العجز عن التنبؤ بالمستقبل: الشباب اللاجئون في مالاوي يُعبّرون عن مكنوناتهم

في بيئات اللجوء المطوّل كما الحال في زاليكا، حيث تولد الأجيال المتعددة وتنشأ فيها وتترعرع، يناضل اللاجئون الشباب للتمسك بآمالهم وأحلامهم في مستقبل لا يتضمن وسمهم "باللاجئين".

في مالاوي التي تبعد 45 كيلومتراً شمال العاصمة ليلونغوي، يقع مخيم اللاجئين زاليكا الذي يأوي حوالي 15000 لاجئ وطالب للجوء من جمهورية كونغو الديمقراطية ورواندا وبوروندي والصومال وإثيوبيا. وبوصفها إحدى الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951، يتعين على مالاوي الامتثال بأـحكام تلك الاتفاقية، لكنها مع ذلك تقدمت بتسع تحفظات وذلك بموجب الحق الممنوح لها بفعل ذلك. هذه التحفظات تتعلق بتوفير العمل مدفوع الأجر والتعليم العام وتشريعات العمالة والضمان الاجتماعي وحرية انتقال اللاجئين في مالاوي. وتمثل هذه التحفظات تحديات معقدة خاصة للمراهقين في طور الانتقال إلى مرحلة البلوغ، ممن يرغبون في الحصول على التعليم العالي والعمل والزواج وتكوين الأسر.

وفي زاليكا، يُقدَّم للأطفال في سن المدرسة التعليم ما قبل المدرسي حتى التعليم الثانوي دون أي رسوم. لكن عندما يتخرج الطلاب في المدرسة الثانوية، فإن هناك فرصاً قليلة لالتحاقهم بالتعليم الثالثي أو التعليم العالي نظراً لمحدودية القدرات وعدم كفاية الموارد. وللمساعدة في تجسير هذه الفجوة، بدأ المجلس العمومي اليسوعي للتعليم العالي في المناطق الهامشيّة[1] بتوفير التعليم عن بُعد من خلال الإنترنت في عام 2010، في حين ساعدت مؤسسة الخدمات الجامعية العالمية بكندا عدداً مختاراً من خريجي المدارس الثانوية المؤهلين لإعادة توطينهم في كندا والتحاقهم بالجامعة. إلا أن الالتحاق في برامج التعليم العالي يخضع للمنافسة الشديدة إضافة إلى أنَّ قليلاً من الأفراد قادرون على استيفاء الشروط المطلوبة.

وقد أمضى أغلب الشباب في زاليكا حياتهم في مالاوي يتعلمون المناهج الدراسية ذاتها شأنهم في ذلك شأن السكان المحليين ضمن الثقافة المحلية وبين السكان المحليين، لكنهم مع ذلك لا يملكون حرية الاندماج كمواطنين محليين. "رغم أنَّنا كالملاويين فإننا لسنا ملاويين"، تقول مارثا (18 عاماً) وهي لاجئة من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية[2].

وبغياب الحقوق والحريات التي يتمتع بها المواطنون، يصبح الجيل الأصغر من اللاجئين أكثر قنوطاً. فهذا سال (20 عاماً) من بوروندي يجيب عند سؤاله عما سيفعله عند تخرجه في المدرسة الثانوية: "أود أن أصبح طبيباً"، وهذا هدف يفترض أنه ممكن التحقيق بالنسبة لسال الذي حصل على درجات كاملة في مواده الدراسية وكان ترتيبه الأول بين زملائه المتعلمين. لكن عند سؤاله: "ما الذي ترغب في فعله بعد تخرجك في المدرسة الثانوية إذا بقيت هنا في مخيم اللاجئين؟" أجاب سال دونما تردد: "لا يمكن أن يتحقق ما أريده هنا في زاليكا. أنت عندما تعيش في المخيم، فستغير سلوكياتك وتوقعاتك. ولا يمكن أن أحقق ما أتمناه لأنني لاجئ."

ويشرح بيتر من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية الأثر الذي خلفته حياة المخيم عليه. ومع أن بيتر لا ينكر وجود جوانب إيجابية لحياة المخيمات نظراً لأن اللاجئين هناك لا يرزحون تحت وطأة الخوف من الحرب الأهلية أو التجنيد كمقاتلين، يقول "تتسم الحياة في المخيم بالصعوبة نظراً لأنه ليس بإمكاننا التنبؤ بمستقبلنا. وسيمر العمر وستصبح رجلاً كهلاً تتكئ على عصا ولم تحقق أهدافك."

أما رشيد (18 عاماً) فعند سؤاله عن البحث عن زوج المستقبل وتكوين عائلته  بقوله: "في بلدي، يصبح المرء رجلاً عندما يتزوج وينجب الأطفال. عندها ستمنحك أسرتك قطعة أرض وتستطيع أن تؤسس عملاً لك. أما هنا، فلا شيء من ذلك. إنني أخشى الزواج، فأين سنذهب وماذا سنفعل؟ كلا، لا يمكنني الزواج." ويتفق آخرون معه في أنَّ الزواج ليس خياراً بالنسبة لهم على الرغم من تزايد ظاهرة الحمل المبكر والأبوة المبكرة وتصاعد أعداد المتسربين من المدرسة.

وهناك إحساس مشترك بين الشباب البالغين في زاليكا وهو انعدام السيطرة على الوضع الحالي والتحديات التي يواجهونها إثر انتقالهم إلى مرحلة البلوغ "لنتوكل على الله، حينها قد يصبح المستقبل أفضل" "هذا هو الوضع وعليك التسليم به" وسواء أسلّم المراهقون بالقضاء والقدر أو اعتمدوا على الدين أو دعم الأسرة كأدوات لمواكبة الحياة أم لا فهناك نقص بالشعور بالقدرة على إقامة العلاقات والعمل وإمكانات التعليم.

ويتعين أن تعمل المؤسسات العاملة في مجال الشباب المهجَّر في المخيمات نحو معالجة قضية اليأس وذلك من خلال منح الشباب الفرصة للتعبير عن رغباتهم واحتياجاتهم في ملتقى مفتوح. وربما يكون أداء تلك المؤسسات على أفضل حال إذا وفرت للشباب المراهقين والبالغين على حد سواء بمساحة آمنة لتنظيم المجمعات الاجتماعية والسياسية والريادية وتمكينهم وتعزيز إحساسهم بالقيمة الذاتية مع تحسين الظروف الحياتية أثناء العيش في المنفى في الوقت نفسه. وسيوفر إيجاد مزيد من الفرص لبرامج التعليم العالي وسائل واقعية للشباب لتحقيق أهدافهم قصيرة الأمد وبعيدة الأمد التي تسعى إلى جعلهم بالغين مساهمين وفاعلين في المجتمع.

لورين هيلي LaurenHealy3@gmail.com استشارية الصحة العقلية لدى الجمعية اليسوعية لخدمة اللاجئين www.jrs.net، وهي كذلك محاضرة في مؤسسات التعليم العالي لدى المجلس العمومي اليسوعي للتعليم العالي في المناطق الهامشيّة (تعمل لورين في مخيم زاليكا للاجئين منذ يناير/كانون الثاني 2011). والآراء الواردة بهذه المقالة لا تعكس آراء الجمعية اليسوعية لخدمة اللاجئين.



[1] انظر مقالة دانكوفا وجينر Technology in aid of learning for isolated refugees "التكنولوجيا في خدمة تعلّم اللاجئين المعزولين" نشرة الهجرة القسرية (العدد 38) www.fmreview.org/technology/dankova-giner.html

[2] تم تغيير جميع الأسماء

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Unable to see the future: refugee youth in Malawi speak out

In a protracted refugee setting like Dzaleka, where multiple generations are born and raised, young refugees are struggling to hold on to hopes and dreams for a future that does not include the label of ‘refugee’.

In Malawi, 45km north of the capital city of Lilongwe, lies the Dzaleka refugee camp, home to approximately 15,000 refugees and asylum seekers from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Rwanda, Burundi, Somalia and Ethiopia. As a signatory to the 1951 Refugee Convention, Malawi is obliged to adhere to the Convention but, as was its right, made nine reservations. The reservations pertain to the provisions of wage-earning employment, public education, labour legislation, social security and freedom of movement for refugees within Malawi. These reservations pose complex challenges, especially for adolescents entering into adulthood who wish to seek higher education, gain employment, marry and begin families.

In Dzaleka, school-aged children are offered pre-school through secondary school education at no cost. However, if and when students graduate from secondary school, there is little opportunity for tertiary-level or higher adult education due to limited capacity and inadequate resources. To help close this gap, Jesuit Commons Higher Education at the Margins[i] began providing Internet-based distance learning in 2010, while the World University Service of Canada enables a selected number of qualified secondary-school graduates to resettle in Canada and attend university. But placements in these higher education programmes are extremely competitive and only a very small number of individuals meet the required standards.      

The majority of youth in Dzaleka have spent all their lives in Malawi, taught the same school curriculum as the local population, surrounded by a local culture and among a local people yet not free to integrate as local citizens: “We are just like Malawians but yet we are not Malawians.” (Martha, an 18-year-old from DRC[ii])

Without the inherent rights and freedoms of citizens, the younger generation of refugees is more and more despondent. When asked what he would do upon graduating from secondary school, Sal, a 20-year-old Burundian, said, “I want to become a doctor” –  a feasible goal for Sal who receives perfect marks and is ranked number one amongst his fellow learners. But when asked “What do you want to do after graduating from secondary school if you are still living here in the refugee camp?”, without hesitation Sal replied, “Here in Dzaleka it cannot happen. When you live in camp you change your behaviours, your expectations. It can’t happen because I am a refugee.”

Peter from DRC explained the effect that camp life has on him. Although agreeing that there were positive aspects to camp life because they were not living in fear of civil war or being recruited as soldiers, he said: “Life in camp is difficult because we cannot see our future. … You can look around and you are an old man walking with a stick, not having reached your goals.”

What about finding a life partner and beginning a family together? Rashid, an 18-year-old Congolese man, replied, “In my country you become a man when you marry and have children of your own. Your family gives you a plot of land and you go about your business. Here, no, I am afraid to marry. Where will we go – what will we do? I cannot marry.” Others agreed that marriage was not an option for them – although an increasingly common trend amongst camp youth is early pregnancy, young parenthood and rising levels of school drop-outs.             

A sentiment shared by the young adults in Dzaleka is that the current situation and the challenges they face entering into adulthood are largely out of their control: “Put everything in the hands of God, then maybe the future will be better.” “It’s a situation. You have to accept it.” Whether or not adolescents use fate, religion or family support as tools for coping, there is generally a lack of a sense of agency to relationships, to employment and to educational prospects. 

Services for displaced youth in refugee camp settings should work toward addressing the issue of hopelessness by giving youth the opportunity to express their wants and needs in an open forum. Services might do well to provide adolescent youth and young adults with a safe space to organise social, political and entrepreneurial groups, empowering and strengthening their self-worth, while at the same time improving quality of life during displacement. Creating more opportunities for higher education programmes will provide a realistic means for youth to fulfill their short- and long-term goals of becoming contributing adults.

 

Lauren Healy LaurenHealy3@gmail.com is a mental health counsellor with Jesuit Refugee Service www.jrs.net and a higher education instructor with JC-HEM (working in the Dzaleka refugee camp



[i]  See Dankova & Giner, ‘Technology in aid of learning for isolated refugees’, FMR 38

[ii] All names have been changed.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview