذا له أهميته في العلاقات بين الأجيال كآلية لتسليم الموارد من الآباء إلى الأبناء وبناء التحالفات بين الأسر وتبادل الماشية للعمل الإنتاجي والإنجابي.

وخلال التهجير، حدثت تغييرات مهمة في العلاقات الاجتماعية، خاصة بالنسبة للشباب. فمع إتاحة الخدمات التعليمية والتركيز الخاص على حصول الفتيات في المخيم على التعليم، أتاحت الحياة في كاكوما فرصاً للفتيان والفتيات والشباب والشابات للتفاوض أو لإعادة التفاوض على المعايير الاجتماعية والجنسانية. وفي كاكوما، سيطرت قضية الزواج على المحادثات. ونظراً للفقر وعدم التوازن الجنساني في المخيم، لم يكن الزواج أمراً سهلاً بالنسبة لأغلب سكان المخيم. وكانت أغلب حالات الزواج بين "الفتيان المفقودين" المعاد توطينهم في الدول الغربية والفتيات اللاتي تخلفن. وبالنسبة للشباب الذين بقوا في المخيم، كان الزواج بعيد المنال لعدة أسباب.

أولاً، لم يكن مسموحاً للمزارعين الرعاة من النوير والدنكا الاحتفاظ بالماشية أو زراعة الأرض ، مما اضطرهم بدلاً من ذلك إلى الاعتماد غالباً على المساعدات الغذائية والحوالات المرسلة من الأقارب في الخارج والأموال المكتسبة من التجارة أو العمل مع المنظمات الأهلية، وذلك بالنسبة للبعض. ونتيجة لذلك وبسبب التغييرات الاقتصادية بصورة عامة، تحول نظام المهور القائم على الماشية إلى نقد. وعلى الرغم من كون المال وسيلة سائدة للدفع في كاكوما، لم يكن إتمام الزواج ممكناً دون تحويل الماشية، الذي كان يحدث غالباً بين أفراد القبيلة الباقين في السودان. ورغم أهميته، لا يمثل المال "عصبة" في النوير والدنكا، لذلك لا يُرى كضمان لتوطيد الزواج. ويعلق أحد رؤساء القبائل المحليين في منطقة غرب أعالي النيل قائلاً: "لا يعد الزواج بواسطة المال زواجاً حقيقياً. فعندما عاد "الفتيان المفقودون" إلى السودان، تعين عليهم دفع المهور أبقاراً مرة أخرى".

ثانياً، نظراً لندرة الفتيات من ذوات السن الصالح للزواج في المخيم، كانت المنافسة بين الخطّاب على أشدها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ومع ارتفاع مستويات التعليم التي حصلت عليها الفتيات في المخيم، تزايدت قيمة المهور بشكل كبير. فعلى سبيل المثال في جنوبي النوير، يزداد المهر العادي المـتألف من 20 – 30 رأس ماشية إلى حوالي 60 – 75، اعتماداً على مستوى تعليم الفتاة ووضع أسرتها الاجتماعي. ولم يكن باستطاعة الشباب في المخيم التنافس مع من أُعيد توطينهم في الدول الغربية ممن لديهم موارد مالية كبيرة. ويستعين الشباب اللاجئون ذوي الماشية الأقل، والبعيدين عن أسرهم وأقاربهم، بأصدقائهم لتمثيلهم في مفاوضات المهور مع أسر المخطوبة. وقد تستمر هذه المفاوضات بعد ذلك من خلال الاتصالات اللاسلكية ومكالمات الهواتف المحمولة مع أفراد أسرتي العروس والعريس في السودان. وكما الحال مع بيتر، يسود في كاكوما نمط "الزواج بالدَيّن" مع الوعد بالسداد بعد العودة إلى السودان.

العودة: سداد الديون

بالنسبة للاجئين من الشباب والعائدين إلى جنوب السودان، فقد اشتملت العودة على الانتقال من الوضع متعدد الجنسيات في مخيم كاكوما للاجئين، حيث يقضي أغلبهم كامل مدة حياته، إلى القرية أو المدينة التي كان من المفترض أن تكون وطنهم لكنهم لم يذكرونها أو يعرفونها. ونظراً لانفصالهم عن عائلاتهم وأفراد قبيلتهم لسنوات، فعند عودتهم إلى جنوب السودان، وجدوا أنفسهم يقتسمون الأسرة مع أشخاص بالكاد يذكرونهم. ووجد الشباب العائدون ممن عاشوا حياة أكثر استقلالية في كاكوما ممن تحرروا نسبياً من الالتزامات الاجتماعية، أنفسهم متحملين للمسؤوليات الأسرية داخل مجتمعاتهم في جنوب السودان، وغالباً ما استحوذت عليهم هذه التوقعات، وكانوا يُستغلون ويُساء فهمهم. ورغم إمكانية عمل شبكات العائلات كمصدّ للشكوك الاجتماعية الاقتصادية، فإنه بإمكانها أيضاً ممارسة الضغط للتماشي مع الالتزامات الأسرية الجنسانية والجيلية.

ومن بين أهدافهم للعودة إلى السودان إيجاد الأسرة والأقارب لسداد ديون المهور الخاصة بزواجهم، لكن توقعات الأشخاص الذين بقوا في قراهم دون أن يرحلوا عنها بدت متضاربة تماماً مع توقعات العائدين خاصة فيما يتعلق بالموارد الأسرية المتبقية والمحدودة. وقد أوجد هذا التدافع على المهور صدوعاً في الأسرة والمجتمع، وصلت إلى رفع المنازعات في المحاكم المحلية. وقد أبدى بعض الشباب شكواه من أن أسرهم "كانت تحاول غشهم" من خلال استخدام ماشيتهم الموعودة في تزويج أبنائهم الآخرين أو للاستثمارات المالية. كما ظهرت الخلافات أيضاً بين الأبناء المهجرين وأشقائهم الذين تخلفوا عنهم وبقوا في أوطانهم فقد زعم المتخلفون بأحقيتهم في الماشية نظراً لمعاناتهم الشديدة أثناء الحروب. وكثيراً ما يُرى الشباب العائد على أنه أقل أحقية. وقد صاغت التجارب المختلفة خلال الحروب هويات الشباب بصور مختلفة، مما أدى بدوره إلى إشعال النزاع والعداوة في جنوب السودان ما بعد الحرب.

علاوة على ذلك، فغالباً ما يخالف الشباب في كاكوما قواعد الزواج ضمن المجتمع نفسه. وعند عودتهم إلى جنوب السودان، لم يقبل بعض أفراد العائلة بخياراتهم ومارسوا الضغط على الشباب لتطليق زوجاتهم القادمات من كاكوما دون دفع أي شيء إلى الأسرة.

ويلاحظ أنَّ تحديات الزواج المتعلقة بأمور دفع المهور بالنسبة للمجتمعات المهجرة والعائدة لا تلقَ أي اهتمام في الأدبيات وبرامج إعادة الاندماج مع أنَّ تلك التحديات أثرت على كلِ من رغبة اللاجئين في العودة وإمكانات توطينهم عند العودة. ولديون المهور آثار جسيمة على الشباب الراغب في بناء نفسه عند العودة وإقامة أسرة جديدة والحفاظ على العلاقات مع أفراد الأسرة الذين تخلفوا أو نزحوا إلى مناطق أخرى (إلى الخرطوم، على سبيل المثال). ولا يتمكن الشباب في الغالب من سداد ديونه، والبعض قد يلجأ إلى ترك زوجاتهم أو زوجاتهم المستقبليات. ومن هنا، يُنظر لمثل تلك النساء على أنَّهن "مُستخدمات"، مما يشينهن ويجعلهن أقل حظاً في الحصول على فرصة زواج "ثانية" جيدة. ويواجه غير المتزوجين المزيد من الوصم بالعار. وإذا كان في إمكان الشباب ضمان تقديم الماشية لأبنائهم (حتى إن لم يكن ذلك لزوجاتهم)، فسيبقى الأبناء مع آبائهم. وبدلاً من ذلك، فإنه يمكن لأسرة الزوجة أخذ الأطفال المولودين من "الزواج بالدَيّن". وفي كلتا الحالتين، سيؤدي ذلك إلى الانفصال الأسري القسري. كما أثرت كذلك أسعار المهور المرتفعة على الشبان الآخرين ممن تخلفوا. ومع يأسهم من عدم قدرتهم على الزواج واجتياز مرحلة البلوغ الكامل، ينضم البعض إلى الغارات على الماشية أو يلتحقون بالميليشيات العسكرية أو يهربون مع فتياتهم. ويمكن شرح هذه الظاهرة جزئياً عن طريق الزيادة الأخيرة في الغارات على الماشية في بعض المناطق في جنوب السودان.

الخلاصة

قد يُقال إنَّ النزوح يوجد فرصاً للاستقلال الذاتي للشباب مع تعزيز قدرتهم على التفاوض على خياراتهم (بما في ذلك تحديد شريكات الزواج) ومع ذلك فقد ينجم عن العودة بعد الحرب والالتزام بإكمال مدفوعات الزواج في هذه الحالة في الحد من استقلاليتهم وحرياتهم. وتشير النتائج أعلاه إلى ضرورة اتباع حكومة جنوب السودان والمجتمع الدولي والمجتمعات المحلية لما يلي:

  • العمل مع رؤساء القبائل المحليين الذين يشاركون في حل مشكلات الزواج
  • ضبط عملية تزايد المهور من خلال التعاون مع الشباب والشابات وأولياء أمورهم ووجهاء المجتمع
  • إيجاد فرص التعليم والعمل وكسب الرزق للشباب في جنوب السودان
  • توفير الحماية والخدمات المدرّة للدخل للشابات، إلى جانب تزويد العائلات التي عانت من الانفصال بالمشورة والنصح.

 

تعمل كاتارزينا غرابسكا kgrabska@yahoo.com زميل باحث في برنامج ما بعد الدكتوراه في مشروع الهجرة والتنقل بالمركز الوطني للكفاءة في البحوث، جامعة نورث ساوث www.north-south.unibe.ch، بازل، سويسرا. انظر كذلك مقالات الكاتبة حول الجنسانية والتنمية www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/13552074.2011.554026.



[1] وقت مناقشة هذا المقال، لم تكن دولة جنوب السودان الجديدة قد نشأت، لكنها عُرفت بجنوب السودان، والتي يُشار إليها فيما بعد في هذا المقال باسم "دولة جنوب السودان".

[2] س. هاتشينسون (1996) أزمات النوير: المواجهة مع المال والحرب والدولة، صحافة جامعة كاليفورنيا: بيركيلي

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Marrying on credit: the burden of bridewealth on refugee youth

Young Sudanese refugees may benefit from greater freedom and opportunities in camps but the need for bridewealth payments when they return to their homelands can impose severe restrictions on their choices and integration prospects.

Having spent 15 years in Kakuma refugee camp in northern Kenya, Peter – by then in his late 20s – decided to return to Nyal, the village in southern Sudan[1] where he was born. While in Kakuma, Peter had met Angelina, also from South Sudan. When they decided to get married, Peter started bridewealth negotiations with her family members both in Kakuma and in South Sudan. When Peter returned to Nyal, however, he discovered that during the years of conflict his family had lost most of their cattle and the remaining few were being used for the marriage of Peter’s elder brother:

“What will I do now? I am in a big trouble with Angelina’s family. In Kakuma, they agreed to give me Angelina on credit because I convinced them that I would give them the cows when I return to Sudan. I gave them some small money, as a down payment for the bridewealth, but now I am expected to pay the cows. Angelina is educated [she finished four years of schooling in Kakuma] so she is expensive. They asked for 60 cows but my family [in Sudan] does not have anything.”

Peter’s story reflects some of the challenges that war and displacement pose for young men and women in terms of prospects, negotiation and conclusion of marriages.

Life in Kakuma

The Nuer and the Dinka, the two largest ethnic groups in South Sudan, comprised the dominant populations in Kakuma at the time of my fieldwork in 2006-07. Predominantly agro-pastoralists, prior to displacement they relied on cattle herding, land cultivation and fishing and, to some extent, trade. The life of Nuer and Dinka men and women was closely associated with the care, protection and exchange of cattle, with cattle used in bridewealth payments.

The marriage process for Nuer women and men represents a rite of passage into adulthood, access to rights and a status within the household and community. Marriage is a lengthy process of negotiations and exchanges of bridewealth, becoming more secure with each transfer of payments and each ceremony.[2] It is a pivotal point in inter-generational relations as a mechanism of handing over resources from fathers to sons, building alliances between families and exchanging cattle for both productive and reproductive labour.

During displacement, significant changes took place in social relations, especially for young people. With educational services available and a particular focus on access to education for girls in the camp, life in Kakuma opened up opportunities for boys and girls, young women and men to (re)negotiate social and gender norms. In Kakuma, the issue of marriage dominated conversations. Due to poverty and gender imbalances in the camp, marriage was unattainable for most residents. The majority of marriages taking place were of ‘lost boys’ resettled to Western countries to girls who had stayed behind. For the young men who had stayed in the camp, marriage was only a distant possibility, for several reasons.

Firstly, the agro-pastoralist Nuer and Dinka were not allowed to keep cattle or cultivate land and instead had to rely predominantly on food aid and remittances sent by relatives from abroad and, for some, money earned from trading or working for NGOs. As a result of this and of economic changes more generally, the cattle-based bridewealth system was partially monetised. Although money was the dominant medium of payment in Kakuma, marriage could not be completed without some transfer of cattle, which usually took place between the remaining clan members in Sudan. Money, although important, has ‘no blood’ for the Nuer and Dinka and hence is not seen as guaranteeing the solidity of marriage. “Marriage with money is not a real marriage. When the ‘lost boys’ come back to Sudan, they will have to pay in cows again,” commented one of the local chiefs in Western Upper Nile region.

Secondly, due to the scarcity of girls of marriageable age in the camp, the competition among suitors was fierce. In addition, with raised levels of education attained by girls in the camp, bridewealth was significantly increased; for the Western Nuer, for example, the usual 20-30 head of cattle might rise to some 60-75 depending on the level of education of the girl and her family’s social standing. Young men in the camp were unable to compete with those who were resettled in Western countries who had greater financial resources. Cattle-less refugee young men – away from their family and kin-members – would use friends to represent them in bridewealth negotiations with the family of their girlfriends. These negotiations would then continue through radio connections and mobile phone calls with the bride and groom’s family members in Sudan. Like Peter’s, ‘marriages on credit’ with the promise of repayment after return to Sudan dominated Kakuma life.

Return: repaying the debts

For young refugee men returning to South Sudan, return involved moving from the multinational setting of Kakuma refugee camp – where most of them had spent their entire lives – to a village or town that was supposed to be home yet which they did not remember or know. Separated for years from their family and clan members, upon return to South Sudan they found themselves sharing a household with people whom they barely remembered. Young returnee men who had led a more independent life in Kakuma, relatively free from any social obligations, found themselves with household responsibilities within their communities in South Sudan, often feeling overwhelmed by these expectations, exploited and misunderstood. Although family networks can act as a buffer against socio-economic uncertainty, they can also exercise pressure to conform to gender and generational household obligations.

One of their goals of returning to Sudan was to find family and kin members in order to repay their marriage bridewealth debts but the expectations of those who had stayed behind and those who were displaced often clashed when it came to the family’s remaining limited resources. This scramble for bridewealth created rifts in the family and the community, with conflicts often being brought to local courts. Some young men complained that their families were “trying to cheat them” by having used their promised cattle to marry off other siblings or to finance investments. There were also conflicts between siblings who were displaced and those who had stayed behind, with the latter arguing that due to their greater suffering during the wars, they had a greater right to the cattle. Returnee young men were often seen as less deserving. Diverse experiences during the wars shaped young men’s identities differently, which in turn fuels conflict and hostility in post-war South Sudan.

Moreover, in Kakuma young people had often transgressed the rule of marrying within the same community. Upon return to South Sudan, some family members did not accept their choices and put pressure on the young men to divorce their Kakuma wives without any payment to the family.

The particular challenges that marriage involving bridewealth payments has for displaced and returnee communities tend to have been overlooked both in the literature and in reintegration programmes. Yet they affect both the willingness of refugees to return and their prospects of settling in on return. Bridewealth debts have severe consequences for young men wishing to establish themselves upon return, to build a new household, and to maintain relations with family members who had stayed behind or who were displaced elsewhere (for example to Khartoum). Young men are often not able to repay their debts – and some may have to abandon their wives or prospective wives. These women are consequently seen as ‘used’, often shamed and thus less worthy of a good (second) marriage. And those who are unmarried experience further stigmatisation. If the young men are able to secure cattle payments for their children (even if not for their wives), the children will stay with the fathers. Alternatively, children born out of the ‘marriages on credit’ may be taken over by the family of the wife. Either way, this leads to forced family separation. The high bride price has also affected other young men: those who had stayed behind. Frustrated with their inability to marry and thus to access full adulthood, some join cattle raids, enlist in militias or elope with young women. The recent increase in cattle raiding in some of the regions of South Sudan can partially be explained by this phenomenon.

Conclusion

While it is often argued that displacement creates opportunities for greater autonomy for young people and their ability to negotiate their choices (including marriage partners), post-war return and the duty to complete marriage payments in this case often result in limiting their autonomy and freedoms. The findings above indicate a need for the government of South Sudan, the international community and the local communities to:

  • work with local chiefs who are involved in solving marriage problems
  • control raising bride price by working together with young women and men, their parents and community elders
  • create education, job opportunities and income-generating opportunities for young men in South Sudan
  • provide protection and income-generating services for young women as well as counselling for families experiencing separation.

 

Katarzyna Grabska kgrabska@yahoo.com is a postdoctoral research fellow in the Migration and Mobility Project at the National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) North South www.north-south.unibe.ch in Basel, Switzerland. See also the author’s articles in Gender and Development www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/13552074.2011.554026 and Gender, Place and Culture www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/0966369X.2010.48583



[1] At the time being discussed the new state of South Sudan had not yet come into being but was still known as southern Sudan; hereafter in this article we refer to ‘South Sudan’.

[2] Hutchinson, S (1996) Nuer dilemmas: coping with money, war and the State, University of California Press: Berkeley.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview